Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Opatija 2 stars

Gortanov trg 2/1, 51410 Opatija, Croatia

Review score

Based on 2398 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is badly kept, not very clean and old looking. The wifi is only available in the lobby and doesn't work properly which is not practical. Staff was unmotivated and grumpy. We like older hotels but this one doesn't have proper upkeep.

    Location is good within walking distance to centre of Opatija.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor with orange segments the only fruit on offer. The room, while clean, was dowdy and in need of modernisation. The bathroom was old and tired. Wi-Fi was only available in the reception area to which we did not have access on one occasion because a film was being made!!! The windows in the public rooms had clearly not been cleaned for months. The beautiful grounds were appallingly neglected. Someone actually swept the filthy steps after we had complained.

    The elevated and central location, with its glorious views was the main asset. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. We booked room with sea view got room on opposite side 2. There is no Wi-Fi in all areas of hotel only in lobby - unacceptable 3. Breakfast is every day the same - waiters are not on the top of their job 4. There are remaining hair in the bathroom, walls are dirty, equipment from 80's. 5. Windows are unclear, last time cleaned before years ago - at least 2 years. 6. On the picture of hotel from outside is the old part - most of us will got room in the new unclean part - boxes. Look at my 1st picture attached. If you have possibility to book another accommodation - I warmly recommend to leave this offer.

    Large parking space for car

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -no vegetables for breakfast, poor selection of meals -wifi only at the reception -parking 13eur per day, when you are a hotel guest

    near the sea, beautiful old hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked for 4 days, and during our stay they couldn't manage to fix their hot water issue. So we were without it. Bathroom was very used, old and had mildew everywhere. I know it is a 2 star hotel so I'm not complaining about that the furniture was old, or the look and feel, but to have hot water to be able to take a shower or wash your hair or to have a clean bathroom is a basic no matter how many stars a hotel has.

    It was very close to the center, everything was close. Location was excellent. Had a nice view from our room. Breakfast was okay. Staff was helpfull. Has a private parking even if it is not free it is comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The same time the house would need a complete refurbishment inside and outside - this gives me the feeling that they want to squeeze money out of the building as long as possible without investing anything - but that is just a thought - didn't really bother me....

    Good location although not directly at the sea - but just a 3min walk away. Great view - my single room apartment had a little balcony with a perfect panorama of the bay. And if you like that - the house and interior has the charm of the end of 19. century....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has not had anything done to it in I would say over 40 years. The carpets are old, ripped and stained, as is the furniture. Most furniture looks like it was recovered from a dumpster. It is a real shame the place is in such terrible condition because it is an old beautiful building with great bones, but clearly the management cares nothing about it. Also, don't be fooled by the listing of air conditioning, there is only air conditioning in the hideous 70's addition, the old hotel has no air conditioning and no screens on the windows or doors, so when you leave the m open to get air your room fills with mosquitos at night. There are no toiletries in the very tiny rooms, and the towels are stained. The landscaping is overgrown and there are weeds everywhere, clearly they are just keeping the place open to collect what money they can, but they do nothing. The rooms we rented were both very dirty, with filthy stained carpeting that had not even been vacuumed. There was only one staff that appeared to be available upon our check in and she was not very helpful. Though the room had a beautiful view and nice small balcony, everything else was just awful. There are no fans available either, despite not having air conditioning. The breakfast was crowded with your groups and had very little to offer, with filthy dishes to eat off. I would never recommend staying at this place, though the town itself is lovely, there are many other nice options.

    Location was the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really outdated.

    Location is just great,staff is very kind and we liked the breakfast.Considering this hotel needs a serious renovation we had a pretty good room and everything was clean.If you are planing to be out a lot like us than that’s enough,otherwise don’t book this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SEE ABOVE

    The hotel claimedto be almost fully booked but nearly empty. Disgraceful,..... magnificent photo of 1880 Classic Building only to be bundled into 1920's addition next door .Very very dated and DRAB & SHABBY Carpet torn / TV 1970's/ Bathroom just adequate. No wi fi in room. No fridge or tea/ coffee facilities. Swimming pool/ etc closed due to technical problems (oh really) Beautiful Gardens overgrown. We left after one night sacrificing Second night payment. I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. A most dreadful example of false advertising we both felt cheated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Decor was grim beyond belief & desperately in need of a refurb. Damp stains in bathroom ceiling, room ceiling, massive stains on dining room ceiling .... virtually all rooms & hallways have stained ceilings and stained and ripped carpets. The underneath of my bed base was shredded and hanging down .... dread to think what had caused that. Indoor pool was closed for whole of 6-night stay due to 'technical issues'. Reception 'welcome' was offensive - (male) staff need to be instructed not to laugh when asked about safety of a ground floor room when checking in a lone female guest. Website claimed "bathroom with toiletries", but I really don't think one wall-mounted squeezee bottle of generic 2-in-1 shampoo/bodywash constitutes 'toiletries' by any stretch of the imagination. Reception staff totally unhelpful when I asked if they could help me to get the air con in my room working. It took two days of "I'll ask the handyman" before one of the very helpful room cleaning staff *actually* provided the help and showed me how to use the remote control (and pointed out the air-con instruction leaflet that should have been in the room was missing). Hotel felt very uncared for - in the dining room one net curtain was half hanging off it's rail for the whole of our stay, right next to a hoe in the ceiling tiles. Seriously, how much effort would be in getting up a ladder to hook it back into place?! Just grim beyond belief won't ever be staying there again

    Breakfast staff and room cleaning staff were very helpful, but generally the hotel felt uncared for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's totally old structure, the pictures on booking are not updated,the bathroom is so broken, the WiFi is working only in hall, not even in breakfast room.staff was unfriendly and wanted to keep our documents.we have to insist to ask them back. Don't go there, really.its cheap but you'll feel bad staying there.its nice outside but inside is too old.

    Position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for room with extra bed for child in booking , this wasn’t done , after some conversation we got moved to another room , if was worse than first one but had 3 beds. It smelled quite bad. The batroom was old and beat up. The room looked like it has the sheets changed but room hasn’t been properly cleaned in a long time. The carpet could speak to you!

    Location is amazing , just two minutes walk from the main promenade in Opatija. Parking space ... as it’s very hard to get parking in opatija

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is nothing for you if you, as me, are vegan. There were only 2 or 3 kinds of fruit available. But then again, I expected that and 100m from the hotel there is a grocery store called Konzum where you can get fruit, juices, vegan cookies, vegan milk and some other goodies for breakfast and it's also cheap.

    I loved the fact that the hotel was still oldschool and not renovated to some modern horror. It was such a pleassure to look at every single detail, especially in the hallway. The rooms were perfect for the price. The balconies were also outstanding and the view on the seaside breathtaking. The service at the reception was also kind and helped out where they could.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms don`t have wifi, only on the reception. Parking is extra charged /around 12 eur/ it should be free.

    Excellent breakfast. Fantastic location. Staff friendly. In reality it is a hotel from the time of the former Yugoslavia which is never renovated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel urgently needs too be renovated, it's like being stuck in the 80's (and not in a good way). But even bigger problem is when staff is strugling with simple things such as making check-in and use of their hotel software. No wi-fi in rooms.

    Great breakfast, nice location, good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of hotels with a prestige old architecture are so friendly (and pets friendly) and have so suitable stuff. Antique hotel needs renovation but everything is functioning. We enjoyed nice view and perfect location, polite receptionist, suitable waitress, a very kind maid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and hotel could use a bit of updating. Graffiti in the lifts need to be taken care off. Gave the hotel a tacky look, which is a pity considering.

    The hotel was within walking distance from the bus stop,shops and restaurants. Breakfast was very good. Staff only to eager to assist you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit small and run down (rooms are bigger in the annex than the main building). As long as you manage your expectations that this is only a 2-star hotel, you'll be fine.

    This is an interesting old property with a lot of character. We found the breakfast was pretty good, with a selection of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit etc. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a lovely view of the sea from our balcony. All of our dealings with the front desk staff were pleasant and professional. It was also really convenient to be so close to the bus station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi not in rooms, but I knew about that before arrival

    Cannot expect luxurious rooms for such money, so who wants to save some money and not sit in hotel all day, it is ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room with Free Dinner
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restaurant is rude and does not know service mind. The hotel and its facilities is very old e.g. lift, tv, bathroom. Dinner is bad, few choices and almost the same every night. WiFi does not work in the room. Dishes are dirty. The hotel needs big renovation both property and staff.

    Location. It is near bus station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing I "didn't" like, my room was in the old part of the hotel - old, very used furniture, but I liked it this way. no w-lan in the room, only in the lobby

    good, thick extra blanket - it was possible to sleep with balkony- door wide open, without a minute of freezing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in an old part of the hotel that hasn't been touched in decades. I think they are living on their old fame. It needs a renovation.

    Great breakfast and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hairdryer in the bathroom and the shower curtain could be renewed. Wifi is a available only in the reception areas, but that was OK, it is not a major problem because the reception area is large enough and well equipped for people who want to use a computer or other electronic items.

    I loved this grand old hotel. Yes it is old, but the wide hallways, high ceilings, grand staircases more than made up for the fact that it is not luxuriously new. Its location is just perfect and having a view over the sea was wonderful. The accommodation is generous in size and the balcony with the view over the bay was wonderful. The hotel provides a good range of foods for breakfast. The hotel staff are pleasant, friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For this hotel I have to make review from two perspectives, one is from the perspective of the guest and second as a professional person that is working in tourism. We have changed the room 3 times and every room was extremly bad, the smell in the room is from URINE and we felt smell of Sewage systems. The rooms are not clean,they are very dirty, with the broken doors, fungus and dirt in the bathroom- a standard that does not correspond to basic health purity. - Photos attached In the room was electricity that is broken and it goes on the bed- which is also very dangerous for a life. - Photos attached The pool- does not work for the last one year, all additional things that this hotel is offering are not working. Breakfast was verry bad in very dirty restaurant. This is the worst Hotel that I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking had to be payed extra (10 EUR per night, although they are not guarantee for the safety of the car). The room was clean but in really bad condition. The room view was terrible and the elevator which was near our room was making strange sounds all night. The pool wasn't working, so we went for swim to another hotel, and had to pay extra money. We've also extra payed the dinner (12 EUR/person), but although it's all you can it concept, the food wasn't so good, so I think it wasn't worth theprice.

    Breakfast was nice and there is a wide choice of dishes. Staff was kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was so dark and dreary, poor lighting still seemed to be influenced by past communistic rule. Only wifi available in the foyer, which had shabby old worn furniture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi available only around reception, kind of 'devastated' look, pool not available despite booking reference

    Nice position and good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room Sea Side with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was in the newer addition to the old hotel - very spartan. No food or drink available when I arrived in the late afternoon. The hotel is a shadow of what it once was during the reign of the Hapsburgs.

    Excellent breakfast! Many choices and good coffee. Front desk arranged for my transportation to the Rijeka airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi exists only in the lobby with no apparent reason. If you need to do any work while staying here, forget it because a few spots where you could use wifi are occupied from early morning by facebook, twitter and other social media addicts. Parking will be charged once you check in and manage to find a spot.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the property. Location is excellent. Breakfast is excellent. This is what keeps this property going.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've been here many times through the years but this is our last time. Room is cheap but hotel is more run down. Car park is outrageous E 15. Food was poor. Room was very run down.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room advertised as possessing bath, but none was there - it wouldn't fit any way, because the bathroom was barely big enough for person to fit in. Rest of the room was in poor condition, old, although fairly clean. For this money you can get much better apartment, similarly localized.

    Close to the city and sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was €15 which I find steep, and had to park on a hill, crowded and tight. Pillows were flat & hard. Needs updating- carpet a little worn. No electrical outlet in bathroom. No hairdrer. No wifi in room- only lobby.

    Beautiful old hotel with charm, which made up for the dated amenities. Very good breakfast. Gated parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Immediately addressed a problem I had with initial room and were very effective in resolving the issue. Very impressed. Great location close to transport and central. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smells and dirty, bathroom dirty with no shampoo, towels very old, beds very bad, pillows bad quality, breakfast very poor, no internet in rooms.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is for an extra charge, I did not check this thoroughly on booking.com beforehand. It is better to prepare for this. The building once was very nice, but it would need a big refurbishment and renovation. The spa was out of service, to our big regret.

    The absolute advantage of this hotel is its location, just a few minutes walk to the center and the beach. It has a big terrace with a great view. The breakfast was plenty and good, but a few slices of vegetables would have been nice to have. The employees are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and run-down hotel. Room not clean with cobwebs. Bathroom dirty. Toilet wobbly and not fixed to the floor.

    Central location to waterfront and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disgusting, run down hotel with ugly rooms, annoying dirty old rugs, mildow in bathroom, neon light in the hallway. Owner seems not to invest anything and just exploit the originally nice structure. Never in the last years i experienced such a bad hotel.

    Nice location, central and still quiet, breakfast was ok. Seeview, balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above Cigarettes burns in carpet in room Shower didn't work Dirty carpets

    Nothing run down shody hotel waiting for our money back from booking .com No pool as advertised and our shower didn't work manager arranged a meeting with us but failed to turn up dreadful place should be shut down

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms old as and tired. Need upgrading considering was busy. Pool wasnt operating.

    Close to transport & middle of things to do. Beautiful rock swims West of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited and expensive. The rooms we were given looked nothing like the pictures on the internet - run down, filthy carpet. Leaking pipes in bathroom. Bed was very hard too.

    The location of the property was tge only good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That hotel was the worst place, during my whole holiday. The room was very old and damaged. Like a communist apartment 20-30 years ago. When we checked-in the staff wanted to keep our IDs for few hours, cause "they were not ready yet". After we said we need them to go out they finally made copies. When we checked-out there was a 30-min queue to pay and then instead of the price i was booked from booking.com, i was given 40e higher price. I refused to pay this one and showed my booking details and payed what i was booked for. Parking is 15e per day, so i payed more than 100e for a night in that place. Absolutely waste of money and no value at all. Glad we stayed just one night there and continued our trip Nice breakfast and good location next to the beach. City of Opatija looks like a very nice place, but if you want to visit it for more days, definitely choose other hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and in need of full renovation. Had to kill cockroaches beford sleeping. Balcony had someone's spilled pasta pieces.

    It's walking distance to the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average at best.

    Old property but was once grand. Don't expect anything of the breakfast but at least it's ok? Parking is 15 euro which was a bit steep but location is great. Very clean a ok for a place to stay for the night while travelling at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a great location close to the bus station and centre of the resort.

    For the price it was OK , don't expect anything to posh. In it's time it must have been a great hotel but now due to no investment and the clientele they cater for it is rather shabby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Superior room with sea facing balcony, hardly basic let alone superior, shabby tired furniture but bed comfortable enough. I believe it is superior because of air conditioning. Bathroom tiny and dark with only a dim light above washbasin. Extractor fan didn't work and mould on grouting. Swimming pool which was a consideration on booking wasn't available for entire week we were there. (17th-24th Aug) and we were met with a shrug of the shoulders when mentioning it. Our room was in an old socialist era block next door to the main building (not mentioned in publicity). All in all, nowhere nearly fitting the description in their advertising photos. I could write as much again but will finish by saying Don't Go There! Seems like a bargain at the price but I was in a much superior and spacious apartment in Volosko last year for half the price, when taking the 15 euros per night parking.

    Location is the only positive. Staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was ok except no fruit..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurants at lungo mare are much too expensive. We also have to pay extra for the kuvert. This should be in the price, otherwise it doesnt make sense to go to a restaurant at all.

    Hotel was good, very nice and friendly staff with high experience of different languages. Facilities clean and good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tre hotel is very oldfashioned, no Wi-Fi in room only in reception, breakfast was a disaster (no fresh vegetables at all). Also parking is charged additionally (15 euro per night), on site no information about that. Hotel needs to be repaired, to much money for such place. Not recommended for leisure travel, I was very dissapointed.

    The place can be very nice if will be repaired, because the building itself is very interesting. But not now.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located in the "new" building. Which was probably 30-40 years old and didn't appear to have been renovated since it was built. The rooms were very dated and rundown. Breakfast was not very appetizing, and the staff was slow to refill when items ran out. We had to pay 15 euros to park the car overnight.

    The location was the best thing about the hotel. It was also nice that we had a balcony and air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms

    absolutely no croissants.However breakfast was ok. good location but terrible rooms.Bathrooms old and smelly. took almost half an hour to check out as only one computer terminal was working. the pool was our of order during their busiest time. What bar closes at 22h00 during the peak season. never see us there again. more like a backpackers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reserved seating for breakfast? 15 Euro to park on the grounds of the hotel for a guest? Both not cool. The room simply sucked. No air conditioner, no ventilation breeze and no view. Very old and in need of a major overhaul!

    Price- very inexpensive considering location. Breakfast was decent as well.....staff was very pleasant. It is close to everything and free WiFi but only works good in lobby area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is absolutely disgusting....filthy tub, moldy bathroom walls, burned up lamp shade, mildew smelling carpet, stained sheets....yes, YELLOW STAINS ON THE SHEETS....when told about the conditions at checkout, I received a shrug of the shoulders....breakfast also was a joke...stale rolls, awful coffee, unripe fruit..quite a shame, because clearly, at one point in history it must have been quite lovely

    The location is wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you have to pay for the place for a car. It was really hard to find a place for it, because it was overcrowded. Also there are some rooms in the attic and they are without air conditioner. These rooms were really hot... it was impossible to stay in the room at day time.

    If you get a room with air conditioner and a sea view, then everything will be more than perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and exterior charm the eye, yet renovation of rooms/bathrooms/hallways/restaurant, non-smoking in rooms and installing airconditioning are overdue. Could become a fantastic, Monaco-style hotel after renovation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Sea Side with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have booked a room with sea view and a balcony. When we got there we have received a room without a balcony. We have told this to the reception and they have changed our room. As for the facilities, I guess I cannot say anything that was not mentioned in the other comments, hotel needs clearly renovation, since I have read the reviews before going there I knew it already. However Opatija is an expensive option for accommodation, in any other place I would expect better facilities for this price.

    The building of the hotel is very nice. It is just at the center of the city. Clean. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Corner economy rooms are a joke: a single windows, a skylight, in the roof not enough to get the air circulating. Bathroom small and cramped, without even a bar of soap. AC is not an option, and wifi is available only in the entrance hall. Breakfast was a narrow offer of continental style.

    position, near center of Opatija, parking inside (15 EUR \ day) but that's it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast from 7-10, we went there at 9.20 and there was almost nothing left. We asked if they would fill it up and the woman just turned her eyes on us and said the other things wasn't there that day, even though we could see the empty dirty containers. A suggestion: either close the buffet earlier of orientate your costumers that if they want a better breakfast they should be there before 9 (maybe earlier) The floor in the room wasn't clean. Plastic from previous guest in the floor. No A/C, no fan. Slept with the window open witch resulted in waking up with pigeons in the window. In total the most expensive and worst place we stayed in Croatia during our 6 weeks

    The man in the reception at check-out was so kind. He even let us stay and use the pool after check out. The pool is nice, and there is a little sun deck for 8 persons

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too old. Even if it was cleaned it didn't seemed well maintained. Wandering if they photoshopped the picture in the publication. The bathroom even cleaned was quite unattractive. Almost no light in the bathroom. The breakfast was until 10, but at 9:57 they turned the lights off in the dining room.

    The location of the hotel was very close to the centrum and the sea side. The breakfast was with a rich assortment of products. Air - conditioner - perfect during the hot time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the room was falling to bits, there is no air conditioning in the room, you would not put an animal in a room as hot as that let alone a family.

    The hotel looked nice?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room & bathroom very run down haphazard furniture bathroom very past its due date, borderline impossible to clean despite staff doing their very best WiFi only in the foyer = nowhere else, period

    location totally top help from staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old old old. No AC, just an old fan. Old moquette, smell of cigarettes in the room. Bathroom as small as a jail cell. Never more. Oh my god...it was an oven

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobi and the dining room were dirty and the hosts were not really nice. The room was also very dirty with uncomfrtable beds andno air conditoning. the parking lot (which was not mantioned in booking that is 15 more euro) was far from the entrance and the bottom for the ticket gets you electrocuted.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool & table tennis were not available. The bar shut too early. The WIFI only seemed to work well near the reception. The older rooms were in need of upgrade and the sitting area outside the restaurant could have been tidied, cleaned & smartened up with some pot plants. the breakfast was average.

    The location, staff and architecture were good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe fresh vegetables to breakfast would be good.

    Location is perfect, just minute walk to the beach, busy sea promenade and bus station. Staff was very friendly both at reception and at restaurant. Breakfast was very good. I enjoyed indoor pool, which was very handy after morning run. Room is maybe not the nicest, but it is two star hotel, all functioned, bed was fine and I was very satisfied. Very nice park just above the hotel, great for walks or reading the book in peace. Swimming very good if you walk direction towards Icici. Bus connection to Rijeka very frequent and easy, great for day trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom in hotel was bad. Nothing I have expected for hotel bath room. Strange electricity cables going to nowhere... Overall feeling for the hotel was OK, because it has realy low price related to Opatia city. Just do not expect any luxury..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. No soap. Cleaning crew unsupervised. No responsible manager. No phone number displayed in the room how to call reception, front desk. 355.!?! How could I have known this number? Front desk answer: "You come here and ask for the number ". Of course, how stupid of me! You come down, ask for number, go back to the room and call back the same person you just talked to. Genius!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel because it had a swimming pool. However, the pool was closed due to regular maintenance in the peak of summer season. They didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. Unacceptable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room 332 was located on the top floor ,advertised with aircon , sadly not even a fan, also advertised ,with Seaview only if you stood on the bed looked out the window in the ceiling ,the TVs was from last century,shocking picture. advertised pool, closed in July peak season, lots of areas taped off no access The room was clean and the staff helpful Internet dodgy and only available in the lobby area and the terrace

    Excellent location, a once grand hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, really old facilities - stuck back in the 70s. No effort in renovating the otherwise nice old building. Originally had there rooms, upgraded two of them to have air conditioning but ended up paying for three upgrades. To add insult to injury the AC unit one one of them turned out to be defective. All in all a rip-off, with the only benefit being the location

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is ancient, ugly, hot, half ruined, and the rooms did not even resemble those in the pics on booking.com

    It was cheap. However the room price does not include the fee of staying there (tourist community fee), nor parking. So booking.com price for 4 people was 1700 kn and the real price (2 nights 4 people, parking and fee) was 2100 kn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were more negative things about the hotel.. our room was without AC, which was horrible, we only had a little window, so there was unbearable heat all the time. The room was very tiny, dirty walls, old, run-down furnitures.. stinking bathroom. Nice and kind cleaning lady though. The breakfast was okay, but could have been better as well. No WIFI in the room, only at the reception. We found the parking fee little bit expensive for the hotel's own guests... All in all a better value for money is needed.

    The best thing about the hotel was its location! Everything was in walking distance. Nice view and nice park around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got the top floor room, without any view and a small roof window. The toilet bowl was leaking to the floor. A small cockroach welcomed us in our separate beds. There was NO AIRCO. The carpet smells and the hygiene is far from good. But the building looks impressive from far away... Parking is charged 15€/pn. Check-in takes minimum 1 hour. Wi-Fi is only available in the entrance lobby. The breakfast is poor (and only because you know the hygiene in the hotel, you cannot enjoy the food). Definitely a NO-GO!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive parking 15 eur per day. Wifi is working only in the reception. Old hotel should be renovated in near future.

    Breakfast is ok for that price. Stuff very helpfull and polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is 15 Eur/day. Good point is that you can leave car in the Hotel car park after check-out.

    Great location in city centre. Charming retro-ambiance... For two stars it met all of my expectations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a last minute choice. The normal price for the hotel is quite too high considering that the equipment is very old. There was no refreshment of the hotel for quite a long time. We stayed in superior room. I expected a little bit more from the room, although that it is a two-star hotel. I checked the facilities before making a reservation and can say that the pictures of rooms and surrounding of the hotel are misleading. Otherwise, the room was clean. It bothers me that there was no wi-fi in the room. The parking price is also too high.

    The stuff is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Object has to be reconstructed a little bit, the breakfast could be richer. It has a great potential for future development. But it means that prices will be higher.

    Location is great. staff is nice, rooms are clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: