Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Villa Argentina 5 stars

Frana Supila 14, Ploce, 20000 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#14 of 54 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 847 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - they even packed up a breakfast for the 4 of us because our flight out was so early. The location could not have been better - the pool and the swimming area were incredible and a great end to our vacation. We could spend the mornings exploring and afternoon and evenings lazing in the sun.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    This property is in a great location however our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is in a great location however our room was small and tired. We expected a lot more for the price we paid. The bed was hard and almost impossible to sleep in. The air con did not work! Great views, great gardens and a good breakfast but rooms need updating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a view of a wall and no balcony which was a shame. Otherwise the hotel was lovely.

    The breakfast area was beautiful (lovely views). The food was lovely and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Stunning location makes up for some weaknesses
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant yellow lighting in room which flickered all night even after turned off. My room in the old part of the hotel was a bit dated but pictures are accurate. Bath plug did not seem quite clean as gunk came out when I pushed the plug in. Food and drink prices expensive but options good.

    Beautiful location with views out over the sea and city of Dubrovnik. 10 minute walk to the entrance to the old town. Reasonable selection at breakfast. Staff friendly. Enjoyed the welcome snacks delivered to the room! The pool area and views were just stunning and made up for other aspects of the property which did not feel quite so five star. Gardens also pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    A wonderfully elegant hotel with super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the gym wasn't working which made running off all the calories I'd consumed e tea hard work but the staff immediately reported the fault

    The staff were so helpful. We visited for my husbands 50th birthday and they couldn't do enough for us. Prosecco at breakfast and cake plus fizz in the room. The Victoria restaurant was sensational and our waiter so knowledgeable about the food and wine. Short walk (about 10 mins) into Dubrovnik which is a truly beautiful city. We will be back! Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    It should have been a lot better but it wasn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel front desk are generally unable to accommodate any changes and has no flexibilities. I would say 80% of my asks were no responses and maybe 20% was a yes response. Just not the best service attitudes. The personnel has no autonomy nor the flexibilities to make things right for guests.

    The property location and outdoor pool is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The staff are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are excellent. We could not fault the place. They went out of their way to make our stay superb during our wedding and we returned again on honeymoon. We are already booking our next stay there. Stunning hotel in a wonderful location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    They were very accommodating - booked airport transfer, boat excursion and gave us a late checkout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas could use some refurbishment. Some decor was a little tired but was all in good condition. One of our 4 rooms was next to service closet and the early morning maid service was noisy.

    Pool area is beautiful and short walk to old town was great. Nice buffet breakfast and comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Loverly views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spar and massage Center were very disorganised And it was not a very relaxing atmosphere.

    We decided to stay a week at the Grand Villa Argentina It is a lovely hotel with great views . The view from the breakfast balcony was fantastic The staff at breakfast were great and very happy and helpful. Food at breakfast was great and tasty with plenty of verity and healthy food. Nina our housekeeper was always happy and the friendlyest staf member in the hotel Marco at the front door was always happy and greated you with a smile and how was your day . The pool was a great way to cool of after a long trip away . We would stay again if ever in Dubrovnik.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We reserved a bedroom with king size bed but they didn't provide it to us. They tried to put two beds together but the blankets were not big enough! The maid was not very diligent at cleaning the bedroom.

    The location. The view is outstanding in general and breathtaking from the pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    One of top hotels in Dubrovnik the best hotels are to the east of the old town, easy walk to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at reception could be more friendly - the odd one a little starchy - however a large hotel so maybe that comes with the territory. All other staff very friendly and accommodating Next door at Villa Orsula booked dinner on 1st floor but gentleman there could not have been more unwelcoming and seemed indifferent. Place looked dead at 7:30pm so we cancelled our booking for the next day and ate at our hotel Argentina which was good. We discussed the unwelcoming manner of Villa Orsula waiter with another couple who agreed that they have been put off by this man's indifference. This is I must stress the property next door but a shame as in walking distance.

    Superb view from our room in main part of hotel overlooking sea. Lovely sunbathing area with attentive staff to position sunbeds, provide towels and bring drinks. Cordoned off area for hotel guests to swim in. Spectacular verandah for breakfast and amazing selection of food and drink choices for breakfast including bubbly if you so wished. Next door at Villa Orsula (separate property) just a walk away gorgeous bar again in spectacular setting with lovely bar man who is a real asset to the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay and I would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a - no specific complaints from our stay. We didn't try any of the restaurants/bars at the hotel so I don't have any specific comments on them. I thought the breakfast provided was adequate without being amazing, but that is my general view on European hotels - it felt in line with expectations.

    Fantastic location that's a 10 minute walk up the hill (up the roadway - no steps) from the old town. We booked the hotel when it was on a discounted room rate and this suited our needs perfectly. The pool area was lovely - a real bonus and beautiful setting just above sea-level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent beach and pool area, love the bathroom amenities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible. If the bed were better and the room nicer this would be a five star. But the bed was unacceptable. The mattress was so soft and old That I asked them to put a wooden board between the mattress and the box spring.

    Excellent beach and pool area, love the bathroom amenities, location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great views , great staff , comfy beds and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes a bit noisey as I like open windows and fresh air as I was just above one of the restaurants but it was worth it for the view and room I had .

    Great view from my room over the water and the old town which I requested when booking my room , breakfast was amazing and also had great views from top balcony . Staff were nice and friendly everywhere , very helpful staff at pool , beach and reception. Dinner was amazing at their Victoria restaurant and staff were again fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Excellent. Strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was incredibly attentive. Hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful and immaculately clean. Best views and close walking distance to old city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    probably the best balcony view in dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the main restaurant was completely lacking in atmosphere. the food was excellent but the surroundings were not up to 5 star standard.

    the bedroom was fabulous - we were upgraded to the old part of the hotel, which has lots of character and is very peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Location, curtesy and knowledge of staff,location close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs moall together excellentre light in the tunel leading to the beach

    Location, curtesy and knowledge of staff,location close to old town,old fashioned decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Love this place, can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a wonderful hotel, with amazing views of the walled in town of Dubrovnik, with a short stroll to the nearest gate. Nothing was to much trouble, everyone was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    A super conveniently located property with stunning views of the sea and old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym was a little bit small and had quite limited equipment and aircon was not working in there! Also room décor was quite old fashioned (but that is the style of the hotel rather than a negative comment). Complimentary bottled water was not provided (which is unusual for a 5* hotel). Outdoor pool was closed for works at the time of visit.

    The location of the hotel was perfect: 5 minutes walk to the old city and stunning views of the sea and old city from the breakfast terrace and back of the hotel. I was upgraded to sea view room which was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable and staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved L'Occitane products in the bathroom. Breakfast had a wide selection of items and the views of the sea and old city were beautiful. Would highly recommend and definitely would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, views & breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dark & decorations heavy. Bigger windows to take in views would be nice. Get rid of the overpowering air freshener in hallways.

    Great location just outside Ploce Gate, generous breakfast, waterviews from room and public terraces. Waterview rooms are worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    All amazing, beyond any dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all was just amazing

    We stayed in Villa Scheherazade :-) All was amazing, felt like movie star, beyond any dream, have to experience to believe...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great breakfast and beach area, wonderful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only complaint about the location/trip isn't the fault of the hotel. Just a heads up to future travelers - the walk into Old Town is down a steep hill on a narrow walking path. It was totally fine for us, however likely would be difficult for folks who aren't sure-footed or need something more handicap accessible. The hotel was very helpful with setting up travel accommodations, so I'm sure they could help anyone who needs assistance getting into Old Town! Also, all of the excursion stands will harass you to take their trips along the walk down. Which might be convenient if you want a trip to Mostar or Kotor or something, but it was pretty annoying otherwise.

    The room was spacious and comfortable, and the hotel was within walking distance of Old Town. The beach/pool area was very nice - the man who worked there (Nicki, if I remember correctly) was SO friendly and helpful. Wifi worked consistently, front desk was helpful in setting up any arrangements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Exactly as described on the website and we would highly recommend the sea view, top floor rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Top floor room with balcony provided stunning sea views. The staff were efficient and friendly. We would recommend the hotel restaurant meals which were superior to some highly rated restaurants in the Town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional and memorable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning...since it was April wasn't so bad but peak summer could be an issue.

    We stayed for 5 nights at Grand Villa Argentina to celebrate our daughter's first birthday. I have to say the hotel and staff were exceptional and provided us everything we could have asked for and more. From arranging a special doll cake to decorating the room, nothing was an issue. And more so the staff did it with a huge smile. I have to mention Antonia from Guest Relations for all her help and recommendations. She really made it possible for us to celebrate and enjoy our daughter's first birthday. She is a great asset to the hotel. It was an important trip and milestone for us and our baby and the hotel made it memorable for us. The location is fantastic walking distance to the walls and Old Town. Since it was April when we visited, the pool was closed but the location and view from pool is lovely. Overall great facilities, exceptional staff and a memorable stay!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Almost perfect location, a bit overpriced like everything else in Dubrovnik, but not by much.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna was out of order (and yet there is only one). Positive: it was recommended to use facilities at the nearby Excelsior hotel, so it was fine. Setback: 30 minutes before the check-out "room service member" entered the room unexpected, despite the "do not disturb" sign left.

    Location, the view, friendly staff always at hand

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel with marvelous views of the City Walls of Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Superb position overlooking the Old Town of Dubrovnik. Great breakfast, excellent variety of choices, with the marvelous views of the island of Lokrum and the City Walls. It takes only a 5 minute walk to the Old Town. The staff was great, everyone including the receptionist, room maid and especially Nikša at the outdoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel stay in Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast items were the same every day, suggest varying more Reception staff were slightly wooden, suggest asking them to appear more relaxed The in-room details was poor, would have appreciated a map of the premises and suggestions of things to do

    Great location, view of the old town and walking distance Staff are always on hand, very efficient and professional Room with sea view was stunning, loved waking up every morning Enjoyed the bathroom products

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location with a beautiful garden, views to the historic centre, lovely seaside pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay, the building and interiors are somewhat dated and the indoor pool area could do with some renovation.

    The outdoor areas are gorgeous. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Attentive, great breakfast and amazing views and so near to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We got upgraded!! It was my hubby bd and the hotel sent a little cake and a letter wishing him a great time so lovely ❤️🎂❤️! The in terrace person ( sorry can’t remember his name) was so lovely and attentive. Thank you for making us feel very special!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could complain about anything ready. Other than being slightly on the higher end of price. Decor a bit outdated & more free TV channels.

    Breakfast was amazing! Views are incredible. Only a 10 min walk to most attractions. Pool was fantastic. Staff was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    A delightful experience. Would be happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff friendly and attentive. Views from bedroom balcony lovely. Ate in both restaurants. Food exceptionally good and not overly expensive. Service excellent. We watched a glorious sunset as we ate. Delightful gardens and two super pools.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Location, cleanliness, and hospitality all perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Villa Argentina
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection could be slightly better for a hotel like this one but I might be a bit subjective (I missed proper ham). Bathroom facilities are a bit old and need to be refurbished, but still clean and functional (stayed in the old villa).

    Location, cleanliness, and hospitality all perfect. And great grounds with amazing views. Definitely coming back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location with beautiful views and a quality service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which is surprising with this calibre of hotel. But nothing else can be faulted.

    Lovely attentive and relaxed atmosphere. The staff made you feel that you were being well looked after. Good and plentiful breakfast. The extra touches make all the difference - sparkling wine with breakfast, chocolates at night and Occitane toiletries in the room. Beautiful location with nice grounds and wonderful views across to Dubrovnik old town. We also enjoyed having a sea view from our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    good location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - air-condition was not working, it was reported but no action was taken - bed mattress was not comfortable at all (soft) - TV system was not working for my entire stay (2 days), was reported but was told they're working on it

    location was the best thing about the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Fair accomodation with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - air-condition was not working, it was reported but no action was taken - bed mattress was not comfortable at all (soft) - TV system was not working for my entire stay (2 days), was reported but was told they're working on it

    Location is the real good value for the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice place if you dont mind smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as non smoking but smoke pervades the hotel. Guests smoking on the terrace restaurant during breakfast. Guests smoking on balconies all evening meaning balcony is useless and doors have to be kept closed unless you want to be breathing smoke. In fairness down town is no better

    Great location. Fantastic views. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location and a grand hotel but the old part needs to be renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not given a choice of whether to stay in the new or the old part. We paid about the same as friends staying at the Excelsior at the same time and our room in the old part was of inferior quality. There were just large puffy pillows-no small sleeping pillows on the bed

    The view from the room and the breakfast service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and relaxing. Perfect for two nights. Gracious staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even with the booking.com discount it was still a little expensive. So be careful of the Dubrovnik tourist trap.

    Location was perfect. Bed was super comfortable. Sea breeze was delightful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. They helped us a lot. We got a much better room than what we booked so that we could accommodate the baby bed that they kindly installed. We needed to buy something specific and they helped us so much to find a place where to buy it. The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, with stunning views and merely 10 min away from the old city (these 10 min are walking by the beautiful coast so totally worth it). The breakfast is lavish and the waiters were again so helpful with our small son. Thank you Grand Villa Argentina!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in every way, exceeded our expectations and can highly recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating in the rooms was too hot, nice if it was cold outside but the weather was warm so we did not need that level of heat.

    The food in the Cravelle Restaurant was exceptional!! Michelin Star 10! The staff were extremely engaging, polite, spoke perfect English and were always looking to see if they could do anything else for you, great service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    Views were gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are worn. Not value for money Breakfast for non carnivores basically non existent

    Views were gorgeous Nice staff Good accessibility with a short walk to Old Town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    breathtaking, stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe in the future some furnishing needs to be updated or renovated

    The staff was very nice an accommodating. The property is located at an excellent location right in the ocean very close to the old town of Dubrovnik. Everything is clean. Beds are compretable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    A quality hotel of old school with friendly staff that would need some renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cold water in indoor pool and not working sauna. Floor coverings in rooms require replacement.

    Perfect location with Lokrum island in front of you and old town in 1000 m walking distance and with public transport stop in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    As above ..... very memorable best hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Breakfast fantastic( loved a daily morning champagne on the beautiful terrace with such a view) Staff out of this world Hotel & Gardens with terraces to view over the sea were stunning. 10 min walk to old town of Dubrovnik Local bus & post box at the door. Unbelievable pool terrace with infinity pool right next to sea. Lots of beautiful quiet places to sit around hotel both inside & out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful! Truly special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband kept stubbing his toe on the door stop in the bathroom.

    The beautiful charm, romance and idyllic setting of the hotel. Very Grace Kelly! Amazing views and access to everything. The chocolates in the evening were a very nice touch and we brought some home for our son.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay close to oldtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise isolation could be improved in rooms on street side

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Some furnitures, parts are not in the best condition, but it is mostly aesthetic, doesn't effect your comfort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.8
    Way overpriced for everything. I’m staying in a lower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Villa Argentina
    • Stayed 7 nights

    we The staff on reception were particularly unfriendly. What happened to you neve Get a second chance to get a first impression?

    Room was nice and pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is located on a beautiful property on the seafront...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the coffee that was served at breakfast, but others in our group thought it was fine.

    The hotel is located on a beautiful property on the seafront just a few minutes walk from one of the entrances to the old city. Our room was very comfortable and we had an excellent dInner at the hotel's Victoria restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very traditional, the bathroom was nice but could be a little more modern.

    Absolutely stunning location. Well worth upgrading to the sea view with balcony as some of these rooms have the iconic view of the old town. Everything was great at this hotel, service, room, location, staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with great food, good rooms and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little further from Town than we had thought and the walk up the hill in the heat was a little uncomfortable.

    Staff were very helpful, food was wonderful and the rooms were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing and enjoyable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of any concern to us but the outside pool and sun bed area is immediately bordered by the Adriatic. I estimate the depth at the edge to be 10-12ft. Great for experienced swimmers but could not relax with children.

    Lovely view of the old city,which is only a short walk away. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Great location - next to beachside and 5 minutes walk from Old City of Dubrovnik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly chintzy decor for my liking, but not horrendous

    It's own private beach (rocks). Breakfast great. Staff attentive. Close to the Old City (5 minutes walk).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    The access to the old town was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room tea and coffee facilities.

    The access to the old town was very convenient. The views from the breakfast terrace and gardens were great. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Loved the location and staff- no complaints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for dinner not spiced or flavoured, so we found quite bland

    Amazing location and property on the Adriatic Sea. Food ok, great breakfasts and food by the pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    I wish i didnt have to leave
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    arguably the most beautiful city in the world, and one of the grandest hotels with the best view of the adriatic. amazing breakfast and one of the best pool areas I have ever seen. Being able to jump in the sea anytime you want is a treasure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    A Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Spent 3 nights here and booked a room with sea view and balcony. Woke every morning to amazing views. Rooms have everything you need. Beds very big and extremely comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and plenty of choice. Again amazing views from the breakfast terrace. We ate in the Victoria and Peruvian restaurants. Excellent menu with delicious food. Staff throughout our stay very helpful and friendly. Just a stroll down the hill to the old town and the wall. We will return again one day!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress is old

    We love Argentina Hotel in Dubrovnik. Great location! I have been their guest for years and I feel at home there. The room we liked is in the old building and the only thing I would complain about for the price they charge is the old mattress. With prices going up the way they are it might be time to upgrade rooms to justify for it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel in Dubrovnik -- very pricey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the price was too high for what we got. Although it was a 4-5 star hotel, it was very expensive.

    Beautiful facility, great room, very comfortable, first class amenities. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff were all very cordial and helpful. Parking was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Stunning gardens, sunsets at the very classy outside bar, looking back to beautiful Dubrovnik!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds as in Croatia too hard, but it didn't stop us from loving this Hotel.

    The position of the Grand Villa is fantastic as it's only a five to ten minute walk in and out of the madness of the walled town of Dubrovnik. The hotel has a beautiful old world class about it. Our highlight was the massages in the day spa which where wonderful and the cool old pool guy, so helpful and friendly, loved it here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    Overall, very disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrived to be shown to a dimly-lit dark, old fashioned room. Demanded a different room to be able to read and avoid getting depressed in the gloom. The alternative room was on the business floor. The room was shabby and looked out at a wall, pipework and a communal breakout area 2 metres, away so we had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy. The hotel was very expensive (5*) yet the quality standard fell well short. All the other hotels we stayed in were 4* and of a far higher standard. The reception staff were not welcoming (older staff), with the exception of the concierge - she was great and very helpful. This was supposed to be the highlight of the holiday, given the price!

    Sea water swimming pool and surrounding sunbed area, and the pool side attendants were pleasant and interacted well with the residents.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Little bit dated and expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at midnight after a delayed flight, the bar had literally just closed and we weren't offered any kind of refreshments after our rather long and tiring journey, the restaurants were also closed, so room service was our only option. I've travelled extensively and for the price you pay for this hotel I was expecting quite a high standard, maybe as it's so close to the old city thats why it's so pricey!?! The hotel is in need of updating and sadly our bathroom wasn't v.clean; dirty cotton buds on the bathroom floor and pretty sad shower! The bed wasn't that comfortable & tad lumpy. Regardless in the morning we were excited to see the views as it promised a great look out across the ocean, however the shutters were screwed tightly shut so we couldn't see a bean! The pool area is lovely but sadly no changing facilities, your only option is one v.cramped make shift cubicle with a flappy plastic curtain making privacy debatable! I know this review seems pretty harsh and if I was paying a maximum of 100 euros a night I wouldn't be so critical, but 300 euros a night I'd expected more.

    You can't deny the views from the terrace at breakfast are completely stunning, or the vistas over the sea by the pool area are just glorious. The terrace for luncheon again has great views and lovely food. Overall the scenery around this hotel is pretty breathtaking - so if it's just the views you're after this hotel won't disappoint.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay to celebrate my partner's birthday, the view from our room was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only small issue was that left luggage was kept in the hotel entrance rather than in a secure room.

    Excellent location near the old town. Good range of facilities in hotel including fitness centre and spa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    The staff were charming and helpful. The room with a balcony was nice and the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought that the bars and restaurant in the hotel were unwelcoming/impersonal (not the people, the building itself/décor). Apart from breakfast, we didn't have any meals at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    BEST Ocean Views, True Luxury - but at a cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a maze and the elevators are sometimes wacky. I alternated between taking the stairs and using the lifts depending on how long I wanted to wait and if it was a high traffic time. Sometimes they'll go in the opposite direction to pick someone up before heading the way you need to go. The restaurants in the hotel are a bit pricey, so don't be lazy -- for more authentic cuisine venture down the hill to Old Town and your wallet will thank you. Also, I'll never grow accustomed to two small beds pushed together into one.

    The views cannot be duplicated. This is one the most beautiful locations in the country and you will definitely feel the luxury when staying here. The pool is unparalleled and watching the sunset each night is a real treat. The cocktails at Victoria Bar are top notch, especially the mojito. The service throughout the hotel is friendly and attentive. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning and it was a wonderful way to start each day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing and a bit deceptive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel mainly advertises the historic buildings (the so called "villas"), but the largest building where most tourists get settled turned out to be the "contemporary" building (which is a concrete, soulless, 1980's building). So, be sure that if you choose this hotel, you reserve the historic buildings. I thought that I did, because on the Booking the building and rooms that were shown were in the old building. The room was extremely dated from decor to carpet (e.g. particularly old and dirty carpet - I was hesitant to step onto it barefoot; it felt like the sweaty foot of Napoleon himself was gracing the carpet and it has not been changed since). Also, the room was quite small (especially compared to the rooms shown as examples in Booking). Despite the views, I was gravely disappointed with the hotel and will not stay there again.

    View from the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great staff would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. No irons in the room? Room probably needs a bit of a facelift

    Proximity to the old town and views were beautiful. Pool area amazing. Pool staff fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Hotel and staff excellent but weather at 36 degrees hard work for a Northern european.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel stay was paid for by my son as a gift so I've no opinion to offer on value for money. I suspect we might have targeted a cheaper accommodation option had we been paying for it.

    the swimming pools and access to sea swimming. The attitude and professionalism of staff. Easy walk to old city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    A little gem - would strongly recommend it for a stay near to Dubrovnik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good choices at the buffet breakfast which was served on the terrace with outstanding views. Easy walk to the old town. Helpful staff at the reception desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    What a gorgeous property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room – Villa Argentina
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a gorgeous property. We absolutely loved the location and the wonderful staff. Food was great, nicely presented. The restaurant for dinner was also exceptionally good and a friendly staff. We had dessert and drinks one evening in the piano bar and service there was as good as anywhere else in the hotel. We would love to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    We got an upgrade to Villa Orsula for this 1 day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general this 1 day of upgrade stay was a nightmare.On breakfast I ordered french toasts and got them with mold!I really mean it-all covered with mold! Our room door got blocked 2 hours before the check-out and we couldn't get in , we called for a lift boy to carry our luggage at noon but no one came.I got my minibar bill charged 2 times from 2 different cards.And a final one: I tried to contact the Hotel per email but got totally no response. All I want to say is that if you make an upgrade and as a result I get such an attitude- maybe it's better not to make any?

    We got an upgrade to Villa Orsula for this 1 day.Great room and great room view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Really did not want to leave Dubrovnik or Hotel Argentina. Concierge extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night room tiny & awning over balcony malfunctioning, mini fridge not working, laundry draw cord jammed, tub drain slow. Changed rooms for next 2 nights of visit & completely satisfied. No extra charge (already over $400/night more than 2x our typical hotel travel budget). Breakfast on outside terrace overlooking pristine sea, boats, old city was delightful & so plentiful we skipped lunch everyday.

    Perfect location for walking/touring walled section & taking tram up for sunset photos. Splurged for balcony room w/glorious views of Adriatic & islands. Sunbathing & swimming in sea from stone decks equipped w/longue chairs & towels a real treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Probably the best place in Dubrovnik close to old town including all the negatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff attitude (help yourself - general in croacia) , except coffee/restaurant place in the gardens where the staff was excellent

    beautiful gardens, beautiful location, beautiful view, new room with balcony in top floors excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent, property with pool and ocean access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was under the roof and had slanted ceilings which made it small and a bit hard to use - my daughter took the part with more slanted ceilings and bumped her head a few times. But we loved the small balcony.

    Breakfast was excellent, property with pool and ocean access great. We were upgraded to Villa, staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location for visiting old town Dubrovnik, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Victoria restaurant was a real disappointment. Overrated and pretentious. The waiter managed to talk me out of every fish dish on the menu, telling me the tuna was not from the Adriatic, the monkfish had no taste, carefully steering me to the kitchen's specialties: the ceviche (which might have been good except the cucumber was bitter as they kitchen forgot to detox it) and the LomoSaltado steak which was full of gristle (three big pieces), smothered in a sauce which tasted of raw onions. Hardly gourmet dining :-(.

    The staff were very helpful and efficient, especially the lady at the front desk. The fellow who works at the pool area, Nicky, is friendly, pleasant and very hard working. The staff at the Beach Bar were great - friendly, efficient and quick. The food at the Beach Bar and room service was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location in the city, free parking cross the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room – Villa Argentina
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location in the city, free parking cross the street, and the view of the seaside really nice in the morning and night. In the day, you can enjoy the sea, but little freezing in the Jun. But, the Bed in the room is so soft, not like it.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: