Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rubin Sunny Hotel by Valamar 3 stars

Brulo 1, 52440 Poreč, Croatia

#21 of 26 hotels in Poreč

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 770 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    ...

    The food was good, both breakfast and dinner (same as in Valamar Pical). The beds in Rubin are better than in Pical. All in all good value for money. We would return here if we get the opportunity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think the AC worked in our room it was very warm.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got in later than expected and missed dinner but they had food waiting for us when we got there at 1 in the morning. The breakfast and dinner is worth it at the hotel. Good variety of food and plenty of good food. Everything was clean and very family friendly. The pool was nice and clean and the sea is down the back steps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper came into our room at 8 am on the day of the departure. Too early and completely unnecessary. No wi-fi in the room.

    Location is excellent, close to the city, far enough rom the crowd.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner could start at 18:00 or at least 18:30, 19:00 is a bit late for family with small children.

    Super good food, especially dinner was fabulous. If the hotel is 3 ⭐️, then the food is 4 ⭐️ easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You had to pay for the car park even though in October the car park was pretty empty. They had closed the swimming pool.

    The location was good, close by to the beach and only a short scenic walk to Porec.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed parking near hotel No wi fi in room or may be is this good for us To high prices for drink

    Good location Good staff Realy beautiful all porec Good food and a lot of food -may be is this not good for us

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little like a giant butlins holiday camp in character. The food was only average. But reasonable value for money. Oh yes satellite TV was provided but cost extra to actually use it!

    Good walking distance into Porej. Great views over the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is overwhelmingly attended by German people and therefore both the fluency of the staff and the choice of food proposed understandably caters for this larger group of customers and leaves others with a felling of being stuck in a quiet traffic in some suburbs of Dusserldorf. Although everything is very nice and professional at the hotel, for anyone not so "Germanized" there could be a bit of a cultural shock... and I would recommend another of the Valamar collection hotels that may not be so overwhelmingly "German". Best symptomatic image of this is the choice of desserts or cheese proposed at evening meals.

    Location is excellent. Very well organized. Very friendly and well trained staff. Excellent managers and staff at reception who are very attentive to client needs. Pool is nice. Very short distance to the beach. Nice clean room with well working air conditioning. Very large choice of food. You can choose to eat healthy and be healthy or eat fat and be fat. Many activities for children, paid and free. This is a highly recommended stay for families with children aged 3 to 16 and who have a reasonable budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nearby supermarkets.

    First of all ... location. Poreč is adorable little town. Awesome beaches...not just Brulo beach (underneath of hotel), but also public beaches. Recreation centre Jedro ... where you can rent-a-bike and play all kinds of water activities/sports, but also mini-golf, tennis, table tennis and beach volleyball. There are also a couple of very nice beach bars and restaurants. Valamar Rubin is one comfortable hotel with superdelicious food and supernice rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks not included into restaurant package. No sefe for valuable things in rooms

    Helpfull and friendly staff at restaurant. Good location to visit Porec

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The bathrooms must be modernized

    Everything was fine. The hotel is beautiful and it is near to the beach. The room is spacious, quiet and clean. The staff is kind, friendly and helpful. The surroundings is beautiful, clean and well kept.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Exhorted taxi fare. We booked a taxi at reception to travel to our next destination Fazana. Which is approximately 20 miles. We were shocked to be charged 700kn (ie 100 euro). The driver told us it was because it was a weekend. This is however untrue as we traveled from pula airport on the Saturday previous and were charged 500kn(80 euro). I am disappointed that this had to our last experience with the hotel. As all our other experiences were excellent.

    Fresh products, excellent variety for all tastes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which was slightly lacking was wifi in the room,You had to go to the lobby for the internet

    Staff were very well trained and attentive,The food on offer was varied and good quality,This hotel was in a great position,With a beach bar just down towards the sea,Other restaurants which were also near by gave stunning views through the trees to the sea,We both enjoyed this hotel,It made for a great base,Everything is easy in Croatia,They are very easy to contact and arrange trips over the web,whether you book before hand or when you are here,We have never had any problems with any of the trips.If you are not sure of Croatia,Don't be,We came here 6 years ago and come back every year,A different town or city most years and we find the people very helpful and friendly,Very relaxed atmosphere,Stunning scenery and great food,Porec is a lovely town,Very clean and has a lot of history

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff of the hotel is not very helpful. We didn't receive any information during the check in and had to find by ourselves that we needed a special cards to receive a towel for the swimming pool, special card for the parking...etc.

    Location just 15 minutes of walk from beautiful Porec, seaside area very clean with easy access to water at every corner. Half- board included in the price is very convenient. All the area in Brulo is very safe and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to be mentioned. Thank you!

    We made late check in without any problem. Super location of hotel - near beach, near centre, beautiful walk way along the coast line. Perfect service and delicious dishes for breakfast and dinner. Helpful staff, they made us twice a breakfast box on request. Airconditioning in the room was really working. There is a stop for the small train right on the beach - very convinient! You can use to go to the centre (if you don't want to walk) or to visit Zelena Laguna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in, the member of staff told us they keep passports overnight and to collect in the morning. We found this strange as we had already paid for the hotel room, etc.

    We only stayed for one night after travelling from Italy. Check in was quick and informative, the room was basic but clean and welcoming! We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant for dinner as we went to explore Porec, though the buffet breakfast in the morning was ideal for everyone. We only paid the equivalent to 80euros for 2 people for one night with dinner and breakfast included. Absolute value for money!! Will definitely visit Valamar resorts again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is only available at the public areas.

    The whole compound was just lovely. Various stuff to do. The view is beautiful and the walk to the town through the beach area from the hotel is lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi only operates in the lobby not in the rooms

    Location is ideal; a 10 minute walk into Piran along a scenic coastal path. The hotel has a spacious swimming pool in its extensive grounds. The breakfast and dinner buffet were excellent in both variety and quality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cant think of anything.....

    The food was excellent and plentiful,the hotel was very clean as was the whole area,we were very impressed with everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom can be cleaner than that.

    - Location, food, staff and the city (Porec). The staff are really friendly and ready to help you every time. Almost the entire staff speak German and English and I think also Italian. The hotel is located near the Porec city (around 15 minutes to centre walking through the forest on the edge of the sea). The view from the balcony is fantastic and relaxing. The location is very silent, you can sleep with windows opened all night - you will hear only the water in the pool (like a summer rain). It's true, in some nights there are some evening programs at the hotels nearby and the music can be hear also but, it's not too loud (and it's stopped I think until 12). Internet access is free of charge in public places lobby (Wi-Fi) and by cable in the room (if you have one :). The parking is large (~3eur/day) and almost all places are in the shade. P.S. We had a "Romantic room with sea view".

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed only 3 nights in the Valamar Rubin! Unfortunalty not so luck with their elevator service, they offer 2 but only one was working and pretty hard with so many people using it at the same time! I wouldn't have a problem to take the stairs if I wouldn't have a baby and need to use a buggy! The cleaning lady was also not coming in the room twice, even if we have the sign on the door, for the room to be cleaned! We had for both times to call the reception at the end of the day to ask for it! It was at the end done!

    The breakfast is very good, staff as well and very friendly! Reception was also good! The pool was good and the dining and breakfast area are well kept! Very close to the center, easy walking distance!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wifi in room and you have to hangout with 50 other people in the lobby to use the internet. Standard room is pretty cramped. Not worth the money. I would rather rent a house near the beaches.

    Breakfast and dinner was included. But after the first meal, they are pretty mediocre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning situation was not good. The staff at the front desk seemed impatient with questions. For the amount of money we paid per night, it was not worth it and the beach chairs should have been included for this much money.

    The parking, meals, other entertainment options and location were great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rooms. But if you bring a proper computer, you can connect via cable (and they even gave us a very long cable when we asked for it). The reception staff couldn't explain how to make a connection, or where to put in the code, but plugging the cable and opening a browser was really all that was needed--the rest was self-explanatory. They also gave us a parking card that didn't work and when my husband complained, the night manager was unable to fix the problem and sent him on his way with "you'll manage somehow"!? We did get a new parking card the next morning--I guess only the day shift can do that? I also wish the room cleaning was a bit more thorough during our stay, especially the bathroom. That said, all staff was trying their best and our experience at the hotel was generally good.

    The food was excellent! A lot to choose from and everything was fresh and tasty. The staff at the restaurant was professional and accommodating even on very busy nights. Rooms are big enough and there is a safe box. I wish there was a fridge, too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the nices staff we have meet lately, selfserving breakfast and dinner very well stacked bar and tasteful food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, view, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Huge balcony, great food, very friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food OK,but not fantastic,not enough variation each night

    Big room,nice balcony with garden view,comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very long time to wait for elevators

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Both breakfast and dinner buffets had lots to offer with a different selection daily and they were very tasty

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    no tea/coffee facility in room which we had last year

    liked the outside dining area and the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning can be improved.

    Location is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff - not very friendly

    The location, the food, the terrace outside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi works only the lobby.

    The food was good. Enough variety of dishes , so everybody finds what desires.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely Hotel, staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Location ideal with lovely areas for walking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was little bit small and furniture weared

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and without a balcony.

    Good breakfast and dinner buffet!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    brekfast

    Room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices of beverages @ restaurant, quite small rooms

    Location, staff, value for money (in low season)

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony - Seaside
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy, the food was really good with lots of choice and good quality

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stained towel, other peoples hair on linens and in bath tub, damaged glass in room, opened tea bag and dirty tea pot, limited sea view (could not see the sea when sitting on the balcony because the fence was too high which is a shame because we paid extra for the view), maid entering the room without knocking (happened 2x in 3 days), recieved wrong information from staff - were told that using hotel Valamar diamant's pool was free on a rainy day, but had to pay 120kn.

    Great food, probably the best hotel food i've ever had! Dining room staff is well trained and quick.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free WiFi only near reception. On lunch and dinner you have to buy something to drink because free juice were unavailable. Free drink was only on breakfast.

    Comfortable beds, pretty rooms, nice service, great swimming pool, location close to beach and centrum of Porec

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unbelievable food, buffet breakfasts and evening meals. Staff were very helpful and moved us when a noisy couple moved into the next room and left the music on all night, and seemed not to hear their phone alarm from 6 in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything in the room old and worn and that makes everything look gross. (Mirrors with rust and worn edges, chips in porcelain tub, bathroom door warped and splitting wood at the bottom) No free wifi in rooms. Lots of variety in the dinner and breakfast buffet, quality average. Rooms are too expensive for the quality you get...OVERPRICED

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi is free, but was only available on the reception floor - in special areas (not in the room).

    Rich breakfast and dinner (we had half-board included), food is really really tasty and plenty to choose from. Lot's of activities are available at the Valamar resort (organized by their "animation team" like sports, gym / dance classes, live music in the evenings and so on...) The location is great! At walking distance from Porec center; the beaches are clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi outside of lobby. Room not vacuumed daily.

    Great food, multiple choices for breakfast and dinner, freshly served. Short walk by promenade to harbour and old town.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tea making facilities and a mini fridge in the room would have been nice.

    The Hotel, Immediate grounds and general region were very clean and well kept. The sunshine and 30degress temp is always a help.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and particularly bathroom very small.Towel quality poor.lnitial welcome from reception staff poor

    Location of hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor WIFI

    Meals excellent; general cleanliness very good

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi fi in the rooms

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food, excellent location

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -

    Everything was very nice

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: