Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambra Hotel 4 stars

1077 Budapest, Kis Diófa u. 13, Hungary

#101 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1469 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed is made up of two singles pushed together

    Hotel is very modern and comfortable with a very welcoming and friendly staff team. Location is absolutely perfect! In walking distance to some of the main sightseeing attractions and an abundance of bars and restaurants. Overall wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Stanbridge review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and very warm, but this was due to the weather outside which was exceptionally not for the time of year.

    Staff were very friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Great both for business or pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good - just a few minutes walk from Opera & Oktogon stations Liszt Ferenc ter and numerous bars & restaurants. The staff is professional & friendly and you get a free phone that you can use to call or browse internet, which is a nice bonus!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    I would definitely recommend Ambra hotel to everyone.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't find anything that I don't like. We were truly satisfied.

    I would definitely recommend Ambra hotel to everyone. It was totally worth the money. Really helpful and nice receptionist (Gabor but also the whole stuff), sooner check-in is possible (even we didn´t tell in advance), nice furnished and spacious room with balcony, comfortable mattresses, good air conditioning, every day cleaning service. Also great location, there are few bars nearby but we slept well, we didn´t hear any noise. Public transport (tram / subway ) is also nearby. And I have to mention breakfast which was exceptional, there was a pretty wide range of everything. You can also make a tea/coffee or have a fruit in a breakfast room during the whole day or take it away. We could also leave our luggage in a hotel after check-out before leaving Budapest, free of charge. We had perfect time in Budapest thanks to Ambra hotel and will come again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice affordable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor minus was a bit of sink scent during mornings in the bathroom. Another small minus was the early start of street maintenance works. Still here it must be said that generally hotel and the streets around the hotel are extremely quiet and it was easy to sleep.

    Location is good - couple of blocks from Metro line M1 Opera stop. This allows good access to public transportation. Nice hotel with all basic services. Price level is also very good. Very helpful hotel staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not their fault, really - it seems to be a global Hungarian/European thing - but the a/c simply could not cool off the room sufficiently. It felt like about 25 degrees, even though we moved the dial to 15. At 20 degrees it felt like it was blowing heat. I should be grateful though. Almost all the tourist places we went to including public transportation didn't have a/c at all!

    Beds were comfortable, plenty of pillows, good breakfast that changed daily, quiet, great location within walking distance of major sites and train/tram/bus lines, CLEAN!, hot water and plenty of pressure in the shower, helpful staff that were available 24 hours a day. Also, they provide a Handy Phone which had maps, internet and free local/intl calls - it proved to be indispensable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find parking place

    The hotel is very good. Personal is perfect. Good breakfast but very narrow restaurant. In general nice place to stay. I recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and a nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds and pillows could be a bit uncomfortable.

    The location was excellent.Very close to everything.Just a short walk to the city centre and all the transport.A supermarket across the road and resteraunts and cafes in the next street.The room was a great size and the bathroom very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    It's valuable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    ALL are great!

    The really place that it could make you feel like home. The breakfast was delicious. Staffs were all friendly. The best location in Pudapest. When the day before leave day they had given us a cute gift - chocolate. It's very sweet. I think I will be back again if I am stay in Budapest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    great location, clean, nice interior design, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few extra shelves in the bathroom would be great. There was nothing to put our toiletries on so we had to crowd them all around the sink. And just fyi that the parking garage is for small to mid-sized cars only. we were in a small SUV and that could not fit into the elevator the car needs to pull into to go down into the parking lot. But if this is the case for you too, there are plenty of other parking garages around for great rates.

    the breakfast was great. we used the free cell phone that is included in the room so we could use the free internet to access google maps and find reviews about local restaurants. staff was incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Pretty good hotel at the centre of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the hotel notes they have parking - it is small underground and using special elevator on parking. I could not use it with mine middle SUV, hence I parked near at public parking which is expensive at the center of city (20 EUR/day). Their Internet over WiFi - sucks.

    Pretty good hotel at the centre of city. There are a lot of restaurants and cafes along walking street near the hotel. Amazing woman at reception told us everything we have to see in Budapest as well as a lot of options on how to reach each each place. Over here you may buy touring ticket for excursion buses spinning around old city. Good breakfast will free tee and coffee available all day at the lobby of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel, small, unique snd enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great hotel, small, unique snd enjoyable. The staff is realy nice and helpful. Breakfast was good and the location was perfect, close to many sites. Recommanded in Budapest. I would defenetly return back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel, easy access to interesting places and eateries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The church clock chimed regularly, but we got used to it after a night.

    Nice bed, good breakfast hot and cold, coffee machine available in afternoon and evening as well as in the morning. The hotel staff were very pleasant, and efficient. Plenty of local eateries etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    A nice break in a lovely city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is located in the city centre which has advantages like quick walk to restaurants, bars and tourist attractions besides the usual vibrant atmosphere. But so are the disadvantages like noisy night revellers. However, we did not mind and it is no fault of the hotel.

    I did not have huge expectations from the hotel given its 4 star rating on Booking.com. However, it was a completely pleasant surprise indoors. Not very fancy to match a true 4 star billing, it was reasonably modern, great interiors and impeccably clean at all times. The breakfast was very good and well cooked like many hotels, however, there were some variations available every day. My family loved it. They organised a massage for us, a speed boat ride and other excursion tickets in no time and that too with a smile & not charging higher than the market rate. They also gave us an extra day on hop on hop off bus given the bridges were blocked due to air plane show - very nice of them. Above all, the staff is very polite, smiling and always eager to help. The staff at the reception was definitely extraordinary. I wish them good luck and blessings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a mishap with the parking so if you are traveling by car I recommend you use another parking garage / space. We had too high expectations from earlier reviews of the hotel. The so called service minded staff talked way too much in our opinion and didn’t seem to realize when information wasn’t needed. Sometimes it’s enough to just offer information or help. Also very little interest in knowing how we were enjoying our stay - no questions at check out or info / discussion when the mishap took place (staff just walked off without a word). Very Slow check in. Dirty bathroom and the rooms / bathrooms were not as up to date and well maintained as pictures show (poorly carpentered).

    Good location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    I like it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditionair doesn't work properly. The room is to tight for a 4 stars hotel

    Staff very professional and helpful. Good Breakfast for a 3 star hotel. Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This is a very good 4 star hotel. It doesn't have the facilities for 5 stars but does everything a 4 star hotel should brilliantly. A very good choice for a quiet stay close to the centre of Budapest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was reasonably clean and spacious, but there was a very bad, stale and damp smell in the room that I couldn't get rid of, even with the open window. Very slow elevator. Poor English of the staff, leading to misunderstanding and lots of time to fix things: on booking the room, I asked for a shuttle service FROM the hotel TO the airport in the morning of 14 June, and the hotel confirmed first that the driver would wait for me at the airport in the evening of the 13th, then that the driver will be at the airport in the morning of the 14th, and only in the third reply they understood that the transfer was from the hotel to the airport in the morning of the 14th. It took me three emails to explain the same thing over and over again. Finally, the driver showed up with a few minutes of delay and brought me to the airport, but he could not give me a receipt for the transfer fee and said he would send it to me by email, but the receipt has not arrived yet, I'm still waiting for that before I call the hotel to request it.

    Central location, good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow small lift.

    Everything was excellent! Friendly and helpful staff. Nice to have the use of a mobilephone to take with to town. The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Room was clean, quite large, rich breafast, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the 6th floor. Room was very noisy - even during the night. Noise came out of air condition engine (?) which is placed probably upstairs. That was very very anoying. When claiming this situationn, we received just earplugs.

    Room was clean, quite large, rich breafast, close to downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice place and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet on the corridor is too dirty (although it looks they are changing it) First day breakfast was not very good. Fruit was gone same as the rice cakes and coffee was soso. Second day was better

    Nice place and very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t complain / make a negative comment.

    Hotel is well situated. The room was beautiful and extremely clean. Very helpful / polite staff. We also enjoyed the breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice room, friendly staff. Ideally situated for getting around the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea making equipment in place but on two occasions the coffee and creamer was not topped up. For a person who has to have a coffee first thing in the morning this was disappointing!! Nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom other than the sink, which means they get wet.

    Comfortable bed and pillows. Great choices at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    very nice layout of the superior room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi had a bad Connection at some corners of my room.

    the layout of the room (superior room) is very good. The space is well used and makes it feel spacious and you can both work and relax from there. Other than that the hotel is of course well located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was perfect.
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect. The breakfast was better than most hotels and was included. Great staff ready to help you. It was close to the Opera house and the neighborhood was very safe. You can get on the hop on hop off bus right at the Opera house. Also the subway is there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice and comfortable stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was bit warm for us even with the AC. But mostly cause we are used to cold weather and it was very warm in Budapest when we visited.

    The staff were very nice, helpful and friendly. They even surprised us with a champagne bottle on my husbands birthday. The hotel is located near to many nice bars and evening its nice to walk around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good price-quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night sometimes noise in the street.

    Nice room, very friendly staf, comfortable bathroom. tasty breakfast.good location because we did everything on foot. very good restaurants near the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice little hotel. Well worth the money. I would happily stay here again if I visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only area that could have been better was that there is no actual bar. They offer a fridge that has bottled beer, however, the fridge only holds 8 bottles, so both times when I went to get a beer while either looking to book a taxi or when back and fancying a beer before retiring to bed, the fridge was empty, which did disappoint.

    Fantastic hotel in the superb down town area. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast options were different each day, coffee, hot chocolate and orange juice etc were always available. The slices of bread and croissant were fresh. The staff were on-hand to offer any assistance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    We had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed had 2 single mattresses instead of one double.

    We had everything we needed. Very kind stuff, delicious breakfast, big room, stylish decoration, close metro station, a true 4stars hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Below our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was very small. The bed was almost from wall to wall. No space to circulate. No space enough to put your staff. Two beds put together instead of a double bed. Old and uncomfortable mattress - Cleanliness could be much better. Shouldn't be rated as a 4 star hotel.

    The reception team was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great. Only a few minutes from the subway. The breakfast was great with a good variety of drinks and food. Staff were welcoming, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, helpful and excellent front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been cleaner. The sheets were too short for the mattress. It was noisy on the street side but we should have asked for a quiet room. The little "quiet" street was anything but quiet. But the room was airy and we could open the window (ergo the noise).

    The service was great and the front desk team was very helpful. The breakfast was excellent. Location can't be beat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was in a very tight space and leaked water into the bathroom.

    The room was very spacious and the extra sitting room with the extra bed was nice. The staff was friendly and arranged airport transport both ways.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    Big and clean room, great selection for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfinished bathroom, used toiletries, rough towels and 2 single beds put together instead of a large double one

    Big and clean room, great selection for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not informed that the booked taxi to the airport was not an ordinary one ( the official of the city) in order for someone to know what to expect (lack of clear information).

    The location of the hotel is very nice. Close by to the opera and to the city center. Therefore, there is no need for someone to take bus or metro to see the city. Of course this depends on the person. The room was good, the cleaning quite well (not excellent) and the breakfast was good (more expecting from a 4* hotel). Especially the one machine for coffee makes a queue. In general it is a good value hotel for someone to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel - will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel and staff. Comfortable beds, lovely room, great breakfasts including free takeaway coffee 24hrs a day in the Lobby and staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Great location - central to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but requires improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed when we booked that there was construction works happening at the property during our stay which was obviously quite disrupting. The room was far too hot and the air con made little difference, We found it hard to sleep. The window would not open as it was broken. The shower holder was broken and so you had to hold it where you wanted it as it would just slip back down the holder to chest height which was a pain for washing hair. Kettle was provided but no tea bags or milk etc?

    The breakfast had a large variety and fresh juices which were lovely. Pastries were very tasty and cooked items were nice. The gentleman on reception in evenings was helpful and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall, I had a good stay at Ambra hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is undergoing renovation on the second floor. The drilling started every day at 7 A.M. which I found very unpleasant and unthoughtful of the guests. The room wasn't as clean as I hoped. Especially bathroom's cleanliness left room for improvement.

    Overall, I had a good stay at Ambra hotel. The best part of the stay was friendly and attentive service and a superb location. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    The breakfast, the situation of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and no space to leave the things in the bathroom. More space also to leave the clothes in the same room.

    The breakfast, the situation of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    fantastic location, very friendly staff, very nicely rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    fantastic location, very friendly staff, very nicely rooms and great facilities (free phone with wifi which you can use during the day outside the hotel)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Good value, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to busy Jewish quarter so got a little noisy at night.

    Nice central location not far from the opera house. Got noisy at night as close to the busy Jewish quarter. Nice spacious rooms and great value for money in comparison to other availability at the time. Had access to hot drinks during the day which is great when you come in from the cold. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Kind staff, comfy bed, bad shower with broken shower head and weak water pressure. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower facilities very average. Unfortunately renovations going on for the whole week. Not too bad but if I had wanted to sleep in, I would have been pretty upset as that would not have been possible. As it was, I was up early and out to the door.

    Great breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    The staff there is very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only didnt like the work maintenace one floor above me ,,i told the receptionist once but after two days again..in the check out they made us 10 percent off and no charge of what we ate from the mini bar. I would stay though again because it was very friendly warm and cozy boutique hotel 😊

    The staff there is very friendly! Very good welcome and able to answer all your question any time! The bed very comfy and the pillows menu extra point! The loccation is fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had two beds united and not one double bed. the room could be bigger.

    Our room was small but cozy, warm and nicely decorated (as the whole hotel). The breakfast had everything! The staff was very kind and willing to help and answer all of our questions! I definatelly recommend the hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Location of the hotel is excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It might be a little problem with parking on the site if you're coming with bigger vehicle.

    Location of the hotel is excellent They serve very good breakfast and staff if polite and friendly, willing to offer any kind of help and assistance. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Nothing really - all very positive, the only downside was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - all very positive, the only downside was some of the noise at night from people leaving the bars nearby. However the hotel cannot be responsible for that!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and everything nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complaint.

    The room and the bed were nice. The heat was full time. Very clean. The breakfast was nice but it could be better. The location fantastic, close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very kind. Room was good and well cleaned. Nice environment and also good breakfast. They have a menu for pillows that we found very helpful. Also they have free sauna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is excellent. First of all, the stuff welcomed us very nice and reccomended us a very good restaurant. The room we got was super clean, comfortable and modern. The bad and pillows were extreamly comfortable, and we got some refreshments for free (they also serve free coffee and tea at any time of the day, what is really nice from them). On the top of all, we got a free phone to use , with a free wifi and free calls (we were alowed to take it with us out side of the hotel). In the morning, we had the best breakfast ever... seriously, the best!!! The hotel is situated in the city center (probalbly you’ll need about 15-20 min by walk to the very center), in the very cool part of the town where you can enjoy many nice and cool bars and restaurants. That is location I prefere, becouse you can acctually feel how locals are enjoying the town... I will definatly choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, kind staff, a 10 minutes walk from the city center and would recommmend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the third day of our stay I noticed that they were serving the same food as they had served on the first day. Some of the served food dried because it was cut several days ago. Something which is ought not to happen in a 4* hotel.

    One can take coffee and other beverages throughout the whole day. Also chips, pretzels and peanuts. Fruits as well

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, relaxing and very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were clean and stylish, I liked the heated floors in the bathroom.The handy phone was great and very helpful! I also loved the free hot drinks you get all day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative point about the room is it’s small size !

    Very nice staff. Sauna available. Great breakfast. Confortable bed, nice warm water, small terrace and great location !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    4.2
    Hotel was located well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was much older than it looked on the pictures. Big issues with cold/hot water in shower. Really unflexible breakfast hours from 7 to 10 AM only!

    Hotel was located well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous. Only little thing was that at breakfast it took quite a while for some things to be refilled on the buffet like scrambled egg and toast so we had to wait. And lastly, we couldn’t turn the radiators off in our room or bathroom so it got quite hot even with air con on but not a major problem. Would definitely stay here again!

    Staff were amazing. Lovely room. Fantastic location close to lots of bars and restaurants and walking distance to the center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location and hotel. Really enjoyed Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a slant in the roof (being on the top floor) and it was difficult to get to the beds on the other side of the room. A couple bangs of our heads also happened. As this is a city hotel, you have to be aware of some small spaces. Otherwise, everything was perfect.

    Great location. Nice range of breakfast items. Room clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice range of items in the minibar and lounge bar and was adequately priced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    They had a pillow menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleaning could have been better. We had two cups of leftover coffee in the room for four days. Cleaners could have take it and bring us clean cups.

    They had a pillow menu. The room was warm. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was smaller from what appearing on the images. There was a door in our room that was connecting to the next room. The door, of course, was locked but there was no proper sound proofing because of that as a result we could here a lot of loud chatting from the next room during the night preventing us to sleep.

    The location of the property was excellent right in the centre of the city. Close to all restaurants and important sight seeings. There were many super markets and mini markets close to the property, even a 24 hour mini market down the street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel with wonderful location for a short-term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in the room, bathroom wasn’t very well cleaned.

    Night administrator is such a sweet person. Provided us with coffee to take away and breakfast packages due to our early morning flight. Wonderful location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Enjoyed every minute at this hotel in a beautiful City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! OK, the dustmen were a bit noisy at 5am but that is outside the hotel's control and we were sleeping (at the end of November) with the window open - another indication of the efficient central heating! We could not fault this lovely little boutique hotel.

    Superior 2nd floor street facing room was big and looked recently refurbished. Queen sized bed very comfortable and room well heated. Spacious bathroom (no bath) with efficient shower. Tea and coffee making facilities complemented free hot drinks available 24/7 in the dining room. Good choice of hot and cold buffet at breakfast. Andrea, receptionist cum concierge was simply brilliant with her help, recommendations and advice. Location very good. Minutes from Andrassy Utca and public transport or a 15 minute walk to the centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is very nice, so close to public transportation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning service can be better

    The location is very nice, so close to public transportation and city center. There are many restaurants, bar, pub, cafe near hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic rooms, fantastic location, fantastic price! Would recommend, and would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is really great - I will make sure to stay here again if I'm ever in Budapest again. The location is splendid (10 minutes walk to Fashion Street). The rooms and entire hotel facilities are amazing, and very clean! The area is surrounded by nice cafes. The staff is friendly and eager to help with airport shuttles. Great value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Smaller hotel with some good features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My advice, don't arrive before the stated check-in time and don't ask for a late checkout. We stayed 3 nights and asked for a 1pm check-out for the final day, I was told there would be a charge of 47 euro for that. This was a shame, as all the rest of our stay was excellent.

    We had a deluxe double room - it had plenty of space and was very comfortable. The location is very good, lots of bars etc close by. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Interesting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Payment taken out of account months before our stay and confusion when I questioned the invoice. If an additional cost has been deducted I will contact Booking.com for an explanation.

    Tea coffee and snacks available throughout the day. Very acceptable after a day's sightseeing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Loved Budapest and Ambra made it great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No improvement needed.

    Convenient to public transportation and walking distance to sites. Loved the sparkling wine at breakfast and the salads. Staff very helpful. Nice touch with coffee and tea available all day. Grocery store at corner and restaurants along the main streets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities was old and dirty. The bathroom full of black mildew and towels from 2015 used for hundreds times before. Bad sheets looked old and used as well.

    Great breakfast, many types of food you can choose. Staff were helpful and kind. Entry and lift to the garage is tight and bigger cars can`t enter :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Great quality/price ratio
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The hotel is about 7 mins walk from the Deak Ferenc metro station in a very nice area - very easy to get to. A big plus for opening the door only with a card or bell to the reception desk. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The choice for breakfast was rather limited but the food was always fresh and delicious. The biggest plus is the non-stop access to coffee, tea and snacks. Overall I was really happy with my stay and if I ever visit Budapest again I will definitely stay at Ambra Hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm. Air conditioning not available as October. Noisy outside of hotel at night.

    Hotel lovely and boutique like. Hotel in good central location for sightseeing. Hotel staff very helpful. Hotel clean and breakfast had plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel and enjoyed our stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit warm to sleep in but we didn't ask for help, so it ma have been possible to cool it down. A bit noisy at night as our room for overlooking the street.

    Modern decor very nice, hot water, comfy bed,in the breakfast room there was a free coffee machine available at all times plus some nibbles. Good breakfast although different, there was hot food as well , good scrambled eggs plus other hot choices, decent selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Great interior design - very modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great interior design - very modern. Great selection of food for breakfast. Not food was a bit different every morning. Wide selection of bread and some fresh pastries. Reception staff were all.friwndly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel-friendly, convenient, and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no counter in the bathroom for make up etc.. Towels were small and rather thin

    Breakfast was great, with various options. Staff at front desk was very helpful. The location was perfect-many pubs and cafes all around, and walking distance from all important sights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Loved the free snacks and drinks that the hotel laid on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from window was just a wall but can’t be helped because of the area of the hotel

    Loved the free snacks and drinks that the hotel laid on. Bed and pillow was so comfy. Lovely room and very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall an ok stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff wanted to input our credit card details manually to their system!!! Bathroom was a bit run down.

    Triple room was very big with a big bathroom. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Extra helpful personnel at the front desk!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is necessary to improve the level of cleaning rooms. Especially paying attention to toilets.

    Extra helpful personnel at the front desk! They helped me with everything and made that very precise and professional. Especially I would like to mention Gabor, his efforts were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception could have more than one member of staff as you would sometimes need to wait a short while to speak to someone at front desk if other guests were checking in or out

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good value and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complimentary tea and coffee with a few snack foods were available in the breakfast area most of the day. This was welcome when returning to the hotel after a few hours sightseeing and walking. We arrived much earlier than check in time but were allowed to go straight to our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ambra Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: