Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Island Hotel Katarina 3 stars

Otok Sv. Katarina, 52210 Rovinj, Croatia

#11 of 16 hotels in Rovinj

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1351 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No tea making facilities in room, also any drink including water at the evening meal was chargeable !! beach towels were also chargeable. no sandy beaches.

    The staff throughout were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and was well maintained with a pleasant view overlooking the sea ,The standard of food was very good in the restaurant. there was adequate supply of sunbeds around the pool area and around the hotel grounds and the swimming pools were of a good size with pools also for the children and toddlers. a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings, being on an island. The views across to the old town. The ferry across to the island. Secluded coves to swim in. Close to the bus station . The pretty town of Rovinj.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little disappointed to be informed on arrival of a large group of teenagers staying at apartments, however host was reassuring regarding the behaviour and there were absolutely no issues whatsoever. Thank you.

    Host and staff very friendly and informative. Good location and easy walk to all city centre sites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There l’s a bar in the lobby of the hotel. At 9’30 pm we went for a drink. As we had a late lunch on the main island in Rovinj we skipped dinner. This lounge bar dis not serve any kind of fancy Nigeria foods. They couldn’t order us a sandwich either. We felt that they should have had at leach chips and some small snacks. Otherwise the the drinks selection was good for us.

    Fantastic location. Great resort! We didn’t have time to check out the facilities so can’t comment. The beach looked lovely. We had breakfast which was a very good spread. Very helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast pretty average. Included in the rate but you have to pay for a coffe/espresso - outrageous! Pretty average the food. I had a room viewing in the garden very big but pretty average inside. The staff was barely speaking English at the breakfast.

    Beautiful position. You can leave the car in the pier and they transfer you with a free boat to the Island. Every hour you can commute with the main land.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in dining area could be better trained if trained at all.tables were left unclean on numerous occasions.staff appearance young and completely inexperienced.

    Old world charm.wonderful walking paths through trees and parkland around island magnicient views back to mainland. Beach and swimming areas excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The staff looks tired and some are rude. -The buffet for dinner finishes at 9 and they start clearing at 8:30. Very limited choices in the buffet. The service is bad. -the facilities and the rooms are dated. It looks like a dormitory.

    The location is incredible. Worth the visit just to be on the island. Our room (superior room) was quite big. Wifi is fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms however left a lot be desired. The furnishings were old, table lamp was broken, and the room was cramped. Beaches were so-so. Ferry service needed to be more frequent.

    The location was nice - hotel on an island across fom Rovinj. The breakfast was good. The island itself was nice for a walk but obviously we didnt go to Croiatia to walk on Katrina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The territory of the island is not well mainained. And the buiding with rooms quite old.

    Very beautiful nature, best sea view. The boat come to the town every hour. Breakfast is just fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat that takes you on the other side was not always on time (delays could be up to 30 min). But everything else was more than perfect, so this was a minor issue.

    Best location of a hotel in Europe. Amazing views, awesome facilities, polite and always willing to help staff. See photo below for view from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A la carte menu in the resaurant is not exciting at all. But you can choose all in menu for the dinner. If you want good fish or seafoood, better go to the Rovinj city. The waiters were not in position to serve all guest.

    Perfect location. Very romantic and quiet place especially in May when there were not too much guests. The food is much better than 2 years ago. This time we choose standard room and got modern furnished room with fabulous view to the sea and Rovinj downtown. The beach investment with so many sunbeds and new terraces was really big suprise. Congratulations for the improvement.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - parking is well organised however instructions were not clear prior to arrival

    - Funky location on the island - nice swimming pool - big breakfast buffet with lots of choice and good quality - the rooms are simple but clean - we had a great view on the old town of Rovinj - Free parking In terms of location I would say its nice if you want to spend some time relaxing. Boat connection is once an hour, with one stop at old town and the other at the harbour where cars are parked. When you arrive with your car you have to park it a bit further off and will be brought back with a shuttle bus. The whole thing is well organised however it does take some time to go back and forth etc. If you are planning to use car on and off this might be a handicap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's our second stay here and we love it. Amazing location, quiet, green, the food is very good, the staff is friendly. We will come back for sure - this hotel became our absolute favourite happy place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ants in room, no later check out

    Hotel Katarina is nice hotel on the small island few minutes from Rovinj by boat. Rooms are spacy and view from the huge terrace is very nice. On island was very quiet and nice to sleep. Breakfast is amazing, they have three cooks that are prepareing warm dishes on site, omlet, fried eggs and so on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked about how to get there by car from booking day but couldn't get an answer in time. Should explain the hotel site about boat & parking details. Breakfast wasn't good. extra charge for capuccino. Never seen that small tv. no coffee & kettle in the room. broken bed frame.

    The hotel itself is fine. nice to walk around the island, you can relaxe, swim and enjoy in the island whole day. Nice view on Rovinj. secured parking. boat staffs are very kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The location is amazing. The island is beautiful and has lovely paths all around it as well as a fantastic pool area and various little beaches. Our room looked across to the old town of Rovinj. Free ferries to and from the island run every hour from 5.30 am to 1am. There is free parking on the mainland and if you need to go to your car they take you in a (free) mini bus as soon as you get off the ferry. The dining room is very nice and the buffet food was excellent quality and easily accessible. They also do a la carte. The staff were also very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess it was just bad luck,but the construction work across the water was very noisy and annoying.We tried the dinner and were disappointed.

    I liked the location,nice views,friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilator in the bathroom, the blankets in the room

    Staff super friendly and helpful(they try to make all.your wishes possible), beautiful garden, boat always on time, wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    long waiting for eggs; consequentially, not easy access to other food, like cheese, salat... Some of staff they don't see things to do for themselves, if not called (like broken glass on the floor; eastern part of an island not arranged and clean, only the very close surroundings are clean and arranged; construction area near to the facilities (but I know it can't be avoided) a bit stressy parking procedure

    some of staff very responsive and polite, professional, i.e. a lady in a restaurant serving coffee in April 30th; also a lady in at reception desk etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk staff were not always friendly. There is a ferry to and from Rovinj on the hour and one day they moved the ferry to the other side of the island due to weather, we were on the beach next to the ferry area when they put up the sign but could not read it from where we were. They did not inform us of the cage even though they saw us there and because of that we missed the ferry and had to wait another hour- a PAIN when you have a 3 year old and 3 month old in tow. They were also LESS THAN helpful when it came to getting all of our bags down to the ferry. We had a lot of bags bc we were traveling with kids and when we brought them to the front desk 15 minutes before departure they told us we were "too late" and missed the bell boy and we had to haul all 7 bags down to the ferry ourselves. Also- the restaurant for dinner is buffet but you order your entree. One night, my entree never arrived. The restaurant did re-imburse us the cost of the entree, but in the meantime we kept waiting and waiting and it never arrived. The family room we were given looks NOTHING like the picture- apparently only 4 units are renovated and the rest are very tired looking. All in all we enjoyed our time in Rovinj, but the customer service of the Hotel Katarina was lacking- almost as if they have you secluded on this island and have your captured audience and then dont care about making your time there nice. These little things would have made all the difference

    The breakfast buffet was great every morning. The island itself is very beautiful and has a great playground for little kids. The grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs new carpet in rooms. Stop at the desk every morning and find out the boat shuttle schedule and to what side of the island it will arrive and depart, depending on wind and tides. We missed 2 because we were in the wrong place. Also if you need to get your car it is on land and offsite about a half mile. Otherwise that was it

    Location was just offshore. Beautiful views, beaches are typical Adriatic rocky no sand, but several on the island. Food was excellent, staff was extremely helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit old and they charge for some items at the breakfast (natural juice for instance)

    Wonderful view, great staff and pretty cool to be on an island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was missing a massage, not necessarily a spa, but only a massage offered in the hotel when the weather was bad for one day!

    This is my favorite hotel located in a little Paradise - hidden in the beautiful park of a small island overlooking picturesque Rovinj. It is connected to Rovinj with an hourly boat, that runs early morning to late evening! The food is perfect. The stuff is very helpful and professional. I loved all the animations offered every day and the friendly animators Zlatko and Marina. Please do not renovate the hotel too much, make sure to keep this unique old charm, there are so many other modern hotels. May be the paths in the park could be better kept, and the isolation between the rooms is not perfect. But still, I felt like a Princess and I look forward to come again! :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2nd visit to this amazing location, especially if you have a city view. Hotel itself very nice with lots of character. Excellent food (DBB), friendly helpful staff. Well organised parking and ferry services. Good swimming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only suggestion to improve the facility would be to add a canopy or shelter at the jetty where the boat leaves from. Just to offer shade on very hot days or shelter from the occasional thunder showers.

    Fabulous hotel. Access by boat only made it feel more special. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. Our room (standard double) had a super view across to Rovinj old town. The outdoor pool area was amazing. Boat to Rovinj runs every hour and had plenty of room on board for guests so we had no problem getting to town. It runs late into the night giving you plenty of time for a meal and drinks or explore the old town. Buffet breakfast has to be the best I've seen - incredible choice to suit everyone. Chef on hand to cook fresh omelettes to your liking. Nice easy footpath around the Island gives great views of the old town with many benches to just sit and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommend not to miss the boat since you will have to wait an hour

    Loved the location on the island, the solitude, nice pool and great breakfast. Room was big and comfi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a concert of symphonic orchestra on the night when we stayed. I like symphonic orchestras, but not till 2:20 am. I didn’t sleep at all. There is not any acoustic isolation in the hotel. You hear people walking, talking, laughing in the corridor. In place of rest, I spend the white night, totally exhausted and angry. I didn’t know about such event like this concert. If I knew I could cancel my stay.

    View from the hotel is amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn't be bothered. Bathroom tiny and quite dirty. Noisy room, no view as blocked by shrubs and trees. Boat very noisy every hour till 1am! Huge building site on the mainland opposite where work went on day and night plus weekends!! Food at pool bar was terrible. Ordered Caesar salad with prawns. Got a tub with lettuce leaves, barely defrosted prawns and a weak, completely tasteless yogurt dressing for about 10€. Breakfast was ok but freshly squeezed orange juice was charged at an extra 4€ per glass. A lot of tinned fruit. Didn't bother to try the evening buffet. Staff not particularly helpful, a lot of shrugged shoulders when asked a question.

    WiFi was excellent. Bed quite comfy. Big balcony. Nice pool area with plenty of sunbeds. Noise from Building Site was drowned by water fountain in one of the pools. No cars or dogs (mess) on the tiny island.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was excellent value for the price we paid. A few more ferry times would be nice but it was fine.

    Beautiful island with a characterful old resort hotel. Fabulous swimming pools with loads of lounge chairs. Lovely beaches and grounds. Excellent breakfasts. Drive to Delfin Pier and drop off passengers and luggage then the driver and car are escorted to car park and the driver brought back. Very easy process. The hotel will email maos and info if you ask. The little ferry runs hourly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ferry times could be more frequent, once an hour is not frequent enough. The bedroom we had was quite dated but great view.

    Good service, helpful staff, great location on its own small island with nice grounds to walk or relax in. We had a great view from our room of Rovinj.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel interior is a little dated but we weren't looking for super modern. The setting and staff more than compensated for the older decor.

    We loved the position on the island and the lboat that came every hour between the mainland and the island / hotel made daily adventures easy to coordinate. Such a gorgeous setting from the hotel looking back at the old town of Rovinj. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every department.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridors were a little noisy particularly if other guests were inconsiderate. During our stay, there was building work happening across the water which created some noisy times too...nothing much the hotel could do about that.

    Excellent selection at the buffet breakfast, good swimming pool options and beach very close at hand too. Idyllic island location made the stay feel really special and we were only a stones throw from the fabulous Rovinj and the hourly free launch service made things very handy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good, but the watered-down 'orange juice' is foul. Of course you can pay 29 kuna (yes-£3.50!) for a glass of squeezed juice. And in 2017 it's just not good enough for rooms to have no wi-fi access.

    Rovinj is a beautiful location, and its beauty and atmosphere are enhanced if you arrive by boat, for example from the Katarina Island hotel. The hotel is a little old-fashioned, but provides a memorable experience. I expect that in season its lovely pools are a major attraction. The arrangements relating to car parking, boats and luggage were superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rain on departure day.

    Best view from a room- view to a a town church of Rovinj, gorgeous! Big room and spacious balcony. Nice walks around a hotel, peacefull nature. We also got a parking spot right next to a boat (first row), a BIG plus and thanks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is beautiful and relaxing. It was very nice just to walk around the private island ,great views. The staff very nice and helpful . Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IMPORTANT READ. Where to start. Room 544. Floor boards badly lifting. sheets were stained. Smallest box type shower. Paper thin and very over used towels. Bar fridge empty but price list on top. Cracks in furniture. Old TV plays black and White on most channels. I have several pictures of the staff more interested in their phones that what is going on around them. Even standing at front desk while lady finished on facebook and man texting on phone before acknowledgement. The pool staff drinking a beer and talking together at the pool bar Finnishing a conversation before serving me. Then at night it rained. And the room FLOODED 11:30pm. ( explains the floorboards.) I called to notify reception, they sent some one with 20 towels! I then called back to ask to change rooms. Which was an inconvenience to them but it eventually happened. No sorry. No compensation. Not acknowledgement at checkout. Really sad :-( lowest review I've given from over 50 hotels

    The island lolcation was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a very German-friendly hotel which is predominantly apparent at the buffet—for the breakfast or lunch. Because typical guests don't like fish, they are only served on Tuesdays. Vegetarians, Vegans and those that prefer a bit more veggies on the side, don't mind a fresh granola or love a fruity breakfast with fresh veggie/fruit juices will be disappointed. Also, don't be late for the last boat drive. Boat taxi will cost you for about 350HKR.

    Katarina is a great hotel for those that are seeking the best value for their money. It's not the most modern hotel, and it shows that it only has three stars, but the Island on which hotel is built is dreamy. There's a boat that takes you to the Island every hour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tired and in need of renovation. Pool temperature should be warmer, especially with poorer weather conditions. Suggest an indoor pool facility.

    Location on the Island and the authentic atmosphere. Lovely gardens, walk ways around the island. Boattrip to and fro. Great breakfast with lots of choices. Staff were very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    The location is amazing, on the island in front of Rovinij, great and helpful staff, very nice buildings, very good restaurant and facilities. Parking is very easy, as you can park on the coast, in the peer, and reach the hotel with the shuttle boat. The beaches on the island (as in overall Istria, anyway) have no sand, but rocks so if you plan to go there be sure to have sea shoes in your laggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should upgrade the rooms but still it's a 3 star facility

    Nice spot, to see the old town, perfect buffet with lots of choices, animators for the kids. Restaurant buffet above 3 stars I think, although not Michelin but you can get that at mount mullin hotel for some extra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of mosquitoes as you are surrounded by water so you need to go prepared for this. Dinner staff are often clocking off at 9.30 so they tend to rush you through your meal, clearing plates while people are still eating at your table and removing dessert options before everyone has finished their main course- on holiday it would be nicer to feel more relaxed and free to eat later and make the meal more drawn out - surely that is part of being on holiday! Also you wouldn't get this rush to finish your meal on the mainland where the service is excellent - what we have found to be exceptional in Croatia on previous visits to the country!

    Excellent meals and half board. Loads of space, private beaches, park land, activities for children, a range of different bars/cafes on the island. Large swimming pool that overlooks beautiful views of the mainland, shallow shoreline for children to swim and snorkel, regular boats to the beautiful town of Rovinj, good size family rooms with balcony views. On our last day, the staff were very accommodating and ensure your luggage is transferred to the mainland without you having to lift a finger !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were not happy with the room (although it was one of the renovated), it was small, especially the bathroom and dark. The housekeeping was bad, there was always something missing (bath mat, once he/she forgot to cover the pillows ..), the cleaning of the room was very poor.. We missed the small things that makes your stay perfect, like towels of good quality (those in this hotel were old and thin like paper), friendly staff (you will not often hear a "good morning" except from front desk people)

    The island is a great place with an amazing view to Rovinj.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you go to dinner early. Don't go into dinner at 8.30pm like we did. They close the restaurant at 9pm and all the staff are clearing the food away. Breakfast was good though.

    Great location with views of Rovinj.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast at the hotel while extensive (many tables with a broad variety of items) was of relatively poor quality IMHO. A number of items had a slightly off taste (not spoiled - but perhaps due to inexpensive ingredients). And getting scrambled eggs was a joke. The small pan that contained them was invariably empty about mid way through the breakfast - and when we asked for it to be filled - we got some attitude. They do have an omelette station - but again the quality of the final product was somewhat less than desirable. Also the most attractive tables for breakfast were outside (inside tables were rather utilitarian), though the dining experience was inevitably marred by nearby smokers and an abundance of kids running around (and I'm a mom with kids!). The other main problem with the hotel was trying to get access to our rental car. First of all you have to catch the hourly boat, then you get into a van to be taken to the car lot. However, on two of the three days that we did this, we were first taken to an alternate lot to drop off and pick up some people and then taken back to the dock (where we started) before then being taken to our car lot. This wasted about a half hour each time. Then you repeat the same thing on the other end of getting your car - again taking up more precious vacation time. So, all in all, the hotel is probably best if you don't plan to use a car.

    The hotel is located on a beautiful island a short distance from Rovinj. As others have said the rooms are relatively spacious, though the decor is fairly bare bones (and I'm fairly sure we were in the remodeled section). The nozzle that held our shower head was broken, and I, along with the rest of the room, was seriously sprayed the first time I used it. The beds were comfortable. One very nice advantage of the hotel is that we were able to snorkel right off one of the beach areas (we brought our own gear). The fish and other creatures (sea cucumbers) were surprisingly abundant considering our proximity to human activity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the location of the hotel set on an island. The hotel was a little bit dated but the excellent service from the staff more than made up for that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any shop on the island to get essentials, which shouldn't be a problem if you go fully prepared.

    I loved this place and hotel! The food was of excellent quality,one of the best I have ever had in a hotel! The kids had awsome time on the island and in the swimming pool I loved the beach and snorkeling in the sea ,so much to see. We also spotted three Delphines swimming near by the island. Everyone loved going to shore with the hotel boat. All staff members were exceptional, friendly polite professional, I can not thank them enough for making our stay special. Looking forward to visiting this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving the island not possible during rough weather. That's risky. But not the hotel's fault.

    Location was wonderful; staff very friendly; food excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms looked a little "tired" and required some updating, but were comfortable and clean ...would not put me off visiting again.

    Excellent location and beautiful views of both Rovinj and the coastline. Plenty to do on the island and great snorkelling and lots of room at swimming spots. Food was excellent and the breakfast was plenty to keep us going during the day. Really easy to hop on the ferry over to Rovinj - goes every hour. Did not feel crowded, even though people visit the island during the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Generally the room needed a little tlc but it was large, comfortable and a nice shower so no real problem. The beaches are stone/pebble, beach shoes are a good idea as walking in barefoot is painful but worth the effort when you get into the beautiful water. Coffee after dinner would be a nice touch but again no big deal. Only a few minor comments to make but seriously, the value on offer (we were half board) is incredible and I worry in a few years time and after a bit of work this hotel will be out of our price range... Enjoy it while you can!

    Food was excellent, buffet at night but choice of excellent main course meant fresh quality food was delivered to the table. The whole island is beautiful with so many different places to find for a swim, no shortage of sun beds, no need to get up and put a towel over a bed either near the pool or the beach. Staff were excellent, knowledgeable, helpful, professional without exception!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing i would make better is the boat from Rovinj to the Island Katarina. The boat is every 1 hour, and it would be better to have a service every 20 minutes. Maybe with a boat more little but completely dedicated to the transport of client of hotel.

    All was perfect. The place, the beaches , the food, the seaside, the services.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They really need to figure out the parking and luggage storage situation (on the mainland side, before you take the boat), because right now you arrive at the dock, unload the luggage, then one of you has to stay guarding the luggage while you drive to the parking lot. We asked for a place to store our bags, which in the end they did - but it was apparently a big deal to the supervisor there. I was emailed ahead the instructions on how to find parking and the shuttle bus. They were completely wrong, and upon arriving to the dock the shuttle bus drove us to a completely different parking. Also, I'm not sure why the boat only goes once an hour. Some people have built an actual boat taxi business due to their crappy schedule.

    Fantastic breakfast. The half-board dinner was also quite good - no complaints for the price. The room is not exactly brand new - if you want to stay in this hotel for the room, don't. Stay in this hotel for the view you get out of the balcony, the view from the hotel grounds, the pool, the whole island, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ferry ride from the mainland is badly communicated. The car park is actually not nearby its 800m away from the port and a car has to follow you to the parking lot and bring you back. The lot was full when I arrived so my car was parked along the side of the road outside of it. By the time we had done all of that we arrived 5min after the ferry and had to wait another hour for the next one. We eventually caught a taxi for 7 euro for 5min ride. Service on hotel was shocking. We had to drag our bags through pebbled paths to reception, check in staff was as hepful as planks took us 10min to try and find our room after asking twice where it was. Use of the towels cost nearly 3 euro each non refundable. If you want a club med type of hotel with kids club etc then this is the place. Rovinj was also a tourist trap where you were charged for the balsamic vinaigrette at a sit down good resturant. Surprised we weren't charged for the salt and pepper too. The bars on the waters edge are an absolute rip off and staff so unfriendly. Too scared to put our glasses down in case we were shouted at. Awful experience all round.

    View of the Rovinj old town was lovely from the island. Breakfast was excellent but mimicked a feeding frenzy. Rooms were large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is probably something that Croatia as a whole suffers. The attitude of Croatian people is just not friendly. I have been visiting this country because of its unique shore and beaches. The nature they have is amazing, but the people gives me all the time a pain in the back. The last 7 years I was experiencing something that I would skipped if possible. This time at the Hotel's restaurant my wife found a dead fly in her meal. I called the waiter to get that away. But before I could say anything she just asked me if I want to pay cash or have my room charged with the water I ordered. Probably it is me, but I would give that water for free. Or just give something. The other day they have mixed up the menu's at the dinner. The waitress who brought the food was not explaining the problem only making faces and waiting for her superior for 2-3 mins like a teenager... for making the excuse... we were sitting there clueless for that time. This is funny right now but at that time with my 2 year old screaming for food was everything but funny...

    The location is amazing. The view with Rovinj is just superb. They have this boat going every hour back and forth to the island. That makes everything really easy. They help with your big luggages.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You have to hire towels for the pool at approx. £2.00 each per day, we could have brought our own - which many did as quite a lot of families. Only one key to the hotel room , so always had to arrange to meet up if doing different things. No shop in the hotel so you need to go on the ferry to Rovinj to buy water etc. as many people did. Water very expensive to buy ( small bottle ) at hotel . 23 kuna (approx. £2.70p ), 8 kuna in rovinj or 5 kuna in supermarket. Vey hot so you do drink a lot. evening meal you picked your own starter and dessert and ordered from a menu for main course- choice of 4 things. Not a great selection ,Deer , venison etc

    wonderful friendly staff, hotel very clean and lovely pools. Bistro very good. Breakfasts good, plenty of choice. Our hotel room looked across to Rovinj, views were stunning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleanness of the rooms could be increased for example bedsheets are only changed on specific request, some ants here and there, forgot to check/change the empty show gel, etc.

    Breathtaking view and aasy transport to Rovinj The island is big enough to move around every day from beach to beach with lots of activities Salt water pool as well as beach access Breakfast was delicious Helpful and friendly personal everywhere Good kids environment with a small indoor playground

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You feel lucky to be allowed to walk around this island, which is like a big park with small bays/beaches. The rooms stand to three stars since they feel old and simple but the cleaning was nothing to complain about. The phases and the hotel otherwise are of high standard. I highly recommend booking a room overlooking the old town and the sea. Our 5th floor room had amazing views and I could just sit on the balcony to enjoy .. The restaurant is great overlooking the ocean and serves great food. The breakfast had a rich selection and a good start to the day. The boat is a pleasant crossing and goes every hour to either the old town or the marina and is free for hotel guests. The pool area was big and great. The kids played mini golf and volleyball and had a great time.There were also more activities for the kids if they wanted to join. There is also a smaller lunch restaurant closer to the hotel beach which serves good salads and pizzas. The service at the hotel could probably have been better .. some more smiles.. We loved our stay here and hope to come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Drinks at Hotel were quite pricey so if you didn't want to go to the mainland you had to pay.

    The quiet atmosphere around the swimming pool, except for the aqua aerobics. Lovely view from our balcony. Boat was very reliable to and from the mainland. Good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was just perfect.

    Breakfast was more than delicious, wide selection of different food where everyone can find something for themselfs. Great value for money. Staff was nice and helpful. Clean rooms with great view. Basicly a private island, with beaches, pool, and different restaurants/bars. A city of Rovinj only minutes away with the boat that leaves the island every hour. Comming back for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In spite of a very nice view our spacious room offered the tiniest shower possible. I'm a medium-sturdy 60+ and had to breathe in deeply to enter/exit the shower. Perhaps best suited to those like ourselves who concentrated our eating on the salads. We felt the evening meal left something to be desired. On our first evening our evening meal order was forgotten leaving us sitting for over 45 minutes until it was too late to reorder. On the evenings we succeeded in realising our order the food was disappointing - the grilled/baked salmon was unrecognisable and like cotton wool. We were better served by the buffet and self-served starters which boasted excellent hams cheese and salads. No gratis water was provided only at a cost. No gratis table wine either. For the price of our our stay we feel this to be a gross oversight on the part of the hotel.

    I was impressed by the helpful staff, room with a view, boat connection, cooked breakfast, excellent hams cheese and salads, lovely peaceful island, good walks in variable weather with excellent views over Rovinj and out to sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beware of room 500, old wooden windows, ground floor, plenty of ants. Drinks are expensive.

    Good position, good services, nice personal, good food halfboard, nice atmosfere, very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we have made our reservation for one night and showed the related email confirmation of booking.com we have been kept for 15 mins for nothing as our booking wrongly entered into their systems as if it was for one week. During that time reception staff were not kind at all. I have never seen such a rude reception personnel in my life. Secondly, although the hotel is located in a very close island they don't have a continuous boat transfer between the port and the island. If you miss the 1:00 a.m. boat you have to wait until 5:30 a.m. to go back to your hotel (and it is just a 5 mins transfer)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to pay for towels for the beach.

    The hotel is on a beautiful island overlooking the old town of Rovinj. Lots of little coves to swim from and sun beds and umbrellas supplied. Nice beach bar to eat lunch.Love taking the boat (free) from the hotel over to the old town for dinner and back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing to dislike

    food was excellent, included an abundance of fresh fruits and salads (not a chip to be seen). they had a fish night one evening - you choose your fish and its cooked for you while you wait, and the same on the bbq night. Staff very friendly and well presented. that includes the hotel staff, domestics, and the boat men. special mention to the entertainment staff - we did Nordic walking and pool exercise in one morning excellent. we had a fantastic week in the hotel and couldn't have asked for more. Ferry boat was also very prompt and a great service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room we got was very shabby (though a big one, for a 4-people family). Other hotel facilities need renovation too. Some examples are on photos. I expected more from a hotel with this price tag. During our stay the group that also owns this hotel, was performing exceptionally noisy works in the bay, even during the night, disturbing the whole Rovinj.

    Great location, very good breakfast, mostly helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generous breakfast in a nice setting. Convenient boat service to Rovinj and to the small port (with shuttle to car park). The small island is a nice park to explore, an oasis of tranquility accessible only to hotel guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Very good island location - 5 minutes from Rovinj by free shuttle boat - made it accessible to the town but quiet and exclusive at the same time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Leaving the place!

    Beautiful property, well kept and looked after. Amazing staff - Administration, porters, restaurant, bar, rooms... Happy & helpful staff... Great location - Lovely island. Only 5 minutes boat trip to mainland. Hourly free boat service. Fabulous views in the day, and fantastic sunsets in the evening. Beaches, though not sandy, were of easy access, with clear waters... Easy & lovely walk around the whole island, with pine forests in the centre. Being on an island was a great advantage - quiet & peaceful, sleep and wake up to the singing of blackbirds... Will be returning...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location is really exceptional. The staff was very kind and helpful, especially Robert at the reception. He brought an answer to any of our requests. The transfer by boat which runs every hour from city of Rovinj to the Hotel is very convenient and well organized by the Hotel. We had a wonderful stay and we will come back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No children's menu and little flexibility to meet special requests. Our bedroom carpets were 'tired'. Not a comment about the hotel as such, but remember that Croatia has rocky/pebble beaches and sea access can be difficult.

    Lovely peaceful hotel with the whole island effectively the grounds. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Great pool area with bar and plenty of sunbeds and sunbed space. Shaded places in grassy area, again with sunbeds. Nice walkway round the island. Small playground for young children. Nice little children's club (2 x 1.5 hours a day). Good seafront lunch restaurant. Hourly ferries to the town are efficient and work to timetable well. Good breakfast with plenty of flexibility and eggs, bacon etc cooked to order (some queuing involved but no real problem). Dinners good with choice of three mains plus veggie, slightly repetitive starters but good, very good puddings, fruit, cheese, bread etc. Overall very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad.

    The property is a bit tired and could use a little attention. Basic room is small...but beautiful views, delicious breakfast buffet with lots of choices. Staff was quite helpful. For the price we paid it was a great deal!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is great and plentiful. But I'd loved to have had more seafood offered. It's a darn island, surrounded by the wonderful, turquoise Adriatic sea, after all... :)))

    The little island is a paradisaical little gem. The people working in the hotel are great, hard working, efficient, helpful and pleasant to deal with. BUT -- the maintenance stuff and especially the cleaning ladies are the hidden treasure. I have rarely seen the people working so hard and keeping the place immaculate. I want to thank them for making my stay wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oldfashoined room,but overall we were sutisfied.

    Great pool,great breakfast!It is a lovely island to stay couple of days. You can see the sunset sitting on the rocks...looking the birds,boats...beautiful memories. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting across to the island is not easy or clear, particularly if you have a car, as the latter has to be parked back in town before you can take the short five-minute ferry ride across to the island. This exercise took us over an hour, and we almost jumped on the wrong ferry - two arrived at once, and no-one from the booking office was telling people which ferry to board for which destination.

    Being on an island the hotel has great views back across to Rovinj and the old town. The dinner and breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We really loved the hotel for many reasons, the main ones being: wonderful location with a lot of privacy and nature, oustanding hospitality and staff, great food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was very poor and the staff member we spoke to on the phone was very rude and unhelpful in helping us find the pier and the parking. The boat and Delfin pier are very badly signposted. Poor directions are provided beforehand for the boat. The parking instructions provided beforehand and on the phone were incorrect as they were for the old parking site. We wasted a lot of time trying to park.

    The location was fantastic, with a beautiful view of Rovinj from the jetty. The hotel exterior is beautiful, as is the island, although the room was a little basic. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: