Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vilola

Umaska 2/A, 52475 Umag, Croatia

#8 of 23 B&Bs and Inns in Umag

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Small is nice! Just go book it if you want something different from a big hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow could use some real feather, but that is persona taste.

    The hotel is a nice and small unit with friendly and helpful staff. They have a great breakfast selection and a very good restaurant. Beach about 100 meters walk. Strongly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We think that the juice selection at the breakfast could have been better, maybe choices of fresh juices since the fruits there are very delicious.

    The staff was very friendly. We stayed in the family suite, and it was a quiet, comfortable room with a jacuzzi! Also, the restaurant located within the hotel was very good and not so expensive. The closest beach was very quiet and isolated from large crowds and it was very relaxing; we really enjoyed this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access, gorgeous rooms, friendly staff. Kid friendly, customer care oriented. We woke up regularly late given the jet-lag, breakfast was still available and our room always super clean. Delicious food at the restaurant with great selection of wines. Generous breakfast in the mornings. Great location In proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice room, helpful staff, beautiful foyer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast coffee is not drinkable, good coffee only for additional money. I really don't understand this approach considering the star rating they give themselves

    Nice room, helpful staff, beautiful foyer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Breakfasts was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning Coffee could be better.

    Breakfasts was excellent. Fruit, salami, bread... Also dinner was excellent. Really recommended. ( we ate fish plate for 2 persons- easy for 3 adults if you take something else before)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay at Villa Vilola very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Very good breakfast! Friendly and helpful stuff. The familysuite was huge with a big balcony and we had seaview. The whole house is modern and tastefully decorated.The villa is very close to the water. We were eating in the restaurant twice and it tasted very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great holidays. I`ll certainly be back one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. I liked it as it was. Perhaps the choice of TV channels - we didn`t find any channel showing the Wimbledon tournament. A purenonsense joke - nobody goes to Croatia to watch Wimbledon, even if Cilic plays in the finals.

    Breakfast - great ham, called "prsut" Try it. For those with a sweet tooth, there are 8 or 9 cakes to choose from. If you want scrambled eggs, or something else, ask the waiters, the dish will be prepared for you. Various kinds of coffee available. The restaurant is very spacious, you can eat inside or on a terrace. Smoking - it`ll be nice if you go round the corner with your coffee, a piece of cake and enjoy your fag there. All the guests do that. The rooms have a big balcony, there`s a table and comfortable settees. Great for an intimate conversation before going to bed. Obviously, there`s air-conditioning, so the temperature in a room will always be as you like it. Staff is very friendly and helpful, gave us useful advice concerning the beaches in the area and other things. The hotel parking is certainly OK - one in front of the building, the other (bigger) one at the left flank. Try not only breakfasts, but lunch/dinner dishes too. You won`t be disappointed. And, being a hotel guest, you have a discount of 10%. The beach (or rather a swimming point) is 100 meters from the hotel. Just cross the street, there`s a path leading you to the sea. Remember though, that it`s Croatia - you won`t find sand there, but stones. Special shoes needed for bathing (or at least for entering...)Don`t despair! A kilometre away (direction Umag) you`ll find "Sol Katoro", a place with a kind of a park, where you can lie under trees in the shade, or hire a deckchair and get some suntan. The swimming area is carefully prepared, no stones whatsoever, they also have a swimming pool for the children, and, obviously, a few showers to get rid of the salt. A bit further, there`s something even nicer - a beach belonging to the hotel "Coral". They don`t accept children under 16, so if you look for peace and quiet, you`ll find it there. A word for drivers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.3
    Forget both beach and good sleep, enjoy terrible service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is not on located the beach. It is located on the noisy road. Nearest beach is 10 mins walking through the woods, approx. 500 m. Which is according to the staff praktically on the beach. There is no service on the beach. You can forget any sleep, as the there is a constant traffic on the road. As a bonus the reception phone was ringing from 4:30 am till 5:20 am, until I get up from bed to switch it off. Later in the morning receptionist said, she can not do anything as there is noone during the night to pick up the call. She didn't bothered to say sorry, neither owner. We decided to leave earlier, at 6:00 pm, there was noone to check us out. We had to wait more than half hour for owner to come. Again, no sorry that we had to wait. After we paid the Bill owner wanted to shake the has, as if this was a good deal, well it was the worst experience with accomodation ever. I also wrote to booking Customer service twice. I do not find fair to properties, really located on the beach to comply with property, just pretending to be on the beach and I do not find to be fair to customers to bookingu and pay for the beach property and end up on the noisy road. But with no response from booking cs.

    Nothing. It was a torture for us to stay there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    The location of Villa Vilola is great and the villa is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location of Villa Vilola is great and the villa is great! Very nice, clean, restaurant excellent. Personal very friendly and the owners too :-) Next year I will choose the same Villa Vilola to accomodate and spend nice time there :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    I had another fantastic stay @Villa Vilola and will keep returning!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast: wide choice but discount quality. Area for improvement. (from coffee to food)

    Very nice atmosphere: unlike big hotels etc. here one can feel a big difference. Fantastic location and extremally good tavern/restaurant. I reccommend for sea-food experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway weekend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave.

    Everything was perfect for this getaway weekend. The staff was amazing, Loretta made everything perfect. We asked for 2 extra pillows and we got them immediately. We asked where would be a nice place to see and Loretta told us about a midieval castle in Groznjan and it was amazing. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. There is even fresh cooked ham and eggs. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Great honeymoon in Istria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -we had to wait 20 min at the reception to check in (after 7 hour drive...) -English is not a preferred language (although they are perfect in Italian and German), as a result we did not got in the restaurant what we ordered -the timing of cleaning is unfortunate, they start it when we were off to have breakfast so when we got back, we had to wait 15 min for the cleaning-lady to finish, it would be better if they waited till we left hotel

    -nice, modern hotel -good parking -friendly staff -comfortable bed -dayly cleaning and towel change -2 beaches nearby, poor equipped 500 m, well equipped 1000 m -as a just married couple we received a gift -location is great to visit Pula, Piran, Porec, Triest, etc by car

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    The best Villa ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to go home.

    The boss and the staff was very-very friendly with the guests. We arrived a little bit earlier and they offer a free breakfast for us. I could eat a gluten free breakfast and dinner too. The food was delicious. Every day we ate at the Villa Vilila restaurant, because it was amazing. Our room was very comfortable, and quiet. The beach about 60 meter from the Villa.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff. We had lots of fun. Nice breakfast buffet with your choice of freshly prepared eggs. Nice rooms with good size balcony. Walking distance to ocean and a bar by the water. Restaurant in the evening is also excellent. Can definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, nice breakfast, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, nice breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed, big balcony, fantastic breakfast, air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable bed, big balcony, fantastic breakfast, air condition, mini fridge, spacious wardrobe and bathroom, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, large room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel, great location, great value & food was exceptional in the hotel restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of the staff and hotel restaurant food was brilliant! Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great experience of helpful Magdalena.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great experience of helpful Magdalena. I love her!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    A very decent, small hotel, with lovely, attentive staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very decent, small hotel, with lovely, attentive staff, and big, comfy rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice overnight stay with the family in Istra
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff good breakfast close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice and friendly staff. Nice location, super service, nice beds, fine cleaning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Nice and clean room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and clean room!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Beds are perfect big amd confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road in front, but that is sometning, what you can not change:(

    Beds are perfect big amd confortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    OK although a bit pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been nicer.

    Nice parking, close to the sealine, reliable WiFi. If travelling on business this one is a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Good experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near main road, not so close to the beach or city center

    Super friendly staff Excellent dinner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    One night in Croatia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was first class. Seafood delicious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Nice place and staff, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice place and staff, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.1
    1. Windows to the quite busy road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Windows to the quite busy road. Impossible to sleep with open windows 2. Restoraunt. Slowly, rather expensive for such quality, credit cards are not accepted

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    It was one of our best holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was one of our best holidays. The location of the hotel was very convenient for us to be not far away from Umag Tennis Academy where our son and his friend were training and boarding. The hotel owners and staff were extremely helpful and friendly, at the end of our stay we felt nearly like at home. Big room, good food and beautiful sea.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    Food & staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hall light was a motion sensor which lit up room when going to toilet.

    Food & staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.9
    breakfast, free parking and proximity to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pricy for offering no special services

    breakfast, free parking and proximity to the beach

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    They are so nice, not because it´s there job, just because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They are so nice, not because it´s there job, just because they actualy are nice and want you to have a nice stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You cannot pay with credit card in the restaurant.

    lovely place

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.3
    Staff, bad and cusine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, bad and cusine.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: