Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Smart Selection Hotel Istra 3 stars

Maršala Tita 143, 51410 Opatija, Croatia

#26 of 28 hotels in Opatija

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1156 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The view from our balcony was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the parking, but that’s not the hotel’s fault, it’s just a cramped old city, they cannot handle all the traffic from the visitors. The front desk staff are very helpful to make this process easier than it looks. They let you unload before Directing you to the parking facility which is offsite and cost €14 a day.

    The view from our balcony was incredible! Perfect place to walk the promenade into town from. Spent the afternoon swimming and lounging by their private beach access. Breakfast and dinner which were included, was surprisingly yummy. Plus there is free-flowing wine and beer at dinner!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    No more croatia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad reception staff,not friendly at all,my son had 3 penalty charges because the reception staff gave the wrong information because about the parking.No customer care at all, not at all smiling and helpful.Very bad experience in 10 years on booking.com.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location, great staff, excellent half board
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking only at garage, which is 250m from hotel, the cost is 90kn/day. Outdoor pool should be renovated. Sunbed is not free. Indoor pool is small.

    Good location, great staff, excellent half board

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airconditioner was not that good Elevator is slow There was no parking so we parked on the street

    The staff were very nice and helpful Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is close to the beach and the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos of the hotel might be misleading, the beach is quite small and some of the pics were taken in the children's pool.

    The location is close to the beach and the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    The Hotel and the staff is very good, very friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel and the staff is very good, very friendly and the location is superb! The highly new renovated rooms are very beautiful! Access to the see is very quick, the reception bar looks very good! Congrats to the personnel which is struggeling to make the visitors satisfied. But the rooms which are located near the reception, are very noisy. The access to the whole Hotel is done through that corridor. Additional to this, there is a luggage storage just in front of those rooms (2 or 3). Starting 5:30 in the morning, the noise is starting. We even had maybe 20 people talking in front of the door in one morning choosing their luggages from the storage. Some of them talking, yeiling or whistleing. Conclusion is: The access in the hotel, either the rooms are not properly conected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    A hotel with good perspective, smart selection if renovation will be completed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has two parts, one renovated building amd one (where I was accomodated) which was still in the 1980’s years though the flatscreen TV was modern and the sofa relatively comfortable but toilet/bathroom, paintings etc I am sure will be renovated soon. Unfortunately the price I needed to pay was high considering the level of the room quality (Almost similar price to most of the 4 start hotels). If someone can book in the renovated part of the building will be amazed of this hotel.

    The staff was very kind. Even if I didn’t plan to have a dinner at the hotel, I went to see the restaurant. The buffet dinner was just about to start and the person at desk invited so kindly that appetite just arrived:) The breakfast is similar to other hotels in Opatija which is at good level. This hotel will be very very good once fully renovated. The view is fantastic from Cres to Rijeka all Kvarner is in one sight which makes it amazing stay. Aircondition is modern and can operated manually by a remote cintroller which is a good benefit i.e. not a centrally working climatization so everyone can use it by his/her needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Like a student campus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive bed and sunshade on the beach The restaurant equipied like a student restaurant The rooms AC DID NOT WORK

    The Staf was great but i have no seen the manager of Hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Opatija has no Trumps;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opatija has no Trumps; we regret to stay there old section of the hotel need upgrade very bad coffee in restaurant public parking far away and sometimes full

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    The food was great, we had an renovated room- was clean.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit far away from the hotel.

    The food was great, we had an renovated room- was clean. Great view from balcony. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I've been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to dislike

    Everything. The room was great, everything was clean. The food was awesome. Personnel was friendly. The hotel should have definitely had more than 3 stars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    The view is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool by the see is small and only 60 cms deep. Need to pay for the chairs (40 kunas/day). No parking area. Parking in the street is expensive (10 kunas/ hour).

    The view is wonderful. Staff was reaaly friendly. The kitchen is good but their offer is a bit boring if you stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very uncomfortable pillows, they look big although when you lay on them they just disappear underneath you. - The outdoor swimming pool in a very bad condition. - There are huge puddles near the lift and inside on the -2 floor where the beach and swimming pools are. Haven’t seen anyone cleaning or cleaning not frequently enough.

    - Amazing location - Big and clean rooms in the new part of the hotel - Great view from the balcony - Great selection of breakfast - Really good dinner for only 110 kuna including drinks - Amazing value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Price performer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was above our expectation! The room was amazing, clean, renovated, the staff were nice and the alchocol drinks at the dinner (wine and beer) were for free. The beach was just a minute away so I really recommend this accomodation!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    As very often in Croatia you need to check carefully whether you really got what you had booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we booked a room in the new, modern part of the hotel with balcony, sea view and double bed they wanted to give us one without balcony and land view. When I referred to the photo and the description of the room that we booked they said that was only illustration. Finally they gave us a room with balcony and sea view but two single beds in the old part of the hotel and offered 10% discount.

    Perfect location directly at Lungomare with own shore of about 20-30 meters. Excellent Breakfast. Lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Spacious room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to check 2 rooms when I made a reservation here, but we could of sleep in one room together It was spacious enough. The worker on Saturday 6.16 said we can't cancel 1 room because we booked on this site. He said it very unkindly. He said it like we shouldn't use the booking.com website. There were guests complaining of a dirty room in front of our checkin line. The worker was very unkind to the old couple,too. It looked very impolite. The service man should be kind at anytime to guest. If he wanted to be rude like that why is he there???? I spent over 200 euro and 100 euro was wasting because we didn't need it actually one more room there with my kids.I put their age and our family member as well. They just try to make you 2 rooms for a family. That's just wrong. Stop doing this to your guest.

    Spacious room size.double room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is the strongest point of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all the very nice photos of Smart Hotel is showing only new part of the builiding. In fact you can receive the room in old part of the hotel, where the rooms and bathrooms are very old. Not sure, why this is not highlighted somewhere. We had the room in old part of the hotel, where we heard noices from other rooms, as walls are not soundproof and the bathroom had strange smells. Breakfast was just ok, nothing special expect for a nice view. There is no parking available - reception directs people to nearst available parking space. I think the lower standard is still ok with the price in comparison to other hotels, which are definitely more expensive. It is ok, if you stay here for a very short period of time and your intention is visiting city, rather than staying in the hotel.

    Location is the strongest point of this hotel. The main atractions of Opatija are easy achieveable, as those are located in walking distance. Great view from the window on Adriatic sea. You will probably won't hear any city noises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    In total it's a good choise for a destination, in a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free parking included in rooms fee, payable garage not at the hotel

    We stayed only 2 nights, it was a good choice for this hotel. The breakfast and dinner was great,good drinks, very good coffey. I think we received a brand new room, it was nice and clean, the new design is nice, great sea view from the balcony. Inner sea water pool was clean with good temperature

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    We spent just one night here, but it was really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are parking places right outside the hotel, but you have to pay for those during the day (starting at 7:00, 10 Kuna per hour). For us it was no problem as we left early.

    We spent just one night on this hotel at very short notice (we booked just 3 hours before we arrived). Late night Check-In (23:30) was no problem. We had a room in the 2nd floor and it was really good. The bed was extra-wide and very comfortable. The room and the bathroom were really clean, nothing to complain! Breakfast was really good as well, I didn't expect such a big breakfast. Overall I can definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Very kind and nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind and nice staff. Beautiful rooms, very good location and comfortable bed! Nice and clean rooms. I can only recommend this hotel to everyone who would like to stay in Opatija.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    As long as we are near the Adriatic sea and have a comfortable bed and a functioning bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had originally booked a room in a hotel Istra, but it was being renovated, so we were "moved" to this hotel, which has one more star, but the room we were in, the restaurant and other details did certainly not deserve it. The breakfast was really nothing to write home about and we've had many much better ones in modest hotels we've visited over the years. The cold atmosphere of the restaurant had not prompted us to even try sampling their cuisine, as the menu offered was also quite poor. Instead we preferred visiting other restaurants in the town of Opatija and its surroundings. A four-star hotel should not have cables hanging out of walls where the elevator monitor (showing which way the elevator is moving) should be, nor a rust-covered radiator from the seventies standing right in front of the elevators, which you cannot pretend not to see when you are returning from the restaurant, pretending to be "cool" and modern, but sadly failing... We also had problems with magnetic key-cards and had to have them replaced more than once... but the staff was very kind and ready to assist us.

    The large comfortable beds were the only thing deserving the four stars. The staff was also very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ..water is liking besaid when I was on the shower

    First, we was in giorgio II because Hotel Istria was closed. They give us another room in giorgio II and was perfect everything except bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    boring, old. If you like the nostalgia of 70:s in ugly fashion then this is the place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed, the karpet, the TV, the Shower, the door, pick off the old phone and install power outlet or usb ports

    Old hotel in need of imidiate renovation, the doors are very thin and each sound could be heard. Very kind personal, outside pool was green of all the algae. OK breakfast, no fresh juice, limited offer of bread.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff, especially the recepcionists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The coctails in the bar. Not always open in the opening time. Sometimes the staff tried to make coctails and sadly these coctails are the worst I have ever drank. Half size, no alcohol, too much syrup and ice for high price. But nearby the hotel you can find very very good coctails in the same price.

    Staff, especially the recepcionists! All of them! The hotel is not too modern but very clean (Maybe it need a little renovation in the next years). The breakfast and the dinner are manifold.Not every food the best but you can found a good one for you every time. The beer is good, they clean the beertap with appropriate frequency. The wine is not for you if you a wine expert.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    All in all great stay even the third time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy, Bad acoustics in room - Corridor noise constantly heard through closed doors - bad plumbing - you could hear top levels flushing toilets, and sewage rushing down beneath the bathroom walls...very disenchanting

    Restaurant is great, perfect location on the sea side, beautiful view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful view, mediocre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn't sit on the balcony because it is very small and there is no shade from the sun. The seaview rooms are pricey for what you get. You pay for the view and not for the amenities. The hotel is old and the rooms are tiny. The bathroom is tiny and the shower doesn't close properly so the water leaks out. You get what you pay for if you get a regular room without a balcony. Food is ok for a 3 star hotel. There is a beach that is owned by the hotel. Cushions and a sun umbrella cost extra. We went there in August at peak season and there are no available launige chairs at noon. Good we came early. Staff is ok.

    I got a room with seaview and a balcony. The view was very nice. The hotel is right on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is great, and view is superb everything else is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms but especially the bathrooms are outdated. The "Coctail Bar" is never manned. We never saw anyone in there, to ask for a drink. The food is ok. The self service soft drinks at breakfast and dinner are terrible. Thank god for 3 in 1 coffee as the one served is undrinkable... Hotel advertises as parking available. Perhaps for 7-8 cars which reserve it for the whole duration so it is a nightmare to find a parking spot. (costs about 10 Euro a day - which would not bother us if we could find a spot) problem is, the street is one way so if there is no parking , you have to do a mountain drive of 4.6km to be able to drive past the hotel ... not very entertaining.... Shame as the hotel has great potential, an amazing location and setting.

    The location is great, and view is superb everything else is so-so

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, not very good breakfast and loud cleaning ladies in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    7-9am every morning the cleaning ladies were talking VERY loud at the hall and started vacuum cleaning, that was not okay. Besides that, we had to pay for laying on the beach even though we stayed at the hotel (and payed a lot of money to get a seaview and balcony). The breakfast buffet was not very good, but the service on the hotel was good. and location was very close to the city and nice.

    I liked the room with the balcony, nice view and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    Amazing view. Terrible Service and poor cleaning standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms as well as the bathrooms have clearly not been touched for decades. They are not value for money. The staff (apart from the person that checked us in) were rude and have an atitude problem. We argued on the phone with reception to get a clean glass (I had a cold). Reception said that they would speak to the maintenance section. They came back and said that the cleaning section said that it was not their job. When we insisted the cleaning section refused to give us one saying they only change glasses every 5 days. We stayed there 4 nights! So terrible service and terrible cleaning standards. The hotel pool is tiny and a piece of ugly concrete. They charge you for beach chairs even if you are a hotel guest. The breakfast was the worst in Croatia. Couldn't drink the powdered coffee with added sugar. Powdered juice. Produce (including meats and cheeses) were very low standard. You can do better than this place!

    We were upgraded to a room with a balcony and a view (which was beautiful). The bathroom was still really run down as well as the room. I hate to see the non upgraded room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    2.5
    Horrible Hotel, total rip-off, rooms are disgusting and pictures are fake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Totally disgusted by this hotel. It is nothing like the pictures. The room was horrible. Thorn out chair seats, pigeon dirt in the balcony, paint patches on walls, the furniture must be 30 years old or more and in a bad state. Moreover there was also bad odour all over. Do not believe the pictures advertised - see our attached pictures. We had booked for 3 nights but only stayed for one night and had to move to another hotel. They also wanted to charge us for 2 nights given we were going to leave before but at least after some discussions given we were right they said it was ok for us to pay only for the night we stayed. When we told them that the rooms are nothing like the pictures on Booking.com the receptionists said that they know about this. So why put nice edited pictures if it is not true?? All the pictures are a lie. They also showed us another room which they claimed is better but it was exactly the same. Also breakfast was not good and parking was nightmare. Stay away from this so called 3 star smart selection hotel.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Good standard hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a nightmare!

    Nice communal areas, rooms a little dated but all worked really well. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was great! Breakfast good, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    Very poor hotel - if you have a chance pay a little bit more for some renovated 4 star place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smoking room next to the restaurant. When you walk in or out from the restaurant all you can think about is that smell everywhere. Paid sunbeds and umbrellas on the hotel beach. Ants in the room. Out of nowhere appeared in bathroom. Very expensive hotel parking that was full anyway. Trouble with finding spot for car close to the hotel. For that parking you can pay only with coins in Kunas and sometimes they didn't have change in the reception. Sometimes very loud live music in the restaurant. Very poor selection of food for lunch and dinner and long line of people waiting to get food. Everything (Specially swimming pool) doesn't look like on the photos!!! Swimming pool is small and crowded all the time.

    Free drinks (soft and alcoholic) for dinner with half board option. Location - next to water with a little private beach. Good exchange rate in hotel reception. Big terrace in the superior room with excellent see view. Center is 10 min walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.6
    DISAPOINTING----
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We missed the fact that the was no FRIDGE in this hot weather in our bedroom. In summer in hotel of this standing it is esential.

    The fact that hotel was on the beech.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Private swimming pool directly to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel - need a serious remodelation. Old and dirty room. No parking around: the existing one ath the hotel is limited and you need to pay (around 10 euros/day).

    Private swimming pool directly to the sea. Good and variable breakfast....however noisy (many families with children).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    Pictures cheated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't trust the pictures, actually cheating the reality! I wouldn't call the swimming pool a swimming pool but a baby pool (around 6mx6m). All the long chairs are not free, you have to pay for them. In addition even in summer time, shadow is coming really quickly (from 5 p.m). Rooms are quite noisy and and it really looks old.

    Sea access

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Location was perfect, sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms but when arrived they weren't together so were put in old run down rooms . Would stay at neighbouring hotels next time

    Location was perfect, sea front

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have welcomed me with a special note and this made me a great feeling. Rooms were clean and staff was great and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to everything as it has a great price for what it gives.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Although a little tired, we had a balcony room with a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    you had to pay for a banana lounge & umbrella

    Although a little tired, we had a balcony room with a lovely view, breakfast & dinner were really good, lots of variety

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Nice relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cushions were a bit uncomfortable

    Buffet was abundant and with great variety. Pool next to the sea is wonderful. Seabeds super comfy although you have to pay for the rent of seabeds and umbrellas. Choosing the option with dinner included was really convenient. Dinner was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Okay - for a weekend escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms - From the age of socialism, broken shower, old windows, bedding quality. No parking provided - you must find free place on the street parking; Price: 5 HRK per hour. Coffee at the beach restaurant - way too expensive - 15 HRK per cup.

    Food very tasty and fresh, above-average expectations for a 3-star hotel. Restaurant renewed. Clean and neat. Very polite staff, especially the pool boy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Good value for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and the rooms need a reconstraction, except the restaurant,that has a modern style, very expensive parking

    Amazing see view, perfect location, very good breakfast and dinner, good value for that price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Waterfront location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the morning could be fresh

    This hotel is a must. I stayed there the first time I visited the area and then returned and stayed again. It's just brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Happy with the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a little worn down at places and could use some additional refurbishments, so it's not ideal for very picky guests, but for me it worked out great.

    I was extremely surprised by the hospitality of the staff. I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who immediately offered me a room with a sea view, even though I booked a regular one. The room was clean and had a large terrace with view of sunrise, sea and Rijeka. The food was great - lots of variety and good taste, with free drinks. Also, the staff in the restaurant was very friendly and hospitable - I've lost a car key and they've help me found it. The location is less than 5 min walk from the centre of Opatija, the other side offers many peaceful spots on Lungomare (the strolling path down by the sea). So it's great, because it's close both to lively spots and peaceful environment. The closest market is 5min away, so bring a rucksack with you. The parking is a problem in Opatija, but 150m away from hotel I found a cheap spot for only 3kn/h (7-19) and it was safe. You can pay for as hours many days in advance and they are happy to exchange the bills into coins at the reception. In general - this could be just another value-for-money experience, but the hospitality and friendliness of the staff and the good food made it into a great stay and I would recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location and view from the hotel room looking at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a larger indoor pool. Not a lot of hotels parking spaces.

    Great location and view from the hotel room looking at the sea. Perfect dinner and breakfast. Parking in front of the hotel (10 Eur per day) (10 spaces) and on the street. Staff was very professional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Superb price location Breakfast and dinner parking opposite great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a thicker towels in the bedroom and also tea and coffee making facilities.

    The hotel is within walking distance of Opatija this is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel this time I stayed half-board which was well worth it at €44 a night the breakfast is fantastic and the evening meal with free wine and beers is the best in Opatija. The staff at the reservation desk where fantastic always had a smile and the restaurant staff including the manager were superb

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    6.3
    Great view, good breakfast, old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the same hotel on the picture. old-fashioned interior and facilities. only few parking space and expensive than public parking space even for the guests. we had to park outside.

    Breakfast was fresh and excellent except for coffee machine! Great view

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is in a great quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking in the hotel parking lot - 30€ for 3 days?!

    The hotel is in a great quiet location. Room with balcon is overlooking the sea and offered an amazing view. Very friendly staff, excellent food! I would especially commend Mr. Robert Pavličić. He is truly excellent and capable receptor.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the decor was very dated almost to the feel of not so clean.

    Breakfast buffet was abundant, plentiful and varied!! the view from the dining room was awesome and so from of our rooms. The bathroom looked clean in contrast to the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.4
    We booked a superior room, it was defiantly not, it was a 4/ 10...beware of the stairs !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were terrible. Bathroom was very bad. Shower doors didn't shut and there was black mildew around the doors. The shower head was so old, we bought one for a couple of pounds and used that. The sink was very low so you banged your head when you washed.our balcony door didn't open, but they fixed it the next day when we asked for the second time. The plug socket came out...the infinity pool outside was in very poor condition, there was loads of brown tiles that were broken. It looked very shabby, not at all like the pictures on bookings.com. The bar was pleasant but you had to call a staff member from the restaurant to get a drink, and it shut at ten, so you couldn't even get a coffee after ten o'clock. The bathroom door kept sticking, got stuck in the loo a couple of times. It should say in the details that there are lots of stairs down to eat, and more down to the coastal walk, and no lift, not very good if you have limited mobility.

    Beds were comfortable. The indoor pool was great but need a bit of a clean, but the showers and changing rooms were good and very clean. Food was ok, plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. Staff were lovely, always very helpful. The reception and most ot the downstairs was clean and pleasant, but they need to do the same upstairs. The views from our balcony were great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Loved and enjoyed our stay, will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and we plan to be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for hotel's clients not resolved well. Sadly, we were issued a parking ticket when parked in the blue spot I front of the hotel.

    Loved the fact hotel was on the water with its own beach, and the close proximity to the center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Bread and fruit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee and juices

    Bread and fruit

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Grate hotel, top
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grate hotel, top

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    I really much enjoyed stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside pool could be better. No gym.

    Staff was awesome, food was great, rooms were clean. Staff helped me with so many requests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice, modern rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is old style.

    Nice, modern rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    There is no fridge in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no fridge in the room. 🙁

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    A fridge and updated room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge and updated room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Quite nice breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building, not so nice beach in front of hotel, bad pool.

    Quite nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    😊

    Exelent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is old, not good mantained

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Not worth for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth for the money. Fake photos!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great Location, very clean, great Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location, very clean, great Food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and the private beach of the hotel are exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no safe and bar in the room.

    The newly opened part of the hotel looks very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice terrace and view, but the rest is average at best. Not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange building layout. It basically looks like 200 year old hotel was merged with dental ordinacy.

    Good terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Clean comfy rooms in beautiful old villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly service, spacious rooms with high ceilings and with a sea view..large breakfast variety!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Room quiet located with sea-view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quiet located with sea-view. still close to Opatija Centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Not the best trip, but a good one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No parking place, no beach, only sea !

    Staff, breakfast, restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Opatija good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to parking

    Stat, beach, breakfast and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Weekend stay in Hotel Istra
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was missing was a refrigerator and a safe in the room

    The room was great and clean. The view from the balcony was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned decor and average dinner

    Great location and outside swimming area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Very good staff on Reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel bit dated, and bit of a walk from town centre.

    Very good staff on Reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was full

    good breakfast. Excellent location but dated property, Very clean rooms and good staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Not expecting much from this price level but it was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old but they seem to try to keep it up to date with modern TV, AC, etc.

    Climatisation/AC in rooms Location on the beach/walkway

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good, very many selections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good, very many selections. Pool was ok, a bit too shallow, more for kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    nice views need refurbishment and upgrade food standard, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food not excellent

    view

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: