Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5 stars

Na Moru 1, Orasac, 20234 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#17 of 54 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2387 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My second visit and even better than I remembered it. Staff all very polite, friendly and professional. Great restaurants. Great swimming pools. Great relaxed feeling about the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No attention to detail regarding the cleanliness of the room. There were 2 bedside lamps very dusty and during our 10 nights stay they remained the same - I’m sorry but you don’t see dust in a 5 * hotel room so I’d suggest to better get rid of them as they are a bad design and probably a torture to clean when you have a daily target! There were ants coming out a tiny hole of the bathroom wall, and a few more other minor things that makes the stay a little uncomfortable such as mosquitos - maybe the place can be sprayed against it since it’s a 5 * hotel? Just a suggestion! Food... Was ok and overpriced, we didn’t have one meal to say “wow” so, basic and expensive.

    The hotel has a spectacular view over the see and a very well equipped spa where you can spend your day if it’s raining or too hot outside.The majority of the staff members were very friendly and helpful with excellent English. The travel agency inside the hotel - an excellent benefit.Helpfull and friendly management as well! Room was spacious with king size bed and a big bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed in one of the "residences" but used the hotel facilities. Good 4-star hotel, but definitely not 5 star. Pools were excellent, but the "beach" is small, steep and shingly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much of climbing and walking if you are not located near the reception and the restaurants. The AC was not very effective. There is only one bathroom cum toilet. If you are travelling with your family that can be a challenge. Location from the point of view of distance to city and the airport not convenient.

    The layout, the design and the facilities. The restaurants were excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Stunning views of the Adriatic sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was decent but there was no variation over the 4 days we stayed there.

    Sun Gardens is essentially an enclave with everything you need - a variety of restaurants, a pharmacy, a well-stocked grocery store, a private beach and several swimming pools including an indoor one and a jacuzzi. While location was a short drive away from the heart of Dubrovnik, this worked out to be a better idea because it's quieter that way. The hotel room was very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place has been named one of the top 50 hotels in the world, and it certainly lives up to that echelon. The hotel is absolutely immaculate inside and perfectly manicured outside with many restaurant options, multiple beaches and bars, as well as shopping. You truly wouldn't have to leave the premises if you didn't want to. Staff are super friendly and helpful, and the rooms are beautiful. I'd give Sun Gardens a higher rating if it was possible!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was to dislike

    The staff were some of the friendliest Lewis have encountered and we have travels around the world many a times. The facilities really impressed us and were world class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated quite far from the old town/central Dubrovnik

    Super clean and luxurious apartment. Spacious, bright and well equipped Staff were friendly and helpful Adult pool was clean and had enough sun loungers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed two nights and were not able to take full advantage of everything they offered. The property is about 15-20 minute drive from old town. Also, the resort is fairly big and there was lots of walking/stairs. We were okay with this, but some might not be okay with this.

    It has everything, lots of fine dining options, shops, 3 different pools, a beach and it’s own marina...rooms are very comfortable and spacious, with own private balcony. The resort is very beautiful, clean and the staff are very professional and friendly. We loved that it was easy to make arrangements to get drivers or boat to take us anywhere we wanted to go. They also made it easy by allowing us to charge meals and transportation to room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Residential apartments are really huge. Very good location for a family to spent time. staff is supportive. The market and shopping is quite convenient. All in all a great location for a short vacation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Many of the restaurants were closed (early June); there was no lounge/bar with music in the evenings, only the hotel lobby bar. There was no food available at the pool. Overall, the food at the restaurants was not great but pricy.

    The facility is very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not in central dubrovnik but we drive so there is no problem for us. We actually think its a plus point coz we can stay out of the touristy old town.

    very good facilities. there are 3 pools+beach. you will be happy if you come for water sports. Rooms are clean and big. staff is nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t great. Huge quantity of food, but rather a poor quality. Not what you would expect. Also took us a good 10 mins to get any coffee. In house taxi service very pricy - uber to Dubrovnik old town is half the price

    Great hotel, facilities and rooms. Are in “The Market” Restaurant which was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far outside of Dubrovnik. Taxis are expensive if the shuttle times don’t suit. Would return however!

    Excellent facilities and dining options. Shops on site also. Hotel provides shuttle to Old Town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sandy beach for small children and water goes deep fast A lot of stairs and few ramps for proms or disabled Staff very good and will move you with a buggy Again around small children quite a few drops so you need to watch them Like a hawk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was good for an average standard but maybe for Italians are not up to standard...sorry. (we know you can do better) I think the stores should take the wrap from doors as they look closed and abandoned.

    Staff was great, the property is very big and the apartments are spotless and the view amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe 2 Bedroom Residence Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We didn't like the fact there was a number of functions on during the week that we stayed which resulted in the beach area and main pool area being unavailable to guests for 2-3 days of our stay - which was disappointing.

    The Sun Gardens was the perfect place to spend a week's family vacation. The facilities at the hotel (pools, tennis courts, gyms etc) were perfect for a young family. The accommodation was fantastic, we had a 2 room self-catering residence which was very clean and enjoyed beautiful sea views. We ate breakfast on the large patio every day of the holiday. The hotel also offered an array of eating establishments, all reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurants on site are a little pricey for the quality of food that you get. There is an excellent seafood restaurant nearby called Konoba Kasar.

    Great stay. Everything about the hotel is fabulous. We were on our honeymoon and they sent us up a complimentary bottle of bubbles - really nice touch. The breakfast is great with loads of options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was an amazing stay for me. I didn’t want to leave.

    It’s a huge resort with a grocery shop, 3 big pools, swimsuit shop, pharmacy etc. My room had a balcony with deck chairs for tanning or just relaxing and I could see the circular pool from my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Residence Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive- quite shocking really!

    Hot chocolate croissants baked throughout the day. Amazing setting generally. Staff superb. La Pasta restaurant very good indeed onsite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was lovely and clean. Staff around the pool and bars were always on hand to help. The quality of food in the hotel restaurant was high and the supermarket had a good choice for those wishing to cater for themselves.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special but if you wanna stay this hotel, better to rent or drive your car. Not close to downtown.

    Very satisfied with clean room and nice staff and also kind service. It was our couple’s honeymoon and thankful memory of adorable service. Very recommendable place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosting large conferences during half term week meant pool & restaurant choice limited for normal guests to facilitate the conference activities. No warning and no explanation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were having a hard time communicating in English. The location of the property is a little too far from the old town.

    Comfort, expansive incredible views of the sea, club level access and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited restaurants.

    It was 15 minutes Uber drive north of Dubrovnik and 40 minutes drive from the airport so very easily accessible. It was quiet in May. The pools were lovely. Easy to get a sun lounger. Gorgeous weather and views of the sea. Spacious apartment. Child friendly. Lovely breakfast. Fabulous service. Spacious. Own beach. Easy access to boat trips and cave exploring in the islands.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, spacious, exceptionally clean resort. Extremely comfortable rooms and beautifully done. Fabulous bathroom too. 3 amazing pools and beautiful beach. Definitely going back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was inclusive. It would be nice to get a welcome drink for each guest, considering the costs. The residences are not easy accessible if you are in a wheelchair or have a hard time walking. There is no elevator in the residences building., which is a shame because the sea view ones are great. It would also be nice if the hotel had airport shuttle service. I would expect that from a 5 star resort, especially given the distance away from the airport.

    The staff here were quite amazing! There are two reception desks: hotel and residences. If you have a family the residences would suit you. Otherwise, the hotel is fine. There are lots of options available for food; there is a shuttle to take you to the center but if you just want a relaxing holiday, you have all you need at the resort!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were at times a little rude and vegetarian options were few and far between at the hotel restaurants

    Great facilities and location, plenty of tours and activities. Rooms were very spacious and well equipped. Loved the spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of the private taxi's and shuttle bus service were too expensive and there should be more frequent times to take the shuttle bus service as we struggled to find times that suited our plans best.

    The bed was unbelievably comfy and the staff went above and beyond to look after us. We were treated like royals and make to feel incredibly welcome throughout. The entire complex is spotlessly clean and everything is at your fingertips. The views from the hotel are breathtaking!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in May so not all restaurants and bars were open. Those that were varied alot especially in price. Breakfast wasn't great for a 5 star hotel, good variety but some food was overdone.

    It was very well kept, good location. Live music in the bar every evening. Good food in the Maraksa, La Pasta & Origano restaurants. Beach & pool we're well serviced. The adult only pool was great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a distance from Old Town and per person charge for limited shuttle service - which I have not had to pay for previously caused us to use local buses and taxis. Local taxi also much cheaper for airport transfers. I would have expected more to be open in May as shoulder season. No water activities, but were able to book tours if wanted and many restaurants not open. We took our adult son and although we clearly had 3 people in our room we were constantly chasing housekeeping for a third towel!

    Good resort but a lot not open or happening which was disappointing. At least there was no crowds at pools.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nature of the cliff side location means that there are a lot of steps!

    Sun Gardens is in a beautiful location overlooking the sea and islands. The facilities are high quality and the service is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the hotel states they have 16 restaurants on site however hardly non of them were open, we had to eat at La Pasta everyday. The food was delicious but we wanted to try other restaurants, in the end we had to order room service. Some of the food for breakfast want hot so just make sure you get fresh hot food. You cant play music loud by the pool which is understandable.

    Sun Gardens Dubrovnik is exactly what I expected in the photos. The breakfast was amazing, the views were incredible. The rooms have loads of storage and the bathroom was huge for a deluxe bedroom. The hotel grounds were clean and beautiful. Staff were polite and informative. Would come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not think that the food was up to 5-Star standard, it was ok at best. The best meal we had at the resort was from Butchers Grill and even then it was greatly over priced. The location is great if you are planning to stay on the resort but not if you want to explore old town and the city of Dubrovnik. The resort is about a 20 minute bus/cab ride from Dubrovnik; however, they do provide you with transport options which is nice. A little bit nit-picky, but the pillows were too soft and did not offer proper support so neither me nor my partner had very comfortable sleeps.

    Was a great resort, there is lots to do if you plan on just staying at the resort (pool, beach, sports, spa etc), friendly staff and the residencies were beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed with the distance to the beach. There is no beach in the resort because it is situated on the rock. One has to drive to the nearest beach. No sea water in the swimming pools.

    Everything was perfect in the Sun Gardens residence. Very helpful staff, clean rooms in the apartment with a big terrace. Several restaurants in the resort. Good service, bars at the swimming pools

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Few options to eat in hotel (perhaps because of low season period)

    The resort is stretched over a big surface. The buildings' surroundings are very beautiful to stroll around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing as such

    The property was excellent and the service orientation of the staff was amazing. From the waiters at the breakfast to room cleaning to room service - everyone was incredibly helpful. The rooms are well designed in the hotel and the bathrooms are especially spacious with a good layout. The pillows were excellent and the room service experience was always great. The breakfast also offered good choices and the wait staff were very helpful in bringing coffee/child seats etc as and when requested. The spa is really good at we really enjoyed the jacuzzi and the indoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus is price, but since everything is perfect then you can’t complain.

    This place is excellent. Beautiful, pretty, clean, very friendly & helpful staf. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed a bit a proper beach and more facilities for babies (play room/area).

    We really loved our stay. The facilities are great, staff is friendly. The food was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is one of the best, if not the best hotel I've stayed at... and believe me I travel a lot. Definitively coming back to Croatia for the hotel :D

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe 2 Bedroom Residence Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that brought the rating down a little was the fact that some of the facilities were not yet open for the season. This wasn’t too much of a problem, but it would have been very much appreciated if we had been advised beforehand. Examples - beach bar, ice cream parlour, some restaurants (limiting choice of places to eat), water sports kiosk.

    Stunning location and views. Fantastic, very comfortable and well equipped deluxe 2 bed, sea view residence, with superb huge balcony. Very friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Amazing private boat trip - superb, knowledgeable and friendly service, from our initial enquiry/booking (Aron) and right through the trip (skipper - Paulo). Dubrovnik old town surpassed expectations - awe inspiring!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the restaurants had not opened for summer even though it was May which made limited choices. Little to do in the evenings. Main restaurant dinner choices was not worth 30 euros per head.

    Our room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing as such

    Excellent hotel and a must for everyone going to Dubrovnik. Little far from the city however you can drive and park the car in the city garage. Gorgeous breakfast and all amenities available in the resort itself if you are interested in cooking in the apartments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too far from the old town and we were spending too much time and money travelling back and forth. Even though I had expected it but I was not prepared for the 20-25 minute drive each way!

    Property was beautiful. It is just the place to be if you want a quiet vacation away from the crowds!! The rooms were clean and well kept and very comfortable. The restaurant was very good and service was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extremely poor Wi-Fi.. completely unavailable during much of the stay. Front Desk suggested it was number of users/access, although the property was not sold out during our stay.

    One bedroom residence - size of the room/property, spaciousness, cleanliness, availability of transport to Old Town Dubrovnik, availability of public transport. Limited number of restaurants available (off season), but food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect restaurant serving breakfast and dinner. We didn't have meals included into apartment price, so paid for them separately. It's a bit expensive for an usual breakfast but buffet choice is just great, much better than we've seen at other hotels. Also we've enjoyed SPA facilities, spent half a day in pools and saunas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not in Dubrovnik itself, but they offer a shuttle service there and back (you have to pay for it, but it's better than trying to find a parking spot).

    From check-in to the stay itself to check-out, everything was wonderful. Staff were always polite and friendly, happy to help us out or answer any questions. I don't usually stay at resorts, but I must admit it was nice to pamper myself. Sun Gardens has everything you could need: a gym, an on-site grocery store and pharmacy, shops, and many more. The pool (they have three) offers great views over the ocean, and there's a small beach you can walk down to. The room itself was great - very modern, large space (we had a whole kitchen and bar area), though a little bit dark - but this seems to be the norm in Croatia, where I'm sure it gets ridiculously hot in the summers. Food at the restaurant was very tasty as well, with good wine... And higher than average prices. ;) Breakfast was absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No matter how good or bad the ammenities at a hotel are, the staff makes or breaks the experience. We interacted with 11 people during our stay. Five front desk / concierge, two restaurant, three technicians and one store employee. The five at the front were shockingly, staggeringly unaccomdating, and displayed no interest in seeing to the effective resolution of a number of matters. The restaurant people were, respectively, rude and incredulous (buffet manager) and disingenuous and unhelpful (server and the pasta restaurant). For instance, we asked for glasses of water (and not bottles), and were told it wasn’t allowed. Three techs, in theirs own defense, were merely innocuous, but it would have been nice if the front desk staff had informed us that maintenance on the room had been scheduled during our stay. Only the grocery clerk embodied what customer service should be - she was great.

    The frustration that resulted from the chain of unpleasant experiences we encountered here completely scuttles any ability on our part to be positive. There is no way to speak nicely about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in room did not give enough darkness, was very easy to wake up in the morning. Also edredon was too small for two people

    Friendliness of staff in general

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    still not the high season that understandably limited numbers of restaurants are opened, limiting selections when dining outside was not ideal from it's isolated location.

    Almost everything. room, facility, staff, high quality optional offering

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time 4.00pm far to late we arrived at 12 and had to wait with a tied family from a very early flight so not good from that point!!! A part from that a great place to stay ah the bed was very noisy and uncomfortable but the staff was great and location wise a bit out from the city!!

    The staff were amazing restaurant with great food and swimming pools very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant la pasta is quite expensive. We put a preference for a sea view and didn't get one

    Very nice views Restaurant staff are very polite in la pasta

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little far out from the old town and they charged approx 6 euro per person each way which I think for the price of the hotel should have been included

    Amazing views, facilities, restaurants and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kids clubs were not open yet because they are seasonal and only open for the summer. Would've love to experience more of how this hotel caters to younger families. Not a negative to the hotel, just a scheduling conflict with our travel dates.

    The property is well laid out so it doesn't feel crowded at all. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The views around the property are stunning. Breakfast was good. The best part about this hotel was the service. EVERYONE we spoke with was incredibly accommodating and friendly. The staff went out of their way to make this a memorable stay. We had a small miscommunication on the babysitter charges one night and the staff apologized many times and rectified it on our bill. They really made it a non-issue where I feel bad even bringing it up here. I prepared to make my case and have a long discussion, but in the end it was not needed because they resolved it quickly and easily! I kept looking for imperfections and areas where this property did not meet my expectations, but I simply could not find any. Great property. Great location on a quiet beach 10 minutes from Old Town. One of the best hotel staffs we've ever experienced! Thanks for a great anniversary trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was nice, the location is 25 min from the old town. So better have a car !

    Very nice buffet breakfast. The hotel is really huge and has a lots of facilities (gym, swimming pools, spa, etc). There's a convenient car park under the hotel. The room on the top floor are nice and the room with a seaside view is awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ate at the Cilantro. The menu has remained the same. There was a restaurant where I had the best fish the last time but it wasn’t open. Perhaps it opens in the high season. The restaurants could serve more local cuisines such as the peka (although realise local dishes can take a long time to cook)

    This was my second time and the hotel hasn’t ceased to beat my expectations. It is unique, spread out like a king’s palace. The staff were always helpful, serving me as though I were a friend. There are excellent amenities on premises: a grocery shop, an ice cream parlour, restaurants, tennis courts so one needn’t feel one is out of town I’ve been to some of the best hotels in the world and this hotel would be in my top ten. I would highly recommend it to families looking for some time away to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to check out and leave this amazing hotel!

    Everything about it was great. Pictures dont do justice to the gardens. My room was upgraded to a deluxe. I could have a bath and watch tv and stare out the balcony at thr amazing coastal view. Hotel staff Irina and Ivana at the front desk were extra helpul. Went above and beyond when dealimg with my requests. I will definately come back. 🤗

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy reception. Overall, efficient.

    Beautiful rooms and decoration, with great areas and private balcony. Enjoyed amazing view over the Adriatic Sea. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was poor with drinks. I needed assistance in the room with the AC and when I asked for it. It never came, or maybe took forever (I had to leave the room)

    Wellness area is excellent. The fact that there are restaurants in the proximity makes it very comfortable. The Italian one is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pools are closed in April unfortunately.

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom sea view residence in Sun Gardens. It had gorgeous views, was very spacious, clean and a well equipped kitchenette. The facilities of the hotel was also excellent. The spa had an indoor pool, a heated jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and hamman. We got a couple spa massage as well which was very relaxing and came with a nice platter of fruits. It was also a pleasant surprise to find out that there was a complementary shuttle bus to the Dubrovnik Old City as well as a mini mart within the premises!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My young son left his favourite baseball cap there. They are currently holding me to ransom and asking me to pay 25 euros to post it to the UK. It's disgusting! ! Any positive things about this place have just been ruined by their sheer greed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grocery store prices were high!

    Such friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much bother. Beautiful indoor pool and spa facilities, exceeded our expectations. Gorgeous setting in a stunning part of Croatia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were out of season some of the restaurants were closed but the food was excellent at Cilantro

    Fantastic residencies with view of the sea and Spa was 1st a Class. Staff couldn’t be more eager to please and made a fantastic stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite a bit out of Dubrovnik Centre. We hired a car and it took about 15 mins to get into the old town.

    The sheer luxury of the property. You could clearly feel the 5 star luxury! The staff were very accommodating, the spa was excellent and the rooms were beautiful. Will defo be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurants do not offer you good quality of food for a reasonable prize. If you are up to pay more, then the food is fantastic.

    Located in wonderful place with sea view and mountain view, Sun Gardens Dubrovnik is a place to relax and have an amazing time with your family and friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We forgot our iPad charger in the room. But realize it after we were back home. In the same day, We wrote to booking . Com about it and booking.com send its request to Sun Garden hotel. It's si strange that nobody from the hotel contacted us!!!! It's sounds so bad😅

    I really enjoy my staying in this hotel. It's the third time we stay in Sun Garden Everything is quite good and we have had an exekent time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know that the family rooms are in the apparments, not in the building of the hotel. When we booked this information wasn't clear.

    The location is perfect if you travel on summer. The hotel and appartments are comfortable and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This property is speechless. It is at very beautiful location. Leisure center is excellent with beautiful views. We were staying in 2 bedroom apartment here. It was amazingly managed. Beds were really comfortable and staff is really friendly. I have no complaints. I can recommend this property strongly to anyone. It is little away from city. However, it is not a problem if you have car. You can reach city in 15 mins.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travel in winter, and the heating wasn't working at our arrival. But after couple calls on reception, worker fixed that.

    The whole complex was nice, staff very professional, our stay in residence was great equiped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Some of the prices from the hotel wine lists are ridiculously high, even for a LHW location. Floor heating in the bathroom apparently managed centrally, to be spelled - it was not working. I have to support other Booking.com comments, I do not necessarily mind that kids are not allowed in the Spa area after 5 PM (although it created a lot of agenda issues to our family), but this should be clearly stated on the website or in the reservation itself, especially on winter period when Wellness is so important for families travelling with children.

    Having spent 8 nights here in December 2017 including Christmas and New Year, I can say wholeheartedly that it is one of the most convenient and interesting locations in the whole Europe, for me: Amazing seafront location, you can virtually see the blue/green/turquoise/aquamarine Adriatic from anywhere - restaurants, bars, hotel rooms, residences apartments, indoor swimming pool, spa area etc.. Very clean everywhere, very nice and helpful staff (compliments to Sports Centre, Spa area, House Cleaning and Reception ones). Excellent value for money renting a Residence apartment (OFF Season, very important note). The kitchenette has a lot of cooking stuff/gear you can use to practice your Chef's skills. Far away (12 km) from the bustling city of Dubrovnik and from all the hustle, yet close (10 minutes drive). You can use the hotel shuttle, probably for a fee in peak season and free during the rest of the year. Lots of facilities even on Christmas and New Year's Eve times. There was an issue with our initial apartment and the hotel changed it after 1 night, presenting a nice personalised letter, a bottle of wine and some fantastic cookies. Fantastic Customer Service! We left some tip on the pillow for the house cleaning ladies, they did not even touch it (unfortunately cause we wanted them to, but it shows the level of professionalism). ...and many others that I will not enumerate here..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    very nice place and clean realy friendly staffs .the sauna was realy good. realy nice view good pools good treating thank you for everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't try the breakfast as it was EUR 45 per day for 2 adults and 2 small children. Perhaps an off-season lower rate for breakfast would have been good.

    Stayed in the one bedroom residence with sea view. Excellent room, great service. It was a bit quite when stayed there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children are not allowed in the swimming pool after 5 pm, while the check in starts at 4 pm. It’s obvious that the hotel management didn’t think too much or maybe kids are just not welcome. We traveled with the family and the reason why we chose to stay far away from the city was because children can spend some time in the pool, otherwise there are many hotels in the city. We were at spa area at 6 pm and children were not allowed. For adults it was until 8 pm. Such rules (in my view not accetable) must be told to the guests in advance as they impact the hotel choice. Also if you are staying in the apartments, you are very isolated and using the hotel facilities is not conveniant.

    The apartments were very good, but this is not enough for having a good experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many of the shops within the facilities were closed during the period when we were staying there including the convenience stores and some restaurants. Room rates were also on high side

    The view from the property especially from the pool & external facilities were superb. Breathtaking view of the coastline with the small islands etc. 👍🏼

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1-Bedroom Residence Seaview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff member that initially did our check-in didn’t explain anything about the facility, not even where breakfast is, she just handed us a paper from the conference organizers to us and didn’t even explain what’s in it. We had booked an additional night privately in addition to our conference package and asked her to keep us in the same room for the whole stay and she said she can’t guarantee it because the hotel is very busy (given that this was low season and we could tell that most people in the hotel were the conference attendees). She also gave us a room without a view while we paid for a sea view! After we saw the residence apartment we came back to change it and we were so lucky to meet Iva, who was unlike the first person, super professional, friendly and helpful. She made sure we will have the same room for the whole stay and upgraded us to a deluxe residence. She made our stay very enjoyable and thanks to her we will sure be back here not only for the conference but to enjoy some holidays in this amazing resort and city. Thanks Iva, you are the best!

    The deluxe residence apartment is wonderful! It’s got a great huge terrace with amazing views. A kitchen with stove, oven, dish washer and a fridge. Very well equipped. The bed is very comfortable, the bathroom is spacious and very well maintained. The living area and the desk are great and comfortable. The resort is pretty big with several restaurants and cafes available. Breakfast is very nice with many hot and cold options. The location is in a quiet spot out of town, which is a great place if you are seeking peace and quiet but could be a downside if you want to be in the old town every day. Taxi service is great and you would reach the old town in 10-15 mn. Iva in the club reception is one of the best we ever met.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: