Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Resort Funtana 3 stars

Valkanela 2, 52452 Vrsar, Croatia

#38 of 75 hotels in Vrsar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 994 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The main problem we had were the pool loungers. There was enough of them, however people would put towels over them really early in the morning and block them for the whole day, even without using them. So for people who would not like to wake up at 6:30am and stand by the pull till 8:00am to be first in the line to put towels on the loungers, there was no chance to use them. Then you just have to sit on a chair or the floor. I think the hotel should stop people of doing that. The other this is that the food was little too heavy. It was strongly orientated on the German clientele so you would get a lot of heavy meat, sauces etc. Sometimes the food could be better presented.

    It is a good hotel, clean and located next to the sea side. The only issue we had was that its not new any more and its little worn down looking, however its comfortable (well the rooms could be little bigger and the bathroom as well) however its sufficient for nice relaxing holidays.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An unpleasant surprise was absence of beach towels.

    The sea is few steps from the hotel. Hotel beach is small but clean and green. The rooms are equipped enough as for night resting. The food in restaurant is rich and different.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only croatian alcoholic beverages all non alcoholic drink was so sweet, we should put extra water into, no diet drinks dessert was not so tasty

    the beach, the pool, the surroundings all inclusive means you can use all accessories (mini golf, tennis, volleyball, badminton you can eat and drink all day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The rooms are small and basic - rather hostel rooms than hotel. The "cleaning" meant that the maid replaced the towels and took the garbage out. No cleaning or making beds for 10 days. The beds were not so important but we expected some degree of basic cleaning in the bathroom, for example, as we were not given any products so we could at least do it ourselves. For the price paid this would have been expected. If you're not a swimmer or you're going with kids, the beach is not a funny place. The concrete slab gets super-hot and the bottom of the sea is basically rocks and slippery boulders. Walking in the water is almost impossible - however, the water is clean and in case you get on your belly in the first meter or so and you manage not to scratch yourself on the rocks, you're home free. The animation by the pool is noisy until around midnight and, as the rooms are not really soundproof, you hear every bit of it. It did not bother us but if you're considering going with a smaller child this could be a factor to be taken into account. Going every morning to "mark" your sun-beds with towels in order to secure a place on the water front was a bit of a drag but this has little to do with the property itself and more with the other tourists. You could get some spots until about 9, after which it's getting tough! The pool sun-beds are clearly the property of Germans who queue from 8 a.m. to leave their towels. We never understood why would you prefer a boiling concrete wall-surrounded cauldron to the breezy and shady park by the sea, 50 meters away!!! The children pool has one water slide and that's it. The sun-beds here are on the same level as the ones from the big pool - you're up early, ok, you lay in bed later than 8, you stand and watch your kids! Again, we did not need it but we think this is hardly enough entertainment for some 2-3-4 years old kids.

    The location of the resort is good - 100m from the beach (concrete slabs, like 90% of the Croatian coast) and walking distance to a small village. All the staff was very friendly amnd helpful and it seems that the animation team (whose services we did not use, alas) was very warm and kind with the children. We found the food good and varied enough, if you're not looking for some gourmet-like menu. The water is clean and there is enough offers for activities if you wish to try (mini-golf, tennis, ping-pong, canoes, etc.) Nearby there is a picturesque town (Vrsar) where more activities and shops can be found, as well as alternative dining places. A/C (which is a must during some days in the summer) worked well. The animation dance shows in some of the evenings were nice and enjoyed by our daughter.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    simple old fashioned rooms, but you spent there just night and beds are OK... nothing special to mention

    environment, really good food and huge selection every day, facilities at the spot, good entry into the see

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    food is quite good, but sometimes the big taste and the variety are missing; but nothing to complain!

    nice location - close to Rovinj, Vrsar and Porec; beach with trees and therefor natural shodow; hotel is offering quite a lot of sports; for kids the trampoline is perfect;

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was low standard. It doesnt diserve 3*stars.

    Food and location were top.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom.

    Position, nature, staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    expensive

    friendly staffs!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good food, possibility of recreation, well maintained beach, swimming pool, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Quality of bread was not excelent internet conection was not in the bed room

    Meal with lots of vegetables, salads, Staff was verry friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in our room

    Kind staff, good food, many sport activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Cleanles in the rooms. Needed renovations.

    Near the beach. Sport activities. For 3 stars hotel good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Accommodation basic and dated. Room not serviced as frequently as should have been

    Location, Good Food & Great Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All things were fine : the location , the food , the staff . We could not ask more. Sara at the reception was very nice and polite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    goljufija - roberry

    hrana

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Roasting of beef. Always well done.

    Venue, excellent food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didnt like having to que up and wait for over an hour to get a table for the evening meal, Because the beverages were so cheap it attracted far to many elderly beer hungry Germans..!!!

    Breakfast & Pool bar excellent barman..

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Resort could not find our reservation, had to rebook us at a higher rate. Reception was not able to adjust rate to that of booking confirmation.

    Resort was nice. We relaxed and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Smoking around the swimming pool despite the fact that it was forbidden, area around the swimming pool was not wiped so the surface was slippy

    Food was really excellent, delicious, when you came late, there was still generous offer of meal, accomodation was good but I was little bit disappointed in comparison to adv pictures, but still OK

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not very friendly. We even heard the waiter/boss complaining how much bear guests drunk in one day (in all inclusive service!). Even if they thought that no foreign tourists can understand them, they should not behave this way. We stayed in this hotel after two years once again and it isobvious that the services are much worse now compared to two years earlier. We will not come back again.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing that could be improved is the condition of all hotel facilities. Everything is overused. Rooms could be renovated, sheets and towels could be replaced with new ones, sports facilities are outdated.

    Overall great value for money. We were a group of 12 people and there was something for everyone there. Food was the best

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The calm and peace of the place. We have had a wonderful holiday with our little daughter. And eat a lot of good stuff. The all-inclusive is kindly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The trip to Venice was advertised as all inclusive but there were many hidden charges. The rooms were a bit spartan and you had to pay to have wifi in your room, although the rooms were quite comfortable.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from the first moment we arrived. The bay that the resort is in is secluded and the water was pristine and clean. The time of year we chose (early June) was also not too hot, although we had 7 days of sunshine. The pool and sport facilities were excellent as well. We used the bicycles, kayaks and ping pong table, which were lots of fun. We were offered some excursions by an external company and they were quite good (Vrsar, Rovinj and Venice). The food was very good and there was an excellent variety. There was also some live entertainment and dancing in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fridge in the room.

    Location, room, food, pool, beach...everything

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The liver was too hard when cooked. The pizza was raw.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Incredible entertainment and location!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not worth for the money. Very old. We were located on the last building which is very old.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of wifi in rooms

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff and the location. Meals are fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    stairs to dining room, to room, to beach,... if you have stroller or bicycle is...

    Friendly staff varies food

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    all is simply excellent. Way to go !

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Children's proof power outlet covers recommended

    Food, location, personnel, very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    one day without swimming pool

    super all inclusive

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: