Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Carmen Rooms & Apartments 3 stars

Šetalište Marka Marojice 18, 20207 Mlini, Croatia

#10 of 27 B&Bs and Inns in Mlini

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps if mobility is a problem.

    Fantastic position. Tranquil and quiet yet very near the beach and some lovely restaurants. Easy delightful boat trips to Dubrovnik. Carmen and Doris are fantastic hosts. Perfect place to quietly recharge or use as a base to explore.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    WiFi available but slow and patchy in places in the apartment. Excellent by the pool though.

    wonderful apartment and facilities. Had small kitchen with full size oven and hob though we ate out every night in local restaurants. Restaurant next door but 1 to apartment belongs to the same family. 5 visits to this one tells you how good the food and staff are!! The very friendly ladies who run the villa go out of their way to help and are full of info about the area. Mlini is beautiful, pine trees, birds singing clear blue sea. Local beach easily reached and the views are stupendous, and the area keeps you super fit as the village is built on the mountain side.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't like little ants clean after eating :)

    We had triple room. The view from the apartment was very nice, it's close to the beach and beautiful plants everywhere. The villa suited our purposes very well, own fridge was very handy. The breakfast was good for the price and had something different every morning. The staff was friendly and room was always cleaned after we came from the breakfast. The pool area was clean and peaceful. The place itself is 10 minutes drive from Dubrovnik and Cavtat and they also sell boat tickets to both of the places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners of Villa Carmen are an absolute delight. They don't have a the best of the best in food, bedding, and shower but their hospitality supersedes all of these. They really look out for all of your needs and are in the most perfect location. Their are finer hotels around but I would still stay at Villa Carmen to feel like an instant local.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Wouldn't be ideal if you have mobility issues or toddlers due to steps.

    Fantastic friendly owner who arranged pick up and drop off from the airport. Lovely breakfast with plenty of nice things on offer and amazing omlettes. Brilliant location, you can catch the boat or bus to anywhere you need to go. Grocery shop and supermarket within walking distance. Villa Carmen is an absolute gem. Lovely comfortable room and sunny terrace. Just perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly ran villa, great Resteraunt close by, rooms were spacious and offered two bedrooms, this is hard to get for to singles people wanting there own space, normally you would have to book two rooms for four guests, we are only two but loved having our own rooms that connected

    The area is quiet with magnificent beaches. Villa Carmen is welcoming with brilliant views, the ladies made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just wish they'd told us to pre-book at the local restaurant for the speciality Croatian meal.

    Amazing view from the terrace, easy access to the beach, clear blue sea with brilliant snorkelling, great breakfast and staff who did everything they could to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was very good value for Money. The two sisters (Carmen and Doris) running the Place are amazing and can't do enough for the guests. They arranged transport to and from airport at a reasonable cost. Definitely going back next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We received offer from the accommodation that they will pick up us when we arrive to Dubrovnik. The lady who picked up us at the bus station was very angry, unpleasent and drove the car very agressive and dangerously. We did not feel safe at all.

    The stay was very nice. The place was nice and clean with the pool and very close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location, 2 minutes from the beach. Restaurants nearby. Nice pool. Great breakfast. Carmen and Doris were very friendly and helpful. Great view from our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the balcony door was not proper closed, but it was really minor issue.

    The host was very friendly. We have had early check in and late check out :) The beach is really close (just 1 minute walking by stairs). They also have own restaurant (50 meters from the apartments) but unfortunately we overlooked it initially and got the dinner in another place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit high, but still value for the money

    We had excellent stay at Villa Carmen. The staff was very friendly and the accommodation and the surroundings are great for families with small children!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was standard and nothing special. It was not super clean.

    The staff was nice and talky. We always got an answer and tips for secret escapes. The breakfast was always good and all day different.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like here.

    The lovely, friendly, homely and comfortable atmosphere created by Carmen and Doris. The studio apartment was great for me as a solo traveller, because I was able to prepare my own meals rather than go out. Doris was really helpful in relation to places that may interest me, and I was even able to buy ferry and boat tickets from her at the apartments. The pool was a massive bonus when I arrived home each evening hot and could jump straight in. The access to the beach, being stairs at the doorstep, was another massive bonus. This location would have to be one of the best and the quiet neighbourhood adds to its charm. Every major tourist attraction was a short ferry or bus ride away and tickets were very cheap. The overall charm of this place is enhanced by the clean and tidy grounds and within the building. I can't say anything negative about this place because there are no negatives.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The friendliest family accommodation we have ever had even got invited to a party to 'wet the baby's head' a new arrival from one of the owners children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very basic accommodation however everything that we needed was there. Bed could have been a little more comfortable Would suggest a little more attention to cleaning but other than that all was great

    Nice touch with having home-made treat put into our fridge

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were initially allocated the wrong room assuming that because there were two of us we only needed one bed but we had booked on line with booking dot com the room shown on line Not sure where it broke down but it was resolved to our satisfaction

    Any issues we had were dealt with promptly and with a smile!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything outside the rooms was great so the rooms were quite a dissapointment. Bathroom was really bad, many holes all over walls, leaking shower with curtain, no soap, towels were stone-hard. Also mattress on bed was very uncomfortable. This can be a great property if they would renovate the rooms.

    Position is very good, right above a nice beach and 150 meters away from marina (boat connection to Lokrum and Dubrovnik). Parking in shadow is excellent, pool area nice with gret view, so is the breakfast facility.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful owner Doris, beautiful plants everywhere, lovely pool, great location near beach and Mlini town, beautiful terrace outside room. Feels like home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The terrace outside our double room was tucked away on the side of the property and we didn't sit there at all during the 3 days preferring the views from our daughters triple room

    The property is really pretty and the pool is lovely - very clean and cool. My daughters had the triple room with no terrace and the views from the big windows are lovely. We felt very relaxed here as it is so close to the sea and numerous restaurants. Parking is directly opposite the property and there is a supermarket within easy walking distance. We caught the boat to Dubrovnik which was great and saves the hassle of using the car. The short drive to the airport at the end of our stay was a real bonus

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners Carmen and Doris lovely. Breakfast good, all in the most beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Very personal touch

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    This is probably one of the best places in the region. Great location and also very nice people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cash accepted.

    Nice seaview. Very close to clean and attractive beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice place and great service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff when we had problems with an excursion. Super nice and customer focus

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No aircon in our room, but this was pointed out at the time and we were given the choice. However, if we had the room with aircon then we would have to lug all of our cases and baggage up about 30 steps.

    The setting was nice and the place was reasonbly easy to find. OK for the one night.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous location -15 mins from Airport and 2 mins from beach. 30m from best restaurant in Mlini (Marineiro) and 50m to best bars (G café and Gusar). Wonderfully clean village. Casa del Sol was comfy, clean, friendly multilingual staff (Doris a fountain of knowledge in any language!) and our room had a wonderful terrace. Lovely pool, masses of plants - cacti and palms and vines everywhere. Breakfast different everyday and plenty of choice and food. Associated with excellent tour guides and easy to get water taxis to Dubrovnik. Brilliant holiday setting - loved everything and we'll be back!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owners offered us a separate small room for our two children for an additional price, as an alternative to placing an extra bed in our room. This room however didn't have airco but just a fan, which didn't suffice unfortunately because of the extreme heat and humidity. As a result, our kids had a hard time sleeping. If we had known in advance, we would have opted for the extra beds in our room, that did have AC.

    Nice location with a splendid pool, and located ideally just across a beach. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location near small pebble beach, nice new pool, private terraces, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are fairly simple but clean. There are a few restaurants and a pub close by. Not far from Dubrovnik (by car or bus), and the whole coast is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Casa del sole is a wonderful B and B. I had an amazing view from my room. The room itself was clean and always had fresh towels. The bed was extremely comfy. I loved the location, was only a few steps from the beach( which is my personal favourite in Mlini) The best part of my stay was the breakfast. It was amazing, so much options. Carmen and Doris where wonderful hosts. I defiantly would recommend this adorable little villa. It was a home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, beautiful views, lovely staff, all the boxes were ticked.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool and lovely sisters who own the place. Views are lovely. Steps opposite down to beach. Great little village. Pool was lovely.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33