Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Matejuska Heritage 3 stars

Tomica stine 3, 21000 Split, Croatia

#195 of 333 B&Bs and Inns in Split

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 91 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we didnt like town of split at all, and the apartment was indicative of that. it was dingy and cramped. floor was dirty, wifi didnt work, no plugs near bed for phones. we visited many beautiful places in croatia and this one wasnt for us!

    staff was great and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Listed amenities were not in evidence. The “kitchen” was a cold water tap and a small frig. There was a 2-burner stove top but as no pots or pans were provided, they were entirely useless. “Coffee maker” was an electric kettle and a packet of instant but no coffee cups. The promised iron was missing as were the conditioner and bath soap.

    Very clean and a good location. The look of the wooden beamed ceiling was pleasing. The balcony tables were very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in Split can be really difficult and/or expensive. We lucked out by finding a free and relatively safe street spot ten to fifteen minutes' walk away. Otherwise, the location of the room was ideal.

    Excellent setting near Diocletian's Palace; plenty of restaurants nearby. Good breakfast right downstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andrea was extremely welcoming and made us feel right at home. The location was perfect for visiting both the palace and Marjan. The restaurant downstairs was great and there were many other terrific restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to say . . . The weather was cold and it rained? 😉

    Villa Matejuska is within an easy walk from the hub of the old city. Although the airport shuttle arranged was a little expensive . . It was a pleasure to be dropped off at my hotel. Andrea is the kindest and friendliest person, helpful and efficient. The stay was comfortable and authentic. A lovely breakfast was offerd at konoba Matejuska next door. Such a lovely experience!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was lovely for the whole family, even our 6month baby was taken into consideration. We stayed for one week and there was plenty to do near by. The upstairs terrace was an excellent place for afternoon beer/coffee. The staff at the reception and downstairs restaurant were so helpfull and attentive. We loved the place :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location above restaurant was a bit noisy at times, even in off season. I would imagine in the summer with windows open all the time it gets quite noisy and smokey, but everything else was wonderful. Bathroom was very small, but most are in Europe.

    Location was great in Split. Room was quite newly remodeled and nice. Reception was very helpful and nice. Had a hard time finding it but that was our fault I think.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are exceptionally helpful. They recommended a restaurant next to the hotel for dinner – famous for its seafood – but it was fully booked. They went far beyond the extra mile in searching for a good alternative. We landed up at Konoba Marjan just around the corner from the hotel and it was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location- right on the harbour and nearby restaurants. Friendly & welcoming staff. Clean accommodation with all the right amenities for our short stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to get whatsapp or similar form of Comms for people that rely on wifi to communicate .... It's a free app that you download on your iPhone

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weren't many sockets and they were in awkward places. There wasn't always someone on the reception desk.

    It was very central and had the necessary facilities. The staff helped us with our questions about transport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. It wasn't a problem for me but make sure that you are OK climbing stairs. There were 3 flights of stairs to my room. 2. No breakfast.

    1. Great location near the old city and one block from the harbor. Absolutely fantastic location. 2. Lots of great restaurants nearby. 3. The room was really spacious and comfortable. It overlooked a small beautiful courtyard. 4. A great value - I would stay here again when I go to Split.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. No lift.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Andrea was very kind and helped me find my lost luggage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    location excellent,beautiful old charm and quiet in room despite busy restaurants all around property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast, great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise which went on late at night

    Room really nice. Bed really nice. Great location. Nice receptionist. Close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff. The apartman was very clean and new. Excelent location. Would defintely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restauurant downstairs noisy at times

    Appreciated greeting and intro to area staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were difficult with large bags. Beds were too small and a bit uncomfortable

    Closeness to the waterfront

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property was awesome, the staff was wonderful. They were kind and helpful. The location was perfect for restaurants and Split Riva.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wee bit cramped and so close to reception felt might not be private enough..

    Nicely designed and quirky room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to pay cash

    The room was very spacious and cute, the bed was amazing, the cleanliness was brilliant and the staff were lovely, couldn't recommend it higher

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It took us more than one hour (!!!) to find a parking place (paying or non paying we didn't mind). The room was located above a fish restaurant and there was a very bad smell of fish in the room even when the windows were closed. We couldn't open the window because of the smell and because of the noise from the restaurant, which by the way we could hear even with the windows shut. The bathroom was tiny and had a step in the middle so we kept hitting our toes against it. There was not enough hot water for three showers – not even for two. The kitchen was poorly equipped – there was a cooker but not a pan or a pot. The balcony is not connected to the room and the view from the balcony is…. The fish restaurant!! Finally there was no full size mirror.

    The location is perfect for reaching the main attractions. The staff were very kind and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be a bit noisy situated right above the restaurant - had to close our windows at night.

    Location is just perfect - off the Riva just a bit. Two grocers just one minute away. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our ferry was very late from Korcula so no one was there to let us in. However the restaurant manager called and the night manager came quickly. Also the directions given from the ferry were a bit confusing...need to be more detailed.

    The location was great, at the edge of Old Town, near bakery, restaurants, etc. Very clean. Our room was several flights up which did not bother us....but it might others. The place had everything we needed and was very clean. They also arranged an excellent guide for us, Andrea, who is also a receptionist there.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was fantastic! The staff is really friendly and helpful. It was an enjoyable time at the this apartment while I was in Split. There is a great view of the city 10 minutes away too!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no thing bad. A little noisy in room No.1 because people are walking past close to the window but nothing really to complain about

    great location and managed by lovely staff. relatively close to the palace without being right in the centre. nice character in the rooms. we have stayed here before and for a short stay would do so again.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi only works within 1m from the door, in the rest places of the room we could not reach any wifi. The hot water is always not enough for 2 person to take shower for 3 days.

    The location is very good, the restaurant downstairs is super good.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff. I needed to stay only one night and cheaply and this venue served my purpose perfectly. It was convenient for some good bars on the seafront.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are small with no real space to open our suitcases. We were travelling with friends and couldn't get together in the room due to lack of space. That being said, the rooms were very clean and nice. There is no elevator so luggage had to be carried up the stairs. Staff will help with this chore.

    Easy to find. The Villa is located just around the corner from the Riva and the old city. Fabulous location. With the exception of one individual, the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is quite a lot of stairs with no lift

    The staff was very friendly and helped with tips about restaurants and travel. The hotel is located right by 3 very nice local restaurants and not as noisy as the accommodation in town centre and close to promenade. I would recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location. Very eager to provide recommendations for tours, restaurants, transportation to and from the airport. Very quiet. 2 minute walk to old town and literally down the street from the waterfront. Restaurants and markets line the street. We had a minor housekeeping issue, called downstairs and it was rectified within 20 minutes. Great place to stay if you're looking for clean accommodations near all of Split's action but without the noise of the main streets and square. The terraces with outdoor furniture are a nice touch as well. It was a great place to come home to after busy days out exploring.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom is a little small - no plug for washbasin Located above restaurant that was very noisey...would be a problem if you need an early night

    Location and saff

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a complaint, but be wary re the smallish hot water tank for showers. Very limited amount of hot water.

    The Villa was really cute and in a great location as we where able to walk everywhere.Upon arrival the young man at the desk, helped us with our luggage and also a car parking space. :) The room was just what we needed after driving all day, clean, quiet and had a kettle so we could make a cup of tea and coffee. (very happy with this addition, as Aussies we liked our cuppas). Was able to organize a late checkout and leave our luggage on site while we explored more of Split. A big thank you for posting our postcards to our family and friends. Staff helped with Extra recommendations.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    i fell because of the awkward step from the shower. Additionally, there is a vent in the bathroom which goes straight to the bar under the apartment. The smell of fish goes straight from the bar, restaurant right into the bathroom, as do the conversations of those in the bar. It is a very noisy apartment.

    Near the old town

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully renovated hotel. Hugs room with sea view and baking with flowers. They have a coffee shops with all the pastries, bar, restaurant, chocolate museum, gelato, music at night.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only small inconvenience was that we ran out of hot water in the shower, which we didn't realise was limited.

    The location was absolutely fantastic. It was very easy to find parking close by, there were great restaurant nearby and the old city was right there. The room was very comfortable and would have been suitable for a longer stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only comment I would make is,if you were intending to use this for self catering there was only a kettle and fridge in the kitchen but this did not bother us as we ate out.

    The Matejuska is in an excellent position to explore the city, close to many good restaurant's and bars. The staff were excellent, friendly and very welcoming and the apartment was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kitchen could have more equipment, no dining table

    The location, the apartments construction, friendly staff, the nice restaurant below, really recommendable

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you wanted to use the kitchenette, it was very poorly stocked - no pot or pan to use on the cooktop. It did have some dishes, fridge and cooktop.

    The staff was very helpful, the place was very clean and the location was right by the old town and lots of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really an apartment in terms of the 'kitchen'- a hot plate set on a tiny table, no hotwater in the kitchen sink. Didn't like the smell that wafted up from the restaurant below.

    The location was perfect, especially off-season as all the best restaurants are just a stone's throw from the apartment as well as all the monuments and waterfront.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Group

    less noises from the street at night

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Supposed to be self catering but no cooking utensils.

    Location good. Helpful, polite staff. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small shower with not enough hot water . Noise level from restaurants below.

    Location and host.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good location near the old town

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced, in comparison to other options

    A comfortable room in a perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely place to stay, staff very friendly, rooms clean and perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, cozy and tastefully furnished room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location. Clean and well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Lovely clean apartment close to the bars and shops with everything in walking distance

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The little kitchen could use a pot, a pan and a tea towel.

    Superb location! Nice and clean room. Very warm welcome from Andrea:)

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This family run hotel was excelent they could not do enough for you would recomend it to any one

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect place, 5 min walk to the old town; very friendly hosts; very clean and well equipped rooms

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Locatie is great. Below one of best fish restaurants in split.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - good overall

    Nice helpful staff - great location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smell of food from the resturant in the bathroom.

    Central, helpfull host.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely staff, great location surrounded by excellent restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner and staff couldn't be more helpful and the location was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient location, small but clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    just perfect for 2-3 people

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely room

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Early checkout (10:00am)

    Very centrally located

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street noise

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pillows were a little hard.

    location Staff

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly welcome, the studio is well equipped with small kitchen,fridge,kettle etc.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host is very kind and nice. Make us feel warm. Everything is comfortable. The grocery store and nice restaurant are nearby.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: