Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4 stars

Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovića 5, 21450 Hvar, Croatia

#7 of 13 hotels in Hvar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1455 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff were lovely pool area is perfect and it is in a good location. The only downfall is the rooms felt a bit dated in comparison to the rest of the hotel which was kind of a downfall for me. Beds were comfy and the room was clean but just felt it could do with a bit of an update.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel had a weird layout and it was a long walk to reach the reception/pool area. The water in the pool was freezing, but maybe it was the time of the year we went at.

    We were really blown away of how beautiful the view was from our room. The pool area was lush and the personal v friendly and professional. Croatians gave me the impressions to be lovely people in general. The room was on the smaller size but the bed comfy and the shower very nice with good water pressure. We had a small balcony which was a lovely way to spent a couple of hours enjoying the view/reading a book. Overall it was exactly what we expected and was advertised. The breakfast includes a huge variety to choose from. When we arrived via ferry, the hotel staff took out bags whist we walked 15 mins to reach the hotel which was unexpected and a nice touch. The same happened when we checked out and the staff brought our bags to the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite With Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fabulous, I thought I had booked a room with balcony and sea view, but I obviously didn’t look properly and so we had a a balcony but no sea view which was disappointing, the check in guy said he would have upgraded us but the hotel was full. It had a massive event on at the time so he was genuine. The staff were lovely and the hotel albeit very large was clean and all the staff said hello when you passed them. It is set in the most beautiful location too with a ten minute beautiful stroll into Hvar town. Excellent 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too spread out difficult to navigate no lifts down to pool area with far too many stairs , very poor for families or any one elderly or even just unfit !! Family rooms and suites furthest away have to carry prams,babies,bags and toys up and down stairs

    Pool area lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    British groups a bit rowdy in evening in the main bar - spoiled our last night to sit out and enjoy the view. But everything else was great.

    Welcoming staff, great location - 10 min walk from the boat drop off, comfortable modern rooms, superb views, good poolside drinks/food service and restaurant food was great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re looking for something really personalized, it might not be the right place.

    If you’re waiting for a real “resort” big structure, this is the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms (we stayed in deluxe double) were smaller than imagined. If you want to relax in your room it is not ideal. Tv was the smallest tv I’ve ever seen in a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is getting a bit tired and is a little run down. It definitely is in need of a refresh.

    The view from our room was to die for.. it’s definitely worth paying for a sea view here.. the rooms themselves were comfortable and very modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect, a short walk to town one way and the the other way the promenade had one of the best bars with a sunset to remember. ALL the staff and service were exceptional. I wish all 4 star hotels were like this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably most awkwardly designed hotel as until you get to your room you go through several stairs and 2 lifts. Its architect should be sentenced to carry luggages to rooms for a year for his/her poor design.

    Sea view, pool, proximity to nice beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival of some large stag parties

    Great quality place. Particularly helpful that staff are at catamaran dock to take your bags up to the hotel in a van, also on return trip back to dock. Pool great with towels provided & plenty of sun-loungers. Would definitely return! 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good choice if you are after a place to crash between partying... or looking for party's all day at a pool. It's not where you should go if you want any ambience or a sense of Europe in summer. It's 50% tourist and 50% kids on the European equivalent of spring break.

    Good location. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self service dinner at the hotel restaurant didn’t have many options for vegetarians. We didn’t think it was worth the price.

    The room was very comfortable, the pool area is amazing to spend the day. The city center is just 10 minutes walking from hotel and on the way there are a lot of great spots to swim and rest at the sun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the receptionist explanation about the lack of sea view from my room. She said that they gave me an “almost sea view room and recommended not worry with that and try to enjoy the pool”. In fact I am still in doubt wether I have reserved (with a lot of time in advance) a sea view room and they gave me another one as the hotel was fully booked. As it is difficult to know all types of room in booking.com I recommend calling direct this hotel to settle the room conditions before going there. Note also that it is a 5 star hotel with a lot of rooms but the treatment there is impersonal.

    The breakfast is taken in a nice place with viewpoint the sea . There are a lot of options for fruits, juices, breads and hot food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite With Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was musty and damp for a couple of reasons. The Aircon was dripping onto the carpet throughout the duration of our stay, despite repeated calls to staff. The extractor fan was not working at all. Half the lights were blown/not working. Shower was also broken and needed fixing. This is the beginning of the summer season; I would expect EVERYTHING to be in full working order. Very disappointed!!! Don't waste your money on the dinner buffet.

    Super friendly staff through-out the venue. Amazing location, with a great pool area. Also, just a short stroll into town or the nearby beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really need to work on their housekeeping and room service , for a lux hotel like this its a shame to have staff forgeting orders and requests over and over again !! They would either forget to get us what we asked for or leave the dirty cups for us to wash !!!! And they would hardly refill the toiletries! We went 3 days with 2 tiny shampoos and one pack of cotton ! Its a great hotel but has very basic facility in the rooms ! You are basically paying for the location which is definitely worth it !! The staff at the reception, in the Resturant, at th pool and in charge of transportation and tours were all super friendly and helpful ! Just the Housmeeping need a little push :)

    Hvar is definitely a pearl ... the view from the hotel was mesmerizing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are in poor shape, gym is pathetic, food is decent at best, pool had a fairly rowdy crowd at times. Room was largely just adequate, not very comfortable.

    Short, pleasant walk to town. Easy check-in and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is super small and uncomfortable. Overpriced even in the offseason.

    Pickup servicefor luggage is nice. Pool and facilities are ok. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this resort is exceptional, and the short distance from town was convenient and at the same time away from the lively atmosphere in the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time is too late. But the reception was trying to do it early . Still we had got to wait a couple of hours though. During waiting time, we could use all the facilities from the hotel which was good

    Our room is upgraded for favor. Not a sea view but which was ok. Beach, poolside was great. Parking zone is not a proper parking zone I expected. But for us no hard to find a room for it. Walking to the city center is not hard. Easily access to get to the town. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite With Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym and indoor pool were out of service during our stay. Hotel and poolside drinks/food were subject to the usual hotel markup.

    Huge room with nice balcony. Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant 10 min walk from main harbour, but has really nice little beach right by hotel. The hotel sends a minivan to the harbour for each main boat arrival to carry suitcases. Rooms very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great facilities and pool area. Great for families and couples. Very good location. Please follow the path along the water. Don't listen to Google maps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel! The rooms were modern and clean, the pool area was a definite highlight of staying here (from the chic striped towels to the fun slide) and the balcony views are spectacular. There was so much to choose from for breakfast and the staff were really all so lovely and helpful. The location is ideal, just a short and scenic walk to the town centre. Would definitely recommend staying here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big property which made for a lot of walking and some confusion to get to destinations ie Reception, restaurants, etc. Room was small but adequate.

    Hotel is situated a little away from the crowds at city center. Very big property with beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    water temp did not get really hot, only just warm enough. didn't seem fair that the restaurants did not serve tap water - bottled water was overpriced. no kettle/coffee maker in room

    luxurious rooms, amazingly comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that I had to leave :)

    Hotel is exceptional! Breakfast was fantastic, staff was friendly and helpful. I got upgraded to a sea view premium suite, which was beyond my expectations. I will go back to Amfora anytime when I get the chance!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite With Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the port, there were some nice employees (with signs) waiting to take our luggage. The service was top notch everywhere in the hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable we slept in during our 10 day trip. Loved the pool environment and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. If you are going to Hvar, stay at Amfora! P.S. Try the giant chip cookie they serve at the bar. Best ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access from swimming pool to room mandatory via main reception

    Luggage service at port, swimming pool, hotel location (between city center and hula hula bar), hotel view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with mosquitos in the room.

    Breakfast was good, room was nice and spacious and pool was nice. A nice 10 min walk along to the main harbour area. Helpful transfer of luggage from hotel to ferry and vice versa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like. I think I came at the right time of the year so the weather was perfect and it wasn’t overly busy.

    I liked the separate pool areas for kids and adults. There were plenty of beds around the pool. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. It was quiet but not far to walk to the bars and restaurants. The walk along the coastline into town was beautiful. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The decor was clean and modern. It was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff had great attention to detail and went over and above to make my stay at the property comfortable. On hearing that I was on holiday to celebrate my upcoming birthday they arranged for a bottle of wine to be sent to my room which I thought was a very nice gesture. The concierge was more than helpful and ensured that all of our tours and transports were booked which took a lot of hassle away from us during our stay. The room was clean and extremely comfortable. All in all I was very pleased with the hotel and thought that it was great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was a little cold (there was no heating as advertised). The dinner buffet was not as great as the breakfast buffet and not worth 22 euro/person.

    Loved all of the facilities at the resort. Although we visited early in the tourist season, the accommodations were still very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was amazing and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No indoor pool, no wellness spa centre in the hotel. Limited number of tv channels (no all domestic channels available).

    My pet was exeptionally accepted, thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    The amenities were great! Pool was amazing with the slides. If your order food/ drinks it came very quick! Staff were very helpful in any way. Even me just asking for a safety pin, they delivered right away. Love how there’s an awesome pathway from our hotel to the city square. Also you can access the beach from There. It’s an awesome run view on the pathway, if you want to go for a jog. Hula hula beach is nearby which I highly recommend for sunset watch. Most of all love how it’s near the city square but it’s not within the city square and still get everything you would want to have nearby when you stay in Hvar (beach, pool, pathway, not too crowded, etc.)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deluxe room- old disgusting facilities poor workmanship would definitely not recommend The hotel is large and and can be a very long distance to get to your room!! Overall wouldn't stay again unless your young and don't care,

    The studio apartment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small and on our first night we found ants crawling along the carpet. When we communicated it to the staff they remedied right away. The beds weren't comfortable. Ultimately, I felt like it was a high cost per night for the quality. They also have a gym that we wanted to utilize that was under construction.

    We liked the proximity to the heart of Hvar and the pool area. The property was large in scale and had many amenities such as breakfast, but overall was run-down. The staff did provide us with a bottle of wine to congratulate us on our honeymoon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is always helpful and smiling. Such a well managed property and kitchen. Special mention to the concierge, Innes and the lady at the bar who also served us dinner the first night after the wine tasting festival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Everything was great the staff where so friendly my iPhone charger broke they ran and delivered another one the service is unreal beautiful country. Would recommend it 10/10 plus upgraded my room for free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather ! Nothing faulty with the hotel really.

    Breakfast was lovely. The reception folks were very nice and they upgraded us to a premium suite 😊👍👍👍.the concierge desk too was very nice and helpful. Stayed only for a day so did not experience much more. Thank you for the complementary upgrade and the lovely cut fruits so thoughtfully provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress not very comfortable Pillows were smelly and very thin, they should be throw away. Towels too small, no bath towel

    It was easy to park and get there with car Parking space Spacious Neutral Staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had renovations going on (Although there was no noise, that was very thoughtful of them) but it meant no spa, gym or indoor pool were working...it is worth calling beforehand to check if this is an absolute must on your list. I’m sure they will be ready for the Summer!

    Absolutely loved this place! It is worth getting the room with the sea view as it also overlooks the main pool and beach access. It was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and even helped my boyfriend find the Liverpool-Man City game on TV. Cocktails were delicious and the food by the pool was great as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of food available at the breakfast buffet, but hot meals not kept at the right temperature.

    The view was to die for! The sea looked inviting behind the fabulous pool area. Blue everywhere! And just a 10 minute walk on a walkway that sits alongside the ocean to Hvar town. Very friendly and helpful staff who upgraded us to a perfect seaview before we even asked!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A classic resort with all the facilities you’d expect. We were there at the tail end of the season so many things were closed, but on the plus side, there were few other tourists so we had Hvar somewhat to ourselves. We used this to get a double upgrade, as we extended our stay with the hotel by an extra 4 nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside the hotel was all dug up and slightly risky to walk right now..

    The perfect place to stay in Hvar as it’s right next to the beach and a 10 minutes walk to the Old Town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is a little disappointing (coffee, fruit, yogurt .... ). Staff not client oriented (standing toghetehr talking all te tie without noticing the clients) and not in line with a 4* hotel, table not clean etc

    Good location, nice design

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there end of October, only very few people were on the island and most restaurants were closed. We decided to have the buffet for dinner, but the food was not what we expected. Some of the warm buffet was getting cold and seemed to have been lying at the buffet way too long.

    Very friendly staff and the breakfast was good. It is a nice hotel, could use some renovation, but very well priced for the room and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is not heated Breakfast didn't changed for 7 days no indoor facility not a variety of restaurants

    Superb position comfortable beds and spacious rooms helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked an option for late checkout, when asked we were just told no. Drinks in the hotel were quite expensive.

    The beach outside the hotel had the clearest water I've seen in Europe. The breakfast was lovely and never rushed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Suite With Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort did not meet our expectations at all. The rooms do not look as nice as the pictures (very far off!). We were disappointed with the service as well, we had to wait for quite some time to receive any items we had ordered to the room. The bed was uncomfortable and there was no privacy at the bathroom (open shower, no curtains/doors). Overall not worth the money at all.

    Good location, walking distance to the old town. Considerably good breakfast with variety of options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners coming into my room at 7 & 7.45 while I was still trying to sleep

    A lovely hotel and a great location on the island. Nice food and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hardly any of the facilities in the pictures were open. Beach side cabanas, bonji beach club, restaurants, swim up bars, etc all closed. The website stated that the pool was heated by panels warmed by the sun but it was too cold to swim.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The establishment was very clean. The included breakfast was a feast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with lots of water coming out of the shower.. we called housekeeping but no one showed up. We stayed only 1 day that is what we did not caomplain more, but it was not acceptable to have that kind of leaking from the shower . Also the building of the hotel was kind of ackward, kind of difficult to find your room

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service was horrible. We booked a caves tour with the hotel but they told us only when we went to the beach that tour was cancelled. They did not inform us earlier and said it was because of winds that did not allow entry to the caves. When we went into Hvar town, the tours there said they had been able to go to the caves that day. Basically, the hotel gave wrong information that resulted in us missing the caves tours on this trip. If told earlier, we could have used one of the tours in town. Very unfortunate, but the hotel did not care they had inconvenienced us in this manner.

    The room was comfortable though the hotel layout is quite confusing. Also, luggage transfer from and to the pier was very efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inside of the hotel (room/gym/bar) was a pretty dated (which was not as apparent from the hotel photos).

    It was a nice easy walk from the Hvar port to the hotel. The hotel would pick up and drop off your luggage to/from the port so you could more easily walk to the hotel. The pool looked nice, but it was not warm enough to enjoy it while we were there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from corridor to inside room . Not so great noise insulation(standard room).

    Breakfast was great. Good location near center. Amazing view from hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - coffee was awful. Bonj beach club was closed along with Splash beach club / cafe and Maestral restaurant. Rooms - hotel need a new handyman, repairs a bit of a mess. Not clearly advised about no catamaran services on our day of check out. Pool cafe did lunch but it’s quite expensive. The room shower is unbelievably weird! It’s far too small so you shower with the door open and water goes everywhere. Toilet was in an odd box type thing so stank and wasn’t comfy to sit on. This hotel markets itself very high but it’s not in line with the main beach resort hotel brands of Europe. Plus it’s under £200/night which means a ‘nice’ hotel. Sunihvar ltd have a monopoly on the island and I think could improve greatly on brand standards. We’re very mobile people but this hotel is not for those with mobility issues, there’s stairs everywhere.

    Arrival - Came into Hvar Town on the catamaran from Split and lovely to see a Amfora van to take our luggage. Super coastal walk (10-15 mins) to the hotel, very easy to find. Facilities - pool although cold (Oct 2-6) was lovely. Beach was superb. Breakfast - extensive selection of healthy cereals, nuts, seeds, fruit, salad, breads, croissants and cooked options. Staff - good when we interacted with them! Especially helpful when the main catamaran service was cancelled all day due to rough seas. We weren’t advised but once we found out the lady concierge was very helpful and we got to Stari Grad for the car ferry. Pool cafe does THE best macchiato coffees. We were kindly upgraded to a Junior suite on arrival (we’d booked a superior room with balcony and sea view). Good nights sleep as the bed was huge, comfy and we couldn’t hear any other guests. Lovely mineral water and choccy treats on arrival in our room. Huge room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would of stayed longer if we had known how beautiful Hvar and the hotel was going to be.

    This was our first part to our honeymoon, we were upgraded on arrival and when we checked into our room we had a bottle of complimentary prosseco and a card from the hotel welcoming us and wishing us well in married life. The room was clean, comfortable, modern with a great seaview that was unexpected. Made to feel very welcome during our stay, excellent breakfast and the pool service was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the staff at breakfast to be quite rude. Not sure if it was lack of being able to communicate in English although body language and facial expressions sometimes do the talking. Reception staff pool staff were are very nice.

    A group of us went for my 40th birthday. We were there for three nights. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel although the time we did was good. Pool side drinks/food, hot chocolate in the evening with a cheeky dessert.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a litte bigger but it’s not as bad as other reviewers made it out to be. Ferry information could have been better, it seems no Catamarans leave from Hvar city on Sundays. That is not displayed anywhere

    I had a pizza the night we arrived, not bad and good value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a little bit small, we chose a room with balcony, but this balcony does not really make any sense, it directs toward another building so that we have to close our curtains all day. I would recommend standard double room if you travel on budget. For the inside of hotel, I think they tried to be a high-end hotel, however many details are missed. The door of our room has a vertically slope angle. Bathroom door is strange as well . And bathroom is small, ventilation does not work very well.

    The pool is great and hotel is close to a public beach, breakfast had a vast of options. Staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Timings of the swimming pool, they should open it till 8 pm atleast with some attractive swimming pool lights and music on top of it.

    They offered wine bottle as an anniversary gift and swimming pool was really nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of food and drink at the hotel was slightly expensive but that was to be expected I suppose.

    The resort is lovely and the location is magnificent! The staff were always very friendly. Also, there’s a free luggage drop to/from the ferry in Hvar Port that was extremely useful and unexpected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were celebrating our anniversary and the staff very kindly upgraded us to a 2-bed suite with ocean views and also brought us a chilled bottle of Prosecco and then a plate of cream cakes as I am pregnant (& couldn't enjoy the Prosecco!). Hotel pool area is amazing, breakfast was delicious with great views, location is spot on and staff so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't really like anything about this hotel. It's extremely tired throughout the property and needs work done to it. Therefore not worth the money it costs to stay here. We were booked into a deluxe room which was at the back of the hotel and was awful. It had no sea views and overlooked some flats! We complained and had to downgrade to a superior room which although had a sea view was extremely small. We were so disappointed with this hotel as it looked good in the photos I'd checked when beach club had daily charges, starting from around £25 a day and then it was closed mostly or being used for weddings! We certainly won't return and definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel.

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for food and drinks were very expensive. There wasn't much atmosphere in the bar....live entertainment would have been nice

    The pool was fabulous, the staff were first class, the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say there was anything I didn't like

    Excellent choice at breakfast covering wide selection of foods. Staff all cherry especially as it was the end of season. The hotel was spotless great location lovely walk into centre only 10 minutes looking at lovely views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is beautiful, especially the pool area. The beach right outside of the hotel has cobbles therefore I would recommended to bring beach shoes. The location of the hotel is perfect to walk to the old town on the left and the hulahula bar on the right.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite With Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed at the Amfora from 12-16 September, with it being my first holiday in a year I was really looking foward to a lovely hotel and holiday and spent more than usual on a hotel thinking it would be worth it. We spent the previous 3 days in Split at the Radisson hotel which was lovely, really nice staff and lovely food. THe next 4 days of our trip took us to Hvar which is stunning and such a lovely place, we booked the Amfora as the hotel is in a great location with amazing views but my experience was far from great. The room was such a disappointment and not what I booked or expected, oppressive, claustrophobic, dark with small windows, small door to ground floor patio which looked onto a high wall. The room looks nothing like the photos on booking.com. Admittedly we didnt book a sea view room which costs more thinking a studio suite with balcony would be sufficient as there was 2 of us and we wanted separate beds. For the price we paid which was €340 per night I did not expect to have such a dreadful room. We complained to the staff and in fairness to them they showed us several other rooms which were worse! smaller and looking onto a road so we had no choice but to stay in the room we had which reduced me to tears. The attitude of the staff was poor with little emphasis on customer satisfaction. When we checked out of the hotel we had an early start to get the ferry back to split and then our flight, we were not asked anything about our stay, they kindly gave us a packed lunch which comprised of a muffin, orange, banana, sandwich and small bottle of water, the only thing edible was the water, banana was brown muffin was stale and the sandwich was the remnants of the previous evenings dinner, appalling and pretty much summed up our stay. Believe it or not, i'm very easy going and takes a lot for me to complain but in this instance feedback needs to be given and hopefully by sharing my experience might help inform future visitors.

    The location and view from the hotel is lovely, the pool is very nice although quite cramped and felt a bit like sardines. The pool staff are lovely, cocktails are delicious aswell as the food by the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a superior double room with sea view and felt the room was smaller than you'd expect for the price and the bathroom was also quite cramped (only one person could use the vanity/mirror at a time).

    We loved this hotel for the facilities and location. The swimming pool with swim up bar is amazing! You can easily spend the day by the pool, sipping cocktails, enjoying the stunning view of the bay. The breakfast buffet was great, everything you could want is available. Overall we were glad we chose Amfora and would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit of a maze and it takes some time to find the optimal route to your room/facilities. I think the signs could be improved. The front of the hotel on the seaside is stunning but the entrance on the other side looks a bit old. It could use a small renovation so it's more inline with the awesome experience of the rest of the hotel.

    I never write reviews but this hotel deserves it. When we checked in, we got an upgrade. "To the best room of the hotel" he said. "Why not, when we have the availability". Usually when a hotel says they give you an upgrade it's just a slightly bigger room or on a higher floor so I really didn't expected much. After we opened the door (on the top floor) we realized we really got the best room. It wasn't really a room, it was more like an penthouse apartment with a separate living room, bedroom, bath and 3 balconies giving us a 180 degrees view over the sea/islands. The price for this room is twice the price we paid for the room we should have stayed in. It was the best upgrade I've ever had in a hotel. The roomservice was also the best I've ever had. The pizza I had was better than in most restaurants and the roomservice was lightning fast. The breakfast was very nice as well, a lot of varieties and things you won't find in other hotel breakfasts. The location is perfect. Just a small but stunning walk to Hvar city (just a few minutes). We stayed in 9 hotels in Croatia on our trip and Amfora topped all of them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    different level and a larger bed also the reception staff were not that friendly or welcoming like at most places

    thought the room was pretty average for the price of $450 per night was on level 2 more like a basement and not that big in size so it must be for the facilities and location we paid for

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect Location! The staff could not do enough for you. Pool area is amazing , lounger drink service , amazing pool , swim up bar , all at reasonable prices for Hvar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for a 2 star hotel. Extremely small and uncomfortable rooms. Everything in the room badly worn. Balcony views of equipment parking. Bathroom has an "outhouse" style toilet. Institutional breakfast.

    Property very dated, needs repairs and renovations. Very small rooms, worn out countertops, furniture, fixtures. Room looked dirty. Breakfast very meager by resort standards. Basic institutional food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small and for the price we paid it would have been nice to get some bottles of water and snacks free with the room. Instead you have to purchase from the mini bar.

    The pool area is absolutely incredible - the best I have seen by far. The hotel also provided a birthday cake upon request as it was my boyfriends birthday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was the biggest issue. It was very small for the price we paid and had many awkward qualities such as no mirror on the wall and frosted glass wall in bathroom. Then the blowdryer was in a drawer in a cabinet and couldn't be moved so you had to do your hair in the hallway.

    Pool area was a real highlight as it is designed very nicely. The staff at the pool are also excellent and prices weren't too bad.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: