Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Valamar Koralj Hotel 3 stars

Vlade Tomašića 38, 51500 Krk, Croatia

#3 of 7 hotels in Krk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom. A lot of noise , music , from next door till late... , so you can not sleep with the windows open. Towels at the swimming pool to be payed.

    Big room but small bathroom. Hotel people very friendly and always helpfull. Buffet very good and variated. Very clean in all places. Parking in the shadow , 7 euro a day , at the entrance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we did not like, but a kettle for tea/coffee making would have been good - also facial tissues in the bathroom.

    We had half board package which was excellent value for money. Meals were buffet style with extensive choices and very good quality items. A table overlooking the sea was wonderful. The location was lovely, overlooking the sea and a short walk into the old town which was very interesting - views were stunning. Our room was nice with a balcony - bathroom small but OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Family Suite with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Krk was pretty quiet this time of year – beach businesses were all closed, smaller activities (zip lines, boat tours, etc) didn't seem to be open.

    There were a lot of options for breakfast and dinner – plenty to try. Staff was very nice. We booked a suite and it had a patio adjacent to the pool, with great views. Very happy staying there!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is amazing... private beach is gorgeous and the hotel is just 15min away from city center by foot. Breakfast and dinner were also very nice. The bathroom amenities (made from local products) were also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That was a bad suprise you have to pay extra for using wellness section of the hotel. (saunas) champagne was put on breakfast serving table, as usual in Austria, but they charge very high extra fee for a glass.

    5-star level breakfast and dinner with all sea-food in dinner buffet table selection. Good healthy corner , wonderful insight-kitchen department, unique panoramic terrace. Bed mattress and bath kit is a high quality level. Fitness centre is a real good one, much better than in hotels usually. Outdoor workout park is amazing and modern , enriched with parkour equipments next to hotel on the beach. we would come back just for having training there every morning:)))

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old and have not been renovated in a long time, and the bathroom is small and run down. The shower was very weak and tiny, which made for an unpleasant showering experience. The hotel food is average and coffee at breakfast is really bad warranting you to pay extra for a decent cup of coffee. We were also surprised to find that the hotel "beach" is public and is definitely not one of the best that the island can offer. We ended up driving to much nicer beaches. Overall the hotel is okay, quite average, and not at all worth the expensive rate (c. £200 per night).

    The location was good for exploring krk island and it was a 10 minute walk from krk town. It also has free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Twin beds!

    This is classed as a "romantic" hotel but all three rooms had twin beds. The food is very good and if you can get one of the tables on the balcony the view is fabulous, however the dining room can get very hot and airless. (We were there during the 40+degree heatwave to be fair) Also tap water is not freely available at the evening meal. Staff are friendly and helpful. The pools are lovely and again with a beautiful view. Evening entertainment is in reality non existent but the cocktails are fab! It is well worth trading your evening meal for the set menu at the taverna which you can do Monday - Friday. You can't choose what you eat but the food was lovely, the music entertaining and sitting outside a definite bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit crowded, but it is the case anywhere on Krk this time of the year.

    Excellent location, beautiful view of the see, nice beaches. If you have a dog you can even bring it to the beach for dogs. City is just a 10 min walk through a beautiful promenade.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Normally not my type of hotel but it surprised me how nice everything was. The hotel was very well designed, clean, great service and great food! The beach below the hotel was also very enjoyable and have no complaints.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - small dark rooms with old furniture, small outdated bathroom, cooler did not cool, a distinct, unpleasant odor from air condition - weaker middle class **, price does not match the quality - expensive beach equipment, too much stairs to the beach, not good for old people and people with small children

    good food, nice hotel (excl. rooms), nice view, friendly staff, close to the old town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, what I can remember. We wished to stay longer.

    Nice hotel on a beautiful place, very friendly staff (Tea, Patricia, Matija, Goran, Denis, David, Nikola, Marko... simply the whole hotel staff was very kind), rich entertainment program, delicious meal. We have been highly satisfied with this family vacation (so as our two small daughters and their grandparents).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room has seen better days, but it was very clean.

    The view and pool is amazing. Nice walk to the city. The variety of the dishes at dinner and breakfast is really nice. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception Rooms smell was very bad Rooms arrangement is very bad because there are stairs between rooms Rooms and toilets are small

    Location Restaurant manager was so good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room urgently needs to be renovated. Doorknob of rhe bathroom loose, airco grid loose and the fridgedoor very tentative lock. Only 1 key for 2 persons, the lock of the room didn't gave me a secure feeling.

    Nicely located outside of the city Krk. Nice view at the sea and the city. Staff is friendly. Nice pool, however not very big for the amount of guest during summertime and not very deep aswell.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception need retraining. Using the excuse that this is "high season" is not good enough if the issue or complaint is valid. The room was supposed to be an upgrade, no balcony as advertised just a view across a car park. Please see the photo. 2 nights cost over 500 Euros for two people and a pet for this room. A real upgrade was 150 Euros on top of the booked price.

    The hotel is in a lovely spot. Staff in the hotel restaurant and Bars are very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired.

    Position and hotel staff excellent. Swimming pools and views fantastic. No distance at all to the beaches. Town in walking distance and an easy stroll. Nice terrace in front of room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 270 euro for a room (called superior room with seaside) and we actually got a small room with nothing special. The window was on the sea side but we could not see any sea because of the trees. It's called "romantic hotel" but there are two single beds instead of one big bed. I don t understand how such a simple room could cost so much. Moreover we could hear everything that was happening in the lobby, it was not quiet. The parking places have no shade.

    Very close to the beach. They gave us a bed for the dog. They give towels for the beach. The food is ok.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the fridge was replaced with another one that could not make anything cold.

    best location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Very friendly staff, clean hotel and a nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to walk into town. Everything else was on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    my wedding ring missing at the hotel : /

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    overpriced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air consituoning not working. Received new room after 4 nights at high temperature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All management was extremely friendly and caring, showing dedicated attention to details.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    World Class!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathrooms are very small and need some refurbishment

    beautiful view, tasty food, kind and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room/bathroom is outdated and small

    The staff,the restaurant ,the variety of food,fast service by breakfast /dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Family Suite with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room; old building and furniture; too expensive

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great location, wonderful staff and nice swimming pools

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Twin Room - Seaside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy internet, lousy air condition!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Need a car to get the hotel

    Nice people at the front desk, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great reception staff and fantastic facilities (pool and beach)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful seaside location, friendly staff and comfortable facilities! Pool and beach areas delightful. Would recommend half board basis as the food is really delicious for this type of establishment! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The housekeeping staff that disregards the door hangers (do not disturb/clean the room) and lets the rooms opened and unattended! This is something that has to be improved globally, and not dealt with as a pre-complaint basis. In my opinion, the training and SOPs have to be reviewed and corrected, for all the housekeeping staff (management included). The overpriced dog fee that doesn't (10€/day) that doesn't offer any specific service in exchange (not even a water bowl in the room or a mat). The 'industrial' (or mass tourism) aspect of the whole complex, let's face it the 'romantic' adjective applies as much to this hotel as it applies to a Ryanair plane ;) The standard rooms are a bit on the small side, and the bathroom is clearly very small (but still functional). Some areas in the building could need a refreshing or a coat of paint (but overall the place is well maintained). The low quality of the food and the lack of a real local flair in the cooking (yes there were some -rare- fish or squid at the buffet, but they felt as Croatian as fish and chips). Noisy guests slamming the doors at night, and lack of proper soundproofing.

    Awesome staff at breakfast and dinner, very professional and friendly, they couldn't be praised enough. Very nice location, close to the beach and surrounded by pines. Great sea view. The pools and jacuzzi are also a great feature of the hotel (when the beach isn't an option). Nicely equipped fitness area. Food quantity (if you're looking for that, over quality). Decent choice of nice wines on the menu. Close to the city center, via a nice sea-front path.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are very basic, sun beds at the beach for additional charge. If the rooms would be better furnished and decorated I would rate the hotel as 4 star. Positive -good soundproofing, we did not hear the neighbours, however the house was full.

    Very good location, pine trees around, nice park, small Laguna beach with the the sand very convenient to sweam for grown ups and for children. Good restaurant. We very positively surprised by the food quality and variety at three star hotel. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lady at reception during check out kept talking German although we clearly responded in English. Romantic room: mold in bedroom, bedroom and livingroom quite old and not cosy. Rooms were not cleaned properly before or during our stay. Terrace is next to terrace of bar. Lots of mosquitos so we could not use the terrace. Forgotten bikini (of previous guest?) was left on our terrace.

    Food was very good: breakfast and dinner. Dinner was a lot better than other big touristic hotels we have been to. Staff in restaurant was very friendly. Staff at reception was also very friendly (except during check out). Good location, close to center of Krk (15 min by foot) and close to ferry service (20 min by car) to Cres/Losinj and Rab. Romantic room: toilet and bathroom were renovated.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is incredibly expensive for what was on offer. The setting is lovely but only part of that was down to the hotel setup, we paid for a suite and although the balcony was fantastic the suite was a very odd layout, the shower flooded and the toilet required a contorted manoeuvre to be able enter whilst negotiating the door to it. We also had a room for the teenage kids which was pretty small and looked over the park, a small balcony could have been provided but at least half the rooms only have a smallish window. Being forced to have the half board did not worry me and the food was okay to good but it really annoyed me that we could not get any tap water with the evening meal, whether we ordered drinks or not, the answer just was the restaurant does not provide it. The staff on reception and cleaning were really nice but some of the restaurant staff were pretty miserable. The food in the restaurant was not matched by the ambience, it was large scale catering in a characterless room with no outlook to the sea except for the very lucky few able to grab one of the 8 or so tables in the separate seating by the window. As a family we were not looking for romance but the tag line for the hotel did rather surprise us.

    The location was fantastic, right on the sea and within an easy walk of lovely old Krk town. The balcony we had was perfect for sunbathing and then sitting in the evening enjoying views of the sea. Also very nice was sitting in the taverna restaurant ( although we were not told until our last evening that we could eat there in the evening if we had signed up in advance, to avoid paying over and above the half board. I am afraid the total feeling we had was that this was a hotel planning to make large profits by charging extra for everything and by catering for a large number of guests.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The two twin beds merged together to be a queen size is always an uncomfortable bed, common in Europe.

    The location of the resort is the perfect distance to the town of Krk. Additionally the food selection and quality in the hotel restaurant is superb.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny comforter/duvet on bed. Very hard bed

    The private patio (in room 226). The many places for sit in the shade. Being able to walk into Krk.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were not up to the standards of this hotel: uncomfortable beds and mattresses, cracked sinks and run-down furniture. The rooms definitely need an upgrade to match the rest of the hotel.

    The outside area is splendid: well-kept beaches and tree area, nice tavern and great general upkeep of the main areas of the hotel (poolside included). The food was also good, though we would have liked to have more health options (gluten-free etc.). Impeccable service by all on staff; very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    166 eur/ night a little bit to much

    Excellent food both at dinner and breakfast. The view from the swiming pool is great. Clean room. Defenetly going to come back.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach in front of the hotel is fantastic and the swimming pools are excellent as well. We had the half board arrangement and the food was exceptional. Very close to Old Town walking on a beautiful promenade along the sea.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was a little bit outdated with small bathroom, but who cares when sitting on wanderfull terrace enjoying beautifull view? we will choose the same room for our next stay if possible, so nothing really bad with this hotel :-)

    location, location, location - the very best :-), excellent food, clean beaches, very nice swimming pool. It is not exactly the best spot for the small kids - it makes it really relaxing hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room 421 need a some renovation. TV is small, conditioner is not working and it´s just not cozy. The most terrable is the shower - it´s really small, the bigger person will not fit and the water changes itself all the time, so you will get cold water and hot water during the showering - THIS NEEDS FIXING!

    Location of the hotel is very good. Stuff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is beutiful, but beaware that if you have HB you have to pay for drinks (incl. water). Very nice pool and a view, only 8-10 min walk to the old town of Krk.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1-a indoor pool is necesary 2-for booking.com the actual name for veglia is KRK , please make the correction-it taked 2 hour to find the city

    it was a very pleasantly journey, very good meals, nice view from the breakfast room,kindly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No 'kroatian feeling'. Just a good hotel but it could be anywhere. The diner buffet is excellent but we didn't like the style...

    Food was excellent Good room Wifi was ok (not always stable) Nice swimming pool Nice location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell in the room

    check in speed, I think the reception manager lady was really friendly, she even give us a bigger room with balcony....friendly staff, location, food was ok and avarage but good for this price.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were excellent & helpful. Food on half-board -great choice & quality. Rooms - had all we needed. Location - near sea, old town.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We left behind a small aid to help with my mobility problems, the hotel once €20 to return – far above the postage price

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The teracce was wonderful. The view was perfect. Sea is clean. The staff is helpful. Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near the old city , parking +++

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    old furniture, poor bathroom, disgusting shower curtain

    lovely beach, excellent breakfast, perfect view, helpful staff,

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -view to the sea from room & restaurant. -gym, wellness

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The drinks service was slow at times.

    The location and sea views. The buffet breakfast and dinner were great.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small shower

    Place, Sport activity, View

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of safe lock inside the room.

    Everything was absolutely perfect!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything ok

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fan system is not proper.

    Friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel and location - no complaints

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel room was really small and windows going out to the parking.

    Staff, breakfast and dinner, perfect view from restraurant

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food and location was excellent.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: