Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ariston 5 stars

Kardinala Stepinca 31, Babin Kuk, 20000 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#19 of 54 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 766 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would have liked more choice in the menus in the hotel restaurants; need more salads with local produce

    The staff are very helpful. Valentina in particular was extremely helpful when we needed to secure ferry tickets to Hvar. The reception and housekeeping staff were also very helpful. The staff in the entire hotel are friendly, approachable and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying at Hotel Ariston. AmaZing location and facilities. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The bus to the old town is very close to the hotel so the location wasn’t an issue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor coffee. I'd expect a Barrista at a 5 star hotel, and if not, at least good quality filter coffee.

    Everything else!! One of the nicer hotels in Croatia. The position was exceptional! I even refused to go out one day... I just lay by the sea and let the day go by!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    We travelled end of May two people. We were upgraded to Royal Blue hotel which was perfect! It was recently built, and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast was excellent, all services too, pools are very clean, water changed daily. The beach is on the rock, the swim in the sea suits only good swimmers as it is deep everywhere. Very big room with large and very comfortable bed, large balcony. The food in the hotel and nearby restaurants was very nice and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the promenade and the sunset from Zoe restaurant. 10 min cheap bus trip to Dubrovnik, 15 min boat trip from Dubrovnik to Locrum - very beautiful island with nice walks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First of all you are not booking the Ariston Hotel. What you are booking is a room at the Importanne resort which comprises 5 different hotels including the Ariston hotel. We booked to stay at the Ariston, arrived at the Ariston and were told that we had to check in at the neighbouring building called the Royal Princess. We therefore stayed at the Royal Princess which was lovely and part of the same resort but obviously not the hotel we thought we had booked. The staff are all friendly and polite however, the hotel is by no means managed at the level expected of a 5 star hotel. Our aircon broke and flooded our room on 2 occasions and it wasn't until after the second episode that we were offered a discount or a room change. Even then the room change was offered on the evening of our last day on holiday and the discount was a mere £60 off our hotel bill. We went as a group for lunch at the pool restaurant, which was empty, and the food was brought out at different completely different times for everyone. The last people to get served had to wait 2 hours for their food. Unfortunately the food wasn't even very good and definitely not worth the wait. The waitress was very apologetic and explained that staffing levels were an issue with 1 chef covering both the restaurant as well as room service. With that said, we were not even offered a discount and had to demand for items which were not served or not eaten to be removed off the bill. Lastly, ordering food to our sunbeds on the beach proved to be quite the mission. We spoke to 5 different members of staff who did not know if we could even order to our sunbeds (despite having done so the previous day) and it took us 15 minutes to finally find someone willing to accommodate our request. In summary, the Importanne Resort is a beautifully located resort with great facilities and lovely rocky beaches. It is however completely let down by its management and the level of service it provides.

    Large comfortable rooms, great outdoor facilities, beautiful rocky beaches and pools. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking but it was clearly stated in facilities. My fault.

    We were upgraded to a suite at the adjoining Hotel Royal princess. Great view from the balcony to the Adriatic Sea. Very luxurious room. Great breakfast with multiple choices. Location also very convenient. No 6 bus took to the old town within 20mins,. Glad we avoided the small rooms usually in the the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the romantic sea view room on the 3rd floor, amazing views and a stunning room. I would highly recommend this hotel and area to stay in if visiting Dubrovnik

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like

    We were upgraded to the Royal Princess Hotel which was part of the Importanne Resorts that Hotel Ariston is also a part of ,and the experience was the best that we have ever had till now. Thank you so much!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was nice but looks like the lack experience, for a 5 stars hotel with this price they should be able to afford to mix junior and senior staff

    Great and big room, excellent terrace restaurant for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff's hospitality. We had some problems i.e. aircon, boiler, smoke in the room, but the staff were not responsive or willing to help

    Propety and beach is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Food 110% *Services 100% *Room,View,Staff 100% *not forgetting the little street cats at the restaurant door.. I loved and l will miss them.

    I have no bad comment about the hotel. The service is 100% on point, presentation at its best. They master the services of making some one feel at home. I enjoyed it and loved every day. I actually missed the place when it was time to go. Oh please if you ever visit this hotel eat their food at the restaurant the chefs are fantastic. Thanks to all the entire staffs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent the night of New Year's Eve 2017 to 1-Jan 2018 in the Hotel Ariston. No single restaurant offering was available at the time of our arrival approx at 18:00 CET. We arrived after an eight hours travel and would have loved to eat at least a snack before going to town for celebration. But everything was closed. At the reception one staff member was on duty, and not really welcoming and friendly. The minibar did not contain champaign which is specifically noteworthy on a New Year's Eve. Upon arrival we had difficulty parking our car. My partner went to the reception to inquire whether there was a garage available for hotel guests, and the answer was no, we should park wherever we found a space.... The personnel at breakfast was not helpful, there were no coffee spoons available and no one who would bring us one... All in all, this hotel was a disappointing experience.

    The hotel room was clean, the beds comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - There aren't a lot of shops around (or we couldn't easily find them)

    + We are given an upgrade to a suite in Hotel Royal Princess - so this review is for Royal Princess + As mentioned by others before, there are 5 properties next door and they usually move you around to a better option - which is great for the price value ! + The location near the beach is nice - there is a bus stop nearby which leaves every 15 mins to Old town + The rooms are large and very comfortable + We enjoyed the SPA of Royal Princess, special mention to Miriam who was really nice and cheerful to make our experience enjoyable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Sea View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked a "romantic sea view room" but, despite being a lovely room, we had a twin bed so ended up more or less sleeping separately every night - bit of a downer. The room didn't have bathrobes or a 'do not disturb sign' when we got there and we had to request it a few times before they were replaced (being very fussy here because there's not much to complain about). The only thing that really irritated us is that they refused to serve tap water at dinner (after a long hot day) - we felt that since they served tap water with breakfast/lunch that they were just trying to force us to spend unnecessary money which was bad service and very vexing.

    The service was outstanding, the staff are nearly all multi-lingual and incredibly helpful. Our room was upgraded when we got there so it had an absolutely breathtaking view and our own private jacuzzi. Very comfortable room and excellent facilities. Champagne at breakfast which is great. Bus stop to take you to Old Town right outside the resort. Varied choice in restaurants - not too extortionate for a resort either. Great hotel 10/10 recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit slow to ask us whether we wanted tea or coffee at breakfast and didn’t get anything on the last morning.

    The views from our room and the food. Great pools and easy access to Dubrovnik.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately in the evening, we could hear loud music which went on til 3am . This did occur a few evenings and we were only there for 4 nights. Did spoil our stay. When taking a bath or shower, the water was just warm - would have preferred a hotter temperature.

    Staff were very polite & helpful. We liked the location as it was nice and usually peaceful. The local bus stop was only a 3 minute walk to and buses ran regularly. The buffet breakfast in the hotel had a lot of choice and was scrumptious. We went to Zoe’s restaurant and the food there is outstanding especially if you like seafood .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free options could be better at breakfast, but I noticed that it doesn't seem to be a big thing in Croatia in general.

    The spa treatments are amazing and the reception staff are so friendly/helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    We were upgraded free of charge to the new Royal Blue 5 star hotel on the complex!! It was incredible! Bed was extremely comfortable snd the view was out of this world! We are definitely going back!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food in the hotel restaurants is rather expensive, and not very exciting or original. The quality could also be better. I had overcooked salmon at Zoe's and slightly overcooked steak at La Castile. Not bad enough to complain, just not something I would recommend. If I ever come back, I will walk to restaurants outside the hotel or eat in Dubrovnik. Service at restaurant Zoe's was quite bad when we were there, they seemed to be understaffed. Staff were literally running, while we had to wait for a very long time. Nobody offered coffee or tea, so we just paid and left after dessert. Location of the hotel restaurants is very convenient though, and all offer great views of the sea.

    Great location of the hotel. Dubrovnik is very easy to reach with a bus that goes every 15 minutes. The hotel has multiple bars and restaurants. Hotel staff are very friendly. There is also a small town in walking distance with more restaurants and bars to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Sea View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Air conditioner did work but did not significantly cool the room during a hot day. The channel selection on the Television is extensive however 90% of the content is in Croatian so as a tourist on a day spent indoors as it was raining the entertainment value was very limited.

    The service and staff were very friendly. Everyone working in or around the Hotel also spoke good English so i didn't have to worry about a language barrier. The hotel was within walking distance of a number of Restaurants, cafe's, bars and a very nice Sand beach(Sand beaches in Croatia are rare so this is a definite plus.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't encounter anything negative.

    The location was beautiful, right on the ocean, a short walk to the bus stop into Old Town. You could also do a nice 20 minute walk on the path by the ocean to restaurants, although you may want to take a bus ( you can buy tickets at reception) or taxi back in the evening as it's not well lit. Helpful, friendly staff. I loved the loungers overlooking the sea. Many pools to choose from. Quiet and relaxing. The breakfast had a good assortment of bacon and eggs, pastries, muffins, cereal and fruit. The hotel is spotless and modern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not professional. They overcharged me without expressing any sorrow as if it could happen any time. When being asked about the public bus ticket, they just told me that it was HRK 15 on bus without saying they offer bus tickets at counter at HRK 12.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktail bar needs sprucing up A bit dated and the bar downstairs had no atmosphere at all

    Very good selection Good made to order . Delicious omelettes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the morning on checkout .... we booked an airport transfer through reception for 5am - we arrived at reception - there was a car waiting outside but reception told us to wait as the driver would come in when he arrived. After 5 mins I walked outside to find it was our car & he had been waiting for 10mins!! Breakfast to go was awful.

    I felt we received what we paid for ..... nothing extra really although breakfast was good but then the hotel is quite expensive so was expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ariston hotel is part of the Importanne Resort. Thus the neighbourhood is not really authentic. Restaurants were not really good (although staff were very nice)

    Staff was very nice and helpful. Location near the sea was great (breathtaking view from the breakfast terrace!) Room was spacious and beds were extremely confortable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had booked suites to accommodate 3 guests, 1 had a very small camp bed and another a sofa pulled out, not really what would be expected in luxury rooms. However, when we asked for a proper bed to be put in the room this was done immediately and was much better, the rooms were large enough to take the proper bed for a third guest and makes more sense to be used as it leaves the sofa to sit on.

    The welcome from the staff was great, our rooms were lovely and the location of the hotel is fabulous. We had lunch on 3 out of the 4 days in the hotel trying 3 of the different restaurants and eating areas, all great. We usually had cocktails in the afternoon from the cocktail bar and drank them on our loungers by the pool/water front, just perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all fine

    The staff at this hotel (which is actually four hotels together) was simply the nicest and most professional that we have ever had in Europe. Nice facilities,wonderful room, and great people = a fabulous stay and a good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable.

    Best hotel breakfast I've had, and with the best views. The rooms and all sunbathing & restaurants & bar areas all had amazing views. Best place in Dubrovnik to watch the sunset. Loved that they had made the sunbathing area out of the rocks & direct access to the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing much to dislike. Prices are a bit high. I guess being a 5* hotel, this is to be expected. Lapad expensive riding on the back of good hotels. Stick to the hotels for eating. Much better quality.

    The hotel is part of a complex of 4 hotels. Guests can use the facilities of all 4. There are several pools that can be used all are excellent. The rooftop pool in particular, due to it's 18+ policy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gorgeous setting and it wasn't a problem for us getting an uber to town. Really comfy beds and great breakfast. Liked that there was a 30 minute lounger timer for the people who put their towels on for the duration then leave. We actually watched the staff remove them so this works.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The advice for a restaurant for dinner done by the receptionist was not very good.

    Pools, the access to the sea were very good. Breakfast with a great view and a room with a big terrace and a nice sea view Room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel. The views are fabulous and it's in a great location with regards to visiting the Old Town. Staff were friendly and helpful. My 6 year old loved the pools. We had a fantastic holiday and were sad to leave.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fitness centre mixed up our spa bookings, which meant we didn't have time for one - slightly disappointing.

    Gluten Free options available for Breakfast - not a huge range but at least catered for!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Broader selection at breakfast

    Very well appointed and spacious bedroom. The hotel is new. Freindly staff and a beautiful location overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a suite at the ariston but were transferred to royal princess as apparently there are no suites at the ariston!

    Great to be able to use all the pools in the resort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed frame was a queen size when the mattress was a king size, which means that the mattress wasn't flat... Missing the kitchenettte

    We booked a suite and we received one in the new buidling, however, the suite should have a kitchenette but no kitchenette. Nice hotel and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is fine but could include a little bit more options such as fresh juices

    Location amazing, the facilities from the other Hotels nearby Royal Princess, Royal Palm could be used are impressive and staff extremely helpful and friendly overall

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mini tornado we experienced whilst sitting having lunch but I must say the bar staff handled it exceptionally well.

    All the staff were smashing, so friendly and nothing too much trouble. Gym was fab as was the indoor pool but we could use all the services (bars, pools, restaurants) across all the hotels on the complex and would highly recommend the roof top bar especially at sunset, views were just stunning. Comfy bed in a spacious room with beautiful views. Air con was needed and worked well. Bathroom was also spacious with lots of complimentary shower gel, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner. There was a hairdryer but not very powerful. Spare toothbrush, toothpaste and shoe polishers were found in the bottom of the wardrobe. Robes and bedroom slippers were also provided but due to time of year was not needed. Fridge in room was full with a selection of beer, wine, coke, water, chocolate bars and crisps all chargeable. Safe was considerably larger than ones I have seen before. All round an excellent hotel. Recommend - HIGHLY Would we re-visit - YES

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to report!

    The decor is tastefully executed throughout the hotel complex. The food at breakfast is plentiful and very well presented. The views are breathtaking and there is a very pleasant walk-way around the Bay starting from within the hotel grounds. This allows guests to reach the nearby shopping area and many delightful restaurants en route. Plenty of swimming pools to choose from and I noticed that the pools are drained each night and refilled for the next day. The staff at this hotel are extremely well trained in hospitality and their professional manner exceeds all expectations. The hotel was fully booked when I stayed in July and all guests looked content and happy to soak up the sun on sunbeds around the pool and those strategically placed throughout the rock areas. A short taxi-ride to the Old Town (very cheap) or catch the No. 6 bus. All-in-all a very beautiful stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On site prices for drinks and sundries are quite steep but probably no different from any other hotel in the area. They have a desk to arrange tours and general advice but was quite basic and I had to go to another hotel to get a Dubrovnik card (that allows you into museums and use of buses etc). Coffee at breakfast could have been better.

    Lovely hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent facilities. Air con in the room was super efficient and very quiet. You wouldn't know it was on except for the temperature. Nice private beaches for swimming, a mixture of rocky and pebbly and some saltwater and freshwater pools if you don't fancy the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the policy of refusing to give tap water forcing guests in restaurants to buy expensive bottled water. It just makes the hotel look mean and money -grabbing.

    Nice room (although twin beds for a 1-year anniversary couple was a disappointment), good gym, great pools and decent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the hotel. It's like a chain hotel in the states and that's not what we were looking for. You must take the bus to town.

    The hotel was nice. It's a very large group of hotels, which caught us by surprise. We were expecting something more like a boutique. The pools and beaches were great, and the room was huge and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have liked a better room. We didn't use the balcony it was round the back and the table was old. it was also on the ground floor when we asked to be on a higher floor. We spent a lot on taxis to get us to the old town. We thought there was a hotel shuttle. Hotel restaurant prices seemed high.

    We liked the friendly staff and we liked being next to the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for the room with the balcony but had no view - it was basically in the basement. The hotel had no beach towels - one had to wait for hours. The beach is small, not enough lounge chairs, broken umbrellas and a very small area for swimming. Hygiene of the breakfast area was not good (chair pillows and tables).

    The room and the bed. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Offer drink service by the pool - you'd make a killing!

    I booked for 3 families, and we were firstly moved to Royal Princess to check-in, and our rooms were in different buildings, some in different hotels! I'm not sure we got the rooms we thought we were going to get, but we were all happy with the size of the rooms and the outlook. The rooms and beds were super comfy! The location of the resort was beautiful! You had to get pool chairs early, but the pool location and access to the ocean was fantastic! We had several meals there which we good, and the kids loved the variety at the buffet breakfast. The coffee was terrible! Only a short walk to some fabulous bars (Cave Bar) and restaurants in Lapad. Walk to the shuttle bus to get to Old Town was easy though it was very crowded and hot on bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half board food could have been better Service wasn't as attentive as you'd expect in 5 star hotel

    Room Swimming pools Location Excursions Rock beaches

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had lunch in Zoe's the poolside restaurant when we arrived, food O.K but did not inspire us to want to eat there in the evening, felt a bit like a Cafeteria.

    A large hotel complex. Room was very spacious and bed comfortable, bathroom excellent. The staff were very courteous and friendly. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and eggs freshly cooked to order which my husband enjoyed. Did not have dinner in the hotel, we tried the local restaurants which again were very good. A good place to stay with buses very close by every ten minutes into Dubrovnik. Hotel beach as good as it can be in Croatia with sea swimming very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was very accommodating regards our flight only departing late on the day that we had to check out. They offered to store our luggage and to make use of the fitness rooms showers to freshen up before our flight. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bed settee was uncomfortable. The restaurants on the resort were a little limited, lacking anything light and not too pricey for lunch.

    The staff were incredibly helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The resort was spacious and beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent a fortune on bottled water. At price we paid could have had water complimentary in room's.

    Comfortable rooms. Good facilities. Easy access to public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An iron and ironing board in the room would have been good, and mirrors instead of TVs above the dressers in the bedrooms.

    We had a nice room with a wonderful sea view. Great facilities including a choice of pools and a nice relaxing spa. The breakfast was fantastic, so much to choose from and loved starting each day with a Bucks Fizz! Very friendly staff too, would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bars and restaurants closed to early between 12-1am on the complex.

    The room was a good size for a family suite, clean and tidy. The view from our balcony was of the ocean, the sun sets were amazing. The breakfast was nice and had a good choice of foods. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had a massage while we were there they were great and relaxing. The old town had the best ice cream we have ever tasted. The town is busy both night and day. Lots of place for food and drink. We went on the cable cars and over looked the city which was lovely to see the city at a birds eye view. We also visited the island of lokrum it was good to visit but not much on the island unless you are going to going swimming. The little pastry shops are also good to visit, delicious. Kayaking and snorkelling was a good activity to do - loads of fish to see. just put on your sunscreen. Croatia is a beautiful place to visit but it is a little pricey too. We definitely would visit again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very crowded around pool areas The "beach" is a large slab of concrete Many of the umbrellas were broken and sun loungers had seen better days Not worth paying extra for balcony - ours overlooked 13 dead palm trees and a car park!

    The room was spacious comfortable and with plenty of storage Views from the common areas were spectacular Easy access by bus to the old town Pleasant coastal walk with good bars and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue ever with any hotel is the food and drink prices. But this is an industry standard. However, the food was great and it was nice to just relax by the pool!

    There are several hotels on the property. We booked hotel ariston but our huge suite was in the royal princess. The suite was roomy and great for the 6 of us. There was also a hot tub on our deck. The beds were comfy. I had originally asked for twin beds in the second room but didn't make a fuss when it was a king. The kids made it work since they too enjoyed the spaciousness of the suite. We preferred the breakfast at the hotel ariston over the one at the princess as it was bigger. The food was pretty good. The made to order omelette was tasty. The pool and the chairs on the rocks were very cool. The staff were kind people. I'd stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee espresso machine in room and more gluten free options on all menus

    Use of all restaurants and pools across all four sister hotels offered lots of choice and did not make it feel too crowded good facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't what we booked. Paid for luxury sea view but that was across the corridor. 2 nights not worth making a fuss. But overpriced, end of the line for the bus, and part of a huge hotel complex so charmless

    Good service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Such huge complex tends to be a bit impersonal even if it was quite luxury. The menus in the restaurants also was a bit plain.

    Perfect located close to the water, with a nice pool and stairs down to the water. No problem getting a sun chair and helpful staff. Buses into Dubrovnik old town every half an hour. Breakfast was good value for money. Real good beds and a nice view from the room. Perfect with a fridge and a spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Industrial accommodation rather than a 5 star hotel. Several hotels are bonded together, sharing reception and facilities. Breakfast was way below standard. No garden in the garden view room, just a parking lot and the access road. Not enough staff to manage such a massive complex. Only the price was 5 star ...

    Great location and easy access to town by bus. Clean room and good staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little scruffy for a five star ( not really a five star). View from our standard room was of dead palm trees and unkempt gardens. Had trouble with conceige which caused confusion over day trip bookings and caused us to miss one altogether. Also we found that advice on trips we did take was not good. Breakfast was very average, again not five star e.g. Powdered eggs? Tasteless.

    Good location on coast with nice promenade walk along the bay with good sea views. Near to bus stop for trips into old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice sea view and excellent facilities. Staff are kind and helpful and restaurant terrace offers amazing scenery, particularly at the sunset. The site is bit far from the old city but bus 6 makes city walk accessible and it's nice to runaway from the crowds anyway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    put in the wrong hotel, was not up to standard for the money we paid would not go again, very disappointed , dirty carpet, no sheets on bed settee, dirty quilt.

    staff and breakfast good,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Booked a luxury sea view room, but got a view looking onto the side of the hotel next door Room 3301, also you had to stand up to look at the sea view, a wall blocks the view. Was told we would be moved the following day but it didn't happen, air conditioning was not good in the room compared to the reception area, made the stay very uncomfortable. Asked to get it looked at but maintenance man did nothing to fix the problem. Tea making facilities in room but no milk for the tea. Only one pillow on each bed for guests to use no extra pillows offered in the room. Quality of pillow was very poor. Extra pillows are for decoration and would be used by all guests who have used the room not very hygienic. These pillows had many stains on them. Beds are single beds pushed together, with single sheets. No turn down service offered. Bulbs not working on two of the lights. Had to ask for the sheets to be changed after 3 nights. Transfer to the airport was 15 minutes late and pricey. Its the little things that matter not a 5 star hotel, but has a 5 star location.

    Breakfast was very good, beautiful views of sea, bus service into old town was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel with different swimming pools. Wonderfull seaview from the room, restaurant, swimming pool,... Delicious breakfast buffet. Very spacious (suite with seaview) room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of guests were complaining about their safe being opened by the staff. Not sure what it was but hopefully nothing too serious.

    The room was very spacious with high ceiling, so was the bathroom, all very bright and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is by the sea which is distant from the old town therefore very quiet, recommended for couple with kids or elderly guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome. We arrived midday and our room was not quite ready as check-in is not till 3pm. Not a problem as we enjoyed a complimentary glass of champagne on the terrace and room was ready in half an hour. We had booked a suite for three of us to share and it was very spacious with large balcony. On request extra furniture was provided out there as it was set up for two. Great choice of places to eat and drink. Stunning views. Sunsets from Zoes or On the Rocks were beautiful. Breakfast was great. No sandy beaches but choice of pools or little rocky cove. Again stunning views. Plenty of sunloungers at this time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit surprised to be told when we arrived at Hotel Ariston where we'd booked that we were being moved to The Royal Palm! It was still a lovely hotel and just up the road but unexpected! We travelled with a baby and it was difficult getting around with the buggy as so many stairs & few ramps-especially if alone with the baby-luckily lots of nice guests offered to help carry the buggy up & down the stairs! I think we rely so much on disabled access that when it's missing it makes getting about very difficult. Other than that everything was perfect!

    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and excellent facilities. The restaurants were very good-Zoe's especially where the staff were exceptional! Breakfast was lovely. Lots of swimming pools to choose from-all were lovely! Definitely hope to return!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There are certain elements of the hotel that are a little tired. Around the bottom pool there are rusted brackets holding the decking in place that have "sprung" - quite dangerous . One of our party (18 of us ) was poorly when we were there and wanted a little salad and meat for a meal , when I approached the buffet staff to ask for a realistic price I was initially told that it was 195kn regardless of how much is taken. In the end I took a selection of foods which she and her husband ate in their room so we reached an acceptable compromise. In addition one of the waiters helped me up to the room with it. The price of the drinks is extortionate and as large groups of us often ordered together and some wanted to charge to their room , others to pay cash proved to be impossible - they must have a rigid system that can't be changed.

    the breakfast buffet was wonderful - so much to choose from plus prosecco available to sparkle up the orange juice!! The luxury sea-view rooms were not as large as the website photos suggest but comfotable and well appointed. there was a lot of outside space - lots of different seating and pool areas - the lower pools and surrounding decking/bathing platforms were lovely and the pool boys were great at supplying the umbrellas and loungers in just the right places for me. All the staff were great and the reception staff especially so. Another bonus was the regularity of the bus service into the old town - every 15 minutes. You can buy the tickets for 12 Khuna at reception (15 Kn on the bus) but unfortunately I didn't find out until 8 days into our ten day stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Misled by the 5*s, this is not a resort. Just a group of hotels in a line, very bad pools, tired hotel , there are much better offers for the price

    The room was modern and had been refurbished but that was all we liked

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was a bit dated and tired with dull colours. It would have been better if they made it a little more "bling" to give it the extra wow factor. Also, it would have been nice to have a small bar area next to the pools to enable guests to easily order drinks or snacks.

    We actually stayed at the Royal Palm rather than the Ariston. As the hotels are all part of the Importanne hotel group and all connected, I think they market the family rooms as being part of a particular hotel but they are actually located in the Royal Palm. The family rooom with sea view was BIG! Lots of space for us to spread out and relax and a massive double balcony overlooking the sea. The beds were comfortable as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony or view at all from our room. Very disappointing as not a cheap hotel. Personal niggles towels too small and hairdryer in bathroom poor.

    Comfy bed, location, pool area, keeps on reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have to inform you that i am travelling a lot and was very surprised about the hotel! Nothing to complain, great experience; thanks! Will come back soon!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were ongoing construction just below our room ( a new pool area) which was quite disturbing.

    The service and all staff at the hotel were fantastics. Everyone were very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean as well as all the facilities. Very nice spa and pool area both indoor and outdoor. Beautiful landscape round the hotel area. Easy to travel to old town via buss, just 10 min by buss. We had booked Hotel Ariston but were moved directly to Royal Palm due to the room type we chose. This recession is to Royal Palm not to Ariston.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a Luxury Suite which was very disappointing for a 4/5 star rating. It was needing updated and refurbished and certainly wasnt in the least luxurious.Asked to see another room but hotel was full so had to stay where we were. Did talk to Manager who apologised and agreed with our complaints and we suggested that website needed to be changed as description of accommodation was very misleading especially as we were not allocated a suite in the Ariston hotel.

    We were allocated a room in the Royal Palm part of the Royal Princess a smaller hotel next to the Ariston Hotel. It had all it's own facilities and was quieter.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really don't know how you could complain!

    Excellent facilities. We booed Hotel Ariston but stayed in Royal Blue hotel which is part of same complex. As it is part of complex there is great variety in pools, lounge areas and even breakfast rooms. Excellent location. Hotel has bus stop located very nearby. Buses every 10 mins to old town. Great value for facilities on offer. Daily room servicing of rooms, top up of toiletries etc at really high standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotle will be great in 2/3years but right now The hotel and surrounding areas including the main local beach is a building site, heavy plant including cranes, diggers and dumper trucks all active from 0730 until 1930 sometimes later but everyday including the weekend, it's a health and safety nightmare. The hotels main Swimming pool was closed, even though I called ahead and was told all the pools would be open and no restrictions or works would be active during our stay. Building materials are dumped all around the hotel with no concern for guests. The most shocking event is the dumper trucks that drive at speed on the single lane path in front of the breakfast restaurant and nearly ran over my daughter! the same trucks were driving at speed again the next day following complaints. Everybody I spoke too had complained to the hotel about the works and The Hotel relationship manager just avoided speaking to poeple and took 2 days to see us about our complaint and then I had to chase her to find out what is going to be done, Like change our room location. She advised it was in the mamagers hands but they wouldn't meet with me. The relationship manager then was unobtainable until the day we left and offered us a free cab to the airport. I thought this was an insulting compensation for all the dangerous factors we'd been exposed to, poor customer service and stress caused. They also tried to charge us local tax on the children. As we were walking out the door a different manager met with us and offered 10% refund. They also asked if we wouldn't post a review on bookings.com

    There's a beautiful view of the ocean from the sea view rooms side. There's a nice spa in the neighbour hotel. It's great that you can use the neighbouring hotel facilities. The superior room is modern, comfortable and spacious. It will be a lovely hotel in 2/3 years time when all of the building work has finished at the hotel and the local beach is rebuilt. Just as we were leaving there was a member of staff that was really nice, very apologetic, handled the situation prossionally and tried to rectify our issues even if it was all a little too late. I wish we had met her a lot sooner.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: