Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petalon Resort 4 stars

Petalon, 52450 Vrsar, Croatia

#19 of 75 hotels in Vrsar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1112 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Pretty much everything, staff is super friendly, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly too pricy, you need pay extra for sun beds&umbrella

    Pretty much everything, staff is super friendly, room was clean and spacious and breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work as expected!

    Location is excellent. A lot of walking possibilities. Peaceful place and beautiful nature. Sea view. A lot of good food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice view, balcony, very good breakfast included, large green area, provide discount to the restaurants of the network, very good wifi throughout the territory and on the beaches, bordered by Kaversada

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    The rooms are modern and the AC can really help on the hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is very uncooperative. I got always a big NO for all of my wishes, requests. We reserved a room with a see view with a comment, that we really like a room with see view, then we got a room with bush view (see on the picture). They told me that is a mistake of booking.com, so please be careful because it costs the same.

    The rooms are modern and the AC can really help on the hot summer days. The breakfast is very good and totally enough. The accommodation is about 5 min walking from Vrsar. The accomodation has a private beach which is also very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    good location, great breakfast, older residents
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    description of distance to Rovinj was very misleading. I think they measured in a straight line.

    The place was such a surprise! I had seen the high rating but the booking was done as a list minute emergency and I had no expectations going on. We got a nice room at tone of the villas and we could see a slice of the sea from our balcony. The place was very nicely located, especially for exploring Vrsar, You literally just walk along the coast for 10 mins and you're there. Drive to Rovinj is bit far so the description of being close to there was misleading. Breakfast was really nice with a very huge spread. Place seems to cater to older German tourists though and families so if you're planning on going for romance or as a young group, may not be your cup of tea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice location by the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Village is fairly small so restaurants are a bit limited. Large camping very close to resort.

    Nice location by the beach. Short walk to the village. Nice and clean room and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast, best we had in Croatia so far.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Accomodation was ok, the food was diverse and always fresh, nice people in reception and restaurant as well. Clean water, not very crowded beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    When we arrived we didn’t receive the apartment for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we arrived we didn’t receive the apartment for the reservation. They didn’t want to change it, because full house. After a long complaint we got the booked apartment.People working there could be much more friendly with guests! No shower gel and big towels received for 5 days. (I had to find myself in a corridor) After 9:00 am there was no choice at breakfast. The delicious things went out and didn’t replace it. When I asked, they said it was earlier. The staff of cleaning breakfast was too slow. The final invoice and payment took 1 horrible hour. The receptionist tried to use my credit card 15 times, failed. He didn’t understand that he was covered. I need to raise money from ATM, which is a plus cost. The ATM didn’t give enough money, after 40 minutes another receptionist helped him, and interestingly, there was no problem with the credit card.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    beautiful area, service has space for improvement...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no shower gel received for 5 days, even though i have asked 2 times....extremely sullen invoicing process...3-4 trials to get the final invoice ready and all cleaned

    beaches, waterpark....sea...amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good location at seasides, 15 min from town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness can be much better.

    Very good location at seasides, 15 min from town center. Fabulous breakfast, with so many choices. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    The appartment we had was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To expensive comparing to other properties

    The appartment we had was clean and comfortable. We stayed one night on our return to Switzerland. The location is good and the facilities are also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Sporty family vacation for all generations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The was the reception first handled that they made a mistake with the family room reservation (was not available when we arrived there despite had been reserved for seveler months priorhand). Some of the staff in the restaurant was very slow in setting and cleaning the tables.

    Half pansion very versatile, great selection of local foods, also meals for children. Very nice beach, clean water, quiet surronding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Very quiet, both room and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning ladies are talking and shouting quite loud exactly in time for after lunch nap.

    Very quiet, both room and the beach. Good beach for swimming. Room well equipped, wifi blazing fast. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.3
    Almost nothing was included in the total price of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nothing was included in the total price of hotel. For example chairs next to the swimming pool and nobody informed us before about additional payments. Moreover the quality of food wasn't good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    A place to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only reason I scored the staff lower than the rest of the points was because those clearing breakfast crockery/cutlery away were too slow and not too observant. One incident involving a complaint on our part was not fully resolved and no explanation or apology offered prior to us asking for one. Otherwise staff were good.

    Standard of accommodation is very high. Views over the bay were fantastic and very relaxing. Breakfast on offer was................well there was everything you could think of (and more) on offer with this buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff, close to main attractions and train station,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queuing for breakfast, prices at the restaurant were really high - especially in light of food quality

    Friendly staff, close to main attractions and train station,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Pet friendly quiet place for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel's umbrellas and chears on the beach are payed. Bad smell over the night in the building in the part H of the resort.

    Very professional and polite staff were always smiling and trying to help the guests. Fantastic breakfast and dinner. Calm and quiet resort good for relaxation, very clean. Beach is rocky but beautiful. Nice restaurants, animations, there is even small supermarket inside the resort. The village Vrsar is cosy with its small street and great sunset spots. Restaurants with plenty of delicious and fresh food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Excellent vacation in an excellent resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wifi should be more strong with such a big "audience"

    Everything was excellent starting with the location, personnel, rooms, breakfast, beach, see, all facilities. For sure I'll come back and reccommend this resort as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights

    More sport activities, better fitness gym, calisthenics station on open

    Staff was really professional and kind, excellent restaurant with good organization, really good location with nice view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff, clean resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps more water sports available on site? Daily charges for sun loungers and parasols - These should be included FOC

    Very friendly staff, clean resort. Food excellent Value for Money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Really beautiful and spotlessly clean resort with a well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fridge in the room not working but after 2 notices changed to a better one. Breakfast is really crowded but that is how it is in a big resort like this... Better bring your own beach seats and umbrella as there is an extra fee for everything unfortunately.

    Really beautiful and spotlessly clean resort with a well preserved beach and crystal clean water. We had a room in the H building which turned out to be the calmest with even a side sea view. Breakfast was great. Our stay here was relaxing and we will definitely return!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    8.3
    Western European quality for a Western European price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no wifi in rooms or slow - freshwater pools - expensive

    - rooms superclean - staff very friendly and helpful - extraordinary food choice and quality - beach access

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location, friendly stuff and beautiful nature.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, friendly stuff and beautiful nature.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location and nice rooms with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not so good for the value paid and 4 star hotel.

    Very good location and nice rooms with a view. A lot of opportunity for activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Nice resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fantastic resort, I can offer it for everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ants in our room

    Beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    What a great place for a family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great place for a family holiday

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful view from balcony.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find parking

    Beautiful view from balcony. Quite comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Organization, so crowded

    Room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Great location slightly off the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drinks are not included in the dinner price. That is okay, but expect stellar prices, which is not okay. A dessert went wrong, I think the pineapple had expired. In spite of that it kept returning on each evening. Neither of these is a show stopper but stay alert.

    Great location slightly off the beaten track. Nice rooms and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    Pretty rooms, especially bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast quality did not live up to my expectations - based on the breakfasts we've had in other places in Croatia. Especially coffee and other drinks are of low quality. The walls are very thin. A family with different rooms knocked on each other's doors regularly and at first we thought someone was knocking on our door.

    Pretty rooms, especially bathrooms. Beach including a small island, restaurant and small supermarket within the resort.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Although the hotel was busy due to the 'Euro mini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints.

    Although the hotel was busy due to the 'Euro mini football tournament' there was plenty of space. It is near a camp site, but that was not a problem. The property is about a 15 minute walk from Vrsar, which has a wide selection of good restaurants. The staff were very helpful in giving information.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.1
    This is a not a place for strawler and babies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is a not a place for strawler and babies. There are stairs everywhere to almost every room/building which is complicated. There are no ramps! Rooms are very small to put a crib! Reception is understaffed so be prepared to wait in a long que for anything. Every thursday they have a fest, music is played very koud till midnight. Its no place for babies.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.3
    Great food, positive personnel, close to a beautiful rocky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some houses have a steep climb to the apartment - a challenge with a very small child. Rooms are less impressive than shown on the pictures.

    Great food, positive personnel, close to a beautiful rocky beach.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Very nice sea view room(trough the pines), quiet,very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little more salt in the food would have been nice. A steep 100 m hill from the restaurant to the room. Rocky beach

    Very nice sea view room(trough the pines), quiet,very good food, nice staff. Clean water, good position.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    The Location of this resport is a big plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Internet Connection (only in the reception/restaurant area) was pretty bad, it did not work 40% of the time.

    The Location of this resport is a big plus. You have two pools (mostly for children) and excess to the sea. The breakfast had a good choice and variety and the staff was failry helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location directly on the rocky beach with crystal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tables were not bussed in the last half an hour of the breakfast or only very seldom. The wifi connection in the lobby, restaurant and pizzeria was fast, for the rooms we needed a portable wifi device which was provided us for free, however it was quite slow.

    Great location directly on the rocky beach with crystal clear sea water! Our room had a beautiful sea view. The room was clean and comfortable. Walking distance into the Vrsar city center. Very good breakfast, at the end of June the breakfast hall was luckily not that busy yet. The whole resort is very quite as it is located far away from the main road - ideal for a relaxing vacation.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.9
    Stunning location with only short walks from room to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    on the breakfast buffet there is not much choice for clean eaters (organic vegan) we booked very early and yet did not get our rooms on time of arrival and most annoying they had to fix a lot of items such as shower, safety box ... during our stay. We did not break them but had to complain at the reception till they got fixed.

    Stunning location with only short walks from room to the sea/ beach Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful Free wifi in reception area, bar and pizzeria

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    6.7
    Cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On booking I requested twin bedded room. On arrival at the resort the room had a double bed. I complained to reception and was offered another room, which was the same. The following day we were upraded to another which was OK. My main complaint is the location it is quite far from town and not really walking distance. At no time in the brochure or the booking agent was it indicated that most of the rooms were located up steep hills and require transport. Nothing special. The brochure must indicate a car is required it not for elderly guests with no trsnsport

    Cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    8.8
    Delicious breakfast, large selection of food, cleanliness,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Exalted and unprofessional behavior of personnel in the outer reception (entering gate).

    Delicious breakfast, large selection of food, cleanliness, location, pleasant ambience, nature.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Proximity of the sea, staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was OK, but certain items poor quality

    Proximity of the sea, staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    wifii was just at reception .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifii was just at reception .

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Very good location, 10 minutes walking from the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location, 10 minutes walking from the city. Very good and clean beach. The room was also perfect. Amazing breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast are perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast are perfect Private beach Resort is compact and everything is close

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    A place to rest (peace & quiet) close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A place to rest (peace & quiet) close to the beach

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: