Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Romantica La Parenzana 3 stars

Volpia 3, 52460 Buje, Croatia

#4 of 7 B&Bs and Inns in Buje

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 387 B&B reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    The place is very romantic indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very romantic indeed! The food in the restaurant was perfect ... the red wine, a dream... everything is local from the area... will come back some day.. thank you so much for the wonderful time..,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful restaurant located in a beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the best room, according to the receptionist. If that’s true, I feel sorry for the other guests. It was on the first floor and there was no air-conditioning, which wouldn’t have been a problem if we could have had the window open. Unfortunately, the window was located towards the restaurant and all the guests who visited were very loud. You could also hear everything your neighbours did, which I assume was tapdancing and moving around all their furniture. All this combined made sleeping almost impossible. The breakfast was ok except the horrible coffee from the machine. Better not to serve coffee at all. We expected more from the facilities.

    Wonderful restaurant located in a beautiful garden. Everything is homemade and we had both lunch and dinmer here. Very friendly waiter who both gave us tips about local food and wine, but who also was curious about us and our food culture at home. A nice family feeling surrounded the entire place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place to stay. We had a perfect dinner at the restaurant, which is surrounded by lavandel. The whole stay was one of the best during our trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Best on Parenzana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    A fantastic place for bicycle riders on the Parenzana trail. Superfreindly and helpful staff, fine dining restaurant, comfortable, big rooms on really fair prices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Best place on route Parenzana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no climate control, due to the old rustic building, I assume. Fans are provided in the rooms instead.

    Very nice rustic hotel on parenaza trail, with friendly staff, and superb restaurant. The rooms are comfortable, they have wide selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    good stay, reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had a smaller, dark room while we'd expected one of the bigger, lighter rooms which was a pity when you stay 3 nights

    Relaxed atmosphere, good quality restaurant, quiet place, centrally located to make daytrips, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel, but too hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was stiflingly, uncomfortably hot. There is no air conditioning. I was given a fan upon request but it made absolutely no difference: the heat in the room is unbearable. Consequently, I barely slept the 3 nights I was there. I've never felt so hot, sticky, sweaty and uncomfortable. DO NOT stay here in the height of summer if you want/need a comfortable nights sleep.

    The hotel is a lovely, rustic style place quite far from anything ... it's in a remote location, very quiet area. 25 mins drive from Umag. Staff were lovely, really friendly. Breakfast was provided each day, with tea and coffee available throughout the day if needed. Bathroom in the room is very clean with an amazing power shower. Room is decorated nicely and is cosy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unfortunately extremely disappointed with the stay. The shower was clean, but clogged and water did not properly drain, so one would stand in a pool while taking a shower. The worst of all were beds - under the sheets was a plastic protection, complete bed linen was from synthetic material, stuffed with cheap synthetic filling. Given the hot summer, the owners should consider replacing the complete bed linen with somewhat better class materials! While plastic protection may be considered for small children/toddlers beds, it should certainly not be used for normal, adult beds! Altogether, no AC in the top floor rooms and synthetic/plastic bed linen, made the nights uncomfortable and unbearably hot.. Top rooms also have no complete walls in between rooms, so whether you like it or not, your neighbours conversations are also yours... We were expecting a nice and relaxing weekend, but this turned out to be definitely one of the worst stays. We would not recommend it.

    Breakfast was ok. Nice and friendly personnel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Casa Romantica for #franandmaja
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondiotion would be great during warm days and nights.

    Everything else was great. Bathroom was huge and very clean. Location is great for exploring northwestern Istria.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    We only stayed for one night, on your way to Cres.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night, on your way to Cres. Lovely and quite location. Very clean and cozy room. Friendly personal and a very nice restaurant on site. The breakfast was also very good. We highly recommend it for longer or shorter stays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful building and very friendly atmosphere, giving me a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sound insulation is not perfect (acknowledged and they are planning to improve) and rooms can be warm(no aircon or fan) but this would not stop me returning to this wonderful place.

    Beautiful building and very friendly atmosphere, giving me a strong sense of welcome and everyone wanting to help - I would be delighted to return

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    We were pleasantly welcomed although we arrived quite late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No airco in the room (discussed with the owner who told us this was on the "to do" list for next season). Breakfast area not welcoming.

    We were pleasantly welcomed although we arrived quite late in the evening. Nice big & clean rooms. Mountainbike path "La Parenzana" only 200 m away from the hotel. Very good mountainbikes available in the hotel. The restaurant of the hotel serves very good food, nice terrace & hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "La Parenzana" is misleading as there are also many "Parenzana" signs and indications that refer to the long route and not to the property. Volpia was a bit far from Buje itself what was not indicated. A larger shower would have been much appreciated.

    We got a large room on the second floor. No noise at night. Nice to have a walk around the property. Hosts were very helpful providing us with directions on the phone while we were driving to the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Peaceful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could be improved would be to have air conditioning in the bedroom as it got quite hot.

    Location was very peaceful, the room was very spacious, breakfast was good, the food in the restaurant was very good , staff very friend and curtious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stop for cyclists - gourmet food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    The owner went out of his way to help us planning the next couple of days of our trip, including organising accommodation for the following night. Great suggestions for route to follow with our bikes no trailers, and recommendation for wineries to visit along the way. Dinner and breakfast were delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay - we felt very spoiled
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding accommodation, incredible food (dinner and breakfast were both a real treat), warm welcome, beautiful location. Couldn't have been happier.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Seperb restaurant, idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seperb restaurant, idyllic setting. Bikes available for guests to use.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Very nice ambient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice ambient. Great personnel. Typical Istrian house. You get a lot for what you pay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Charming and welcoming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco in the room, but there was a new fan that worked well.

    Comfortable and big room and bathroom. Nicely decorated. Very charming place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    beautiful location perfect hotel.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful location perfect hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.2
    Sweaty night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning made a hell of a night. No elevator either.

    Breakfast and overall service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Simply everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply everything!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    The restaurant was very good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really hot - couldn’t sleep! I missed the fact that there is no air con. Coffee vending machine at breakfast.

    The restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful setting in an old school house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    Beautiful setting in an old school house

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Romantic place on Parenzana trail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place with great service! Amazing food,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air-conditioning, and there was a lot of mosquitos.

    The staff was very kind. Delicious breakfast. Nice place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    In a hot, rainy night aircondition would have been needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a hot, rainy night aircondition would have been needed. Otherwise very nice country hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay at casa romantica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self service coffee machine! Not a patch on coffee made by a human being

    Fantastic restaurant in a lovely, pretty garden. Good service too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent restaurant, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent restaurant, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Charming place in Istrian countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming place in Istrian countryside. Nice terasce for early morning coffe. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxed place, friendly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a bike point but not much about bikes or bike road maps.

    Kindness, smile and relaxed staff. Cosy feeling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    Relaxed place, a bit spartan.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wardrobe, just one hanger on the entrance door. Tiny room.

    Quiet place. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Quiet location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Quiet location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    ambience, location, friendliness of staff, local gastronomy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    ambience, location, friendliness of staff, local gastronomy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place. Great hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great apartments for a group
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great apartments in beautiful setting with a fantastic garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Dinner was fantastic, we didn't look at the menu at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You would need to have your own car/mode of transport. No AC in the rooms & wifi was a little patchy in our room at the top corner of the house.

    Dinner was fantastic, we didn't look at the menu at all we just relied on our waiter's recommendations and we're delighted with all of it! Best meal we can recall in a long time. Pero checked us in when we arrived and was our waiter at dinner. He could not have been more helpful at check-in. We arrived early and it was raining but he gave us a loan of an umbrella & gave us great recommendations for the local area. Pero made our visit that something extra special! Breakfast was perfect too & it's a great location for walking or cycling the Peranzana. Great location for exploring local vineyards, breweries etc.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.8
    Excellent cuisine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent cuisine

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: