Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Empire Hotel Kowloon - Tsim Sha Tsui 4 stars

62 Kimberley Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#154 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2390 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Close to the most of places of attraction
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices at booking.com and actual rates at the hotel differ. The website didn't tell about the hks 1000 deposit.

    Close to the most of places of attraction

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People waste a lot of food in breakfast therefore hotel should write some places that pls fill plates upto your appetite or fill agaon atter they like the dish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location but very very pricy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are super small and fit for only one person. The price to upgrade once you get there is exorbitant. I had to pay Rs. 14000 for two night to upgrade to a room that was able to then take on two adults and a kid with an extra bed. Be careful when you book!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    A reasonable choice for the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was rather small, but perhaps ok for HK standards. It smelled bad after an absence (air con?). The breakfast was rather boring and I did not like the quality - taking a bun and a coffee outside would be so much better. The entrance to the hotel is a failure: stairs and no automatic door. We struggled with the stroller everyday.

    The room was clean and made everyday. Clean new bedsheets and towels. The service at the reception was good (accomodating, friendly), althought sometimes slow. Quiet room, comfortable bed. Great view on city lights at night. Wide choice at breakfast. Good location. The WI-FI device really worked, and was really useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel at a great location against a very good price for Hong Kong standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were upgraded as a first time visitor, excellent rooms at the 23rd floor. Fabulous view of the skyline and walking distance from all Kowloon has to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Complimentary pocket WiFi for guest use is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was sometimes very noisy at night. It is about 10 minutes walk away from the closest MTR exit. That's not a problem on good weather days or if you are not carrying anything heavy but if it is raining or you have heavy baggage or travelling with children, you may want to consider another mode of travel that will drop you off at the hotel door step. Bed was too soft.

    Complimentary pocket WiFi for guest use is very convenient. A refundable deposit is required and you can pick up the device from the front desk. A 24hr supermarket is located right across the street and a 24hr convenience store is also located further up the street. Housekeeping was very quick to deliver additional amenities, iron, etc to the room whenever we placed a request. Although room showed signs of wear and tear, it was kept in very clean condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restaurant is so rude. Bump me in front of buffet line without an apology. Buffet line is limited and quality is not so good. Food isn’t enough during 7:30am. Need improvement on staff hospitality. This is my second stay and food quality is dropping.

    Good location. Room is comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    7 Days in hong kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Empire Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small / mini bar refreshments poor. cost of club lounge not worth it. Club lounge had coffee machine and free limited drinks only between 6.00 and 8.00 pm.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing. There are much better places to stay in Kowloon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Been staying in HK for business for 15 years now, I always like trying new places otherwise it can get a bit repetitive, and I never bother to review hotels usually, but this one was really disappointing. Windows were dirty, masking tape stuck to black out blinds with writing over and they didnt close properly. Tile in bathroom was cracked. Ordered room service first night, hardly any options were available, turned up not on tray, wrapped in clingfilm, no knife and fork, no sauces. Cheese missing from Cheeseburger and food cold. Staff not friendly or welcoming. I was expecting a package and asked at the front desk if it had been delivered and the gentleman on the desk made a face at me and acted like it was a strange thing to have something delivered to a hotel. Not really a hotel for an international traveller, maybe more for locals. There are much better places to stay in Kowloon, can really recommend the Kowloon hotel, (fantastic customer service) and also the Royal Garden.

    Nothing good to recommend it for really.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's my second stay and I love this place, I don't need to stay anywhere else in HK. Only thing I could suggest is they rotate the breakfast menu a little during the week - however it is a large buffet with lots of choice.

    Love the hotel - clean, big, fabulous staff, great location, club bar, comfortable beds, very clean lovely bathroom, clean pool, breakfast buffet is large. Can't wait for another stay. Upgrade to a club room, it's worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    Complimentary of snack and drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is very dirty / No replace for new shampoo and conditioner in everyday / Room is not clean / Bad smell on Pillow

    Complimentary of snack and drink

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel but dirty and not well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was dirty and not well maintain. Bath thub dirty. Very dirty under the bed: lots of dust and rubish. Dirt also under the glass on the table

    Good bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    2.5
    POOR HOSPITALITY
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room and POOR HOSPITALITY. The club lounge experience was pathetic. They have an old lady in charge at club lounge who do not know how to treat guests. The hotel should train and educate there staff some professional etiquettes. They made us feel as if we are staying free. We paid premium for this hotel and selected after reading good reviews but experience was negative and it was not worth the amount spent.

    Nothing, it was a worth experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location for 2 day city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Rooms are on the small side but very practical and comfortable. Hotel staff very helpful. Lovely pool, bit cold getting in but then ok. Starbucks across road do nice breakfast tea and croissants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    the good still outweighs the bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The airconditioning was too cold, it was like winter in my room. I didn't bother to inform the front desk as I've read about the hotel's infamous cold airconditioning in a lot fo reviews. Also the lobby can get very crowded. They should put more people at the front desk on peak hours. I'm not sure about the policy of the hote on smoking but it smelled like cigarette in the lobby.

    It was such a pleasant surprise to learn that I was upgraded to the Empire Club. I've been to HK a few times and I know that hotel rooms are small on the average compared to other countries so I was very pleased with the upgrade. Staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. It's also a big plus that they offer free pocket wifi. It is big help in navigating the city as I have ready access to Google maps.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty Even their public restroom located in the restaurant was extremely dirty

    The location was great The room air conditioning was cold The pool was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Great staff, small rooms in very old building, not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tiny! In the room description it says 182 square feet, we weren't looking at the description closely and instead based off of pictures (which don't show how small the room is). Our mistake. This is a very old building, with old fixtures, pluming, lighting etc. I wouldn't say it's dirty, but the carpet was quite stained, so were some tiles in the bathroom and the toilet. The room had no brighter lights and was actually pretty low lit, so you couldn't really see how dirty things were or weren't until you looked really closely (by design?) All of the room doors shut very loundly, sounds like slamming when you aren't slamming it, so it doesn't make for a quiet atomsphere, despite what other reviews have written.

    The location was wonderful! I love Korean food and there were quite a few restaurants within the block, and more within 15 min walk. Easy access to almost all the areas of HK you'd want to visit. The staff was very welcoming and courteous, upgraded to a club room, which is the same as other but the mini bar is free? Also brought a split of wine and a few chocolates when they found out it was my birthday. Very pleasant staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets in common area were very very dirty!

    Breakfast selection was wide, however the restaurant was over-crowded. Some maintenance work near our room and the noise was a concern, however the staff did their best to upgrade us to an Executive Suite with an excellent view of the Victoria Peak and the Hong Kong harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Empire Hotel Kowloon is at a great location and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast area is very small and crowded. Go early if you want to avoid the crowd.

    The location is excellent. I was upgraded to the Club Room which was very comfortable and free mini bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    First time in Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. Breakfast didn't have a big variety for non Asians pallet.

    It was close to MTR. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The Wi-Fi is very very good in the property and they offer the mobile Wi-Fi with is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay and very good value for money. Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV channels could be increased to carter for all tastes but those that were available were not bad.

    Very comfortable bed and clean room. It was very quiet at night and we enjoyed the peaceful nights. There are plenty of restaurants and several eateries all scattered around and we were spoilt for choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed there before and liked the area and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure why but the hotel seems to have a nice sundeck outside of the gym which is not available to use this seems short sighted as it would be a nice area to have a quiet place to sit outside.

    We have stayed there before and liked the area and hotel. The staff are very nice I had a concern regarding the bathrooms at the gym and pool not being open and they corrected the problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.4
    See comments above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 ) Room was pretty small, bath room small too, toilet bowl too near to shower section panel. Very tight for average size person. Mind you this is a Club floor room after upgrade. 2 ) Was charged room deposit HK$500 upon check-in, but not refunded up-on check out and full settlement of bill. Was told that it's hotel policy to hold for 4 weeks before refund. This is totally outrageous !!

    Central location for shopping and food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel in the centre of the city. Ask to stay on floor 7 if you have the chance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited gym set up.

    Right in the centre of the city. Floor 7 was a lot nicer than the club rooms higher up in the building. Free food and drinks in the room mini bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    The staff were great and overall, it is what I expected. Not mind blowing wonderful, but it served w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed, which was explained before hand. The room was small, but again, i was expecting that. The reliance on the room key to turn on the lights, a/c and access to the elevator is novel, but i think too reliant on technology

    The lication was nice as it was off the main street so it was quiet, but walking distance to all we were looking for

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Stayed in the Empire Club studio.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you want to have breakfast, do so - food is nice. But never come between 8:30-10am, as there is no place to sit down and is too noisy. And the restaurant is tooo crowded, bringing food to your desk needs patience. I took breakfast one day at 7:30 am and was nice, quiet and empty. Hotel said the minibar is free, but in the end refilled only once (I stayed for 5 nights).

    Stayed in the Empire Club studio. Clean, enough space, simple and modern design, good equipment. Went there in February, A/C is too cold, but the hotel provided very strong portable hot air fan which heated the room nicely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Room was small but welll designed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked to print boarding passes and was directed to a computer in the bar. They did not tell me that they charged 5 HK$ per sheet ! The restaurant is unappealing with a low ceiling and is overcrowded with tables so the breakfast buffet is hard to navigate. I did not know the pool was closed for renovation until I got there. It looks a nice pool and was my main reason for choosing the hotel. In the bedroom the carpet edges were dusty by the wall

    Room was small but welll designed. The staff serviced room very quickly . The concierges were helpful. Breakfast was international with local Chinese and typical English with cold salad as well . It worked well although it was so busy that it took a long time to collect everything you wanted.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location for a first visit to Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (bathroom especially) could have been cleaner. Also, the swimming pool was out-of-order for the winter period when we arrived, which we were not aware of when booking.

    Location was great. It was our first time in HK and the hotel was a great base to reach many attractions and also the metro. Also the complementary bus service to/from the airport express station was incredibly useful and made our stay easier.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Great location and view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tiny room, the smallest i have ever been. The breakfast personnel didn't fill up most of the food in the last 30 minutes of the dining.

    Great location and view from the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    About 10 min walk to MTR, free mini bar and restocked every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water leaking out through shower door, took multiple flushes to flush toilet

    About 10 min walk to MTR, free mini bar and restocked every day, provided free pocket WiFi for out of hotel use during our stay, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good stay with lots of food around the hotel and really good wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is quite small had no storage area to open our luggages. The pool was closed for maintenance during our stay would have been good to be notified during booking.

    Really good location in TST with lots of public transport available. Early check in was available if we stayed in the lower floors and was offered free drinks from the mini bar but not sure if the upper levels were better with a view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Good location and convenience for shopping and having meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Small lobby that may not be enough for tourists. - More expensive in vacation period (2-3 time from normal price). - Swimming pool is closed for maintenance. - When I was back to the hotel at 5:30 p.m., the maid had not clean the room yet.

    Good location and convenience for shopping and having meals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Good Location but Less Facilities .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    High Price if compare to all facilities . Nearly HKD 2,000 per night on New Year period . Swimming Pool is temporary out of service , front desk didn't inform when we check in. Not Much Facilities to provide .

    Breakfast is variety of food but same as everyday . Location is close to Nathan Road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the bar were a little inexperienced with getting drinks wrong but they were very lovely and tried their best

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Basically terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom flooded after flushing the toilet once, and reception staff did not deal with the issue for hours. Initially they had someone mop up the water but they didn't fix the actual leak, so the room kept flooding. They eventually upgraded my room (only after several of my group complained together) but did not deal with the issue in a professional or courteous manner. One reception staff member was extremely rude to the point of open hostility and evidently didn't consider a flooded bathroom to be a problem. Buffet breakfast was cold and disorganised, with many people jumping the queue and grabbing whatever they liked. Considering the rates they charge and the quality of service this was a terrible choice for my stay in Hong Kong. Will not be back.

    The view was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Expensive but average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not smiling No hair dryer Room not carpeted Price not the same in booking.

    The staff (old man) in the coffeshop is friendly and accomodating. Free use of mobile internet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.2
    Good location but quality has declined drastically, so probably wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, rundown, bathroom smelled like urine,small rooms, staff didn’t clean room until late afternoon, although they were friendly when they did come in. Beds were not comfortable and hard. Minibar not very good.

    Cleaning staff friendly. Location was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    I had a nice city view from my tiny deluxe room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very crowded and chaotic Breakfast area. Very small room, however I guess most of the rooms of HK hotels are very small, so I did not expect more. WIFI is not free.

    I had a nice city view from my tiny deluxe room. If you are not planning to stay and relax at the hotel but mostly coming for work, that is an OK hotel. Not good, not bad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    I love the location of the hotel as well as the clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The concierge service is very bad. They did not help us with taxi to the airport as well as carrying of our luggages down the steps of the hotel. I was even brushed aside when trying to ask for directions to ferry terminal to Macau. Overall, the staff (including reception and cafe) could smile a little bit more and be more polite.

    My friends and I stayed there for 6 nights. We were upgraged to club rooms. The rooms were clean but small. For the last two nights, I was disturbed at night because I could hear the loud noises of TV and toilet from the next room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the hallway flooring and the doors were old. The room is a little small but comfortable.

    The bed and linens were extremely nice and comfortable. All the drink in the room were free and what a wonderful and generous treats!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.2
    Only location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stuff is not welcoming and cannot answer any question you have about the city or even airport shuttle. No crisis management in case of an issue that l had during check in . Many hairs came out from the towels and bed covers.

    Only location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay very comfortable especially with family and kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bed was comfy so were the room services. Amenities were good and prompt services. Excellent location and central to going around every where. It has a good gym and also pool to unwind. Lots of shopping areas close by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location. Ideal for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free minibar but not stocked very well. Bathroom sink was blocked but this fixed quite promptly.

    Great location in Tsim Sha Tsui close to lots of restaurants and shops. Room quite small but clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    Bah...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They told us at the front desk that we were going to be upgraded to a better and bigger room for being Booking users. They gave us a bigger room but a triple one and all the extra space was occupied by the extra bed we didnt need. Lights in that room never worked well, we had maintenance guys in the room several times. We asked for a change but they said they were full. Also breakfast is very crowded, there is normally no place to sit, the room is too small for such a big hotel.

    Public transport lets you just in front the hotel. International travelers get a portable wifi during their stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    3.8
    Wish I had chosen a different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small, no space to open my case, the bathroom was filthy, surfaces hadn’t been cleaned for a long time, shower gel wasn’t replaced, the shower screen was covered in lime scale, the tiles behind the bin hadn’t been cleaned for months, the inside of the glass door hadn’t been cleaned for months. The mini bar wasn’t restocked. The complimentary slippers were replaced every day which was a waste of money as there was no need to replace them.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.7
    Bad experience. Switch room 2 times then upgrade me to suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my stay in this hotel. The problem for the rooms was toilet water not stronger enough. First room I was stayed is more worse especially the stand shower. Strain is not working properly. Have to turn off wait for the water gone then re-turn on again.

    Location only

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell of oil throughout the hotel and this wasn’t great when you’re jetlagged and have just woken up and are walking to the lift!

    A great location, easy to get on the subway from there and there were lots of shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel. The staff were friendly and the room was small (as expected) but clean and fairly new.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs in the receiving area are not that friendly. And not that fast to finish the transaction of every client hence long line or waiting for other clients.

    The bed was comfortable. The food is fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location for great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it had more amenities.

    Location, loved that it was in the heart of TST, the views were great. The staff was great and the breakfast buffet was delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Superb customer services, will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always consider myself to be an annoying customer but I cannot find any disappointment with the hotel!

    Good location, fantastic customer services, rooms are quite small but its normal in hong kong, will definitely come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Not bad at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not really in the heart of tst. Money value a bit high

    Allan of the reception is accommodating. He extend our use of free wifi unit until 4pm since out departure is at night. Great service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    The staff were all very nice and helpful especially at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed that there was no airport shuttle bus for the hotel available. Prior to my stay, I contacted the hotel about the shuttle bus and they said no reservations were required, and we only needed to visit their counter at he airport, but when we arrived in hkg they said there were no buses running.

    The staff were all very nice and helpful especially at checkout. Very modern design and good number and speed of lifts compared to other hotels. Great location with many restaurants, coffee shop and shopping malls close by, and very easy to catch a taxi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Would like to rate it as A mixed experience of sweet and sour
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the MRT STATION Too cramped bathroom Housekeeping team needs to be upgraded and trained as per global standards Also at the entry a ramp has to be provided to enable the luggage to be safely strollied into the hotel as it becomes difficult to carry the luggage through the steps

    Great Staff and nice cosy place to stay Safe and super friendly ready to help reception and conceirge

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Empire Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many children at the hotel - but not in the lounge which was great.

    The room was bigger than I expected. The food choice at breakfast was much better than I expected.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs to be improved.

    The hotel location is great. All prominent locations in TST are at walking distance. Two Starbucks are right outside the hotel on either side. Taxi stand is also right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    great location!!! simple hotel but with a few hic-ups
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very small, with quite a lot of bits in it making it feel cramped. the shower it self was great but leaked all over the floor. The curtain in the room was quite dirty. breakfast was okay very odd mix of things to eat and the coffee was terrible didnt find good coffee anywhere close.

    loved the location of the hotel, the minimal staff we had communication with where nice and friendly. The hotel is nice decorated, has a nice looking pool and gym (didn't use as didn't have time), always a free bottle of water in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    Not the best experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and the toilet leaked water all over the floor. They couldn't fix it and couldn't move us because they were fully booked. No compensation offered. Wifi was intermittent. Concierge had very little English so was unable to help us with directions etc.

    Quick checkin and check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer.

    My room was fantastic, a complimentary upgrade. You don't get charged for the mini bar, pillows and bed were fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    The location was good with public transport, plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was a buffet and while there was plenty of choice dishes that should have been hot weren't. The plumbing was slow and the bath filled with water when you had a shower.

    The location was good with public transport, plenty of shopping and restaurants close by. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning good and the rooms had an added bonus of free mini bar and snacks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    The hotel very close to the MTR and lots of shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The pool was very cold, The beds & pillows were hard. Breakfast had no variety in the cooked food. I dont think this is rated a 4 star hotel.

    The hotel very close to the MTR and lots of shops and restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    It was a good hotel although not great. For a few days in HK I think it’s okay to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service could have been better, it looks as though they are reluctant to clean up the room. The pillows is soft and flat. The bed is okay not great. We expected more as the price for this hotel is more to the high side.

    Location quite okay, walking distance to mtr. Staff can communicate in English. Room size is acceptable, as most hotel in HK have small rooms. The hotel has one of the biggest lobby comparing to nearby hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful and friendly staff, a great location and a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much I didn't like...only complaint, really, was that the bed was quite hard.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, a great location and a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The front desk folks need to be more customer friendlier.

    The location and the facilities of this hotel are excellent. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Stayed here a lot over last 2-3 years. This time was a BIG disappointment no staff care
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cold breakfast buffet even at the start at 7 am Staff that no longer smile at guests nor talk to guests I was not once asked if everything was OK in the whole week. Bar is lifeless and empty What was a welcoming and friendly hotel is now unwelcoming its like a ship without a captain also like they are trying to cut costs and make more profit at cost to the guests

    Location to our HK office very convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall a great place to stay for the price - complimentary water and wifi a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit short in storage space and only enough hanging space for one bath towel - shower leaked and toilet flush not “ fully” effective sometimes

    Staff were very friendly and happy to answer questions - organised a birthday cake and wine for my room as a complimentary surprise . Location quite central and easy for public transport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and enjoyable. Free WI fi. Closeness to Nathan Road
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central to most things we were waiting to do or see. Good house keeping? Selection of western style food. Front of desk staff helpful. Bell boys and door attendants fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    Will not be staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small rooms , no were to hang clothes , no iron or iron board, toilet blocked twice ,no airport transfers, bar staff knowledge very limited, breakfast rooms to small hard to find a table,

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    3.8
    Was worth the trip, but wouldn't go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information in the hotel rooms or in the lobby. The staff were not at all friendly, we had no idea about there ways such as no shoes in the pool area unless they were their slip ons, would be handy to know.

    Not much.was

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.0
    Pleasant and has the expected facilities as advertised on the website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a bit outdated. A fair bit of loitering by vendors outside the hotel canvassing property sales.

    Reception staff are courteous and helpful and speak good English. Ungraded with free bar in the room because the room that we booked was not available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Great stay overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi keeps dropping me off Imperial Hotel instead of the Empire Hotel, not sure why :(

    The staff at 3:00 am named Winnie! She’s so helpful and very accommodating. There was no other transportation available during that time other than taxi... could not get my Uber app to work, I was short of cash. She helped me exchange my currency from US dollars to HK dollars so I can take a taxi to the airport. Great staff you have! Nice place to stay. Definitely going back there for my next HK trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice Place to Stay in Hongkong
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast being served everyday has no variation. It is good if you will only stay for 1 day since you will.not notice it.

    The Hotel is very good and very near to drop off and pick up in going to the airport. The staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was lovely and ivwas given a free upgrade to 23rd floor with access to the lounge. Breakfast was amazing. Desk staff were helpful and kind. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Good but older hotel on Kimberly Road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms with poor cupboard space .... Slightly dated furniture and finishings...and outside appearance.

    Good location. Adequate breakfast although crowded... Pleasant Club facilities with snacks. Clean room and lounge. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Average and value for money, but don't expect too much for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alittle far from MTR. The flushjng system for the toilet bowl was really bad as we always had to flush a few times, and each time we flushed, we had to wait for a min for the water to fill up in the tank. The drainage in the bath area was terrible as the water was filling up the bath area and it takes minutes for the water to fully drain after a bath.

    Friendly staff. 24hrs convenient store right outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    -Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -I was promised a pocket WiFi during our stay as mentioned to me through email but when I arrived at the room it was not available -WiFi in room is sometimes intermittent and shuts down sometime. We had to use WiFi from adjacent room as back-up.

    -Great location! Airport Shuttle across the street for easy transfer to and from airport. -Staff also helpful with our request. -Room is quite small but is average for Hong Kong standards in price range. Definitely considering staying in this hotel again when I go back to HK. -Quick and easy check-in by Reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Empire Hotel Kowloon - Tsim Sha Tsui traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: