Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Fontana 3 stars

Obrov 1, 21220 Trogir, Croatia

#16 of 25 hotels in Trogir

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast not good, locks on door sticking so were our friends room, jacuzzi didnt work neither did our friends, staff alittle sour, no view from our room.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many bells

    ‘Nice room, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Ideally situated for caffe,restaurants,shops, tours. Lovely old city. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close (1 minute walk) to the sea front and the town centre. Clean comfortable room with good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location (people in bars and sound of churchs bells), some malfunctions in bathroom e.g. loose toilet and broken shower handle.

    Central location, nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last night here was no hot water not even warm. Talked to the person at the front deck and he said there was nothing they could do.

    It is a good place stay in the middle of the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the room you can only see other buildings, no view at all. There is no elevator so don't bring heavy baggage :D

    Surprisingly large room for a small hotel in the tiny streets of Trogir. It is a small hotel and feels like it is family run, small scale and cosy hotel. Simple breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very hard to find this hotel in the labyrinth of narrow streets and alleyways, but once found use the Puzzeria as your reference point

    Small hotel with friendly staff and close to airport and local attractions. Rooms and the hotel building have character

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find Hotel. Parking too far with luggage. Parking to expensive.

    Located in the old town. Walking distance to bus station. Lots of restaurants and shops. Can take bus to Split.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the receptionists and staff were good and helpful but must mention Dragan (reception) as we mainly dealt with him. Found him to be very intelligent, professional, helpful and a pleasant young man.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on third floor, no elevator or assistance with luggage. Air conditioning system had broken down and was extremely noisy. I requested a quieter room but there were only rooms on the same floor so I had the choice of the least noisiest. In the end, the air conditioning was switched off so it was very hot in the room. Noise from the street with windows open. Jacuzzi bath didn't work. When I advised reception, the person there couldn't work it either but I was told the next day that I should have asked how to use it as apparently it did work. The lock on the room kept getting stuck and I had to get reception to help me get into the room twice. The receptionist gave me her mobile number to contact her in case I got locked in as the phone to contact reception also didn't work which would be serious if there was a fire. I have stayed at this hotel before and was disappointed that there were so many issues on this occasion. There seems to be a lot of maintenance required!

    Well located, good value hotel in the heart of the old town. Nice, spacious room with large entrance area containing wardrobe space. A large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. Comfortable bed. Wi-fi worked OK. Although not extensive, there was sufficient choice at breakfast. Good check-out time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning could be a bit hit and miss at times

    The hotel was in a great position in the city near to the bars and restaurants and close to the harbour for boats trips to different beaches and day trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worth keeping in mind there is no lift at the property so have to be comfortable with a few flights of stairs.

    Nice breakfast, spacious room and well-equipped bathroom. Great location in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely little hotel in the heart of the old town. Comfortable, air conditioned room. Helpful staff on reception and friendly breakfast ladies. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No elevator in the hotel

    The best about this small hotel is that it is located right in the center of the historic Trogir, near to restaurants, bars and cafés. Very good value for the money, friendly staff, good breakfast, air-condition ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three floors of very steep stairs to get to our room, no lift. Dreadful coffee at breakfast.

    Reasonably accessible with only about 100 metres to walk from the drp off point. Very helpful staff at both check in and check out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I needed to send an email but the staff didn't know of an internet cafe. Also, there is no lift, which may matter if you have a heavy bag.

    The location could not be better. The hotel is in a very busy part of town, yet my room was quiet. I felt safe and cared for. Also liked the fact that BBC World was available on TV.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is centrallly located in the centre of trogir. We only stayed one night before we flew home. The room itself was very clean and comfortable . The air conditioning was very welcoming on a very warm evening in trogir although the air conditioning unit was slightly noisy . Staff at the hotel are very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cold breakfast could have been better by adding eggs and bacon or sausage, although one of the few hotels which served American coffee.

    Perfect location right in the middle of the pedestrian old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one spoke to us at breakfast to ask if we were ok I found this strange. Our safe couldn't be locked and the showers could be updated

    Hotel was near marina a great place we were delighted with location. Beautiful area lots iof restaurants around Breakfast was good lots of variety and plenty of food. Very reasonable priced hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extra helpful, amenable and friendly. Receptionists happily helped with directions and gave information about some attractions within the city and transport as well as some tips on the best tours and day trips to take if you are interested. The rooms were always clean and the towels are changed daily. The cook was always very nice, she cooked breakfast every morning. Overall, I'm satisfied with my stay and I felt very welcomed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly service. Very helpful with parking, luggage and suggestions for sightseeing. Breakfast eggs made to order and delicious. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave this charming hotel and this beautiful town!

    Location was right in the heart of the old town. I asked for a quiet room on top floor and that's exactly what I got . Room was spacious and comfortable, wifi worked great. Breakfast was delicious-with fruit, yummy chocolate croissants and eggs made to order. Staff were always extremely helpful. Made my stay in Trogir memorable and very enjoyable. Thank you to all at Hotel Fontana. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again next time I am in beautiful Trogir and will be recommending this hotel to all my family and friends who are thinking of visiting this beautiful part of Croatia!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the bathroom window it was straith view to other apartment, no shades or tick courtain. During night didn't switch on light in the bathroom so neighbors don't see inside!

    Size of the bed was really big and was super comfortable! I was alone in double room but still great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The bed sheets and towels were a bit on the rough side. The towels felt much like sandpaper. The breakfast was very mediocre - the same pieces of cheese and cold cuts everyday. The eggs that were ordered quite often were burnt and/or overdone. There is no elevator so that could be an issue for some people.

    The location and the friendly staff. The room was spacious and our corner room overlooked a little square with good restaurants. Room 12 on the second floor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Excellent location in the middle of the old city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Position perfect. Right in middle of old town with plenty of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect, and the staff was very kind and helpful. Thanks !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems

    All good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel is central in old city. Close to everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, friendly staff, bit tired looking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ran out of black tea at breakfast, noisy hum started at 0730 on fourth floor.

    The bed was comfy, room very large and good shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to 4th floor, no elevator

    Breakfast, location, clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Miro, very very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three flights of stairs to get to our room.

    Good location in the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cozy friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park a good way away and lug luggage through old town narrow streets.

    Very typical old town location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator

    Nice friendly place in a historic setting and restaurants and bars

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was what I expected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful and silent hotel. Good location. Perfect if you want to live in the old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, helpful staff and location perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the central location and the very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Very central location. Hairdryer available. Close to transport links.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable room. Front reception staff superb... extremely friendly & offered lots of assistance to us in organising day trips etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brand new, high tech hotel with extreme comfort and a cool quiet location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location. Early breakfast provided for us on morning of departure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only downside is the fact , no elevator , being on the third floor stairs a little hard with not so good knees, but again staff got our luggage up for us ,,

    Everything , position , walk to everything in Trogir, Staff,especially (Gordana)

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was on the top floor - no lift, narrow stairs & no WiFi on top floor. Room next to a church bell that went off every 15 mins. Fridge unplugged. No bottled water for sale in hotel. Shower head support broken, came away from wall, bashed me in the face (giving me a swollen lump on my nose) &, having a lift of its own, went of out the bathroom into the bedroom drenching my clothes, paperwork, trainers, kindle, phone etc the morning I had to fly so I missed breakfast.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lacking in maintenance in a few areas (windows leaked, bath plug not not working properly)

    Perfect location for the old town in a clean, smart hotel. Don't forget to bring your car park ticket with you to get a discount.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi wasn't available in our 4th floor room during our stay. Not an issue for us, but the hotel doesn't have a lift and the central staircase was rather steep - could be a problem for the less mobile guest

    Superb location right in the centre of Trogir, but still surprisingly quiet at night. The staff were friendly and helpful, organising a late check-out for us and providing a decent breakfast. We were upgraded to a suite, which was large and bright with a large bathroom complete with jacuzzi. Some of the fixtures and fittings were a little worn, but everything worked well and the air-conditioning was very welcome - once we figured out how to switch it on!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work in our room on the 4th floor. The shower fitting was broken. The hot breakfast wasn't hot (the bacon and sausages weren't on the hot plate).

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We felt very welcome. Perfect location in centre of Trogir.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The ridiculously hot temperate of the rooms

    The air con was not working. There was a party of 9 of us. 7 of us got no sleep as the rooms were ridiculously hot, only 1 fan available for 9 people

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air Conditioning was not working in bedroom or the lounge area of the 'del lux' room we booked

    The breakfast was average and cleanliness adequate

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is situated in the heart of the old city centre of Trogir, close to ...everything. Just a few blocks walk from the taxi or a 10 minutes walk to the bus stop. Nice and friendly atmosphere, AC in the bedroom. Quite silent at night.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a) They took payment on the day using the credit card I used to guarantee the booking, without offering me the option of using a different method of payment - bad practice b) I had to really insist on seeing the breakdown of the bill before paying it (I wanted to understand the extra charges) c) I had to really, really insist on getting a receipt - I had to pay cash for the extras because their payment machine didn't work. d) Bed was fine but the pillow was lumpy and thin

    The location, all very clean

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    4th floor without lift and nobody help for luggage. The breakfast was included in the rate, we checked out at 6 am (breakfast from 7), they didn't give us the take away box.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was unreliable one of our evening stays but otherwise working.

    AC in hot summer month. Very clean facility and nice staff. Convenience of location is PERFECT. Our refrigerator was not working, but staff held our "need to keep cold" items in main fridge. Order the omelette for breakfast not the scrambled eggs and arrive early to breakfast to take advantage of the fruit variety. Good coffee!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free wifi didn't reach the 4th floor (where my room was) - but having asked about it a new router has been ordered so may not be a problem for future travellers.

    Good location for walking about Tragir. Staff helpful - comments on where to get to the airport bus / split payments between Kuna and Euros

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could be a bit niosy but then I did have the window open rather than switch on the airncom.

    In the old town close to many restaurants. Good WiFi and break's available. Also handy for Split airport (10 minute ride on bus 37) if you do not want to stay in Split. Note there is also a little ferry than runs direct to Split harbour.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy location. Room - particularly the bathroom - requires a makeover

    Nothing much!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good locatipn

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very helpful. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was on third floor. Must learn to travel lighter.

    Easy walk from bus station, Centre of island, lovely lanes to wander around.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the A/C did not work during summer Breakfast

    Cleanliness Location Easy to find

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't work in the upper room

    In the center, nice staff and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit too old Wlan did not work in the room Used towel in the room Breakfast was ok but not more

    Located very centrally A/C

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning never got cool

    Location great, staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful and friendly staff, great location

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All of the staff so friendly... Only thing that would have made location better would have been a view from the window but it was a great spot

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    excellent location! family-friendly staff! clean and large rooms. Silence.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: