Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spongiola 4 stars

Obala I Br.58 - Krapanj, 22010 Brodarica, Croatia

#6 of 79 hotels in Brodarica

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 88 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything perfect from the "ferry trip", the warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect from the "ferry trip", the warm welcome and the situation of this lovely hotel on an island full of history... Thankyou.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    The service in the hotel was second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a negative, but there is not a lot on the island (as we expected!) but just to be aware of. The boat can take you to the mainland anytime you request.

    The service in the hotel was second to none. The welcome we received was possibly the best we have ever experienced. The boat to take us to the island was waiting, and whilst we couldn’t find the driver of the van, he came to find us, we drove in convoy, parked the car and he then took us to the boat. The staff couldn’t do enough for us from the moment we arrived and it was like stepping back in time - in a good way! We upgraded to half board to have dinner in the hotel for a nominal fee and it was really great. We had use of the bikes in the hotel too which was a lovely token. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for a quiet night on a beautiful island where you will be looked after.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    The owner and staff were really friendly and flexible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and staff were really friendly and flexible. They do a great job. Food was excellent. Special thanks to Mario, Robin and the "man with a lot of tattoo" 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Great lovely surprise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The multiple language tv channel proposal can be improuved

    All the staff is extremely warm and you feel really welcome. The position of the hotel is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    8 days at Hotel Spongiola is not enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    nothing

    From the very beginning till the very last moment of our stay we felt like at home. It was written that the hotel is a family business and in my opinion we were treated as the family members. Since the hotel is a small boutique hotel we were in touch with other guests what created a very nice and unique ambiance. It was the reason that we met a lot of interesting people, including staff and hotel guests. Location of the hotel was great. It was situated on a little island near Brodarica and we could get there only by boat. It is worthwhile to mention that the boat was always at our disposal. Our trip by boat to the hotel with our numerous suitcases was an adventure itself. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were large and comfortable; there are two types of pillows. Meals at the hotel restaurant were fresh and delicious. My favorite dishes were summer salad and all kinds of fish. During our stay I had my birthday and received a beautiful, large flower bouquet. At the end, I would like to express my special thanks for... Nino who was an absolutely perfect orchestra man. You can always count on him. Mario who was the lion king of the beach. Ivan who was our best waiter. Milena and other receptionists who were all very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    The island is very tranquil, so if you're after some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The island is very tranquil, so if you're after some rest, this is a great place. Beach in front of the hotel is not very large but has plenty of loungers. The north side of the island has shallow waters great for snorkeling. There's a diving center nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing, characterful environment - a wonderful holiday!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Fresh orange juice available at breakfast!

    The location of the hotel is wonderful - the island of Krapanj has great character, has not been spoilt by tourism and is very relaxed. The hotel is well maintained and the staff are helpful and courteous. The small shingle/pebble beach is busy during the peak summer months, but the lifeguard cannot be faulted for ensuring that hotel guests have sun loungers and space no matter how busy it is. There are two or three small restaurants in addition to the hotel on the island which also have great character and serve excellent and very reasonably priced food, and there are a few bars. There is a very small food shop on the island and larger (small) supermarkets in Brodarica. The ferry service provided by the hotel is readily available, and the parking arrangements worked well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you're a coffee lover (our case) you may get disappointed (both breakfast coffee and the bar coffee was below todays standards of 'third wave of coffee') - on the other hand, the hotel management can easily fix this so, hopefully, we'll notice the improvement on our next visit; The fact that the hotel is on an island where cars are not allowed is, actually, cool. What complicates logistics for the guests is the fact that the parking lot, where you have to leave the car, is not walking distance from the ship docks. So, apart from taking the boat you have to take a transfer to the parking. Again, this could be fixed by finding a closer parking for the guests.

    Their attention to detail should be a benchmark for the industry - e.g. a birthday card and a wine in our room on my birthday, electric mosquito repellent in the room... The staff is very attentive, always ready to help with luggage or small issues that you may run into during your stay. And then they have SuperMario - a beach boy who's super caring, super friendly and always available. He's the differential player in the team and made us feel like we were part of the family. Cheers Mario! Overall, Spongiola is a great family hotel with great food and services. We'll be back, for sure :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Won't try again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was super bad, connecting is just way too much hassle and work. The bath tub in my room was very dirty. The lady at breakfast first told me in the middle of breakfast I can't eat at the table where i sat because the setting wasn't complete(Which i Didnt realize). Then she took my plate and tea from under my nose to put the cloth on the table. Very unprofessional. Bad value for this money. Wouldn't go again.

    The receptionist was very polite and friendly. Nice localization.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    The staff is super helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The welness centre is not permanently staffed, but seeing as it is a very small place, it's really a minor thing. As the nights are very quiet, any noise is prominently heart.

    The staff is super helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant is excellent. The hotel also provides beach chairs, and the hotel beach is right infront of the hotel, so it's very easy access and you can feel comfortable leaving the towel on the beach while popping up for a drink or lunch at the hotel restaurant. Room was spacious and comfortable. Nights are very quiet and there is nothing much to disturb you. It's a small hotel on a very small island, so there isn't much to do except relax and enjoy the nature. This could be both positive or negative, depending on your preference.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Island hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight noise from aircons on the roof behind the room but I guess somewhere these things have to be installed and it is really minor

    The location on the island is fantastic - secure parking at the mainland - transfer via private boat - already the arrival is an event in itself - and it doesn't stop there - everything is just great including the food - but best of all: the great staff - Croatia at its best

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Jewel of the Adriatic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you are looking for a quiet place, only sounds of nature and crystal clear sea in combination with high level service and excellent food, this is the place to go. It was a perfect September vacation :-) Our compliments and gratitude to the entire Staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic Island setting for super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may not like the fact that the car is not immediately located by the harbour.

    Island setting and the hotel made it very easy to ask for the boat back to the mainland (5 minute trip). The car was always readily available to take us to the car park where our car was left (2/3 minutes drive or 10 mins walk).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent team, very flexible and nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent team, very flexible and nice people

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone,we had a fabolous holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so friendly and couldn’t do enough to accommodate any requests

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Very calm in a charming island just near the shore
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very calm in a charming island just near the shore

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Had an amazing time, the suite was so spacious and clean would recommend to all friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have enough time today stay longer!

    The cleanliness of the room and the very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Amazing stay, best staff ever, we will come back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Amazing stay, best staff ever, we will come back for sure

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent island getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hospitality, boat transfers to and from the hotel were organised perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    Being picked up from Brodarica by the hotel boat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picked up from Brodarica by the hotel boat

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location on Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet.

    Perfect location on Iceland. Hotel have a private boat. Very clean rooms. Nice staff. Really good food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.3
    The hotel manager was very nice and polite, he helped us in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The island on which the hotel is located is amzingly small (ran around it in aprox. 10 to 12min) and there's nothing to do there. The whoirlpool/bubbelbath had a strange grainy unidentifiable substance on the bottom, so we didn't use it. Sauna was nice Breakfast was good but nothing special

    The hotel manager was very nice and polite, he helped us in every way possible. The seafood platter was delicious and reasonably cheap to european standards. The room was quite spacious and clean. The gym is quite good, they have freeweights which allow you to go up as high as you can probably lift.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    The staff went above and beyond for us and we could not be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we only had 2 nights there!

    The staff went above and beyond for us and we could not be more grateful! They made our little birthday getaway so memorable.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautyful location away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality of breakfast to be improved (coffee, orange juice, ham etc.)

    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautyful location away from mass tourism, comfortable room. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel with a great location, friendly personal and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic hotel with a great location, friendly personal and good kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful place, clean and quiet hotel, friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful place, clean and quiet hotel, friendly and helpful staff... I highly recommend to all.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic location - a little piece of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Fantastic location - a little piece of paradise

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: