Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aquarius 3 stars

Mata Vodopica 8, Lapad, 20000 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#38 of 54 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 228 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the coffee from the breakfast

    - big room and very clean - friendly staff - very good breakfast - near the pebbles beach and restaurants - the station of the bus to old city is very close - the private parking space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs renovation asap

    To old, bascicly whole Dubrovnik is rip off in the season. If u want to drive 30 min away its 40 % cheaper. Staff was great and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was not filled and was the main reason I chose this location! The beds were not comfortable.

    The front desk was very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was great and it was a nice spread.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really a criticism but would have liked a mini-safe in the room. There was a main safe for valuables at reception but would have preferred one in the room.

    All the staff- receptionists, breakfast staff, maids were all very friendly and helpful. Very good cooked breakfast, nice spacious clean comfortable room with balcony, bus stop to the old town very close, supermarket also very close by. Plenty of English speaking television channels. Many good restaurants in the same street as the hotel. Swimming pool looked very tempting but did not have time for a swim. We liked the hotel so much we have booked up to come back next year!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was tiny, and unmanned when we went in, and the restaurant was only open for breakfast. However I think it may have been a bit early in the season - beginning of May.

    I liked the fact it is a smaller, very quiet hotel, with double glazing and shutters - I slept brilliantly, which I do not usually do on city breaks. Air conditioning kept the room nicely cool. very clean. breakfast was simple but tasty. Good location - there are bars and restaurants very close by, and a ten minute bus ride to old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room 30 mins before arrival - after we cancelled our booking in a different hotel, which was awful upon visitation - and the process was very smooth and uncomplicated, led by very attentive staff. Very comfortable and quiet, a great breakfast, and even an off-season pool (too cold in October to use it though).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been good if the water in the pool had been a little warmer !!

    Our room was really comfortable and was a beautiful home to us for our stay. The staff were really friendly, helpful and supportive. We had a room overlooking the swimming pool and also had lovely views of the landscape and the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - When we came to the room, there were spider nets and many and lots of dust. We went to ask a woman at reception to care about improvement this sitauation. - Very small room, only one wardrobe and no possibility to put next things (only on the floor). - Poor light in the room, in the evening was not possible to read ... - Our room was directly next to the back entrance and everytime, when somebody use this door, whole room shaked. It was very crazy mainly during the night. We always jumped. - Very near of our window were situated motors for hotel´s air condition , so it was not possible to open the window during the day, neither in the night.

    - Parking place next to the hotel, without fees. - Hotel near the beach (about 200 m). Beach with small stones. - Bus stop - near the hotel about (150 m), to the centre of Dubrovnik it is possible to use buses n. 6, 6E (and 2A, I think). Journey to the Old Town takes about 10 - 12 min. The price of bus ticket is 12 Kn, but if You buy it directly in buss (at a driver), it is 15 Kn. - Nice swimming pool directly at the hotel, but we didn´t use it. - Breakfast - everybody can select, what he likes. I appreciate the fruits in the Menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    The whole hotel was superb and the staff brilliant. they would do anything to help in act my wife had a fall (entirely her fault) and broke ankle in 2 places - Franica took her to Hospital in her own car and from thereon the manager gave us a free meal and drinks on return from the hospital brought it to the room as my wife was immobilised. they continued to let us have meals in our room and on the day of departure extended our stay in our room from the 11.00 am checkout to the 5-00 pm taxi without charge. I could not recommend any other hotel I have stayed in any higher than this one. A special thanks to Franica especially for the service she gave and all the other staff that helped throughout the stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely helpful staff Very good location on the Lapad peninsula Comfortable rooms Beautiful swimming pool Excellent value for money in Dubrovnik

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Good location with friendly staff. The swimming pool was a welcome addition. The restaurant served a very good selection of tasty food at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a quiet place to stay, away from the bustle of Dubrovnik, yet was easily accessible to public transport. The staff was lovely, always smiling and ready to answer any question. A take away breakfast was arranged for me on two days that I needed to leave early for full day excursions. The double bed room had lots of space. Wifi was free, but slow. I would come back to this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area around the hotel could do with a tidy up as some empty premises but this is not the hotel's fault!

    The swimming pool area and outside restaurant were obviously new and very nicely designed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large and nice but could probably do with updating in the near future as starting to look tired, especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minus is that the AC inside the room is a bit noisy

    Staff is great, friendly and helpful. The facilities are awesome nice pool inside the premises with sun chairs. Good breakfast. Good location (bit far from old town, not a bad thing but worth mentioning it)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms - one very spacious, one cramped. The bathrooms were in need of modernisation and had a broken shower door. Our room had the smell of urine which became more obvious during the stay. The breakfast was nice and our evening meal was delicious

    The swimming pool was lovely with towels being refreshed regularly. Reception were helpful when necessary. Excellent location. Lovely restaurant for lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I can think of which was wrong with my stay.

    I loved this hotel from the moment I arrived to the day I left. It is a great location close to beaches and a bus to old town. There is also a wonderful pool to relax by. The staff are beyond helpful and friendly. I really was impressed with the whole hotel. The room I had was clean and had a balcony with views of the mountains. I will definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it to people. Breakfast was good as was the dinner menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool hours! The pool closed at 7 pm. Would have liked it to stay open till at least 11 pm. If you're out having a great day, you cannot swim when you come back. Kind of misleading and this was my biggest heartburn with the hotel. I didn't like the fact that there was no choice to tell housekeeping you did not want your room serviced. Also, it was nearly impossible to contact the hotel staff by email. I had questions about a few things and I never could get them to respond. Probably not the desk staff's fault.

    Good breakfast selections. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. If you're going on tours, you'll either be picked up at the hotel or at the Grand Park Hotel a few doors down. Great restaurants around and a grocery store nearby. Bed was comfortable and hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No place in the room to move! Too much stuffy furniture, room feels almost gloomy for a beach side hotel. Owners could have done much better with decor. Breakfast was uninspiring...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furniture and rooms dated - stains on chairs, carpets etc. Mixture of staff - those that manned reception were helpful and friendly enough. The guys that served at the bar/pool were slow, looked miserable and could have smiled a bit more.

    Hotel Aquarius represents brilliant value for money. It's location is really good, close to beach, shops, bars, shops and easy enough to get into Dubrovnik. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room refrigerator was not working..a disappointment considering the really hot weather.

    Centrally located with good on site food/restaurant facilities available all day and the pool facilities made this an attractive place to stay. Receptionist was knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in room.

    Very friendly staff. The pool was very clean and well kept. Nice breakfast. Very comfy beds. Lovely food in the restaurant and reasonably priced too - much better and quieter than eating on the nearby 'strip' of restaurants where you will get ripped off. My hire car battery was flat and they jump started for me! Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok could have been cleaner. The breatfast was just ok and there was mouldy and bruised fruit, there wasn't enough bananas for the guests.

    The location was good. The staff were pleasant. The pool was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was fantastic and the property was very clean and well kept. The location was, I thought, very good. The hotel was located a 5 minute walk to a pedestrian plaza with lots of restaurants and a 10 minute walk to a bus stop. The number 6 bus took us a short ride(15 minutes)to the walled town. The staff were all cheerful and helpful and spoke english well. We ended a Rick Steves tour there and spent 3 nights.The breakfast provided was one of the best on our tour and the layout of the food was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two sets of stairs to front reception. This is difficult when carrying many heavy luggages and there's no one there to help. Only one person, usually a young lady at the reception. Supplied towels are white but old so not fluffy, it could do with a replacement. Breakfast was basic and pretty much the same eveyday.

    Good to be able to open windows to get fresh air and to look out to a good view (if on the righ side)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better selection of food at breakfast buffet.

    Balcony allowed us to keep door open at night. Short walk to bus that goes to old walled city. Good variety of eating places nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room, poor maintenance of room ( to many loose objects : shower etc)

    Friendly staff, excellent restaurant, good location to go by bus to city ; quiet location; hospital close !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, the room was clean and tiday but on the second day the cleaning of the room was average. The mattress was average. Not appropriate for long stays if you have back problems. Ok for two days max.

    Great location. Secure parking. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom floor was unbelievably dirty and not cleaned during a 3 day stay. Others in hotel had similar experience....although some didn't.

    Front Desk staff was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but it is room for improvement and more food options.

    One of the best hotels in Lapad area. The pool was clean and nice. Five minutes to the beach. Live music and restaurant available. Supermarket near the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast were tasty. There was close to bus stop but sometimes we were going to old city on foot (about 40 minutes walk). There is a hipermarket close to the hotel. A small but nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double bed. Got two singles of different heights. Not impressed. Air conditioning was incredibly loud and it was too hot to sleep with it off. A fan would have been nice as the air conditioning made my partner ill.

    Friendly staff. Not close to the centre of Dubrovnik but good bus connections. Restaurant nearby was a good thing, but they are all touristy and expensive for what they were. Beach nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a little weak.

    Convenient to seaside attractions, bars, and cafes. Nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor wifi signal. Very expensive hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C could have been better

    Great Staff very helpful. Excellent Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great outdoor pool, perfect location in Lapad. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit dated. Air conditioning kept me awake. The room is tight.

    The location is great. Breakfast is OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice, comfortable hotel in heart of Lapad, near restaurants. Warm and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Excellent breakfast buffet Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful city, beautiful hotel with a retro touch, nice views, very quiet at night. Cool staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleannes. Bathroom was dirty. I found some hair on the toillet cover.

    Employees at the front desk are very professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Bed mattress is comfortable. Not soft and wobbly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odličan hotel, posebno bih pohvalio ljubaznost recepcionara Tea. Value for money izvrstan!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow street in front of the hotel

    Clean and tidy rooms, nice swimming pool outside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful balcony with a view of the pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All satisfactory

    Smaller bouteque style of hotel. A fair mumber of recent renovations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and location of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Some rooms are too close the general air conditioning system, so please check ahead.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny. There was barely enough room to get to the other side of the bed.

    Good pool and close to the main strip of lapad

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been good to be a bit higher up in the building and with a balcony.

    Good location & friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on really.

    Fantastic location. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    need some repair work done

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was dirty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent situation in the center of the old town and music live jazz each friday. very good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cool pool, nice rooms! good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near beach & resturants

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need to catch a bus to and from the Old Town but being inside the Old Town would have its own problems with transporting baggage.

    The staff were terrific and treated us with a friendly, respectful manner...even though they had probably answered the same questions countless times! We ate one night in the restuarant attached to the hotel and it was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff went out their way to help when required, beach a short walk away through a busy pedestrian street with bars, restaurant, .. My room was adequately sized, clean and comfy. Would reccommend.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bathroom shelf hadn't been put up and was left on the side. The plastic cover to the wooden toilet seat had denominated meaning bare wood....we asked if it could be sorted the next day but wasn't. Breakfast on the first day was very basic, rolls , butter, jam, cereal, omelette if requested. Not enough people staying to have the full selection. Restaurant closed as not in season yet. Such a shame, lovely room.

    The staff were just great. So helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendly & helpful. Food in restaurant was good

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service good and friendly staff. Food excellent, outdoor restaurant area lovely, especially at night. Close to beach and local bus to old city.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems.

    Short walk to Bus #6, which takes you to Old Town. Great coffee at breakfast. Arranged low price car ride to airport.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: