Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Valamar Argosy Hotel 4 stars

Iva Dulčića 140, Babin Kuk, 20 000 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#30 of 54 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 330 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Dubrovnik holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have two little gripes! The first one is first impressions on arrival. We arrived fairly late, checked in and just needed a beer before we went upstairs to our room. The bar is right next to check in. The bar man was quite grumpy and said we couldn't get a beer as they had just closed and he wasn't very helpful. It was his colleague who said we could have a bottle of beer which we did. Like I said a small niggle but as a first impression didn't go down too well with me and my husband. The other was the dinner buffet. We've had a lot of buffets over the years, but I was a little disappointed - we only had a buffet one night as ate out all other nights but I've had better! Apart from my little gripes like I said, we had an excellent time but i feel it's always important to just let the hotel know.

    Stayed here for the first part of our holiday. Great hotel - all the facilities. Wifi excellent i don't think I had to log in again over the 5 nights! Staff were very friendly, beds exceptionally comfy and I slept really well. Breakfasts were good. The gym was really well laid out and had everything you needed including x 2 TRX! Had a great stay - thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a short trip to Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was too cold - kept switching on (15 dress C).

    Beautiful view on the sea. Very nice pool area. Bus connection to Dubrovnik just down the road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    A very nice stay in Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a bit far away from everything but this isn't an issue if you just want to relax by the pool and enjoy the views.

    Hotel has been renovated this year so the interior in the main lobby was quite nice. They have a good breakfast and a very nice pool area. The view from the pools is amazing! Nice and relaxing hotel for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Lots of open communal spaces with a plenty of comfy private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu for lunch but still very tasty

    Lots of open communal spaces with a plenty of comfy private seating. The library and the hammocks were great. Views from the pool were perfection

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    The property is clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we requested a large bed, however, what we got was two attached small beds!!

    The property is clean and well maintained. There is a bus stop near the hotel that takes you to the old town. The breakfast is diversified with many options to cater to all tastes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing hotel with good facilities, great breakfast and breathtaking poolside views of the Adriatic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far from the old city but this has it's benefits also as it's quieter and feels more relaxed.

    Very good 4* hotel a 15 min bus or taxi ride from the old city. Good breakfast, facilities like the gym and an amazing view from the pool area over the sea. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Resort hotel with great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, modern hotel with resort facilities Loved the library daybeds, and hammocks. Easy to get bus no 6 to the old town Grad. Food was OK for a large hotel there was a lot on offer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    We had a wonderful holiday and will definitely be returning to Croatia and will pick a Valamar hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't find the sunbeds comfortable and woke some mornings with a headache as my neck was at an awkward angle when I lay in the sun. The food in the restaurant was fine - wouldn't be winning any awards but we always found something we liked.

    The beds were wonderfully comfortable and the bath towels a very decent size. I didn't expect the air conditioning to work as well as it did so I was delighted to find that it kept the bedroom at a comfortable level of cool. Also, it wasn't loud as most air conditioning systems are. Best of all I would say is the staff. Reception, restaurant and room cleaning staff were always cheerful, friendly and interested in whether we were enjoying our stay - which we did and we will definitely be returning. The bus stop to catch the bus to Dubrovnik old town was 3 mins walk away which was wonderful and meant we went into the old town three times during our weeks stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no hotel beach, the coral beach club was privalty owned and very expensive. It is also a man made beach so it’s not that nice. The other beach clubs around had dirty water and were not very nice to swim in. The hotel webpage advertises a beach but it’s not theirs. I don’t like pools so this was a drawback. Otherwise everything else was perfect.

    Breakfast was great and room was very clean !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Location is excellent to get to beach, restaurants and Dubrovnik old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable sun beds, loved the sun shade but too uncomfortable to lie on for any length of time! Would have loved a non buffet restaurant too.

    The location is excellent. Beautiful views. Was lovely to be able to,walk to local restaurants. Very easy to use public transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    The library and the breakfast, adapted for our gluten free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were crazily cold. The AC is automatically ON at a maximum of 21°C, even at night. It is insane that despite the 30+ degrees outside we were dying inside. The pool and the surroundings are full of wasps.

    The library and the breakfast, adapted for our gluten free needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Incredible first stop!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So we only stayed for one night, and it was the perfect way to start our trip around Croatia. We were sold at the lavender pillows. Even though it’s out of the city a little, it’s so easy to get in and out of the city with regular buses and taxis a stone throw away and perfect for those who want a bit of tranquility. The staff were incredible and catered to our every need. And The location with the pool looking over the water and also the beach just below too was perfect for those wanting the best of both worlds. Will definitely go back when we return

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    3.8
    ALERT: THERE IS NO BEACH AND DOES NOT WORTH THE PRICE AT ALL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures on booking are quite misleading and very well taken. There is no beach belonging to the hotel even if pictures show otherwise. The 2 pools are pretty small and surrounded by hundreds cheap sunbeds so there is no privacy neither a minimum of space between you and you neighbor. Rooms are just fine nothing special and the first night A/C and shower didn’t work! Generally speaking the hotel has a very cheap approach to everything: at breakfast cafe espresso is extra-charged, towels at pool are provided one by one and you are required to bring them back at the pool desk each time you leave . When we complained about the problem we had the general manager had a very bad attitude and didn’t want to offer any kind of compensation, a very wrong approach to customers and very unfair. Thanks to Marko (the customer manager in charge) that was very professional and kind we got a 10% discount on the rate we paid, but honestly not enough to make up all the mess we had to deal with during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Modern, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signage within the hotel could be better.

    Check-in a bit chaotic but free glass of champers was a nice touch. Breakfast was very good indeed as was the food served in the pool bar. Amazing views by pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Great for relaxed sun bathing with our 20+ year old kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But if a schlep into Dubrovnik, but hey, you don’t get everything. Beach is not sand so bring your jellies

    Great for relaxed sun bathing with our 20+ year old kids. Low rise and didn’t feel crowded even though it was full

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel and rooms were immaculately clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Another restuarant and bar for more choice.

    The hotel and rooms were immaculately clean. Pool area was excellent and views amazing. A little disappointed with the pool bar as it warrants another bar and lunch time eating facility. Would benefit from offering AI package as drinks were extremely expensive. There is an area adjacent to the hotel that has bars, shops, restaurants and mini markets, these are all good value and food was good. The 'Steak House' in that area does excellent food and again really well priced. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the Coral Beach Club, which is really classy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff not friendly. double face. one moment have fake smile the other moment long face. Same as staff in gift shop. Restaurant staff encourage guests to pack food and made own sandwich to take with them.

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    a lot of problems caused by double charging of my card
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel secured full amount of the money for my stay during my check-in and then charged this sum again on check-out. The staff informed me that the secend operation on my card is required to confirm the first operation made during the check-in. The day after I left the hotel I was in the middle of my holidays and had negative balance on my card for more than a week.

    good dinner buffet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Good inclusive breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that the prices charged for drinks and snacks within the hotel.Where unrealistic and way too expensive . Everything else was perfect.

    Good inclusive breakfast.Super friendly staff. Excellent airport transfers. Comfatable rooms and daily cleaning with ftesh towels.. beautiful location..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry was expensive. Could have been ice machines on the corridors. Breakfast could have been a bit earlier.

    Delicious food with reasonable priced room service, amazing breakfast, beautiful, super clean beach, great pillows, mini bar and service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Valamar president
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the old city.

    Overbooking in this hotel. They redirect us to valamar president (5*). All Perfect and incredible: room, privacy, views, breakfast, installations, spa, beach, infinity swimming pool, bathroom and facilities. Personal are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable hotel, very clean and super close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and comfortable hotel, very clean and super close to few different beaches and just 7 mins by car from the old town. Beds and pillows are very comfy. The breakfast is very generous and You can find everything you want. Staff is nice too, just maybe a bit anonymous?! They don’t really run the extra miles for their guests....they didn’t even showed us where the lift was when we arrived to the hotel. Overall a good and relaxing staying!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor of the room was not cleaned during our stay (7 days). The personel/staff were very morose. I had an alergy reaction and my husband had food poisoning.

    The hotel was nice, the room was ok, the scenery was fantasting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    great vacations. we will come back next wear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only default: the cleaning the first 2 days. but after our complains everything was great.

    1. location 2. food. 3.the room and specially the bed and pillows. 4. the facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good vacation in nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel management should improve breakfast and dinner. European 4+ star hotel must have fresh squeezed juice for breakfast ( free of charge) and good espresso (cappuccino) mashine. In 2018 it is unacceptable to have simple filter coffee for breakfast as we are in last century. It is not so expensive for hotel , but it means a lot for guests good feeling. For dinner more sea food varieties and still water free of charge. The prices for simple drinks in hotel are too high and not real.

    Hotel is very nice, renovated with quite good service. The rooms are clean, well designed and equipped. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Especially Mrs. Dragica from main restaurant. She is great and very polite lady. The pool area is great and very clean. WiFi connection is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Great. Would happily go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Room cleanliness was fine but we never had a deep clean during our 2 week stay.

    Staff very friendly. Pool area really nice and no fighting for sunbeds. Good breakfast with plenty of options. Just a short walk along the coastal path to restaurants and bars. Close to Dubrovnik old town - 10-15 min bus ride.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Very clean hotel, very quiet, friendly staff, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good to get some tips from the reception about what to do around the hotel thanks to a map from the peninsula.

    Very clean hotel, very quiet, friendly staff, nice decoration, good food. We recommend this hotel. We had great holidays with our 2 kids and grand parents.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Seaside resort tucked away from the crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we arrived late on the catamaran from Hvar, the hotel restaurant was already closed and the bar had just stopped serving food so there weren’t any options for getting something to eat other than a shop a few minutes walk away.

    This hotel is located outside of the hustle of Old Town Dubrovnik on the Lapad peninsula. It was a short, 15 minute drive from Old Town as well as the port. We appreciated its location as it was a nice escape from the touristy areas of Dubrovnik. The hotel pools were lovely and it was only a short walk down to the sea to the Coral Beach Club for some sun and sea swimming. Breakfast here was delicious, the best of our trip; get the banana bread, fresh fruit, and the pancakes. The room was well-kept and had a lot of shelving/storage with a nice view of the garden and sea beyond from our balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is clean and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a wheelchair-ready room ehihc was not mentioned anywhere before the arrival. We needed time to get used to the cabin-free shower and the door-free furnitures. Air ventillation did not work in the bathroom/WC.

    The hotel is clean and beautiful. Breakfast and dinner provide wide selection for followers of any diet. Staff is helpful and speakes english well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    The resort was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general staff in the restaurants seemed oddly rude - they were hesitant to give us tap water or an ice bucket and service was disappointing. I asked for a bottle of water in the restaurant and the lady almost threw the bill at me.

    The resort was wonderful. It was very clean, comfortable and had a lot of activities for us to take part in including morning hikes, water aerobics and Zumba. The hotel has recently been renovated - it’s fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable lobby bar atmosphere. Went once for a drink and didn't go back. Both bar tenders we're quite rude and slamming chairs outside to get guests to leave so they could close the terrasse. Pool closes a bit early at 8:00pm

    View from the pool was breathtaking. Small shops close by. Close to beach clubs. For the most part staff quite friendly. Buffet was reasonably priced and food was excellent. Staff there we're very welcoming. Receptionist and concierge very helpful a pleasant experience with them. Changing rooms with showers at the pool, so if you have a late flight you can comfortably use the hotel facilities after checkout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Good but wouldn't come again to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far location from old town. No water sports available at the hotel except jet ski. We had to go to Valamar President for all the water activities. There is only one restaurant.

    The pool and the clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only problem we had the whole stay was at checkout. This was a confusion with an advance held on our card that was released the day prior due to someone claiming they were checking out of our room (which prompted staff to try clean our room at 8am and rendered our access cards useless). By releasing the funds, I then had to pay the amount in full again for a weeks stay and wait for my institution to clear the fund, which can take a while at times. Just a small thing, but could have been avoided if names were cross checked at the time of checkout for the other individual. This would not prevent us from booking again, and should not deter others from planning a stay here!

    Easy check in, rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. We had half board with dinner and breakfast. We thought the food was fantastic considering how many people they are catering for and the times they kept service open (7pm - 9.30pm). Great pool areas and places to relax. We loved lying next to the pool and just dropping in for a swim. There is live music played in a garden area in the evenings in which you can sit with a drink and listen. The drive into town is extremely easy, we caught Uber in and out as they were cheaper than taxis by about 30% and we didn't have to worry about cash. There was ALWAYS an Uber waiting around the area. Should cost about 85 Kuna each way. Staff were always happy to help and we would love to come back again if it weren't so far from Australia!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Really enjoyed breakfast, activites, pool area, location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on ground floor it was really damp and smelt damp throughout our stay. Clothes we didn’t even wear were also damp. Also I thought the cleaners did a really bad job whilst we stayed there barely doing anything. Recommend asking for room not on floor 1

    Really enjoyed breakfast, activites, pool area, location was all really great. Great place to stay outside of Dubrovnik

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyting was exquisite! Not 5 stars for nothing!

    Loved loved loved the service! The staff was fantastic! We had our two yearold with us and they helped in every way to accomodate our and his needs. Late checkout, baby bed, the works. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Loved it! Didn’t want to come home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearby beaches were very expensive in terms of renting sun loungers.

    Excellent hotel, worth every penny. The views were stunning! Breakfast was incredibly varied and plenty of it. Staff were helpful and friendly without being overbearing. Room was excellent. Pool facilities were fantastic and there were lots of activities you could join in (we were lazy and didn’t!). Beaches and beach bars were close, and great links to the Old Town. Would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully decorated hotel, modern yet inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated hotel, modern yet inviting. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. The hotel had amazing views, great breakfast buffet and lovely outdoor pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Such a great five star experience. Perfect girls weekend getaway! Loved the scuba centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could do with an upgrade, as they were not very comfy. The air conditioning didn't work well, so overheated at night. Next time I stay, I will enquire about the air conditioning being fixed!

    The breakfast was perfect, the beach was beautiful, the staff were friendly, an easy bus that brings you right from the hotel to Old Town every 10 mins, the gym looked well equipped (though I was too busy enjoying the other facilities to use it). I especially liked the Scuba school staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a little friendlier at times and there could be some form of evening entertainment such as a live band in the evening in front of the amazing view.

    The views were breathtaking, the hotel was amazing. All expectations were far exceeded.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    A deception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The infrastructure is quite nice and has beautiful landscapes by the pools. Other than that probably a 3 star hotel if so. Cleanliness is a mirage: floor with acumulated dust and hairs, wc not clean aswell with hairs, basin dirty, bed sheets rarely changed (1 or 2 times in 6 nights), balcony with dirty glasses and plates fof more than 3 days and dirty, the floor never was cleaned, awfull and a pitty because it is a nice hotel. The food as no quality at all, industrial and the variety almost doesn't change, not suitable for children as it doesn't inspire trust and service is aswell very poor. My baby got ill and talking with other families, other toddlers had the same. The reception manager tries to handle it very professionaly but its way out of her control. Nice bar and louge area though, location ok. Good for couples or families who want to enjoy pool and the city, but not to eat there or expect to much more than having a place to stay. It closes on winter, maybe that's the reason why the staff is generaly not the best. Would never come back.

    Pool and lounge area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Very scenic backdrop on the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was noisy as was above an open reception and the evening singers (who in our opinion never seemed very good!) . We did go in peak which might account for the next two issues. Breakfast one morning was too crowded, and people pushing in the queues. It became very stressful, not what I want for a holiday or 4 star hotel. Not enough loungers by the pool.

    Very scenic backdrop on the coast. Plentiful buffet style breakfast and dinner. Good service. Lots of chill out areas. Modern hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Stunning views, fantastic location and activities for all made our stay a wonderful one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We think there could have been more of a 'smile with the service' but perhaps that's just the Croatian way. It wouldn't put me off going back.

    The views from the pool area were absolutely breathtaking and we loved the sun shades on the sun loungers. There were activities for everyone and it was fantastic to have the shuttle bus stop for old town right outside the hotel. We loved staying here and I'd recommend this hotel very highly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    best hotel-
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I did not like . You can not fault the hotel.

    The hotel is magnificent. The facilities are unbelievable. The infinity pools are large and stunning. There is a large indoor pool also. The hotel is very big and spacious and has lots of different areas you can sit and relax as it is filled with lots of day bed lounges and lots of couches and comfortable chairs. The buffet breakfasts and dinners are rich in variety catering for all including vegetarians, and vegans there’s live entertainment on every night at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner could be better, almost same warm food every evening. We had the room on the first floor with garden view, in the room it was always too cold and lots of moist (our clothes gets "wet"). A note to the hotel: be better to keep the rule that the guests can't reserv the sunbeds with theirs towels

    The breakfast was great. Some of the staff was nice, especially Antonio (she was a chef), waiter Marin and the chef Josip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel (not many vegan options)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We emailed and called the property in advance asking about their vegan options and I was assured there would be lots of variety and the food is clearly labelled- unfortunately we were hugely disappointed as breakfast was literally fruit or toast (not what we expect for a 4* who state the cater for vegans). Half board is a great option at this hotel as there are not many restaurants close by (maybe a 30/40 minute walk to the busiest area) but there were only 2 choices for vegans on the evening buffet - for example stuffed onion, rice, tomato pasta or mushrooms. There was a huge selection of salad but lots had fish or meat in them. You can ask for a pizza without cheese. Please avoid getting plastic cups at the pool area as it can get windy and they end up flying into the sea. We also hope the hotel will stop using plastic straws for this reason but in the meantime please ask for your drinks without a straw and take a refillable cup! Oh last thing... the dreaded sun bed wars ha. We don’t normally stay in the hotel all day but if you do want to chill by the pool watch out as guests put their towels out as early as 7/8am. I’d just ask a member of staff to get you another sun lounger out instead of adding to the problem but I guess most people will view it as ‘if you can’t beat them.........

    The views from the hotel are breathtaking, especially at sunset. The room was lovely and clean- very comfortable bed! Very cool chill out areas and quirky furniture/chairs/sofas - hammocks and rocking chairs. Bar and lunch menu prices are pretty reasonable (everywhere in Dubrovnik is pretty expensive). The bus stop to old town is a few minutes walk from the hotel- you want the number 6 and you can get your bus tickets from the hotel. There was live music on an evening between 9-11pm which was lovey to chill out to. The hotel chain Valamar put on a mini festival and open air cinema with deck chairs and pop corn which was awesome! The tap water is safe to drink and really nice so please avoid buying plastic bottles and refill your water in your room or at the bar. There are a number of fountains in the old town you can also refill from too 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel and location but much too expensive for the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too many people at this resort, very stressful. Queue at everything at breakfast, again stressful. Money machine. We have tried many 5* hotels which charge less but much better quality in service/food Overall much too expensive for the rooms, food and drinking (soda, water, coctails) compared too the quality. Even more expensive than our home country which is one of the most expensive places on earth (DK). Service and quality did not follow the price. The staff clearly work too many hours and do not have much energy.

    Location and nice newly decorate hotel. Spa is good.. cleaning lady good and nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Great for Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was a little chaotic, there was not many staff around and I had to lay my own table and hunt for my own cutlery. All though none of the restuarant staff were rude, some could use some customer service classes.

    Very nice hotel with excellent facilities. We were able to check in a little earlier than the check in time. Hotel is in a beautiful location, all though it is a little out of the Old Town centre. Easy access to public transport (bus 6 stops right at the hotel) and runs from the Old Town centre until just after 2am. Reception staff were all really great and helpful. Jakov who worked in the restaurant area was very attentive. Hotel was spotless throughout. Nice pools with sun loungers etc. We were allowed to stay all day and use all facilities after our check out time free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful interior/enterior design, wonderfully pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautiful interior/enterior design, wonderfully pleasant staff, comfortable and spacious rooms, great food. Amazing view from restaurant and swimming pool. Fantastic experience overall, would come back happily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Close to beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towls and gowns were shabby. Buffet dinner is great but expensive. Staff around pool not eager to serve drinks we had to go to the bar and get it ourselves. We had roomservice which was great but the tray with plates and left overs were only removed after 2 days.

    Close to beaches. Great breakfast!! Great after checkout service for guests to spend the day - even showers available and waiting areas with daybeds!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous Valamar Argosy - what a great holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff not as friendly as we are used to in Europe, just a bit dour, sometimes bordering on rude, but maybe just the Croatian way? Not enough pool loungers for all the guests.

    The hotel is vast but well laid out with a 5 - 7 min easy walk to 2 beautiful pebble beaches. Lovely pool area with 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pools, all immaculate. Dozens of chairs, couches, hammocks, day beds and swing chairs are dotted throughout the hotel, both inside and out, for those whose idea of a great holiday is not basking in the sun, but finding a comfy spot in which to read. The buffet breakfast is great with something for everyone and meals and drinks are available throughout the day from the pool bar area. A magnificent buffet is also available in the evenings. The hotel has a few shops on site, but a large selection of shops, plus restaurants, are a minute's walk away. The bus into the "old town" is also a minute's walk away. We would definitely stay here again when next in Dubrovnic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Incredible views from the accommodation and good food as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many members of staff (not all) at the restaurant were not very personable and when asking for simple things it often seemed like a big chore for them to do.

    Incredible views from the accommodation and good food as well as a very convenient bus to the old town. Ideally positioned to get away from the noise of the old city but also so easy to get to and from it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    AMAZING place to stay in Dubrovnik. Beautiful location on the water & short bus ride to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bath-tub didn't drain so when we took showers in the combined shower / tub we ended up standing in ankle-deep water.

    The buffet breakfast and dinner were 10/10 - so much variety and the food was delicious! Dining on the terrace with the Mediterranean sparkling in the background is the best!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that we had to pay for 2 bedrooms and others with same age children as us paid for one. Also music till 11pm at night so that my 6 year old has learned some of the words to ABBA's Waterloo ! it was very irritating. If you have children avoid rooms 350 onwards!

    Breakfast was really lovely except for the lack of fresh orange juice! Views were lovely as were the swimming pools.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice pools, gym, good service, great views from the pools,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some noise from the restaurant but ending by 23.00.

    Nice pools, gym, good service, great views from the pools, rooms comfortable, clean, good beds. We had breakfast and dinner included - good concept, good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Amazing stay from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the room to the pool and bar. It's a fabulous hotel, the staff are lovely and professional nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast and dinner (which were included in our package) was gorgeous and so much choice. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value and great views from a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome not great - no explanation of facilities or nearby amenities Expensive bar prices Staff not the happiest Changeover from dinner to breakfast at 9.30pm makes dinner less than relaxing!

    Great location for sunsets Good breakfast Very clean, comfortable and modern rooms Easy transport access Excellent pool areas

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, great food and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far out - I like to walk to places and there weren’t too many restaurant choices nearby.

    Beautiful hotel, great food and facilities! Amazing views!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    dont hesitate to book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 7 nights

    copocabana beach was very dissapointing bad food and expensive.Best place we visited was the boat trip to lopud stunning

    the quality and choice of food was excellent.position perfect bus service outside hotel into dubrovnik very easy to get around Everyone spoke English and was very amiable would seriuosly go back to the same hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing two nights at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi didn't work. Our room were a little noisy, cause it was right above the lobby. Water of swimming pool were quite cold.

    I traveled with my best friend and we loved this hotel. We picked a room with the balcony to the park. The room was very clean and modern and there were a lot of room to our belongings. I also loved the bathroom. Breakfast was great. The view from the pool was amazing. Pool area was also a good place to watch sunset. The food of the pool bar were quite good too and we were surprised about the price, it wasn't that expensive what we thought. There was a bus stop near the hotel to the old town. One-way ticket to the old town costs 15 kunas. Staff were very helpful and they gave us our towel card on the last day so we could use the pool after checked out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall very nice stay. The buffet dinner and breakfast were good value and staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found a shortcut to get to the Coral Beach from the pool however there was no clear sign. We only happened to find it on the way back ourselves. Would be more useful if you can make some signs for residents.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar prices are quite expensive.

    The views from the pool area and the restaurant. Good food, friendly and helpful staff and comfy rooms. Very clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, staff, food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Louder/more music at the pool. Entertainment on later in the night.

    Excellent hotel, staff, food and facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel with allot to do, Good entertainment, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Hotel with allot to do, Good entertainment, very comfortable facilities!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the morning as our room was by the restaurant

    Pool area and views were incredible

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the housekeeping staff, Ana, did a great job. Would loved more music etc around the pool area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel fantastic views and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel fantastic views and great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Big nice rooms, good small gym, beautiful view over the sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big nice rooms, good small gym, beautiful view over the sea and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Everything was top class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was top class. I will come here again. Super views from the pool, extremely clean and beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast and pool area was amazing. Lots of isolated places to relax

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, very clean, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from old town but can get bus in 30 minutes

    Lovely hotel, very clean, good facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing stay in a very clean, well organised hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Balcony, Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a bath in the bathroom.

    Beautiful location. Calm, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Check out time is a little bit too early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time is a little bit too early.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice facilities, amazing sea view and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice facilities, amazing sea view and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Was upgraded to a room with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room - Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and sauna closed too early

    Was upgraded to a room with a balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent facilities, helpful staff, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Airport Transfer Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities, helpful staff, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: