Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Biokovo 4 stars

Obala Kralja Tomislava 14, 21300 Makarska, Croatia

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive for sole traveller but understand it’s high season. No reduced rate offered for sole occupancy.

    Great hotel, location was perfect and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place. Would prefer higher room so you can see over the trees to the sea. Requires some additional small amenities to boost facilities rating - ie iron board and iron... small things make a difference! Beautiful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with a sea view.. but I could not see the sea..

    This place was lovely and comfortable. Good location. Easy to find and great that they offer parking (at a charge).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Very mixed -not worth money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View and Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a nightmare-no parking at hotel and upon arrival at the start of a ten night stay £1413 no help from staff -hotel should say no parking available-I got parking at sister hotel at 1200 kuna -also had room with patio (sounds lovely until you realise it’s above kitchen )-fish smell through your room-yes!-wanted to change me an extra €150-I said no Shower flooded through blocked system but this was fixed quickly upon report-very good Night porter reception man brilliant 👍 Never got parking ticket in Croatia but have now😁 For a ten day stay and nearly £1500 there are better hotels!

    Can’t fault staff -housekeeping -breakfast staff-brilliant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    A very good location, comfortable beds and healthy breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A good choice of healthy food for breakfast, will satisfy a vegan or a non-gluten person. A nice and clean room with a big and comfortable double bed. We were afraid that it could be noisy because of the window going out to the street and promenade, but if you closed it, it was sound-proof. So, the central location is a big plus. Our one-year-old daughter felt very well there, especially due to the friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Location ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were really small , not really a Seaview as stated , balcony was not really a balcony can not sit out there and enjoy view . Breakfast was more American then Croatian bit disappointing.

    Location ,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    3.8
    Hotel Biokovo is a disaster. Stay anywhere else in beautiful and honorable city of Makarska.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Behavior of owners of the hotel was rude and provocative. They did not want to communicate with customers but through reception staff. Therefore there was no possibility to complaint or negotiate price and conditions of the stay. Nevertheless, all staff members were very kind and professional, and it was the only reason we stayed there.

    While advertising, Hotel Biokovo offers free parking place and - what was very important for us - availability of wellness space in the neighboring hotel. When we arrived, we were told that the hotel with wellness is closed during winter and they wanted to charge us 50 kunas per day for parking place. The only other advice we took was to park the car at public parking near the police station. So, our stay at Hotel Biokovo was pure robbery, and we presume it has something to do with unclear ownership / privatization issues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Nicely equiped rooms, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed vegetables (tomato, olives, cucamber, etc...) at breakfast. Payable parking at the street. The hotel could rent a few spaces in front of the hotel for hotel guests.

    Nicely equiped rooms, excellent location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sea view was only possible by standing on the chair. The window is so small - it wasn't worth paying the extra for this view.

    the location was great - and having parking at the sister hotel was also great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was good, but the fried eggs were almost raw. Should have been fried a bit longer.

    Nice hotel with very nice location: short walking distance to "everything" (beach, harbour, old town, bus station). Nice to be able to use the facilities at Miramare. We had a big room with two (!) bathrooms. Very quiet (we had mountain view, no noise from the street)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our superior sea view balcony room was given away before our arrival which meant we had to stay in a poorer alternate room. Very dissapointed as this was the main reason for booking this hotel.

    Location. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Biokovo is perfectly located while also providing very clean and comfortable accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled Croatia and Montenegro for 38 days with our two daughters. Your hotel was the most comfortable of our trip. I spoke many times with the woman and man at the front desk. They were both extremely helpful and friendly. My wife and I were very impressed. Please tell them thank you for us. Brela and Aria's parents Kelly and Leslie Texas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double room which actually had 2 twin beds out together which were moving if one of us was stepping on to the other's bed.

    Amazing location, reception had drinks and first necessities (tissues, condoms, deodorants etc) to buy. Bathroom was new and clean. Room was super spacious and comfortable. Restaurant had very nice food too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    A young boy called Ante did a very good job at breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too many people at the beachs really - really crowed and too loud music. The city is primaly for people between 16-35. Party town

    A young boy called Ante did a very good job at breakfast, and also the two girls in the reception gave a very good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Best Location in Makaraska
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great choice for breakfast and having to eat in the dining room if you were on a B and B basis as the outside terrace was reserved for paying passers by ordering a la carte breakfasts and drinks.

    Great location, clean large comfortable rooms, friendly and polite staff and gorgeous views of the mountains behind and Marina in front.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Makarska
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of the bed and the cleanliness of the room. The air conditioning was incredible, along with the wifi. The staff were friendly and approachable. The breakfast is delicious. Would definitely recommend this property to all travellers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Mellowing in Makarska
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Essentially two points let this potentially lovely place down. I feel the cooking quality/value in the restaurant at dinner has gone down compared with before, some dishes being a bit unexceptional, and a distinct lack of veg variety, for example the serving of rice with potato croquettes, and no green veg to assist. Other problem was that housekeeping seemed to ignore the room after the first night. No big deal but it meant that bins etc. didn't get attended to and discrete toiletries were not replenished. To be fair, reception asked if all was OK at check-out however time pressures meant that there wasn't really an opportunity to go into all this.

    The presentation and style of The Biokovo is as good as it was last time around. Breakfast was good (maybe even better than last time) with a variety of cooked and cold foods available. Also was impressed that the hotel allocated the same room as before - one whose view of the harbour is not hindered by trees. Marenda lunch is still very good value (odd, given the experience that the cooking in the evening seemed less illustrious than before.)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Fantastically comfortable bed, lovely room with a sea view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great at all.

    Fantastically comfortable bed, lovely room with a sea view and great bathroom. The hotel is very well situated in the centre of Makarska. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Amaze!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Mountain View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corner suites uncomfortable

    10/10

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great location Oppersite the harbour, big rooms with modern facilities and fantastic breakfast.

    No parking and minimal decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Mountain View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, central location. Breakfast was very generous!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, 24h reception, clean and new
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, 24h reception, clean and new

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Location , Very friendly stuff with good English ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hard to find parking

    Excellent Location , Very friendly stuff with good English , Clean rooms , Good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Excellent choice on Makarska Riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location ,great view , nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money , good breakfast , great staff organised zip lining for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great position overlooking the coast , parking arranged off site about 500 mt away . Great restaurants at your doorstep , quite and safe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    good hotel in busy resort town . great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    online pictures suggest rooms have balcony...not so

    great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    Fair. Just a place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    excellent bathroom facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    central heating system had to be in operation for this part of the year, temperature in the room was uncomfortable choice of breads for breakfast need to be better

    excellent bathroom facility very good bed madrases

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    It was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be great if it had a rooftop pool and a sundeck.

    It was excellent... the room is newly decorated ...spacy and very comfortable. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel. Great location.Pleasant staff. Comfortable bed. I loved everything. This is my second stay at this hotel and I will definitely come again

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    Comfortable and spotlessly clean room and bathroom, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable and spotlessly clean room and bathroom, nice furniture, friendly staff, tasteful food for a reasonable price. Perfect location, great value for money. Definitely would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.2
    The room - chosen carefully following other comments about...
    • Group

    Nothing :-)

    The room - chosen carefully following other comments about view being blocked by trees - the staff attitude (superb), catering (high value lunches not included in the price, although a lunch package is an option.) Location great for not high season-expect not so quiet in the summer...all in all a fine hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a let down. Greasy and not kept warm.Coffee also not served warm. Also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which is a first for us!!

    Great location. Modern clean hotel with great views from the balcony

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    The room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There could have been more options for vegetarian breakfast. And parking wasn't ideal either. I had to wake up at 6am to get another parking ticket. A 24 hour option would have been good.

    The room was lovely. Especially for the price. Brilliant shower and extremely comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Very good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No matter if U press the 'do not disturb' button or put out the label on the door they come to your room for cleaning. Unavailable parking places. Poor breakfast. I'd love to see more smiling faces on stuff:-D

    Very good location! In the middle of the night life but not too loud. Very nice and clean room with excellent wi-fi. Fresh bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    It's a small hotel with a very pleasant breakfast area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water temperature in our room was insufficient after 6pm, could not wash hair two nights, had to do it earlier in the day. This was a shame as everything else was fabulous.

    It's a small hotel with a very pleasant breakfast area, room service was a bonus for when you may be too tired after excursions to go out.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.4
    Nice location in the middle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The initial room we got was very small with a roof height of approx. 165 cm. When we asked to switch to a room with a normal height (220) they first refused but then they suddenly changed their mind when we said that we would switch hotel. The initial rooms should not have been approved as a hotel room.

    Nice location in the middle of the city

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    Wifi is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The person that check us in was always speaking Croatian, after he saw I only spoke English.

    Wifi is very good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location is amazing, very near to the beaches and good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Amazing hotel with top notch service and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hotel with top notch service and amenities. This really made our stay as it was great to come back to a super comfortable room after a long day at the beach/ day trip to Split or Hvar. Would definitely recommend!

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was basic. A/C wasn't cooling fast enough; it took all night to get to only a 25 degree temp.

    Great value for money. Location is good. Renovated interiors. Rooms are nice with very comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.7
    Staff pleasant (most of them), breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like getting non-smoker room despite the fact we ordered room for smokers. Another massive dissapointment was that we bought a room with sea view and ok our window was facing that direction but there was a massive tree just in front of our window so we couldn't see almost anything at all. I didn't like that cleaning ladies went into our room even though we pressed do not disturb sign - which was there to inform staff that we don't need their service and we don't want them to enter our room. We didn't have balcony which was a big let down for me as there was a balcony on the pictures of the room I booked. There is no free parking available , everywhere is parking only per hour (7-9 kun per hour) so we had to park by Lidl and walk all the way up there every day. Overall I wouldn't recommend at all and surely won't be coming back myself.

    Staff pleasant (most of them), breakfast good. Wi-fi for free, air con working. All the standard services were fine.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was the most poor i have seen ever, Coffee has to pay seperate, no juice only mixed with water, poor selection and not tasty. Aircondition was not working, parking for car has to pay 1,5 eur per hour, even by night.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    Comfort and cleanliness of the room and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I was extremely frustrated and annoyed that your website and on Booking.com you advertised parking provided with booking and I also specifically requested parking to arrive and be told no parking. Not happy as we booked based on needing the parking. Made it stressful to find alternative option

    Comfort and cleanliness of the room and good location

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had hard time to close the room doo;, we manage to close them, every time, but only with using some "force".

    Nice room. Excellent overall cleanliness. Great food (we had HB with dinner). Kind, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, staff, value for money.
    • Group

    Missing parking

    Excellent location, staff, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast, rooms clean and newly renovated, friendly stuff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, rooms clean and newly renovated, friendly stuff and great location

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    9.6
    In the city centre, on the seaside, perfect place, parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The desk lady tried to seduce me, probably nimfomaniac

    In the city centre, on the seaside, perfect place, parking outside

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Lovely comfy beds. Spotlessly clean. Magnificent views.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location of the hotel, very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bed experience.

    Perfect location of the hotel, very comfortable and clean. Staff was great, and breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no negatives

    a fabulous location. the rooms are beautiful. the beds are so comfortable. very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Receptionist tried very hard to find the best room for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was perfect

    Receptionist tried very hard to find the best room for us Breakfast staff remembered our preferences

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    2.5
    In one word a dissaster personel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In one word a dissaster personel. Thay have deliberately destroyed my ID !!!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Has been so good after refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Has been so good after refurbishment. Beds are marvelous.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Acomodation, loation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet

    Acomodation, loation and staff

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    willing staff, ideal location, perfect wifi and air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    parking place available only for some fee

    willing staff, ideal location, perfect wifi and air conditioning

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little on the firm side.

    Amazing view! Room was spacious, decor was lovely and great location.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Room was lovely and we liked the fact that we were able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was lovely and we liked the fact that we were able to use the gym and pool of the other hotel!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    6.3
    Very bad breakfast service, no drinks, no vegetables.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very bad breakfast service, no drinks, no vegetables. The hotel after renoval has lost it's haracter.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: