Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guest House Hotel Riviera

Splitska 1, 52100 Pula, Croatia

#35 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Pula

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 446 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water takes ages to reach the room after turning tap or shower on. Breakfast was fairly basic with pretty disgusting coffee and (my pet hate) watery orange juice.

    “Art deco shabby chic” building in a great location, within metres of a lovely park and the port and just a short walk to the old town. Friendly and helpful staff and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and humid during our stay and though we had a fan in the room it was necessary to have the windows open which did mean noise - totally not the fault of the hotel but worth bearing in mind if that's important to you.

    I loved the opportunity to stay in such an historic building. So many of the original features were still there to see and their was an air of faded elegance about the place. The staff were all friendly if one made the effort to engage with them and the breakfast was simple but an absolute steal. I would definitely stay there again and hope to learn more about this grand old lady!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress didn't even fit the bed, so either your head or your feet are lifted up. There was no warm water for the shower, unless you let the water run for 5 minutes. No wifi in the room, the TV is from 1980, and the channels don't even work. Everything is outdated, the towels are ripping apart because they are so old and washed so many times. The breakfast is really basic.

    The location, and the view from the room to the coliseum of Pula.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't expect much and I still was disappointed. The room didn't see any renovation in the last 30 or 40 years. The idea of air conditioning was unknown to the management and it was hot the whole time. The bathroom was terrible...

    It was really close to the Arena and the center, good access to to the bus station too. The building is amazing from the outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby needing a loving renovation as it has great bones.

    Grand Austria-Hungarian building with a view of the port. Corridors you could drive a car down. Strange Overlook Hotel vibe at the end of the tourist season. Nice cotton sheets. I actually found it rather weirdly charming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the prices its a decent choice however its sad to see such an historic hotel being ran as a budget option. Breakfast choice was very poor, there is little or no atmosphere in the hotel and the bathroom had a lingering smell. I stayed two nights and the location is great for exploring Pula, but wouldn't have liked a longer stay.

    Good value for money, central location, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was right nearby the colosseum which we had an event on at , so it was a very convenient bed for the night, however it was our least favourite room on our 5 week Europe trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the breakfast is sparse, much is packaged, scarcely in the offer. The coffee is inedible!

    The hotel is a good point to start exploring the town. The bus and train stations are nearly. Austro-Hungarian is charming. The breakfast on the lovely terrace is wonderful. A beautiful view to the port, if windows are in front of it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning thus requiring open windows. One member of our group was swarmed by mosquitos during the night. No one else had the problem so unsure of how or why this happened. While breakfast was not offered with the room, a cafe on the first floor did offer a breakfast which was very disappointing as well as being relatively expensive.

    The location is very close to the harbour and the Roman coliseum. This was obviously one of the grand hotels of a bygone era, and they are doing their best to keep it clean and presentable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place had that dated Old Worldly feel - would have been a grand place in her time. Room and facilities need updating. Could only get internet at reception area.

    View of Pula Amphitheatre was amazing from hotel window.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) The booking did not include breakfast, but it was stated on booking that this could be obtained for a stated price. On arrival the available breakfast was much more expensive than the promised price, so we didn't take it up. 2) The booking involved paying at the hotel at a price stated on booking. When paying at the end of the stay the cost demanded was more than the promised price (yes, even taking into account tourist tax and currency fluctuation). Difficult to argue in a queue at the end of a stay.

    Location, and the grand nature of the old building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have provided local maps of Pula and other points of interest, but we managed to locate the sights we wanted to see quite readily.

    Everything was just fine. Old hotel but is to be updated. Has character which one does not find in newer hotels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a fan that we had to keep on all night , loud but fine.

    Perfect for a stop over or one night stay . Very central but very basic facilities although it has clean beds and a lot of space . We stayed one night and it was perfect . Very close to amphitheatre and amazing view of the harbour out front . Very friendly staff upon arrival

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room with a view to the sea and a double bed. They said curtly that it was not possible. So we had a very small room and a very little window... But it was in a low seasons, there were not a lot of guests except a big group of male bakers. The receptionists weren't smiling. It was not a good choice, this hotel.

    It was a very beautiful building with a nice hall and terrace and balcony, and ornament, we were excited to be there. The comments told that rooms were big and beauty. We have a bath and a big bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has everything you need for a short stay: good location, clean bathroom. It has a lot of patina, but it is down to earth and non pretentious. The hotel is frozen in time, but this is exactly why it is charming in its own way. If you are interested into the remains of 1910's belle epoque in the combination of the remains of 1980's socialist chic, this is the right place for you. The breakfast was very basic, but you can have it on the terrace. What this hotel really needs is AC (it was very hot in the room) and better mattresses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the time stopped in that hotel in the early 80s. everything in the hotel and in the room was badly worn and old. NO AIRCON!! in the room was more than 30 C degrees during the night. even the fan was broken and noisy. the breakfast: 1 kind of ham, 1 kind of cheese, 2 kind of rolls, 1 kind of fruit. that's it. Do not go there!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is only WiFi on the ground floor so not in the rooms, also there is no AC, there was a fan and a nice breeze through the window but we didn't want to leave this open at night in case of mosquitoes so we got quite hot.

    The location of this property is great, just one minute to the water and only a couple more minutes to the Colosseum and the old town. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Its a beautiful building and breakfast of the terrace was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very simple.A bit more choice would have been nice.When it came to paying the hotel used a very unfavourable rate of exchange to convert pounds to kuna.We found it best to pay in euros as that figure was quoted by booking.com on our booking form

    Excellent location near town centre and sea ( though not beach )and 10 minutes walk from bus station made travelling around easy.Hotel was quiet and not too crowded, very spacious.Nice balcony to have breakfast on in the shade in the heat of summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff that let us leave the bags for a couple of extra hours and arranged a taxi to the airport. The hotel is from 1908, there were no ac in the room, but the fan helped a lot. Worked pretty good. The beds was nice and it was clean. I liked the old style hotel and it was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells bad carpet needs changing no mat for bathtub and very high to get out of no air-conditioning just dirty and tv needs upgrade

    Outside of the building and location close to boat port

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly hot in sunmer. Very worn. Not very clean. Found a half eaten sweet mint in the bed. This hotel needs an investor to bring it back to its former glory

    Breakfast terrace and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terribly hot couldn't sleep even with the fan on at night. Also had to walk up heaps of stairs.

    Location was great easy access to main bus station and arena.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner. No new towels even ours were left at the floor. Staff at the reception didn't smile at all and seemed to be annoyed when asking something.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is definitely poor

    I like the location and the old stile. Hotel is 110 years old and you have to accept that if you visit them. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC. Old building, hotel was last renovated around ~1970's Have no idea why hotels in Croatia priced such as in Zurich. What's the point to make such a big price? If this hostel was priced around $10 for a person - it would be considerable, but not as 7 times bigger!

    Good location, cheap price comparing with other hotels in this area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was available in streets outside, some of it paid, some free but hard to find a space. Reception stank of cigarettes and no wifi available. Room was very dated, tidy and clean but no aircon, just a squeaky old fan. Facilities in the hotel were non-existant. The Restaurant was only open for a very limited breakfast buffet and after 12noon is closed until the following morning so nowhere to buy even a bottle of water. Real shame as it looks quite grand from the outside but is more in line with a hostel now. Perfectly adequate but if its warm you will cook in the rooms and don't expect food or drink outside of breakfast hours.

    Nice location just minutes from Pula's Roman Coliseum. Tidy room and adequate bathroom. Soviet era looking dated interior. Would love to have seen it in its heyday as I would imagine it was very impressive back then. Nice view from the balcony although the balcony itself looked like it might fall away from the building at any moment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad A.C. the room was so hot we couldn't sleep at night. We had to open the windows but it didn't help we just got in mosquitos and noise from parties outside. The toilet was even worse so bad ventilation that it felt like a sauna.

    The breakfast at the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very hot and there was no A/C. A heat wave hit most of Europe during our June stay and it was stifling. Even with our large balcony doors and windows open, there was barely any breeze and temps were almost 90 degrees F. A couple of oscillating fans or box fans would have really helped. To make it even worse, we stayed on a Friday night and there was either a nightclub or concert happening nearby with loud music and lots of people out and about until around 4:00 a.m. We needed the windows open for some ventilation but the noise made it impossible to sleep. We had to be at the ferry terminal at 6:30 a.m., so our night in Pula was probably the worst night of entire trip! If we could do it over again, we'd have stayed 3 nights in Rovinj (we stayed 2 there, then drove to Pula for 1 night), making sure our dates worked so we could catch the ferry to Venice from Rovinj (not Pula). Pula is worth a visit, but I'd recommend just a 3-4 hour stop one afternoon, and sleeping in Rovinj (which is only a 30 minute drive away).

    The hotel check in clerk was very nice and friendly. The building was impressive, but worn down and dated. Our room was clean and in good shape, it just seemed like the entire hotel needed an overhaul. It was very quiet and we didn't see any other guests. The location was great, as we needed to catch an early morning ferry and we could walk to the ferry terminal in under 5 minutes. It was also just a 5 minute walk to the Pula Amphitheater, which was the main attraction (and definitely worth a visit!) in the city. Our room had plenty of space for our family of 4 and we had amazing views of the Roman amphitheater and water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c no wifi in the room

    This is the closest hotel to the port. We needed a lay over between ferries. We would never stay there again. No A/C in the rooms. No wifi in the rooms. Had to go to the lobby. This hotel was clearly once a grand dame of the area. Now she is just sad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the simple breakfast on the terrace. The location was great. The map of the city and beaches should be a little more detailed with navigation symbols for North, south , east and west.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one thing the bar was closed but there a lots around the area.

    On seeing some of the reviews before going I was a little worried but I do not know what the people who left a bad review wanted, alright the hotel is an old property and a bit of paint would go a long way but the property has real character its possition is exellent, I requested a room with a balcony and although they were supposed to be for two or more guests they put me in one and I would say the one with the best view over the harbour no 410. The cleaning is excellent and the house staff are excellent also. The rooms are large and spacious as is the balcony. The area of Pula feels very safe infact I did not see one police man in the whole week Pula is also spotlessly clean. IF YOU ASKED ME IF I WOULD GO TO THE HOTEL RIVIERA AGAIN THE ANSWERE IS A DEFINITE YES, AND I WILL BE BACK..THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF....Colin Jones.. North Wales

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC, no wireless in the room....hot and stuffy on humid days. It's a very old and tired hotel. The arena and temple of Augustus are the most important visitor resources in Pula. 24 Hours in Pula is enough.

    Location was very good for the Arena, which is the most interesting resource of Pula

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a very positive experience at this hotel but this may have been because I arrived in the quiet season. The first room I was given did not have a nice view at all but the second room looked straight out to the sea front and was beautiful so that's bumped my review of the room and the staff up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea and.coffee facilities non existent

    Staying in an iconic building. Admittedly it could do with renovation but the view from our balcony was excellent. The room was large, bedding clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or cafe open on evening.

    Good value hotel, close to the Ampetheatre and a short walk into the main town. A bit run down on the outside but very clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water could have been hotter but was ok

    The location brilliant and the staff very friendly and helpful . The rooms were large and comfortable and what wonderful history this hotel has --give me this kind of hotel with history and atmosphere anytime

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to give the Riviera a good review, mostly because of the wonderful old building and the nice lady at the front desk. But the public areas stank of cigarette smoke. There's only Wi-Fi in the lobby and first floor, and the smoke smell was so strong in both those locations it was physically unpleasant to sit there. At first I thought it was just because the building is old and the smoke had accumulated over the years. Later I noticed that staff were sitting in the corners of the common areas smoking. I can forgive a little historical stank, but not additional new smoke in areas that are clearly marked with non-smoking symbols. I suppose if you don't have any problem with strong cigarette smell, you can still enjoy this shabby chic hotel, but unfortunately I will not be returning. The building is worth walking by from the outside, though.

    The woman at the front desk was very kind and helpful. The building itself is gorgeous, although run down. The location is excellent … You can see the hotel from the famous Roman arena. The hotel is also about a five-minute walk from the train station, and the 5 to 8 minute walk from the bus station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-fi in the rooms would have been a bonus, but not the end of the world. Didn't want to spend all day on my phone. The towels could have been bigger and newer. Noise from the club disrupted sleep abit on the Saturday night, but we enjoyed going there for drinks and lunch because it is conveniently located.

    Having read previous reviews and some which had many negative things to say about Hotel Riviera, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was large and spacious, it was cleaned daily. Yes there is no air-con, but in September you don't really need it. The fan did a good job and we slept with the windows open. View from the balcony over the harbour was amazing! Breakfast was simple but enjoyable. Rolls, cheese, spreads and pastries....but for the price we paid, I didn't expect a buffet. The location is great! We were able to explore the town and they phoned a taxi for us if we requested. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We live in a up to date world so honestly wi-fi available at the whole hotel these days it's not a big deal. After reading the reviews decided to not going with the breakfast, was right, from my balcony when looked what do people eat, was poor. Better go to PJ by end of the street for a proper espresso. You cannot bring a guest to your hotel room for 5 minutes without getting a stern look and disapproval comment about price you pay is for one person only. Staff smoking at the reception desk? I understand in Croatia everyone smokes everywhere but please some etiquette at the places where people coming from all over the world and look at the things differently. This hotel obviously has it's best years behind, but for few people (like me) that don't mind old look just a few touch-ups upgrading to modern standards would make it a whole new experience.

    People should stop moaning about how old the building is. It has it's own spirit as it is. Even if not the most modern place to stay, it was very clean. The view from the balcony was stunning!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired looking, but has character. The bath water drained mostly onto bathroom floor, then went down the drainage hole. No air conditioning, but had fan which was helpful.

    Clean, relatively spacious room. The atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was blocked and was stinking awfully! Also, room is crammed with useless tables too big for such a small place.

    Overall clean, but problems with the plumbing. The place is old, but not out of hand.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was absolutely horrible experience. In peak of Summer's it didn't have AC, neither the booking.com portal highlight this. The lobby was full of smoke always. Basic facilities like wifi were only available till 1st floor ( that too in lobby). No mosquito repellent in rooms. Waala are proud to hear from neighbors. The flush tank would continue to leak.The room lights went faulty all off a sudden. The only saving grace about the hotel is that it's next to the arena. A horrible stay. Had booked it for 3 nights but vacated in 2 days at loss of 1 nights money( which they didn't reduce). Never would recommend for anyone to stay

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning service people were not very nice. Hotel is located close to the disco club and at some nights it was loud.

    Excellent receptionists speaking in many languages. Very helpful and always with a smile. We had a very nice view to the bay with a marina.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi connection works only on ground and 1st floor Breakfast was very basic, with limited options Rooms can get warm during a summer day and a nearby nightclub can be heard clearly if windows are left open over night

    Very good location, all Pula city center attractions were within 500 m, both bus and train stations were within 5 min walk Staff was friendly and helpful Double room was very spacious and lofty with a great view from balcony to marina Beautiful old building

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO AIR CON! I obviously forgot to check if the rooms were air con when I booked - which was my own fault- to be fair to the hotel it was not included in the room description. A fan was provided, which we moved, but for late July in Croatia it was very very hot in the room and made sleeping hard. Bed was not that comfortable. Terrace was only open in morning- would have been nice to have somewhere to sit and read outside in the afternoon / evening when sight seeing was done. Noise from nearby club might disturb if you are a light sleeper.

    Good location Spacious room 24/7 desk which was useful as we checked in very late. Good help from staff. Fantastic view. Elevator Impressive looking bundling from outside!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway smells like cigarettes.No AC, but there's a fan so not too bad. It was a Saturday night, and the bar at the end of the street blasted music till 5:30 am.

    Excellent position. Close to the port, city centre, and a nice park for kids. Great view from my bedroom. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people leaving such bad reviews to this hotel simply have no soul. It is not at all dirty, but indeed it's an old building. By the way, probably one of the most beautiful of Pula. Climbing up the hills you see it from everywhere, and it's insanely gorgeous. Thank god it haven't been refurbished like people want to, because I loved it all from the retro furniture to the old red curtains and the massive 80's TV. We had a balcony over looking the water and the sunset, the room was fairly huge and the bathroom all ok. No air conditioning but an old fan, no sort of fancy brand new features, but a feeling of royalty when you open your eyes and look out the window when you wake up, and the most romantic atmosphere when you come back on the evening. It broke our hearts to leave, and I feel like staying there have been a privilege. Wouldn't trade that for any of those overrated apartments that are offered in pula.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking. No air conditioner or net for mosquitos. All night we heard a load music from local bar. We were very dissapointed. The price is too big for room.

    Hotel is in very good place if you like nightlife.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I knew before hand but no air con - a fan was provided but it was quiet warm so that's is something to consider. The breakfast was minimal (I was not sure what we would have but assumed basic continental) There could have been croissants or similar and meats or yogurt provided which would have been ideal - but for the price I paid it was fair.

    Location was perfect, the building was majestic and rustic which is the reason we stayed there. I am sure we would have had lovely views had Jose Carrerra not had the rooms book out :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor and not tasty. Reminding us of old communist times. Staff is friendly, they speak Italian, German and English. No air condition....

    The great old Austrian Imperial Building with a very grand terrace on the first floor for breakfast. The location is good if you travel by ferry to Venice cause the pier is only 200 m from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited. The rooms basic. The hotel can best be described as faded glory.

    Excellent location and very friendly staff. Very good for a short stopover.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff where pleasant but unhelpful, the room was dated and in need of repair, including the bathroom. The towels smelt badly. The room had no A/C or WIFI and if you opened the windows it invited bugs and a terrible smell into the room. Having booked the room for 7 nights we ended up checking out after 4 nights as we were unable to tolerate the conditions any longer. I'm sure my husband was bitten by a bug in the room or in the bed on his foot and was in a lot of pain and had to seek medical attention. The breakfast was a selection of bread and cheese and can only be described as prison food. Also there is no restaurant. I was extremely disappointed and would advise everyone to stay well clear of this place.

    The view from the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wifi in the rooms - had to go to the lobby. Also not enough power points to keep our gadgets charged. The breakfast was pretty basic - coffee and breadrolls. It was ok, but not of the standard other places offer. No fruit, yoghurt or hot dishes. It was served on a lovely terrace though, which kind of made up for the lack of variety of food.

    Another reviewer described this hotel as "A Grand Old Dame who needs a facelift". That is a perfect description. The building is beautiful, if a bit shabby. We had a brilliant view over the ocean and a short walk to restaurants and sites to see. If you can ignore the shabbiness, this hotel is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a grand old building in desperate need of a refresh. In summer it would benefit greatly from having air-conditioning and then would be well worth visiting. Without that, it was 50-50 for us.

    Very large room, fairly quiet, well-sited close to a park, Pula's ampitheatre and historic town centre, and our early morning ferry connection. Pula itself was a pleasant surprise, lots to see.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, you can see the Arena from your window. Great value for money. Free parking outside. Nice and quiet, just the way I like it. Bed linen is good. Breakfast is a regular Italian affair. Fantastic coffee at breakfast, the best coffee I had anywhere. Breakfast room and the terrace are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c. Continuos rhinitis in room. Dust?

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff, superb location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere and the age and grandeur of the building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were poor with old furniture, TV and o.

    It was realy close to the city centre. Very good location. Staff was friendly. The room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No airconditioning or hair dryer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staf and service.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard bed.

    Location - close to ferry to Venice, close to Arena but in peaceful area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, hot rooms, uncomfortable beds, old and dirty bathroom

    Close to amphiteatar in Pula

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was creepy walking up the unlit stairs to the fourth floor at night.

    Grand old hotel with nice views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very special experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location close to boat the history of the place , shame is not up to the standard one day was

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is faded and the property is old but it is a great price

    WE loved the location and the big room with sea views and balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful old building with balcony views across the harbour. Everywhere was immaculately clean, the staff very helpful and the rooms spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no kettle in room. ;(

    Location and very frendly staff. Receptionist David was very professional. ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work in my room :(

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition

    It's very close to the place where I was going (Arena for Status Quo concert).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. It was unbearable trying to sleep with the heat. Also no wifi in the bedrooms.

    The location was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air con in rooms. Otherwise the hotel is old fashioned but great value and rather nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff friendliness no air conditioning (ventilators)

    location in the city

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: