Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ivan 4 stars

David Cesta 11A, 21420 Bol, Croatia

#8 of 8 hotels in Bol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no dishes in our apartment due to ending of summer season. I would suggest that even after summer season is gone bistro continues to work because we really wanted some coffee :)

    Apartement ( nr.34) was clean, comfortable and spacious. Rooms have nice view on the sea. All in all nice place to stay, close to the city center, and 5 min from the beach. Personal parking space and nice part of Bol.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really complain about anything.

    Hotel looks amazing,it's a beautiful stone building,the staff was amazing,the owner invited us for a drink, the chef asked every day if we wanted something special for breakfast,they even offered to stay an extra day free of charge. Parking was behind a fence with video cameras,the view from the hotel is stunning and it's located a very short walk from the harbour of Bol. We never go to the same placr twice, but we will definatelly go to this hotel again. Oh, they have their own vine cellar, and we got some of their vine to take home as a gift.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not say this is a four star hotel. It maybe used to be but now it is in need of renovation. The description of the hotel is overly positive. There is a stove and a fridge in the room, but nothing to cook with and no plates etc. We did not get the safety box to work, though did not bother to ask about it as our stay was so short. Several lights in our room did not work, and also the corridor was dark most of the day, and when it was lit, there was only one light burning near the stairs, leaving the rest of the corridor rather dark. The room was poorly cleaned, the carpet clearly had not been vacuumed and the floor had not been cleaned from under the bed. We had no balcony, and the common yard looked a little untidy. I think this place could easily be made great again with some re-organizing and updating!

    The location was ok, though not really in the center. There was a nice beach near the hotel (smaller than Zlatni Rat). The staff was friendly. Wifi worked well and the breakfast was good with many different options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are clean but old. Aircondition is old style, noisy and no effect.

    Staff is extra helpful and nice, location great, quiet place away from noisy center, single room with superior seaview, traditional stone building is cool, breakfast is tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's not worth the money. Breakfast is poor, every morning the same,and no choice at all, there is not enough food for every guest so you need to wait to get something to eat. The hotel has a parking but you need to pay extra (10€/day) for every day your car is on the parking. We had a mini kitchen in our room but it was useless because they aren't any dishes and plates.

    Staff is great and very kind they deserve a better place to work, free wifi!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit small but clean.

    Hotel Ivan is perfect for short stays travelling with someone or alone. The breakfast was excellent and so were the staff especially Margaret at Reception, she was particularly welcoming and had a great positive attitude.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was quite old and wifi signal was weak at times.

    Staff were willing to look after bags past checkout and were helpful in providing ideas and directions for both beaches and restaraunts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "air conditioning" simply blows hot air around the room. We asked to move to a different room but were informed they are all the same. After two (hot), sleepless nights we checked out 1 night early. Avoid (unless you're staying in winter and need the heat!)

    Friendly staff, great location, however the hotel is in serious need of renovation and functioning air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worked. Wi-fi, air conditioning. The staff didn't seem to care about this either. Most of the facilities listed online (spa,gym etc) did not exist at all. Would not recommend to anyone

    Hotel was very clean, the woman who worked at reception during the day was the most helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed in the single room was not so comfy - when sitting/lying down on it, it moved (I had the impression it was a bed normally being moved to other rooms as additional bed).

    Especially the lady doing the day-shift at the reception was so kind and always helpful!!! She is doing a great job there!!! Everything was clean (except the drawer in the nightstand where I found some long black hair in and did not want to use it), the breakfast was simple but quite ok. The pool looks nice but I did not use it - who needs that, when Adriatic Sea is just a short walk away? :-)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    terrible hotel only has 3 star and not 4 star murky water in the small outdoor pool breakfast is a disaster extremelly bad wi-fi connection location is bad, above the city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame the bar didnt open at night. A sea view other than a carpark view would have been better ..but not sure if thats extra

    Excellent location very close to harbour and plenty of restaurants .The room hotel was exactly like photos. Really friendly reception staff .We met the owner and after reading some previous reviews i was a little concerned ..first impressions were a little confusing/ annoying as the first thing he said to us was he told my kids off for climbing out the side of the pool rather than using the steps !?? Which was bit strange but after that he seemed to be friendly. There were no kitchen items at all in apartment but everytime we asked for things we got them from reception with no problems.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought the room was very dated and cramped. Bathroom was really not up to expectations. WiFi was patchy. The pool water was cloudy. Breakfast was very poor. The coffee machine needs to be destroyed. Such a shame...the place could be so much better with some investment.

    The location is good, within easy walking distance to the harbour. The hotel building is very attractive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a more diverse. Hotel rooms need an upgrade, bathroom for example.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very tight bathroom. Sheet change could be more frequent.

    Safe parking, refrigerator in the room, nice and quiet room and very kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast the first morning was sparse. We arrived at 9.45.

    The pool was a bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent receptionists!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air con did not work - very poor shower screen which would not shut properly

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty and old.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where do I begin... Staff is pretty unprofessional and untrained, except one female receptionist who was very kind, but helpless in this poorly organized place. Food is terrible - breakfast is poor, everything is covered in plastic foil, choices are very narrow, cofee is bad... Dinner - no choice, soup from bag; first night I got raw pork chop, literally bloody. Two cats are circling around tables, dead bird was under one dinner table - unhygienic and disgusting! Floor of the dining terrace was very filthy. Air conditiong is not working, toilet was broken, pool is dirty an unusable. Three big vasp nests are hanging under the balconies... We felt very uncomfortable staying in this place, especially considering the amount of money we've spent.

    Hotel position is ok, near center of Bol, but the distance from famous Zlatni rat beach is about 3km. Beds are comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    AC does not work properly we even did not sleep one night and next moning asked to do something they turned on the system but only for one night ((( next day we asked them again it irritated a lot!!!!The worst of all was food. for dinner soup from a bag and one dish no choice + dessert( small piece of waterwelon or apple pie etc) We paid money for food and expected to get it but we did not. Some guests bought baking for breakfast in the nearest market because there were not any on the table just eggs,cheese and some kind of meat.I like coffe but coffee mashine was from prehistorical time and coffee was disgusting I drank it outside in the cafe ))) .There are many nice restaurant around and you can have nice food and choose everything you want why you must pay for meal in the the hotel which is not good - THINK TWICE!!!!! No wifi in the room.

    location is good if you prefer city center but If you are planning to go to the famous beach Zlatin Rat it takes about 2 800 m , room was nice, free parking

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The worst of all is food. No choice of meals, they only cook one meal for the dinner and its for example soup from a bag and spaghetti and an apple for a dessert. Breakfast is even worse, its supposed to be "buffet" but there is almost nothnig on the tables, what is there is cold, you have to ask for everything. No wifi in the rooms The hotel is very old and not well maintained - many things are broken or not functional (AC not working, when raining water is leaking inside of the room, even walls are wet, toilet broken, etc...) Pool is very dirty When we arrived they took our IDs and did not want to return them before we pay the full price in advance!!! Very high price for very very poor quality....be carefull!

    From the front the hotel exteriour looks nice Easy parking One of the receptionists was nice

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room and the bathrom were too small. No frigo, no hair dryer. The breakfast was not well presented, the coffe machine used was not efficient. The organization in many case wasn't perfect.

    The hotel is nice, and also the location. The people from the staff is really kind. The food served during the dinner was ok.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The air conditioning did not work. In fact one night it blew hot air out. One night 30 degrees outside and 40 inside. We checked out 2 nights early as we virtually hadn't slept for 3 nights and left Brac. No apologies, money back or discount. It was disgraceful. I can only hope this review deters people from staying here. No wifi in rooms.

    The facade of the building.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff here are unhelpful, overworked and at times rude. They took your passports of you when you Rrive and don't give them back until you've paid - I think this is because most guests have a problem. Air conditioning didn't work for first two days, I asked for a discount I was told it's tough! We were hb you didn't get a choice of food, it was just placed in front of you.

    The pool was great as not many accommodations have a pool and the location although up steep stIrs and a hill was not a ten minute walk to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the air conditioning worked in the rooms, it was not optimal for 35+ degree heat. We had to leave it on for a good 12 hours before the room was cool and were afraid to open the balcony door to enjoy the beautiful ocean view so as not to have to wait for the room to cool off again. We stayed during the highest tourist season. I would consider this a family hotel. The clientele were large families which meant lots of kids and lots of loud kids during the day and early evening. We do not have kids and were looking for a relaxing environment. The pool area was really nice but often full of young children. That being said the personnel did their best to ensure our stay was comfortable and we had a comfortable stay. Bol has a lot to offer for all ages and is beautiful!

    Proximity to the town centre. Personnel worked hard to ensure we were comfortable and were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were problems with the hot water for shower and pool (a solar power solution). Shower water got luke warm, but not warm. They really tried to fix it, we saw the engineer on place, so probably it is fixed now. We would have preferred not to have half board, but it was not able to book without dinner - the dinner was more of home cooking than restaurant food.

    We had a nice apartment with 2 bedrooms and an amazing view over the sea. Cleaning was tiptop, beds comfortable, air-conditioning working, a fridge for cold drinks. Our two kids loved the pool, and it was really nice to have breakfast outside on the terrace. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice and friendly staff. They cared about us and children as well.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    ac did not work, no utensils in the kitchen, very unhelpful staff,

    location great, pool good, free parking

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owner who is only prepared to employ one or two members of staff who are run ragged

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were so welcoming and friendly. We arrived late and they happily prepared a meal for us. Superb location.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast and very very poor dinner.No hot water....... Absolutely disappointing!!!!!!!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: