Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hvar 3 stars

Jelsa 893, 21465 Jelsa, Croatia

#44 of 58 hotels in Jelsa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 134 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had paper thin walls. We were kept awake by people snoring, babies crying and people banging about in their rooms. On the whole the food was awful - too salty and not enough choice, particularly if you do not eat fish. I think the hotel use the cheapest ingredients they can find. There is nowhere to sit and have a quiet drink in the evenings as the bar is taken over by coach tourists and very loud music. The hotel needs a complete makeover.

    Comfortable bed. Fabulous location - about a 15 minute walk into the centre of Jelsa in one direction and a 10 minute walk to a lovely quiet bay in the other direction.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pathetic facilities at the hotel. None of the rooms have air conditioning. The ceiling fan looks and functions as if its a 100 years old and so does the room. Very poorly lit rooms and not clean as well. The attitude of the staff is also very lame and unacceptable. Definitely will not visit this property ever.

    the food was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely dated property! Lack of basics such as air conditioning. Food was basic at best. Hard to believe this hotel has a 3 star rating.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I should have read the reviews, and usually do (we were in a rush to book), but had I read the reviews I would have never have booked! It is definitely not worth the money we paid. Yes, the hotel is as per description, which is managements default response of all reviews. Hotel Hvar has so much potential, but fails miserably to impress. The hotel is dated, with a small pool and could do with major refurbishment. The staff are unfriendly, you can't even elicit a smile out of them. The reception staff are unknowledgeable about their own hotel. The one member of the team did not have much information about what facilities are at the beach. Three out of the 4 mornings we were there we reported our safe did not work, only to be told on the fourth morning (by a different member of the team) that the safes do indeed not work and should not use them. There are no aircons in the majority of the room, considering this hotel makes it money in SUMMER, it could invest in aircons. The food is boring and bland and what you have for lunch is exactly the same food for dinner, not much variety. We couldn't stomach the food anymore and went into Jelsa a few times to get better tastier food. I don't usually leave harsh reviews, but I was incredibly disappointed and hope that this would help Hotel Hvar improve.

    The cakes that was baked for dessert was really good. Great location and the town of Jelsa is beautiful. Ample parking if you driving.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Experience Hvar Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was excellent value for the pre - season, but the location was a little far from transport to other places on the Island. The staff were excellent and the meals great value for its guests. Id stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Experience Hvar Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful breakfast waste of time even bothering with it. Never ate dinner in there otherwise as it looked terrible and so much good food in the town 5 minutes walk away

    Close to the lovely small town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more shelves to put stuff on, especially in the bathroom.

    The furniture was old, but bathrooms were refurbished more recently. Everything was very clean. Fresh towels daily. Very friendly staff. The food was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room Park side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel seems a bit outdated, budget, but hey for the price we got it was excellent.

    Brutally good food. Friendly staff, lots of facilities. Surrounding of hotel offer outdoor activities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Furniture was old but we haven´t noticed any damages. -Even the room keeping was done every day, the cleanliness could be better, the sheets were new but with spots... -If you want an airconditioning, do not forget to book it extra. -No outside pool for kids, the outside pool was very deep and the water quite cold.

    -The breakfest was good, serving ham, cheese, eggs, cereals, different fruit and youghurt so everybody could find sth to eat. They were refilling the food until the closing so even if you came 5 minutes before closing you still could grab sth. -The dinner was also good, serving different kind of meat, fish or sea food and different side dishes and salad, also some starters and as a dessert little cakes, fruit and ice cream. -Halfboard value the money. -Good location, city center and beach could by reached by foot. -Room keeping done everyday but sometimes they can surprise you before you have taken your breakfest or trying to enter even if you put the sign "do not disturb". -Minigolf, tennis facilities & small gym

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wierd ambient. Local people very serious and always looking.

    wasn't what I expected. Very far away from town, kids yelling in pool downstairs and lobby. Is more like a public country club.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AC in the room, just an old school system which didn't help the heat. There was no wi-fi available. Sinks were so small that it was difficult to wash your face. Breakfast was poor. Too expensive for what they offer

    Location, staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms need a refrigerators.

    We really enjoyed in our stay at the hotel. Food was very good, but needs more local food choices, especially fish dishes. Room was comfortable and staff very pleasant. Our son David was especially pleased with Kids Club at the hotel and care that he received from Kristina and Livija. They were excellent with the kids. We will come back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Park side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic scenery all around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a cost of a100€ per night its not enough. No ac, no fridge, very small rooms, everything old and rusty. It would be fair 50-60€.

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Park side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. Especially in the bar by the pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Park side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff. Very noisy busy hotel. No air con. Seemed only suited to locals

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They have had one problem (?) with the reservation system and over booked our suite sea_view with breakfast and dinner... At the end we recived a family appartment in one report without breakfast and air condition after some discussion and waste time

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly the worst place we have ever stayed. The room had no air con and it was impossible to sleep in. We had 3 nights booker but only managed to stay 1 and this was only because we arrived so late and couldn't find any other accommodation. The hotel is dated and could definitely use a refurbishment, paint was literally falling from the walls. It was like a Russian Cold War butlins. Our first morning we decided to leave as the hotel was so awful, packed up and got the ferry straight to split meaning we missed any chance of seeing Hvar.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That we only stayed one night.

    Very friendly staff! :-)

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No aircondition in room!!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel a little bit outdated, poor food choise

    location, staff, clean, free wifi!

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: