Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Admiral Grand Hotel 5 stars

Trg Ruđera Boškovića 13, 20232 Slano, Croatia

#13 of 35 hotels in Slano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 50 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Croatia has a beautiful seacoast and you'll will love it but not overpay for it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I'll mention just a few things (in bona fide) so hopefully some things which seems to be same for years can be changed. Hotel Admiral is not a 5 stars hotel. Initially I thought it is a just a few years old so they need some time to make things work but I was told they work for 10 years already. Arriving in room I found hairs on linen but was too tired too complaint and just wanted to relax and get some sun. Hotel rooms, comfortable but without coffee/tea maker. TV was ridiculously small. It seemed like they have installed Portable Car TV and program choice was not choice that much. Basic amenities for 5 stars hotel were missing in bathroom, ear cotton sticks, disposable toothbrushes and raisers, foam....It doesn't matter if I had them with me. They have to be there even if I don't use it. I don't know whose idea was to ruin that beautiful beach with those sharp stones instead of sand or whatever else could be there. Walking on the beach, bare foot, is not comfortable at all! Bring some sandals, shoes or whatever. Breakfast is boring, same day by day with not much choices. As I said before, hotel stuff is best part of hotel but it is obvious that many of them are young graduates trying to do their best but they should learn job starting first in 3, 4 stars hotel then move to next level. But you'll look through fingers because they are really trying to do the best. In my opinion this would be 3 to 4 stars hotel. There is a lot space for improvement and hopefully management will make it. Just look what is 5 stars hotel in Asia or Middle east countries and compare what you get for same price. It is not only a seaside that makes someones holiday perfect. 5 stars hotel should be about DETAILS! Wish all of you the best! Hopefully I'll be back once again.

    Slano is a nice quiet retreat from every day hustle. You will find hotel perfectly situated right on the private beach with open and closed pools which are convenient in case of bad or windy weather. Few restaurant with really good food at reasonable price are available around 20 min walk from restaurant and it is a really pleasant walk. Other restaurants can be found just behind a corner. If you are planning to visit Dubrovnik on south, which is 30 min drive, I suggest you to leave your car at hotel parking and take the bus which is quite frequent, otherwise you'll be paying exaggeratedly overpriced parking in Dubrovnik. Going on north (30 min away) you can visit Neum which is only Bosnian seacoast or what is left to Bosnia during history. You'll need passport since this city divides Croatia in two parts and you'll be crossing the border again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Ok but not luxurious and quite pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slano is far from central Dubrovnik, about 1 hour away. The hotel location also seemed in the middle of nowhere... You are really bound to the hotel restaurants + 2 more right outside the hotel and there aren't any snacks to order if you become hungry later in the evening. The food wasn't great... quite tasteless which was a shock to me since I know Croatian food to be delicious otherwise. Restaurant staff wasn't very punctual - had to wait 15 minutes until someone came to take my order. The beach is a pebble beach - I personally prefer sand beaches.

    The outside pool was spacious and salt-water based. Great pool! There is also an indoor pool and a beach right next to the hotel. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. Staff was nice. Overall nice hotel but it's not a luxurious hotel as being advertised. I would say it's a classic 4-star hotel, but an expensive one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is only for middle class elderly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed for 1 night with a kid. We've been given a very noisy room - right behind the elevator from the door (had to listen whistling guests passing by), right above the entrance to the beach and restaurant (happy guests stayed right under our window till 11p.m. laughing and having fun), and neighbored to another room with kids (we didn't see any other kids in the hotel, don't understand why the hotel decided to make us live in neighbored rooms. The children in the other room shouted load in the evening and our kid couldn't fall asleep. Ii is obvious that extra noise causes more troubles for child's sleep). Poor sound isolation. The hotel is not modern. The food in the restaurant (a-la carte menu) didn't match the prices at all.

    Good location - right on the beach in the nice surroundings. Easy access from the road. Modern building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location, great facilities, relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better communication about lunch options at the poolside when we first arrived A leaflet about local walks in the area accessible from the hotel

    The people were friendly and the service efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing in a beautiful spot overlooking a lovely bay-perfect place to escape to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small criticism but proper orange juice or at least a better quality one at breakfast would have been welcome.

    We liked the layout of our bedroom/bathroom-very well designed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel but not 5 star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Agree with other comments not really a 5 star but a nice hotel. No help with bags, no waiter drinks service, one pillow per bed just a few small things to mention but there were others.

    Great position in bay and spacious layout of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Proximity to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for use of sports facilities

    Proximity to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Overpirced for what it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overpirced for what it offers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.8
    View was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the hotel

    View was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cushions on the sun loungers

    Absolutely beautiful views from out bedroom balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was brilliant, could not have had better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room - Transfer: from and to Dubrovnik Airport
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was brilliant, could not have had better accommodation or support, a very beautiful setting

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Big hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner cost is high and the money exchange rate at the reception was very high

    Big hotel. We got the most affordable room and it was comfortable and nice. The breakfast was rich. The indoor pool, although salty water, was nice and the jacuzzi was great.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pricey. They charge 15 Eur per hour if you ask for late check out and 20 Eur pp for breakfast. A bit over the top for Croatia.

    Great beach and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    Nice beach and outdoor and indoor pools, modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No major complaints. You cannot really go wrong with this hotel, if you look for a quiet relaxing holiday. But with a little extra effort the management could make this hotel very special and truly match 5 stars: eg there is no service at the beach and you need to carry umbrella bases around yorself - hard to understand in a country with low wage cost and a skilled staff base. Unlike implied on its website the hotel only operates one restaurant at any given time of day: the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner, a poolside restaurant/bar for lunch/midday. The gym could have been tucked away better: it is located in two empty retail spaces on the ground floor, with other hotel guests looking on on their way to the restaurant or beach.

    Nice beach and outdoor and indoor pools, modern and clean. Great place to relax and stay away from the busy touristic craze of Dubrovnik, but close enough to Dubrovnik for day visits by car or water taxi. Nice, partly articifial beach with scenic views of the bay.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    good value for money, high standard, nice view, spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The sea is not that clear and clean as it is at other beaches, but we enjoyed it anyway :)

    good value for money, high standard, nice view, spacious, close to Dubrovnik! (You can drive to Gruz with the car, park it there and take the bus to the old town.)

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.0
    Relaxed environment in a beautiful bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fake shingle on beach as painful on feet. No service of drinks or snacks on the beach -had to keep getting up from sunlounger to get drinks ! First night we heard heavy snoring and loud tv on until 6am when eventually staff woke the snorer as did not get phone or knocks in the door before. This stopped us from sleeping which was not much fun!

    Relaxed environment in a beautiful bay. Great view from balcony. Comfy bed. Great breakfast. Pool and beach great. Good service with pleasant staff.Loved the modern lift.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    6.7
    The view is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms do not have coffee machine, price is not really right comparef to what is offer on the coast

    The view is great...breakfast standard four star, plenty of fruit late in the morning, on the beach, nice pools when its raining...clean but sterile, no charm ... Plenty of parking

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In room Tea / coffee making facilities.

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI

    STAFF

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    The private not crowded beach and pool with sea water are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The private not crowded beach and pool with sea water are true gems and hard to find.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Five star service from staff, facilities and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Five star service from staff, facilities and food.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: