Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay 4 stars

8 Wing Hing Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#197 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1789 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The stay was excellent with stunning views at the 30th floor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    It is the totality of the experience that makes the stay wholesome. And everything else starts at the reception where there is an exceptional amount of professionalism.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Clean room and bed is cozy, convenient location.
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor noise proof wall-Can hear the noise/sound from next room, kind of annoying since it waked us up....

    Clean room and bed is cozy, convenient location. Can also take free bus(H3) from Central station to this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    It was not bad. I wouldn't mind staying in the hotel in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel was supposedly a non-smoking hotel, it is clear that many hotel patrons are smoking in their rooms because I woke up smelling smoke in my room. The next night, I woke up smelling durian fruit. That's why i finally asked to be transferred. Also, the selection of cable channels are too limited.

    The staff immediately acted on my complaint about the strange odors permeating in my original room and I was placed in a newly renovated room. The lay-out of the rooms are better than the other hotels I have stayed in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.2
    im not happy. it did not passes my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff are not accommodating.

    Room are too small. It states there its free bunk bed for.the kids but when I ask NO MORE FREE. ONLY CRIB FOR INFANTS ARE FREE. So disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, good breakfast, location could be better though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was not so easy to find when walking from MTR to hotel. Once walked once, its easier to find.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, room was comfortable, breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    OK for short visit. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air-conditioning quite cold even after adjusting to higher temperature. Room service for bottle of water and other things quite slow. Not enough lighting nearby & outside hotel entrance, suggest to install more lights since the hotel outside walls are black in color so quite dark especially at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Breakfast, but it was too cold in the dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    They kept turning the air conditioning down to 10 every day, which is way to cold, plus the lobby was very cold.

    Excellent Breakfast, but it was too cold in the dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    Standard level of stay
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was dirty and humid. It smelled moldy. However, we were able to change room which was better than the first one.

    Check-in was done quick. Staffs were nice when we asked for the change of room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    All in all it has been a very pleasant & enjoyable stay and all above details speaks for itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    If the Airport shuttle bus comes inside the hotel parking then the hotel guests will have very SAFE & COMFORTABLE boarding/alighting and baggage handling as presently it is very difficult to get the baggage from the opposite side of the hotel due to heavy traffic where the Airport Shuttle bus stops opposite to hotel.

    Every thing was excellent including all arrangements, attendance by all staff, all staff at reception counter with a very pleasant & smiling face as well as back office attendants like giving assistance /information through phone as & when required + Housekeeping staff were very co-operative and maintained very good clean & ensure hygiene inside as well as outside the room. Needless to mention that the Operations Manager Ms......... ( I am missing her name ) has been very kind and having pleasant personality and a very friendly approach to everyone which perfectly suits to hospitality management of any good & big organisations who are one among the most key persons for the success of the company, hotel, organisation etc. All in all it has been a very pleasant experience and enjoyable stay at this hotel and all above details speaks for itself. Our sincere thanks and gratitude to all of them and they deserve to receive a very good appreciation from the hotel management too in all respect so that they are boosted & motivated to continue their very good job in the future too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Very nice hotel, great staff, clean, modern and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was NOT in Causeway Bay. I booked the hotel specifically to be in Causeway Bay and the hotel name was misleading.

    The accommodations were modern and clean. I received complementary chocolates and wine in my room which was a wonderful surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Too expensive for small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is way overly priced perhaps it is located one stop after causeway bay but mind you not in causeway bay. The rooms are way too small . They look much bigger in the photos but in reality the room has almost non exisiting space . The toilet has glass wall which means if you’re travelling with friends then it’s not the ideal bathroom cus you can see person’s shadow while someone is having shower. The room has tv but there’s no international tv channels . I think staff isn’t very trained and it took me more than 30 minutes to check in . Would I be staying there again ? My answer is no and never .

    Nothing actually

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    average hotel lacking proper facilities, overcrowded and overrated.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    service specially in the BF hall could be a lot better. the food at BF was not good. the room and public areas were not properly cleaned. the hotel was suffering from large crowds of guests. the hotel is overrated and qualifies at most as a mediocre 3 star hotel.

    the bed had a very good matras and the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Good price for Hongkong.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the rooms are not very quiet as the doors and walls are super thin and you can hear guests in other rooms and also housekeeping on the corridors.

    Business Hotel, good location. Clean rooms and a lot of amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hairdryer had head part missed, haha. Choice of TV channels is very strange and limited. 1 local English channel (but I know at least 2!), 1 English channel from Germany, 1 channel from Macao with poor signal and that's all for English. For toothbrushes, since the choice is given between hard and soft, better to put 2 soft and 2 hard, since both guests may prefer the same type of brush.

    Stuff was helpful, have asked them to help with some papers printing, immediately helped at the reception desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the day the street is very busy and noisy, so can’t take a good relaxing rest after 8am. As for March2018 they were building (maybe finished soon) a new hotel just in front so noise was worst! But all other are excellent!

    The room is little size reduced but it’s ok. Location is just around 5 blocks from TinHau, one block to many bus and tram and two blocks of the pool of Victoria Park. Excellent location!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location but could use some updating and enforcement of hotel rules.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling tiles were loose in bathroom and bed was too short for my 5'11" husband. Fixtures were dated and showed their age. Someone in the hotel was smoking despite all the signs saying it is illegal, and we could smell it in our room as the ventilation is shared through the whole hotel. Second hand smoke is very dangerous and I did not appreciate being exposed to it nor my clothes to smell like it too.

    Location was close to metro and lots of great restaurant options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    The property is well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in timings and the cleanliness in the room. The carpet was not very clean and even the ceiling had some stains.

    The property is well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    A recommended place for travellers seeking moderately priced accomodations
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon thermostat in room 810 didnt seem to work. No matter how it was adjusted, it remained too cold for me. Lighting is good, but which switches to operate for the main room lighting were confusing to me.

    Overall comfort. Free minibar items. Good breakfast selections. Comfortable bed. Got a room upgrade. Near MTR and airport bus stations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Economical choice close to Electric Road
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very simple, not many furnishings, a little tired. But for the price paid it was to be expected. I found the bed quite short, my feet hung over the end when lying down (I’m not above average in height).

    You get what you pay for, the entrance looks promising. The location is in between the Tin Hau and fortress Hill metro stations. Lots of small restaurants to choose from nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel for fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators are slow. May take you 10 min to come down.

    Friendly staff, airport express goes directly to it. Decent size relative to what you will get in Hong Kong.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.2
    Location is good, 5min walking distance to MTR and Victoria...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is too small, room is small. Facility poor.

    Location is good, 5min walking distance to MTR and Victoria park. Full of restaurants on the street nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was a pleasant stay and I’d recommend this place for its location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was not so good and we had to call multiple times to get a few bottles of water

    Breakfast was nice and good value for money. Also the hotel is located very close to the Hongkong Metro station (Tian Hu), which makes life very easy and saves a lot of money while travelling across the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Very good location, rooms very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small, the beds very short, just long enough for people not taller than 1,70m. It was smelly and did not have a lot of space to move around. While breakfast was good, the room was not pretty inviting, dark, cramped with tables and more like a cantine than a hotel.

    Easy access to MTR station of the Island Line, which is the most important one to reach a lot of interesting sites ealily, very convenient, 5 minutes walk. The breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    Satisfactory overall on a 2 day 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better entertainment in the room. Wi-fi was at best average re speeds,and only a limited range of tv channels.

    Bed was very comfortable. Room was clean and tidy( although our friends room was definitely on the small side in size It was good that breakfast was inclusive,and room service prices we're reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    The place was small yet very clean and near the restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators were too cramped that we had to wait for like 10-20mins to ride down the elevator at around 9am-12nn everyday.

    The place was small yet very clean and near the restaurants and convenient stores.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice country to be in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel. They should have put up as Tin Hau instead of Causeway Bay . As we have a hard time finding the hotel when we reach causeway bay. We had to take the MTR to get down at Tin Hau again after calling the receptionist at the hotel.

    The breakfast buffet was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    -The empire hotel is located near the shopping area such as causeway bay - Easy to go to this property from hongkong station (airport express) by the free shuttle bus - The room and facities is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    One of my best Hotels experince! I will definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    A budget class hotel where comfort, luxury and hospitality know no bounds. If convenience, comfort and reasonable price is what you are looking out for, this hotel is the one to suit your budget and comfort. Very convinient lication, 5 mnts walk to the subway station “Tin Hau” Close to the main shopping area. 30 mnys away with metro & express train to the Airport. Lots of redtaurants and shops around, busy area and central. The stuff and the Managet “Amanda” gave me an excellent customer service. It was my first time visit to Hong Kong,! my experience succeded my expectations. I had an unfortunate situation, my flight to my next destination got canceled by the airline company and I had to make some calls inside and outside Hong Kong to manage my airline TKT & accomodation bookings etc... I went to see the stuff at the reception and asked them for help after explaining my situation, they were so helpful, they even called the hotel manager “ Amanda “ and asked her to take care of my situation personaly. She came and introduced her self, offered me an excellent help and service, she made sure I leave their hotel with a pleasant and happy smile in my face, which really did happen! I want to thank you “ Amanda” and all your stuff for the excellent service and help you provided me with during my stay! If ever I come back to Hong Kong again, I will definitely stay at your hotel without any doubt. What a beautiful experience and ppl! All the staff at the hotel have a friendly & a diserable approach with a smile. They go an extra mile to ensure that you truly feel special. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure they aim to give you a personalized service and make you feel at home. I will highly recomand this hotel without any hesitation! Thank you for such a beautiful experience and an excellent service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    Fair to bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC extremely cold throughout the hotel. Bed was too small for an European size male. I paid for a non smoking bedroom but it still smelled like someone was always smoking inside it.

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, neat and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More faculties such as lounge and bar for normal booking perhaps.

    The staffs are friendly, patience and always willing to help. Clean and comfortable environment. Nice location as convinient to travel around by bus, train and tram.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Empire stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was freshly painted and we requested another room... there was only 1 other room available but was smaller than the one we booked and smelled mouldy. We had to sleep there the 1st night and was moved to another room the next day. That room was very nice with no smells. Beds is a short for tall people... we are 1.78m & 1.9m beds are 1.8m.

    It was clean and it seems like they are renovating the rooms systematically. Nice complimentary drinks and snacks and crisp bedding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    That was Okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of Wi-Fi in the business lounge (30th floor). We spent three days there (business meetings) and had to use LTE from our mobile phones. Ridiculous.

    Dinner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.2
    Will not return here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money spent. Room was too small and not the same as the one in adverts. No view at all as it is blocked by other buildings.

    Free shuttle from HK MTR station to this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    My room was freezing cold. The AC felt like it was on 10 degrees. I tried reducing the temperature but it was still cold. When I arrived at the hotel, my room was not ready. They told me it would be ready in one hour, an hour passed they told me it will be ready in 15 minutes, that also passed and they told me the same thing again, 3 hours of waiting around my room was finally ready. NOT acceptable! Horrible WiFi network, WiFi hardly worked.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    stay good, reception staff helpful, guided us.breakfast was terrible. dining rm no english.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SEE above.

    RECEPTION AND LOBBY STAFF WERE HELPFUL. LOT OF OTHER STAFF DID NOT UNDERSTAND ENGLISH. EVERY BODY IN OUR PARTY IS VEGETARIAN AND WE DID NOT HAVE ANY OPTION FOR THE BREAKFAST EXCEPT FOR TOAST AND CEREAL. POOR VALUE FOR MONEY.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    7 mins walk to mtr.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is intermittent and slow

    7 mins walk to mtr. Have a range of food stores just down the streets. No proper space to store luggages for guests. Toilet is particularly small, to close the shower door is a chore. For this price, nothing more to ask for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Good choice if all you need is a clean/comfortable place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is a garbage collection facility directly across the street. One of the three elevators was often "not in service", often used by the service staff. Carpet in the hallway looks a bit old. Very few TV channel selection, mainly Chinese channels, no overseas TV channels, such as CNN, BBC. No exercise facility.

    The room is actually very clean, neat and modern. Size and room price are reasonable. Wouldn't mind to stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location, good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much space in the lobby, rather congested at some times.

    Good location with easy access to MTR. Clean,tidy and reasonably spacious rooms at this price point. Breakfast good quality and diverse choices. Free minibar a welcome addition. Staff were uniformly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.3
    not good at all ..sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely not value for money-rooms are match boxes although we pay a bomb...totaly unfriendly staff..only 13 channels on tv and no enlgish all chinese...breakfast was useless not catering to international customer only chinese!!is this a chinese only hotel?? then please advertise as such..we will never set foot on this and will not recommend to anyone....

    nothing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was depressing and the breakfast atmosphere was too busy and not pleasant. The lounge on the thirtieth floor was likewise,

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    I wrote to the hotel asking for shuttle from the airport ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy, the room was very small, hotel is not in a modern building.

    I wrote to the hotel asking for shuttle from the airport and it was provided. I also asked for early check-in, it was also provided. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    great location, great hotel team service, very comfortable - fully recomended !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent service and care, we had some special situation for our business trip and the hotel team where more then care and amazing to us - we are more then grateful and appreciate it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Great stay! ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! 👏🏻

    We loved it! We wished we could have stayed a little longer! Great location! Almost near to everything you might be needing: a walking distance to restaurants, convenient stores, grocery store, laundry service, spa, bus stop, tin hau train station, bakery and more...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nevertheless, the location require quite a walk toward nearest MRT station, as it locates right between Tin Hau and Fortress Hill station. In addition, number of elevator are limited, I have to wait for 10 minutes in the morning just to get from my floor to the lobby (during morning time).

    The room is considered large, comparing to other hotels in Hong Kong.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower leaked onto marble floor. Lack of easily accessible power points in the room (really hurt my neck having to bend down under the table to plug in my charger.

    Wide range of breakfast options. Very helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointingly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing else that we liked about the hotel and wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone. Toaster broke and no replacement lifts not sufficient yonservice the hotel. No vegetarian options.

    staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    I didn't like it at all.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hair dryer was a mess :((( and I saw the beetle in room :((( and at last they charges my husband's debit card by mistake and will return after 2 weeks :((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( Also the breakfast was designed mostly for HK and Chinese taste not international :((((

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    It was a nice first-ever visit to Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was rather small, but this is Hong Kong

    Like the comfortable beds (2 twins) like the breakfast which was very good, lots of choices of delicious foods l

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfort enough, worth money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work properly, long hours to wait till get the room/check in!

    Convenience enough walking to MTR station and many places to eat! Recommended :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.2
    would try somewhere else next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dark, elevator overcrowded, moving path always blocked by something, easy to hear neighbouring room

    free pocket wifi, comfortable bed, staff relatively friendly comparing to the rest of Hong Kong

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, clean and beautiful rooms and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were really courteous and so nice! It was a pleasure to stay there. The breakfast was very good as well. The room was very clean and beautiful. All in all, a great hotel and I would definitely book it again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    Location close to subway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under renovation and low cleanliness standards. The hotel has some floors under renovation so there was noise and a strong smell of paint. My first room had such a strong paint smell so I had to chance room. My second room had a lot of garbage under the bed including 3 empty plastic bottles from previous guests... Also the shower water did not warm up.

    Location close to subway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    I really love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really love this place. The hotelier so nice, fluent english conversation, the room neat, the place is perfect, worth with the price. I will stay here again when i'm in hkg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    Convenient but the rooms smelled terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelled like mold. All of my belongings that entered the hotel room currently have a terrible mold smell. The bedroom was also tiny, I don't recommend the bed to anyone over 6' tall. At 5'9'', my feet hung over the edge of the bed. Also, the hotel is located in Tin Hua, not CWB as advertised. The shower is not designed well and the bathroom floods easily.

    The hotel is a short walk from the MTR, the staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    For the price it was decent. Would have paid a little more for better location to save on MTR costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't great but close to MTR which made up for it. The carpets were dirty in the room over didn't feel as clean as it portrayed online.

    The beds were comfortable and the room air conditioning was cool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.6
    Very bad hospitality - unfriendly and grumpy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly trained and unfriendly staff. Staff don't greet nor smile and make guests wait to be served. They don't prioritize thier guests...very bad hospitality!

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    good hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    really clean and modern rooms. staff were great. which is good because hong kong can be hit and miss with hotels. what you see in the pictures is what you get with the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 18 nights

    The elevators can be a bit slow. Amenities (coffee, refreshments in the complimentary mini bar) were often not replaced every day, but it was quickly rectified on request.

    Good service, friendly staff and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Value for Money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We're happy for the price we paid.

    Proximity to good restaurants at a reasonable price; short walk to Tin Hau MTR station ( one stop to Causeway Bay). Airport shuttle stops right in front of the hotel. Value for money. Staff were accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and easy access to restaurants and nearby MTR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay there was repair works at the upper floor, there were hammer noises and our bathroom had water leak from the ceiling.

    Comfortable and easy access to restaurants and nearby MTR.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.2
    Definitely will not recommend this hotel to anybody!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Management There is management problem. Staff often are confused themselves. e.g. coordination between reception desk & breakfast area. 2. Payment I was first told that I could not use a black card because it is a visa debit card. Then, the next day, I was told the card was acceptable. ??????? 3. Luggage delivery service I was told by the reception desk that my luggage will be delivered to my room and there was no need to provide any paper or receipt. The guy delivered my luggage repeatedly complaining to me - "Why did not you give the "note" to the counter." I explained the hotel staff at the counter told me there is no need. However, the person delivered my luggage just told me no need to explain and went off with anger. What the hell! I was so glad I did not pay him tips yet. Was it my problem?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    3.8
    Terrible service, never go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible customer service!! One of our room was not ready to move until 5:15pm!!! That was after repeated request but were delayed more and more! Will never go there again Both rooms handy mobile phones were also broken.

    Beds are comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    2.9
    Never again and too expensive considering proximity
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location totally not a tourist place. Everything is inconvenient, no nearby places to go around and eat. Even if you take bus you have have to transfer since it's quite isolated. A nightmare indeed. Everything is inconvenient and when I asked hotel staff positioned outside on the side of the hotel what bus to take, he answered me 'I don't know and he's even like shouting at me" so I stopped

    Free water

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was too cramped although stated to be 15sqm. Worse still, the bathroom started to "flood" from the 3rd or 4th day and hotel didn't manage to resolve the problem. The cleaners / maintenance could only add more rags around the whole bathroom and outside it. The front desk only offered me a change of room on the eve before my departure. Too late and disappointing and I didn't want to stress myself with a move as I was leaving in less than a day's time.

    Free drinks from the minibar. Bonus as it was super humid during my stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Free mobile WiFi, Free mobile phone for use during the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedsheets not changed, and we could tell because our pillow cases and bedsheets were ripped with distinct holes. Was raining our entire trip, and the room had bad ventilation, so the humidity from shower was not ventilated out, and opening the window didn't help. Made the whole room, the bed and all our clothes and belongings very damp. We complained to the reception, but they could only put towels around the window where rain water was leaking in. Toilet was awkward, because it was partially transparent (frosted glass in the middle).

    Free mobile WiFi, Free mobile phone for use during the stay. Good size of room for Hong Kong, and very good location. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Impressive at looks, average in amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities like TV channels limited, only plastic spoons for coffee and it's too high to reach the water boilers , lift lobby too miserably narrow.

    Convenient to eating places and train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast is good with multiple options as compared to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Size of the room but it can obviously not be changed. The buffet breakfast timing was from 7.00 a.m to 10.30 a.m which we already knew as it was already mentioned in the coupon but we did not like the restaurant manager/staff always reminding us the closing time every day which was little annoying.

    The breakfast is good with multiple options as compared to my stay in other hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    It was an okay stay and prolly can have me back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I booked, it could've been better if theres a breakfast that comes with it nor a fruit platter etc. and they dont even have a cable TV for international channels.

    Mason from the front desk is really helpful, even gave me a higher floor with a harbor view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    I must say being greeted by Jack & Ying on arrival was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must say being greeted by Jack & Ying on arrival was a big part of a very enjoyable stay..they were very friendly & did all they could to make sure I was happy & comfortable..clean & very comfortable rooms with nice big beds & reasonable views..I enjoyed my stay & will stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small and the lifts are a little awkward and slow.

    These guys went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The property is so close to transport, particularly the ding ding. Everything in the mini bar was included in the room charge and replaced daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.0
    Awful service and hairs in food and towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. Dirty and untidy. Every single day there was a long black hair on a fresh towel! 2. Once a small hair was found in the restaurant - pork&veggie dumplings and watermelon bowls. 3. Elevators - usually only one of three worked. We had to wait it for 10-15 minutes, as the only working one was full. 4. The breakfast was awful. Very few European food, constant nasty smell of Chinese food, overcrowded. The restaurant stuff has huge management problem.

    We had an anniversary trip. Thanks to welcome wine and fruit and upgraded room which was really spacious for Hong Kong. Free minibar with beer, nuts, coke, juices. Remind room service to fill it in every day. On the reception desk - Jack is the best guy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift doesn't operate properly. Had to wait a long time every day.

    Good location. Free shuttle bus from Airport Express station to the hotel. Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    The Wifi signal is very poor inside the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wifi signal is very poor inside the room. it disconnect always and there is no proper speed. Room writing table is very small not enough for to keep even a small laptop and books. bed side table is also too small no use with it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Were the location is very nice;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Were the location is very nice; close to the MTR, Bus Stop and Tram as well. There were easy to find a food and restaurant around. The room and bed is very clean where the staff is friendly and helfull.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Satisfactied customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet bowl clogged :(

    I like the room in the 21st floor it was upgraded by the receptionist, thanks btw. The area surrounding have alots of restaurant to choose from. The breakfast in empire is good especially the brewed coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: