Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danubius Health Spa Resort Aqua All Inclusive 4 stars

8380 Hévíz, Kossuth Lajos út 13-15, Hungary

#10 of 24 hotels in Hévíz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1078 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    4.6
    Rather sanatorium for seniors than 4* hotel, all inclusive is a cheat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frankly not a 4 * hotel at all... rooms and corridors are completely worn out, although staying in suite it felt like in low cost tourist hostel. Common areas were in better condition but still do not trriger current standard and expectations. Food was cheap and quantity was definitely the only focus. our hope for hungarian cuisine stayed totally unsatisfied. all inclusive is so limited that it is ratther full board with limited offer of drinks than anything that can be fairly marketed as all inclussive. Very, very bad experience overall.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    - Air conditioning was promised but was not operational.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Air conditioning was promised but was not operational. - Extra credit card bill afterwards. - Price was not as agreed in euros due EUR->HUF exchange play.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Nice, exceeded expectations from previous visit due new room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alcoholic drinks during lunch and during the afternoon could be also included in all inclusive.

    Higher floors (6,7th) have new reconstructed rooms which are really nice. Food excelent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced! The wine quality is horrible, get a new wine producer, we have so many nice wine in Hungary! Its very bad to give to this sh.. quality wine for people are visiting our country, very bad marketing for the hungarian wine!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite long waiting times for lifts at peak times

    Great location with beautiful views over rolling Hungarian countryside. Brilliant facilities in the spa complex. Excellent food and attentive service at all times - particularly from the waiter with the handlebar moustache 🤗

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    We really enjoyed it. It was nice to have a wellness in the hotel and also in near Heviz SPA lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room furnishing looks a bit old but clean.

    Versatile choice of food (main courses, side dishes, fruits, vegetables, cheeses, pastry, sweets) during the breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The juice machine and the coffee machine in the restaurant are both terrible. The juice is simply not good, the coffee is watery, bland and tasteless. Please replace them, they are both well below the level of quality of all the other services.

    Been here before, all was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    Hotel for treatment and SPA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole hotel need to be renovated.

    We planned to stay at Danubius Superior but we landed at Danubius Aqua, as there are 2 Danubius hotels on the same street, and by mistake we booked the older, lower level one. Was still ok, but there is NO swimming pool for swimmers, this hotel is more for SPA and treatment, more for older people, or families with kids.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Expected a much better hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff were really unfriendly (starting at the reception), the (indoor) swimming pools are much smaller than they appear on the photographs. The pools were in a rather bad condition. Some of the food were leftovers from previous days (including seafood!). Also, the extra fee for a dog (in our case a tiny Yorkshire) is the highest we ever had to pay in a hotel (25 EUR / night).

    Nice design of the rooms (upper floors with newer rooms), nice bathrooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.2
    Terrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuff tries to cheat old people with extra expenses excluding "all inclusive", someone damaged our car on paid hotel parking place during day - hotel doesn't have any responsibility. Arrogant hotel manager. Absolutely worst experience with danubius hotel franchise we have visited.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airconditioning in our room did not work the entire time we were there. We kept being told to close the windows - of course they were closed! It was a very hot weekend and the lack of air conditioning combined with having food poisoning made it a very uncomfortable stay for myself. While my husband and child attempted to enjoy themselves without me, I would say that there is not much to do. The pools are small and really not useful for sports/athletic purposes. They are also rather busy, which did not lend to a very relaxing atmosphere. Aside from the hotel's pools, there was really nothing else to do or see at or around Danubius. We rented bikes, but found the town to be really boring.

    The hotel makes an effort to be family friendly with some kids' programming scheduled a couple of times a day. However, we did not take advantage of these so I am unable to say. The buffet was also a broad array of food, which made it fairly easy to find something my fussy 2.5 year old would eat. However, I contracted food poisoning the first night we stayed (unknown whether it was from my dinner at Danubius or a meal earlier in the day before I arrived) and had no further meals myself for the remaining stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    All in all a nice hotel with wellness facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They serve lunch from 12pm to 2pm but you have to check out at 11am. I requested to get lunch on arrival day and it was 2pm. My request got confirmed! But the reception just said too late, you won't get lunch. We had to leave the latest on 11am the next day and couldnt have lunch. Another point is that our ac didnt work so the room was sticky.

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff in the restaurant was nice. Its very easy to find this hotel when driving with your car. They have their own parking lot aswell. They give you towels and bathing robes too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to stay, but too expensive for what you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior is outdated (at least in my room). Parking is payable. Wine and beer are complimentary only at the dinner (stated in description though). Being all inclusive property, the hotel could do better.

    Within walking distance of the Heviz Lake. Nice pools.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    The area was quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the all inclusive price, the food quality was not great. The fruits were not fresh and the menu was not varied enough

    The area was quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    CATCHY by all inclusive and SPA, but not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is terrible SPA. Very armature. It finished 5 min shorter. No smile no greeting front desk.

    location to Haviz lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wi-fi signal did not cover the smoking terrace

    Spa services, tasty meals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Spa, F&B, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was closed for refurbishment, long wait for the lift

    Spa, F&B, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great food, clean rooms, nice wellness and sauna. Thanks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    location, excellent food, cleanness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Propety is quite old, especially pool area

    location, excellent food, cleanness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Thermal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thermal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in one place

    Warm and welcoming a great place to relax

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have taken another day :-(!

    We were here for the fifth time. Again we were very satisfied!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Great food all day in the program All Inclusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great food all day in the program All Inclusive. Fantastic spa. Everything in house, great personal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    2.5
    people at the resort could be mo friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    people at the resort could be mo friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Our stay was perfect except that the whirlpool & the outside pool were cleaned during our last day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning if the pools during our stay

    Almost everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Good place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent thermal baths

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Balaton near
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All incluse was not normal all inclusive

    Pools

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Everything was just Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just Perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not even near the lake

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Very quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many old people

    Very quite. Nice food. Good spa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    We have a short but very relaxing holiday. The bassin with termal water is wonderfull. We hope to re
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A very nice place near the parc and the lake, very nice view from the room, very good food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    it was great!!!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We miss a balcony

    Food is great!!! Stuff is verry friendly!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.3
    The waiters in Restaurant were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The waiters in Restaurant were very nice. The Hotel is close to Heviz lake. We apretiate the possibility to hire bikes. The bike trip to Balaton was very nice. In the small town Kestehely is beautiful Festetics Castle.It is worth to visit.it.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Very good locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    little knowledge of English among staff hard beds slow WIFI

    Very good locations Very good system All included, Very good cuisine Very good system spa, quiet pools with sulfuric water, pool for children inside and outside Very good for relax!!! Thanks

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    The garden, the spa, the service in the restaurant, the food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The garden, the spa, the service in the restaurant, the food, very baby friendly place, professional staff everywhere, kind and smiley people, the pool.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.4
    The superior room is small and bed is not comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The superior room is small and bed is not comfortable. Hotel is in renovation, disturbing guest. Should close till renovation is done. Small pool for a 4 star hotel. Even if all inclusive you need to pay for alchocolic drinks during the day. Recommend for elderly. Price vs quality is bad. Will not come again.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    food in restaurant very good, waiters quite fast aand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    just two lifts to the reception for such a big hotel because of reconstruction, it took time to get where you wanted to go

    food in restaurant very good, waiters quite fast aand friendly, low quality coffee, gifts and details in the room (sweets, cosmetics for children, towel for children etc)

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.2
    We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Danubius Health Spa Resort Aqua has very helpful and friendly staff. Hotel offers very delicious food!!! Spa is clean and offer a great relax. Rooms are clean and newly renovated. We recomended even for younger people :-) !!! We had a pleasant time!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    3.8
    Not much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was at best 2 star. This is NOT a 4 star hotel. Very old and outdated. The rooms are old, good below average and the wellness facilities are dingy and old. Would be a perfect hospice or geriatric retired center. Not 4 star! Worst money spent in Hungary.

    Not much!

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    8.3
    All meals and swimmingpools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lower personel, wasn't pleasant to guest with small babies. They also didn't speak english

    All meals and swimmingpools. Good accomodation for families with small babies.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.5
    The resort was nice, but we were expecting something else,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are two types of tourists in this hotel: those above 60 yrs old and those with very small children (under 6). We did not fit into any of these categories, therefore it was not a pleasant atmosphere for us.

    The resort was nice, but we were expecting something else, maybe bigger. Everything is in small sizes or numbers: pools, lounge chairs, tables available in the restaurant, waiters to serve drinks (especially water since it was a red code temperature) etc. It was a constant crowd in the restaurant during meal times. When we arrived we had the surprise of no reservation communicated to them, but they promptly solve the issue. Thanks to the guys at the reception! Very good air con! Also we very much appreciated the blinds at windows.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    I traveled from Leeds, England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the wifi would sometimes go of line which was a little frustrating...although I was there to bathe...!!

    I traveled from Leeds, England.After a long drive it was more than welcoming to find the Hotel room more than adequate, with my bathrobe and towel waiting. The staff were very helpful and the pools and facilities PERFECT. The food gave a perfect balance and the whole experience wonderful. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.3
    Food is excellent, various Hungarian dishes available daily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    "All inclusive" should be "all inclusive with limits and restrictions" While all of this is actually stated in description, hotel could do a bit better by offering beer/wine with lunch, and free parking. And late checkout is 25 eur/person? Which is stupid if you need room for additional 2-3 hrs while your kid is sleeping... I've stayed mostly in hotels where late checkout was complimentary, not paid extra.

    Food is excellent, various Hungarian dishes available daily (different each day!). Staff is very helpful and will do their best to accommodate your every wish. Pools are nice, not crowded, and kid's pool is awesome!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.3
    Nice place to spend a holiday and stay healthy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The all inclusive is not really all inclusive. During lunch time you need to pay for glass of wine or bottle of beer, soft drinks only included... No many variation of fruit offered (orange and apple only)... For late breakfast only coffe-tea was offered. Nothing more...

    Nice place to spend a holiday and stay healthy! Fun zone is very comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    6.7
    Indoor and outdoor pools even in the winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Generally the facilities of the hotels are very good and one can have a good time enjoying the spa. What you should definitely take in to account is that the food was of very poor quality, meaning not fresh, mostly fat and fried, not well cooked, unvaried and lacking choice. We got even sick from one old see food sauce, so be careful. It could be worthy to spend twice the price and go in the superior Danubis Hotel with the same facilities, but quality of food. The hotel is not renewed, kind of soviet style furniture and old and very slow elevators could be a bit frustrating. The pools are also not renewed and with very sharp edges. I cut myself several times while swimming. If you a young couple it could be boring to stay more than 2 nights - most of the activities are for seniors and the fitness is very poor.

    Indoor and outdoor pools even in the winter. Close to the biggest thermal lake in the world. In the hotel you can buy different spa procedures assigned by a doctor. The all inclusive includes breakfast, lunch and supper including wine in the lunch. The stuff was helpful and kind, though they speak not so good languages.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.5
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, we will come back!

    Good Hotel Great food Good Spa Great Management

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.5
    peaceful,relaxing and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thought it should have a seperate bar away from reception and the dining hall.

    peaceful,relaxing and great location

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    7.9
    Wifi missed in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi missed in our room.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    9.2
    The food was great, as well as the spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My room was a little outdated, but they did give us coupons for wellness, because they were renovating.

    The food was great, as well as the spa.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.8
    Excellent food, great spa wellness facilities and polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food, great spa wellness facilities and polite staff

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    3.5
    There is no swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no swimming pool.You can only have lunch after 14 o'clock.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.9
    The area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The area

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    The hotel staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff was great. Food was delicious. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The services were very good.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    The facilities are excellent for a relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower in the bathroom could be a bit more modern.

    The facilities are excellent for a relaxing holiday. The staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    9.6
    Very nice Hotel,little bit old,but very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice Hotel,little bit old,but very clean...well equipped,good food,friendly staff...We will come again...

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: