Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Makarana Apartments 3 stars

Slikara Gojaka 27, 21300 Makarska, Croatia

#33 of 469 Holiday rentals in Makarska

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 apartment reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom. Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was big, very clean and modern. The kitchen was well equipped, with fridge and even a freezer. The host was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    A Markarska gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Terrace and Sea View ( 6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hilll up and down to the apartment was very steep which I didn’t mind but it won’t be for everyone.

    The hosts got the room ready super early and was very friendly. They gave us some of the local drinks to sample which was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Best stay in Croatia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find a single thing.

    Probably our best place on the way. We've traveled through Croatia and stayed in at least 7 different guesthouses. In Makarana we really felt like home. The apartment was beautiful. Very comfy bed and clean room and bathroom. We had a view of the sea from our balcony. Our host was very kind and helpful. She tought us some words in Croatian and helped us with finding a car electritian that we needed desperately. Because of our problems with a car we needed to stay some extra days. The owner made no problems with that. She even moved some of the other reservations so that we coul stay in the same room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Visit in Makarska!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had trouble finding the apartment when we first arrived. We had large backpacks and decided to walk there from the bus station...not the best idea as you have to climb a pretty large hill to get there! Because of where it was located we were wary at first about how close we were to town, but once we got our bearings, we realized it is only a short walk down the hill to town.

    Villa Makarana was great for our visit to Makarska. The hosts were extremely gracious, friendly and welcoming. They helped us get to the bus station on our way out, and offered us beach towels and pads (which you need on the pebbly beaches!) to borrow when we went out for a beach day. It was clean and decorated nicely and I can't say enough about the sweet hosts

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a great time here and would recommend it to other guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - WiFi connection was extremely low in our room - Would be good if towels to be changed at least ones (we stayed for 8 nights, but have not got towels changed)

    - Clean and pleasant room. Nice design. - Convinient location, 7 min walk to city center. - Friendly owners

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful scenery and fantastic hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There doesn't appear to be a supermarket or bakery in the immediate vicinity, however the main centre of town is a short 5 minute walk away albeit down a steep hill! My elderly mother and I found it worthwhile to take a cab back to the property from the marina for a low cost. Overall it is very good value for money and we truly enjoyed our stay.

    The host Brankica was fabulous. It was like visiting family. Very accommodating, friendly and helpful. My mother and I were able to check in early and check out late. When we did check out the hosts were ready with their car to drive us to the bus depot! The room is very clean, modern and functional with a wonderful view of the ocean and surrounding mountains. The area is also quiet and serene. We highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Rooms look exactly like the pictures show - new, modern and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms look exactly like the pictures show - new, modern and very clean. City center is 5 minutes away, beach is 10 minutes away and the central bus stop is 5 min away! The hosts are kind and helpful! Would definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Brand new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to sat one thing then it would be the wiev from balcony

    Brand new. Clean. Friendly owner. Englisch speaking. Perfect location and many others

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly welcome, the lady of the house waited for me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome, the lady of the house waited for me until midnight despite me being very late. Apartment was nice and clean, about 8 min walk down to the harbour area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    This is a lovely place with a lovely host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely place with a lovely host. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The city center and the beach is only a 10-15 minutes walk away. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    The apartment was very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Terrace and Sea View ( 6 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to say anything it would be the hill upwards to the apartment from the city. But we like to walk and we saw it Like opportunity to get some exercise after laying at the beach.

    The apartment was very clean and modern. Air conditioner in every bedroom. Big and comfortable beds. Big rooms and a very nice view and big terrace. The hostess was very nice, kind and helpful. The apartment had both dishwasher and washing machine. It is just 5 minutes walk to the city. 8 minuets to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Great apartment in lovely coastal town. Fantastic for one night as we did, or longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, the property was great.

    Great apartment with small kitchenette and dining area in addition to the bedroom. A short walk from the centre of Makarana. We stayed in this property as a stop-off on a driving tour through Bosnia&Herzegovina and Croatia as a midpoint between Mostar and Split and are very glad we did, a lovely spot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful apartment, and a kind host, but the beach is far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's too far from the beach, and the house is placed 300m uphill walk which makes it hard to reach it on sunny noons, and makes you tired.

    The host was very kind and willing to help. The apartment was clean and comfortable, with a comfortable bathroom and a balcony. Parking place reserved in front of the apartment, and the city centre is close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Comforting and relaxing beach holiday with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent place to stay in Makarska. Location was only a short walk into town centre and beaches. Upon arrival we were greeted by lovely hosts who upgraded our room free of charge. We were picked up from the bus station and given fresh lemonade on our arrival, making us feel welcome and comfortable. Apartment was spacious and exceptionally clean. Had beautiful sea views and balcony area. We had more than expected of the facilities needed for a trip of this duration. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this area!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    The bathroom its fine and clean and the bed its comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smells somthing there in the lobby.The price was to much for that room and i dont like that the property blocked money from my credit card for 1 month . 😑

    The bathroom its fine and clean and the bed its comfortable,air condition is good and the kitchen to

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Everything was consistent with the announcement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was consistent with the announcement. It was a wonderful, very quiet place. The room was new, beautiful, modern and good equipment. The location of the Villa was really good- out of the main way, but very close to the center as well. I can recommend the place and the really nice owner with big pleasure :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing!! Great location. Less than a 10 minute walk to the city center and beaches. Beautiful view from the balcony. The property was ideally located and reasonably priced. The staff were the sweetest and most welcoming elderly couple. Room was clean, comfortable, spacious and recently renovated. Will definitely be back to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Great value and very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Terrace and Sea View ( 6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Very comfortable and clean apartment with lots of space inside and outside. The kitchen is well equipped and there the rooms have good air con and comfy beds. We found the hosts very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The host was really friendly and helpful. She gave us a map of Makarana and showed us places to eat. Also the place smelled really clean. The room had all the utilities needed and it was at maximum 10 minutes walk from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Very nice spacious room. Short walk to sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room, host and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Location great with a super friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was unfortunately quite uncomfortable.

    Location great with a super friendly welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Big terrace with an amazing view;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace and Sea View ( 6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big terrace with an amazing view; well equipped kitchen; big and comfortable bedroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    The apartment was clean and we could use the washing machine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi-connection was poor, almost unusable. No fresh towels provided for 3 days.

    The apartment was clean and we could use the washing machine for free.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice, clean apartmants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hill :)

    Nice, clean apartmants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    The towels were not changed in 5 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were not changed in 5 days. In our room i felt that was a bad smell from the bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from balcony

    Friendly staff, well-equipment, easy to go anywhere, good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice, modern studio apartment, very clean, great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice, modern studio apartment, very clean, great hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast.kind host.lacate on the hill, but there ' s no stairsrevost.It takes 7min on foot from bus terminal. Perfect apartment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice apartment with great parking place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is clean and tidy. The host is very kind. The highlight of our stay is welcome drink-visnjovaca.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Host was very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host was very welcoming!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, really good breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, really good breakfasts!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    The whole thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole thing... even the killer hill you have to walk up after spending a day eating drinking and swimming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice one
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment with Terrace and Sea View ( 6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place and a nice view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Modern room and equipment, very helpful and pleasant host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern room and equipment, very helpful and pleasant host

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Free raki
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice day, free raki, made bolognase, dryed many clothes on to neighbours head

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    What do you need on the vacation you have in room and place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one problem the road what come to Villa Makarana runs down to the hill

    What do you need on the vacation you have in room and place was clear

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Excellent, my recommendations :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Domacini posebno ljubazni i prijatni.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Have been there many times. Friendly People, clean and good quality apartaments,wonderfull views;)!! I REALLY RECCOMEND THIS PLACE <3

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    - The owners were very pleasant and helpful with any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The owners were very pleasant and helpful with any questions we had about Makarska. - Welcome lemonade was a lovely touch upon arrival after a long drive :) - Apartment was very cute and the kitchenette with a fridge were definitely a bonus. - WiFi access was very simple and worked without issues - Location was perfect if you schedule a boat excursion from the waterfront because excursions like the Voga or Calypso depart at 8:30am from in front of hotel Biokovo. Villa Makarana was just a short 5-10 minute walk downhill towards the harbour, the main square and the promenade. - We were able to park our car for free securely in the back of the building and away from the street. - Because the villa is located up the hill, the view of the mountains and the sea from the balcony was breathtaking!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean, fresh apartment in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Get ready for a great butt and thigh workout- the apartment is at the top of a hill. But it's not really a problem unless you have mobility issues.

    Comfortable, clean, fresh apartment in a great location! Wonderful owners who picked us up from the bus station.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Nice room with very good bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is located near beach and center, but it is a steep road to climb to apartment, but not long

    Nice room with very good bathroom. Kitchen was in the balcony, wchich was nice too. Host was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    The apartment was nice and comfortable, in a walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The apartment was nice and comfortable, in a walking distance from beautiful city center and all the main beaches. Hosts are friendly and easy going folks, all the time at your service. All in all I had a great weekend there and I will come back asap :)

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    Good location only 10 minutes walk from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This apartment, like many others in Makarska, is set on a hill side so is a steep walk up from town, but not a problem for the young and fit!

    Good location only 10 minutes walk from town. The apartment was far nicer than expected, the pictures do not do it justice. The large balcony with sea view was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything.Location.It is just one road from the old town Modern an fresh studio.Fantastic owners.We had a great time.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Short distance to old town, very nice and helpfull host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short distance to old town, very nice and helpfull host.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Kitchen on our balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen on our balcony!!! Balcony view of the sea. Great hosts. Parking on-site.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: