Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Kastel Split 3 stars

Mihovilova Sirina 5, 21000 Split, Croatia

#203 of 398 B&Bs and Inns in Split

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 497 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have a few more options or have been presented better.

    The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's right in the old city walls of Split. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast sufficient. Kind of a no-frills place but worth it for the value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Good with few reservations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with v small high window so no way to look out. Breakfast nice but if not one of 1st in some food gone and not replaced

    Location perfect and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.0
    Very convenient but room too small for a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed - number 1 - was really small with no proper window.

    The location is excellent, within the walls of the old town, and convenient for the ferries.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Right in the waterfront, access from the quieter back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator ... so it’s a long climb if you’re in the top apartment, but the view here is great !

    Right in the waterfront, access from the quieter back streets. Right next to the walled city in the old town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was right on the water - which had a gorgeous view but was a little loud at night. The included breakfast was good but the room could use a little freshening up.

    The location was phenomenal - right inside the palace walls along the Riva. Tons of restaurants and attractions within steps. The staff spoke excellent English and were really helpful at answering all my questions, and they safely stored my luggage for a day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with City View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and great staff. We stayed in the annex room which was lovely even if a short walk to the main hotel for breakfast. Very quiet room even though on main square in old palace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Location could not be more perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited packing space

    Location could not be more perfect. Opposite the ferry port, in the heart of the old town with several restaurants and bars to chose from. Great value for money, and perfect for a short stop over in Split. Comfy beds, hot showers and great wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful little B&B - quaint - but be prepared to climb stairs! Excellent location just off the Promenade - clean as a pub, good breakfast, and helpful staff. Rooms are modern and tastefully decorated. Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window shutters probably need some refurbishment, but they functioned well to block out heat, light, and noise.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom appeared to be freshly renovated. There was enough room to unpack and to move around freely, even though there was a full-sized wardrobe, desk, and coffee/tea-making facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    An excellent mid range hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Organised a pick up from the airport with the hotel and it worked perfectly. Also, we were met by the hotel management and shown the way to the hotel as it’s not possible to park outside. Very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in the perfect location. Staff were very helpful - lots of stairs, but he came out and helped with luggage. Good size rooms - and I had a room with a great view of the square.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, friendly staff and nice-sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ONLY issue we had with this place is that the bathrooms were small and the shower had very little pressure.

    Great hotel, friendly staff and nice-sized rooms. Biggest plus - perfect location (within the walls and right on the water).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    I arrived late and I’ve been given the room number 1, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived late and I’ve been given the room number 1, just next to the reception. That was a tiny claustrophobic room WITHOUT a proper window. I felt like I was in a cave. The bathroom was very tiny as well. A little fridge started being noisy in the middle of the night. Be avare that the dining room has no windows neither.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was small and there are a ton of steps up to the rooms.

    The location is tough to beat! Breakfast was good. The room was spacious (we had the two bedroom apartment).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Every member of the staff went out of their way to help us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every member of the staff went out of their way to help us and make our stay pleasant. Can’t say enough good things. Location is perfect if you want to be in the middle of the Riva.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved it and hope one day to return to Split and would choose the same accommodation again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was fairly basic but we managed on what was provided.

    The staff were most helpful both before we arrived and during our stay. The location was excellent and the room had all facilities that we required. Although the square and promenade were directly below our room the sealed windows kept out the noise at night and we were also able to run the air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    A good B&B for exploring the Palace and Split
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been improved a little.

    Location inside the Palace was excellent and easy to find. The B&B generally was very clean; breakfast was average; staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is superb - easy to find following receipt of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long staircase to reach reception from street level. Lack of elevator. However I was warned about both of these factors from the reviews read at the time of making the reservation. No other negatives to report.

    Location is superb - easy to find following receipt of instructions from the hotel immediately booking was confirmed. Well appointed rooms. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff - assisted with luggage upon arrival. I would definitely stay here again if I were ever to return to Split.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great clean Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great clean Hotel. Very centrally located. Courteous staff. Exceptionally clean room. Air conditioning work well which is needed from June on. Awesome breakfast. Highly recommended Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    In the heart of the city centre, and less than 2 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with City View - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the heart of the city centre, and less than 2 minutes away from port. Room is amazing, clean and spacious, so was the bathroom. Staff are very nice, Marjana was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location,great value B&B,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the steep steps but my husband carried our cases.

    We stayed in Split for three nights on route to the Island of Vis for a wedding. We followed the instructions on email B&B Kastel Split and very quickly found the hotel after been dropped off in taxi, short walk from the main front, very close to the port We arrived lunchtime on a Sunday quite a few steep steps to access the main entrance but our check in was very easy, helpful staff took us to our ground floor room, very modern clean not the biggest room but was adequate in size, very modern clean, nice bathroom with everything you would need. Bedroom nicely decorated very firm comfortable extra long twin beds. Air conditioning which we needed as temperatures 29 most of trip. Your in the heart of the city nice bars and restaurants very close by, was worried about the noise at night but everything closes down by around 11.30 so wasn’t a problem. Breakfast area clean, friendly staff, good selection of cheese meats breads. Yogurt fruits Juice, tea, coffee very pleasant Over all great location reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend. Easy check out, nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location to explore Split
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly small rooms but good use of the space especially considering it's such an old building. Also it's assessed via steps so pack light.

    Great central location only a few minutes walk from the bus/ferry/train station. Happily allowed us to leave our baggage there as we weren't leaving until later in the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was lovely but our room smelled of sewage. We closed the window and used the AC. Can’t really say it was great value for the cost as others suggested. Perhaps sea view rooms are better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in the heart of the palace, just around the corner from the Riva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to climb a lot of stairs to enter reception and rooms.

    Rooms are clean and exceptionally well equipped with everything from tea/coffee, glasses, extra mirror to bathroom accessories. Some rooms with a nice view over the port. Great service and a "guided tour" to find the airport taxi next morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night however I felt it didn’t matter but others might

    Great value for money and super clean. Staff was lovely who greeted us . Great location! Definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay in a beautiful town and perfect summer weather, although April.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot find anything to complain about.

    Very good breakfast and extremely friendly and forthcoming personnel. Perfect location in the old town and just by the sea. Sea view from the windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Tea kettle in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered twin room. The width of the bed is tiny. Its build for slim person

    Tea kettle in the room. Can have tea before going to bed Wifi in the room Big clean towels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Lots of character on the Split waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly place in great location. Very peaceful and quiet with view of Split Riva and the harbour. Easy walking distance to everywhere in central Split.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, solid breakfast (although the coffee was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a huge issue - had to use open air parking 1500m away. Worked out ok in the end

    Excellent location, solid breakfast (although the coffee was brutal), nice basic room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay right in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with City View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no parking anywhere very close by. We ended up parking on the street but quite a long way away. The family room also wasn't as big as it looked in the picture!

    The position of this hotel is great- right in town and central to great restaurants, the port etc. Staff were very friendly - especially with our kids (one wanted the disco light to be fixed and someone went out and bought a new globe). Breakfast was fairly simple but nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location handy to buses and restaurants with warm staff who are helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a little light on for choice.

    The excellent view on to the promenade and across the harbor was most enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and gave me an ocean view because I had stayed at the hotel before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of my friends was in a room on her own in a different building 5 min away Breakfast room was rather cramped and often bread wasn’t refilled and had to wait a while One of the rooms was very basic and not as well done up as other rokns

    Location of the hotel. Helpfulness of the staff was great especially suggesting restaurants Great location would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic Location. Great views of the sea, the sunset and the promenade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs (apartment on 4th floor). No lounge area and very small kitchenette, but bedrooms good size. Would have been better without a car-parking only in paid public parking.

    Fantastic sea view from the windows of 2 bed apartment with sea views. Great location. Breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Place if you are Fit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with City View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of steps - not for the faint hearted!! First morning we were there was a Friday and there were workmen drilling in the building across the way so it was noisy from 8am!! The restaurant below was noisy until 1am each night. Car had to be parked about half hour walk away which was a complete pain! Had to walk with all the bags to find the car when we were leaving. But it was free.

    WE were taken from the place we had booked to their "luxury" apartment which was about a 5 minute walk away. We were based in the centre of the palace in Split so the location was fantastic. There were bars and restaurants and shops all around us. The apartment was large and spacious and really well decorated and comfortable. WE could come and go as we pleased. It felt very safe and secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location in Split
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with City View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get the air conditioning to work. Maybe the remote control needed a new battery but I didn't get round to asking the staff

    Spacious well equipped room. I was in "luxury annexe" room which overlooked a lovely square. It was noisy at night but double glazed Windows kept the noise out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    It was noisy and we had a room on 3rd floor with no lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    It was noisy and we had a room on 3rd floor with no lift. The staff helped tho with carrying luggage up. I had a problem with the booking which resulted in my having to pay a currency transaction fee of £9. Although I raised this issue with you at Booking.com you did not deal with this matter and I am still out of pocket! I had also booked a twin room with breakfast but the hotel said there were no twin rooms available and that the booking excluded breakfast. After some discussion they did put an extra bed in the room and gave us complimentary breakfasts. The problem however was with Booking .com and I do not rate your customer service in dealing with my complaint.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Fine for our one night stay needing to be close to the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with City View - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was up two flights of stairs as is the checkin and breakfast. The mattress was thin and the lock gave us a bit of trouble. The TV was very limit in terms of English channels.

    The room was spacious and the breakfast was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location in the old part of Split
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great location in the old part of Split Staff very helpful Rooms had double glazed windows so even though right in the heart of busy part of town our room was quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location for stop off on route to islands, not for a prolonged stay in Split though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very ordinary, would have been better eating out, fruit juice was awful.

    Staff very friendly including cleaning staff, fantastic location and view of the Riva from the top floor apartment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The location was perfect, in the old town with a view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights are too dim. They need to put stronger globes in all th lights it was very frustrating.

    The location was perfect, in the old town with a view of harbour from our room. Room was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.9
    Worst experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest room ever. Little window on the ceiling. You can't open your luggage in the room. The room is right next to the reception and you can hear every talk there. There is no warning about that "special" room and they put you in a room like a dungeon. It is such an expensive hotel for this kind of a room. If you want something a little more comfortable, find an other hotel in the centre. There are lots of them even for better prices.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location just inside the walls of the Palace of Diocletian is excellent. The room I had was well sound proofed so even though you are near restaurants and bars you cant hear any noise at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    3.8
    The Harry Potter closet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the economy double room and spend 1 night there. Worst value for money than a speeding ticket. Room is extremely small and situated right next to the reception desk. During our stay there there was a light humidity-related smell in the room although it was end of August. Additionally there was very limited natural light through a small window you can't look out of. My gf jokingly referred to it as the Harry Potter closet. Also unimpressed by staff and breakfast. The closest parking area costs around €3/hour throughout the day, so if you want to park for the night you are better off parking further away where prices are almost half. Considering the c. €140/night price tag, I believe management is ruining the hotel's reputation by having this room on offer.

    Location of the property was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking availability. Difficult to obtain and some distance to carry luggage to. Arrived on Friday which I didn't take into account for the amount of tourist and lack of parking

    location to old city area and being in the port

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Location is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with City View - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is necessary to inform the guests that the hotel doesn't have any parking at all. And it is very difficult to find a parking place nearby and costly as well.

    Location is the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful, great location and got a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit underwhelming. In future would just go to one of the many and amazing bakeries nearby and get some lovely fresh pastries.

    Staff were very helpful, great location and got a room upgrade which was really nice of them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff are really nice and accommodating .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to top floor was tough.

    Staff are really nice and accommodating . Good breakfast . Stayed in 2 BR on top floor- comfortable , ac works perfectly , great sea view and Riva view. Location perfect. Extremely clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise between floor and from the street

    They accommodated our early departure by opening the breakfast room 30 minutes earlier to serve us! Much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful stay in the midst of Split central
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with City View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to up the breakfast Most rooms have no view

    Great place , close to the bus station and tour operators,the port is a minute away and the swimming beach is a 15min walk ... All the pubs and clubs are just below

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Cozy room in a fantastic location; mediocre service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with City View - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff kind but not well trained (but one girl in reception); low quality products for breakfast (coffee and juices a nightmare); coffee machine used and not cleaned in the room. Confusing email to get there caused a small but a annoying incident with parking.

    Fantastic location, charming building (our room was outside the bed and breakfast building), cozy room, comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    A gem right in the centre of the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with City View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really had no complaints about the property at all. I was surprised how much space you had in 36 m²! Preface were adequate but not spectacular. An inclusion of more fresh fruit would be excellent.

    This was a gem of a hotel right in the middle of the palace area of Split. It was located right in the thick of it you felt like you were really part of the whole experience. We were able to walk around enjoying the city and easily go back to our room to drop off year, freshen up, use the bathroom or take a rest. The rooms are small but very well designed and laid out. We were two couples and it suited us perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    excellent hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfirtunately the price I booked/selected the hotel room on was different when they took the money off my credit card 8 weeks later.....I realise exchange rates vary but it was a difference of £50 which is too much.

    Excellent staff and location.....city centre and still quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found my bed a little uncomfortable. There are steps up to the property and no lift within it so we had to carry a heavy case, although staff were willing to help.

    A very clean and modern bathroom. Air conditioning was quiet and effective. Room looked out onto a square but wasn't noisy. The modern windows were soundproof.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Hidden Gem in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lift.. if possible

    We had booked 5 rooms have 1 with city view , 1 standard room, 1 sea view double and one apartment 2 bedroom with seaview on top most floor. The b&b is at perfect location with amazing views Of the sea from the window. The room are spotless clean as described in pictures and housekeeping do amazing job. Breakfast is adequate for a Good start of dad with boxed juices, various selections of cold meat, cheese , cereals, toast and choices of bread, crossiants , tea n cofffee and boiled eggs. This place does not have lifts so if you have any large bags then you will have to carry them up the stairs. Its an iconic building hence its preserved. Historic. You are in centre and walking distance to everywhere , marina , food stalls on street, tourist attractions and ferries across hotel to go to hvar,krilo. The check in was smooth and staff are very friendly and helpful. We were 10ppl hence organised a small luggage transfer to our ferry to hvar at reasonable price as we had 20bags between us large suitcases costed about 100 kuna. Foreign exchange is just below the hotel and has the better rate than any other forex around the area. Suggest changing your money in split before going to hvar as rates in hvar are not great. Very cosy hotel with all pubs and foodies around you with alleyways to go shopping and its just beautiful.Overall we had pleasant stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, easy access; friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee

    Great location to stay and visit Split, Diocletans Palace and surroundings. Breakfast is served in a quite small área; coffee is bad. There is a bar called "La Bodega" located right a few steps away from B&B Kastel; noche place to go for drinks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Bargain Gem, a fabulous 5 star find!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An absolute bargain gem, incredible location, a five star in every way. It's basic, and they do not shy away from letting you know this, but what a bargain, bang on the centre of the Riva, in the city wall, high floors waterside have an incredible view, we knew it would be noisy, but excellent double glazing meant we hardly heard a thing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    We stayed in Split at a couple of locations. I would recommend this one to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were many steps to the top for luggage, but the gentleman helped us up.

    The rooms were large and the beds were fine. Breakfast was european, but sufficient. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful situation. Small but perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the tiniest room, but it was perfectly equipped. It's actually in the walls of the Diocletian Palace. The receptionist was kind and let me shelter from the heat after we'd checked out while my partner went sightseeing. And they lent us fresh milk for our cups of tea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Within the walls - location great for bars/restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with City View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Within the walls - location great for bars/restaurants etc - a little noisy for us only because we have to get up early after our stay. Nice and clean - a little dated but good for a quick stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place with atmosphere, a great location, and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants ran out on two of our five mornings! (They were very good.)

    I enjoyed the fact that the building actually adjoined the palace of Diocletian and the breakfast room wall was a Roman wall! Our room was simple but had everything we needed, including very efficient air conditioning. Breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location, but wish I had chosen a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room right at the top of the building which was oddly decorated and set out, I didn't like it at all. There is an incredibly loud nightclub outside which plays music until the early hours of the morning.

    Good location for the city and the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Worthy, no doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV didn't work well.

    The location is just perfect, with few minutes walking distance to most atractions of the city and surrounded by restaurants and night life.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location for walkers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must be able to walk stairs to rooms.

    Ideal location to tour and enjoy the old town/seaport and is a short stroll to main bus station and boat docks. The walking directions to b&b were spot on and made this very easy to find. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location...poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The accommodation had no facilities to relax and enjoy a drink.The room was small and the bathroom tiny.Also, there is no lift so you have to negotiate several flights of stairs) There was a popular bar outside(see photo) which went on until the early hours of the morning!They do have double glazing but you could still hear the noise.Fortunately, I had earplugs with me so it didn't bother me.Also, we were going to get a local taxi to a shopping mall which was just a short distance away.The driver wanted to charge us 300 Kuna !...it should have been around 60-80.One of the staff told us that some of the taxi drivers alter their meters to go faster for tourists.So be careful and always agree on a price first.Thought some of the boat trips were expensive for what you got...went on one which 'Included lunch'...turned out to be two small pieces of grilled chicken.Two pieces of bread and some shredded lettuce!

    The staff were friendly and the location was ideal.The room was clean.Straight out of the hotel into the old town centre.Bar and Restuarant right outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Great location with basic amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For self catering had no facilities . One aircon for 3 bed unit was not enough. In summer it's to hot not to have fans. There were no adaptor plugs .

    Location was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a distinct sewerage smell in the room when we arrived.

    The property was in the Old Town which was a good location but difficult to get luggage from the car to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A good quality tastefully renovated historic old hotel right in the heart of a very beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find initially. They need to send a small map showing where it is as you have to walk to it as it is in the pedestrian area.

    Position fantastic. In the old walls of Diocletians palace. Staff helpful and pleasant. Nice continental breakfast. Great harbour and esplanade views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Very Convenient Location with Excellent Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Those who can't climb stairs need to note that this hotel does not have lifts. You'll need to climb the stairs to get to your room.

    Views from the room were perfect. Restaurants and eateries at our doorstep. Couldn't have asked for a better location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive (the most expensive night in a hotel in Croatia). Awful coffee at the breakfast. Bed felt like it's gonna be broken any moment. Breakfast room is little and there was a family with little children screaming.

    Nice location. The room is tiny but it has basicly all you need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value, safe, clean and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep steps up to front of B&B and many stairs to room. But helpful staff assisted.

    Very clean. Convenient for restaurants, shopping port and siteseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location. Very central to restaurants and boats
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with City View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the second floor 2 sets of stairs. we had 2 bedrooms for 4 people. Our room was up a narrow staircase with a bend. Care had to be taken as there was only something to hold on part of the climb. Not suitable for elderly

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location, perfect all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff, Anna, in particular, especially kind and helpful. Nicely appointed room and breakfast room. In the heart of Diocletian's palace yet quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Great stay in Split
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very clean and neat, it is inside the old town, close to everything, and easy to find as well. The breakfast is lovely, stuffs are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in lovely croatia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel did not have a lift, which made it difficult with our luggage.

    hotel location is excellent , lots of bars and restaurants closeby. A short walk to the nearest beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service by morning shift at reception. Should have an elevator at the property. It is a 5 store B&B.

    Very good service by the evening shift at reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: