Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garden View Hong Kong 4 stars

1 Macdonnell Road, Mid-Levels, Mid-Levels, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#149 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 930 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got to beds for single persons instead of a double bed. The design of the rooms/furniture wasn't very modern

    We got a free upgrade for an apartment at 19th floor. The view was amazing and the rooms were very large

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    The view at night is quite amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Details in the booking.com did not specify each specific room. It is misleading to the guest especially the meal plan indicated on the booking details.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    nice bed, good blackout curtains, plenty of space
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    weird area, far from metro , nothing really around unless you go down the hill which is a steep climb back up

    nice bed, good blackout curtains, plenty of space

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay if you're taking taxi's across HK. Cheap enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing they can fix.

    Not too bad. Less a hotel and more like a serviced apartment. Clean and rooms are large for what you pay. Great area and location but still a walk to the MTR. Not recommended to go here for humid summertime if you dislike walking 15 mins to get to MTR. You'll need to take a cab.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    For the location, facilities and view - hard to beat. Been to HK 7 times - this is the best by far!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think they undersell what they have and what is around them - so you need to be inquisitive and ask. Staff are very helpful and nice.

    The location is superb - the hotel is located in one of the most expensive residential areas/roads so there are no other hotels nearby. There are no local bars and restaurants other than the two restaurants in the hotel. The one on the ground floor was good but lacks atmosphere and the one on the 6th is also the canteen for the YWCA - but don't let that put you off an excellent lunch soup and tea for about £6. So, these two are convenient. 40 yards behind the hotel is a plaza tower with three restaurants, chinese and japanese - again all good. The BIG plus is there is a large supermarket in the same block (on two floors) with a huge range and bakery items reduced at 6pm. Not cheap but nothing is. Worth getting some beers and snacks there. You can walk down (10/15 mins through the zoo) to the Central area for all the bars and other places to eat. Taxis - there are plenty as they are always coming up Cotton Tree Road/ Garden Rd. I was working at the Conv/Expo centre nr Wan Chia and it only took 10 mins and £3 in a taxi to get there as the route is very direct, north to south. Now the views from your room . . .we were on the 9th floor and the view over the zoo was fantastic - just ask the staff for a view and they will do their best. On the 6th is an outdoor pool with a breeze. Not big but hey - look at your room rate and say "thank-you".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    We are staying for another week under the first booking made through you. May 31 was added later
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning in the room was not at all effective initially. They.did some work and it was better, but still not really effective. The corridor outside the room was cooler than in the room ! I should add that they sent the person to attend to it immediately

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel was great, right next to the Zoo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel was great, right next to the Zoo & Botanical gardens of Hong Kong. We arrived at 7:30am and they were so nice to let us check-in early which was greatly appreciated after a 12h flight from London :) Great value for money as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Good price, good location - just put your walking shoes on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool seems to be largely given over to swimming lessons for small children. This was ok the first day because they roped off half the pool so you could still swim. However, on the second day, both sides of the pool were full of very small children with flutterboards, etc. It is nice for adults to have somewhere to swim too!

    The room we were given was on a high level and had a nice view. Location is very good going downhill; not so great at night when parts of the gardens are closed. It is certainly a good workout going up the hill! We enjoyed the little gym and the pool was a welcome cool down. Reviews from some people have been quite harsh; at the end of the day, I think it depends on the customer service you get and the room you get. Overall we were satisfied. Wifi was good and the supermarket next door is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The money i have spent in garden view exact the same i have spent in the venetian macau, so venetian is value for money and lot luxury.

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Very Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable had a caravan feel to the rooms but clean and done the job

    Very Clean. Staff were great after we had a man knock our door constantly at 2am we were concerned, we called reception and security responded instantly. (Turned out he had the wrong room)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly comfortable but no frills hotel. In YWCA complex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly more YWCA than business style hotel. Very small, old-school T.Vs

    Nice location, quiet, next to parks but walking distance to the action of central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    It’s okay. It’s not super bad and not super good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that It was on inclined location. Very hard to walk from and to. You will definitely need to take a taxi to get anywhere. After the second night when the housekeeping cleaned the room it smelled like feet. The water had a specific taste

    I like that it’s near the peak and IFC mall. The receptionist upgraded our room with a garden view. Aircon was strong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better if the hotel can provide some adaptors like other hotels do in HK.

    Very comfortable, clean hotel and friendly staffs. Good location and great mountain view in the room. Every aspect is worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Very good, efficient and convenient.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our advance room request was overlooked and the restaurant in the evening could be more inspiring.

    The bed is a bit too firm. The breakfast selection is good but could do with an overall revisit. The east/ west choices are welcome but the croissants are somewhat tired and the butter/ jam sachets naff. Helpful staff and great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    All in all it is a very nice hotel in a very nice city. The place is beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more thorough cleaning in the bathroom (floor), a bit more eatable breakfast

    The view was astonishing, easy to get wherever you want, few people and quietness, good sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    Great city , but wouldn’t recommend the hotel at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly ... they treated us like we were stealing something when checking out , they went to check the room and we had to wait until they checked it ... the room looked old , very different with the pic in booking.com , the bathroom was smelly, the shower curtain were dirty at the bottom , breakfast is ok , but no one speak English there so it’s hard to ask for things although they try so that was nice but I don’t think the restaurant is connected to the hotel ... it’s like another owner the service there was better .

    The location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    You reach the next Metro station in 15-20 minutes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not as good as expected for the price. To less different kinds of food. Especially if you prefer western breakfast.

    You reach the next Metro station in 15-20 minutes. Close to the hotel you can find different parks and the way up to the peak. So if you like walking, the location is quite good. The staff was polite and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean Hotel with good Lovato in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are not providing any complimentary drinking water.

    They gave us a free upgrade, it was a clen property with a big room and it is located just next to Hong Kong botanical gardens

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    The bathroom is quite rundown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is quite rundown. Water heater is difficult to adjust, either too cold or too hot. And the water pressure is too low, uncomfortable to bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.0
    Smelly toilet and dirty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, we request a queen size bed room but they give us a twin bedroom. Second, a rubbish wrapped nicely with some toilet paper right next to my bed. Third, smelly toilet... I seriously won't book that again next time. But you might have a better luck.

    Good Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    My room was upgraded free of charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic not convenient, need to call taxi when going to or leaving the hotel.

    My room was upgraded free of charge. The hotel has high standard of cleaniness in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Not that from Soho, nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a bottle opener at night, but couldn’t get till checked-out. If you wanna walk from soho to the hotel, you should be prepared.

    Not that from Soho, nice view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    We stayed on the 17th floor .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 17th floor . Have a nice view of Hong Kong building. Nice and clean room, close to the peak tram and garden. Taxi parked right in front of the hotel . It s very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value apartment in high rental area where we stay each year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kitchen equipment for two is sparse - microwave, two hot plates are contact ones and tricky to operate. We leave a toaster at a friend's place as no toaster provided - definitely aimed at non-european type breakfasts! One could not invite friends for lunch or dinner without requesting extra cutlery and plates from Housekeeping.

    Excellent Park 'n Shop supermarket in adjacent building so that if taking apartment one can cook breakfast or any meal; wifi improved on our previous stay; taxis plentiful outside; very good Chinese restaurants, including vegetarian in the same building as supermarket, but English limited and English menus not always as large as Cantonese ones! But your food will be enjoyable. Steep walk down Tramway path leads to Pacific Place and Admiralty and easy access to Wanchai restaurants and coffee shops and to Central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Garden view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely firm. My partner and I both couldn't sleep on our sides.

    The location was great, the room was as it appeared in the advertised photos and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    They were sold out of Superior Rooms, so I was upgraded to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed extra strict about guests - I had two friends visit and their IDs were taken down. Maybe they thought they were staying. It's also not as convenient as it seems - though it says it is only a short distance from Central Station, that is technically true but intellectually dishonest - the distance may be correct, but it is almost entirely uphill (including some very steep stairs and twisty, hard to find paths). Would be very difficult with luggage (I had a four year old and a stroller and it was not the easiest trip). Not the hotels fault - but something to consider before arriving. Taxis will try to gouge you for a short trip, so either take one from a distance, or be prepared for an arduous walk.

    They were sold out of Superior Rooms, so I was upgraded to a Junior Suite, which was nice. Everything was very simple, but clean and in good shape, and very comfortable. Beautiful views, and an excellent stay overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Clean & cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rate for children is high .. should be free ..

    Very clean , comfortable & large sizes room . Near the peak tram , botinical garden & hongkong park But away from kowloon .. need Taxi or MTR can go there walking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t very good. The hotel looked much better in the pictures in booking.com than it actually was. Wouldn’t class this more than a 3 star.

    Fairly close to the city centre. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Quiet location, good facilities. Cost-effective.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The hotel provides kettle but one or two free water bottles would be good - It's not so close to subway stations and can be a tiring walk (going up)

    - >10m walk to Lan Kwai Fong - Quiet area, near the park - Friendly and supportive staff - Gas station nearby to buy water or snacks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now water in the room

    Now water in the room It is a shame not to have small bottle of water in the room specially when you arrive very late at night How much saving would they make Very bad impression ????????

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Room was bigger than what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't the most convenient but you can get a cab/uber easily.

    Room was bigger than what I expected. And it was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location and walking distance to Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are hard and uncomfortable. The maid came in the room even though the "do no disturb" sign was on and they kept calling room . My husband had just come out of the shower and luckily managed to put on clothes before she walked into bedroom. Very annoying and intrusive! The maid walked in on me on a prior visit and also ignored "do not disturb sign". I was asleep in the bed and she walked in the room shouting loudly and woke me up. Not good!!

    The location is great for Central district. It's near to a supermarket and taxi's stop outside regularly. The porter was cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    A beautiful, comfortable stay in a great area at a reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On leaving, we asked reception to book a taxi for us. He made a short phone call and told us there was not a taxi available. We had to walk by a busy road on a steep hill with heavy luggage to find a taxi rank. We had a plane to catch - so not a pleasant start.

    When we walked through the entrance door, everything was peaceful. We were greeted with a polite, welcoming smile at reception. The staff were impeccably dressed in stylish suits. We really enjoyed our spacious, quiet room and loved how comfortable and clean it was.The price we paid was good value. Thank you- we will revisit this treasure..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    This may perhaps be one of the best hotels in Hong Kong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I hope they can reduce the price a little. But even though, I still love staying in this hotel! I so so love this hotel.

    This may perhaps be one of the best hotels in Hong Kong. I will book it over and over again. I just so love this place! It is near the tram going to the Peak. It is near Fusion where I can shop all my needs. I just so love this hotel! They have even given me a free upgrade of my room! Oh my! I was so so happy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    It was normal not great not bad just average .. its not something that I’ll remember for years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, its far away from everything, any stores or coffee shops are far away. The hotel is in a residential area. So if you need anything you have to either walk 20 mins to central or take a cab there Beds could be more comfortable.

    Their house keeping team is very good , everyday the room was made well and kept neat and tidy. I always came back to a clean room The staff was accommodating they helped me out with an early check in and late check out , that was really sweet of them All basic amenities like Water kettle , Iron , Blowdryer , Toiletries are provided. I got a value for money deal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.9
    Good for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in room. Water is not potable so you are forced to buy bottled water.

    Clean comfortable and relatively reasonably sized rooms for HK standards

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    The view was amazing, no matter if it is morning or evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were good but a little bit old

    The view was amazing, no matter if it is morning or evening. City lights are extremelly beautiful! As well, the location was great, between two parks (but you can see only 1).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Pricey and hilly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing considering the cost. Have stayed in much nicer and more accessible places in HK for less. Because you are on the mid levels you must walk 10 minutes downhill to get to any amenities. Or up hill to the peak which is only for the strong calved! The hotel is quite basic and the garden view is not necessarily open to all. The beds are rock hard which again isn't to everyones liking. They require a 500hkd deposit up front also which is it goes on your card will not be returned for 3-4 weeks apparently. I would recommend staying in causeway bay or Wanchai instead as it is cheaper and more accessible area for HKs main attractions.

    Location is central and close to the peak which my friends wanted to do. Clean and spacious rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are super uncomfortable; there is barely any lighting in the room and bathroom; there were only 3 power plugs in the entire room - including the bathroom - which was incredibly inconvenient.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location, nice views and friendly staff. Worth staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have provided free water in rooms

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic view from our room. For the price of the room is was better than similar hotels. The breakfast is provided by separate restaurant was 118HKD booked on the day. It was not amazing but the staff were friendly there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice place with nice view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many facilities offered here. No complimentary water so you have to boil water with the kettle there (which doesn't look clean enough). It would be very hard to walk here.

    Good view and nice staff. Basic facilities. Would recommend this place if you come by taxi/car.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Prepare your ear plugs and you will enjoy your excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed on a high floor. (I'm not so sure but it must have been 19th or 29th floor). For 3 days, I heard a very loud noise as if someone has dropped a heavy dumbbell on the floor throughout the nights and days. I assume that it must be from the difference of pressure and heat between day and night time that cause the clanking noise of the building. Still, other than this noise and if you bring your ear plugs. You can enjoy staying at this hotel as much as I did.

    The location is absolutely great. I'm training for a marathon next year so for being to run in the morning at the Botanical Garden opposite to the hotel is just absolutely fantastic for me. The service and hotel's accommodation is at the standard level.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice room with a great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was just OK, not many choices and the same every day! Coffee was good!

    I was upgraded to a suite with garden view, big size for Hong Kong, comfortable and clean room with a fantastic view over the zoo and at central! Bed was big and nice firm mattress. Location is a bit far from the centre and uphill, but you can walk through the beautiful zoo or take a taxi (with luggage)! There are a few Chinese restaurants just beside the hotel! Beer and water can be bought at the gas station in front of the hotel as well!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Great city hotel with really practical facilities in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was out of action when we were there.

    Good location & an easy walk down to the Central District. Cheap to get a taxi or the long escalator back up the hill. Great city view from the floor to ceiling window & we could also see the flamingos in the park across the road. Very well laid out & practical rooms with plenty of room for everything & great lighting. Useful to have the Fusion supermarket right next door!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had reserved one room for 2 adults and one 3 year old, which was explicitly confirmed, together with the price. When we arrived, we were told that they would not provide a bed for the child and they assumed he would sleep in one of the single beds! After insisting, we got a cot, too small but better than nothing. Breakfast was not good, cold bacon and breads not good quality. Coffee also poor. Eggs rubbery. Restaurant advertised as hip! but decor was old fashioned and dreary.

    Wonderful view. Proximity to Park, transportation just outside the door, walking distance to Central, responsive room staff. Reception staff generally friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the money, and definitely not worth the walk up the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on a major thorough fare and the noise from traffic is quite high. We were supposedly given an upgraded room with a garden view but you could only see the garden if you looked directly to the right out of the window. The city could barely be seen as well yet we had to put up with traffic noise. The staff are basically unfriendly. When I asked for a voltage converter (I have both US and European plugs but did not realize Hong Kong is different than mainland China), I was sent one that did not work. The housekeeper could not believe it did not work and was quite perturbed that I wanted another. Later I requested an additional one and was told that they did not have enough but later in the evening they might be able to provide another. Needless to say another was never brought to the room.

    Not much

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Conformable and clean hotel 15 mins from center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy breakfast (rly not much to choose from), at least half of personnel doesn't speak English, quite expensive (like USD 200 per night and that was the cheapest room :)

    Helpful staff, nice location in quiet place 15 min from the center on feet, clean rooms, good view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    great stay.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -nice size room, bathroom, and shower - comfortable with AC and TV -location was a bit out of the way but close to Central station and Victoria's peak -one of the few reasonable priced hotels around the area (expensive hotels around central station!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed for annual maintenance but I was not informed upon booking, so very disappointed I was not able to use the facilities advertised. Staff were not awful, but not friendly either.

    The rooms seemed recently refurbished and done to a high standard. Rooms were of good size, clean and comfortable. Bed was firm, bathroom was clean and basic amenities provided. Location was good. Away from the HK bustle, but an easy doenhill gentle stroll to the city centre (central).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Very hilly area. Not recommended for elderly.
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was looking into other apartments. The couch was very hard to sit on and not comfortable at all.

    The room was good as there was a couch and small table and 2 chairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Gardenview great
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a little thin- could hear next door showering and the tv

    Clean, well designed, great shower. Wonderful staff who accommodated our needs, including early check-in and late check-out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, amazing service, comfortable room, incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the property were extremely helpful and friendly. I arrived early in the day and they allowed me to leave my bags behind the front desk. I needed to print, sign and send some papers and asked if there was a place close by that I could do that, but they helped me right there at the front desk and made the whole process extremely easy. Once that was done, they informed me that they had a room ready and gave me an early check-in (at about 11am). The Superior room was much more than I expected for paying US$78! It was a nice size, with all the amenities, a bathtub (which is rare in a basic HK hotel room), and an incredible view over the Botanical Zoological Gardens and the city below. To top it off, they allowed me a late checkout of 2pm instead of 12, and when I did check out, they kept my bags for me so I could continue to explore the city. Thank you Garden View and staff for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel with amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we had a lot of luggage and a baby, and was quite tired because it was hard to travel there. Expected a little bit more help from the staff.

    I really liked the rooms, bathtub and facilities. The view over the park was amazing. The price was very affordable considering the quality of the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Location is 15-20 min walk to Central but it is located near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is 15-20 min walk to Central but it is located near the peak area so don't bother walking with your luggage. Fortunately there is still a bus 12A that you can take to commute.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Great modest hotel with a lot amenities nonetheless
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was they initially only gave us 1 room key.

    An unpretentious hotel in a great location with clean comfortable rooms, access to a gym and outdoor pool (shared with ywca). The room we were in had a great view over the botanical gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Location is nice, bus to the city centre is right around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was a bit poor. Price is high.

    Location is nice, bus to the city centre is right around the corner. Botanical garden next to the hotel is very beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    A reasonably nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room flooring is made of Moquette...eewh. I don't blame the hotel though.​ I guess this is an unfortunate Anglo-Saxon cultural leftover. The bathtub was clogged.

    They upgraded our room because hotel was fully booked. Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money - if a little distrustful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout was a little amateur. Having paid a security deposit which will not be refunded for 3 weeks it was irritatingly to have to wait 10 minutes for some to check that I had only consumed the one bottle of water I claimed to have consumed, and didn't have the TV or the bed cunningly stashed in my handbag for a quick getaway. What exactly do they think anyone can steal which is worth more than $500 and isn't already nailed down

    Excellent value for money. Staff were responsive on the whole.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    2.9
    Hotel is losing its standards , I stayed in March and now September ; both very disappointing !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on duty are not from hospitality industry they do not understand how to take care of guest and focus more on arguing then to find the solution to guest needs . I asked for iron stand and they said you are in waiting list and he does not have any idea when he can arrange and sounded like he will do a favor if he gives !!. This continued for several times first 2 days of our trip and arguments . Basic facility such as iron and iron board should be available immediately to guest . In our stay in March this year the roof of the toilet started leaking like waterfall at 2 am in the night and the manager on duty had no idea to solve the problem , after 3 hours of continued arguments in the night , he finally gave us another room !

    Only location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.2
    Definitely won't come back again and won't recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs weren't that friendly. I requested before when i booked in at this hotel if we could be accommodated to have an early check in and i have a son and i am pregnant. It was just non sense! Somemore, NO COMPLEMENTARY WATER!!! 🙄 When we checked out, we'd waited for about 30mins outside for taxi, i went inside to the reception again and asked the officer if how can we get taxi going to the airport, he answered me "you just wait outside". With a not so courteuos answer. Even not smiling. Wow! I know its not a 5 star hotel but you should have treat your guests like it's their second home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Incredible view of Hong kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cant think of anything

    The view was excellent. Beautiful day and night. The room was extra spacious, I couldn't have asked for more for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.8
    My fists disappointing find on this site
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The otherwise kind reception staff had a hearty chuckle when I showed them the Booking.com description that the hotel was " a convenient 10-minute walk from Peak Tram and Central Station". No, it's more like 20 minutes. I asked them for a taxi, and they pointed me to the taxi stand outside. It was pouring, so I asked if I could borrow an umbrella. No, not really. The view was to a parking lot, etc., etc.

    The staff is young and well-intentioned, but that's pretty much it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a nicer foyer to perhaps sit and maybe a coffee shop not just a restaurant.

    Conveniently situated. Friendly and helpful staff. Room very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Good base for a short stay in Hong Kong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant is good but limited choice of places to eat near hotel.

    Very helpful staff. Good wi-fi. Nice to have a gym and swimming pool. Easy to get taxis to and from hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Impressed by the nice view and its efficient and caring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of TV set needs upgrading and a wider selection of TV channels should be offered.

    Impressed by the nice view and its efficient and caring house-keeping staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool was rather disappointing and not very inviting.

    Lovely location right next to the Botanical Gardens in Hong Kong and useful because all the taxi drivers knew where the road was. Room was a good size and very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Would certainly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Swimming pool was fine but always seemed to be in the shade - understandable really given surrounded by high buildings

    excellent comfortable beds. Great location - fantastic harbour views. Rooms seemed large and roomy. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    The rooms are amazing, loved the décor, space, views!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast; Quite ordinary food, shabby restaurant, nothing warm about either the coffee or the service! Any Hotel ought to have a money changer nearby / front-desk must change some small amounts. Ended up on a Friday night with only US$'s that no body would accept!!

    The rooms are amazing, loved the décor, space, views!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Good accommodation, beware that the price shown is not the final one
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra taxes added that are not shown at the booking time. 500$ deposit that probably I ll need to claim it form my bank since it will never be returned.

    Good bed, Great view from 1111

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soap in the bathroom isn't great.

    Great Hotel with an amazing view of the city. We were upgraded to a suit! The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Central and the park next to the hotel is amazing. Monkeys, lemurs and flamingos five minutes from the front door!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    A good 7 out of 10 hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not too far to Central District/Victoria Harbour but difficult to walk due to lack of pedestrian access and poor signage. The restaurant was quite expensive for what it was and you couldn't put the bill on the room account.

    Got upgraded to a suite which was nice and roomy. Location was handy for Peak Tram and Zoo/Botanical gardens. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but 10% service charge and may charge you twice for one booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged me twice for the booking, they also added an additional "service charge" of 10% which was not mentioned on booking.com! Luckily my bank refunded me as the hotel ignored my complaint. Otherwise hotel was fine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    All in all it was a very nice stay, staff was very cooperative but a few tiny complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small for husband and wife. We needed an extra chair to sit on during evening. There was no grab bar in bath/shower along wall at mid level. It was difficult to get out for a walk for older people because of the steep hills.

    The fact that the 12A bus was right outside and took us down to Central. It was also easy to get it from Central for the return back to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    3.3
    Amazing view over magical city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We always stay at Garden View when we are in Hong Kong. The views over the Botanical Gardens and Central District are fantastic. The Botanical Gardens are a 3 minute walk away and pleasant to be able to walk in an oasis of greenery,, a big contrast to most of the city. The hotel is toward the top of a long, steep road. Walking down is not a problem, coming back up, particularly during summer months, is a bit more challenging! However, taxis are plentiful and cheap so overall the hotel's location is fantastic. Peak Tram about 5 minutes' walk away. Fusion supermarket almost directly under hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    RECOMMEND place to live
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think restaurant food could be a little cheaper; besides, it will take 10 mins to find another restaurant to eat or buy some things

    excellent location, 2 mins to US embassy, central, peak cable car; very safe and quiet, convenient transportation; like the bathtub

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Garden View Hong Kong traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: