Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Frankopan 4 stars

Ivana Gorana Kovačića 1, 47300 Ogulin, Croatia

#17 of 29 hotels in Ogulin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great price and location! Comfortable beds with plenty of heating or a/c. Food was good to very good in the restaurant and you cannot beat the prices compared to what we pay in Germany or France - excellent deal Great way to see Croatia off the beaten path. A real taste of a small mid-sized village. Love the Croatian Catholic culture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff very helpful and friendly. problem with the 1st room. changed right away. No fuss. food cooked well. Hotel run to a very high standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet could have been a bit richer. Nothing major to complain about, but i'd expect a bit more from a four star hotel.

    I really liked our room. The bathroom was excellent as well as the bed. Usually, i have problems with sleeping on hotel pillows, but i didn't have any issues with the ones supplied in our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the music playing at breakfast time. The rock/rap style did not create a nice atmosphere for morning and breakfast and the words in the music were inappropriate. Meals for a generál audience should be only accompanied by more peaceful inštrumentál music. No words. It was hard to know exactly where to park when i arrived and then also where to go to check in. I had to hunt for people which shouldnt be the case. You all should be looking for your guests so that they instantly feel welcomed upon arrival. This should be true in the restaurant also. Everyone was friendly when I found them. I just think I shouldnt have to find them. Perhaps more staff is needed and better signage.

    I enjoyed walking the area and experiencing part of a Croatian wedding. The staff were friendly. It was overall very auiet in the room even though there was a wedding at the hotel. The Air conditioning worked nicely. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Week and instable WiFi. Problems with airconditioning. Majority of windows viewing to the next wall. No lift. Toiletries are in unopenable packing. Some furniture has to be repair. Defective hairdryer.

    Free upgrade from double room to suit. Large suit with lot of space plus living room, but it is in the mansard, so strange layout and limited head room. Large corner bathtube with whirlpool function in the large bathroom. Comfortable bed. A small beverage cooler, safetybox. Very good restaurant and kitchen, rich breakfast. Stylist winetube. Very friendly staff! Good location in the city: on the main square, next to the fortess and to the canyon, but the city itself is boring.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, clean room with all modern facilities. Staff very professional and well trained. Noting is a problem. Breakfast and dinner generous and tasty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not a great selection for breakfast and there was no elevator in the hotel and the reception desk and rooms are on the first floor, not the ground floor.

    We were driving back from Northern Italy to Montenegro and Ogulin was a very convenient stop, the town square where the hotel is situated next to the castle ruins and museums was charming. Staff were helpful and pleasant. The food in the restaurant was not expensive and the restaurant was busy. The room was comfortable and clean and recently refurbished. We had no trouble parking in the car park at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning vent in our room was right above the bed which made it hard for sleep and yet without air con it was too hot.

    The hotel has lots of charm, great location and staff are great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are only minor negatives: In the bathroom the ventilator was very noisy, almost woke up the baby, it was controlled. The breakfast is below average.

    The room was normal, nothing special, this is what I expected. The staff is really friendly and helps wherever they can. Late check in was possible which is very positive. The location and the building is nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator from downstair ti reception (1st Floor). Not comfortable when you have heavy luggage.

    Overall okay , staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room and the availability of the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very good hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. Nice restaurant.If you need to go to Ogulin, excellent choice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception

    piscina

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was super!

    The Frankopan is a wonderful place to stay! I just recently spent 11 nights there. From the beginning we were treated like family. Anything we needed was taken care of with such graciousness. Ivanna, Milan, Kristina, Maja and all the wonderful employees were kind and helpful. Since I speak no Croatian. Do not fear many of the skilled employees can speak great English. We gave a small dinner party in the wine cellar with our new found family which was arranged beautifully. We asked for lamb and it was cooked to perfection! Our new family were very pleased with the wonderful dinner provided. The georgeous table setting provided by Kristina, along with her attention to detail with the meal. I along with my cousin visited Ogulin to find family that did not go to the USA in the early 1900's and with the help of all we found them. So with the wonderful accommodations of the Hotel Frankopan and the finding of our Croatian family, we could not have been more pleased. I hope to go back again and stay longer. I feel like I made true friends at the hotel. Thank you so much for all you did to make our trip perfect! We miss all of you already! Elane Salopek Spencer and Eric J Salopek

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We came in very late and the restaurant was closed but they saw that we were hungry so nthey cooked us a wonderful, simple meal with an absolutely fabulous local wine

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the hotel was situated next to a clock tower which chimed at every quarter hour! Not conducive to a good night's sleep.

    Spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slow service on reception and Rest. No real breakfast choice. Even if own parking other people there (while market in same street) and not stopped through Hotel!

    Quite good Restaurant and fair prices.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, very polite and nice stuff, great food especially pancakes.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was terrible, although we did have good cappuccino upon special request at no additional cost.

    Restaurant for lunch and dinner was very good

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The large rooms, great staff and wonderful food

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - WiFi didn't work in the room, although it mentioned WiFi all area. But not a big deal.

    - Room was very big!! - Nice staffs!!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: