Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Croatia 3 stars

Vlade Avelinija 7, 21450 Hvar, Croatia

#8 of 12 hotels in Hvar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    3.8
    Senior management need to address this facility & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst relatively well located, the hotel is very old & in need of extensive maintenance. The staff are generally unpleasant, clearly uninterested in their guests & their stay at this highly overrated property. Gardens over in with weeds, jacuzzi ( a selling point ) not working - generally a very unsatisafactory experience!

    Nothing a thoroughly unpleasant and forgettable experience

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Totally relaxing and very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little tired and awkward. If you want to eat in the restaurant at night, you really have to give them plenty of notice as they do not keep everything on the menu in stock.

    Great food and lovely people. Superb location with fantastic views and easy access into town. Wonderful outdoor sitting areas with comfortable seating and lovely views. Staff do everything they can to help you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Great stay in Hvar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was outstanding, walking distance to Hvar Town and across the street from Hula Hula Bar. Sitting outside in the gardens was also very pleasant. A lot of choices for the breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Definitely would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk into town was a little long but a beautiful walk!

    Very comfortable property. Our first room had a great sea view. Friendly and helpful staff provided a great buffet breakfast. Would recommend this hotel...in fact we extended our stay an extra 3 days!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location but hotel needs a complete refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double bed was just two singles pushed together. Pillows were like rocks. Bathroom was very old and smelt of sewage. Shower curtain stuck to you when showering and water went all over the floor.

    Hvar is stunning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel well located and secluded with a beach access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and need to be redone.

    The hotel well located and secluded with a beach access.the main area and the large patio looking the garden are beautiful .The staff his nice and make you feel welcome.The breakfast his great,we also had a dinner on the restaurant patio and it was excellent and the young man server very helpful and give also an excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value if you like a quiet and pretty locale that's not too far from town. Not for partying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furnishings need updating. Hotel has no beach facilities - chairs, umbrellas etc. operated by separate vendors. Staffed thinly - often had to ring for front desk or bar tender personnel.

    Nice view (from view rooms) with balcony. Helpful staff. Quiet. Nice restaurant terrace, with an OK breakfast buffet. About a 15-20 minute walk to the harbor. Stairway to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t told very much at reception and may have felt like using more facilities had the reception been warm

    The location is is lovely, 10 min easy walk from Hvar centre. There is a beach in front of the hotel but you must pay for sunbeds. The breakfast was very nice and fresh.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    A bit outdated but great location and beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit outdated and not clear on the terms of the 'flexible rooms'. We moved around a lot during our vacation and wanted to spend the last 4 days settled at a nice hotel. After one night - and having unpacked our suitcases - we were informed that we would be moving to another room the next day because we had reserved a flexible room. This was a bit of a hassle as we just wanted to relax and hang out. It would have been nice if the reception had informed us of this during our check-in as I was unaware of these terms. Would have gladly paid extra.

    Location and garden are very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Perfect Place to Relax and then Go out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    This hotel is an absolute find and should definitely be rated higher than its current 3 stars. Very clean, staff helpful and excellent location. The gardens are a lovely setting to chill out in before heading out into Hvar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location just past the Amfora
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double room with Park view and Terrace (Smart Lobby Room)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the first floor right next to the hotel toilettes. It was quite noisy in the morning so sleeping in was not an option. There really shouldn’t be rooms so close to public spaces without proper sound proofing.

    Great location just past the Amfora Good Breakfast selection Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    The property was nice, but the room was very dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was nice, but the room was very dated. They didn't even have a flat screen TV. I also got several bug bites while sleeping there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel that meets all requirements of 3 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice hotel that meets all requirements of 3 stars. Very nice spacious room with a balcony and a see view. Good breakfast buffet. A short walk from the harbor and the Old Town. On-site parking is a plus for those, travelling by a car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Perfectly located hotel in serious need of investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable and curtains didn’t cover windows. Parts of bathroom rusting and toiletries provided basic. Breakfast quality variable especially hot food . Access to sun beds on beach in front of hotel not free of charge. Could be fantastic hotel if someone invested in it.

    Located on the promenade with nice walks into town and to beaches nearby. Beautiful building set in lovely grounds and great views from breakfast terrace. Room clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea view and Terrace (Smart Lobby Suite)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I noticed that the Amfora, etc managed to get their hotel transport to the harbour docks for the ferry. It would be great if Hotel Croatia could do the same. Dragging travel cases across cobbled stones is decidedly uncomfortable

    It was a beautiful hotel that in my opinion was better than the Pharos, which looked like a cod, artificial prison. But then I do not need a swimming pool when the sea and beach are so close. I was also glad that there were no children to allow for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Loved it, would defo go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was they didn’t have Diet Coke!!

    The hotel was fab, the grounds were beautiful and was really close to hula hula bar which is awesome! Breakfast was really good too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    A lovely, comfortable stay with friendly staff who made everything easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jazz lounge bar covers of pop songs in the morning, but that’s subjective.

    A really lovely hotel, great location on the beach and 10 minutes’ walk into town, friendly staff who went the extra mile, the jacuzzi!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    Great location but that is it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable ( towels bathroom supply) rooms Very old equipments ( tv from the 90’s, old bathroom and beds ) Many bugs and insects

    Friendly staff great location by the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Tranquil and private time and beautiful beach in the Hvar island
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff has introduced me the hospital when I needed. Also they have discounted the fee for upgrading from garden view to sea view room. Restaurant and cafe staff were also awesome. She was really nice to my mother with wheel chair and delivered dishes to the outside sofa. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    The island is accessible only by ferry, thus the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The island is accessible only by ferry, thus the hotel is not walkable from the port with luggage. Transport to/from hotel is inconvenient. Premises are outdated, rooms are primitive and the prices are enormously high.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Massively disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a massive disappointment. We booked this hotel (the most expensive on our trip) to have somewhere nice for our anniversary. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. Non stop noise from rooms either side and above all through the night. Hotel was tired looking. Rooms were dark and in need of a big makeover. And as friendly as the staff were, they weren't great. We went for an end of evening drink and despite being the only people there we couldn't find a clean table that hadn't been cleared away.

    Er, what did we like..... um, the staff were friendly..... That's about it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    The view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a suite with a terrace and sea view. I informed the hotel that one of our party is disabled and can't manage stairs and they put us in a room with a bath, which she couldn't use. The bathroom door did not shut. There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.the hot food on the breakfast buffet wasnt hot. For £160 per couple per night it was very disappointing and ruined our mini break to hvar.

    The view was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Grand dame of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location in Hvar . Hvar was very busy but staying at Hotel Croatia is like you have it all to yourself . Swimming beach at your doorstep . Older hotel full of charm

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Excellent and such a fabulous location to all activities while a little bit away from the noise..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior is a little dated but it still provides the authenticity that I love with destinations that have such a colourful and long history.

    The location is excellent as it is situated 10 minute walk from the city centre and just off the walking path with the beach on one side. The gardens and terrace are beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic with such a huge array of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos online were a bit misleading. The property is in serious need of a refurbishment. The shower head attachment was broken. Bedding was very average. Breakfast wasn’t great. We were unable to get any beach towels (as promised when we booked) - they ran out of clean towels during our stay.

    The location was amazing. Very close proximity to beaches and Hula Hula bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    The grounds were very pleasant, food was good and the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small, bathroom wasn’t great, the balcony’s were individual but not remotely private

    The grounds were very pleasant, food was good and the beach was right at the bottom of the garden. Beautiful place to visit. Hotel facilities were good and lots of excursions could be arranged through reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    We asked for food to be delivered to our room and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for food to be delivered to our room and it was before the cut off time but were told the kitchen was closed, while they were still serving a guest in the restaurant. So we had to walk to a pizzeria close by and get pizza.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Hvar is a beautiful place, strongly recommend a visit, but not ideal for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double room with Park view and Terrace (Smart Lobby Room)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was next to the reception toilets and was noisy at 7am with other guests. No consideration for it being 7am in the morning on a weekend. The bar was closed by midnight and we couldn't get a drink when we came back from an event which was disappointing. We chose not to have breakfast as it was expensive for what it was so we walked along towards to the main square and got breakfast out.

    The hotel was beautiful providing a scenic view. Our room didn't have a good view and was shaded. The location was near to the main square and was very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    A hotel with enormous potential but little heart
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impersonal reception on arrival and little sense of friendly family run hotel. Advertised services such as lunch and massage not available. Room and bathroom needed updating.

    Beautiful location with wonderful view of luscious, well-kept gardens and sea. Easy access to the beach. Lovely promenade into Hvar. Availability of early breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.8
    The location was the only plus point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere, the staff was unhelpful. Lack of information provided. Rooms were ancient

    The location was the only plus point. It was near hula hula.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Hotel in very central location right above a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent Hotel in very central location right above a pebbly beach and Hula Hula Bar, and only 10 minutes walk along the promenade to the Centre of Hvar. Our room 001 was perfect for the four of us, and much larger than we expected with a lovely big balcony. Buffet Breakfast was limited but adequate. Staff really helpful. All in all we were very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    The highlight was the view from our balcony room and the dining area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a little tired but functional. It wasn't a problem to us but there are steps down to the beach.

    The view from our balcony room was beautiful. The breakfast offered lots of choice, the restaurant wine list had lovely Croatian wine. We enjoyed the quieter location and the walk into the port was a pleasant stroll. The hotel offers a transfer to the port for a reasonable fee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely to look at but lacking personality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit mean with choices not replenished regularly. Staff not very friendly.

    Pretty and comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting with easy access to Hvar main attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Room with a View
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head has some issues and needs to be upgraded.

    The location is the hotels biggest draw card, and it didn’t disappoint. The room had a lovely balcony with sea view which was perfect to enjoy the afternoon sunshine. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Perfect spot to be able to go for a swim and also enjoy the local bar nearby on the waterfront after sunset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it should have a more visible entry, specially for people that came from the top road.

    Great location, really close to the hula hula beach, close enough to the center. Great breakfast, totally recommend it !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    location is great, close to sea and village reached in...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double room with Park view and Terrace (Smart Lobby Room)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel really has potential but doesnt use it fully... breakfast is very poor and they could serve it out in the terrace overlooking the sea on sunny days. Instead you have it in a conference type of food area. Rooms are big yet poorly furnished along with a some doubtful color choices.. but I guess one might have a different opinion on this.

    location is great, close to sea and village reached in around 15min walking. rooms are big and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    the breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast was very good. Fresh eggs, pancakes, bacon. The staff made new servings during the breakfast, so everything was always fresh. There is a tiny (damp) gym, but it serves it purpose. I didn't know that there was a gym so it was a very nice surprise. We had a seaview balcony. Very nice. The rooms aren't big, but it is enough. We were there during off season, so the Hula hula beach bar was closed. But we could use the sunbeds, which was perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    An enjoyable location while in Hvar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mismatched beach towels were extremely thread bare and could use replacing. It's too bad the hotel did not have an exclusive beach area for guests that did not require payment for loungers since we only wanted to stay an hour or two at most. There was hardly a place for those of us not paying for any of the empty loungers.

    Liked that we could park our rental car right on the property. Enjoyed the 7-10 min walk into the old town along the seawall. The location was close to town yet far enough to be away from most of the noisiest places along the beach. The gardens were beautifully maintained and it was located up the stairs from the beach. We were here mid to late September and the bar scene along the beachfront was definitely getting quieter. We had a room that was not facing the ocean but we did have a nice terrace for enjoying happy hour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was well run and I had an issue with the mattress. I didn't find it comfortable, I discussed it with the manager and they swapped for another one which suited me. The food was good and it was in a lovely location. While the breakfast ended at a certain time they still brought out fresh pancakes etc right until the end and a little after. The staff were friendly and the hotel was nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing short break in Hvar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service very slow in restaurant on first night, probably end of season shortage of staff

    Quiet location with lovely grounds. Large bedroom with separate lounge area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Great Staff!! I would book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Park View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *The hotel is located just above the beach, and is connected by stairs...lots of stairs...lots of stairs. *The bathroom was dated, and leaked water from the pipes onto the floor every time the shower was turned on. *Would have appreciated a hotel shuttle.

    The hotel is located just above the beach. The grounds are maintained well. Staff is Great!!! Very helpful in setting up massages for me even though they don't have a Massuse on site. I really appreciate their help with this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Elegant and with a beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could offer more options of pillows. But it's a minor detail.

    Walking distance to the Old Town, through the pleasant promenade by the sea. Sea view for some rooms. Quiet and elegant. The manager is very helpful and kind and provided us in our needs as a group of friends. Good breakfast, nice terrace, beautiful garden in the property and easy access to the sea. Impeccable and very nice hotel, definitively a good choice in Hvar!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Amazing views with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night was very noisy as we could hear 2 disco/parties competing with each other. Might put those of with small children

    The sunset view from our suite was amazing. The staff were really friendly. It felt like a family hotel rather than a bland chain hotel. Hotel food was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely Hotel with Fantastic Views and A short stroll to Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not a "large double" it was two single beds put together with very poor bedding. The taxi that the hotel arranged for us was advised to charge 100K however when we got to the destination he ripped us off by charging more.

    The hotel staff were lovely and helpful. The location was amazing right by the beach and short walk into Hvar Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent , best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something that could be improved is shower and the room tvs.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location, very nice hotel. Definetely would return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic position if you like peaceful and relaxing surroundings but also close enough to hvar town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little on the hard side but don't really like to complain about such a good hotel

    Beautiful quiet surroundings away from the hustle and bustle of hvar but close enough to walk to. Hotel food was amazing! Top class food and friendly waitresses. Room consisted of bedroom, lounge and bathroom- clean, fresh and spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful landscapes, gorgeous view, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room did not reflect the beauty of the hotel. Furnitures needs to be updated, bathroom was beautiful but needs some shelves in the shower to hold tolietries etc.Our balcony hammock seats did not had the seating so we did not use it.

    Beautiful hotel grounds, lobby and dining area. Great location by the famous Hula hula beach bar but far enough you don't hear the party noise. Breakfast buffet indoor and outdoor dining area was great and is included if you are staying at the hotel. Nice, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.2
    Terrible - do not believe good reviews or Routard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else was bad. Do not believe the good reviews or Routard. The hotel is outdated for its price. We got two rooms, one room with the "ocean view" (and priced accordingly) meant seeing a bit of ocean through the trees and a terrible squeaky bed and cheap pillows and mattress. Things did not improve when we had to move to a "garden view", the room belonged to a 2 star hotel. Every detail shows that the staff doesn't care about keeping a good hotel. Even the simple things as keeping the pictures that are hanging straight or a nice welcome in the reception are mishandled. We also did not like the email asking us to review the hotel with a perfect score. It's good that they ask for feedback but that is just another sloppy thing to do.

    Two positives: the location in front of the beach and the Hula Hula Club, and the gardens. The hotel has a nice building and location, it has a lot of potential if the owners commit to improving.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    very near the ocean, and with an amazing seaview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food (a la carte) at the hotel was not so good, the porkchop was wrongly cut so it had like 20 small pieces of bone shattered in the meat so every bite you took was like russian roulette.

    very near the ocean, and with an amazing seaview. The breakfast was fenomenal and had everything you could wish for and a little more

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.3
    Where not to stay in Hvar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, uncomfortable beds, broken blinds and windows, noisy, old, broken jacuzzi.

    Not much to like about this property aside from the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent time on holiday and for my friends wedding in walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been better was if it had a pool and we wasn't able to get the jacuzzi hot

    Lovely hotel, very friendly staff and all very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    2.9
    Couldn't wait to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were so unpleasant we stayed out of the hotel all day only returning to change clothes or to sleep. If we could of cancelled our reservation without charge we would of done. Beach: The hotel booking confirmation stated it had a private beach, not true, there was a rocky platform at the bottom of the hotels 70 steep steps but you had to pay for the uncomfortable crammed in plastic sun loungers (no cushions), you just got a 10 kuna discount if you were a hotel guest. All around the entrance to the sea were sea urchins (some hotels clear them). Rooms: Tiny, we both couldn't stand up and walk round at the same time. A larger person may have trouble getting into the shower. The bed sheets were not changed in the five nights we stayed and the beds were never made, just the used sheet thrown over the bed and not tucked in. The balcony floor was covered in dead bugs. Our room facilities confirmation stated fruit, biscuits and drinks etc., not true, I did ask for a kettle but I was told only if I had a baby. The provided beach towels were mismatch and threadbare, one actually had all the edges hanging off. Breakfast: The same every day and lukewarm, no fresh juices (a syrup like alternative) and only two fresh fruits, plums and melon. If we sat outside the wasps would land all over our food. Staff: We booked bed and breakfast and arrived early on our first day and asked if we could have breakfast that day instead of our last day as we were leaving prior to their breakfast hours, the receptionist said no only if you pay, we asked if we could see breakfast, she said if you pay, I tried to look and got told off. I asked if they could deduct the cost of the breakfast as we couldn't have it, she said no you can have a lunch box instead (sandwich without butter and curled up warm processed sliced cheese, carton of drink and an orange).

    Beautiful building. The one member of staff who smiled, the young breakfast lady.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Beautifulwould definitely go back if ib Hvar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge chairs are not supplied at beach. An50 kuna per dat for chair. Should be supplied by hotel free of charge

    Old hotel. Nicely kept. Clean. Staff extremely accomodating. Beautiful location. Away from hustle and bustle in Hvar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Romantic location with the best view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities throughout. If planning further investments, adding a small pool would make this hotel even better.

    Lovely hotel with even lovelier staff and an excellent restaurant. The waitresses were super nice, reception staff and the hotel manager extremely helpful. Definitely highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    nice setting, near centre of have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise at night and limited bathroom.

    Very nice location for the beach and centre of Havr. Unfortunately, there was a lot of noise at night because of some beach parties/discos nearby. Not the fault of the hotel of course but something to bear in mind if you really need a good rest! The staff was not particularly friendly at the reception desk, a bit blase looking! The bathroom needed some updating. A beautiful building but the room decor was a bit passed his best. Breakfast was lovely and the terrasse a lovely plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    A stylish and well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym was disappointing, and the room´s bathroom needs a renovation.

    A very beautiful and scenic hotel. Dinner at the hotel´s restaurante is a very pleasant experience. Perfect location. The gardens are beautiful. Sitting on the balcony at sunset is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel, friendly staff, great location and would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea view and Terrace (Smart Lobby Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pool would be a bonus. Didn't like to have to pay for beach chairs as thought it was the hotel's beach.

    Gorgeous hotel. Amazing staff and very accommodating. Family run. Room was massive and clean and fresh. Gorgeous bathroom. Good breakfast. Close to town/port and lovely beach at bottom of the stairs. Good restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location and a lovely 10 minute walk into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and a lovely 10 minute walk into the centre of Hvar. The hotel was clean comfortable with fantastic views and accommodating staff. I would highly recommend this hotel and will hopefully be returning!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is in a great location. Far enough from all the day crowds but accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection of food at breakfast was simple but tasty and fresh.

    Staff were super friendly and genuinely welcomed the kids. The hotel has a great beach close by but restaurants were a little further away. Suited us well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    This was second part of trip through Croatia. Wasn't sure what to expect, but it was just wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Lovely comfortable hotel, lovely staff, great location. Nice breakfast. Room beyond expectation. Booked a suite & had use of a vast terrace,all be it shared. It it was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    A very attractive hotel in a good location in Hwar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea view and Terrace (Smart Lobby Suite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very attractive hotel in a good location in Hwar. The rocky coves in front of the hotel are great swimming places - much better than closer to the town centre. Would recommend without hesitation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.3
    Old world charm but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room acoustics is poor. Walls are thick but room door is thin. So even modest sounds from the corridor will pass the door. In addition, balcony doors let all noise inside. We had a room with a sea view which meant that the noise from party yachts, that were parked to near bay, kept us awake. Also noisy (drunken) customers at the hotel restaurant’s terrace were an issue during few nights. Bathroom needs updating. There were a small bathtub where it was quite difficult to take a shower. Also there were rust in few water pipes. TV was quite old – not a flat version. In a big picture, they have done some renovation and updated facilities but there is many things to be done that this old time charm hotel is a good value for money.

    Clean place Old world charm

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.2
    Beware. Hotel in need of extensive renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was outdated and disgusting - not even cleaned properly. The whole hotel has so much potential and it's in such a sad state that it is pitiful. I would love to see a reality show with a crew of decorators, designers and contractors renovate the rooms, dining room and grounds to an acceptable modern standard. Also, at night there was a lot of noise from the other rooms.

    Excellent location close to Hula Hula, beaches and the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    location! Beach! Food! Comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    The food at the hotel was amazing staff were so lovely especially ozana she is wonderful, the beaches and town are in great walking distance and the hotel itself it very beautiful clean and very accomodating, loved the view from the balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Average hotel in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'gym' is terrible - 3 dusty, poor quality machines, staff weren't rude but didn't make very much effort

    Beautiful balcony, nice gardens, close to the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced for a tired place which is very slowly undergoing refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, smelly and poorly functional room/suite. Was claimed to be the best room in the hotel when informed senior staff member how disappointing the room was vis-à-vis the sea view (an important criteria cited) and the number of malfunctions in the so called suite. The bathroom cum toilet was a pitiful sight with a door that could not lock, let alone remain shut; there was a bad odour in the air and the small window dangerously stuck high above the bathtub was very old and stiff. Paint/wallpaper peeling off the wall and an ancient tv which had such poor volume that one had to place one's ear to the speaker to follow any of the available News programmes and hence, not be able to watch the screen. Suite furniture was totally basic - more typical of a two or three star hotel.

    Gardens and beach access + proximity. Delicious fish dishes from the hotel restaurant. Some staff members were genuinely helpful and pro-active despite operating in situations of stretched resources.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Charming hotel but could use a little updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower

    Loved the character of an old hotel. Rooms could use a little updating, especially the bathrooms. Enjoyed the junior suite with the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location by the best beaches. Beautiful views. Hotel was quiet and comfortable. Great breakfast supplied. Close to Hula Hula. Nice walk to the main promenade - so you have access to the nightlife yet when at the hotel you escape the noise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Park View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was average, but ok.

    The hotel was lovely, great location, wonderful setting.The staff were excellent, very helpful. Nice and quiet but close enough to town, would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a king size bed when we booked and got two single beds pushed together. They however put a cover over the mattress which helped a bit. We could not use the gym as they were revamping that area.

    The hotel was clean and staff friendly. Breakfast was good. Good value for money hotel, a short walk to the centre of town along the lovely beachfront promenade.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.2
    Not a good stay for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had no queen beds and would push twins together and put a mattress pad over to make a queen bed. Very tacky. They also didn't have any queen blankets or sheets so we kept having our blankets/sheets fall off of us in the middle of the night. Complained to the front desk and they did nothing.

    Location, free breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    The property is lavish and just next to the sea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Park View and Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasnt great. Always lost signal inside the room

    The property is lavish and just next to the sea and promanade. Hula hula bar is at your doorsteps. There is a outdoor jaccuzi for sundowners. Breakfast is ok. The old town is walkable in 15-20 mins. Staff is very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like many hotels in the Hvar town area the hotel is not suitable for anyone with a physical disability that restricts them with stairs that access the beach and promenade, although there is a lift in the hotel to access the bedrooms.

    A peaceful experience in an older style hotel where old style values are still important. The hotel was approx 1930's but modern bedrooms and wonderful grounds. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and always did their best to make your holiday enjoyable. A short walk down the steps in the grounds took you to the coastal promenade and within 10 minutes you were in Hvar town. It is longer by road and not half as pleasant. The little beach at the front of the hotel is mainly pebble but the water is so clear and clean. Breakfast was adequate (for us) and eaten on the roofed terrace - so relaxing. Dinner and lunch are also available if required. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double room with Park view and Terrace (Smart Lobby Room)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel property is located just by the sea and has fantastic views of Hvar. Also near Hula Hula where you can rent a day bed all day long. Room was spacious and clean and the entire property was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the room being comfortable is quite small and cramped. Most of the staff is friendly, but we met some unwillingly to help us.

    The structure and location of the hotel is wonderful. You can walk to the center and it is safe. Breakfast has plenty of options, but only very early, when things start to end they are not replenished.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: