Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Kaštel 3 stars

Trg Andrea Antico 7, 52424 Motovun, Croatia

#12 of 32 hotels in Motovun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    3.3
    Terrible experience on so many levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made reservations in January. We were assigned to the ONLY room on the third floor. After taking elevator to second floor, you slide back a door with 22 steep wooden stairs, without hand rails to our room. My husband is 77 years old with bad knees. It was about 80 degrees and the AC was inoperable. The phone was inoperable. They brought us a fan to place on the desk. We did not sleep all night and chose to leave in the morning. They offered us an upgrade for second night but refused to refund our money. They refused to let us talk with the manager. We stayed one night and were charged for 2 nights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Marvellous stay in Motovun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not think the breakfast lived up to this lovely hotel.The breakfast room is delightful but the breakfast just did not work for us. The bread did not seem like it came from a bakery and was very chilled. The cold meats and cheeses again were so cold it affected the taste.Unfortunately the eggs were cold too. Coffee was bitter. I think they could do a lot better.

    The hotel is situated in the town square of the hilltop town of Motovun. Access by car is prohibited but the hotel collects you from the bottom carpark. The system is quick and efficient and the staff friendly. The hotel was great and our room was large with a balcony overlooking the valley below so very special views. Room very clean and tidy with floor to ceiling windows so we could savour the views. Motovun is small and fascinating and has a few restaurants cafes with terraces to enjoy the spectacular location.Also has a few shops selling local products from the area.We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Great property, great breakfast, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit confusing to obtain information regarding parking. The person on the road was not helpful, however, the people at the shuttle booth were much more helpful

    Very comfortable room, staff very helpful and friendly, great breakfast, great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    The wifi works well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The wifi works well. The bed is very comfortable. The staff is helpful. The road is being fixing at that time and the staff give us a good suggestion to get the right place. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Magical Motovun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Very nice hotel perched right at the top of Motovun, swimming pool is a bonus on hot days ! Getting up early in the morning to see the cloud filled valley below you is amazing, bare in mind the sun has burnt them away by 7.30am

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is beautifully located at the very top of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the hotel could use some updating.

    The hotel is beautifully located at the very top of the hilltop town of Motovun, just off the main (but quiet) piazza. We had very good pasta and wine at the restaurant. We also thought the hotel was a good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel for weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing hotel for weekend getaway. Hotel is located on the top of the hill from witch you can see a beautiful view. It has a very nice spa, where you can have massage or have a swim in an indoor pool witch is connected with a back garden. Superb breakfast with a variety foods that you can chose from (I really hate grilled cheese but besides everything else they had most amazing grilled cheese sticks). Fur sure I will come back for a weekend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful place to stay in a lovely romantic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor complaint... but on the day we were visiting there was only one staffer in the spa so my wife had difficulty booking her massage. First world problems, as they say.

    It would be a very nice standard hotel... if it weren’t for the location. Right on top of the city of Motovun, it provides excellent comfort and services in a fairly rustic location. The price is more than fair for the amenities, although of course spa services and breakfast costs extra. a fine choice and we were happy with it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Hotel Kastel has history, charm and a touch of luxury. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing to dislike, perfect.

    Hotel was beautiful and rooms were new and modern with views onto the patio and gardens. The gorgeous indoor pool, beauty parlour and wellness centre was so unexpected. We had a relaxing swim and if I had more time would have loved a massage or facial, maybe next time. The location of the hotel in the middle of the town square was perfect for walking to the little craft shops and restaurants and the stunning views over the valleys in all directions. The history of Motovun and the Hotel Kastel was fsntastic, the luxurious internal renovations were delightful and made our visit one we will always remember.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed this visit a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water a little too cool and sauna price and timing not sensible (65 kuna for 3 hours - who uses sauna for 3 hrs?)

    Improvements from last time very visible and very nicely done and appreciated. Food and service great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a stop over at Motovun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get hair drier or air-con to work. Bed broke when my husband sat on it but he fixed it after hauling the mattress off

    Doughnuts were extra delicious, bed super comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Well done wonderful people, you have just made us your returning guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in room 102 and our bed was rather uncomfortable. The kids have stayed in another room and they raved about their good night sleep. Upon my testing of their beds I came to a conclusion that our bed (in room 102) is in dire need of a better mattress. That is our only complain everything else is deserving of a praise. Well done wonderful people, you have just made us your returning guests.

    The stuff at the hotel is super friendly. They allowed us a later check out just so my family and I could enjoy our last cup of coffee for this visit. Where can you get that???!!! The wellness center was great, I enjoyed the massage and the seldom conversation with a young woman whose hand were thougher than I thought they would be. We loved our stay and will come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel and location for exploring the hilltop towns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is right at the top of the town through narrow alleys so parking outside it is always going to be an issue. However overall it works well, and the Hotel collects you and your things from the car park where you leave your car. When you get to the main Motovun car park the attendant is expecting you (provided you've pre booked the hotel obviously) and lets the hotel know you're there.

    This is an established hotel at the heart of the old town. The corner room was clean and had views both over the town and surrounding countryside. The room itself was not large but had an entrance area with a good sized wardrobe so was big enough for a couple and our stuff. There is an indoor pool which is a reasonable size for swimming, There are various indoor and outdoor dining areas, we ate in the main restaurant which was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    The hotel itself has a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better

    The hotel itself has a fantastic location. We went there for one night but extended our stay there for 2 nights. Really loved that there were sunbeds and a small spa - we were really satisfied with the massages. When going there you leave your car to the parking lot and the hotel transport picks you up - everything is well organised. The ride up there is an adventure on its own :) Really nice town to stay. Our room was really nice with lot of light and had a big terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    2.5
    We were disappointed in the management of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alltough we booked this hotel for 2 nights in a luxury room with terrace, we only could stay for 1 night because they said they did not receive any confirmation of booking.com and the hotel was fully booked for the next day. So we could only stay for 1 night. With my confirmation of booking.com in my hand I have tried to convince the hotel but it was not possible to stay for 2 nights. Therefore we were obligated to change our plans which we did not appreciated. Our appreciation of this hotel is negative !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Very special atmosphere and VIP service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best way to explore Motovun is to stay the night and feel the atmosphere. Best time in Motovun is the late night and the morning before the other tourists reach the town. The hotel has a character and a lovely atmosphere. And the service is excellent! Forget about taking the 1000 steps! Just drive into the big parking place and say you are staying at Kastel. You will be treated like a VIP. They guide you into a special free parking place and let the hotel know you have arrived. Then a Jeep is coming to the parking place to pick you up and they take you through the town where other cars are prohibited. You are delivered right to the door of the hotel. When we walked into our suit, my kids said: "Wow!!!! Are we staying the night in a museum?!" It does feel like a fairy tale. We were blessed with a men choir concert at the church next door and a thunderstorm during the night which added some "special effects" to our stay. Lovely bed, great modern shower, delicious rich breakfast and a VIP service. And the indoor pool is just what you need after a hot day. We absolutely loved the stay in Kastel hotel. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip in Croatia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful views on top of the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views on top of the hill. Organized parking - we drove up to near the old wall and then were driven up the final leg - a very entertaining ride with a great driver. Very nice restaurant and garden in back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in nice town.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mini bar in room missing.

    Nice hotel on the top of a hill in the center of a small town. Rooms clean and tidy. The breakfast is great, and the special atmosphere is to sit in the square in front of the hotel and have breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect romantic evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rom with balcony we booked had no view we hoped for.

    Beautiful romantic place. Great restaurant. Parking is well organized. Upon arrival the parking staff direct you to the correct parking lot and inform the hotel that you have arrived, so you just wait until you are picked up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    You will have here a very relaxed vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning lady.

    Nice service at hotel. Good breakfast. Pleasant, friendly, helpful hotel people. You feel like home. Very good spa. Excellent massage. Nice quiet in the evening and morning, active and live atmosphere during the day. You have every day something new in surroundings to do. We have a very good time. If you came with the car, the parking is somewhere on the road but this is not a problem because the luggage are carried up with the hotel car. Try the local food with truffles in the beautiful restaurant of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    Great location and breakfast but could be more welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be more welcoming At 6am, myroom was filled with a strong garbage truck noise that last for 10 min. That can be very irritating.

    The location is brilliant as the hotel guests have special privileges like car parking close to the village entrance and shuttle trip. The breakfast is very nice and varied. The croissants were very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in the city in the clouds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Often difficult to find the reception staff member on duty when we had questions.

    Amazingly views from hotel terrace restaurant. Comfortable, good sized room and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Spectacular location in this ancient mountain-top town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room overlooking the town square, but not the distant view from this mountain-top town we were hoping for. Car parking is at the base of the last part of the hill, but staff will run you up and down in their 'permitted vehicle'. Dinner outside in the town square overlooking the gorgeous view is to be highly recommended. Room comfortable, clean and interesting - the 'honeymoon room'. Worth a detour as the town is delightful and the hotel is at the centre of it all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Motovun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and lovely views. Hotel owner picks you up and drives you and the luggage from the parking to the hotel. Lovely staff and yummy food, dinner as well as breakfast. Swimming pool is a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel set in medieval village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk down the cobbled road was steep and very slippery- I fell over on the steepest bit- no damage done! It's ok if you're reasonably fit!

    The staff were friendly and the food in the restaurant very good. The hotel was awkward to get to- the hotel sent a 4x4 to collect you from their car park at the bottom of a steep cobbled road and took you down again when you left. The swimming pool was lovely, complete with bubbles!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    During my next visit in Motovun I would stay again in the Kastel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Location, the Old City, the view, the Hotel is very cosy with fantastic atmospher! The Little Restaurants, Cafes and Shops with local products near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful area. Lovely towns - Motuvun, Roc, Hum and Beram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the entrance to the hill-town they directed us to parking behind the cemetary and by the time we reached the parking area the hotel's valet service was there to take us with our luggage to the Hotel. Most of our rooms had stunning views of the area. In any case within one minute from the front entrance you can see 'the world' in any direction! Close to three other interesting and lovely 'towns' - Roc, Hum and Beram

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Motovun spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't the property we didn't like, we didn't like that Booking quoted us prices in Euros and the hotel does not accept Euros. If booking wants my business in the future quote me prices in the currency of the property. If I need to convert to a different currency I can do that!!! I am not stupid!

    Great location, Staff is outstanding, can't say enough about the hotel and the location. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Wellness was excellent and try the massage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were very uncomfortable and you could feel the springs on your back. My wife could not sleep. Room was cold and heating was not working well.

    Wellness was excellent and try the massage. Location is unique and staff was very kind and helpful. I would go back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute hotel in an excellent location! Me and my sisters wanted a peacefull, spa weekend and thats exactly what we got! Tastey restaurants are just around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Very cosy and authentic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy and authentic!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very charming
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very charming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place, nice stay, kind service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place, nice stay, kind service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Excellent short break in a historic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendliness of the staff, great location and quality of the food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lived on the 2nd floor, where there was no water pressure & Wifi was not working.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    The position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel with warm and pleasant staff. Beautiful garden to relax and be with your loved one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besutiful and green garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    It was simply outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was simply outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Hilltop Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, staff pick you up from car park. Restaurant on lovely terrace with views. Very good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Informations , in advance, about the parking and access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Informations , in advance, about the parking and access to the hotel was not available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    great stay, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean, comfortable, great surroundings, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were outdated.

    Beautiful views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    was very nice - inspite of the smell - and we enjoyed a wonderful weekend with truffles and snow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slightly disturbing kitchen smell most of the time in our room.

    very ice spa ...and beautiful garden with relax area outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Small quaint village town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too quiet during winter.

    Small quaint village town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A unique stay in an old castle on the top of the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having a massage and the excercise room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff..great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay in picturesque location. Thoroughly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    An interesting town, charming hotel and friendly people. A bit of a hair-raising drive into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not realize that quoted fee was per person not per room.

    Wished we had an extra day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly located to explore gorgeous Motovun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located to explore gorgeous Motovun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Parenzana bike trip stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    propably best stay in Motovun. all perfect include nice city, best terrasse and home made local style pasta. can recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice accommodation in a prime location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room in an incredible place. Fantastic views, nice pool and parking simpler than it seems!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was noisy.

    Good service and breakfast. Nice SPA.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location. Good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food and wellness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    View from the location was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the location was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    A welcoming hotel in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A welcoming hotel in a stunning location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only rooms with a deck have no view. We switched.

    Nice breakfast. Great view. Helpful staff to get car up the hill. We

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.9
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful position on the top. Very good wellness. Good breakfeast and very good beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Quality of breakfast was really poor - synthetic orange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality of breakfast was really poor - synthetic orange juice (like out of the chemical factory) no good coffee, no high quality hams, cheese and sausages from the region Here is no rating possibility for the served food

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.3
    Motovun is a beautiful hilltop town, and the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not particularly comfortable.

    Motovun is a beautiful hilltop town, and the hotel is charming. The views from our room were stunning. Staff were very helpful. The hotel is an old castle.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    Great location with lovely views, nice outdoor terrace for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room deccor is a bit outdated and service a bit cursory in a country that is typically much more welcoming and hospitable.

    Great location with lovely views, nice outdoor terrace for drinks and dinner. The pick up service from the car park is very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.8
    - The view from our room and the bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The view from our room and the bathroom! (We stayed in a corner room.) It was breathtaking. - The staff was very welcoming, helpful and nice. - The open-air restaurant - LOCATION!! :-)

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    6.7
    Location and views are by far the best attributes of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff are the unfriendly and not helpful at all!! Even answering a simple question was beyond them! Wi-Fi is non-existent Rooms are tiny but do have lovely views.

    Location and views are by far the best attributes of this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    We were picked up with our luggage from car park and taken...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was tiny. Just enough room for a bed, desk and chair. The receptionist was less than friendly. The only other person who spoke to us was one of the waiters on the terrace who was happy to chat to us about the town etc.

    We were picked up with our luggage from car park and taken up to hotel which was great. View from top was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    6.3
    Small hotel on the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The light in the bathroom suddenly turned off. We told the receptionist and asked them to fix it. Well there was a handy-man when we had dinner but it happended twice again. And I cannot say we got any excuse. They also charged the wrong price but when checking the bill and argueing they changed it. Breakfast can be much better - no possibillity to sit outside even though the sun is shining. Spa doesn't open before 0 o*clock

    Small hotel on the hill.... been here before i 2009 that was the reason for coming back but I'm not sure if I do it again.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.9
    Position - restaurant terrace - lovely in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed in a room without any windows at looking out level which was disappointing. The towels were hard It would be nice to have a tea/coffee tray in the room

    Position - restaurant terrace - lovely in the evening Dinner menu Use of pool and grounds

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    Location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Low water pressure in the room; dinner is determined (you can't choose between a few menues); noise from the main square during the night

    Location; personnel

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.8
    Very good location in Motovun with good view from restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First we got the wrong type of room. After complaining at the reception we got the right type of room. A part of our booking was a welcome drink and a late check out, but for both we had to ask ourself. For some parts of breakfast we had to ask many times and to wait for. The jam was of cheapest quality. When we left we explained the luggage driver where to drop off our luggage at the private hotel parking space. But he drove to the absolutly wrong parking space because he was uninterested. After two calls to the reception a bored driver droped off our luggage.

    Very good location in Motovun with good view from restaurant yard. Friendly staff and good quality rooms. A close lockable storage room for bikes. The reception lady gave a good discount for drinks at dinner.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.3
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has very poor Internet we found this most frustrating. Room was rather small and really needed air conditioning. Tricky to park (customers should be warned about access).

    Very good hotel. Waitresses brilliant. Room clean. Generally helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room

    Excellent location. Good value for money. However, dated small rooms with hard beds and no AC nor decent curtains. Good Spa but mediocre breakfast. We had cold water in the morning in our douche.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.3
    In the heart of Motovun with a great pool for travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No A/C in the rooms which was hot during our stay. Staff did their job, but not friendly. Room was a little dated.

    In the heart of Motovun with a great pool for travelers.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.8
    Reception staff, pool and evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Paid extra for aircon but it was ineffective. Wifi didn't work anywhere! Breakfast was poor quality food, juice and coffee. Restaurant staff grumpy and unhappy (young ones). Mattress and pillows cheap and uncomfortable.

    Reception staff, pool and evening meal

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boutique Hotel Kaštel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: