Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tirena Sunny Hotel by Valamar 3 stars

Iva Dulcica 36, Babin Kuk, 20 000 Dubrovnik, Croatia

#43 of 54 hotels in Dubrovnik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 709 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated decor on the outside.

    After a noisy night we were moved to a quieter location which was handled beautifully. It was our 30th Anniversary so we were given a bottle of champagne and spa day pass at sister hotel,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are not the most friendly people in the world. The dinner could be better.

    The hotel is near the sea and have a good swimmingpool … It is not in the old town but you can be there in 10/15 minutes by Taxi/Uber - +/- 8€ The breakfast is good and the dinner is not super but it is ok. The rooms are simple but ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the pancakes for breakfast and the massive selection and varieties of food available. Also I went half board and I would definitely recommend the dinner buffet was amazing. All staff were amazing and very welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was paying for sun beds on the beach

    I loved this Hotel, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. I would definitely come back here again in a heart beat. Thank you to all the staff who work so hard.😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor stuff like single blankets, wifi issues, average dinner

    Nice view, amazing breakfast, they did handle our issues thought it was a bit slow at times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle in the room and when asked they refused to give one. There was no shuttle bus to and from the airport. Aldi no fitness facilities and the pool area was quiet dirty.

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel Tirana, excellent staff,excellent food and so clean. Perfect located to get to centre of dubrovnik by bus, taking only 10minutes to reach the centre. I booked this hotel as was running the dubrovnik half marathon,which turned out to be a choice for many runners. A great breakfast pre run, and easy access to centre. Thank you hotel Tirana, would definitely recommend to any traveller.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an outdated look and style. The TV was like an old block of stone, not modern like the plat-screens TV’s most hotels have nowadays. The floor is covered in carpet. The worst part of the room was the toilet. The toilet seat had this yellow looking stain on it, I decided to wipe it off with some sanitizer I had in my bag. Then looking on the paper I used, you could see it was yellow. I felt sick to my stomach!! I’ve never ever experienced such dirtyness in a hotel before, especially in a toilet. After that I started wiping other things in the room before even wanting to touch anything eles in there. I even found stains and spider webs on the lampshades above the bed. Also our room was located in an area where you could literally here people walk outside your door and loud music coming from the bar area. You could even hear your next door neighbours talk, watching tv and their alarm clocks in the morning. If you get room number 222, make sure to ask for a different one!

    Breakfast and the dinner buffet was really great! A nice touch to see the chefs making breakfast and dinner for you. The pool area was really nice and clean. The lobby/reception area looked modern and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hall signage to identify WHERE a particular room was located seemed at times to be confusing.

    - Several dining options at the hotel and adjacent shopping area offer a variety of food and price points. -Old town Dubrovnik is easily accessible with all day public bus service that has a terminal behind hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was excellent. We had breakfast and dinner for 4 nights and the food was first class, no complaints at all. The pool area was amazing the cleanliness was second to none.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall complex is an older building and rooms are a little dated but met our needs and for the money we spent, I was not disappointed. however no lift to the hotel room so had to drag suitcase up and down a few flights of stairs. Again though, this did not impact my stay

    Beach was close to the hotel with views of Gruz. Water was amazing to swim in however beach was full of rocks. Breakfast and Dinner buffet was included in the rate and far outweighed my expectations. Food was really tasty, fresh and lots to choose from. Wish we had eaten there every night because it was on par with what Old Town food could offer. Restaurants, mini supermarkets and bars were also within the hotel complex so you really didn't need to travel into Old Town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally nothing. However this may be difficult if have poor mobility.

    Breakfast was varied and delicious. Reception staff were really helpful and we were able to access room early as ready. Even got a balcony and didn't book one bonus. Pool is outdoor looked beautiful and clean. Location great short walk to a secluded beach, local bus at top of road and very frequent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather stark/ bland decor especially in dining area, nothing to absorb noise, so very loud at times.

    Great location. Good service, very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have appreciated if there wasn't any parking fee. It costs 5 euros/day...

    I have enjoyed a lot our staying at Tirena! Even though the hotel wasn't new (for example furniture is not new), everything is so clean and so well organised to make your staying excellent. The breakfast was very good and tasty! The coastline near the resort was so incredibly beautiful! Moreover, Dubrovnik old town made our staying even better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bit noisy

    The restaurant staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Reception staff were good as I had to extend my stay due to my husband being admitted to hospital

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is tired compared to the other hotels owned by the company on the resort. The hotel is full of tour groups which start early and due to the empty long corridors you are constantly woken up by doors slamming and the sound of suitcases be pulled along the floor We were unable to get wifi in the room but could get it by the pool and 500 metres away at the beach. The room wasn't cleaned to the standard you would expect from a 3 star, e.g. the glasses in the room were not replaced in the 5 nights were where there The double room was 2 single bed pushed together with 2 single bed spreads on them For 2 sunbeds and an umbrella on the beach is 165 kuna a day (around £20), daylight robbery Personally think it is overpriced for what is provided

    Good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive like almost everything in Dubrovnik. There were additional charges for parking, orange juice, ...

    Generally a good hotel with good rooms and bathrooms. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My booking was for 2 families occupying 4 rooms. At check out ALL 4 ROOMS plus meals and drinks were paid by me. However, my daughter's credit card has been separately charged for the 2 rooms used by her family. After 2 weeks, despite promises, my daughter's charges have not been refunded.

    The location was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. Rooms reasonable, beds could be better. Breakfast was good, varied and plentiful. The evening meals were reasonable but not exciting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised to find we had to pay to park the car at the hotel.

    The breakfast was amazing, everything there you could imagine and more. Great public transport in to the old town every 10 minutes from the hotel. Lots to keep the kids amused during the day at the hotel and nearby copacabana beach, only a five minute walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should pay to use a sunbads and Umbrela in the beach; The acess to room is very complicate! The hotel can improve the emergency doors acess!!

    Breakfast and dinner very good!! I complained about the hotel doesn't offer sunbads and umbrellas in the beach and the guess should pay more 10 to 15 euros/ day/ people and the Manager ( Sasa) quick answer me and offer a day use in anoyher Valamar group hotel ;

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charm of the 80's, mixed with modern day hospitality. Nice pool, great breakfast and food in the restaurant, great cocktails, friendly staff, shops in the hotel, open-air cinema. The rooms are clean and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a maze, limited choice at the bars and the evening music was a bit mixed and very loud, even back in our room.

    Clean hotel, good breakfast and great staff. Good poolside snack bar. Easy to get to the Old City (about 10mins by taxi or frequent busses)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses aren't very comfortable.they are soft so for someone who has back pain like me it's not good.

    I liked the location,the facilities they offer(pool,shops nearby,beach,calm area,spa services and the food)everything you could need is found there.very relaxing atmosphere too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Room was outdated but clean No hair dryer or iron... annoyed by that The room service came to check my Mini bar at inopportune times Some workers were cold My salad at the pool bar was terrible

    The breakfast and dinner were delicious and ample Stores were Close Quiet The pool!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are 5 Valamar resorts within 500 meters of this location, and their presence creates a a large common resort area. We used the beach at the President and had no problems getting towels there with our Tirena towel cards.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be clearer on hotel information about where kids clubs are (just says swimming pool) as it's in their sister hotel round the corner. Staff were extremely Helpful however walking us down to it.

    Really good hotel. Everything you'd expect. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Would stay again. Breakfast was exceptional!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had half board and so had breakfast and dinner included. At breakfast there was access to juice and water, but in the evening you were required to pay for all drinks. This seemed to us like blatant profiteering. The local tap water is perfectly safe to drink, but staff were told that they could not supply tap water to residents. Therefore, as a family with children in the middle of a mini heat wave (average temperatures were 33), we had no choice but to buy expensive tap water at every dinner sitting. In the UK every hotel would supply tap water on request, for a hotel that aspires to be of a good standard, this should be a minimum requirement.

    The hotel is situated in a complex that offers access to other hotels and their facilities. The Tirena hotel pool is really good but we also use the Club Valamar pool too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is extremely old property. Lacks proper renovation. When you go for a holiday and pay 200 EUR per day your expect a basic Gym. Parking is also kind of shared parking bit of a walk from hotel. Location looks good on map but Dubrovnik walled city is located a bit away from the property.

    It is next to a bus stop and has a good swimming pool. The location is not so good for visiting the walled city but for beach etc, there are a few nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning stuck at 24 degrees . Way too hot for a country in the middle of a heatwave . Also we were eaten alive by mosquitos at breakfast. I know this is not something you can control but it was the only place (we stayed in 4) that we got bitten so I think you have an infestation.

    Loved the staff and the pool .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Regular bus into Dubrovnik centre made life so simple as you could easily access the town whilst being in a peaceful location in easy walking distance of beaches and restaurants. The hotel was very clean, nothing fancy but had everything you need. The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a strike on with the taxis and they accommodated us with alternate transportation to the airport. Nice breakfast. Great pool. Only 20 minutes to old town. We booked a boat excursion at the hotel which was only 35 euro. It included lunch and a bottle of wine and pick up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking place was uncomfortably far. Noisy evenings. Even if we are far from Dubrovnik, prices of are the same as in the old city and more expensive than in Lapad. To reach the beach of President Hotel, the staff there asked us to go around their hotel. So you get no benefit at the beach from staying at another Valamar hotel (other than getting free towels!)

    Nice pool, very good food at the hotel's restaurant, very friendly staff. Nice beach at the Valamar President.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing.

    we stayed bed and breakfast and the selection of food available was really good. The view from the superior twin room was excellent, the beds were really comfortable. There was plenty of room around the pool , sunbeds had face shades on them which i've never seen before and despite holidaying in July there were always beds still available at 1030-1100hrs so no dash to get up and put towels on .There is a pool towel service. The resort of babin kuk is lovely and there is a beautiful coastal walk from the hotel, resort centre is approx. 1000metres from hotel The bus stop is a two minute walk from the hotel and the bus service runs every 10 minutes into the old town until about 2 am .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with a great pool. Evening entertainment also very good. Breakfast buffet wide had a wide choice and delicious. The staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to give us tips about the area, helped us with transport to the airport and generally couldn't do enough for us. Also 2 nice restaurants very near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buses back from town at night very crowded , frequent, but may have to wait a while to get on. For oldies not so much fun.

    Breakfast excellent. Swimming pool beautiful. Good places to eat nearby in pedestrian precinct if you don't choose to eat in hotel. Easy bus ride from town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi connectivity. Security staff very rude and not helpfull. Never explsined to ys how to reach to the parkibg lot.

    Reception staff very polite and helpfull, nice pool area, nice hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was alot of insects in our room, we were badly bitten at night

    Very close to beach and shop.. Pool was lovely, bus stop was right outside hotel complex

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was unconfrotable .

    We really like the beaches next to the hotel ! It was easy to take the public transportation to go to the old town . The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition wasn't cold enough, even on the lowest setting, sometimes it felt as if it wasn't on at all. The location is a little far from the old town.

    Staff were friendly, food was good, comfortable bed, generally clean and tidy hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit disappointed with the price of drinks, even water overall, but especially during the evening meal. Thought they were rather expensive.

    The room was large, spacious and clean, and the facilities in the hotel were very good. Staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was very good and kept clean. This is classed as a three star hotel, but overall, it was better than some of the four star hotels I have stayed at in the past.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Menu in hotel could have been a little more adventurous.

    Restaurant facilities adequate. Staff always polite and friendly. Hotel situated in good position both for beaches and town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diningroom was in basement no view yet hotel was on a headland. Adjoining hotel had stunning views from its restaurant, sunsets over ilands . The pool was not near the hotel and there were no changerooms at the pool.

    Comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No View. No kettle to make yourself a cup of coffee/tea in the comfort of your room. Pool area was far away, you had to go through the front door/reception area to get to the pool.

    Friendly staff and food that catered for Coeliac Disease (Gluten Free)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con wasn't very good

    Our view from room 420 was fantastic. The food was excellent and the restaurant staff were very efficient. It is a very tranquil area and was a treat after spending time in busy Markaska. The swimming pool was beautiful too .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great so we liked it all

    great location right near Cava Beach and Copacabana Beach staff was very friendly and they offered hotel food which was great value and a cheaper cost than the restaurants! Overall the stay was great and we loved Dubrovnik it is a must see city!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was poor at the pool and the food at the pool bar was only ok. There was not enough sunbeds or umbrellas at the pool. Check out took awhile as there was only one person at reception. Water should be served with dinner. The cleaners started cleaning very very early in the morning and the rooms were not sound proof so you could hear them going up and down the halls with trolleys at all hours.

    Good location,close to the beach. The pizza at dinner was amazing and the food was decent overall. The staff were all very friendly. We booked a day trip through the hotel and it was very simple. The hotel itself is old but very clean and has everything you would need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms didn't have great views of the sea which would be the only negative.

    This hotel had best of both worlds as it was close enough to try city but also far enough away to have lots of space and amazing scenery. We loved the beaches close to the hotel. Just a short walk away, you will find a coastal path that has stunning views of Dubrovnik port. As you walk along you will encounter some stunning beach clubs. They are expensive but worth it as they have amazing views and a great atmosphere. We spent two afternoons here, rented a jet ski and just chilled out. A definite highlight of the holiday for us! The breakfast is also a highlight - loads of choice and freshly made options. The local bus to town is only 5 mins away and goes every 10 mins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor points. Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room.The towels in the bathroom were a bit on the thin side. But this is being rather picky.

    The rooms were spacious, airy and clean.The hotel overall was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food for breakfast and dinner was excellent. Fully recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    typical hotel for bus turism, huge and old fashion stye, breakfast not as good as it looks. bar closes early, people send to hotel close to to get a drink.....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room. No other dislikes.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location, quiet enough but not so far for popping into the centre via regular bus service (10mins). Very clean. Food was outstanding. Amazing beaches nearby. Pool area fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great, top service, very nice and helpful staff. Rooms were clean, spacious, with a view to the sea. The only drawback is the location which is a bit far from the old city centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps visible gluten free options at breakfast? There may well have been some but I can't recall any.

    Superb value for money as the hotel was very large, clean and the food choice was very impressive. The bus was very easy to use as it only took ten minutes into the city centre and you can buy tickets at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi fi is week

    Thank you tirena for a wonderful stay - the staff is excellent - special thanks to the lady - I don't know her name - she was alone in the hotel on 24th October 2016 - the hotel was closed - my flight was at 7 o'clock - she stayed with me and kept the bags and when the transfer car delayed she helped me to catch-up the flight - all the people was warm and smiley - thank you tirena all was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not care for the "half board" arrangement. Food was very good, but I never guessed that dinner would be a contact sport! Dining room filled with large, loud aggressive eaters swarming about. Finally found several quiet, inviting restaurants, bars, coffee shops and retail stores less than one minute away! Too bad the hotel never tells you about these.

    Room was clean and comfortable with a great view. Two excellent beaches a short walk. Staff was pleasant and attentive..immediately fixed electrical issue in our room. Short taxi or bus ride to old town Dubrovnik.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wish there was a sign when we got off the bus stop to guide us to the hotel.

    Big comfortable rooms, staff very helpful and friendly,excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't that great in the rooms

    Really lovely staff, very helpful and on departure I had an early flight so would miss breakfast so they made me a take away breakfast bag. Very sweet!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to have breakfast outside, expect to be surrounded by cigarette smoke

    The pool area is lovely, a pity that the swim up bar was closed (out of season). Hotel is nearby several trendy beach clubs. Dubrovnik city center can easily be reached by taxi or local bus (frequency every ten minutes).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if there is a kettle available in the room.

    It is located on a peninsula while it is easily accessible with local transport. It offers the tranquillity with a good sized swimming pool and beaches. There were different entetainers everynight.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the sea side room with balcony was good. We could see cruise ships arriving in the morning. It was nice to look at the water. The room was a it spare but comfortable. It was nice to have the mini bar. We loved walking to the different beaches and other Valamar hotels. We had drinks at the Presidente one day and they had a nice piano bar. The breakfast buffet was good and so was the dinner one. They had lots of vegetable and fruit options. It was very easy to catch the bus into Dubrovinik. They sell tickets inside the hotel which are €3 euros cheaper per ticket than purchasing them on the bus. We enjoyed walking along the promenade that takes you into Lapad (spelling?) harbor and beach. The concierge person did a very nice job recommending excursions. A good option for saving some money by booking here and not the four or five star hotels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More comfortable sitting needed for bar .

    The breakfast and buffet dinner was excellent . Very good value I would return again .The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was too high; on the other hand we reserved late and our stay was in the peak of the season (August). Looking now at September prices, they are much more reasonable (a bit more than a half of what we paid). The evening entertainment in the hotel was not that good. We didn't like as well the price of the sunbeds at the nearby Hotel President beach (both President and Tirena are part of the Valamar hotel chain). The beach is open to the public and 2 beds and umbrella cost 25 Eur per day.

    Everything was great. The food was excellent ( both breakfast and buffet style dinner ) and the staff very nice and friendly ( besides a couple of grumpy waiters in the restaurant but that's no big deal). The pool and the bar were very good. The room and the bathroom were spacious. The location is good - a short pleasant walk from the beach. The waterfront is very nice - there are 3 public beaches nearby, one can even swim from one bay to the other. The water is great, crystal clear, there's plenty of fish to see and the bay was awarded the croatian blue flag. Of course the beach is pebble + rocks in the water, but that's typical for Croatia and has its charm - just make sure you have water shoes. There is a bus to Dubrovnik really close to the hotel and you can buy the tickets in the hotel's shop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just to say something; the wifi stopped halfway our room.

    Lovely breakfast and dinner (for a quiet meal, choose a table outside). Nice and clean rooms. The poolside was nice and tidy and the location (Babin Kuk) was great. 10 min by bus to the old town. Reception personnel was great and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traveled with another couple. Our flight was early morning, but when we arrived they had our room ready within an hour. We took this time to book a kayaking excursion and discuss other things to see and do. We enjoyed having breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. We enjoyed the beach, the pool and the bar. The sunsets were gorgeous from the beach. It was close to Old Town. Highly recommend. Would definitely stay at again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old looking interior design. Not very lively atmosphere. Mostly recommended for elderly

    Very nice receptionist. She kindly accepted to give us a room with views to outside because the original was heading to an interior area Buffet is tasty but the inner space is noisy and not good looking. We went to the outside area when it was possible. Sympathetic waiters and nice staff generally. Good connection to city center with two bus lines

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The very expensive snacks and drinks in the poolside bar and the hotel. Location of hotel make it difficult to take pleasant walks after dark as it is in a park area.

    The lovely clean swimming pool area, comfortable and clean rooms, good quality, varied evening meals and pleasant, helpful staff. Reliable and regular bus service to the Old Town with the bus stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally always found something delicious to eat at breakfast and dinner, but as with all buffets you have to get the timing right so your meat is still hot and your fish is not too dry and no one has made off with all the chocolate cake (oh wait that was me!) Also would be better not to feel the pressure of buying drinks at dinner, especially as someone who prefers drinking tap water.

    Staff bent over backwards to help us. Our room was changed, due to mobility issues, with no fuss. Super clean. Loved exploring the neighbouring Valamar hotels.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just great!

    The bed was super comfy. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. I would like to mention Olga (in the dining room) especially, who was forever smiling, and even made me a pancake with my name on it! 😃

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Long winded corridors to rooms - use the external pathways, they are way faster. Dire entertainment choices in the evening.

    Very good breakfast, nice location at Babin Kuk. Nice, clean spacy rooms, new bathroom. Try the pizza at dinner - it's marvellous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the food variety wasn't Halal eaters friendly, most of the food was pork or made with pork, for people who don't eat pork this might be an issue, the fruits were not fresh, so please pay attention to your dinner buffet selections.

    the hotel is spacious with it's own pool and very close to the famous Copacabana beach overlooking the amazing bay and bridge of Dubrovnik, the room was clean, and the location of the hotel is not central however the bus station is right across the street of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked fresh orange juice rather than having to pay extra for it.

    Great choice of hot and cold food.coffee lovely and cups continuously filled up.everything very fresh well presented and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room the wifi did not work. The swimming pool was in front of our balcony it was a bit distudbing due to the everyday evening shows. We had to pay for the parkong which is a bit disturbing when you stay 1 week in a hotel. The hotel does not have own parking place (only a few).

    Fantastic breakfast and dinner, the beach is very close and also the bus station which brought us to the old town also very close. Friendly staff , very clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The pool was wonderful - very clean and towels supplied. The buffet breakfast and evening meal were great. Freshly cooked and very good choices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room with Park View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the evening entertainment was not nessecary, the area is ambient by itself.

    The hotel is typically continental and everything you would expect for a 3* hotel. Good mix of guests from around the globe. Food offering very broad and varied through the our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where dated and needs refreshing. You could here the noise from people passing in the hallway like they where in your room. Needs a lift to floors for luggage. Stairs only, and it was hard to take luggage up and down. Parking was right at the top of hill. Not super convenient. But ok

    Breakfast was great, good choices. However staff looked miserable to be there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony - Sea Side
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very noisy when turning over 1 pillow useless 1 too plumped. Toilet filled up slowly sometimes so was noisy.

    Staff were excellent. Issue with safe in room someone came within 5 minutes too sort.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: