Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cityview 4 stars

23 Waterloo Road, Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#102 of 291 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2084 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic Location & Wonderful Staff :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quad
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All Beds were fairly hard.

    Staff were very friendly & efficient. Great Location - YAU MA TEI MTR station just across the road. 7-Eleven across the road + Wellcome Supermarket across the road as well. Nice quick walk to the Ladies Markets as well as Temple Street Market. Daily house keeping was spot-on. Stone throw straight onto the busy Nathan Road. Complimentary bottle water daily.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Nice 4* hotel close to metro and within walking distance to night markets and Tsim Sha Tsui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another building close by is under construction. Quite loud noise during daytime from the construction site (in case you get a room with windows on that side).

    Clean and comfortable rooms. Nice and friendly staff. Location close to metro and night markets. Walking along the Nathan Road leads directly to Tsim Sha Tsui and the star ferry on the Kowloon side, only 30min walk. Quiet neighborhood and well isolated rooms if it wouldn't be for the construction site close by.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall positive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Bed was too hard and pillow too flat. Water flow rate too slow from shower. Shower curtain instead of screen. No cutlery and plates in room. Dim room lighting.

    Free bottled water daily. Fantastic location, just beside Exit A of Yau Ma Tei MTR station, many food options and also supermarket and 7-eleven just across the road. Large work desk. View from window was great. Had a nice view of the National Day fireworks display.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.4
    Ok for my needs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price .... anywhere in HK is crazy expensive so can’t feel that bad about it since the price everywhere were ridicolous expensive

    I was there fo business waiting for my china visa that I received the day after so for that reason I had to book a night in Hong Kong since I was getting my passport back the following day

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is conveniently located next to metro station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The faucet is really tight and small.

    The hotel is conveniently located next to metro station and is within walking distance to many local restaurants and shops. The staff is very helpful too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    The wash basin in our room (Economy Room) is so small that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wash basin in our room (Economy Room) is so small that is SO difficult for brushing teeth. It is not just small, it has a shelf built right above it that you can’t brush your teeth right above it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Convenient
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee house if 5 persons in the group all must order drinks and we inform one person don’t want to have drink and the staff say can’t sit at the coffee house for the person never order and we tell him we order 4 drink for 5 persons also can’t and the staff saying this is by Hotel order

    Convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel, annoying, unprofessional front desk service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some front desk clerks are lousy, let customers are waiting while talking to others on the phone and some talking to friends on the front desk. The line it creates on the front desk is useless because the clerks don't follow it.

    The hotel location is good and it is pretty clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Not a good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was very slow and when finally got the room, they gave us a Smoking Room without even asking if that option was OK or not. Bed was too hard. Before checking out, we asked to staff to get us a taxi, because we were running out of time, but their was rude.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom door was faulty and tremendously difficult to open/close. This was feedback to the hotel but was not fixed during our 48 hours stay there.

    There was a free upgrade to a better room and a Handy Phone for one's use around Hong Kong for data connectivity and even overseas calls.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AIR CONDITIONER WITH TOO LOW TEMPERATURE LIKE 18 Degrees. 25 Degrees is enough. Wifi is not good to see moive and TV programs are too limit to search.

    BED, BATH ROOM, AND LOCATION

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Outside the room was a construction site and all the noise reached in like no soundproofed windows at all.

    Chilled room even without aircon turned on during sleep/night. First time ever in an asian hotel where outside is hot and humid.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The location is very near to station exit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to whine about but the room type became twin bed instead of double bed

    The location is very near to station exit A free upgrade to a much larger room A very quiet place to stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    The location was great - walking distance to subway and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chamber maid needs retraining. The bedside table top was not clean - it had fingerprints and stains from drinks. The cups were dirty. Used cups were left unwashed after the room was cleaned each day.

    The location was great - walking distance to subway and plenty of eateries and shops nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is better to improve on the checking in and out service. The 2 staff attending to 2 different person (one checking in and one checking out). The floor manager or what came to tell us (3 of us queuing up), to stand in a better quee, there is one staff walking in and out of the room behind the servicing counter.

    location is very good. just 2 min. walking distance to MTR station. walking distance to Mongkok ladies street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent as always, Hong-Kong is magnificent and hotel is in the center of this multicultural city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed materace seams need change into new one after years.

    Friendly and helpfull stuff, smartfone with info about local and not only local turist atractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    One of the best hotels I have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    One of the best hotels I have stayed. It's very conveniently located. I stayed in a room on a higher floor, which was very comfortable and quiet and had an amazing view. Highly recommended and will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    An overall good stay. Will definitely return.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning system is a bit warm and humid despite setting to a much cooler setting. Anyway not a major concern. Water pressure is bit low but still manageable.

    Overall experience was very good. The room and bed were comfortable. I note the rooms were renovated from my previous visit so that was a very good welcome for this visit. I like the fact it is close to a MRT station that make travel to various parts of HK easy. I note a 2-bin system in the room, i.e. a normal trash bin and a recyclable bin. Good to see an environmentally friendly initiative being implemented. Well done.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Room 8022 must be next to the mechanical room, and was so...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 8022 must be next to the mechanical room, and was so noisy the whole day. This is our most unpresent and annoying staying for the last two nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Room is considered big in its location. Convenient to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is extremely convenient if you intend to travel by the MTR. There is a free shuttle bus service from Kowloon Station and the bus stops just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    My stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had stayed at the Cityview before which was I chose it again for this trip. The hotel is excellent value for money, quiet and totally spotless. It's also ECO-friendly. I'll stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location. Excellent service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing much I didn't like except this time the weather was bad. It was raining and this cannot be the fault of the hotel. However the hotel was kind enough to let by standers on the road side to take shelter in the hotel. Bravo.. the extend their service beyond the guest.

    I last stayed in this hotel was in May 2018. The i wrote in the review that the location is excellent but the shower wasn't that enjoyable as the water pressure was too low. The hotel did replied me and informed they will look into this matter. Again I checked in this hotel in June and they fixed the pressure problem. The shower is good. Well done Cityview!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Both the connecting rooms have toilets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quad
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge wasn’t working. Service staff wasn’t polite

    Both the connecting rooms have toilets. The location was really accessible as Yau Ma Tei MTR is just outside the hotel. It also helps that there are free shuttle bus from Kowloon MTR and Cityview was the first stop of the shuttle bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Review- The Cityview
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the staff at the hotel would show more warmth and friendliness would be improving the customer service. Overall, a good short stay.

    Good location. Near MTR.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel has a very good place, very near the metro and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk must be better trained.

    The hotel has a very good place, very near the metro and other location. The staff was friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Met all my expectations and within my budget. My favourite hotel in Hong Kong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all, other than the wifi in my room was often unreliable, during my last visit (June 2018).

    I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions when visiting Hong Kong. I love the location, the rooms are amazing (clean, comfortable, and heaps of space), and the restaurant's food selection is awesome. The price satisfied my travel budget and to be honest I got so much value for my money staying here, I always do! I have stayed overnight at other hotels in Hong Kong but my preference has been and will remain with the Cityview Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    good location, very near to station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the construction near the property which created noise. economy rooms are not renovated yet although these rooms are still presentable to our standard.

    good location, very near to station. and its a bus stop right in front of the hotel. there is a 7-11, KFC and mcdonalds nereby. we liked the baleshop beside 7- 11. walking distance to mongkok. we booked for 6 rooms for 6 families with 2 children per family (sneak-in, slept with parents) and they didnt mind at all. its true what they said in their property facility section, “all children are welcome”.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Preferred Choice of Hotel in HK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing that I can complain about. It is my favourite hotel. Stayed for the fifth time now. Will continue to stay when I come back to HK. Highly recommended.

    near MTR, shopping belt, food chain, easy walking around. Hotel provided a IP Phone for use free. Free upgrade to a bigger room, thanks to the staff at reception. Gym come with Swimming pool now. Very modern looking hotel with good facilities and equipment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, excellent room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small check in lobby, the lift did not have security as anyone could take the lift. For safety wise, i wish there was a insert room card system to lift.

    Clean rooms, quiet room, great location I always stay here when i come hk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be extra great if they have body lotion offered.

    The hotel upgraded us to a room with a little bit larger bed, everything in the room was clear and fresh. It's actually surprised us with such a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed staying in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are rather small, but again most rooms are small in Hong Kong hotels. Te hotel should give some discount vouchers for the F&B outlets so guest could try out instead of venturing out.

    The hotel is well located and not only easy access to the MTR, all bus routes also converge to towards the hotel. From airport can take the Public bus A21 to the bus stop less then 300m from the hotel. Very convenient. Also there are many choices of restaurants and cafes around the hotel. Ladies street and Temple street is just around. Excellent hotel for leisure or business.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    Very bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Shower had very little water pressure. 2. Very noisy room with bad sound insulation. I had specifically asked for a quiet room but was assigned a room closest to the elevator (maybe the hotel was fully booked). Either way each time someone walked into the elevator lobby I could hear them opening the creaking door and the banging when the door closed. 3. The curtains could not block the morning sun. I got woken up every morning at 6am when the sun shined through the curtains. 4. The bed was very uncomfortable - I am 1.75m and somehow my feet were dangling at the edge of the bed when I slept. The mattress felt like it was missing a few springs and was tilted when I slept on it. The pillow was flat (even when stacked up) and my body ached and I felt like I wasn't rested when I woke up for the two mornings I stayed there. 5. The staff that checked me in was emotionless and not friendly at all. The doorman was very nice though. 6. The room felt dated and dirty; the furnishing and amenities felt cheap. - the room smell. - the chair had large stains on it. - the carpet was full of stains. - the AC was making a clicking sound all night and I had to turn the AC fan down to low speed. - the shower towels were somehow not absorbent and I couldn't dry my body after the shower. - the sink had this plank on top of it making it impossible for me to wash my face without getting the floor all wet. - there was an internet phone where I could call selected places around the world for free. But somehow it was not free to call Macau, which is the closest city to Hong Kong. I had my fair share of staying in hotels that are bad but rarely had I stayed in one that was bad in so many regards. $700/night is a hefty asking price for this kind of quality and with this amount I can easily find a much better hotel in the area. No way this hotel is a 4-star hotel.

    1. Very good location - only 2 minutes of walking to the nearest MTR station 2. Good selection of eateries in the area 3. The room has a fairly nice view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mini bar fridge could be colder for our drinks to be kept inside.

    The room size for 2pax was just nice and not too small. Amenities in the room were clean with water heater. And the extra pillow provided was appreciated. Location wise is very convenient to MTR and direct buses from and to the airport were only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Good breakfast, easy check in and out, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Free Breakfast and Free WiFi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast tea and coffee too close together, and would be better if closer to the food.

    Good breakfast, easy check in and out, great location. Very clean, great bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Second time staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Second time staying here and still found this place very convenient and affordable. It is located close to a train station which is ideal for travelling around HK. The room that I stayed at was very spacious and clean. The hotel staff were amazing and did not need to wait for a long time to be served. Hotel gave us a free mobile phone with Wi-Fi which was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    2.9
    The staff is quite arrogant and rudeness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They turn an eye-rolling to me and I even don’t know why. They did paperwork quite slowly. They quite impatient when I ask questions. The shampoo and shower gel is sticky.

    The staff is quite arrogant and rudeness. I don’t know what the problem of the staff. I think they may not be trained before and may they have a very bad day so they give attitude to customer? I have a record and I want everyone listen. It a catastrophic experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    We were able to get late check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Free Breakfast and Free WiFi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have wash cloth. We got a "premium room" hoping to see the Hong Kong skyline and the view was to the north instead of to the south and was really terrible.

    We were able to get late check out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water cut during the night. Front desk staff not friendly and not responsive. Way too long admin and process task to checkin (it took around 20 min to checkin to a room already paid) The matress was really hard and could feel the springs The breakfast period is too short (7 to 10) Overall overpriced for the quality ofservices.

    Room spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay at Cityview
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was great.

    The staff were really nice and organised my airport shuttle with no trouble. Room was a good size and bathroom was very nice. Perfect location near all the Kowloon markets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    CityView was spot on re location and comfort. definitely will choose CityView again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room with Free Breakfast and Free WiFi
    • Stayed 5 nights

    CityView didn't seem to be able to offer me airport transfers for 6 people, without having to hire 2 separate cars, but they offer some shuttle service. However we wanted a private transfer so I went with a local car company which was really good ($450 each way in a Toyota Alphard). The Premier Suite would have benefited from a wash sink basin in the lounge.

    CityView is located steps away from Yau Ma Tei mtr, making the location excellent for shops, restaurants, and of course the Ladies Market. We particularly enjoyed having cake shops near the hotel (although we didn't try Amazing, the hotel cake shop). We booked 2x Premier Twin which were on the 16th floor, and 1x Premier Suite on the 25th fl. the rooms were very clean and comfortable, generous in size, although lacking a little on clothing drawers/ shelves. nice sofa chair and desk with chair in the rooms making it really comfortable. The Premier rooms on this occasion included a mobile 'handy' phone that you can take out of the hotel with you, this was so useful as it includes free international (not all countries but definitely for UK and Canada) calls as well as local calls. It also acts as a wifi hotspot, so you can tether your mobile to it for data usage. The Premier Suite was really worth paying the extra for, the large sized lounge room with dining table (4 x chairs) became a focal point for us as we were a family of 6. We even brought back take outs on a couple of evening from the nearby restaurants. Breakfast went on until 10:30 which was good, considering many hotels stops at 10am. The biffet breakfast offered Chinese regulars such as congee, noodle soups, fried rice/ noodles etc as well as plenty of western stuff. Friendly staff, and front desk was always very well staffed compared to similar hotels i have been in Kowloon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    I was attended to by Beverly.She is friendly.most of my questions is answered clearly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When asked what is the difference between the 2 sides of rooms.Answer was that side is more expensive

    Convienant to move around.Concerige could be more friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Easy access, refreshing lobby, friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't log in to the hotel's wifi. But they do have a Handy phone in every room. Also, the air conditioning was freezing the room, regardless of the thermostat level I was trying out

    Very friendly and helpful people. Always ready to help and accommodate you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, staff helpful, buffet selection good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just a bit confused at check out. Was informed by booking.com that the only a small amount was to be charged at check out. However we were charged the full amount upon check-out, was afraid of a double charge but all turned out well.

    Great location, staff helpful, buffet selection good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a huge construction site right behind the building, awfully noisy during daytime. You have to wait a lot when you check in or out. there are not many staffs. The staff's English is not that good so when you want to ask something complicated they do not understand or explain it well.

    big room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel at great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was wonderful, bathroom clean and comfortable, shower pressure great; some might find the hard mattress inconvenient (matter of taste), however staff is attentive and helpful. Recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Stayed few round in the same hotel because of the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guests wake us up in the morning and found that they got the wrong room no.

    Stayed few round in the same hotel because of the location is good. Easy access to find local food. I think I might have booked a bigger room previously.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, very basic accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite basic and the wi-fi was very slow. This made it difficult to actually relax in the room and map out my visit on my mobile phone. Basically, this hotel is part of a YMCA facility and as such, you can expect YMCA level accommodations. Had I paid a lower rate, I would've been okay with this - but I paid nearly $200 usd/night for this accommodation and didn't feel as though this was valued that what I paid.

    The location is the primary positive aspect I can speak on. It's right around the corner from the Yau Ma Tei MTR stop and within walking distance of all the fun markets in the Mong Gok area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Still my first choice of stay in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price.

    Bed was comfortable. Location was good. Shuttle bus with a direct stop at the hotel. Clean, spacious, free mobile wifi was awesome. The battery life could actually last the whole day. Sometimes it will disconnect though. Aircon is good. Circle K and 7-11 is just across the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Building Site Noise from 0800 to 1800, woke me up on three mornings, JCB jack hammering which the noise comes through the windows. Pool is closed for march, noo warning on any travel website No heating in the rooms, Although we did request a heater from the hotel who sent one right up. A note offering this service would have been nice rather than calling to ask if one was available. Wifi has its ups and downs. however realised I could leave the hotspot turned on with the handy phone and just used that.

    Great Location. Handy Phone WiFi Hotspot was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Great room, great location. Will definitely stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to the rest of the room, the bathroom was small and not to the same level as the room. Also the WiFi was not good and kept disconnecting me, actually I had to use the Handy hotspot to have my smartphone connected.

    It was the first time I was staying in this hotel and I was upgraded to a suite, which was great. Location is great. I will definitely stay here the next time I go to HK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Free Breakfast and Free WiFi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very friendly welcome and prompt, efficient check in despite our early arrival. They securely looked after our luggage all day and when we returned, found we’d been upgraded to a suite. Very pleased!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    I’d love to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard. The ventilating fan in the bathroom drew air out which drew the a/c in. A cold bathroom during a shower is not good.

    The staff are definitely the star of the property! Esp the concierge. I’m sorry i did not take the name of the staff who helped me loads during my stay. He was on the night shift during my stay, wears glasses. Deserves a couple of beers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed, not worth the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very old, completely contrast to the new elegant lobby (be careful when u book a room, choose the new renovated one) carpet floor is dirty and sticky, insufficient of outlets & cabinet

    Good thing is located close to MTR

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No heater

    Excellent location. Close to restaurants, the mtr station, and 7/11 is just round the corner. Room is adequate with all basic necessities needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, like most Hong Kong hotels. Walls are thin, sounds from next door and noise from the street can be heard

    Generally very clean, staff are polite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    4.6
    Take your winter clothes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worse thing with this hotel is that it does not have any heating! When we moved into our room a letter on the desk explained that you could ask for a portable heater, but you could be disappointed because they only have a few. I spoke to reception and they did not have any left, so they gave us both an extra blanket. This hotel is not cheap and I would expect to be comfortable in it, I wasn't, we were both sat in the room with jackets on trying to keep warm. As a side note, we needed some help from booking.com and found their customer service team uncontactable and therefore completely useless, next time we'll return to expedia as in the past we have found them to be rather good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    The location is really great, honestly right by the MTR it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is really great, honestly right by the MTR it made it super convenient to travel around. Really appreciate the great service - they prepared a complimentary cake because we were celebrating a birthday and also upgraded our room. Handy was also super handy being able to make international calls and have data while travelling. Thanks so much Cityview!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes can hear people talking loud outside the room

    Great location. Subway station around 2 mins walking. Nice neighborhood for eating and shopping. Shower has perfect water pressure. The room is clean and decent size for staying as a couple. Would definitely choose to stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Quick overnight stay before going to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check In check out could be faster but still good.

    Quick overnight stay before going to the airport. Stayed at the hotel several times. Absolutely recommend it. Good location, helpfull stuff, nice rooms, good bed and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Location was excellent, right next to train station which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, right next to train station which is easy and cheap to get from Kowloon to Discovery Bay Area and Hong Kong. 10 minute walk to the night market with lots of local restaurants there and on route. 2 minutes from Macdonalds ( if you are with someone that doesn’t real like street food ) and always a good cup of coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Free Phone Calls and Picket WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure a tad too weak.

    Just about 300 steps from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station. YES, it's that near. So, if it's a shopping trip, I highly recommend this hotel. Just behind Nathan Road and within walking distance to Temple Street and Ladies Market. I travelled in winter so it was nice but in summer, one can easily just hope on to the train for HKD4.50 one way if too tired to walk. Rooms are small as expected of Hong Kong standards but the cleanliness and location more than make up for it. Super comfy beds too. Love the lobby with live plants wall. Love the provided "phone" WiFi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Best location and valuable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location👍 Very conveniently located at Yau Ma Tei, which is very near to Mongkok. 2 minutes walk from Yau Ma Tei MTR station exit A. There’s free airport shuttle bus K5 from Kowloon, and stop right in front of the hotel. Takes around 10 minutes from Kowloon as is the first drop off station, but it takes longer around 30mins (depends on traffic) back to Kowloon if you are planning to head for the airport. Room was just nice and facilities were sufficient, not to mention the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the carpet appears old and filthy.

    location is very convenient, free airport shuttle K5 stop at the door, MTR station within steps away, small restaurants, fruit market, night market, 24/7 convenience stores within walking distance. the room is very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Well, we have a great time in Hong Kong and we may come back to Cityview again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have two family travelling to Hong Kong and stay at this hotel. Base of the option of my type of connecting rooms, my family is stay at one side of the hotel, and my friend family had to stay at the other wing of the hotel (which is not connected). The two rooms that my friend stay at is very disappointed. The room is quite small, and the cleanliness is not satisfied. The tiles in the bathroom is old and coming off somehow and the shower head is not working properly. The whole setting of their rooms is not worth 4 stars hotel rating. However, my two connecting rooms is pretty okay with us(I believe our side is modern and newly renovated. They upgraded my friend family to my side on day 3 by adding little money which we thought is acceptable. We may go back to this hotel in the future just because of the location.

    The Location of this hotel is great, 1 to 2 minutes walk from convenience stores, MTR (Subway Station), all kind of restaurants, laundry store, etc. The room that we stay is just right beside the elevator but it still pretty quiet. Staff is quite friendly too even during peak time at hotel lobby with check in and check out customer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the ladies, note that there are no facial cotton wool or cotton buds. There are also no drawers in the Deluxe room for clothes. However, there is a very useful long ledge under the TV for you to place your stuff.

    Room is spacious ( bigger than most hotels on HK Island ) and the price per night is very reasonable. Excellent location as it is within 2 minutes walk from the Yau Ma Tei station. Main street is also a short walk away. There are two direct airport express buses from the main street if you are on a very tight budget. Otherwise, there is free airport shuttle bus from the hotel to Kowloon station where you can check in of your luggage, leaving you free to walk around the station before your ride to the airport. Wifi speed is fast in the room & most toiletries are provided, including bedroom slippers which are replenished daily. Late check out to 2 pm is possible. Counter staff are helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is located on a really nice spot, right on the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be renovated

    Hotel is located on a really nice spot, right on the city center and close to the famous spots in HK. Maybe 5 minutes to the famous shopping area. There's A LOT of options to eat nearby (I recommend Tsui Wah), a 7-Eleven right next to it and a metro station as well. Also on the ground floor there's a bakery and a restaurant. When you leave, if you're not in a hurry there's a hotel shuttle every 10 minutes that takes you to the airport express station. HK really knows their stuff. Our room was very spacious and had everything we needed: TV frigobar etc. Plus they offered us a free smartphone with unlimited data and a city guide for free!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    It was very comfortable and enjoyable. We will stay there again next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a bigger room. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is very nice and we had all the amenities that we needed. The complimentary bottles of distilled water were appreciated. The staff are very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Or maybe the price if the premium room. A little too much. :)

    Heart of mongkok. This is my return visit here and it didn’t disappoint me one bit! The front desk guy that checked us in was so professional and he even remembered us! Room is spacious. Walking distance to ladies market and mongkok! Will definitely return here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.4
    Room was not available until 5+pm despite the check in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not available until 5+pm despite the check in was at 2pm. The staff told us that we got a free upgrade to a family room(note that we booked 2rooms). Their definition of a family room is actually connecting rooms. The room was not any bigger than a regular room, one of the room has no windows even! Bed is very hard, and small, the water flow is weak. One of the fridge is weak and doesn’t cool things at all. Location is the only good thing about this hotel. It’s close to thto train station and easy to get from th airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    We had an excellent room with a large bathroom and an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an excellent room with a large bathroom and an additional sitting room. The buffet breakfast was good, although we only used it once, and it is possibly a little expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Functional and average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Economy rooms could have been bigger and all guests should also be provided with local data enabled smartphones and not only those who stay at more expensive rooms.!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.8
    Interesting but wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tiny, no window in one of the family rooms and tiny one in the other. Bed was very small and very hard and uncomfortable. Fridge didn’t cool anything due to it being eco friendly.

    There was an international buffet which was reasonably priced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Definetely worth to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in the fridge wasn't low enough. We put some ice cream and after some time we wanted to eat it, but the ice cream melted.

    First of all I want to thank you to the hotel management for helping me with my booking. I didn't have any Visa credit card to guarantee my booking, so I provided my flight tickets and they promised to keep my room until I arrive. I apreciate it a lot. The location is awesome. If you take an airport express, change at Central station to Tsuen Wan Line, stop at Yau Ma Tei, exit A2. You get out and just go straight and around the corner on your right you will see a hotel. If you arrive earlier (as long as check in time is at 2pm) they will take care of your luggage. The staff was extremely friendly and treated me very well. One day I accidentally broke a glass in a bathroom, I went down to tell them about it, they asked me did I hurt myself and they sent someone to clean my bathroom immediately. And they have never charged me for it! So sweet of them! The room wasn't very big (I booked Deluxed room with one bed), but there was enough space for two of us. They had all the necessary stuff like hairdryer, safe, fridge. The room was clean and they changed the towels and bedsheet every day upon our request.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk so terrible & unkind. Worst hotel I've ever been to. I waited for a hour to check in even though I had arrived at hotel on time. The front desk man asked me to go out for a lunch when they were ready... hahaha... He never looked me when I came back to Hotel and stranded up to him. Another staff helped me to find a room. I am wondering how the City View hotel got 4 stars.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No halal food, since it is consider a standard hotel

    Friendly & helpful staff, majority knows how to speak english.concierge staff was really professional

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Cityview traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: