Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Mukinja 3 stars

Mukinje 47, 53231 Plitvička Jezera, Croatia

#12 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Plitvička Jezera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all fabulous.

    Host picked us up at bus station. 10 minute walk to Plitvice Park thru beautiful forest with supermarket on the way for snacks and water. Room was large with ensuite bathroom. Very clean and quiet. Helena spoke English and was really helpful. The most amazing thing though was the fabulous and HUGE meals they offered for breakfast and dinner for extra cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Jacuzzi was broken, obviously this couldn't be helped by Helena but that was a big reason we picked the guesthouse and paid a bit extra so we could relax after and it was really disappointing that it was broken. We also found out that although food was available it was a set menu with only meat and fish options and we are both vegetarian - would have been good if any exception had been made and we could have order just a veggie dish from the menu.

    Helena was really lovely and the room was really nice. Good location near to the lakes. Helena kindly picked us up from the bus station and advised us on our travel going forward. Had some lovely local wine in the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakdown in communication at check out stage. Breakfasts had been charged for which we hadn't had & this was just a breakdown in communication between the owner & his staff.

    The food was good, but very expensive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the most fun part of our week long tour of Croatia.Stunning surroundings beautuful romantic settings on the property. Our host with the most was Helena.A very pretty chef/host who singlehandedly prepared the best meal we had our whole time in Croatia. We have eating in fine dining and 5 star resorts while here and the food didnt come close to Helenas cooking and amazing warm sense of humour and hospitality. She ensured our stay was the most comfortable and romantic if our whole time here. This is one you dont want to miss and is worth travelling 500 miles for the meal alone. We look forward to visiting again.Many thanks Helena for going the extra mile for us.Alan And Amanda x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little of the beaten track but well worth the visit. Run by a local Croatian family, we were the only people staying in the villa and we were cooked a beautiful traditional four course meal by the owner of the villa. Had breakfast waiting for us the next morning when we got up, very friendly people. A hidden gem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place and staff brilliant!!!! So comfortable beds and food/dinner just amazing! Thank you! we will come back again

    Brilliant owner and so nice helping girl and grandmother. we felt like home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not included and it is far from the entrance 2 of the National Park. During the winter, it was dangerous.

    The owner was so nice and helped us a lot and we had a nice communication, the room is very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner and his daughter, Helena, were warm and welcoming. I was the only guest during my stay, so the service was impeccable. Helena's food—though far too generous—was outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We should tell them about breakfast, but they only told us on the last morning, so no breakfast for us. They also were not very forthcoming with any of the details, and were oin the middle of post season cleaning, so the outdoors was not usable. Given the high price, I was disappointed.

    Location was good, house was spacious, kids could play with the rabbits and heated pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived we were greeted by an elderly lady who did not speak any English and couldn't inform us about anything in the house. Pictures of house are very misleading. We never saw any dining room or hot tub. The house and rooms are very tired looking. We were never told about any breakfast or dinner and never given any directions to the park. The only interaction that we had with the host was when we checked out 2 days later.

    Location is about a 10 min drive to national Park

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a number of things in the bathroom that didnt work or needed fixing. There were no signs or explanations that they didnt work. Such as the soap dispensers, the towel drying rack and the shower head rail was totally missing. This meant the shower head had to be held at all times making it difficult to wash easily or wash hair. An explanation from the host would have been helpful.

    Location of property to attractions. Bed was comfortble. Dinner offered by host was excellent. The host was quite informative and helpful with information for local attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic and small. I primarily booked there because of the raving reviews about the food but when we arrived we were told that the Cook had to leave on an emergency. We didn't get to try any food.

    Nice and quiet. Man that greeted us was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in our room, which wasn't a problem in mid-September, but could be in the summer months.

    Homemade Croatian meal was one of the highlights of or trip!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booked a room, where there was a restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Arrived to find restaurant is not open at all. Our room was very uninviting with no space, no facilities for making tea or coffee. Bathroom had bad odor. Our bed was against the wall backing on to owners kitchen. Only way to enter building is by pressing buzzer at gate and owner would open it and front door from in house, then you had a key for your room. Really bad for those late home from dinner as he didn't here them buzzing for about 5mins.. a loud argument then went on outside our door for about 15mins. property needs a bit of TLC. I understand owner has a few health problems and the lady/partner/wife is in Zagreb. We stayed only one night instead of the two we paid for.

    owner is nice and helpful but no sign of the lady other people spoke of, only owners mother. Was very helpful with information for the park, lookouts and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was way overpriced, run down, web pictures were misleading, the man running the place was rude and in no way interested in guest service.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The flow of sewage water from the shower booth was slow.

    The staff was extremely friendly and good in explaining to us how to walk around the national park. As it happened that the staff was going to Zagreb in her car, she was kind to offer us a ride in her car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this Accommodation specifically for 3 reasons- 1. The location, which was perfect! 2. The home cooked meal and breakfast sounded amazing! 3. Soaking in the hot tub and using the sauna after a long day of walking in the park. Unfortunately from the moment we arrived we felt like an inconvenience, the girl who normally cooks (and probably does everything else) was on holiday...so no home cooked dinner or breakfast. There was a pizza place which was walkable but everything else was a 10-15 minute drive, I was thankful we had a car and didn't arrive by bus! There was also nobody to ask about the hot tub or sauna. The room was comforts and relatively clean, apart from the cobwebs on the ceiling over the bed with various prey attached and the mosquitoes squished into the curtain and the wall. The shower was also awkward to use as the shower holder was broken, you had to hold the shower head up and just rinse yourself down! My €115 was absolutely wasted here!

    It was very close to the lakes, within a 5 minute drive to entrance 2.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the owner didn't really welcome us, just left us standing there while he called the housekeeper to check us in. We weren't offered the welcome drink as advised. We were told the next night they wouldn't be offereing dinner or breakfast so we had to make our own arrangement.

    The location was good, within walking distance of the entry to the lakes. Dinner the first night was a wonderful home cooked meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't emphasize enough how friendly and welcoming the hosts of this villa are, we really felt at home. The bedroom was clean and very confortable. If you need any advice for which trails to do of the lakes, the hosts will also give you some good insight. They also provide a fantastic dinner with local and natural products, which I strongly recommend despite not being included in the reservation (it's 30€ per person).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to press the button at the front door to get in. No tea or coffee making facilities

    Comfortable room, optional dinner was very good (4 courses plus coffee) a little expensive though. Friendly staff, English ok. Short walk to park entry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting into the building was a bit confusing. We were not the only ones who got confused. When you arrive you need to hit one of the un-marked buzzers to the left of the wooden door. Then you walk up to the main house and then you need to hit the button to the right of the door to be let in if the door is closed. I wish the buzzers were marked so we knew they worked and it would have been helpful to include a sign to hit the button on the right if the door is closed for assistance. We arrived after sunset which also complicated things.

    Our stay was really good and the rooms were modern and well kept. It was about a 15-20 minute walk to Plitvice lakes though, which for us was fine, the walk went through a forest and was pretty neat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helena was amazing, she made every effort to assist to ensure our stay was excellent. She was an fabulous cook and the meals were all awesome. The hot tub was a fantastic way to soak our tired legs after a day in the national park. I would highly recommend this villa😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out- none of our cards (Visa/Mastercard/Amex) were being accepted. We had to pay in cash that thankfully we were carrying. Some of the beds on top floor are below sloped ceiling and maybe difficult for ppl who are claustrophobic.

    The villa is superbly located. The owner is very knowledgeable & helpful. To avoid the crowds in the park, we decided to start very early and requested for packed sandwiches early morning. The request was accomodated and given timely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was very awkward arriving, trying to get into the property and then once we did there was noone around to talk to or find out if we were in the right place. Rung the door bell and called out but took about 10 minutes of walking around aimlessly till we finally found a staff member. Would be good to have directions or a better process for this. Also breakfast was a bit underwhelming. You are definitely paying for the loaction rather than the room. But it was a nice handy stay.

    Very handy to the lakes. Dinner was lovely and the girl that does the cooking is so so friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con however they gave us a fan which was suitable.

    The staff were amazing. So helpful gave us lots of information about the plitvice lakes. The dinner was incredible and a good price. The owner gave us a lift to the bus station in the morning. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the villa was a short walk to plitvice lakes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit stuffy at night as there was no breeze- a fan would have helped. The place wasn't easy to find but make sure to follow the numbers rather than looking at maps as the GPS can't figure out how to get to the house itself

    Helena and the staff were very attentive hosts and fantastic location to visit the Plitvice National Park. Dinner was delicious as well, definitely recommend but make sure to have an empty stomach as it's very filling!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Better directions including a map. 2. Room is small but comfortable. 3. No hand soap in the dispensers. 4. The front stairs had broken tiles just laying on the step. 5. $32 USD for a dinner is expensive. 6. $10 USD for a continental breakfast is expensive.

    1. It was very close, 15 minute walk, to entrance #2 of Plitvice National Park. 2. Hot tub was nice to soak in after hiking all day. 3. Owner gave us a ride to the bus stop on our departure day. 4. Staff was very friendly overall. 5. Close-by small grocery store. 6. You can have a prepared dinner and breakfast if you want it. 7. Only six rooms so it is quiet and peaceful. 8. Nice yard area to relax in when not in the park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    size of the room or suitcase stands

    The Med breakfast..the interior design fabulous..the location the best..outstanding and a great staff.. Food in the area..beautiful views but food was mediocre..nothing against hotel room was very small. difficult to maneuver..need a suitcase stand at least and there was no bathtub

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definetely overpriced, room Was small, leaking and noisy bathroom, breakfast too expensive. SpA feature decribed were closed

    Good position for visiting the lakes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is difficult to get to, especially by car. there are no signs to it from the main road. When we checked it, the room hadn't been properly cleaned. There were empty plastic glasses from the previous guests, insufficient towels and we even found a cockroach in the bathroom. Breakfast was alright, consisting of eggs, hot drik, basket of bread, 1 yoghurt a buffet tray with coldcuts and cheeses and assorted jars of jam, chocolate spread and honey, also a glass pitcher of musli at the table. Sadly the eggs also came with "complimentary" hairs. The hosts were nice and polite, but they also walked into our room at 10 pm for no reason (guess they forgot that room was rented out?) and when we checked out they insisted quite a bit we pay in cash, even tho we explicitly asked, upon checking in, about payment via credit card (not sure why, maybe they pay big taxes for credit card transaction? anyway, if they don't want to take credit cards, they should just say so)

    It is very close to the path that leads to Entrance 2 of the Plitvice Park (10 minutes on foot)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was quite expensive for what it was. It cost us 180 euros for the night. We did take the breakfast and the dinner. The breakfast I wouldn't really recommend. It was just cold meats, cheese and yogurt. No hot items. I actually didn't realise the breakfast wasn't included till we got the bill. I wouldn't of went for it had I know it was an additional 10 euro. The dinner was 30 euro and plentiful. Again though, 30 euro each is quite expensive, especially for Croatia. But it was tasty and there was a lot of food. We also tried the hot tub and sauna, which was nice although the hot tub water had a stagnant smell to it. The room we had was also right through from the reception which was a bit noisy, but the hotel is small so not a lot of traffic. The room was quite small and dated, but comfortable. Overall a good stay but expensive for what you got, which was essentially an old dated room with no balcony but with the bonus of sauna and hot tub and a good location close to the lakes.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property needs a lot of attention and is not reflected in any of the photo's on the website. The breakfast was not up to scratch.

    The host was friendly and helpful. The room is small but clean. We did not opt for dinner at 30 Euro p/p. Looked around in the area much better value for money available. The owner should bring it back to life and level of excellence as the location is perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little to secluded for us as a young couple but this isn't anything the villa staff can do, perfect if you want complete peace and quiet.

    The young hostess was so friendly and kind, cooked amazing food and always smiled and checked if we needed anything, she brings the villa to life.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and wine at property was quite expensive. Didn't have any hot water the one morning.

    Right next to the park. Even though we didn't use it there was a sauna and hot tub. Lovely outside area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations continued until 1000pm whilst having dinner and no offer to assist with luggage. No lift and two flights of stairs. More customer service required as it is quite and expensive place to stay

    Double room was very comfortable. The Jacuzzi was excellent after you return from the Park. Easy access to Entrance 2. Five minute drive and 5 Euro parking fee. The receptionist/chef Andreanna made us feel very welcome. The dinner being grilled trout was lovely however the wine was a little expensive. Pity renovations had to continue whilst having dinner however meeting people from other countries at dinner was interesting and enjoyable. I recommend you arrive at entrance 2 no later than 7.30am and do the H walk. It takes you via a bus to the top lake and you then walk all the way down. It also puts you on the lake boat. Doing It this way you miss the tour buses and crowds. It says the H walk can take 5-6 hours we did it all in 3 at that time of the morning. Accommodation was very comfortable however the garden was overgrown and untidy compared to others. Not sure why. If you come from Split the accommodation sign is before entrance 2. Coming from Zagreb it is the opposite and after the second entrance on the right. Good Pizza and pasta place within walking distance adjacent to the chair lift.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room have no air-conditioning, which its not too bad as the rooms keeps cool because you are up in the mountains, but it would of have been nice to have a fan available as we did get a little hot at night. The dinner was delicious but the cost of 30 Euros per person is too expensive, specially compared to the prices of restaurants around the area. Also the portion of the dinner was too big. 4 people could have shared the dinner, we were only 2. We would of rather had a smaller portion at a cheaper price. But it was tasty!

    The hotel is like a typical Croatian house in the mountains. The staff was super friendly and the location is great for visiting the Plitvice Lakes National Park. It was about a 15-20 min hike to the park, but very enjoyable through the woods. The rooms where really comfortable and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surprise bill at the end of our visit. Although we were told on arrival dinner was extra we were not told exactly what was included, we were not given a menu and there was no information in the room. The food was nice but it was a set menu with no choices. We were offered wine and coffee but no other drinks. It was implied that this was included with the extra cost of dinner. No drinks menus or prices anywhere and the staff did not mention that it would cost more. We were shocked to discover that these were added to our bill at the end of our stay and we're very expensive. Also it was implied that breakfast was included with the room price. The choice was very limited and we hardly ate anything, despite this we were still charged at the end of our stay, almost £9 each. The staff should have been more upfront about exactly what we would be paying for and a welcome pack or price list in the room would have been appreciated. Dinner and breakfast was served in the dining room where there was an uncomfortable formal atmosphere and everyone talking in whispers. There was a very nice outdoor area with a kitchen/bar and seating area but was untidy and appeared not to be in use. Overall a nice setting and polite staff but we were left confused and uncertain which made our stay feel a little awkward. We would have been more than happy to pay extra for the wine and coffees but staff should ensure that guests are fully aware of what they are paying for and offer a little more choice.

    Excellent location close to the Lakes. Hot tub was fantastic and an excellent way to relax after a long day at the Lakes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you leave the house, when you come back you have to ring the bell and wait. It should be better If guests could leave and return alone.

    We went there for Plitvice Lakes which are gorgeous. Mukinja is a small village near to the park which can be accessed by following a forest path from the villa (takes about 15 minutes by foot). Villa Mukinja is a nice house and the girl who do everything there is so nice and kind. The room we stayed was quite big, with a good bed. Bathroom was good also. The breakfast was good enough. We stayed there for 2 nights and in the first one, we have dinner there. Food was really good by a good price. There is a good supermarket near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication during the dinner was not always easy, because of the language. We stayed for 3 nights, the rooms were done/ towels changed only once. The dinner was ok, but 30 Euros per person without drinks, in my opinion, is a lot, especially if it's not a la cart, but actually a set meal. The entrance into the house is somewhat messy, with the loose tiles, which made us first think, the house was abandoned.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The cooking was good. The room was clean, the garden is nice. The entrance to the National Park is very near.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner made an amazing dinner with all local and fresh ingredients. Easily our best meal the entire week we spent in Croatia. Also-it was an easy walk to the park entrance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was great, but too much. Maybe we should have skipped a course. Nice staff. He gave us many tipps for visiting the Plitvicer lakes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful host, great location, comfortable room, abundant breakfast! The host Vlado gave us lots of information about the area. We would definitely return!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was basically the owners home, they didn't give us a key to get in and we had to wake the owner to let us in after we arrived back from dinner out. He made a point of that but should he have given us a key then we wouldn't have felt like naughty children! Naughty children paying €130 a night, a key wasn't too much to ask! The room smelt of drainage, the shower wasn't fixed to the wall. The curtains were inadequate. The carpet was old and in general the place needs a serious makeover. There was a stale and pervading cooking odour through the place that was unpleasant to wake up to. The owner spoke limited English, we didn't feel entirely welcome and I believe €130 per night was outrageous for the standard of accommodation it offered. In comparison to our city stay in Sibenik for 5 nights in a newly converted spacious apartment with parking and two bedrooms for a family of 4 for €50 a night for the whole apartment! They are certainly not charging prices that are reasonable, we can only assume they are maximising their profit as they are near to Plitvice National park. The photos make the place look 80% better than it does in the flesh, when we turned up in the car, we were scared that we had booked one of the awful flats opposite this place. It wasn't much better when we went into this place as the owners mother wasn't friendly, she spoke no English and she didn't offer so much as a smile. It was a quick in and out of this place, never to return, for the pure convenience of visiting the stunning lakes.

    Location, cosy and warm, nice clean and crisp bedding with a duvet each for my husband and I. Top floor so it was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were essentially told we were staying there for dinner. There was no menu or prices listed for dinner, we just kept receiving course after course without our preferences or allergies being taken into consideration. We were served far too much food and felt guilty not eating it all and were surprised to see how expensive the meals were in the end. Options for places to eat are limited but we may have made other arrangements given the price for quality of food. The owner was inflexible to move our check-out time by a couple hours despite the fact it was low season and there were clearly many vacant rooms. We will be visiting Plitvice again next year with a group of friends and will stay elsewhere.

    The hostess, Helena, does it all and is amazing. She greets, cleans, cooks and makes this accommodation what it is. She's what made this stay good versus bad. Decent location out 20 min stroll to gate #2 through a lovely forested area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi is their No.1 selling point for us. After spending a day in Plitvice lake, a jacuzzi is just perfect. 15min walk to plitvice lake entrance 2. Very good dinner although it is not included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite expensive at €10, however the staff did include a sandwich in the price for me so I had lunch to take out with me for the day. Also the breakfast was large, but different options would have been nice to have for less money.

    The staff were really helpful giving advice on how to navigate the park and where the best view points were. The owner was also kind enough to give me a lift to the bus stop. The hot tub was also welcome after a long day walking around the beautiful Plitvice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was offered and served but drinks and costs were never discussed. Our one night stay ended up costing double due to extra expenses.

    Friendly staff that went out of their way to make our honeymoon more romantic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely welcoming and informative about the park. The food was delicious (which is important given the limited restaurant options in the area) and the facilities were in close proximity to the park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms a little bit on the small side.

    Very nice people that seem to care about each traveller and tried to accomodate extra wishes. Big variety for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - being able to walk through the trees to the park was great, and the helpfulness of the staff was excellent. Also the fish we had for dinner was outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at Villa Mukinja felt like being welcomed into a family home. The location is perfect - a short woodland stroll to station 2 (where the queue was quite a bit shorter, despite arriving late on day one). Angelo was so helpful giving us tips on how to organise which part of the park to visit on which day, and which entrance to get our tickets from. That was invaluable advice! We spent a lovely relaxing evening playing cards with a beer while the family went just down the road to collect some goat from a friend which was then slow roasted for dinner. Everyone sat down to eat together, and the food was simple but delicious (and LOTS of it - you will not go hungry here!!). The room was very comfortable and absolutely spotless. A real gem of a place!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unlucky to come in time when the hot tub and card machine were both broken and sadly we weren't notified of that.

    Location was perfect for Plitvice park. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms very very comfy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ! Absolutely perfect stay! Thank you again

    Such a lovely surprise ! We decided to celebrate our marriage anniversary in Croatia and one of the step was the Plitvice lakes and this fantastic hotel where we stayed 3 nights. If you like small, cosy, clean and friendly place to stay, this hotel is totally made for you! Vlado (the owner), Helena and Angelo were the perfect hosts ever! They truly care about their guests and they put all their energy to satisfy them. First the hotel is clean, the room are spacious, good temperature. They nicely prepared the room for us with champagne and chocolate cakes to celebrate our anniversary ! Then the food: We had all our dinner and breakfast in the hotel. All were served VERY generously, and we were very happy to taste different specialities (especially the trout and the goat). You also have to know that there is no other place to eat (except a supermarket and few other hotels) so you won't have better place to eat. Location: 10mn walking distance from the lakes entrance (crossing the forest) Vlado gave us the tips to avoid long queue and the crowd in the lakes so we had the best visit plan!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hot tub was not working and sauna was also not available - we were waiting for those.

    Very good dinner and breakfast. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. It felt like being a guest in someone's home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was pretty expensive and the breakfast was not included, so staying here (and inevitably eating their food) is a bit pricy. Also no air con in the rooms and the shower was sub par. Bit difficult to find the place at first as well, but after that it was easy

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The 5-course dinner was absolutely delicious, as was the breakfast. Everything was homemade, most of it cooked right in front of you. Good location only a short drive from Plitvice Lakes. Cute little property

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene has to be improved, the room cleaning and the refrigeration of the served cold dishes has to be fixed. This price range deserves better standards.

    This guest house is ideally placed next to the entrance2 of the plevitche park. The young personnel is good and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    Everything went as expected. The room was very clean and comfortable. The villa is a very nice place to stay and just 10 minutes from the Plitvice park entrance. The owner was extremely helpful, he even help us book the bus to Split and took us in his car to the bus stop without asking for anything else. Really an awesome experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the room and the meals were pricey, but I would still stay there again because of the convenience of the location. Also, they don't take credit cards. It says they do, but they won't when you're actually there. I REALLY didn't like being surprised by that.

    Delicious dinner and wine - mushroom soup to die for! Ample varied breakfast. Our triple room at the top of the stairs was perfect for our stay with our nephew - the queen bed was separated from the rest of the room by a wall, so everyone had privacy, and there was a comfy chair and sofa for hanging out. Very friendly hosts. 15-20 minute walk through a pretty wood to the park entrance. Car parking on site. Dinner at 8pm, breakfast at 8am.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No clear upfront information provided about extra costs. The booking confirmation only states breakfast is 10 Euros per person and thats it. What they do not tell you is that there is an excessive charge for dinner and they pretty much assume that you would eat there...given that there are no other valid restaurans around. This dinner costs 30 Euros per person for something I would not value at more than 15. You get a choice of either fish or meat (or vegetarian, which we did not consider). The fish is a local trout and I have never had to pay so much for a trout. There is also a non advertised charge for laundry (although its obvious it would not be free, but some advance warnings of the costs would be useful). All in all we paid more for the extras than we did for the one night's stay. This is a real let down for what could be a real gem. I guess the rapidly increasing popularity of the area is simply too much of an opportunity for local property owners to pass on.

    Extremely friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very close to the front desk and so we were woken each morning from very loud talking of guests and staff

    Dinner, location and staff were fantastic! Shower was great, and it was such a luxury after travelling around Europe to have some tv in English! Very friendly staff - thank you!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening dinner was fantastic, local meal. The larger room was perfect for traveling with a child.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality and food were top notch! It was a perfect place for our short stay and minutes from the lakes!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super dinner. Owner ‘s advises are so helpful for tourists

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, staff (excellent) and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a pleasant stay. Enjoyed the hottub after a long walk in the plitvice lakes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old house , pictures are not accurate and it is way too expensive for what you get. Would not recommend it at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location for walking into the national park, friendly hosts, amazing food and comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very out of date, no real value for the price you pay

    Close to the lakes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More info re walk to lake

    Good supper but sl expensive (30 euros)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning or fan in room, too hot. Also personally would like a kettle.

    Food, staff and location for lakes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality and food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The owner is a real gentleman.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was great! Really worth the Euro30.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner is friendly, but clearly has a rapacious attitude towards his guests. At least twice as expensive as it should be.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food was outstanding and staff new what they were talking about

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: