Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartments Agava 4 stars

Ante Starcevica 114, 21300 Makarska, Croatia

#23 of 469 Holiday rentals in Makarska

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 apartment reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Not just at the beach promenade but close enough to have a good experience from the vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuck between two roads. Yet quiet inside when instead of opened windows there is the air conditioning used.

    Supermarket on the ground floor of the same building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Great i will comeback again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything to dislike

    The room was more beautifull then in the picture it was more then i expected and the owner were so honest , helpfull and kind very hard working couple knowing that they have also their hands full with looking after their kid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Friendly owner, very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have some basic things in kitchen for cooking (salt, oil etc)

    Friendly owner, very comfortable room. Great sunset from balcony, close to beach and supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great stay in very nice appartments!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Apartment Agava is located only a couple of minutes walk from the beach and we had great view on the sea! The rooms are cosy and spacious and very clean. Vice and Maia were great hosts and tried their very best to make our stay special. They were very helpful, gave us a bigger room (for the same price) and were always there for any questions and requests! We can definitely recommend Appartment Agava and Makarska

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Ideal apartment for our family. Large, spacious, and air conditioned. Short walk to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ideal apartment for our family. Large, spacious, and air conditioned. It was a bonus to come back from the beach to a cleaned room, with beds made too! A lovely family business.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Agava is a top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visited Agava several times, and my experience was always excellent. Maja and Vice are wonderful hosts going above and beyond to make your experience worthwhile. I can not recommend them more, and me and my family will certainly visit them again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Good place to spend your vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to walk through the markets backside where they had their trashes to go to the beach or the room

    Large room Great air condition Large bathroom Great staff and helpful Good location, 2-3 minutes walk to beach 15 min walk to the harbour Market, farmacy, ATM and bakery just below

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Great place, great people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was fantastic and helpful.The operators were able to provide additional information for tickets in town that day and allow us earlier check-in. Great Location!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Excellent – does exactly what it says on the tin!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    It was a pleasure to stay in the Agava Apartments (AA). Very friendly owners, always at hand to help. We stayed in a lovely apartment with the sea-view. The AA are located about 3 minutes walk from the beach, which we really appreciated when the temperatures sometimes reached + 35°C during the day. There’s a small but well-stocked supermarket in the building, which was very convenient. A really positive experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Extremely Positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were extremely helpful, approachable and friendly. Apartments were cleaned spotless every day. Rooms are new, good standard and 5 minutes from the beach and restaurants. There is a supermarket downstairs in the same building. Bakery and pharmacy are just around the corner as well. The sea view from the balcony is fantastic (depending what floor you are on, better from the top floors :))

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Friendly, family run hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was perfect. No complaints!

    Friendly, family run hotel in great location. Very helpful when it came to asking for directions, information, recommendations etc. Rooms were spotlessly cleaned everyday, even when it wasn't required. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious apartment worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - basic ingredients, i.e. salt+pepper would have been nice. That would have been a surplus-question though.

    + Very nice hosts who are always endeavor to help. + close to the sea side + fashionable apartments + daily cleaning + underground garage

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are very nice and the room very big and clean including cooking stove, microwaves, toaster, frigo etc.. The view on the sea is very good as well. Parking easy on the same building and you can walk along the beach side where restaurants, bars and other boutiques are..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    A great relaxing stay in a beautiful clean apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great .best ever

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Large renovated apartment with good equipments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing channels in english

    Large renovated apartment with good equipments

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    very clean
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    I will return with pleasure in the future
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    garbage truck

    direct sea view from the balcony, exemplary room cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Had 3 days to relax on a busy travel schedule. Recharged fully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous stay. Very helpful host. Close to beaches and many restaurants. supermarket next door

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    highly recommendable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillow is too high..

    friendly staff very clean room very close to supermarket Tommy which is just one floor down the lobby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Apartment AGAVA - very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Apartment in the center of Makarska in close proximity to the beach. Great location, well maintained and managed. Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Makarska. Perfect quality and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The best service I've ever met. Owners are very nice and helpful. You can always count on them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Extremly friendly staff, perfect cleanness, "everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremly friendly staff, perfect cleanness, "everything is new" feeling, nice funitures. Big and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.6
    Large apartment with a very big balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Large apartment with a very big balcony. Everything we needed provided. Not far from the beach and plenty of bars and restaurants close by. Very good staff and a lift. Perfect

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    I have visited Makarska at the beginning of the September...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not closely related to the Apartments Agava but there were no staircase handrail on the stairs from reception to supermarket - not conveniently for the disabled people.

    I have visited Makarska at the beginning of the September with 2 children - 8 months and 9 years old. We booked apartments with 1 bedroom, but upon arrival Maya and Vice, owners of the Hotel, gave us apartments with 2 bedrooms. They also provided the baby bed for my little daughter. Apartments are very spacious and convenient, with beautiful furniture, kitchen is well equipped - there are dishwasher with tablets, toaster, kettle and coffee mashine and enough dishes. It was very pleasant to spend our time not only at the seaside, but in apartments as well. Thanks Maya and Vice for all!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    We had an wonderful holidays in Makarska.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an wonderful holidays in Makarska. Good impressions were also connected with the hotel where we stayed - Apartments Agava. Friendly, attentive and helpful owner Maya made everything for us, so it was very pleasant to live in cozy, spacious and comfortable apartments.We appreciate Maya and her husband Vice and wish them health, happiness and success in their business. Natalia and Victor

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Apartments are really wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit noisy from road in some mornings.

    Apartments are really wonderful! Big and comfortable, modern, with stylish wooden furniture and cozy atmosphere, the sea-view from balcony is amazing. Kitchen is well equipped with everything one can need. Maja and Vice are very nice, friendly and helpful, they gave us a lot of useful advices and answered to all our questions. They also were very kind to raise the apartment class for our parents and sister family without any fee and move us to the studio on the same floor with our family - just because they could and wanted to do something pleasant for their guests. So, Maja and Vice, thank You very much for the client-focused approach to your business. Few words about Makarska: small, nice and romantic town. Central beaches (including the beach near Apartments Agava) were very crowded at the beginning of September, so we walked along the beach to the north part of Makarska until find more private place. All beaches are picturesque with absolutely transparent water, pine trees and incredible moutain view (we had a small walking trip to Biokovo from Veliko Brdo - small town near Makarska). There are also 2 good restaurants nearby the Hotel. So we have a really good holidays in Makarska.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Really good apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed was two singles combined which was a bit uncomfortable.

    Really good apartment! Clean, spacious, good location, on makarskas main road about 300m up from the beach up a little bit of a steep hill but fine for us. Right next to a supermarket.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Extremely friendly stuff,very helpful,nice and kind,beutiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely friendly stuff,very helpful,nice and kind,beutiful modern apartment close the the beutiful beaches of Makarska, excellent mountain and sea vievs,i am definitely coming back.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Everything was fine, accept of location near main road, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was fine, accept of location near main road, so if you like to sleep with open doors - it will be difficult enough, as noise of cars is too loud.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Absolutely fantastic apartment with great owners who are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was really good!!

    Absolutely fantastic apartment with great owners who are totally friendly and helpful !!! Maja and Vice will make your stay at Agava really, really comfortable!!! If you are looking anything they will give you the best advices!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    Spacious apartment with gorgeous views from both balconies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spacious apartment with gorgeous views from both balconies. Also friendly staff and first class cleaning. Great location to Makarska areas and beaches. Just enjoy the paradise of Makarska Riviera!

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    7.1
    Closeness to beach and main promenade without being right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Came and cleaned apartment without us knowing..and no soap in bathroom or washing machine.

    Closeness to beach and main promenade without being right on it.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    Apartment was exactly as described, very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When our sons had ear infections with a temperature, the TV channels were a bit limited. However you don't go on holiday to watch TV do you. All was good, I could not complain.

    Apartment was exactly as described, very clean and spacious. The cleaners came in daily and we had what we needed. We had the deluxe apartment with jaquzzi. It had stunning sea views and also mountain views. Vice and Maja the apartment owners were lovely, they couldn't do enough to help, advised on places to visit, good restaurants and even looked after you to keep you safe and well. I will miss them both and Makarska, we will definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Staff was amazing and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was amazing and very friendly. Very helpful in any inquiry we had or any assistance we needed. Vice especially, was very professional and friendly. He organized a very beautiful dinner for my family and our group of 20 at a local restaurant including transportation. The facility itself is great, clean, very modern.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Proximity to beach is great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing negative to say.

    Proximity to beach is great ... maybe a 300 metre walk. There is a grocery store directly below the hotel. Vice ... the hotel manager and his wife Maja couldnt be more engaging or accommodating. This was a very pleasant stay!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.2
    All staff very professional, friendly and approachable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All staff very professional, friendly and approachable, devoted to assist you in any way needed. The apartment was very clean and up to our expectations. Central air conditioning made our stay much more comfortable in the hot summer days.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Owners vice and his wife maja were delightful, he ordered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Owners vice and his wife maja were delightful, he ordered take away dinner for us one night and rang and booked us in to a wonderful restaurant on another night , they couldn't do enough for us, rooms clean with excellent wifi and a/c. Cleaners came in everyday to tidy and do dishes, perfect location, underground secure car park, couldn't fault it, supermarket on ground level as well! Would definitely return!

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    good value, easily located, decent restaurants close by,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly no swimming pool. Stony beach down a steep hill, but no big issues,

    good value, easily located, decent restaurants close by, great views from balcony, people very friendly, had great command of English language.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    We were very lucky to get get a free upgrade to the deluxe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just a slight uphill walk back to the apartment. It only made it a little tough because we have small kids who were a little exhausted especially after a long day at the beach.

    We were very lucky to get get a free upgrade to the deluxe apartment by the owners (Vice and his wife Maja). We love the apartment. Had an awesome view of the ocean, the city and of course Mt. Biokovo at the back. We love watching the sunset from the terrace. Beach and delicous restaurants are about 5 mins walk. We love the seafoods at restaurants we ate at. There was a supermarket downstairs that we used to buy mostly cheap good wine and other stuff. Vice and Maja are really friendly and helpful. Vice loves to talk so you can ask him anything. :)

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    - Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - noisy street - recommendation : BUY - Stick-on Floor Protectors on Chair Table :)

    - Friendly staff - Clean (daily cleaning) - Sea View - Shops nearby - internet access

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.6
    Apartments were clean, spacious and located just a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kettle or toaster in our apartment.

    Apartments were clean, spacious and located just a few minutes walk from the beach, restaurants and bars. The shop just below the apartments was very convenient. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return to Apartments Avaga next year.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    The owners of the block were lovely and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners of the block were lovely and relaxed. Modern block of apartments, and exceptionally clean. Very handy, well stocked supermarket beneath the apartment itself.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    After traveling for a few weeks it was great to have a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After traveling for a few weeks it was great to have a bit of luxury. Very comfortable and clean. The undercover secure parking was a bonus for us. Maja and her husband were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.2
    Terrace and views were awesome,,as well staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrace and views were awesome,,as well staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    All was super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was super!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The location and that the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Its a bit pricy and that we have to pay for the garage.

    The location and that the staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    Great staff and close to restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff and close to restaurants

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Was expecting a double bed but was 2 singles pushed together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was expecting a double bed but was 2 singles pushed together. When your sleeping they always come apart and you fall between

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Excellent location. Owners are friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this apartment to everyone.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Loved the owners very understanding and humble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved every part of our stay!

    Loved the owners very understanding and humble. Down to earth.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    perfect,
    • Solo traveller

    perfect,

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    Could not be more central to the old town of Split.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could not be more central to the old town of Split.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    The property was ideally situated and the young couple in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property was ideally situated and the young couple in charge were excellent hosts and very very helpfull

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Odlicna lokacija, smjestaj je fantastican, apartmani su...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Odlicna lokacija, smjestaj je fantastican, apartmani su savrseno opremljeni, a vlasnici veoma ljubazni. Savrsen odmor!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    Everything was good and the staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything was good and the staff were very friendly.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: