Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Continental 3 stars

Šetalište Andrije Kačića Mošića 1, 51000 Rijeka, Croatia

#13 of 17 hotels in Rijeka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes some local guys are making loud party on the places in front of the hotel. But nothing to bloom the hotel for

    Very nice staff. Always clean room. Absolutely great breakfast, for a nice start of the day. Also some bar to finish the day. The location is perfect to experience Rijeka without any car, just by foot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent accomodation in the very hart of the city of Rijeka. Extremelly kind personel, clean and cosy rooms. Bathroom fulfills highest standards. Honestly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was terrible (you can barely check your email), is was completely off during the night, so it's not for business trips if you plan to work during your stay and need internet. Horrible lightning in the room. During the weekend, young people gather in front of the hotel so it gets really loud during the night. Breakfast is good, but coffee was really bad. After the breakfast, there was no warm water.

    Helpful staff, good location and breakfast. Restaurant has a great terrace in front of the hotel - it's under big trees and has an excellent coffee with a good wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time back.Reason this hotel mets my needs/expectations.budget stay.location great.walking distance to main centre. Good 10min walk to the autobus station. Hotel room is clean.bathroom clean had air con. Free wifi with a standard breakfast included. Not to mention a great view from the room . Staff are friendly and helpful. If your looking for a basic stay this is for you. If your looking for something extraordinary then look for another hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking other than a couple of spaces on the street nearby, first come first served.

    A little dated but pretty much what we were expecting. Room had good aircon, was clean and comfortable so no complaints. We were leaving very early the next morning (4am) and asked if we might have a roll made up for us as we were missing breakfast we had paid for in the room rate. When we checked out, there was 2 bags waiting for us each with 2 large meat and cheese rolls wrapped in foil, bottled water and fruit. More than expected and very much appreciated. Nice central location to the old town, a 10min walk at most.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit over-priced for what it is. And no water in the hotel! I had to walk 400 metres to a garage at 2am to get a bottle of water.

    Good breakfast - good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit dated and tired but adequate

    Beautiful old building with a wonderful staff. The room was spacious and clean. Great views from the windows of the hotel across the canal and town square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was beyond threadbare; the shower backed-up and when unplugged, the room filled with the unmistakable smell of raw sewage.

    The staff, particularly the kitchen staff at breakfast was very accommodating and happy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I usually don't like to mention negative things about budget hotels, you get what you pay for, but it's really sad that a former highly ranked hotel lost its shine. The walls are very thin and you can see that the building wasn't renovated for years. I would love to visit it again if they update the building.

    Perfect location, good wi-fi, friendly staff, cheap price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast reminded me of my days traveling Europe in cheap hostels. Genuinely awful; if you're not on a shoestring budget, skip it and head into town. Also, no complimentary shampoo or shower gel.

    Good value, quiet at night, and fairly central location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes, frayed around the edges, but an old Grand Dame, a piece of time in history. Easy going staff. Great location. Excellent five star restaurant near by.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a refreshment. You can see and feel, it is old. Rooms from the street side are having heavy traffic noise. No parking places for guests.

    Nice luxury feeling. Very good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Teenagers (without parents?) hang out in front of the hotel all night drinking, smoking, and making noise all night. The small square in front of the hotel seems to be a homeless camp. The rooms with a view are the same ones that must put up with this noise nonsense - ask for an interior room.

    Location is close to the long pedestrian street for shopping and food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast's poor quality, noisy, no fridge, really small bathroom, problem with smoke alarm, no real double bed...

    Location. It could be such a great place, it has a great potential in it. At the moment they don't want to shine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Walls were thin, we could hear the flushing of the water - We stayed for 2 days in Jadran and then have to come to continental due to unavailability of dates. To our surprise the breakfast were exactly the same (like copy and paste), so after 4 days we were bored of eating the same breakfast again and again. - Compact room

    - Proximity to city center - After dinner we could take a quick walk and roam around and get back soon - The staffs were good - they had dinner menu for 10€ - Cleanliness was ok - We were supposed to miss our breakfast due to early morning flight but the receptionist lady packed our lunchbox and it was provided to us in the morning at 5:30 during checkout :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they start to clean the room next to ours at 8:30 in the morning, they were very loud(talking...) The hotel is without a parking, but there is a big parking lot very near (6kuna/h).

    the location the building

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found this hotel genteel,elegant and wonderfully old fashioned,a refreshing change.A pleasant room with a view and good food. We had just ridden 100 kms on our bicycles so we really appreciated this lovely hotel.Loved the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk from railway station

    Very welcoming staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extreme lack of parking and no mini fridge.

    Easy walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old-fashioned but beautiful

    Nice hotel with a wonderful view and breakfast near the bus terminal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no parking and the hotel staffs also do not offer help

    overlooking the river

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a bit noisy and the rooms were very warm (in Winter)

    Great location - old hotel but has character

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room there was not refrigerator.

    Very clean. Breakfast is good. Comfortable bad. Near to the pedestrian zone of the city. Very polite staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super slow wifi

    Very close to the outdoor mall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food in the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Classic grand building that would no doubt have been 4 star in its day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loose electric outlets in the wall.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    All ok, close to centre bars and restaurants, 30 kuna taxi to bus station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little dated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast

    Position

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel with a nice location. Staff was friendly and helpful, wifi worked nicely and breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Two single mattresses next to each other are used instead of a double bed mattress.

    Very central location. Elegant building. Great staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position. Staff were very friendly, helpful & informative.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge in the room

    Excellent localization, perfect staff, beautiful view from the 4th floor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent comfort and simplicity

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited parking spaces but there is a big payed parking about 50 mts from the hotel

    Great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In need for renovation and modernisation.

    Great location in city centre with private parking. Nice view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great choice for a night in Rijeka

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room cleaning start very early and you can't lock your door inside

    Good location, only few minutes walk to city center. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all was good but the interior could do with some renovation (nothing broken, just old fashioned)

    great central place,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only bemol of the whole stay was the bedroom's airco - which I never figured out how to work. There was a remote control and the green light flickering on the device... but it never turned on. (and it was hot)

    The kitchen and serving staff were very friendly and gave a good advice on the Croatian wine to taste. Location is historical and easy access to the town. Little known fact (?)... check the Maritime Museum as they have the only life-jacket (left in Europe) of the RMS Titanic (the Carpathia would link Rijeka to New-York). For history buffs (and now movies enthusiasts), this is quite a thrill.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Though, the cleanliness in general was OK, there were several long hairs in my bathroom, probably left from the chambermaid. The shower was attached to the wall on the level of my shoulder, it was impossible to bring it higher. The hotel is located in a rather noise place, which is also a meeting point to a grown of young people late in the night. For me it was OK, but if you are looking for a really quite place, you can be disappointed.

    Nice old building, clean and recently renewed room, central location, pleasant view from the window. Breakfast was not bad.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friday and Saturday nights young groups of peoplr gsther in the area outside the hotel for a drnk, and can get noisy. They are harmless though.

    The location, the views and the staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area outside the hotel seems to be a gathering place at night for many young people. While they were not badly behaved the sound from their many conversations made it difficult getting to sleep.

    Good location and nice view from our 3rd story window. Within walking distance of Korzo and main attractions. Good breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was free wifi which worked well in the reception area but not so well in the room.

    Location was convenient with a large car park near by. had to pay for parking but u could park your car for free if you drive out between 2200 & 0600. Breakfast was good and staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi connection in the room and minimal amenities in the room. The façade seemed old and tired. This hotel has so much potential if they invested in the outside appearance.

    Location, helpful staff, and pretty good breakfast. The furnishing appear old, but everything was clean and functional

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Due to central location there is no parking, or so it says but there are 4 places. Fortunately we went Sunday Monday so it only cost 12HrK for 2 hours 7-9 am

    The location is very central. The standard was a good 3 star. Staff were friendly and helpful but not too much English.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    V poor food (bit Yugoslavia in the 70's. Long trek from town if you are a wheelchair user, but bus stop nearby

    Better than average middling hotel. Well maintained, good staff

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got one bath towel - which is really all I needed - but it was a bit thin. Like something one would get at a cheap motel. It was clean and smelled nice though.

    I liked the price of this hotel, and I liked that it was clean and modern. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It's in a great location for seeing the city and a short taxi ride to get to from the bus station.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe I expected more from the breakfast, particularly I felt the lack of cappuccino and the usual varities of coffee that is available in the bars of the downtown. Also the salted things were not so particularly tasteful.

    I had appreciated the staff, that speaks italian and provided all the infos we need. Room was clean, with spacious bathroom and comfortable bed. The view from the windows is nice, and the city centre is just across the river. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed was very comfortable which was wonderful. I would have liked the wi-fi signal to have been stronger. It worked fine outside of the room but inside the signal was very weak. Other than the rooms was enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We at the front of the hotel, and found the open space in front of the hoel over the river was a meeting point in the evening (weekend) for local youths, and unfortunately we were unable to sleep on saturday evening until 3am (following morning) due to loud music and partying. And we specifically requested a "quiet room" when we booked through booking.com under "any special requirements", apart from this everything was great.

    The hotel and all facilities met our expectations, and as to be expected for the price we paid.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not able to get a drink in my room after the restaurant closed

    Efficient reception service

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise at hotel during the night, have to pay espresso at breakfast

    Cleanliness, location

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No comment.

    Very nice hotel, 3 minutes from the old center of the town. Excellent buffet for dinner at low price.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking access wasn't easy.

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Couple

    Nil

    Hotel Continental is situated within easy access to the centre of city and bus transport. Staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff not very helpful. All looking very tired.

    Not much

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked the outside terrace by the river. Convenient for local buses

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location and reception waiter very good

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very poor.

    Most things.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from party goers on the square below.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is an older hotel

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There is no refregerator in the rooms

    Best placed in Cityy Center, a lot of history, good service

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, Cramped shower, Expensive

    Location, Cleanliness, Free Parking

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would benefit by having a mini bar in the room.

    It was all good

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hot water wasn't very hot .

    In a perfect spot . You have access to the main parts of Rijeka . The pricing was good .

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would have liked a non-smoking room.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold coffee

    Comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant. Good food and service. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wireless connection very poor signal. Works from time to time.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, but perhaps the possibility to make a cup of coffee at the room?

    Friendly staff with good english skills and tasty pancakes for breakfast!

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: