Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Angelo d'Oro 4 stars

Vladimira Švalbe 38-42, 52210 Rovinj, Croatia

#6 of 16 hotels in Rovinj

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 808 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was amazing! Loved the breakfast and outdoor area. The best. Just old rooms and small, but who goes on a vacation in Rovinj to stay in your room? A must if you are lucky enough to get a room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfortable The sheets were lovely The breakfast on the patio was great The fact that we were picked up and brought into the city was helpful Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful The lobby was great This may be my favorite hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area and the food was great! Good location and transportation to the hotel. Picked us up from the car park and took us to the hotel in a golf cart. Overall an excellent experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very special and nice location in the historic town of Rovinj. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Parking outside the old town, transport service with electric golf cars to the hotel. Nice inside terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the hotel

    The hotel is in the centre of the old town. They have driver who picked us up on the public parking lot. They have really nice garden for breakfast and leisure on the first floor. There is also balcony with the view on the sea on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was superb. The lady in dining room was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very nice stay at the Hotel Angelo d’Oro. It is conveniently located in the center of Rovinj, only a very short walk from many restaurants and sites. The staff members were very helpful, welcoming, and friendly, and they even prepared us a boxed breakfast because we were leaving too early in the morning to make the assigned breakfast time! The hotel is well located for wandering the streets and soaking in the city, and the room itself was very nice to clean. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Rovinj that wants to stay in the city center!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, lots of choices. Friendly and helpful staff. I had a dead battery so they sent Tulio, the hotel engineer to get me started. Parking is 150 meters from the hotel. When you call they send a cart.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Stayed in comfort double room with sea view. Great sized room, comfy beds, nice bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Organised our hire car to be collected from the paid parking lot, packed us a breakfast to go as we were catching an early ferry to venice and dropped us off at the ferry. Lots of eating, drinking options nearby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location in the heart of the old town yet still quiet and peaceful. An easy stroll to the beautiful harbour area, restaurants and bars. The hotel has a courtesy buggy to transfer guests and luggage to and from the public car park on the dockside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bass vibrations from the in-house music were loud enough to hear in our room

    Location, amenities, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable lounge, atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a challenge, given the fact that the hotel is in old city. While parking was arranged by hotel, it is quite inconvenient. You have to park in a garage on the outskirts of the town, wait to be picked by someone only to be driven to a parking closer to the center of the town, and then transfer to electric cart to finally get to the hotel. Our room on the top floor had sloped ceiling, we had to be extremely mindful not to bump our heads into the beautiful exposed beams.

    Great location, clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The super kind, smart, helpful and attractive staff; beautiful authentic building; sitting room with fun, historical decor; and location on a small street close to the water. Oh and the breakfast buffet was wonderful too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy, bed was not comfortable,

    Location and the staff member that assisted my husband and I, in trying to locate my lost bag. The staff is very helpful and friendly I would defintley return. Breakfast was good. Drop off service was useful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is an old building in the old town - that is part of its strength. But as a result its facilities are limited (but there is a wonderful outdoor garden on the second floor) and the rooms are rather small and a bit dated. But the bed was comfortable and the plumbing worked.

    We loved the hotel Angelo d'Oro - the location was terrific, the breakfast excellent and above all, the staff were superb! Everyone on the entire staff was a helpful as they could be and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. I cannot speak too highly of them - they really make the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel was excellent from the staff to the room. A special thank you to the breakfast staff who served up a delicious breakfast each morning with a smile. The complimentary drinks voucher to have at the bar and the daily bottles of water were a welcomed touch. We especially liked the lounge area with it's quirky decor and lighting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation was not great. While they came to pick me up and return me, the hotel man suggested it would be cheaper just to pay direct to parking lot people. This became a huge hassle in the end and I ended up paying more directly to parking lot people (who were rude).

    These people went out of their way to accommodate and exceed my expectations. The breakfast was delicious. I was very happy with everyone's efforts. Location was great. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is off-premises and a little bit of a juggling act. We ended up switching from their 2 km away parking lot above town to the public parking closer to old town which we could do because it wasn't peak season (mid Sept). That wouldn't be possible in summer.

    The Angelo D'Oro is on a small walking street (no cars in this part of town), smack in the middle of Rovinj old town. Our room had a water view (through a sliver of space between 2 buildings) but it was enough. We could watch the pedestrians below and the boats in the harbor. Even though we were 20 feet above major pedestrian traffic, shutting the windows made the noise go away. The (small) staff was helpful and nice. Breakfast was in a fairly small room but decent. The location of this hotel is everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Because of its historic centre location be aware parking is some distance away and requires a shuttle buggy ride. Didn't inconvenience us but some people may not want this.

    Lovely boutique hotel in historic centre. Comfortable beds. Fabulous breakfast in courtyard garden when the weather is good. Helpful and friendly staff. Free drink on arrival. Water bottles for guests to take for the day. Appreciated buggy ride with luggage from parking to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quality of room poor in relation to the price. Expected better. The room had nowhere to hang wet clothes or towels, nor did the bathroom. Had to hang things over cupboard and bathroom door. Shower rail was broken and poorly sealed - flooded the floor. Room was quite small and dark with no view. Kept banging my leg trying to move round the bed. It was also right on the stairs so quite noisy. Disappointed.

    Breakfast was very good. Excellent choice and very fresh. Good coffee and good service - tables cleared quickly. All staff very friendly. Great to be picked up from car park and dropped back. Location was perfect - right in middle of the old town:-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff. They picked us up at the ferry terminal and, after our stay, took us to the car rental office. We had a very nice room with a balcony. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully restored old building with shady courtyard and terrace - extremely helpful staff create a calm ambience - very restorative after a stressful year - highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was varied and coffee and cakes delicious.the bedrooms and general environmentry was perfect however the piece de resistance was the staff 150% for the best staff ever caring talented multi lingual funny they enjoy their work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite beautiful but Rovinj in August is unbearable. Herds of tourists, packed restaurants and parking is hell. We fled after one day although we reserved two nights. Understandably but also regretfully, there was no discount due to our early exit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We arrived by car, and managed to find the car park outside of the town without too many difficulties. As soon as we arrived we were whisked via golf cart to the hotel in the pedestrianised area of the old town. The hotel was stunningly fitted with antique furnishings, giving a rustic feel appropriate to the area. Throughout our trip the staff were friendly and very helpful. To our surprise our rooms were often cleaned by the time we returned from breakfast. The garden and balcony terrace were particular favourites, giving us a comfortable place to have a cocktail as the sun went down. The breakfast offered various choices and was lovely. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything...

    Good location; helpful and well-informed staff; elactro-car from parking to the hotel (and this service should not be underestimated - walking through the pedestrian zone with luggage would be very uncomfortable).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    New carpet with some padding in the family room. Floors are thin and this would add more a comfy feel. Glass shower protector wasn't the most effective so a lot of water would spill on the floor.

    Great breakfast, friendly staff at front desk, family room very spacious. very accommodating and drove us to our car rental location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My only issue -- and it's a big one -- is the absurdity of variable pricing. My room rate for a week's stay almost doubled during several days...?!!! This is madness. The room was exactly the same size. There were no major holidays or reasons to boost the price sky-high -- to 350 euros?! I was very shocked and annoyed when I got the bill. If you have mobility issues, there is no elevator, only stairs -- and it's four flights to the uppermost rooms.

    Loved this property in every respect. Staff were warm and welcoming. The hotel is two 17th and 18th c buildings combined, so if you love history and an intimate space, this is a perfect choice -- only 23 rooms. The garden terrace (shaded, planted) is heavenly, where breakfast is served. In very hot weather, their in-room AC was quiet and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be hard to improve on. There was absolutely nothing we didn't like about Angelo D'Oro. We will be back next year.

    The staff were always friendly, willing to help and always greeted us. Breakfast was sensational and the place was always very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC unit in our room was not working, noisy tourists in the street could be heard late night.

    We liked the location, but for short stay only, since it is in the historical part of Rovinj. Excellent for sightseeing and introduction to the history and the old town. The hotel itself is a heritage building, you can feel the atmosphere of old times. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, would have loved to organize my stay to extend for one night but was not possible

    Old stylish hotel but with all comfort in the middle of the old town, room on the last floor with sea view Breakfast just amazing only prepared with premium local ingredients Excellent value for money Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all great

    Staff, location and hotel were all a 10...highly recommend this property. They provided golf cart shuttle when needed! Breakfast was all great...lots of variety and eggs to order.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quirk (shower not easy to get in and out of due to odd screen design).

    Lovely staff. Beautiful building and room. Great breakfast. Superb location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three flights of stairs and five when you had to cross over to the breakfast courtyard. But that's the price you pay for the location. Our room was small and some aspects of the hotel were a bit tired. Worn carpets etc.

    The location was great for sightseeing and nightlife. Robes and slippers a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very very comfortable. We miss the bed already. Very big airy rooms. Good breakfast options every morning on the lovely terrace. Good place to stay in Rovinj.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything! The lady (I am so disapointed I cannot rememember her name) was very friendly, supportive and helpful. Carlo fetched us from the parking area (the city center is closed to traffic) - he helped with our luggage, pointed out places, gave advice. Full of energy and kindness. The hotel has an old world charm and elegance. My nephew said this was the best breakfast he had in Europe. We all tend to agree

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff provides a ride to free parking then on to the hotel which is great, but connecting with them on arrival was a bit of a headache.

    Wonderful location, interesting building, clean comfortable room. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing negative springs to mind. One of the best stays we've had in a long time

    The hotel was very close to the centre of things. Breakfast was really good and we were able to take it on their delightful terrace. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Off season this hotel was delightful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely courtyard outside our bedroom door. Could potentially be noisy if people were out late at night. Breakfast was delicious. Bathroom was very modern and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, alas.

    There is a beautiful terrace for breakfast or just sitting. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great: right in the Old Town. This is a fascinating old building that has been converted to a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a suggestion really that tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom would have been nice.

    Lovely old character building but with modern touches and amenities. Great location, comfortable hotel and good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the old nature of the building, there was no elevator; the air conditioner in the room was sub-optimal and the room had only one window for ventilation that opened into a common external air shaft that allowed smoke from another guest on neighboring porch to enter our room.

    Location, ambience and decoration, quality of breakfast, friendliness of staff, help at finding parking spot outside of city center and driver with electric cart to bring us and our luggage from car to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy bed, good shower, fast wifi in room, helpful and friendly staff. For breakfast they even offered to make me scrambled egg, in addition to full regular breakfast. When hotel couldn't offer me a third night, due to brief close-down, they offered me a beautiful apartment right by the sea, arguably the best location in Rovinj. They took me and my bags there in the hotel buggy. It also included breakfast at the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    One of the better breakfast ever - various food from sweet to wraps with fresh riccota .. Nice old renovated building. Welcome drink and snack at the evening when you are back from city walk...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were spacious, clean, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast was really good, with a variety of foods, from salmon to eggs and great breads, it was plentiful and the 2 people working in the breakfast area were super friendly and on top of things. The sitting area up top of the hotel was a nice place to relax after a long day. We will stay there again. Make sure to write down the phone number so you can call them and let them know your there and they will pick you up and take you to the hotel in their golf cart after they tell you where to park, as the town center is a no car zone. Don't worry it was easy. The driver also carries your bags up to your room which was nice to as there is no lift.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot's of stairs, but we were on the 3rd floor. So request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. Also the WiFi was not working the first day.

    Location is great, almost on the Jelacic Square. Nicely decorated. And the staff were friendly and accommodating. When it was raining the hotel umbrellas were all being used by the guest, so one of the staff even let us borrow her personal umbrella.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no box of tissues And we miss the coffee or tea In the room.

    The location was excellent, the Room was cozy and pleasant, Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good choice if you have mobility problems as there are a lot of stairs.

    Nice quirky hotel right in the old town. Comfortable beds, excellent helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about t!

    Loved everything about this hotel...it was in a great location, we had a view of the sea, it was very tastefully decked out in an old worldly style, it was very luxurious & it was great that they provided assistance with the parking of your car & delivering your gear. The breakfast was also delicious, it reminded me of a country manor hotel at the sea & having reception was an extra benefit. It was one of our favourite hotels in our 4 week trip to Croatia.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is some way away - there is an electric buggy to ferry you to and from your car but there can be a wait at busy times. No hot options at breakfast and machine coffee which could have been better. Avoid rooms with connecting doors as these do not provide much of a sound barrier (eg 203). No food available other than breakfast but lots of other options nearby.

    Beautiful historic building in a lovely, quiet, level part of the town. Service is informal but friendly and helpful. Very attractive, comfortable lounge area and outdoor terrace for fine weather. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Transfer to and from the hotel's parking area on the outskirts of town was free and efficiently provided, but prospective guests with a car need to be aware that they will not be able to reach the hotel directly.

    Characterful, well-renovated old building in the heart of the ancient city. Friendly staff, attractive decor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day started all wrong for us and we missed our original flight so we contact the staff by phone and emails to make sure we will be picked up. We finally arrived to Rovinj at 22:45. At that time they were not available by phone and at 23:30 we finally got to the hotel by foot to see they sent an email that they can't pick us up (only one person at the reception). We had no wi-fi access so we didn't know. All is good if you arrive early enough :)

    The location was good. The old building is gorgeous. The room was perfect. Breakfast was outstanding. The staff really did it's best to overcome our late arrival pickup fail.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very pleasant, but there was confusion about transportation to the car park (1km away), and about laundry (late and mix up over garments).

    Atmospheric, in the old town though access is a bit of a problem.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    !!!Excellent location Nice rooms with a comfortable bed Very good breakfast The shuttle service to the nearby parking is very convenient, just make sure to call the hotel 15 min before your arrival Note that the address of the parking is different from the address of the hotel: KOLODVORSKO ŠETALIŠTE 8,NEAR RESTAURANT SARA

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are fairly small but there is a comfortable area to sit in the lobby

    The location was great and the hotel had a lovely lobby area with staff on hand to assist with anything.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathooms in the family room need a little bit of upgrade. Breakfast could be a little bit more fancy with some local products

    Great location in the heart of old town. The building itself is magnificent. Rooms are huge, Very friendly staff who can recommend everything regarding city facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every corner of the hotel was filled with air fresheners. They were in the rooms, in the hallways, in the lobby...I imagine to cover up musty mold and mildew smells. Although everything appeared very clean, my asthma acted up which is for me generally a sure sign of mold. Also, rooms on the top floor have very slanted ceilings and you need to duck down in many places to avoid hitting your head. I guess that's the price of staying in a restored historic building.

    The staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Loved the location, right in the historic part of town. Walking distance to the beach and dining. Loved the terrace. Breakfasts were great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't get a room over looking the terrace as it could be noisy at night when people linger over a drink. Just remember to allow time for the car park if travelling by car - adds at least 1/2 hour to park and get to hotel.

    Great location inside the old city and so beautifully decorated with a great terrace for a drink or breakfast if warm enough. Tony the driver to the car park was fabulous and so patient and caried our very heavy suitcases up all those stairs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dark interiorly. So were the rooms. Artificial lighting was needed all the time throughout the hotel and in the room .

    Great breakfast. Location in Old Town was good , although a bit far from bus station especially when it it is hot and the sun is scorching. Staff was accommodating when I reduced my 4 night booking to 2 nights. I think that says a lot for their understanding customer responsiveness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very uncomfortable, 4 floors no lift, very large bathroom but ceiling so low that you knock your head when standing up from toilet. No bath only a tiny slipery shower, no where to put anything except on the floor!Two sloping rafters in bedroom which are less than 1.5m above floor level for about 1/3 of room length , no seating in quite a large bedroom, etc.

    Position and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was actually a little hard to find, and signage in the street too us to their other property.

    The hotel allowed us to check in a few hours early which was great. The bed actually two twins that were pushed together, although it was very comfortable and the breakfast had a great choice of food. The location can't be beat as you're in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boutique, clean and comfortable hotel in centre of historic old town. 9 min from coach drop off. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a great stay, highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I have to make suggestions, one is that the shutters on my room slammed and terribly squeaked each time there was a small breeze. It was so bothersome that I finally just closed and locked them. They looked to all be attached at some point by plastic ties, but most had broken. It didnt mention it to the staff, but if I had, I am sure they would have fixed it immediately. They were really terrific. The other change I would make is the meet and greet process. My private driver/guide left me in town with my many heavy bags as cars cannot go into town where the hotel is located. We called much in advance to let them know when and where I would be dropped off. They confirmed that they would be there waiting. Unfortunately, the golf cart bellboy that they sent was helping another guest and I think that the cart also wasn't charged. I ended up waiting on the curb for around 40 minutes without any communication from the hotel. My guide kept calling and they kept saying that he would be there immediately. It was not the way I wanted to end a very, very long day of travel. Once the bellman picked me up, it was seamless and wonderful. He even carried all of my bags up endless staircases to my room...with a smile.

    I loved everything about this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast patio is lovely and they have many options and switch the breakfast choices daily. The rooms are kept spotless. If you dont have an issue with stairs, opt for the top room on the 4th floor - It was incredible and very unusual. The hotel was quiet and in the perfect location. I recommend it highly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Don't forget to call ahead if you are driving because cars cannot go to the historic center; they will send you a golf car with a driver that will help you with the luggage. They are really nice, just have that in mind.

    Very cozy! Perfect location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing. We were very happy here.

    This was our second trip to Rovinj. We wanted to be in the old town and we needed parking. Angelo D'Oro turned out to be a perfect choice. It is located just one street in back of the market. We had a fabulous room, # 105. You enter into a small foyer, and an updated bathroom, a lovely bedroom with an armoire, a safe and best of all -a delightful view of the water! The AC worked brilliantly and the street noise level was almost absent at all times. Wifi worked very well. Breakfast is on the delightful terrace. The choice of home baked goods, cereals, breads, ham and cheese is overly tempting. Sitting at a linen covered cafe table, enjoying the food and coffee in the garden makes you linger and enjoy the moment. No need to rush as the town awakens slowly. The best way to get to this hotel by car is to follow the signs to the center of Rovinj, pull your car over to the extreme right lane where there is public parking to your right ( bordering the water) and the Tourist Centre sign on the left. Call the hotel and within minutes someone from the hotel will arrive in a golf cart to show you where to leave your car and take you and your bags straight to the hotel. Parking is charged at $14/day. The hotel is quaint, the staff very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend Angelo D'Oro.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by motorbike, and it was lovely to discover that the 'private parking' of the hotel (7€ per day) was a piece of fenced cement "open air" a couple of km from the hotel itself. From there, you can enjoy a beautiful view of Rovigno, though... A golf car comes to pick you up and drops you just in front of the hotel which is strategically located near St. Euphemia church. Our room (208) was also strategically located with a direct view of the inner terrace where guests have breakfast in the morning, so you can easily pop out from your room and go directly to the buffet... Our room (200€ per night) could also benefit from some other 4star facilities, such as the half-broken handle of the bathroom door, the unstable door of the shower, and a nice decoration of flaking plaster on the ceiling of the bathroom. We stayed there only one night, before moving to other 4/5star accomodations along the Istrian coast, so after checking out we asked for the golf car to take us back again to the car parking: apparently, it had got stuck in a traffic jam somewhere (?!), so we had the opportunity to scrutinize the large selection of drinks at the counter, which nobody thought about offering us while we had to wait 50 minutes for the golf car to arrive... Fortunately, we had already been able to afford two whiskeys the previous night after dinner, so as to enjoy the cozy feeling of a relaxed chat in the carpeted entrance hall.

    Location: city center, very close to St. Euphemia church. The golf car service is very useful. The breakfast buffet is very varied and generous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fantastic. The staff was exceptional and accommodating. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The rooms were extremely comfortable and nice. They could not have made our experience better, the hotel was one of the best parts of our trip. Lastly, you could not ask for a better location if you want to stay in the old part of town!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit expensive comparatively, not sure it was it was worth the extra cost, but satisfied with our stay otherwise.

    the hotel/ room decor, comfortable standard room, well noise insulated, nice communal terrace where breakfast is served. Nice location on the peninsula a bit away from most of the noise, but very easy to walk to the action.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was supposed to have garden view. There was ceiling windows towards the garden, but they were covered, hence not really any view, plus the room was a bit dark.

    The staff was truly very kind; breakfast is a delight, being served in a beautiful interior garden; bed was quite comfortable. Location is top, they offer parking and were very fast and helpful assisting at arrival for the car parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was was far too small for the price I paid.

    Beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Vintage style decor, beautiful terrace to enjoy some evening drinks. Would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disappointing that at breakfast we were not served proper coffee but had to make our own from a very basic office-style machine. I find this unacceptable for a 4 star hotel, particularly in a region that prides itself on gastronomy.

    The hotel is situated on a lovely street in the old town, very close to the sea. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The outdoor breakfast garden is beautiful and has a charming Mediterranean atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be mosquito nets on the window so we can leave it open during the balmy nights.

    We were especially impressed with the breakfasts. The selection of the food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. But the most beautiful was the quiet setting of the courtyard. Loved coming down to breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beautiful historic hotel in town centre. Lovely staff who were extremely helpful. Beautiful walled garden at the rear of the property which is nice and quiet. If you are after a nice and quiet hotel (albeit on a busy pedestrian street) this is for you. Our room was a very decent size. The hotel has a calm and historic atmosphere. If you are after a more hip/young crowd, hotel Adriatic may be more up your street. .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator but the staff was happy to take the bags.

    Lovely, helpful staff; great breakfast; central location; historically interesting and newly refurbished.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rovinj is an 'Old World' city with its greatest charm in the pedestrian only area in which Hotel Angelo D'Oro is located. Most travelers arrive by rental car. The hotel has parking but a distance away from hotel. They use their own small vehicle to pick up their clients - so a cell phone is a MUST with their contact number at hand. This is a 'plus' for the charm of the city, but understandably requiring some planning arrival, day trips and departure. They are very accommodating and can usually help within 5-10 minutes in most instances.

    Wonderful location in old town; walking to restaurants, rock beaches, boat excursions, many events including cultural displays, art exhibits, music and dancing tango in the square - farmers market for fresh fruit and other locally found products; view from the bell tower of St Euphemia (stairs) spectacular - and the hotel is right there! Breakfasts were delicious with excellent selections; service was outstanding in every aspect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved a superior room - pictured on the website. It did not come up to the standard of a superior room in a modern 4⭐️ hotel. The view was 4⭐️, bed comfortable, aircon good but noisy, bathroom 2⭐️ (back in the 70s), curtains, carpet, general finish, lighting (only one bedside light) all very 2⭐️. No lift, so we had to climb four flights of stairs + attic stairs to reach our room. This would be fine if you arrived at a comfortable 4⭐️ pad but this room was far from that. Felt a little ripped off at nearly €300 a night. Staff should visit a 4⭐️ modern hotel and see what the current standard is.

    Young, friendly, helpful, efficient staff. Lovely internal garden for breakfast and evening drinks. Relaxed ambience of hotel. Location. Free 'golf caddy car' type transportation from hotel to bus station.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: