Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Island Hotel Istra 4 stars

Crveni Otok-St.Andrea, 52210 Rovinj, Croatia

#8 of 16 hotels in Rovinj

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1586 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    elevators only in the middle of the building

    This is an excellent place, two small islands with beautiful sea, much space so crowded areas can be avoided easily, reliable boat services to and from Rovinj, very clean and with good if not excellent food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Mediocre hotel in beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff, Just did job because it was their job, not more. The checkout is at 11am, and you will know because the electricity from room gets shutoff. Like in the days of Communism, this hotel did not shake off this mentality, saving a penny and kicking their paying customers seems more important. They charge for pool towels and the towels are cheap and not clean The beach of the hotel is small and beach gets shared with people from outside hotel

    Beautiful setting, awesome clear sea water. Good and lots of variety for breakfast, with just ok service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Nature island retreat - privacy, luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little too firm, towels were not very plush for price point. Pools were cool, hot tubs were not hot.

    Gorgeous location, privacy, great buffets (breakfast & dinner), lovely walking trails, nice spa (body scrub treatment was excellent); proximity to Rovinj but set amid nature.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Great island hotel - would like to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor annoyance: Drinks in minibar not cool enough - even at max power. Cabinet where minibar was located was extremely heated - reception told us it was normal.

    Excellent breakfast (missing only better bread selection). Beautiful scenery, outside pool and beaches. Location amazing, no big crowds and easy to find spot on the beach. Mostly senior guests and couples, no loud children thankfully. Rovinj 15 min boat ride to center - very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Been there five or six times already and will go back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is becoming slightly dated. The Management needs to continue with the efforts to renovate the facilities also on the interior, i.e. rooms etc.

    Very nice location at the magnificent Adriatic Sea! The island is wonderful, clean and close to the charming city of Rovinj Very pleasant staff that is really helpful with a smile too! Clean rooms, hotel, pools and beaches make the stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    I liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very clean, but bathroom tile could use an upgrade.

    I liked the location. There were many places to enjoy nature. The trails along the island were very nice. There were so many public places to enjoy and small nooks tucked away if you want some private relaxation. We enjoyed the dinner and breakfast . It was very kid-friendly. Our toddler enjoyed the playground and sandbox.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The stay was very relaxing and the music in the night by the pool was just right-add some reggae.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have hot tea available at dinner time. Also, i think paying for a towel while on the island was a little to much; it should have been apart of the stay.

    The staff were very friendly and professional. They always had a smile on their faces and were always willing to assist with anything we needed. The restaurant buffet was amazing... we like the different variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Chill at the hotel on the island and take the boat into Rovinj
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kayaks or bicycles for rent. Limited options to eat or drink after breakfast.

    Beautiful island location. Good and frequent boat service into Rovinj town. Breakfast buffet is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Worth coming. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall the hotel and it's facilities surpassed my expectations. The taxi boat to the coast is fantastic, goes on every hour. Food is great, rooms comfortable. Didn't have impression that it's acutally booked. Definitely worth coming, specially if travelling with kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Nature is wonderful, hotel entrance is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are clean and acceptable but little too small and they need refurbishing but that's not a big deal.

    Nature is wonderful, hotel entrance is very nice. Dinner and breakfast was fantastic with lot of options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Once again I,m impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    One day it was raining, but I think it was not Your fault:)

    It was our second time in beautifull Istra Hotel and I can write only best words about it. Rooms are cleaned every day. The food in the restaurant is very tasty, during breakfasts there is simple everything, from fishes to warm sausages, eggs, bacon and fruits. Hotel has a vary nice spa and wellness area ( one must respect that full nudity is expected). Excellent and quiet beaches, where you can lie in the sun, drink Ozujsko beer aso...And od course superb friendly staff in the main reception. My special greetings and thanks to Mr. Ivo who helped us a lot. See You next year. Marcin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Unbelievably unfriendly staff, but fabulous outdoor facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was unbeliveably unfriendly. We wanted to have breakfast outside, but were rudly advised to leave the spot we selected by more than one staff member as it was not allowed to have breakfast outside.

    The outdoor area is fabulous! Two whole islands belong to the hotel and offer a wide variety of relaxing spots.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasent short stay when touring the north Dalmatian coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were on the small side the bathroom needed upgrading

    The facilities eg swimming pool outside decent size the indoor pool ok, wellness facilities very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel parking lot was bad, they advertise it as guarded parking but actually we were instructed to park right next to it on the side of the road even if there were empty spaces in the parking. I have attached a photo of it. This is pretty much our only complaint about the property.

    The hotel it is wonderfully placed on an island. There is a boat every hour until midnight that takes you to the port, very conveniently for other activities on the mainland. Breakfast was excellent and so was our buffet dinner. The island is connected to a another island via a small path, excellent for walks, also both islands are scattered with sun beds and parasols.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Don't believe this hotel warrants its 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    1) Very poor quality and extremely small bath towels 2) Paying for pool towels, and running out of pool towels 3) No beverage facilities in room, or at dinner 4) Stifling hot dining room 5) General attitude of staff 6) Continually running out of cups etc in dining room 7) Slow replenishment of food in dining room 8) Insufficient seating in lounge area

    Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent for our small family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The junior suite room was abit outdated, interior of the room should be upgraded soon. But not a big issue for us since we not spending much time inside the room.

    Had everything you want and need in one place. Pool, beach, stores, restaurants, playgrounds, park. Staff friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Awesome resort for a relaxing summer holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would appreciate more entertainment activities

    The staff is very kind and willing to make you feel at home. The islands are a perfect spot for sunbathing and swimming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    We love Istra ❤️
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like I mentioned no kettle in room.

    Everything! Well when I say everything I would of liked a kettle in the room for early morning cuppa! Apart from that we loved the hotel, staff, food, room,swimming pools, beaches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is getting very "tired" and run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is getting very "tired" and run down. The temperature in the rooms never got below 25,5. The underside of the toilet seat was urine stained (though they did send maintenance quickly to install a new one).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    We have found this great hotel on short notice as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only negative so far are the seagulls which are everywhere all the time and the loud guests which were nocking even at night drunken on our doors. Or stumping like elephants on the higher floor above us in the late hours. But this is not the fault of the hotel at all.

    We have found this great hotel on short notice as we couldn't plan our vacation upfront. Right after booking we found out it's located on an island close to Rovinj (15min. by Boat). St.Andrews Island is a really lovely place to relax and especially the all suites part offers an high level modern accommodation with excellent breakfast in an separate historic building with see view (used as top fish restaurant in the evening). The whole modern resort is somehow built into the historic castle which creates an amazing unconventional flair and you have the feeling being in a special place. The pools are with normal and salty sea water so you can choose what fits best to you -which is great and so far we always found free place at the pools and on the beach which was a new experience for me in a fully booked hotel. The entrance to the sea is a bit "rocky" on most of the beaches so right water shoes are a must if you want to enjoy the sea from all sides of the island. The boat shuttle brings you in hourly intervals to the city center and to the parking shuttle. Works very well also with small children or luggage. The staff in the hotel and also in the boat and parking shuttle (even on the parking it self) is very friendly and helpful as much as it gets. In case of fully occupied capacities I see the issue sitting somewhere else then with the staff. Food is excellent in all restaurants and bars on the island but my hint is to visit some cosy restaurants in the old city centre of Rovinj.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel on a small island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Lanterna restaurant for dinner : too expensive and not so good. The overall hotel price is too high for the room I booked, but it is more appropriate for the suite they gave us on arrival.

    The hotel is located in an island in front of Rovinj and it is reachable with a free boat the run every hour in the 2 ways. On the arrival, the staff at reception nicely upgraded my superior double room reservation to a suite for the same price. The suite was big with separate living room, a large terrace and a big bathroom. Also the breakfast for the suite clients swas in a better and separate place (see photo) with respect to clients of other standard and superior room. We had a problem with safety box in the room, but it was solved soon. Concerning the beaches, the sandy one is very small and all others are made by stone or rocks but there you find many beach lounges for free. You can also FKK on the second island connected by a short pedestrian bridge. Also in the second island, which is more intimate, there are beach lounges, showers and also a good daily grill and restaurant. The 3 hotel pools are nice but were very crowded by kids. For the dinner it is much better to take the boat (20 minutes) and to have dinner downtown in Rovinj since the Lanterna restaurant on the island is quite expensive and not so good. In the hotel lobby there is also an excursion desk with same prices as in town. A nice half-day excursion is going by boat to Vsar and Porec.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    The price is not right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition did not work properly. The lowest temperature in the room was 26.3 and this was with the air conditioning running all day. The air conditioner was also very loud. There was only one pillow and it was very high. The quality and the size of the TV was also unacceptable for the price of the room. Sound isolation was also bad, since you can here all the movement n the room above.

    Breakfast was great, so many choices. The grounds of the hotel are also very nice, so is the beach and the pool. It is also very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    One of the best hotel spots in Croatia.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Th people that come over to the island for the day

    the swimming pools and the beach were wonderful. The water is so clear. Thanks to Lukas at reception, he was very helpful and changed our room with no problem as we wanted a water view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Lots of potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could be a bit more attentive and informed. When asked them about some information regarding major Rovinj attraction, were a bit dismissive and couldn't help me. We were also present when staff incident occured with one of the guests. Staff member was clearly out of line and inappropriate when handling the situation. I am guessing this hotel might have a problem hiring professional workforce. Buffet food was acceptable but nothing extraordinary.

    Very peaceful and relaxing. Loved the attached island to the property as lot of birds and unspoiled beaches. Perfect for the morning jog! Pool was amazing and kids loved it. Cleaning services were impecable and couldn't fault waiting staff. Very friendly and bonus that they knew what kind of coffee I was drinking in the morning 😀 Loved the relaxing vibe of the island but also having a bonus of Rovinj proximity. Boat rides to Rovinj were fun and having an option to take it every hour was 👍

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    temperature in room never cool enough for summer months- this matter definitely needs addressing..

    spectacular location... good size swimming pools.. firm beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast in the morning was fab, buffet in the evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast in the morning was fab, buffet in the evening great. Lunchtime options quite limited. If you are travelling with young kids the evening buffet doesn't start until 6.30 The location is amazing, the sunset is breath taking Rovinji is sooo stunning and lots to explore. We will go back to the area again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Great but could use a few improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the resort, but I am going to be very honest here, in hopes that the management can improve on a few things. First, our room had a broken railing, that looked to be "duct tapped" together. The sea view was nice, but not the railing with tape around it. Room 220. They need to replace that. Also, our shower tile had some mildew. Not what I would expect from a 4 star. Next, the dinner buffet has some room for improvement (we did the half board) .......well, the amount of food and the "presentation" was incredible. Lots of food and very colorful foods. But, the taste was not very good. Everything was bland and soft. We tried the fish, the pork, the pasta, and the roast beef. Both my husband and I would give the food a "4" on a 1-10 scale. Lastly----I had emailed the resort through booking.com to request a late check-out. I received an email back stating that yes, we could do that, and no extra charge. Well, at the check-in time, I brought it to the attention of the man working the front desk, and after a short time, he agreed to it. It was a little odd feeling, because it should have already been noted in our reservation. It was just uncomfortable and I felt like I had to quickly find the email approving my request. Then....on our last day, one hour before we were to check out, our key was turned OFF. My husband went to remind them again, that we had the late check out, and "oh ok" they turned the key back on so we could get in the room and get cleaned up and get our luggage.

    The resort and its location were beyond amazing! Pool staff is very friendly. The breakfast buffet was incredible! This resort is pure bliss for relaxation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    High price for low service and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is very poor, especially in the restaurants. We had to wait over 2 hours for our main course. Breakfast is low quality, fake orange juice with lots of added sugar. Cheap ham + cheese.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Hotel Istra, an excellent Croatian hotel located on peaceful island, great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The drinks at dinner, beer was flat and wine was below standard, albeit at unlimited quantities for some! But one can purchase better quality drinks.

    We loved the large pool, the captains bar for a quiet twillight drink. Good boat transport to Rovinj, every hour from the hotel and every half hour back from Rovinj. Staff was very good, always ready to assist, friendly and spoke many languages.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Buffett is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find reserved parking at harbor. we sent two emails to asked 24 hours in advance but no response. We spent much time to locate it. Besides, checking in hotel took long time although there was not many visitors at that time. It also took quite a while to get a hair dryer. Service seems not efficient.

    Buffett is wonderful. Various foods with Many choices and also taste good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are not great. They are clean but outdated - specifically the bathroom.

    The property is beautiful. This is a resort so there are daily activities, pools and fully set up for families. There is room to venture away from the pools and find private areas on the island to enjoy the sun and ocean. It was fun to be on an island but your at the mercy of the ferry schedule. We were able to easily plan our day and work within the hourly departures.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    A pleasant stay although a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price for dinner in the restaurant is quite high regarding the average quality of the meals. Requests by the guest (in our case to make the third bed in the room) were always answered in a friendly manner, yet we had to repeat our request several times until it was met. Water can only be obtained at a relatively high price, as there are no stores on the island.

    The hotel was clean, the staff friendly. The pool area was excellent. The indoor playground is in a very good condition. The beaches are very nice, the water clean and full of fish.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location with great views and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were busy so they were all a bit abrupt and not at all freindly...no smiles at all! The buffet was good with good choices for evening meal and breakfast but a little bit like feeding time at the zoo...not really our thing!

    The location is lovely...being on an isalnd. I think a long stay would mean that you get fed up witht he ferry journey though! Was not too keen on the very authentic sauna etc...they dont like any clothes at all! However, the facilities were great and it was fab value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    We liked it. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are a couple of things that did annoy us a bit: - Boat transfers to the coast and back are scheduled once per hour which requires a bit of planning. - The bed in our room was a bit narrow for a double bed (roughly 150cm wide). It's perfectly fine for two people, but we had a 3yr-old son who shared the bed with us. - Room temperature was held around 22 deg. Celsius (a bit lower than we used to) and we had to keep the balcony door open as something in the room was freshly painted/lacquered/glazed (floor?) and outside was even colder (our stay was in mid-April). - Sandwiches sold in the lobby bar are too basic for the price.

    - Being situated on island without cars is really nice experience. - 10-15 min long boat transfer straight to the city center is also great. - Food (breakfast and dinner) was also great. - Indoor pools were nice. Didn't have chance to try the rest of the wellness offering. - Surrounding area is great. - In general, well deserved 4 stars at very affordable price (mid-April).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place for recharge your internal battery if you like quite and nature place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Information about parking rules. You need to find Pier Dolphin, reload your luggage and than go with your car to the right parking (of course you will have transfer from parking to pier)

    Very nice location. Island is very quiet and peaceful. Lots of seagulls. Perfect breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Everything was super fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You must plan ahead and buy in advance anything you might need for the night (food, water, baby care essentials, etc).

    Everything was super fine. Did not encounter any of the negative points mentioned in some reviews. Location on the island just adds a pleasant twist. Communication with the mainland was fairly easy as there is a regular shuttle every 1/2 hour. So sometimes if you miss the boarding time you'll have to wait

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ferry transfer was confusing at times due to different ferries and poor communication

    Location was fabulous, really relaxing and the staff were very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the place is perfect!

    I loved this hotel. Staff is extremely polite and helpful (helped me charge my phones over and over again, after I realised I forgot my charger and adapter), island where the hotel is situated is peaceful but only 10 min boat drive from the city of Rovinj. I had great 4 days and even managed to see dolphins while on the boat ride to Rovinj.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.7
    Location great, staff unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were unfriendly and unhelpful, the hotel is definitely aimed at German speaking people

    Location terrific and island provided lots of space and things to do

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.3
    Stay Away! Don't fall for this trap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English is spoken on a very limited basis by few staff only. Signs are mostly non-English. Food was the worst in Europe in the 4 countries and hotels in stayed in. I mean worse then a one star buffet in US. Would not stay here again! Front desk checkin was nightmare as I was given an upgrade, an upgrade that had no sea view when in fact I paid for sea view. Wasted over an hour in this lapse in communication. Lots of better choices in hotel in Rovinj. The St Andrews Island resort experience is over rated and more an inconvenience all around! Oh also, breakfast is included but you can't take a cup of coffee from dining area back to your room. We were stopped and told to go back in to finish. Shame shame! Rooms are old and needs major renovation. Common areas are all updated but rooms are close to econo lodge standard. Bathrooms had pink tiles...something from the 70s.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Pure relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing instructions on how to find the pier from which the shuttle boat departs. A map of the location would be useful.

    Amazing setting on a little island with beautiful pine grove. Relaxing atmosphere, well designed spa.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel on an island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt special to get away to a hotel on an island, lovely location with picturesque views. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the two restaurants we tried on the island were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.1
    liked the balcony and buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilets for the pool were dirty. you had to pay for a towel. the sand beach is tiny. the customer service was poor

    liked the balcony and buffet breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    5.8
    The location was great, the Receptionists were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Breakfast and Dinner alternatives were not great!!! The Main-Restaurant too big and loud had an horrible atmosphare, it felt like beeing at a busy train station. The Restaurant Laterna as alternative had a fantastic location, great view but the food below average and overpriced.

    The location was great, the Receptionists were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    Relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner was very very good, great variety, good quality. No problem getting sun beds near beach, did not bother with pool, towels out by 7am!!! Reception staff very helpful esp Iva. Lovely walks around the 2 Islands - not very long.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken air conditioner in first room. Night desk man said there were no open rooms and the hotel was fully booked to move. After 2 hours of going back and forth, and stating I wanted my money back and was going to leave, he finally gave us an unoccupied room that he "found". Very unhappy with that. All the rest of the staff were exceptional.

    Amazing location. So many private coves with your own stretch of rocky coastline to use at your pleasure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.1
    Great place which gets crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The island is actually heavily crowded with plenty of people coming every hour and are not staying in the hotel. (You will have to struggle for a place under the sun.If I knew I wouldn't come)

    Food was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful island, nice hotel, but need some improvement for this money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for the towels, which is a bit inconvenient. Although they have 2 pools for children, they are in the big pool. No sunbed after 8am, lot of non hotel guests are using them as well.

    Wide choice of food for Breakfast Three different restaurant Nice pool, salt and sweet water. Nice surrounding

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    Location of this hotel is amazing with free taxi boat every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food on offer in the breakfast and evening buffet was of a poor standard. Luckily we didn't book half board!

    Location of this hotel is amazing with free taxi boat every hour into Rovinj.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    july 2016 hols
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Excellent holiday, hotel,food,and location couldn't have been any better. Even though I did our booking everything exceeded expectations. Our party was 3 mature couples

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location, very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked 4 superior double rooms and 1 triple room with sea-view and we payed extra 300 Euros/room for this category. However, they gave us standard double rooms with only partially sea-view. When we asked to change the rooms according to our reservation and money that we have paid, the woman from the reception told us that they are fully booked and they can not do this. However, they refused to give back the extra 300 Euros/room that we have paid for superior rooms. Also, we did not like the fact that you have to pay 20 kuna daily for every beach towel. We did not find this information on their website or on booking.com.

    Location great. Food very good, with an extensive range of choices, even with free drinks (beer, sodas, wine). Beautiful landscape. Spa very good, with a lot of facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    Great hotel wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy but then we did choose peak season. Hotel prices for food and drink were on the expensive side.

    Beautiful location. Comfortable, clean and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.6
    Island holiday heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The standard room is a bit small and needed a lick of paint, but to be honest, we only needed it to sleep and shower.

    Breakfast and dinner buffet - varied and high quality. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. The odd one wasn't, but there is a large staff number. They restaurant staff were very friendly to our baby and the baby club was a welcome option where we could play with her for a while and not need to bring all her toys. The swimming pools were varied in size, depth and shape and the indoor one and jacuzzi would be great out of season. The choice of bars to hang out in and the walks to escape on the island to a more secluded spot were great. Getting the ferry to the mainland from time to time was fun and Rovinj is a great place to wander about.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sand beach is too small, and it was hardly to find a place... Weird smell around pool

    Excellent choice for summer holidays, the nature of island is amazing, hotel is new with various facilities, really nice food, water is crystal clear, comfort of accommodation is on high level, friendly staff)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing. Rooms were clean. But we had two rooms and the shower heads were awfull. Definitely need changing. So old that the water can't get out. No problem with the pressure as we realised when we took the shower head off to clean it out. Overall very nice hotel. But staff not friendly not rude or anything but no one looked happy at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Great stay at the Istra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would help if more restaurants were open in the evening.

    The setting is amazing and the place is perfect for families with children. A ton of activities and crystal clear water. Great diving center on the island with very good and new equipment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Amasing Croatian island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Can't think of anything special

    Location, staying on an island without cars, the possibilities to walk, run, swim, sunbathe, the scenery, the beautiful Rovinj area, the food, the sunsets.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely different class. Everything like clockwork and super efficient friendly staff. Beautiful place, good food and lots to do for all the family. Top notch

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.5
    Very enjoyable 5 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Originally given poor choice of room and took a bit of an ordeal to get moved to higher storey. Canteen style service especially at breakfast time - Coffee undrinkable and watered down orange juice

    Very pleasant ambiance once you leave the immediate area of the pool Absolutely loved the pierside bar to the front of the hotel. Although there are some downsides on the whole this is a really excellent and comfortable location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    9.2
    A good place to stay with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A good place to stay with children. They have fantastic facilities for kids: pools, play rooms, an the like. Islands to explore. A good buffet when you need to eat fast, and a tremendous romantic restaurant in a beautiful historic building at the water's edge for when you want to splurge. A good way to combine a relaxing beach/pool vacation with a serious trip to see the world-class sights of Istria.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place Croatian hospitality is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Everything an excellent place to stay only wish I had booked two weeks rather than one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful blue sea, amusing wiew from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful blue sea, amusing wiew from the room. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    More than expected in many ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    Staff , location and cleanliness of hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Very beautiful place and wonderful atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful place and wonderful atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The destination was very good
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The destination was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service, clean room, beautiful view, crystal clear sea, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel island istra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast it could get very crowded round some of the food stations. Drinks and snacks rather expensive.

    Very relaxing. Gorgeous surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, hotel clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, hotel clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect organization, location , proffesional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect organization, location , proffesional staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    The frequent ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pink bathroom

    The frequent ferry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    i missed the towel for the wellness department
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i missed the towel for the wellness department

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast and trails around the island, good for running.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was like a construction site. Pools were cold, even indoor jacuzzi.

    Breakfast and trails around the island, good for running.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    It was a great getaway from the daily routine! Perfect !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathrooms will soon have to be renovated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I'll be back soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice place, and the staff always ready to serve you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: