Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pical Sunny Hotel by Valamar 2 stars

Borik bb, 52440 Poreč, Croatia

#26 of 26 hotels in Poreč

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1726 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very short distance from the city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms are in need of an update. This didn‘t bother us, however, as we spend our days at the beach anyway. Small rooms are indeed very small, as is the bed. No wi-fi in the rooms.

    Great location, very short distance from the city center! Food was good, especially the breakfast. Great value for money. Would definitely book again. :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    *In general, we are really satisfied. Just to give others an idea: Our room could be renovated (the room was clearly old and some things weren't functioning that well anymore: shower head holder, remote control/television. No fridge, no air conditioning. Wifi only in the lobby.

    Breakfast and dinner were good. I really liked the day they served more local food. Beach is literally around the corner, water is clean and facilities near the beach are great for families. Staff was very friendly, rooms clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Pical in nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior (paid) and standard rooms looked the same ? ; very narrow and low beds and oldfashioned tv, building and facilities oldfashioned back to yougoslavian style

    Very good location; a lot of green around and a stone/concrete beach just in front of the hotel plus water activities, a short beach line walk to the town with cafeteries and water activities along the shore, flexibility in check in and out, a good money for the breakfast and dinner buffets; nice staff expecially at the pool bar..very clean surroundings and at the hotel..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable with lovely people, fantastic location and great outdoor activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Size of rooms and decor a little dated.

    Loved the location and the staff, they were very professional and friendly. Food was excellent. a good choice for everybody.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel looks old, but provides great services
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room. No air conditioning (but it wasn’t hot in the room). Very slow elevators. Old furniture.

    Rooms are spacious and the terrace is big (five people can easily sit on the terrace). Bathroom is big enough and clean. Staff at the reception and in the restaurant is extremely helpful and kind, they let us check us at 11am instead of 10am. The restaurant is renewed, very spacious, well decorated, and the food is delicious. Outdoor swimming pools are great, never too crowded and very peaceful despite the kids playing around. The location of the hotel is amazing - right next to the beach (2-minute walk) and close to the city center (15 minute walk by the beach). Good price!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall very good hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is very well maintained, but in the sea are big rocks, so it's not suitable for older people

    Good value for money, meters away from the beach which is very nice, turistic train to Poreč stops in front of the hotel, good choice of food for breakfast and dinner, lots of sun lougers by the pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was great value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small in comparison to other hotel rooms. The balcony was tall and you could not see over it when sitting on the balcony.

    The food was excellent with plenty of choice and freshly cooked in front of you. The pool area was lovely and so close to the beach. The hotel was dated but very clean. Over all it was great value for what we paid for three night stay at half board.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Add air-condition, and we will come back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room's air. No air-condition, the window cannot be opened, and you cannot leave the balcony door open when you are not there. The hotel is about to be renewed, so I am sure they will fix this issue.

    I liked the food, the staff, the location, basically everything except one thing, read below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, friendly people, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach lies where not included in the price

    Nice hotel, I don't know what some people have but you don't get a 5 star hotel for that nice price. So for the good price of the hotel it was excellent. It's only about 1km to porec center, and 150m to the beach. Food was very good and the personal was very kindly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent half-board hotel for a good value of money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Copious breakfast buffet and luxurious dinner buffet were great! Porec is a good location because it's close to Rovinj, Pula, Umag, Potoroz and Trieste. The hotel is about 1.2 km from the city center, a nice walk along the beach. Beach is rocky but still nice anyway. Live music on Fri night was nice. Big bar, spacious lobby, large yard, good parking. Family friendly. If we visit Porec again, we would definitely stay at the same hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.2
    Food was adequate and varied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Postage stamp sized room desperately in need of updating. Long walk into town and no sandy beaches just broken concrete and stone.

    Food was adequate and varied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Dinner buffet is relly great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is very old-fashioned, came from the 70s and looked like old Yougoslavia Design. There should be a complete makeover to give it an update for the 3rd millenium. Parkling fee is not much but outdated as well.

    Dinner buffet is relly great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Good food, nice people, but old rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old and you hear everything from your neighbors, even if they have a shower or if they go to toilette. There is no wifi at the rooms, just at the lobby... But it is not expensive, so I think it is okay.

    The breakfast and buffet at the evening was great. The staff was nice and the hotel is just next to the sea and about 10 minutes to the city. So great food, nice people :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    We keep coming back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We keep coming back to this hotel. The variety of meals is always amazing. There are also rocky and concrete beaches on the shore in walking distance. Best value for price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast and dinner were great, the location was exellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-conditioner in the room (it was very hot in the room), wifi only in the lobby.

    Breakfast and dinner were great, the location was exellent, nice view from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast and swimming pool were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disappointing for me to find a room that doesn't correspond to that one you can see on photos. From the photos rooms look very nice and modern but actually it is worse. This is not honest, to make people believe in something which is not like presented! I am very sorry because I sent my parents there for their 50th anniversary believing to make them stay at special place like it looked from those photos...Further, can you believe that Wi-Fi is available exclusively at the hotel reception?!!No WiFi in rooms even if it says that it is!There is no air conditioning in rooms...

    Breakfast and swimming pool were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Food was fine, but other than that...nope.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is badly outdated, no AC nor wifi in rooms, the price is outrageously high for what you get in return. Oh, and they charge extra for the parking.

    Breakfast was fine, plenty options to choose from. Same goes for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    June vacation at Hotel Pical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleeping accommodation really needs updating, room very small, no air conditioning. Needed to leave balcony door open. The corridor and stairwell really, really need painting and refurbished. No Will fi in rooms. There was also a few inconveniences during our stay, as filming for a Austrian movie was taking place outside our bedroom and in bar and lobby area for three days of our stay!

    The restaurant was great, great selection of food for breakfast and evening meals. Staff very friendly and professional. Close proximity to beach.and the town of Porec. Also a lovely gesture from hotel management, during our stay it was my birthday, a small gift and birthday greetings were left in my room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.4
    Nice stay, but not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No internet in the rooms. Even though stated on booking.com´s webpage when booked, it was to small to be seen properly, and i expect from a hotel like it, and the price paid, a different offering here. Even when asked if there is a possibility get extra access, the reception manager was neither interested nor helpful at all, just stated i have booked it like that. Thanks for making my life during my holidays more complicated, as i had to work during my holidays and needed online access.... and working in the lobby, sorry .... Also booking.com was not interested to work on the internet issue, at least to highlight it more it is just in the room.... we are not in stone age anymore... Construction works at the what is called beach...... hello? I have seen more friendly employees in a lot of other destinations.... no good...

    It was a good standard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.5
    Good position and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was useful but not very friendly. Sometimes I feel very shame to ask something. The furniture is very, very old and it needs at least a full painting if they just can not change it at all. The room has no A/C. We were in september and the outside temperature was fine but I can't imagine how hot was in July or August. There's no refrigerator in the room and it was very difficult to keep cold the milk for our baby. Also, we don't have wi-fi in room. Neither in restaurant. Only in the lobby room

    It's situated very close to the sea and it has his own swimming pools: one for adults and the other one for children. The parking is very large, situated in a park full of pines. The room was clean and very big with balcony. The breakfast and dinner were buffet, very good and much more than enough. They also clean the room every day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    3.3
    Horrible Valamar experience! I have many more photos, if you need , please contact me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All connected with this hotel. Actually it is not possible to stay open...too much money for practically nothing!

    Nothing!! Actually we can not believe that this is one Valamar hotel. It is 3 stars but compareing with Tirena-Dubrovnik (still 3 stars), it is absolutelly horrible!! We liked the pines forrest....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Value for money holiday
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corriders to bedrooms could do with painting and the shabby carpets need replacing now to give a better impression.

    Excellent choice of food and very helpful staff throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.4
    I won't come back unless its renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are old and ugly, the whole Hotel Needs renovation. Old Eastern Chic from the 70th.Looks like Alcatraz at the Stairways. Restaurant too big and too loud. Not comparable with other facilities who have a 3 Star Rating. TVs are arond 30 years old. Beach is okay, but too many jellyfishs.

    Staff and Food very good. About to get renovated. Good seasalt pool for swimmers, 25m.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.1
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was sometimes too salty, the dining room could be accessed only by stairs and it was quite cold inside. The room was on the other hand too hot, but we couldn´t open the window because of the moskitoes. My sister booked a room for one person - she payed the same amount of money as we did for a room for two people, but got a smaller room!

    The location was great. I loved the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.6
    Kitchen and the sea-view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can imagine how hot could be a room without the AC in the summer. Elevator area pretty crowdy in rush hours.

    Kitchen and the sea-view. Balcony and the huge window of the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    Close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ants in the room. Rooms need a bit of a refurbishment. Wifi available only in the lobby and restaurant areas.

    Close to the sea. Sizable swimming pool. Great see view from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.0
    Cheated and disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room did not match the label superiour, old furniture, poorly maintained. Beware !! If you pay by credit card. You as a foreigner you are automatically charged in euros not in HRK (they do not offer you both options, despite the fact they had to) , which means that you pay a few % more ( in my case 21 EUR ). So we felt that we were cheated by the staff and we left hotel disappointed

    Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When we first arrived they didn't had our name on the list, they said we had no reservation via booking.com even after showing them the reservation from booking.com, in the end we had the problem solved, and they gave us a room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    4.2
    Old fashioned hotel with below standard features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very poor value for money. The lack of what I would consider basic hotel amenities was quite frankly embarrassing. No wifi in the rooms and awful wifi in the 'communal areas' (which just means the lobby). No water in rooms let alone a mini bar. No air conditioning or fan in the rooms so very hot at night. The doors to the room felt very unstable and often opened by themselves if not locked. Although it was 'half board' this did not include any drinks - not even basic tap water with the evening meal. Although the outdoor swimming pool is a good size it is salt water. The indoor pool was under construction.All the extras were more money and information about the hotel was all in German regardless of the guests nationality. There was also a large school trip/school holiday camp during our stay which made the buffet feel like a school canteen.

    The location of the hotel was well placed just outside Porec.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    For less money, nice holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - minibar is missing - aircondition in the room is missing - old building

    - nice service personal - only a few minutes to the center of porec - exzellent food - outdoor pool is ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    6.7
    The meals were relatively good and had a lot of various...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration of the room was quite dated and the room (on the north side of the hotel) was very hot.

    The meals were relatively good and had a lot of various dishes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the rooms, so very hot overnight. The decor was a little tired in places. Overall good value for money, and fine for one or two night stay.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food. A good pool and nice beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-condition.

    Amazing staff. Great value. Safe parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zaposlenici na recepciji su jako ljubazni i vrlo profesionalni. Hrana je izvrsna, daleko iznad ostalih hotela...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good hospitality, nice food and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hospitality, nice food and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not wifi on the room, tv programs,

    food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Its OK.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The surroundings - very green and well arranged.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Personnel was friendly, garden and beach are nice to wander .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the metal pipe in the bathroom, that goes from floor to ceiling was rusty , look like poe , very dirty !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Not to shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel remind you of the old times😀

    Great location , great service and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was super friendly, no hidden costs, the food was on a five star level - everything was just great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Quiet, friendly staff, good selection of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only having WiFi in the lobby, very very disappointing for me.

    I liked the quietness, facilities and people in the hotel that work there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Good buffet meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired but communal areas very good

    Good buffet meals

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice surrounding, location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms

    Nice surrounding, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    The meals were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all. The food was the best.

    The meals were excellent. Little train to town. Closeness to town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Good access and position at seaside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old object and infrastructure

    Good access and position at seaside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    The weather wasn't great. Will be visiting Croatia again next year wouldn't go in September.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the hotel staff were quite unfriendly

    Nice quiet location. Only a 20min walk from the old town which was stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    food, beautiful view from the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    internet

    food, beautiful view from the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.2
    Close to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definietly not a 3 star hotel. I usually travel in the balkans but this was really below the expectations.

    Close to the sea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Food is very OK for dinner :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in rooms; no lift for restaurant.

    Food is very OK for dinner :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Moyen hotel but Porec town is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC,room too small,very noisy because of kitchen ventilation ,old furniture,no minibar

    Breakfast variety

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Great food & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar and no wifi in the room.

    Location, pool & price. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.0
    much too big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    much too big no air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Pical is ok, for oldies the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    is not internet on the room

    Best cook and a personal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Nature,sea in Istra,Croatia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nature,sea in Istra,Croatia.beautiful weather...fantastic !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Big variety of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet in the room,hotel old, needs refurbishment

    Big variety of food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    great food, very friendly personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    great food, very friendly personal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    I plan to see it again.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not high enought.

    Cleans of swiming pool were verry god.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.1
    Would definately go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated the rooms

    Food and staff were great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.0
    Not as good as on the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning at rooms, rooms too small, this hotel needs renovation asap, broken furniture...

    Airconditioned dining room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.3
    The food was fantastic, plentiful, fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit noisy and very busy with large groups. The lack of information at booking stage about the actual cost of rooms and hotel policies for group booking was a major issue before we arrived. I felt like a ping pong ball going between Booking.com and the hotel itself but everything worked out well in the end.

    The food was fantastic, plentiful, fresh. The hotel itself was comfortable and reasonably close to the town. It was a really good experience and the staff managed my group's requirements well despite difficulties at the booking stage. Half board here is fantastic value and the quality of the food was very high. Fascinating glimpse of a bygone Communist era!

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.2
    The room has good beds, nice bathroom, enough space in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The furniture and the carpet are old and need to be renovated.

    The room has good beds, nice bathroom, enough space in closet, it was very clean. The food was excellent, very tasty and rich. The staff was kind. The garden was very nice with pine woods. It was cold for swimming in the sea, but I didn't like the concrete beaches, I prefer sandy beaches.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Excellent staff as always with Valamar hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated decor once you left the public areas. Carpets worn. Seriously in need of refurbishment. Pool not very clean.

    Excellent staff as always with Valamar hotels. Good choice of food and drink. Large swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Everything was perfect, the food was excellent, the people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi range and speed was very small and slow, and it is just in the hall, near the reception.

    Everything was perfect, the food was excellent, the people (staff) were helpful, the room was small, but comfortable. We had a great time in Hotel Pical.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Very kind staff, and great food for breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Facilities a little bit old, but apparently they are planning to renovate in the future. But it still wasn't bad as rooms are clean, and mattresses are in good condition!

    Very kind staff, and great food for breakfast and dinner. Close to beach and city of Poreč. A lot of shade on the beach, which makes it great for small children and people who doesn't want to spend whole day on the hot sun.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    We mostly liked the food, both breakfast and dinner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no AC in the room, which was no problem actually if you had the balcony door open during the night. I would have like to have a mini fridge in the room! The facilities were not included in the price, beside ping pong (and they only had 1 table and old rackets). You have to pay for drinks during dinner, even normal water - which was a bit annoying.

    We mostly liked the food, both breakfast and dinner was amazing! They cleaned the room every day (if wanted). Near to the city center, 5minutes walk from the hotell. Friendly people working there! Especially thanks to the kitchen staff, your awesome!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.0
    Pine trees surrounding, great sea views and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No Air Conditioning in all rooms including common areas is unacceptable by all means. No Wi Fi in rooms.

    Pine trees surrounding, great sea views and excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    Excellent restaurant service, air-conditioned well, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel room (we were in 426) extremely hot, no air-condition, very small door to open for fresh air. Balcony area to repaint. No ventilation in the lobby area. Poor and unstable free wi-fi in the lobby.

    Excellent restaurant service, air-conditioned well, friendly staff, gorgeous buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner. Good equipped pool and garden. Good beach services and bars. Wonderful view from our balcony 4th floor.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.8
    This was our second time at this hotel, staff is nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. It's not a supernice hotel, but it's very decent, especially for this price!

    This was our second time at this hotel, staff is nice and helpful. Things I like the most are meals! Always a big variety of well made food.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.8
    excellent, delicious, yummy food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -rooms are old and without air condition, but it doesn't really matter unless you want to stay in hotel for all your holiday. we just slept there, so it didn't mind us. - drinks for lunch and dinner are not included in menu, so you had to order them separatelly, it would be great to have at least water for lunch/dinner for free

    excellent, delicious, yummy food nice and friendly staff location-close to blue flagged beach, nice walk to old town Porec (15min) each room has big balcony

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.7
    The pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom; pipes on show and rusty, old fashioned and needs decorating. No wifi in rooms and poor connection in reception area which was the only place you could get wifi. Rooms should have fridges or tea and coffee making facilities. What they don't charge for in all-inclusive deal, they get back on the price of water and drinks. Water is double the price of other bars, restaurants and the 'free' water is only for children!!!

    The pool area. The reception staff were polite.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.1
    food, location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no aircon and no wifi in the room just in the lobby..sometimes the water in the toilet did not stop running after flushing the toilet.

    food, location and cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    7.1
    The park around the hotel is beautiful and extremely well...
    • Couple

    The noise level in the restaurant at dinner time is extremely high and disturbing. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is only accessible via three staircases, which can be challenging for people with reduced mobility.

    The park around the hotel is beautiful and extremely well kept

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.1
    superb view from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    waiters in restaurant were not at all helpful

    superb view from balcony

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    excellent food, broad selection and very tasty, also for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    excellent food, broad selection and very tasty, also for vegetarians and vegans, prepared fresh in front of guests by kind, helpful and nice staff.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: