Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel Zagreb 4 stars

Square J.J.Strossmayer 10, Donji Grad, 10 000 Zagreb, Croatia

#38 of 92 hotels in Zagreb

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3807 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Getting to know Zagreb!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located vis a vis a ground where summer parties take place. Could be sometimes noisy..

    Centrally location is great to get around "car free"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    It’s location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a group of 3 and each had a separate room, one room was extremely small! The wall-to-wall carpet... although I admit it was clean!

    It’s location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful service breath taking surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, but just go outside it’s perfection and the inside of hotel makes up for it!!

    The staff helped so much pointing us where to eat. The inside of this hotel is perfection. It’s near so much and there’s a guest book so many people sign!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great plave to stay if you would like to explore Zagreb on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and easy to get to - we used public transport after 24 hrs of flying Breakfast was very good Beds very comfortable esprcially after a long flight

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location in a historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. The corridors are long and seemed a bit like a maze. Even taking the elevator still required walking up stairs with our bags. The price of the stay did not match the amenities in the room.

    The location was very nice - right off from a tram stop! Really close to everything you need to see in town. Inside a nice historic building. Staff was professional and quick to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    The Palace Hotel is perfectly positioned in Zagreb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was damn near perfect

    The Palace Hotel is perfectly positioned in Zagreb. So close to everything, with the added bonus of a tram stop right outside. The rooms are clean, spacious and luxurious, and the bed large and very comfortable. Very helpful staff and the buffet breakfast is exceptionally good too. Very classy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    What you expect from a hotel in the city center. And without redundant branding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful hotel of old school with 112 years of tradition on Zrinjevac itself. Three minutes from the main train station and five to ten minutes walk to all major attractions in the city center. Friendly, professional staff. A beautiful coffee shop. Perfect breakfast. My personal choice for family and business visits in Zagreb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Grand old style hotel with charm and good food and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking was a mess. No drop off slip road or path and the porter struggled to control traffic and move barriers to get visitors parked.

    The old fashioned nature of the hotel built by the Austrians pre WW11. Right in the center and opposite parks. Staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in our room leaked - soaking the floor every time we showered.

    The location was excellent. The old city and all the attractions were within easy walking distance. Great restaurants were also close by. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast had a lovely variety of foods including fresh fruits, eggs and local dishes. It was easy to take public transportation from the airport to the hotel as tram #6 stopped directly in front of the hotel and it ran often. We highly recommend Palace Hotel Zagreb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Worth to stay when you are in Zagreb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting more for the 'free toiletries', such as toothpaste and shaving blazers etc, but the toiletries it offers are just very basic. Maybe it is the difference between Europe and Asia.

    The decor in the hotel was beautiful, still keeping the style of the building, yet not torn or worn. The breakfast was superb, far more than expected. The staff were very helpful and friendly, they were patient over my loads of silly questions. Walkable distance to the town centre and sightseeing locations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    I felt looked after and enjoyed being part of the culture in Croatia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking for drop offs by car.

    Comfortable, quiet and cozy room. Affordable and central to Zagreb. I could walk to all the main centre sites and the cafes and tram system were excellent. It was close to the mosque which I visited many times. From there I visited Opatia and Zadar by car. The main connecting autobahns are excellent with a fair toll charge dependent on the distance you travel. I used a Hyundai I30 - fantastic and car of the year , in white which was great for the strong sun and plenty of room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Rude waiter (Zvezdan)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all nice except for one waiter in the restaurant at the breakfast time who was extremely rude and annoying. His name is Zvezdan. He took every opportunity to annoy us every single day in the breakfast time. If we arrived to the breakfast at 10:30 he will tell us rudely to eat outside the restaurant. Even though the breakfast is supposed to be till 11. If we ask for milk or coffee he would tell us to take it ourselves and if we take it ourselves some other day. He will tell us off and say it’s not self service for the coffee or milk. My friends and I were really disappointed with the hotel because of such a rude waiter.

    Good facilities, clean, great food comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Zagreb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is efficient but can do with some more smiles.

    Excellent location for exploring Old Town attractions. Very spacious suite with nice balcony. Exceptional breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice location and premises, decent breakfast, restrictive gym hours. Live piano music was lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fitness center is supposedly nice, but it opens at 9am and closes at 9pm, so I never got a chance to find out. Wi-Fi is outdated, slow, and intermittent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Very good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV screen could be a little bigger, but this is not really a major inconvenient

    Excellent welcoming staff . Nice old style hotel , clean and modern equipment. Perfectly in centre of Zagreb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I really love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really love this hotel. I typically dont write reviews but I felt the need to because I had such a great experience. The staff is extremely nice and accommodating. The rooms are of good size. The location is fantastic. You can walk to everything. We were here during a national holiday (State day) and there was so much to do. Across the street they had a little festival with awesome food and drinks. Even live music. I will definitely be making a return trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Nice location for a jog around the 3 park/ squares near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location near parks , 5 mins walk to old town or train station. Nice sized room very good breakfast

    Nice location for a jog around the 3 park/ squares near the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay at the palace hotel Zagreb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old but thats a part of the theme and there was no porter to help, thats what i can say about it.

    The hotel felt very cozy and welcoming .. the room was spacious and with large windows .. the room had all the services we needed and expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful surprise great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satisfied guest we received what we expect however could have been alittle larger.

    Very efficient professional staff very helpful Room although small was clean and comfortable.location was excellent two blocks from square and across road to beautiful parks with fountain and gardens. We moved from so called five star hotel surrounded with gaffiti further from main square to this hotel. How lucky would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Grand hotel, great location, awesome staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff could not have been more helpful, polite and accommodating. Room was lovely with stunning view over city. Great restaurant. Very grand hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was too cold and couldn't be adjusted to make it more comfortable temperature

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Well located comfortable hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good

    The hotel was well located 15 minutes walk from the bus station and the old city. The room was fairly large and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Good base to the explore the city - Friendly staff, Great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major really....beds a tad hard but no incredible features. Just a good nice city centre hotel

    Good base to the explore the city - Friendly staff, Great location and good rooms with a varied breakfast selection

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked if there were stairs as I'm going n a wheelchair. I was told there was a lift. On arrival there were 6 stairs to elevatorvev

    Very good position Service History of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent - as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    An excellent hotel in the art deco style and handy for Trg Ban Jelacic and other sights to visit. Staff accomodated us in moving rooms and on-street parking next to the hotel if you arrive early. A good breakfast and a very comfortable room. Our second stay and we shall return. Recommend Boban's for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Older style hotel with all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and lobby area need an uplift, but fine in general.

    Great location, good breakfast and comfortable nice size room and bathroom with whirlpool in junior suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Location to centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food cold instead of warm and had to send back to cook as requested. Bed mattress a little hard. Needs a few maintenance items attended to in the room.

    Location to centre of town. Massage was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Room was advertised as much larger than it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was advertised as much larger than it was. We asked for an upgrade and the manager offered a room of same size and poor location, worse than the first one. Not at all impressed and won’t be going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows! Soft soft and unsupportive!

    Lovely old style hotel, beautifully renovated. Furnishings and decor matching the “old era”. Staff were helpful, location good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has been restored to its elegant past but has also modern updated features. Rooms are well appointed and clean, staff pleasant and good breakfast provided. Great location opposite lovely park and easy walking distance to centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Spectacular location will bring me back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have loved a stronger (effective) hairdryer instead of one of the plastic wall fixtures found in many hotels. (But my friend asked for one and they brought one to her room - so points there).

    A fine breakfast and roomy and comfortable rooms. What you cannot go past here is the unbelievable location - the hub of everything in this city. Whether the City Square, Parks, Old Town, Bar Street, everything is in walking distance. Any concerns? Tramline right outside the door!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location to explore Zagreb on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location to explore Zagreb on foot. All the interesting places nearby plus a beautiful park across the way. We were lucky to get a parking spot, I think they have 5 available. Inside everything is beautiful, especially the painted glass ceiling and pictures. Staff was pleasant, spoke good English

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay at the best location in town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All services and features were Just Fine!

    Location location location! You are there to visit Zagreb and not to stay put in the Hotel like in Dubai :-) perfectly adequate with, you guessed it, a great location. Over and out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location for a central stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in our room had an issue with the exhaust fan (it was off since we arrived), and the smell wasn’t pleasant as there was no other ventilation. It also smelled like drain pipes. We told the concierge but nothin was really done about it. Apart from that, a great stay.

    The hotel is large, with all the amenities and lots of staff. The breakfast was huge and very good. It’s walking distance from most spots you want to see and very well connected by public transport (tram station at the door). The staff was really attentive and they even let us check in quite early as we arrived on an overnight train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    it fulfilled my expectations . If i come again to Zagreb it will be one of my options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room was small

    The location was great just 5 minutes from the center of the city. The staff was very friendly . The building was renovated recently . The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, bad accommodation hardware
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We live in a standard room type in the annex building. In-room facilities are not like four-star accommodation and are not clean. Especially the sheets are yellow and it feels uncomfortable. The windows could not be opened and the room had a musty smell.

    This hotel is located in the city center and has a history of 119 years. The reception was very welcoming and offered us a city map. Breakfast is rich and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    We’ll be back again in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a small parking on the street and if you’re traveling by car you need to make a reservation.

    The hotel is situated on a central street, few minutes walking to the city center. The room was clean and big enough, the staff was very helpful and polite, no problems with the wi-fi. The breakfast was wonderful - apart from many different continental meals were also gluten free and vegan options as well as strukli (traditional Croatian meal). Highly recommend the hotel as a perfect place to stay in Zagreb!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional staff in a historical building site. Loved the ambient atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot find one thing that was a discomfortduring my stay.

    I like the age of the building, windows open, cleanliness. The nearby park and close access to central square is excellent. A nearby pharmacy old pub exceptional. Nice welcoming staff. It was a good stay. Parking in fact while minimal was exceptional for my personal use. Breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Very well located hotel, with historic look and feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with old molding smell from the carpet. Cigarette smell even though it was a non-smoking room. Tourist information at the desk could have been better.

    Very charming Art Deco hotel classified Heritage. Great location close by museum park and Tran way. Easy walk to old Zagreb in the Ban Jelacic square. Great breakfast included with a lot of choices. We also use the shuttle to get to the airport and we had a good experience, the driver was friendly and entertaining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were pleasant and efficient in delivering all services. Very good choice at breakfast. Good central location being close to main attractions and many restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming classy hotel with excellent staff and management. Zagreb lovely peaceful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast adequate but would prefer pork sausages and possibly addition of baked beans

    Rooms were spacious, air conditioned. Good shower facilities . Receptionists very friendly particularly Andrea, extremely cheerful and helpful. Maid service very efficient and smiling, brightened up the day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't see a way to put up a "do not disturb" sign for the door, which was irritating.

    Great location, very friendly an informative staff, and very easy to navigate :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    The design of the hotel is extraordinary, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is strange that the only towel rack is above the toilet. It makes me think of the towels falling in the toilet....

    The design of the hotel is extraordinary, and the restoration is extremely well done.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound isolation from other rooms, resulting in being woken up way too early. No iron provided in the room because it's a "fire hazard." Seriously? How does every other 4-star hotel manage to do it then?

    Nice central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    My stay was enjoyable and I love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout was complex due to booking.com advance payment not transparent with male staff at desk. I indicated it was prepaid but was received very sceptical by staff. I can understand the suspicious nature and lack of support that the room had been prepaid. Staff member was suspicious of me however to his credit he finally accepted my request to check with booking.com. It was eventually found that my assertions of room prepayment was accurate and valid. I can understand skeptics of front staff but it was awkward for my integrity.

    Location near all amenities. Parking was excellent. Breakfast was superb. Overall a wonderful experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A short but nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the guests from the adjacent room loved to watch TV through the night and at 6am.. and we woke up with the TV noise from the other room on both nights that we spent at the Hotel. Since we had our transportation to pick us up at 15h we asked if we could do a late check-out, but we would have to pay if we wanted to keep the room from 13h to 15h, so we left the luggage on the luggage room, but it had been nice if we could keep the room for 2 more hours. I understand when the late check out is impossible due to the Hotel being fully booked.. oh well..

    The Location is great (on the city center), the breakfast was very good, with many options and the room was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    The Palace Hotel is somewhere I've put in my diary as the hotel to return to in Zagreb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to really dislike. The only reason for saying the room was 'reasonably well equipped' was that more drawer space would have been welcome, as would a second armchair.

    The room was comfortable and reasonably well equipped. The tea and coffee making facilities were good and the bathroom was lovely. All the staff were kind and helpful. The choice at breakfast was good. The cafe bar/restaurant was superb. The location is ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every moment. Good gym and nice wellness centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please.

    Breakfast was good, huge spread. In fact all the hotels we visited breakfast was excellent. The location was too good very safe and secure, in main city. I just loved the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great one day stay in Zagreb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facing the street had real smoke smell. No complimentary water. One guy at reception was really too serious... slight impression that you came to ask for loan and not checking in. Lack of caps for tea pots at breakfast ... (you have to ask).

    We had 2 single rooms facing the street and facing the yard. The last one was just perfect; yard was nice and quite. Room was big enough, had safe inside. One can tell it's in generally needs renovation but for us this old style interior was fascinating (old building, red carpets etc). Location is just perfect! Check in / check out time - very convenient (no need to leave in a hurry at 10AM). Breakfast buffet offers plenty of choice. Even cottage cheese and shtrukli! Local cheese and cold cuts (even non-pork ones). Healthy breakfast corner. Roasted coffee machine. Eggs, yogurt, cereal. Light alcohol drinks. Dinner option: GALLO restaurant in 5 min walk from hotel for fish/seafood lovers!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Another great stay in Zagreb!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has its own parking in front of the building. It is sufficient for about 10 cars, more would be better.

    Another great stay here! This time we came for a special family gathering. The hotel is located in the middle of everything you'll want to see when in Zagreb, literally 5-15 minutes walking distance to most city attractions. Perfect breakfast, comfy rooms, first class staff, efficient aircon. Clean! The best hotel you'll find in Zagreb-downtown for the money. Sure we will stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    It was in an excellent location, 5 minutes from the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it was old and that the fitness room was very small

    It was in an excellent location, 5 minutes from the main square. It was quite old, but clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My husband loved the food in the restaurant especially the black pasta with the salmon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Good to relax after long walking journey becasue hotel is next to sighteseeing places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main gate of the hotel suddenly open automatically and my wife hurt slightly her foot leg. It wasn't comfortable to carry the luggages due to the steep side luggage lane

    Location was excellent. Hotel is just next to park area of new area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in room. You can buy from room service. No air conditioning as it was still the cold season for the hotel, however it was warm during the day and the room uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice receptionist on arrival provided all basic info.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea at breakfast could use a supply of pots with covers and hot water that didn't come out of the coffe maker.

    Nice receptionist on arrival provided all basic info.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive compared its level very old hotel very small gym reception add extras on the bill which didn't used and after long discussion removed it

    very place only

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great place, perfect location, fantastic breakfeast !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm a regular guest at the Palace Hotel, feeling like home and among friends. All the staff is fantastic, especially if traveling with pets ! Also, the great breakfast got even better, with a fantastic Croatian' corner, with prosciutto, pancetta, cheese and sausages ! Don't forget the scrambled eggs - best one in all the hotels I've been worldwide ! Not kidding, as not done from some egg-powder, but with real, farmer eggs !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    An old classic makes for a great trip. Great staff who speak English and are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a traveler who drives. Parking is important. The hotel doesn't have parking and parking is hard to find and expensive.

    The hotel is an old refurbished classic. Wonderful feel and great facilities. Clean, modern, efficient, and has a good restaurant and bar. A must!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    Did not live up to his name at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many things, sadly: - There was a water leak in the first room we were given (418) and therefore we had to demand a room change; - The second room we were given (302) also had its fair share of problems: sometimes an unpleasant smell came from the bathroom. Furthermore, a piece of wood from the closet was apparently not properly fixated, slid out and blocked the door, thus impeding us from entering the room. We had to enter the room from the room next door... Utterly embarrassing and unacceptable, even more so for a four-star hotel; - Staff did not do any extra effort to try and soothe the inconveniences we went through. Apologies are simply not enough in such situations.

    Breakfast was very good, with great variety and quality. Location is excellent, being at walking distance to almost all points of interest in the city and tram in front of the door. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Short but pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff can be a bit more welcoming and helpful to hotel guests, for example, providing more city information , etc; computer in the PC room does not have access to various websites;

    location, food (breakfast and dinner), airport shuttle bus transfer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    The staff we very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff we very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The selection for breakfast was excellent. We had dinner on one of the evenings. It really was the standard of fine dining.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful and magical stay at the center of Zagreb
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice hotel. The location was great, and even though our room was directly over the street and tram there was nothing to hear inside. The rooms are very clean and I loved the flair of the "old time". The breakfest was amazing and there was really good stuff to choose. We will certainly come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had paid our bill in advance but at check out the staff mistaken gave us a bill, including the cost of the rooms (not a problem, easily sorted out). However, on this bill the rooms cost £80 less than we'd paid (£470 vs £550). Is the booking.com cut? Worth checking out whether you could book directly more cheaply.

    Staff were all very nice. Good location, ten minutes walk to town. Wide selection at breakfast (including wine and spirits!) Very good service in the restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Central Zagreb 4-star hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable. Woke with backache both mornings. Staff polite but that’s all. It’s kind of intangible but you don’t get a warm feeling from them. I had a massive suitcase but there was no offer from reception staff to help me to my room even though access to room involved a short flight of stairs. Room safe is tiny; can’t fit an iPad, which I had to leave locked in my suitcase.

    Ideal location in city centre. Price reasonable. Breakfast varied to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    A pleasure to return to a very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Very comfortable spacious room and lovely public areas. Centrally located convenient for everything. Our favourite hotel to stay in in Zagreb. From our experience the rooms at the front of the hotel are the nicest. And there was marmalade for breakfast - a rare surprise in continental Europe!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    I will always come back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no top sheet and the blanket is too short on the bed. Minor problems, but would be more cozy if blanket came up past one's shoulders.

    The staff smiles and is always pleasant and helpful😃

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    My single room was very generous in size and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, nothing!

    My single room was very generous in size and comfortable. The shower pressure is so satisfyingly powerful that it will refresh any weary travellers! Towels were fluffy, wifi was good, and the location was convenient, being roughly in the middle between the train station, the old town square, and the opera/Mimara museum (roughly 5 mins walk to each). The tram station is right outside the hotel. The staff were also friendly and helpful. My room faced out to the main street, but it was really quiet (almost silent) thanks to the double windows. The room service menu was quite extensive, so you can enjoy the offerings in the restaurant in the comfort of your room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Pleasant, excellently located in relation to the center and great streets for eating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was confused for the sauna access. It is not a public one but private upon the payable booking, but nether the less pleasant expierence.

    The stay was very pleasant one, helpfull staff, hotel who’s walls breathe history.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    I will certainly come back again to Hotel Palace for overnight in Zagreb!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twinbed room was a bit smaller as expected, with some dificulty to move between bed and working desk.

    Good breakfast, optimal bed, welcome parking, perfect location for institutional meetings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel at perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not the first time we stayed at this hotel, every time everything was wonderful. This time however we must have gotten an older room, which wasnt renovated and we had to carry the luggage down and up ( a very small flight of stairs). It is still better than many hotels in the same class. We will be staying here again

    Loved the location, right in the middle of CBD, but also very close to the main train station. The staff are incredibly proffessional, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Stay for the location, the old world charm, and the breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were too hot, and the temperature was not adjustable to a large degree. The bedding didn't help. Very poor pillows. The couch in the lounge room was extremely uncomfortable. The "business centre" needs improving.

    Breakfast was good, with 4 different types of egg dishes. The coffee was freshly ground. Standard of cleanliness is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Hotel location is excellent as well as breakfast served
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is a bit outdated and amenities are more for 3-star hotel. Air-conditioner can not be controlled.

    Hotel location is excellent as well as breakfast served

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Great historical Hotel, five minutes from the main square of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little bit too soft. Additional power outlets for charging mobile devices and or computer near the bed would be nice. The plugs that were available were too far from the bed, to be able to use the device while charging. The noise from the elevator.

    Great historical Hotel, five minutes from the main square of Zagreb. Excellent Breakfast. Nicely decorated room, although small in size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value and great loaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention here.

    Well located, comfortable with a decent breakfast and reliable WIFI. Rooms were neat and clean, but i would guess that they will need a refurbishment in a few years.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel, pity that small issues related to personnel does not make it excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On my arrival I was told that the hotel parking was free for the hotel guests. On my checking out I was asked to pay the parking fee!!! Really disappointing!!

    Location, style, breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    A historic hotel with good service, staff are super...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super narrow rooms and elevator, because of it’s in an old building. And without enough space to add even a small bed.

    A historic hotel with good service, staff are super professional and helpful! Nice breakfast also:) The location is perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palace Hotel Zagreb traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: