Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Riva 4 stars

Prvosvibanjska bb, 21300 Makarska, Croatia

#18 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Makarska

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 B&B reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    A lovely stay in Makarska!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain so shower head had to be at funny angle so as to not drench the bathroom. Toilet was wobbly. Half drank bottles in mini bar from previous guests which ended up on our bill!

    Fab location, right in the centre of Makarska. Good car parking space at back of hotel. Great location for the big breakfast overlooking the promenade. Lady who checked us in was friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    The size of the room was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find, we had to pick up the key at the tourism office, the person there was completely unorganized, totally beginner. Same to check out, the parking was closed, we had to go to the restaurant, via the kitchens to access to the parking.

    The size of the room was ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Poor services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -bad smell in the hallway -one of the towels was stained with blood or sauce -the reception is at a nearby travel agency -hot water was missing in one of the 3 nights -the receptionist promised us a backup access card but I did not receive it anymore -we were charged extra for a child even we did not use extra bed and we found out this on the last morning when we wanted to pay.

    - clean room - large and comfortable bad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Next to the promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The info at Booking about the check-in place wasn’t that clear. We ended up suddenly to the tourist info that said the check-in was at their place.

    Great location, next to the sea/the promenade. Spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Villa Riva cares about their customers and really makes sure that you have everything you need! <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is only available between the 07.30 - 23.00.

    We were very positively surprised when we reached the Hotel, mostly since we had forgotten what we had booked XD The location is Superb! The hotel is situated right behind the main promenade along the harbour! You can not find a better location in Makarska! Everything that "happens", happens 5 minutes from the room.The room felt luxurious and was clean with a large mirror, TV, mini-fridge, a huge bathroom with a large bathtub. We absolutely loved the room. I have read some reviews where people have complained about the breakfast. We only had proper breakfast once, but we have nothing to complain about. It inlcuded bread, jam, nutella, butter, coffee and orangejuice, sausages, veggies, hard-boiled eggs, different kinds of meat, fresh fruits and was served by an incredibly sweet and polite old waiter who put a lot of effort into serving the customers. Finally, the breakfast was served at a nearby restaurant with a view of the promenade and the ocean. The second day we were going to check out at 5.30 in the morning. When we told the staff they offered to make us a large breakfast bag (we didn't ask for it) ! We really appreciated that, they could easily have just said something along the lines of "sorry, the kitchen is not open at that time". The staff was very helpful! We really enjoyed our stay at the Villa Riva and can strongly recommend this place to anyone!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable room in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no holder for the shower or a curtain/screen so the bathroom floor became dangerously wet and slippery.

    Very spacious and clean room with good air con.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.0
    Not a hotel.No service. Not recomended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disapionting. Not a hotel. Booking service by nearby information office . . no hotel stuff. Near midnight electric power was off, no one to talk to. We remained in the dark and without aircondition {and it was hot} until morning. The manager was out of reach and the credit card was charged with a reduction of 10%.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We missed the communication with the host, we just got the keys at the tourist agency. The room was quite dark, without view. Bad sound isolation.

    Location is in the center of Makarska, close to the sea and walking distance to the beach, free parking, breakfast "a la carte" in the near restaurant on the seashore.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find. Had to do three sweeps of the location and just glanced a restaurant bearing the same name. In fact, the Restaurant Villa Riva is very prominent and this is how the information should be given ...to find this first and then be shown the accommodation. It was very strange checkin, we had to go to the tourist office. However, once we had sorted all that out it was plain sailing.

    What a gem! Bit of a shock as we thought it would have been standard for the price ....but this was quality accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location; comfortable well kept spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is hard to find (found by luck more than anything - keep eyes peeled for hotel sign); reception is round the corner at a travel agent so a little confusing (luckily a restaurant staff member was able to assist); more coffee at breakfast would have been appreciated

    Location perfect; secure private parking; discount at their delicious sister restaurant; modern well maintained interior; coconut body wash; breakfast outside on the promenade was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Very close to the ferry station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the ferry station. Very attentive, they offered to prepare some breakfast for us as we were leaving before 8am. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff and great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.9
    No front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front desk staff Not enough towels Bad bath tub Bad AC

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was hard to be found, lack of choice for breakfast, parking was almost full sometimes.

    Very good location, has free parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good tea and coffee in room

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice room, lovely bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedside lights didn't work

    Friendly staff, nice room, lovely bathroom. Fantastic location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    A Nice Stay in Makarska
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great location and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Large breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Good bed and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Bed matress was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    It was a little bit difficult to find.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find.

    It was a little bit difficult to find. And then to find the parking lot. But very good value in very nice city with a wonderful breakfast. I recommend!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    6.3
    Good location, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got very sick at night - after eating in their own restaurant- And we got no help at all inspite we asked. So don't be ill there. Enormously unhelpful, unpolite stuff.

    Good location, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    There is no lift , if on top floor it's quite a climb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no lift , if on top floor it's quite a climb with suitcase

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    - breakfast was awsome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - breakfast was awsome! - excellent position - high quality appartment

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: