Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong 4 stars

13-17 Observatory Road on Knutsford Terrace, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#56 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2993 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is ok, but is not the best! You have 800 mts to the closest metro station! The hotel is up a hill so take that into account. Only 150 mts.

    Nice room! good value for money. Nothing special, but it was very good! clean, modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information given to guests about use of the restaurant, timings and if booking neccesary as this wasn't mentioned to us and when we asked staff at reception we were brushed off a little as they were reception not restaurant. you would think they would be able to give atleast a little information to there guests about the dining at their hotel.

    Amazing value for money given such a perfect location, in a great area with many affordable shops and restaurants (also short walk to night market one way and to the harbour the other) and close to multiple subway stations. The rooms were clean and comfortable with accommodating staff particularly serving us drinks on the rooftop when requested!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In short - 1) Location is good - the hotel is somewhere between 2 MTR stations. Both stations are at least a good 700 meters away. But if you you factor in the crowd along the pedestrian walkway to the stations, its almost like 1000 meters. 2) It's steep - the hotel is situated on a very sharp incline, almost 45 degrees for about 50 meters. If your have bad knees or mobility issues, avoid this hotel.

    In short - 1) Location is good - the hotel is somewhere between 2 MTR stations. Along the way to the stations, you will get a variety of food, products and services. Almost everything is within touching distances. 2) Its quiet - i am a light sleeper but i slept like a lamb in this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had issues with the wifi my phone didn't connect so I had to use the handy phone to wifi hotspot

    Check in was super quick and easy! Beds were extra comfy - super soft big pillows. A bunch of bars/shisha lounges just in the street below next to the big shopping centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is really not well trained: I tried ordering a pot of thee from room service like they serve in the restaurant and nobody understood me. At the outside bar you have to really go looking for staff to order a drink. The restaurant had a way to limited menu

    Good location for the trade fairs. Outside bar is nice, Goid breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much!!

    Room was way larger than I thought (never underestimate the "smallness" of HK rooms) and I had plenty of space to walk around, open my suitcase etc. Bed was cozy, closet was big enough, bathroom was clean and had all the amenities needed. Staff were very very helpful and attentive for any urgent needs. (Calling taxi, money exchange etc) Location wasn't too bad. Plenty of shops, restaurants and bars. You need good 8~10min walk to Nathan road (where all the bus leaves) and MRT station there, but from there getting around is easy peasy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sink. Water didn't go through smoothly, but not so big issue.

    Walk distance to MTR TST Station. You take Free Shuttle Bus from Kowloon Station and get off at Empire Hotel Kowloon, and walk to the hotel. Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You literally have to climb a small alley to get to the hotel. Is not comfortable at all, specially if you were walking around all day long. Really hated it, also we had a arrollar.

    The staff, the phone with internet they provided

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    did request city view but did not happened.

    the room is absolutely perfect and pillow, mattress are very sleepy. they are providing a private mobile phone with unlimited data to use around the city which is a great idea. it is very close to city center and metro. Promenade is just few miles away and walking in the area is lovely. go for it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to Note

    This stay was my last leg of a Hong Kong-Thailand adventure. The staff noticed it was my second time and upgraded me to larger room (by Hong Kong standards) and it was exactly what I needed. The rooms are exceptionally clean. Beds are super comfortable and having more than two pillows in the bed is a major plus in my book. The decor is warm inviting and modern. The entire hotel smells like a spa. In short, the hotel keeps on making me wanting more and for sure it will be my hotel of choice on my next visit to Hong Kong.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from corridor, especially when neighbors shut doors. They ask for deposit. If you dont give them deposit they clean everything out from minibar - too much respect to customers.

    Cute and not too small room. No hear any sounds from the street. Wonderful soft bed. They give me room on upper floor as was requested.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located at a very hilly area. The toilet is not fully translucent. Not family friendly/friends friendly.

    Very comfy bed. Small but cozy room. Though the hotel room was small but the toilet space was fully utilized. The shower was quite comfy too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was on top of a hill. Make sure to make use of the elevator and go to B1.

    The bed was so comfy! Food at hillview cafe is good. All of the staff was courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 non-smoking rooms, however one of rooms’ bathroom was quite smelly from the drain, the other room had a smoky taste in the room.

    Rooms were clean, nice staff, location is good to get anywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The handy mobile phone provided by the hotel is super handy! Especially for people who don’t have local network. It has free internet and free local phone calls. Location of the hotel is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From booking on booking.com to checkout, the hotel asked for my credit card 3 different times which was a weird experience. Not much of a view from the room. Some staff very helpful, others not friendly at all.

    Good shower. Clean. Good wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is going uphill, thus, older people might have trouble walking to and from the hotel, no worries if taxi is of preference. Breakfast buffet of HKD 80/pax will be somewhat expensive for budget travellers.

    Staff very friendly, courteous and helpful. Easy check-in and check-out. Clean, new-look and decor. Near convenience stores, bakeries, malls and restaurants. MTR TST station and bus stop (A20 & A21) is around 10 min walk. Free use of mobile phone for international/local calls is great, helped a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi service could be improved.

    Excellent room, spacious considering Hong Kong standards, beds comfortable and above all clean. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this vibrant city, it is centrally located and it is very well priced for its location and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Very clean & well fitted out rooms. Mobile device with internet connection, which can be used outside of hotel is an absolute winner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pine Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled with 2 toddlers and was carrying 2 big luggages, 1 backpack and 1 stroller, when we arrived the hotel, our uber driver even asked the hotel staffs to help us carry our luggages, but nobody helped, they just pointed to us that there is an elevator on basement parking for easier access to the hotel. Upon entering room, found 3 pcs of lychee in a plastic on the ref and 1 pc of clothing on the drawer which probably was left by the previous hotel guest. Road leading to the hotel is very steep and will be very hard if you have a baby stroller, requested for a room away from the elevator during booking and even confirmed to me thru email. During check in, front desk staff even confirmed to me that i requested for a room farthest from the elevator and i said yes but when i got in to our floor, my room is next to the elevator, i never bothered to complain to them these things so as not to ruin our vacation

    Front desk staff very helpful, nice interior of the hotel and rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner needed to scan a document and was charged for it - considering we were staying for 3 nights we were unimpressed.

    Very good location with comfortable rooms. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cervice and workers are very nice, and hotel was very clean and well organized. Hotel is on top of a very small hill, if you have a problem walking better to take a taxi to the hotel every time you come back from ourside, not to expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a little far to either Tsim Sha Tsui and Jordan MTR Stations. It's halfway between those 2 stations. However, it means it's not as crowded and noisy.

    A very nice hotel a little off busy Nathan Road. You don't run into the tourist crowd here but once you walk down the street, you are in a very touristy area. It's convenient to many nice eating restaurants. The rooms are vey nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room had poor ventilation and so after a shower, the entire room would be very wet and humid. the upwards slop on observatory road is not to be underestimated, especially when carrying heavy baggage.

    the hotel was nice and clean, friendly staff and good facility. the breakfast buffet is small but satisfying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a double bed when I booked and my reservation was for a double room. They gave me a twin room and told me it was the only one available. There was no upgrade option offered to me, I would have paid extra for this if I had too. No explanation regarding times for breakfast at check in.

    Room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uphill localisation.

    The staff was absolutely flexible - as for the very late check-out of ours. The breakfast was large and various - it was worth the price (60 HKD). The reception staff solved all our problems and fulfilled all our requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One mirror

    All was excellent - location is great! It is clean and covers all necessary basics for those who barely stay in their hotel when traveling. My only (minor) issue was the room had only one mirror -in the bathroom. So, it was a bit challenging for two ladies to get ready in the morning. Other than that, all was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pine Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More friendly staff.

    The hotel was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. It was a central hotel to all we wanted to see. It was one of the quietest hotels we have experienced. Our only concern is that the staff was not as friendly but their hours are long.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should consider installing a bidet in each comfort room.

    The property is new and the designs are modern. The place is very convenient and near to establishments

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been told our room got upgraded to upper floor, but when we got to our room , the room was small n with a weird bathroom. The room was very noisy. I woke up with a headache. The new room that we changed to is much better. So I felt like we've been down graded! Fortunately the staff was so nice n helpful. 👍

    Location is good and staff were helpful when we needed to change room due to noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hill to hotel was very steep - it’s called observation road for a reason! But can also walk via steps on Knutsford street and mira shopping centre. Would def recommend staying here

    We found it hard to get a good sized, clean, modern and over all nice room in Kowloon and feared that the photos would not match the hotel, but we were shocked the see how amazing the hotel was. Hotel is lovely, room huge for Hong Kong, shower incredible! Location is brilliant at Knutsford street where there are bars (couldn’t hear from our room though) and in the heart of Kowloon only 10mins from station and skyscraper bars. Will def stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is on the top of a giant hill that with luggage is a struggle to get up as its very steep. I recommend getting a taxi that drops you off right inside the hotel's car park, then you don't have to make the treck up the hill, rather than a shuttle bus which would drop you off at the bottom of the hill. It would've been nice to know about the steep hill before booking the hotel. They also do not provide enough toilet paper which is a bit annoying and we had to call most days for toilet paper.

    We called reception for various things every day including a doctors visit and they were incredibly helpful and explained everything clearly. We also got a voucher for the breakfast which cost us 10AUD pp with the voucher, which in my opinion is very cheap for hotels! Checking in and out was very easy. And the cleaning staff, concierge, reception and room service were all very nice and hospitable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very steep street going up to the hotel would be a problem for some people. Staff in the restaurant were unfriendly (well a couple of the girls were obviously bored with their job)..

    Everything was good. Very quiet and comfortable. Good restaurants close by. The staff were helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a convenient location. The taxi from the Airport express stop (Kowloon) only cost £5 including 2 large cases and the taxi to Hung Hom (for travel onwards to China) was around £3. For Hong Kong the price was reasonable! There were plenty of places to eat nearby but even better was the excellent evening meal buffet at the hotel with discounts for guests. The quality of the food was really good. If you are over 65 ask for the Seniors discount - it is even cheaper. The breakfast was quite adequate and cheap and the coffee was excellent! Best of all were the very helpful and professional staff. Recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small thing was that the travel adapter provided was a little wonky. Wasn’t a huge deal though, as the front desk gave another one.

    The handy phone was hands down the best part of the stay. Very useful and it’s great to stay connected. The hotel room has lots of small conveniences, which are greatly appreciated. Overall, I feel that this hotel has great value for the money and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be a bit closer to a subway station, but still it is a very good location if you do not mind to walk 15 min to subway.

    Free handy for the room with internet connection which we could use for navigation etc while sigthseeing. Clean rooms. Good airport connections.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is up on the hill, very steep hill. Staircases are helping, tho it still exhausted you a little bit if you are not used to walking up hills.

    It's the center of Tsim Sha Tsui, you will find it very convenient to shop. Everything can be found in a walking distance. The hotel room has everything you need, AC is strong in this summer and humid season, staffs are really nice and helpful. There was a really nice staff seeing us carrying luggage helped us to carry them into the lobby of the hotel. Shuttle to the locations around is convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been more comfortable, but I still slept like a log after a day full of walking and a spa treatment

    Service is exceptional. Breakfast superb. Location was right in the middle of the old quarter. Spa service was fabulous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road up to the Hotel entrance is steep (but we found an alternative route via a shopping mall)!

    We stayed for three nights and found the hotel, staff and facilities to be excellent. The location was perfect for exploring Hong Kong. Breakfast (not included) was great (good choice, good quality) and we didn't feel the need to go anywhere else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting is awful if you really need to see clearly, e.g putting on make up . It’s very low and gives a nice atmosphere but they need proper lighting at least in the bathroom .

    Nice decor , comfy beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel in a perfect location to visit the city, everything is walking distance and you also have the metro close (5 min walk) Really nice room, complementary phone with wifi was a huge benefit Great and friendly staff, they helped me book my day trip to Macau

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough electrical converter for 110/120V to charge phones or iPads. Breakfast needs more choices and improvements in quality of food—for example need French toast; the pancakes are awful.

    The shower, bathroom and room conditions are new and clean. Nice for foreigners to have a smartphone to use for free to call and search using google map.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average accommodation overpriced offering in Hong Kong, like many others. Nothing exceptional but nothing tacky either. Overall good overnight stay. Did not try their restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked to have been greeted by staff first instead of a blank stare. Maybe a ' hi welcome to...'

    Good location. Next to bar strip. Accomadating staff. Great buffet. Rooms are modern. WiFi courtesy phone. Can call anywhere and hot spot your phone. Felt like a king. Asked for a view and got one. Good doorman. Positive environment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Banyan Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not so friendly. Everything was based on money. Need paper copy $5HKG dollars. Stiff hill to get to lobby. Total ripoff

    Rooms was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is up a short steep hill and the taxis don't really like to go up there.... the shuttle bus also drops off at the bottom of the hill so we had to drag luggage up and down the hill. But this didn't detract from the stay....

    Good location and rooms were nice and clean and spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - WiFi-connection in our room on the 4th floor was very unstable and sometimes unusable, especially in the evenings. Couldn't even load mails or messages. For the hotel's price we had expected a decent and reliable connection.

    - Great comfort, location and nice facilities - Spacious rooms for Hong Kong accommodation - Provides a smart phone, which helped a great deal with our WiFi problems

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was very hard. Temperature control on aircon unit in our room defective.

    The room was very clean and modern as well. Greatlocation, close to Nathan Road and all the shopping and yet in a quiet location (no traffic noise). Within walking distance to Ferry Terminals and with plenty of dining options just around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive, acceptable during exhibition season.

    Very good location, close to subways and tourist sites. Many grocery stores and restaurants in walking distance. Very quiet, which is not easy in HK

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly steep walk to get to hotel. I liked it but it could pose a challenge for some.

    Great location. Very comfortable bed. Decent breakfast. On the value for money scale it’s right up there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed. Payment was made in full before reserved day, but still insist to pay cash before accommodation since no third party was allowed. They should have replied earlier to our msg, since we clearly stated that i will be paying for my guess.

    Facility

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better Coffee and Tea. Too weak. And the 45Deg Slope up to the hotel - something you cannot change.

    Good & Clean design of rooms and good room space compared to other hotels around the area. Hotel Cleanliness is great. Staff are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. hotel was very close to MTR stations and bus lines. Breakfast was delicious, with a good selection of cold and warm meal choices. Finally the rooms were very clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I felt very safe as a young solo female traveller. You

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nightmare for those who suffer from allergy: there was dust everywhere. Even though my booking was confirmed, we haven't got a room on the higher floor with a bathtub we begged for. Also they asked to leave deposit since I didn't have my debit card with me, however it's been already authorized and I still didn't get money on my account back.

    Good location, there is a metro station and plenty of bars nearby. Fruits and chocolate cookies provided along with a happy birthday card. A pleasant design and clean bathroom. The handy phone with 4G was provided for free saved us from getting lost in the new city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They blocked the online credit card and we payed twice. Provision should be return at same day. They need to inform about payment methods. They say thay online card can not be used but they blocked the amount on online card. Service was not enough at that type of hotel.

    The cleanning, location and free phone service were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a bit far out and nearest subway was an bit of a walk. As the name suggests it's on a hill.

    Staff were very helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Upgraded on arrival to a spacious room which was serviced promptly on a daily basis - usually by the time we got back from the excellent buffet breakfast. Convenient location - just 20 mins walk from the Star Ferry. Plenty of eating and drinking options on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants in the neighbourhood are above standard prices.

    The room was pretty big, we even had a shower and bath, which is not so common in HK. Location is really good and staff is really helpfull. They have a very nice service, a smartphone (handy) that you can use as guide during sightseeing. You can even make international calls - 20 countries for free. Also, there is a cleaning service in the hotel but you can bring your clothes to the laundry across the street as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were quite rude during check in one guy spent hours ranting - we'd had no sleep, were exhausted and were made to wait 2 hours until the minute (2:30pm) check in time had been reached.

    Fantastic location right in the heart of Kowloon and a short walk to the ferry pier , clean room with a comfy bed and nice breakfast. Hong Kong is expensive and this place offers fair value vs competition.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room WiFi was weak but not a serious issue for us as we could tether from the handy phone. If you have a laptop computer you might need another solution!

    This hotel was a great choice. The basic oak room was plenty large enough for the two of us. The provided handy phone was very useful and helped us stay in touch with friends and family abroad. Great location as well: in the heart of TST with all the restaurants and shopping yet right up near the observatory up a quiet street. Ask for a room facing the observatory and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you're looking to spend a day or two in Hong Kong, I highly recommend you stay here. A short taxi ride from the Kowloon stop of the Airport Express, the Stanford Hillview Hotel has a basement level concierge area where your taxi can unload your bags clear of the hustle and bustle of the Hong Kong streets. One floor up, and the reception staff are friendly, polite and willing to help with anything you may need to make your stay more comfortable. The room we had was spotlessly clean, as pictured in the hotel's photographs, and had a beautiful view outside the window. It was quiet, and even had complimentary cookies, fruit and water. Nearby the hotel, there is a pedestrian-only strip of bars and restaurants leading towards Mira Place where there are even more good options for dinner. A short walk will take you deep into Tsim Sha Tsui for food, shopping and nightlife, or to the nearby inner-Hong Kong treasure that is Kowloon Park. Breakfast at the Stanford Hillview Hotel gives a variety of options for Asian and Western palates, with good hot coffee and friendly staff. As the hotel is tucked away in a quieter location, it's a great break from the busy streets while still being in the centre of everything and close to public transport for your day of exploration. When it's time to head back to the airport, the concierge downstairs will hold your bags until you are ready to depart and will organise your transport wherever you require. We'll be back next time we stopover in Hong Kong, and I've even recommended that my parents stay at the Stanford Hillview Hotel when they next spend a night on a stopover in Hong Kong.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally clean. Stylish rooms. Great shower. Good location for eating, shopping and accessing all there is to do in Hong Kong via public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not extend our stay since the prices went up steeply, we paid €80 per night per room, the extension would have been €140 per night, obviously demand was high.

    The location is excellent, very central, but quiet in a side street. Other comments complain about the steep hill, that is exactly 40m of stairs going up, no problem at all. Although quiet it is in the midst of an bar area, I forgot the name. Knuts????Terrace. Fast WIFI. We loved it. Size of the room was fairly big for Hongkong style, great bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep walk to the property.But it was bearable if not for the baggage and stroller we had with us.

    It was clean and more spacious than other hotels. It was near the mtr.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is the 2nd times that my family and I stay in this hotel. The hotel located on a little hills so we have to take many step on staircase to reach the hotel but it's not a problem. The hotel is quite new after the renovation, all facilities are good. The room is so quiet even near by pub & bar. They also provide fruit (2 apples and 1 pear). On the night before we check out, they surprise us with a 2 chocolate cookies in the room, it delicious and my little brother really likes it. We took Airport Express from HK Airport and get off at Kowloon Station then took a free shuttle bus "K4" and get off the at Empire Hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position of hotel was really perfect, close to many restaurants and shops. On our first day we had a fruit in our room for free as well as bottle of water. Next day 2 chocolate bonbons were waiting for us, it was really nice. Room was quiet and comfortable although it was not so big. We really liked bathroom, it was new, clean and shower was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It will be great if the receiption staffs can smile while doing check in or check out, brief some place of interest nearby the hotel by showing the brochures, notify the guests there is welcome drinks, give a hotel name card to guest in case they want to get a cab to ease communication between the guest and taxi driver and inform the guest there is shuttle bus service provided. No tissue paper provided in room.

    The hotel staff upgraded the rooms for free and the rooms were bigger and nice. The rooms were clean and comfort. The concierge and housekeeping staffs were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of your team member (a girl receiptionst) is not approachable and feel like we are not very welcome.

    Very nice and clean hotel with good location . Fast WiFi. Fantastic free international call. Got a short distance to Metro station .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing. Not much variety at all...no egg station. Better to have breakfast outside the hotel.

    The rooms were clean and modern and we were given a free upgrade. It was also perfectly located, close to the MTR, malls and plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is very crowded and it’s quite a distance from MTR. Take note that there is a slope leading to the front entrance.

    The room is spacious and clean. It’s a comfortable stay. It’s has free shuttle service to MTR station that has airport express train.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing all was good!

    There was a Smartphone for free use in every Room. You could take that one with you on your trips to the city as Travel Guida, Map etc. absolutely Free!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a day for us to figure out the room heat control is not turned on - space heaters given by request (we were in an unusual cold spell).

    Such great value and good service. Close walking distance to grocery store, multiple restaurants, MTR and tourist must-sees. Safe area. Hotel elevator to underground parking (well marked) lets you avoid most of the short hill hotel perched on. Room had everything we needed albeit had to know to ask for a portable heater. Free hotel shuttle to MTR that connects you to rapid train to airport (plus another pickup point a block away) so convenient. Front desk staff professional - damage deposit holding credit card charge quickly refunded on our checkout. Our family has already booked a room for our future return!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhere to shower before heading to the airport on checkout day would have been nice

    The room was lovely the breakfast was great and the location was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to change rooms because the bed in the first was uncomfortable but the hotel staff facilitated our request smoothly.

    We were upgraded free of charge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oak Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More seating in the lobby area. It was always busy and difficult to find somewhere to sit when waiting.

    The free cell phone to use while in Hong Kong was a very nice service. This exceeded my expectations. It was useful so others can contact you while in HK, in addition to using as a wifi hotspot. Location of the hotel was central to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: