Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Central 2 stars

Trg Ante Starcevica 6, 31000 Osijek, Croatia

#10 of 11 hotels in Osijek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    what could have been most miserable experience, it turned out to be one of most pleasant. Thanks to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High step on entrance.

    Above all, staff were friendly, emphatic and went far above their duty to help in every way they could. My wife was ill for two days and wasn’t it for hotel staff, we would have hard time here. But staff went out of ordinary to take care of us and help us in every way they could. This was also case when serving breakfast. Staff were very helpful and serve us well. We have really first hand taste of Slavonijan delicacies and hospitality. Besides, hotel is on citi’s Main Square with nice view from our window.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is great, the personal was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was less than so so... The rooms are ok but not very comfortable and old fashion. No instruction about the wifi connection

    The location is great, the personal was friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant. Stayed multiple times, and will stay there in the future.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is in a classical but old building.

    Very helpful, pleasant and courteous staff. Free Perking. Nice breakfast. In the center. Did I mention, the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. If you want to stay in Osijek, there is no need to search for others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast and a good bathroom with a bath, much needed after cycling all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central by water front. If on euro velo route heading towards black see take the second bridge, stay on left of the river. Turn right leaving the bridge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Satisfactory - would stay again in same location if visiting Osijek.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was at times inconsistent - hot food only available one morning out of three. Frequently there were insects in room. Wi-Fi not very strong Absence of lift.

    Central location of hotel and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Bad bugs, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bugs were certainly a issue and due to the heat and having no A/C the window had to stay opened which allowed more in. The door were also not self locking and was almost caught out a few times.

    The location was great and decent breakfast also. Nice view of cathedral at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    More than worth the money, certainly good choice if you want to stay in Osijek.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really very kind and helpful. We had a good sleep and a nice breakfast. Unfortunately, we found a parking ticket on the car and then, the hotel staff even offered to pay. The building might be a little old but that did not in any way disturb our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC not working very well, I have woke up at 6am because in the room was already to hot due to windows exposed towards sun, dirty carpet on the floor

    Location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic People!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was beautiful but I did not realize quite how loud the church bells were.

    The staff were incredible. I had to book last minute and they were absolutely lovely to work with. They tried to ensure I had the best possible time in their region and were wonderfully friendly. If I'm in the region again, I would most definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the hotel needs a refurbishment but this is part of its charm. We asked for a quiet room and room 103 with the balcony was lovely. Weather was excellent too.

    Chef made us boiled eggs when we asked for them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Needs upgrading but cosy and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy. The people were drinking and yelling all night. It was a weekend and it was hard to sleep.

    It was cosy with a great view of the main square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Good value stay in somewhat rundown hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property has a lot of character and history, but it is quite run down. No escalators available. The private free parking is OK, but it is quite complicated to reach, therefore I would recommend to post directions how to reach it on the internet site of the hotel.

    The location in town centre is excellent. I was given a quiet room with beautiful view to the cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Adequate hotel in need of modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of refurbishment.It doesn't meet modern standards for bathroom facilities ie poor plumbing for toilet and shower.It doesn't have adequate power points in the room. Room size was OK and beds and bedding were ok

    The location was excellent near the river and looking onto a square where trams passed by. It had good parking but finding it was difficult on arrival. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    A cramped but yes central, room.
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very tired, unused hotel. That stairway was supposed to be a positive but all the walls, fittings etc need a huge overall. Not a luxurious place at all and breakfast was very limited in choice.

    We had a view to die for and our own balcony over the main square

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    It liked you could it was once a grand building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs some updating.

    It liked you could it was once a grand building. It was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, right in the center of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, well located but building and its infrastructure need investment in renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Years of glory of Hotel Central have gone - building worn out and it seems that investments in renovation are not sufficient: windows, bathroom and corridors, at least in the area where we have had access, were not in good condition. And that is a pitty as having that renovated it would be very nice.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Good location needs renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was really hard to find. My navigation couldn't find it on the map, because it is on the other side of the hotel. The hotel is old and requires massive renovation.

    The breakfast was nice. The hotel is located in the very center of the Osijek.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    the hotel was located centrally true to its name.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should have some room-service, especially because number of lone travelers is going up. Being a vegetarian, I had very little choice in breakfast. Something I found a bit odd is that the cleaning staff entered my room even when I was inside the room and the door was locked from inside. I found that scary.

    the hotel was located centrally true to its name. The rooms with a view to the central square are good. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel in the middle of Osijek
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect, I would say even better than for some of the more expensive hotels: it’s right in the main square of the city, and the river (and promenade) is only a few minutes walk away. I would definately love to come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Old style hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor is old and rather tired but don't let that put you off if you want an adequate hotel to stay for a night.

    Good location overlooking central square. Friendly and helpful reception staff who spoke good English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    3.8
    nasty hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had reserved a double bed, but the hotel put me in a room with twin beds. Noise and hum all night in the room due to the ventilation system of the hotel. Old building, oppressive atmosphere, old furniture, old bathroom tiles - generally uninviting atmosphere.

    nothing I liked, not even stayed for the second night booked.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.5
    Old place at good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff that helped me out when hotel was overbooked. Rooms are older and in the hall are cables on the floor making sure WiFi is everywhere. Clean place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cigarette smell in the room

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Front desk very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar service, an arriving cyclist needs water. Only poor tasting tap water available.

    Front desk very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    In centre of City of Osijek. Close to shops. Yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Everything was great. Terrific breakfast. All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic. Lady at front desk planned our stay. Great location right on town square. Lots of parking at rear.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    good value for money, excelent position, kind stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi, no aircondition,

    Good value for money. Nothing special but good for puropse. Price was just correct. Next time i would stay in Central again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, lot of space in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has seen better days. Crumbling grandeur, which is not without charm.

    Friendly staff, lot of space in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complete refurbishment required

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit shabby chic

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Located in centre of Osijek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel refurbished in 1980s

    Located in centre of Osijek

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.2
    Poor quality of hotel accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All other...bed, bathroom, smell of cigaretes...no lift...

    Tv programs,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    For one night for that money is acceptable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice old building in the main square but needs to be renivated inside and outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Center and free parking!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Depending on the price, everything was perfect. Hair dryer would be nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    its ok for a quick overnight stop, but I would not stay longer
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice receptionist, their own parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells like cigarettes, everything is very old - in a need for a big refurbishment.

    Nice receptionist, their own parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location. Not very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't clean enough, and it doesn't look like on the pictures.

    Perfect location in Osijek, on the main square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    My wife, I like her very very much.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircondition !!!

    My wife, I like her very very much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Buissnes day in Osijek
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old, but good hotel, with fantastic location, and very good staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stari hotel, pristojno osoblje,polozaj super

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    One day in Osijek
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, free parking, free wi-fi, free breakfast, kind staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    A good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. Nice Staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45