Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kompas 4 stars

Kardinala Stepinca 21, Lapad, 20 000 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#3 of 54 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1102 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My only hiccup was the carpets everywhere in the hotel which triggered some allergies. :( Otherwise nothing major to declare.

    Lovely hotel in a great location. We were minutes away from a lovely family friendly beach. The new port and the Old Town were also within reach. This made our stay ideal as we could disconnect from the crowded areas and relax by the pool/at the beach but also get to main touristy parts within minutes (10 min cab ride with no traffic). Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were lovely especially the waiting and bar staff. The view from the hotel lobby and bar is really impressive. Fans of minimal modern decor will like Kompas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was amazing, from the staff to the food. Didn’t realise the hotel was in a such great location, I couldn’t have picked a better hotel if I tried. Located in the lovely lapad bay, promenade just outside filled with restaurants and bars. Top of the promenade is the number 6 bus which takes u straight to the old town. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a local recommendation for dinner and the member of staff we asked wasn’t overly knowledgeable so we ended up with a poor meal, but that’s my only critique during our stay.

    The hotel design was excellent, modern, clean and minimalistic. The staff were friendly and the setting was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was perfect - nothing we did not like really.

    Hotel is perfectly located away from the hustle and bustle of the old town, well connected with centre, has a great pool area and lobby but above has got really polite staff! Definitely will return! We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are brilliant, very friendly, can't go enough for you. Location is great as quiet but plenty of life nearby. Would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff appeared indifferent to guest satisfaction. The breakfast was poor for a hotel of this star rating. Was a shame as it’s an expensive hotel and we had high hopes which were dashed. Despite the lovely new decor and views I’m sure there are better options for this money at Lapad.

    Great seaside location and convenient taxi ride to the old town. Our room was well appointed and comfortable. The view from the reception is truly amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault, and this is me really picking at something is that for breakfast there were no baked beans and that the swimming pool is freezing - but that’s literally it!

    This hotel is absolutely amazing. The views from the lobby are fantastic. It’s modern, clean and a 10 minute Cab journey for the beautiful town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't normally review hotels but really liked Hotel Kompas! Lovely modern room, great breakfast, great location, very accommodating staff. Not bad value either

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit overpriced.

    Located in the lapad area which is away from the crowds at old town but easily accessible by Bus - the stop is a 10 min walk away. Plenty of Cafes around the hotel. A nice pool and gym as well. Slightly overpriced but a good stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To corporate and overly priced for what it is. Suitable as a corporate hotel but not for single people on holiday.

    Location is fantatic. Food and staff good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes music from bar opposite was loud when in higher level room, ( 6th floor).

    Excellent breakfast selection. Rooms cleaned every day. Excellent location, beach 2 minutes away, good selection of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds slightly firm. No bathroom shaving mirror. Hard to find something to dislike.

    Four star hotel 5 star service. Views amazing watching sunsets. Excellent breakfast which we ate outside. Stunning cool design of whole hotel.Well designed rooms. Good location by beach and not far to walk for bus to Dubrovnik old town. We loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great hotel, lovely staff (especially Pero who took care of my allergies during breakfast), amazing breakfast buffet (with gluten free products and soya milk) and perfect location. The hotel is located near a lovely promenade by the sea where they are few lovely bars and restaurants. I would definitely come back to this hotel if I am ever again in Dubrovnik.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu wasn’t very varied. Offering a shuttle service to the old town would be adventagious rather that an hour walk or paying for Taxi/ubers

    Bed was comfy and very elegantly decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. Food at the restaurant was unfortunately very disappointing, which is a shame as the restaurant design, staff, terrasse and view are perfect. The food we had for dinner just lacked complete taste.

    Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings. Quality design and friendly staff. Super to have both an indoor and outdoor pool, as well as a spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very clean and modern hotel with very polite and professional staff. Very good room service and breakfast. Very quiet rooms and comfortable beds. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service food is very expensive and not good at all. The wifi is slightly slow

    The location was amazing The staff was extremely friendly Everyone speaks fluent english The room and the view is impeccable The breakfast is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    What's not to like??

    The room was exceptionally clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choice both cooked and continental. The only problem was that the bed was so comfortable that it was a difficult decision to get up. Dubrovnik Old Town is just a 10 Minute bus ride away with lots of things to see and lovely restaurants to eat in (what else) All in all a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa pool is usually warmer

    Breakfast buffet was very good Wonderful panorama from the lobby bar and specially the reception area The architecture The art and design all over the hotel The details in design and style The staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cats around the tables outside. Waited at the bar to be served for at least 10 miniutes as they were more kean to service the corporate clients which were doing a course there.

    The swimming pool area and the spa area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little details in the room (tv cable tangled and messy) and the reception staff seemingly not too helpful when it comes to organising tours, transportations etc.

    The location nearby cafes and beach (although pebbles beach). The view is amazing too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiling water for tea at breakfast not boiling. Had to constantly ask for booking. Porridge not hot and long delay in getting it heated.

    The chocolates delivered to room every pm. Staff wonderfull. Little extras like peanuts and snacks in bar with drinks each nite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not stock enough leaflets about things to do in the local area. However this is only a minor detail, everything else was fantastic.

    The views were amazing, the breakfast was great and the staff were really helpful. The spa was a bonus too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was a little high and I tried to fix it, but we just slept on top of the bed covers instead. Also, we were overcharged from what we were told on booking.com but the staff looked into it straight away and rectified the error. Thank you Ana-Marija!

    Location was good, breakfast buffet was excellent and the rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For instance, unreasonable prices of taxi serves, and poorly organized public transport that connected hotels area and old town. In addition, unkind staff of Dubrovnik airport created bed impression. Nota bene, there was not crowded period. We have done a tour round old city walls. To make a break (we are older people) and continue sightseeing with already paid tickets was not possible. Usually, drop in – drop out is recognized round the world, but not yet in Dubrovnik. Finally, food in the greater part of restaurants is too expensive for the quality they offer.

    The accommodation in hotel Kompas was indeed pleasant. However, the other impressions regarding Dubrovnik as a touristic destination are not as good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    i stayed for 6 nights there, very modern and clean friendly and helpful. direct by Lapad beach take 4(Bus) to the old city everythings good sunset there, just amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was quite cold and the steam room was out of use the whole time we were there.

    The breakfast was great. The hotel was really modern and clean. The staff were all really helpful and happy and even delivered a birthday cake (completely unprompted) to our room to help celebrate my boyfriends birthday!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much, the only complaint would be the Air con in the room didn't appear to be working great.

    Great location looking over the bay, close to a Taxi rank & the no.4 bus stop, safe feeling to the area, away from the hustle of the town, staff are friendly & always helpful, breakfast has a good choice to choose from. A good location for a family with kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fantastic hotel with beautiful views of the bay! Very central location. The staff were so friendly and helpful always checking to make sure everything was ok- from the recpetionist, to the waiters / restaurant managers. The Zenith bar was a lovely place to watch the sunset with some drinks. Breakfast was EXCELLENT! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was fairly close to shopping strip to walk but on a one way street so much longer to get back around to the hotel via taxi.

    Gorgeous view and quiet area to stay Staff were friendly and accommodating Very clean and new hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Air con system was not in full operation. This is apparently activated fully for the high season. Not a major issue but would have been good to have as the room can get very warm at night.

    The staff were amazing! Absolutely fantastic service, very friendly and helpful. The hotel has an amazing view of the sea and is only 10min taxi ride to old town, which cost us about £5/6 with Uber.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have preferred a double bed instead of two singles combined.

    Staff were excellent! Really made every effort to ensure your stay was enjoyable. Hotel was superb - would recommend to anyone visiting Dubrovnik

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking attendant rushed us out after checkout... other than this - could not fault our stay at all

    staff fantastic, room super clean, great breakfast. Recommend catching the bus to old town... only 10 minutes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff seem not so friendly to oriental guests, which makes me feel a little different from what i saw about the hotel, including its good facilities, food, view and the whole Dubrovic city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was here celebrating my birthday and happened to mention that when I checked in. Upon returning to my room the following day, I found a piece of yummy cake, with a candle and a note from the Manager wishing me a happy birthday! I have celebrated my birthdays all over the world, and have never before received such a thoughtful, heartfelt gift from the hotel. That extra touch really put my stay at Hotel Kompas over the top!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is impossible to find a garage without help from the staff. The visual communication is terribly done.

    Great selection of food at breakfast. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and wonderful staff (looking forward to omelette and banana bread during our stay). Our room was very clean and had a wonderful view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant Maitre'd was suprisingly quite unsimpathic and giving out not really nice vibe. On the contrary ,The lady from the Omlette station was really nice and positive.

    Everything was perfect! We stayed at a room with sea view that was breathtaking. Grebeni (reef rocks) nicely seen in their beauty from the balcony. Amazingly designed, newly refurbished/rebuilt hotel meets all your needs. Indoor swimming pool, bars gym and spa.... Rich breakfast in extended time frame was quite good. Every evening Bajadera for good night (bajadera - croatian original sweet).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel Kompas is located overlooking Lapad Beach and is a beautiful hotel; well maintained, clean and very comfortable. During my stay, staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was a lovely selection of fruit, yogurts, cheeses, breads along with good coffee and eggs prepared as requested. Lovely!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull room with a nice view , excellent service, great breakfast. As it was my birthday during our stay, the hotel surprised me with a birthday-cake!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels like a convention hotel ! Not really relaxing. Too big for our taste . Too many bus tours

    Nice rooms with a view ! Amazing sunsets The concierge was super helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't fault the place.

    Absolutely love the place. Staff are efficient and courteous. It is clean. Great facilities. Food is lovely. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Smoking allowed in eating/drinking areas, sorry this is a bugbear of ours!

    We were greeted with roses and a bottle of bubbly as celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Stayed for 10days. Hotel staff very friendly and always helpful. Hotel very comfortable and relaxing and close to beach, supermarket, bus stops, taxi rank and restaurants. Also treated to chocolates every night. Breakfast staff new within a few days what our drinks preferences were!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee! Filter coffee has a certain cheap taste and it would be SO much better if guessed could request a cappuccino or flat white at breakfast. Also the bacon was too greasy.

    Loved the egg dishes and the variety you have at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views, a skip from the beach if you want to soak in the Adriatic sun & sea, clean and spacious rooms and just 10 min bus or Uber ride from old town - perfect for those who want a little more quiet!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant. Excellent for breakfast, ok for lunch, but too large, light and 'clinical' for intimate anniversary evening meals for two. You need an additional small, intimate boutique/bistro option (or section of the main restaurant - with a 'warmer' atmosphere than you have at present.

    Comfort, Facilities, Convenience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This has to be one of the loveliest hotels we have ever stayed in. The facilities within the hotel and the local area were all excellent and the views from the hotel - especially sunset - were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the buffet dinner one night and it wasn't bad. There was enough variety to choose from but when it came to the desserts we were sadly disappointed. Everything on offer looked quite unappetising and tasted even worse. No coffee and tea making facilities in the room. No bathrobes nor complimentary slippers. Mattress not that comfortable - a little too hard.

    Although this hotel is located a fair way out of town, it's a wonderful location opposites a great beach with spectacular views. There were also lots of restaurants, cafes and bars to choose from around the hotel. Also lots of places to go for a pleasant short or long walk along the each and Lapad Bay. We caught the bus into town and it was a very pleasant walk to the bus stop from the hotel. The hotel is very modern and very well appointed. Lovely outdoor pool overlooking the beach with plenty of space to relax and watch the world go by and a bar to cater for your every need. There's also an indoor pool but the water was far too warm for us. Although quite expensive, we loved our two night stay at the hotel. The deluxe double room with balcony and sea view (#513) was just the right size and had great views towards the beach and Lapad Bay. Breakfast was quite good with plenty to choose from and a great view overlooking the beach. We had to leave very early on our day of departure and since we couldn't have breakfast the hotel will prepare breakfast box to go if you ask them. Last and by no means least, the waiting staff were all wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nice area, a 15 minute taxi to dubrovnik town centre. clean hotel, gave us 2 single beds as a double. nice spa reasonable breakfast and a few nice restaurants locally

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immaculate hotel, comfortable bed and good sized room with cream carpets Breakfast offers plenty of choice. Great location Dubrovnik old town a 15 minute bus journey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was clean and modern.Staffs were friendly.Location was good,beach was right outside the hotel.Restaurants were all around the hotel.Nothing to complain about

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beach was meh, but hung out at the pool

    The rooms were beautiful and the sea view was so great. The hotel literally has everything you could want and feels very boutique-y. Perfect for a group of young women! There's even a delicious gelato shop right next door!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a triple room, superior deluxe, we didn't get that, we got a double room with camp bed, we paid for a sea view but initially didn't get one, we were looking at s wall, however after complaining they moved us to a sea view room which was amazing but still was only stsndard double and not triple,

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast was not very nice. Preferred to order individual cup of latte.

    Friendly staff, large Hotel room, great sea views, very good breakfast buffet, tea/coffee in room, large bathroom. Hotel in lovely bay with numerous bars and restaurants. Near bus to Dubrovnik just 15 mins journey. Amazing sunsets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was pristine clean but chilly! A positive but also a bit or a challenge getting in at first.

    Location, staff were fabulous, lifts great for those wanting to avoid steps, proximity to restaurants, beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door difficult to lock and unlock

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful if needed quality of food excellent Hotel having beds on beach allocated for guests FOC with towels was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making cocktails seems to be a challenge in Croatia generally and this hotel is no exception. You'll get Margarita-ish, Mai-tai-ish .,,but it is delivered with good intention and service.

    The hotel is modern with a calm colour scheme,large rooms and modern well designed bathrooms. The bar has great views out to the sea and the restaurant is next to the beach promenade. Staff are helpful and accommodating. Food is nice, not great, there is a lack of finesse in the kitchen .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having stayed in similar hotels across Europe, the very minor negatives are as follows: 1) No table service around the pool area which we have had elsewhere. Staff generally were not as attentive as other hotels we've stayed in - albeit they are all friendly and helpful once you have their attention. 2) Pool area is small and limited beds with sun - can be reserved if you get there early and we always managed to get a bed. 3) Breakfast was a little limited - for example, no smoked salmon and limited and unknown brands of cereal. The standard of coffee generally was below what you would expect in France/Italy. 4) No Nesspresso coffee machine in the room. As I say, these are all minor. The only major disappointment was that the Lapad Bay Beach which the hotel overlooks has been renovated and is mostly concrete, earth and wire (25 August 2017). Whilst I am sure this will improve once the plants bed in, it is not attractive to be on or look at and they have installed a powerful sound system (oddly, in the flower beds) which pumps out the same loop of average dance music which was audible in our hotel room until late one night. This incongruous manmade party beach was 20% full and not in keeping with the otherwise serene Hotel Kompass. Having said that, there are plenty of beautiful beaches within a short walk/drive of the hotel.

    Cannot fault the atmosphere, styling or cleanliness of the hotel lobby, upstairs bar (great sundown views with cocktail in hand) or bedroom which had one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in (sea view, superior). We had a bottle of fizz and personalised letter for our wedding anniversary awaiting us in the room which was a nice touch. They also deliver delicious chocolates to the room daily - much appreciated. The staff were all unfussy and helpful. The a la carte food in the hotel is good quality if not cheap (nothing is in Derovnik) and the nightly live music was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is positioned on the Lapad Peninsula (15 min drive from Old Town madness) and has good access to bars (Hotel More Cave Bar and terrace - 2 min walk), restaurants (Restaurant Casa next door, Restaurant Komin 15 min walk) and beaches (Coral Beach Club 20m walk).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff sometimes unfriendly mostly at desk. Am gentleman in restaurant was wonderful and helpful. Didn't like that housekeeping kept coming into room when you were there and when they cleaned the room they never took away a dirty coffee cup or water glass.

    Clean. Very comfortable beds Beautiful area- lots of terrific breakfast choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found the staff to be a little standoffish and not as friendly as other places we stayed where we paid a lot less. Bar staff were very friendly and accommodating. I booked a spa appt and they put me in a room . After id basically stripped off someone came in and said they had put me in the wrong room and they needed to move me . I stood in the hallway with just a towel on while they prepped another room. Because of the distance of the hotel from Dubrovnik town it would have been nice if shuttles could have been organised a few times a day for guests.

    Beautiful well appointed hotel . Great amenities. Beautiful pool with good pool service from the bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find something not to like. The pool seemed a bit dead and didn't have much of a view from the loungers, but it was still a great area. The service was also slow at the bar next to the lobby.

    Beach was right next door with loungers and towels for hotel guests. Hotel was very modern and beautiful. Room was the most comfortable and accommodating of all 3 hotels we stayed at. Big comfy bed, lots of storage and a great bathroom with bathrobes and slippers. Spa was really affordable and had 20% happy hour between 11-2 everyday so we took advantage and raved about our massages. Breakfast was not as abundant as other hotels but the food they had was really good and we loved that we could sit outside on the patio here. Also nice that this location was close to other restaurants and shops in case you didn't want to stay at hotel or go into Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool is small but it is right next to the beach and swimming in the sea was lovely.

    Our room was lovely. Two balconies with fabulous views. The top floor bar was a fabulous place to have cocktails and watch the sun set. Breakfast was very good: lots of choice and happy to cook poached eggs to order. It's a very luxurious hotel. The outdoor pool is small but we used the indoor one and often had it to ourselves. We also swam off the rocks to the right of the hotel rather than use the beach. There's a great cave bar off the path to the right of the hotel. The staff work hard and are very professional. This was a lovely treat for our final 4 nights in Croatia. We travelled with our 16 year old son who really liked the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one day where pool was closed, otherwise very nice!

    The location was perfect, short bus ride to Dubrovnik . Staff in restaurant very nice , especially the very tall Manager . Nice room, balcony with view of the sea . Lovely!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor criticism was the cleaner never took away any rubbish in the balcony or washed the crockery which had been used

    Very nice hotel in a great location right near a lovely beach. The hotel had a private area on the beach with loungers and beach towels. The room was a great size for four people although didn't have a sea view. The pool area was nice and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was varied and co weed vegetarian and vegan requirements.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!!

    Loved staying at this hotel. It was in a fantatic location, we had everything at the hotel that we needed so we didn't have to leave. The hotel upgraded us with was amazing and they also sent a birthday cake and note to the room on my birthday which was a nice touch. Dinner was amazing and so was the pool overlooking the beach!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't stay long enough!

    Fabulous location overlooking picture postcard bay, adjacent to beach; felt very spoilt as soon as we arrived and saw the view from reception. Able to dine on seafront. Beautiful looking hotel, lovely, friendly, helpful staff. Amazing facilities with pools, gym, spa; wished we could have stayed longer to experience more of what hotel had to offer. On our travels this was a stand-out hotel and location, making us want to return one day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast options could have been better, could have been a little bit better quality of products for such a hotel.

    Hotel has their own beach and you don't need to pay for the sunbeds and umbrellas. Rooms' isolation is really good, you don't really hear a lot of noises from outside or the other rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do free shuttle to old town Bigger sunbed area would be handy

    Breakfast very good. Location brilliant. Good selection of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the quality of the food should be improved. Breakfast is very good but lunch and dinner are not as good.

    The hotel is just wonderful. A 25 minute drive from the airport, located on a very beautiful bay with an easy access to the beach where the hotel has its own reserved space. The hotel is new, the staff are very kind a professional, everything works impeccably. I would certainly stay here again. Well done!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel and Dubrovnik in general is not cheap. There are areas in Croatia where you can do a very cheap holiday but Dubrovnik requires cash. The evening meals (including 1 bottle of wine) worked out at £130 for 3 people on average !!

    The hotel is excellent. Great staff, good facilities including modern, working gym. Most days no problem getting sun beds and brolly next to the pool. The food was good and it is in a great location with fantastic views of the bay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not so quiet: it is located nearby a busy beach. Staff not always friendly or helpful (except at the restaurant where the staff was very friendly) Beds are just ok in terms of comfort The quality of the food is disappointing: there is a large choice for breakfast but nothing is savoury, the room service is slow, the burger does not contain a proper piece of meat, unbelievable for a four star hotel. Make sure you ask for a sea view, otherwise you will have a view on a wall which is quite disappointing. Last but not least, Recent buildings, bars, have just opened on the beach, they broadcast loud sound music from noon until late at night, forget about the peaceful rest you hoped for by the pool, by the sea or on your room balcony. It even ruins the daily evening concerts organised by the hotel on the terrasse. What a Waste!

    Nice room Nice hotel well renovated Nice bar at the top of the hotel with nice view Nice pool The terrasse where breakfast is served offers a very nice view, there are tables for every customers Nice sea water Convenient access to the beach Convienent access to the bus to reach the old town Hotel located near a nice walk along the seashore Technically problems with the aircom were sorted out quickly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One morning we were awoken by a staff member ordering us to evacuate the hotel due to a fire. This was not a drill as there was smoke throughout the hallway and also the reception area. This could not be helped but what was slightly concerning was the fact that no alarm went off and we relied on a staff member coming into our room to wake us up and tell us to leave. On the other hand the staff were all very nice and calm during this and brought us drinks outside the hotel and also informed us that breakfast on the ground floor was still being served and we could make our way down to the ground floor via adjacent stairs to the hotel. we were allowed back into our room around an hour later and there was still a strong smell of burning plastic. They did not provide a reason for the fire when when asked, only that the issue had been rectified and would not occur again.

    Good sized and comfortable rooms which were very clean, you could tell the hotel was fairly new. There was building work taking place on the beach near the hotel and as our room/balcony overlooked this beach, Hotel Kompas provided us with a complementary bottle of wine and also the opportunity to use the outdoor facilities at another local 5* hotel which was very accommodating. The staff were very helpful and friendly upon arrival and throughout our stay. There was a wide selection on offer at breakfast which was good quality and there was also a further menu available for lunch or snacks throughout the day. There was also a small gym available to use along with sauna and steam room if you wanted time out the sun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    like everything.

    everything was better than expected. I would have enjoyed more a beach /sea water that I could easily access from hotel. I am not used to or able to walk on the large stones. I loved the simplicity and tasteful architecture and decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    The hotel was very luxurious. The hotel had used the work of an artist to inspire its decor and this made it really special, unique. The beds were very comfortable, rooms relaxing, clean and beautiful. The infinity pool overlooking the bay was lovely. The 'Lunar bar' and reception areas were exceptional. I would return there in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the beach was closed (on constructions) when we arrived and the hotel did not gave us that information, we have requested a room with sea view but from the balcony we only had half sea view, because we had big trees in front of the window. the breakfast was not as we expected, pancakes were always cold, poor selection of yogurt (no Greek yogurt that is very good in Croatia), no cakes

    the swimming pool with very good location and view, clean and staff always available. the air conditioner of the room was very good without doing to much noise and the windows blocked the exterior sound. the hotel placed a birthday cake in my room on my birthday without any request :)

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: