Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Croatia hotel reviews
  3. Dubrovnik-Neretva County hotel reviews
  4. Dubrovnik hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Kompas

Reviews of Hotel Kompas This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kardinala Stepinca 21, Lapad, 20 000 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#4 of 58 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1233 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.0
    I would not visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of water pressure in shower, uncomfortable crack in bed, unfriendly staff (every question/request you have - they seem annoyed you are asking), including the restaurant staff. I felt guilty asking for a cappuccino with breakfast. The breakfast buffet was the same every morning (recycled food from the day prior), the expensive NYE buffet was despicable...all the meat was dry - lack luster. Another issue, we were locked out of our room because the battery on the door was dead, we went to reception 3 times to sort out the problem, not one “hey - sorry for the inconvenience.”I had very high hopes for this hotel and didn’t mind spending the money, but this was not worth the cost. You also must factor in 10-15 euro roundtrip taxi to get to/from Old Town. All in all, the hotel was OK (it has potential), but the lack of friendliness was really off putting. The only staff I saw smile were the cleaning maids?!

    I liked having a balcony and the spa facility was nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and it was what i expected,nobody...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were friendly and it was what i expected,nobody really went above and beyond.It was my first time in croatia and i loved it.Hotel Kompas was really nice and good to me,will consider staying again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.6
    Great way to escape Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As with most places the booze prices are a ripoff.

    Excellent room. Large. choice for breakfast ( quality was adequate). Very good price and quality special menu for dinner. Staff were all very competent, spoke excellent English and were very helpful and friendly. The coffee and apple strudel in the 10th floor bar, as the sun set, were not to be missed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    10
    Perfect rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect rest. Nice and clean environment, nice fragnance in the rooms and great view. Very kind service and great atmosphere. I’ll get back for sure!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.6
    New, modern, Super clean, and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was ok, but there were not many various choices of food. I hope nuts should be changed to fresh ones. Especially walnut was off. On the other hand, dinner was great and staff was very friendly.

    New, modern, Super clean, and kind staff. Underground garage is very safe. Welcome snack from the reception and evening chocolate. Everything was convenient. Walking along the beach was also nice. Good relaxing place. Very close to get to the old town by car.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    10
    The views from our balcony overlooking the Adriatic Sea is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all about the hotel, probably something to note is that many restaurants are closed in the winter season and there aren’t many restaurants that are open around the hotel, hence we had dinners in the Sphere restaurant within the hotel all 3 nights. Fantastic service too.

    The views from our balcony overlooking the Adriatic Sea is simple stunning! Loved waking to this amazing view every morning. If you ever get a room with balcony facing the sea, do catch the sunset, it was one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen. The hotel staff were so lovely to arrange a surprise for us knowing we were on our honeymoon. The chocolates they gave us every night were delicious! The beach is just right outside the breakfast room and the beach walk is perfect for a morning or evening romantic stroll.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    Very nice, clean, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very nice, clean, comfortable room. Beautiful view from the balcony, the whole hotel was smelling really nice. We would definitely book it again

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    6.3
    Fair place to stay in the vicinity of old town, but not the reason to visit Dubrovnnik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Renovations during our stay. Moldy bathroom and room showing signs of many stays, probably why the renovations. Still we didn't like contractor crew in the room next door. Also someone was regularly smoking in the hallways, probably the construction crew.

    Free pool and sauna, excellent breakfast, free garage to park our car and an awesome view.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather!

    The room was excellent. Your staff was very thoughtful leaving a cake in my room for my birthday! Nov 20. ...I will remember that forever. Tomislav at your reception desk was very professional. I commend all your staff for a job well done.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    8.8
    Beds are really comfortable and the view is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In two and a half days I stayed there, housekeeping did not replenish shampoo or shower gel, and they didn't take out the garbage. Finding the garage reminds me of some escape rooms I played in.

    Beds are really comfortable and the view is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    First of all the staff always with a smile in their faces...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    First of all the staff always with a smile in their faces and ready to support is in all what we needed. The location was super good. Parking easy, bus to the old town 5 minutes from the hotel and easy to go to other cities. The room was amazing! Lobby, lounge and restaurant as well. We absolutely love the hotel, recommend it and wish to stay longer or come back soon!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went on the 19th October for 4 nights and on our last day it seemed like the hotel was winding down for the winter. Which was a shame as the weather was still nice and paying guests were still staying at the hotel.

    Good location. Good facilities and staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    A great holliday place in october.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain.

    Very nice room, modern, cleaning was excelent, great view over the bay, very good breakfast and restaurant, good location to enjoy beach and walks on corniche, shops and restaurants in the area, underground parking, only 80 k taxi to old city, good wifi internet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    The style and location of the hotel is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double bed had two mattresses, which for a couple was uncomfortable in the middle.

    The style and location of the hotel is fantastic. The breakfast was also exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Great stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great service and super staff always with a smile. Big and good selection for breakfast with nothing missing. Hotel restaurant offered package bundles which was great. No need to pre-buy half board. Nice spa with two saunas (finnish and steam) as well as indoor pool which was not very crowded so a good place to get some rest. The hotel also have a nice outdoor pool overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel at a good location,but the place is lacking warmth
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff wasn't the most customer friendly, in general somewhat clinical appearance of the common areas, breakfast mediocre

    Good location and nice rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel complex, average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hotel has been recently renovated, but due to the light carpet choice everywhere, the carpet was quite dirty in the halls and in the rooms. Furthermore i saw quite some issues with maintenance with water infiltration in the public spaces and general damages in the rooms. Despite this recent renovation, i wonder how it will look in a few years time. The Breakfast restaurant is nice, but the food quality and selections was quite average. Lastley the staff in general in the hotel is not overly welcoming or motivated. Maybe a factor of being end of season, but i expected better based on the reviews.

    The hotel design is nice, with a great bar at the reception area. The outside spaces appeared to also be nice, but due to the weather we had were not usable. Rooms are comfortable and well designed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    All staff (cleaning, restaurant, reception), without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All staff (cleaning, restaurant, reception), without exception were extremely kind, considerate, helpful and professional. This made our first ever holiday away with our first grandchild very enjoyable. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    Vey nice Autumn break & a good place to spend our 40th wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I wasn't keen on every bar & restaurant on the Lapad "strip" having large TV screens & constantly showing football matches or playing techno music from MTV. It's a bit naff. However, this has nothing to do with the Hotel Kompas, which is at the end of the 'strip' and is a stylish & classy hotel. Turn right out of the hotel instead of left to walk along the coastal path and you will find nicer bars & other hotel restaurants. (I wish I had discovered this sooner.)

    I stayed in room 413 in October 2018; Spacious room with a sea view. Comfortable bed. Warm bathroom. Small balcony. Fantastic insulation, heard nothing from other rooms. Frendly & polite staff with impeccable service throughout the hotel. Massive choice for buffet breakfast. Fabulous views of sunsets every evening from our balcony or up on the 10th floor (reception & bar). Local bus service to the old town of Dubrovnik runs about every 15 mins & bus stop is a short walk from the hotel. Area seems safe at night. Beaches are not sandy, but the sea is beautifully clear.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of anything....! It's difficult to be critical....Maybe some mushrooms for breakfast would have been nice, but now I'm nit picking...!

    All the staff were very polite, helpful and smiley.... The room was excellent, with great views of the Bay. We were very lucky and were upgraded... The Indoor Pool was of a very high standard and provided a great way to wake up in the morning.... The breakfast was superb, everything was delicious.....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.2
    Totally recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffie was ok, not wow, but i would prefer to have a coffee machine where I go myself, instead of chasing staff for coffee.

    It was really a nice modern pretty new hotel, would return. The swimming pools, sauna, and optional massage were great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Wonderful family holiday - safe swimming and great sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to fault

    Excellent staff - courteous and helpful, Fantastic views from reception/lounge Great location for sunset beach Very good restaurant nearby - the Atlantic - 3 min walk. Beautiful walks around Lapad peninsula Easy No 6 bus ride to Dubrovnik - 15/20 minutes Hotel arranged excellent private cab from Airport - very good value. Happy Hours!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    10
    Fabelhaft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We appreciated the warm welcome regarding our silver wedding, the phantastic view over the sea on the balcony, the phantastic breakfast outside

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was ok but wish the eggs and pancakes were made to order.

    Excellent location to get into the old city via bus. Lovely local restaurants. Beautiful views from the bar for sunset. A big thank you to the hotel who kindly left a birthday cake in my room which was a wonderful surprise. Thank you hotel Kompas

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location and the views are perfect, you have more than enough choice of hot and cold breakfast, it was amazing. ATMs are everywhere in case you need to withdraw Kuna.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Great hotel providing superb comfort at a fair price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The two pillows provided were both a bit too big for my liking. And I wish we'd shelled out for the sea view - but that's our fault, and the view wasn't unpleasant anyway. The rest was just about perfect!

    Great hotel at a fair price, at least off-season, when we visited. Comfortable beds, superb service, a wonderful wellness centre, nice pools and a restaurant with the most tender steak I've tasted. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing scenery fabulous food loved the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All just fab

    The hotel is ideally situated in Lapad and the beach is right in front with amazing views if you book a sea view balcony room. We could walk to nearby restaurants and bars and take bus no 6 into old town for 12KNR. Buy a Dubrovnik city card which includes transport and museums and walls.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very accomodating. I arrived at 8 am, went straight to breakfast and my room was ready by 10 am even though official check-in time is 2 pm. Excellent view, super clean and spacious room, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    AMAZING views at a beautiful hotel near all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    S.P.A. did not have people to offer services. Was told that they were open but had no staff for services.

    Everything. Location was amazing. The room comfortable and the view magníficant. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative was the storm that affected the water supply but that’s not the hotels fault

    They went above and beyond for my anniversary. Upgraded my room and threw in some champagne

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely room with a balcony and a sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC in the room wasn't great.

    Lovely room with a balcony and a sea view. Great location.. only ten minute bus into the old town but near plenty of other bars and restaurants and the view of the sunset on Lapad bay is amazing. Breakfast was amazing with lots of selection.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    Beautifully decorated, amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful view! Loved the modern look of the hotel. Great location near bars, and other hotels. 10-15 min taxi ride to old city. By bus only @ $2 each way.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing ‘End of Holidays’ Trip Accomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far from the old town but it is a good early morning walk of about 30 mins from the hotel!

    Amazing views of the beaches, Nice variety of foods with the breakfast buffet, Fast check-in and check-out, Relaxing Jazzy music at night to relax on the Ground Floor, Friendly, attentive and smiling staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.3
    Modern relaxing well located hotel for the beach and the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nearby restaurants all a bit down market and the best ones were not that great and pricey

    Good location, nice beach nearby, good breakfast easy to catch bus into the old town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    The visit en route home was a very welcome comfortable interlude following cancelled flight.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that we were aware of.

    We only stayed one night after delayed flight. Not all facilities used. We found the facilities very good and would certainly come again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, newly refurbished to a high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel, newly refurbished to a high standard. Good choice of breakfast, pancakes were delicious! Lovely spa and indoor pool, the outdoor pool comes with a stunning view! Highly recommended. Old Town Dubrovnik is easily accessible with a bus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant food

    The location was perfect. Far enough away from the throngs of tourist invading the old town but close enough to be one of them. Beach water was amazing and plenty of options for drinks after a long swim . Rooms are very modern and clean .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    The perfect place to stay while in Dubrovnik area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - we loved it!

    We loved staying at this hotel - just 10 minutes outside Dubrovnik - away from the hustle bustle of the city. Staying at the Kompas in the area of Lapad was perfect! They had parking and once our car was parked we took Uber into town for only $10. The room was large, had a patio (it looked into a wall but that was okay at least we had a place to sit outside), the rooms with bay view are more expensive. Good a/c, wi-fi, spa, pool area, happy hour!! Breakfast was excellent - had every option imaginable - hot and cold! Compared to the cost of other hotels in Dubrovnik (which are very pricey) this is the way to go - very affordable. This is THE place to stay while in Dubrovnik.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Loved loved Lapad and Hotel Kompas we will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service staff in the restaurant were a little sour .

    Fabulous location beautiful hotel . The beds were unbeleivably comfortable. Hotel facilities were five star. Lapad was a delightful haven away from the Old Town with so much to do and see in just in our area. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    Nice choice for Dubrovink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing to think about when staying in this hotel is that is quite far from the old town. But the trip takes 20 minutes by uber and costs around 50-100 kunas, depending on the traffic. There are some people who don't love the beach near the hotel, but I found it very beautiful and comfortable.

    The hotel is brand-new. It is modern and beautiful. They have two pools, one inside and the another outside. The beach near the hotel is great and the hotel has sunbeds in the beach that the guests are allowed to use for free. the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hotel is simply beautiful - you will have a great view, a great cozy and clean room and nevertheless, both a relaxing and an adventurous vacation. Not far from the hotel is a bus stop to get to the old city. The staff is very friendly and courteous. Also, the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.6
    Love this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing bad to say.

    We absolutey loved Hotel Kompas and its top notich facilities (gym, room, pool, restaurant). Conveniently located, it also has incredible views from the lobby and a cool beach nearby. One of the better hotels I have stayed at over the years. I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great 4 Star Hotel. Staff excellent. Position perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was cold. Otherwise, everything was great.

    Great 4 star Hotel Our room was large and comfy. Beds were amazing. Spotlessly clean The breakfast was excellent and the wait staff were friendly. Loved the position of the hotel. It’s right next to the beach and has its own club. The beach is pebbly but there’s these little paths which make access easily. Great location. Near lots of cafes and restaurants. We’re able to catch a bus nearby to Old Town. Would highly recommend this Hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel and location but the quality of the food in Croatia was very poor and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No free drinking water in the room. Not enough sunbeds around the pool. Breakfast not varied enough. entertainment finished too early. lunch menu at pool bar not exciting enough and poor quality. Drinks too expensive.

    The room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfy, stylish and friendly holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can honestly say there was nothing we didn’t like..... would stay here again happily. Absolutely loved Croatia...... lovely country with lovely local people.

    Fantastic views on entering the hotel of the coast and beach, lovely contemporary comfy sofas and chairs in cool whites and grey. Great different areas for chillaxing in the hotel.... never felt busy or cramped. Great choice of foods either eating the restaurant buffet or from the a la carte menu. Took a 10 minute taxi ride to the old city.... absolutely beautiful.... recommend to go very early in the morn to do the city walk walk before it gets too hot and too busy from ship loads of tourists..... stunning city..... loved filling our bottles with cold water from the fountain at the entrance. Free sun loungers and umbrellas as guests of Kompas Hotel we’re a huge bonus and as it was never packed you could turn up at any time of the day to find spaces. Lovely sea walk to discover other restaurants and especially the Cave More cocktail bar in a cave..... brilliant.... 5 min walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Leaving

    This hotel was superb, from the lovely room to the staff, the breakfast and the location. The pool was great too. I didn't use the spa but it looked nice. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and the number 6 bus runs to the Old City from the top of the pedestrian area. Stay there you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a sea view room and could faintly hear music coming from beach club until they stop at midnight. However, we told reception and they instantly helped us move to a very quiet room.

    Beautiful new hotel. Multiple bars with top level having awesome view. Pool and restaurant very good. Great holiday area only short trip out of old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    stylish hotel, great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet hat a wet spot when I arrived. One of the lights didn't work. No complementary free water? Wouldn't recommend the evening restaurant buffet. Order a la carte. Beach is public and thus can be crowded, there was a loud Red Bull event when I arrived.

    Got a free upgrade; beautiful room, allowed an hour early check-in. restaurant had live music in the evenings. hotel gym doesn't completely suck. everything is stylish, clean and modern. view from the room is spectacular. overall great experience, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    9.6
    Modern decor, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a beach club right by the hotel that plays music fairly loudly. If you are a very light or early sleeper, this might bother you, but the doors block the majority of the sound.

    Beautiful decor/styling of rooms and reception. Wonderful location overlooking the bay - do pay to get the seaview! Loved the room balcony and pool area. Easy walk to the bus to get into the old town. Buffets were adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    5.0
    Rip off, like most of Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grotesquely overpriced. For this money you would expect a hotel that doesn’t only carry the word “luxury” in the title, but actually provides a luxury experience. The rooms remind the average American chain hotel: clean, nice amenities, but no frills. No coffee maker, a smallish room with a rattling AC that couldn’t be fixed, loud noises from an adjacent building, cheap sheets etc. The hotel is supposedly located in a desirable area. But if you stay there to visit the old town, expect a 10 min hike to the bus stop, and then another 10 min ride in a hot, overcrowded bus.

    The view front the lobby is nice. The view from our room - we booked a deluxe double - was great, but half of it was blocked and the balcony was unusable because of the noise from an adjacent building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    10
    Location, amenities and the team were excellent, and always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, amenities and the team were excellent, and always with a smile. Particularly Marija and Petar from the breakfast team. Great location and beautiful view over the Mediterranean sea. A must go again place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.6
    A real gem - would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is excellent - I wasn't so keen on the surrounding bars and restaurants, whilst nothing really wrong with them, they weren't as sophisticated. Having said that, I think this is what reflects the value for money price of the hotel. Its not really a problem, and is easy to get a cab into the old town

    modern, light and luxurious feel - very relaxing and very competent staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    9.6
    Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, not cheap but you get what you pay for

    Everything, clean, modern, stylish, great breakfast, good size rooms, lovely view, nice beach club, good spa, pools, sauna

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great staff, fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and welcoming, couldn’t do enough for us. Hotel was lovely and exactly as described. Lovely 5 day stay, wished we had booked it for longer. Location was great but use Uber if you don’t want to get ripped off on taxis

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.9
    6 days in Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is good and dinner buffet is great choice though less over cooked fish would be got.

    Comfortable beds, request for high floor quiet and 3 pillows were there ready and waiting. Fabulous sea views, easy walk to beaches and strip of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    10
    Great brand new hotel, in a desirable location just a 10min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the sunbeds were gone very early in the morning which was a bit frustrating.

    Great brand new hotel, in a desirable location just a 10min taxi ride from Dubrovnik Old Town (which gets very busy in high season - so it's good to be a bit out). View from reception is stunning, and there are many areas to chill around the place. Hotel is fresh and the pool area and breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    10
    Worth the stay and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very beautiful and modern. It had an amazing view from the lobby and rooms. Would highly recommend it. It is just 10 mins drive to the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful view but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clearly too expensive for value. Service oscillates between fine and mediocre (not to say poor).

    We had a beautiful view from our room. We really liked the hotel decoration. Location is good, remote from old town crowds. The pool is very nice. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    5.0
    Poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid 350 Euro per night for a room. It smelt of stale smoke and the furniture was very cheap. Small cheap TV on the wall With untidy cabling hanging below it. At least ours had a view. Many of the non sea view rooms have a view of a concrete wall. The hotel was full of package tourists who had no doubt paid a lot less for their room than me. Bacon at breakfast had bits of bone in it! I would not rate this hotel as worth more than 150 Euros per night. I am amazed this hotel has such a high score.

    Very little

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.2
    Particularly enjoyed complimentary sun loungers on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was given a fold down bed for my chd who is 16. Not comfortable enough for a week's stay

    Particularly enjoyed complimentary sun loungers on the public beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations, everything on a level of 5 star hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exceeded expectations, everything on a level of 5 star hotel, from modern, comfortamble design, amazing breakfast, extra soft beds, great bars, very clean rooms and friendly stuff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    just something complimentary like a drink or fruit in room or some little thing

    Stunning hotel with amazing views.Excellent staff at front desk and very friendly restaurant staff and those that clean the rooms.Rooms well maintained with plenty of clean towels. Excellent Breakfast,the best we had in Croatia.Pool area and towels and facilities excellent.plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.Short taxi ride to old town. expensive enough on average 300 euro a night so complimentary drink on arrival would have been nice. would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Kompass is a clean and comfortable hotel ideally located in Lapad Bay. The staff were very accommodating and very friendly. We were very pleased. Our rooms were spacious, good storage and breathtaking sea views of lapad Bay and the promenade. I was a bit apprehensive about the breakfast because on other reviews there has been unfair criticism - there is an excellent range including gluten free options and soy products like Milk, salads, cereals, hot buffet, fruit, nuts, yoghurts, breads pastries, cold and hot drinks and the service was very good. we stayed for a week and enjoyed the choice every day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    9.2
    One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was not always very friendly, in the reception and in the hotel restaurant for dinner.

    Great luxury hotel, facilities were good, room spacious and very comfortable. Hotel location was great, directly in front of the beach where you have a reserved area for hotel guests. Parking is available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.6
    Would definately recommend this hotel for comfort, cleanliness and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Modern, very clean hotel in a slightly quieter part of the Dubrovnik area. The location was very good for access to bars, restaurants and beach areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    7.1
    Unforgettable stay in Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the breakfast would be more special.

    The hotel is located in a very nice area called lapad. You can easily go to the old town by taking the bus. Close by there are private beaches like Cave Bar More and other beaches in babin kuk. I would stay there to avoid the hustle and bustle of the old town when big Cruise Ships arrive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Everything,from location,to breakfast, to decor, to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing everything was great

    Everything,from location,to breakfast, to decor, to the absolutely fabulous staff, and the surprise cake in our room for my mum's birthday!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel. No faults. One of the best hotels I’ve stayed in and I will go back. Breakfast buffet had everything. Other food was also very good. You can se the sunset from the rooftop bar which is a bonus! People do the classic sun lounger claim with a towel. Speak to the pool staff and they’ll remove them as it’s not a huge area!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.1
    Dubrovnik 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room facilities seemed to be outdated or not suited to the pricing of the hotel - room key sensor broken and falling off; shower head with low pressure due to water leaking out of tap as well; television too small for sixe of room (was very difficult to see ftom bed).

    Location and on-site parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    Hard to believe this is a 4🌟 hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost of laundry was $75 Aud for 7 items (4 tshirt , 1 kids tracksuit)and men’s shirt 😬

    Hard to believe this is a 4🌟 hotel. New, great location, great breakfast, pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel for a stay with friends/adults. Not many children if you are wanting family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Triple room booked but third bed was a folding type and only really suitable for a child Mix up with bill as we were charged for someone else’s food/bar orders. Fortunately my friend checked the bill!

    Very friendly, lovely location with easy access by taxi or bus to Dubrovnik.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Clean, modern hotel with great bay views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    buffet breakfast was average and rooms a little on the small side

    nice clean and modern rooms, great view of the bay from lobby bar, hotel in a good location close to public transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    6.3
    Could be a gorgeous hotel but the room rate is too high for the rooms with partial sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a sea view room which was expensive but infact had only a partial/obstructed sea view. I was offered a discount as a gesture but it still cost nearly 300€ a night which was too expensive for the room. Also was given very high taxi rates (3 times what I eventually paid)

    Beautiful hotel & pool. Irina in guest relations was very helpful with my room issue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single beds connected to be double beds but this practice I have noticed almost in all the hotels in Croatia

    Nice location with a beautiful view of lapad beach down around the hotel there are lots of restaurants and shops

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think it's expensive for what you get but for location/beach access/breakfast it's good...

    The view from the room and the room itself were excellent. The breakfast was vast and plentiful - really enjoyed it. Facilities were decent, the pool was good if a little dirty. Staff were friendly for the most part

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Kompas Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: