Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Hungary hotel reviews
  3. Pest hotel reviews
  4. Budapest hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4 stars

1053 Budapest, Kossuth Lajos u. 19-21., Hungary

#134 of 364 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1861 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had requested high floor quiet rooms which we were given, but sadly the quiet side of the hotel had roadworks happening underneath the windows and as such our quiet rooms were not quiet after 7am! This was not the fault of the hotel but was a shame for sleeping in, we did not ask to move as it was clear the other 2 sides of the hotel were on the main road so would have been noisier. The hotel policy for housekeeping must be to turn the heating in the room up when they clean as we turned the heating off each day as the room was too hot and each afternoon when we returned the heating was on full and we needed to open the windows to cool the room down, not a big problem but a waste of heating fuel. We would return to this hotel as we have scored it a 10 and the issues were so minor they did not affect our stay in any way, the only other feedback I would give is to get a better toaster as the ones available took 3 -4 attempts to make the toast brown and this was really time consuming!

    The hotel is perfectly located right outside the transport links for the Metro, Bus and Tram and is walking distance from the main shopping centre and also the river. The hotel was beautiful inside with amazing decoration and the rooms were big, clean and the beds were really comfortable, the breakfast was excellent especially the scrambled egg and the staff (especially Andrea Nagi) could not have been more helpful if you needed any help. Their are lifts to all floors if needed. We asked for a kettle in the rooms (there were 4 of us travelling) and we were provided with these along with a tea tray without any problems, I requested this before we arrived and they were in the room on arrival. The reception staff and concierge were also extremely helpful. Checking in and checking out were easy and efficient. We had evening meals at the hotel for 3 nights and the food was very good, there was music playing in the restaurant which was nice and gave a good atmosphere. This was not a cheap place to eat compared to other locations, but the food was good quality, freshly cooked and nicely served. This is a hotel we would recommend to anyone wanting a central location in Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room decor and furnishings tired and in need of refurbishment - but this is no way detracted from our enjoyment

    Clean, warm room (very much appreciated after sightseeing in sub zero temperatures) comfy beds, good shower with plenty of hot water. Good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast. Fabulous decor in Reception, breakfast room and restaurant. Receptionists were friendly and helpful. All staff polite and service excellent. Great location, within walking distance of main tourist sights, hop on hop off bus stop just over the road.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    10
    The Danubius Hotel was a great place for our stay on Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great and convenient for the sights we were interested in visiting. The staff was friendly and helpful and answered all our questions about the area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    7.5
    good location, decent price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room I stayed needs repairs (needs to be painted etc), overall, the room visuals were a little upsetting for a 4 star hotel (a picture attached of a bath door for example). a complimentary thing like a bottle of water in a 4 star hotel could be a nice gesture, unfortunately, i had to look for a local shop to get one.

    a good location of the hotel, facilities which you usually need when you want to stay inside a hotel. the food in a resto was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    9.2
    Location Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect, metro, trams and buses all stop outside hotel. Wonderful breakfast, nice restaurant with good atmosphere. Easy to get to all the sights and best part is EU citizens get free travel on all modes of transport if they are pensioners. Just show passport. Including 100E airport shuttle.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    8.8
    i enjoyed my stay in the hotel ,and would return again , very central to all tourist hotspots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the food in restaurent was very dear , if it was a bit cheaper and good probably more people would eat there , i would have loved to have seen more english type food , potatoes vege beef ,curry .

    the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    9.6
    The Astoria bus station is so close to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be more variety according to the room price. There was no any slippers in room. To drink water I had to buy water from Market.

    The Astoria bus station is so close to the hotel. I arrived easily from airport by 100E bus. I reached many popular places by walking in a few minutes. Room was clean and warm. There hasn’t been any noise during my vacation time. Hotel staff is so friendly. they speaks English. I requested a kettle for my room. They provided for me. I would like to stay again if I have a chance to come to Budapest

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    Fabulous classic style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just hope this classic hotel is not modernised thereby spoiling all its charm which we loved

    Really comfortable large cosy room friendly staff with great attached restaurant with friendly waiters

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    7.0
    Hotel very central staff very nice breakfast nice if only the bedrooms were updated I would give
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are very dated and basic not what was expected the bed was very uncomfortable and bedding was not adequate the easy chair was filthy and carpet stained

    Foyer and restraint very beautiful staff on reception very helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service very poor. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. View from the room was abismal. Room very stuffy. Air-con extremely noisy and couldn't open the window because of the noise outside.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.6
    Definitely recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the double glazed windows you could still hear the traffic outside but that is to be expected as it is located on a busy street.

    Great Location. It is next to an entrance to the underground metro but we didn't need to use it as most tourist attractions are within walking distance. Good sized room and old world style. Clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and professional.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but realy old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning was not working and the city was quite hot. Also there was stairs between our room and the lift (that was a trouble since I had a heavy luggage. The hotel is old (the paint in the wall was peeling off in the bathroom)

    Good localization (near most tourist attractions), also good staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    7.5
    The hotel has a bit of history and it is very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very confortable. The bathroom needs ventilation and sometimes there were very bad smells. It is an old building.

    The hotel has a bit of history and it is very well located.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    9.2
    A classic traditional hotel with an old-fashioned atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was more or less in the restaurant. It'd been nicer if it were in a separate area

    A classic traditional hotel with an old-fashioned atmosphere, yet very well renovated. A very good place to stay in Budapest!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable 5 days stay in an old fashion classy hotel with good food and easy transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Offering a few more types of cheese would still improve the value of the breakfast.

    Very good breakfast served in a very nice and classy environment. Personnel very helpful and kind. A special mention for Andrea Nagy and Mr Steven from the restaurant area, for Mr Karoly, Steven and Tomas from the reception and Mr Attila jr at the taxi and luggage handling.The hotel has a perfect location just minutes from the subway and buses and trams desserving the main areas of the city within minutes. Walking distance from the Danube and Vaci Utca district, very close to the Jewish area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.9
    Charming hotel with old Europe charm
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The green button in the Elevator supposed to stop on the lobby floor however if you push it it stops on the first floor which does not lead to the exit so this is confusing. Also when I went to take a shower the water was warm it was not hot.

    Needs a bit of refreshing it's been the same for many years. On the plus side it has an old European charm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    A great short city break in an 'old fashioned' stylish hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle or tea/coffee making facilities in room. Missed being able to have a wake up cuppa in bed or an afternoon tea on our return from sight seeing whilst we rested. Some people may have been disturbed by traffic noise at night (frequent emergency service sirens!) but this is trade off for being so centrally situated.

    Staff were extremely professional, polite and helpful. Beautiful traditional building and service. 24 hours reception. Very central and near to all public transport stops. Varied copious buffet breakfast choice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Feedback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 249 that room was in need of tlc the bathroom ceiling paint flaking the bathroom door and room skirting badly scuffed and the hall plus our room needed a more intense vacuuming I have a sensitive nose to dust. The hotel and its history is fascinating and I have well worth a visit.

    A fascinating historical cultural building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    Staff was very nice, fast and responsive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is outdated, shower stand was broken, the AC could not keep up, and was very hot.

    Staff was very nice, fast and responsive. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Staff were accommodating on departure letting us leave our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea / coffee making facilities would be a good addition to the room. Also more than one drinking glass.

    Staff were accommodating on departure letting us leave our luggage after checking out and also our friends’ luggage even though they had stayed nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast great, staff great, old character great, and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No gym, room was far from lobby, showerhead was loose. Otherwise excellent stay.

    Breakfast great, staff great, old character great, and great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    4.2
    Astoria location is good, but we could not say that the hotel, offered good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked a superior double room, and really struggle to understand why they tag it as being "superior", as other than a large double bed, the room is very basic. Breakfast was included in the price, but had it not I think we would have chosen to give it a miss after the first ocassion.

    Difficult, to recall any redeeming features, that would entice me back to this hotel, and whilst I would like to say the room was nice, quiet, & had a nice view, but I can't. Oh, yes the room had a decent shower.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Magical Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful. It is situated centrally and is very convenient for sightseeing by walking and also is next door to an underground station. Public transport is very easy to use.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second time staying at the Danubius Astoria Hotel and we loved it again! The location is ideal, within walking distance for sightseeing, shopping and restaurants etc. Very pleasant and helpful staff, lovely fresh and plentiful breakfast every morning. We were asked on arrival if we wanted to upgrade our room for only 10 euros a night extra (for both of us) which was well worth paying. We had a very spacious room on the 1st floor that looked onto the main road, but wasn't noisy because of very good double glazing and the room had really efficient aircon (28 degrees outside). We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Budapest and would highly recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could be more comfortable. Otherwise prefect.

    Location was very central, staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was also on the 100E bus route direct from the airport .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Almost a perfect stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Front desk employee Gaza very rude to us and others. Second night of our stay, we had fire alarm go off at 3am, we could not find out emergency exit as the markings were very poor. No fire department arrived, No hotel employees to assist, No apology, No explanation, No rate adjustment as we did not sleep that night.

    Beautiful hotel, Beautiful dinning room, great location, great breakfast, close to everything. grocery store, Danube river, Hop on, Hop off. great staff with exception of front dest employee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    need to train staff better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in room Woken at 3.30 am by fire alarm there was no liaison with guests about what was happening or when to return to bed no apologies in morning ,good thing there was no real fire

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    A luxurious end to The Danube Cycle Path
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Beautiful, old fashioned hotel in the heart of Budapest and not far from the river. Here real customer service is still practiced. We arrived on two dirty, muddy bicycles and they were whisked away for secure storage in the porters garderobe without an eyebrow being raised. Lovely, air-conditioned room and comfortable bed with view over the city. Excellent food in the restaurant. A hop-on / hop-off tour bus stops just across the street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Most expectations met of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is the first time that we have stayed in a large hotel. where there wasn't a "resident's bar." It would have been nice to finish an evening out by returning to the hotel for a nightcap at 11.30pm However, it closed early so were not able to do this. The mini bar in the bedroom was offered by the desk staff as an alternative. The point seeming to be missed that we would have liked a drink in the much advertised beautiful surroundings of the hotel bar.

    Lovely period design hotel, supported by helpful staff. The room was cleaned to an excellent standard each day by the cleaning staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice location but rooms need an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel needs an upgrade. Strange smell in the room, needed to have the window open. Outdated bathroom, with plastic curtain in the shower.

    Location right beside Astoria metro. Short walk to pedestrian street, market hall, the river and bridges. Breakfast was ok, not excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Elegance of a past age, relived in this magnificent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only remark we have is that our (rather long) name was shortened in such a way, that precisely the part of it we prefer to use was cut off. This resulted in a rather awkward moment at the reception, tracing our booking. We suspect this was not the hotel's fault, however, but Booking.com's doing!

    Every Hungarian knows the name of the Astoria, one of the last hotels built during Budapest's turn-of-the-century days of glory. The hotel still breathes the air of aristocratic elegance - at least its exquisite coffee-house is a must-see for any visitor of Budapest wishing to look further than the ruin bars that most guide-books are so full with. The interior decoration of the hotel (and restaurant) is marvellously elegant, and transport the visitor a hundred years back in time (in a good way). The food served is traditional, but exceptionally well-thought out. Special commendations must go to the restaurant staff, who are extremely well-trained, perceptive to their guests' every gesture and keep a (nowadays rarely found) balance between friendliness and keeping a respectful distance. Rooms are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Really perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing you do have to be aware of, is that this is an old hotel. You will not notice it on comfort ( tv, airco, elevator,..) and the room looks a little antique but alright. Only the bathroom really looks old. Everything worked, and everything was ultra clean, but the look and feel of the bathroom just is weird. We did not matter because everything else was perfect, but it takes away the luxery feeling you would have otherwise in this hotel. However, for us it was a 10.

    Very friendly staff Very clean rooms Very good airco system : it even stayed on when we weren’t in the room so the room was always fresh You can see and feel the splendor of this « Grand Hotel » The location is really perfect: only a few minutes away from the Elisabeth Bridge, really convenient to go to supper with a beautiful view on Buda Castle. There is also a metro just outside the hotel, very convenient !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    A hotel very centrally located, but it should need a total renewal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked with the option to pay while in the hotel (so it was a little more expensive booking with that option), but they charged in advance the full price of my stay. The furnishings of the room were all worn out. When I asked to the receptionist why, and to change my room , he said that “I booked a standard room”, and then he gave me the key of another room that was exactly in the same conditions. The air conditioning didn’t work well. There was some dust on the table in the room on the first day I arrived. That same dust was still there on the seventh day when I was leaving. Maybe superior rooms are far better , but it’s not acceptable to have these very low quality conditions in a standard room of a 4 star hotel .

    Central position, right out of the “Astoria” metro stop. The hotel is a historical one, for sure it was one of the best in Budapest many decades ago. The man bringing my bag in the room was very kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    The location is good but the air-condition was noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-condition was so noisy, which disturbed our sleep that we turned off and opened the window, but it was quite hot and was uncomfortable.

    The location is very convenient for any activities in the city centre (both in Buda and Pest).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    We would recommend the Danubius Astoria for it's style, location, comfort, value ...and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe an additional pillow in the room - my partner prefers two - we didn't ask for another but we could have done

    Breakfast during our stay at the Danubius Astoria was exceptional. The buffet was constantly replenished and there was a note on each table that the kitchen is prepared to cook to order too. Staff were constantly removing used plates from tables too. It was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    I can fully recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom equipment hasn't aged very well but is still appropriate regarding the price.

    The staff was outstanding helpful, they managed to get a room for us ready, even though we arrived four (!) hours before the standard check in time. Very good was also their help to get tickets for the parliament in time. Location is perfect, walking distance to every destination, important for tourists.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.5
    Nothing - worst hotel i ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really impolite. They couldn’t even speak english. Worst room that i ever stayed in, 350, outdated, not clean, SUPER noisy we couldn’t sleep all night

    Nothing - worst hotel i ever stayed in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    It was the nicest hotel experience that we have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was the nicest hotel experience that we have ever had. The concierge accommodated all of our needs. They helped us book all the places we wanted to go do and explained to us how to get there. They are extremely professional and considerate. The room was spacious and very comfortable The cleaning help kept the room meticulous. I would highly recommend for you dot enjoy this wonderful hotel experience as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Old Word Elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We prefer non-chain hotels, such as this gem. Located near a central trolly line and a spot where 4 tour busses converge, it's a great base of operations. Several nice restaurants, beer bars, and brewpubs within 1 mile. Also the area has under street crossing, which is a LOT safer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was rich and tasty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a terrible smell in the corridors, as in an old toilet. The hotel is quite old and it is visible.

    The breakfast was rich and tasty. The location is nice. Walking distance from the centre of the city and its sightseeing places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Love all the architecture and our private guide of the city was remarkable would recommend that to f
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the hotel but disappointing to see all of the garbage but that won't stop us from coming back.

    The atmosphere the breakfast bar was very delicious and all of the staff was very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Our stay at the historical Astoria Hotel was memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot think of anything we didn't like.

    Each staff member we came in contact with was very accommodating and knowledgeable. They made the stay even more enjoyable which is the reason we will choose to stay at the Astoria on our next visit to Budapest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is so convenient, the ambience is relaxing, the...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea nor coffee in the room

    The location is so convenient, the ambience is relaxing, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was superb. Definitely wanna come back there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The out of work of air conditioner in the night and increased noise I cannot sleep, and I request to change the room but the hotel tell me cannot do anything due to no technician now. The technician comes in the morning,so I have no good impression.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location for walking around the sights in both Buda and Pest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Aircon was a little noisy but that didn't ruin our stay

    Extremely good location - 50 meters from metro line that connects to the international train station within 15 minutes. easy walk to bridges, castle and smart restaurants and bars

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a great stay due to the staff and location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No option for coffy in the room. Television very small, generally I wouldn't mind that but, we're in Mondial season and it was kind of an issue.

    The staff, the breakfast, the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first we received a room in the second floor that was far away from the elevator. Maybe 3 minutes walk + few stairs. We ask to move to a closer room and the stuff who were really nice and helpful gave us different room. One day later we notice some bugs bite on our body. We asked to move again and got another room. The cleaning needs some improvement, the furniture is old. Some of the rooms have a mold problem.

    The location is great. The stuff was very helpful. We had a problem with the room twice and they willingly help and replaced our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location , lovely breakfast. Just wanted to feel a bit more welcome .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast and some staff

    Great location, reception at times were not very welcoming. Evening reception staff . Not helpful when we asked questions. Some staff were nice. A bit disappointed as we are not fussy customers and we just want to feel welcome as the price for one night is not cheap .lovely hotel . Just needs to be a bit friendlier. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    The Danubius Astoria is a good hotel in a very good location. It is in need of modernisation though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom needed modernization. Electric sockets were at floor level so mobile phones, tooth brush chargers etc had to be recharged on the floor. The en-suite bathroom also looked 50 years old.

    Only used the restaurant for the inclusive breakfasts. This was ok, there was plenty of choice but l have had better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, good breakfast, front rooms better in cold weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms with windows or balconys to the main street are very NOISY. With 28º degrees in Budapest it's impossible to sleep with open windows because it's really noise. Air conditioning not very good. And LINEN it's not 100% cotton what makes more hot during the night and it's not confortable

    Excellent location, the front-desk staff is very nice, the ambience from the breakfast room exquisite, full of charme. And the breakfast it's also very good. The furniture is full of style and authentic. Large bedroom, good mattress

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Budapest a beautiful city worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the restaurant it took a while for things to be replenished such as cups, spoons and food sometimes.

    The staff on reception / concierge were very helpful and pleasant as were the staff in the bar. Room was on a quiet street on level 2 so no real view. Room was clean but a little dated in places. Towels were white and fluffy, toiletries provided were nice. Air conditioner could have been better but we managed. The breakfast was typically continental and set us up for a day sight seeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The decor was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was beautiful. Our room was very clean and very spacious. The staff in the entire building were so polite and friendly and helpful. I didn’t use my Hungarian words very often because everyone spoke English! The location of the hotel is right next to the metro, a 15 min walk down to the river with beautiful cafes, bars and restaurants on the way. We will definitely return to Budapest and to the same hotel. The breakfast was beautifully laid out and again staff very helpful and polite. We had dinner in hotel on our last night absolutely delicious. Make sure you visit Gellert baths and the New York Cafe stunning architecture. Just a note that at all the baths and spas they only take cards in restaurant! A very kind man offered to pay for our lunch on his card and we gave him the cash - life saver!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    A great stay, I will recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One day cleaning staff forgot to provide towels but was quickly fixed with a call to reception.

    The hotel is excellent, the location is so convenient particularly because I was travelling with my elderly mother and needed to be in a central location. Very close to all the tourist attractions like Vaci utca, the Great Synagogue and access to the hop on hop off bus across the road. Breakfast was great, the atmosphere was amazing, a grand hotel like in older times, great experience. The staff were very helpful at all times. Quick room service, impeccable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, great location for main sights of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is on the corner of a busy road junction, so there was quite a lot of traffic noise. Additionally the aircon was noisy but did not do much to pull the temperature of the room down. Probably a fault in that particular room. Overall a good experience

    Room was clean, hotel location was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    great time at budapest, thank to you danubius hotel astoria!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a great time in Danubius Hotel Astoria. The crew was very kind and helping, and welcomed us very nicely each and every time. the room is always clean and tidy at the time. the breakfast is reach and tasty, the place is very clean and comfortable. we thank you a lot for the hospitility,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff, always smiling and ready to help.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice staff, always smiling and ready to help. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The breakfast offered many choices and options. I traveled with my dog, everyone at the hotel was welcoming. We both enjoyed our stay. I definitely recommend the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful classic hotel in the heart of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows could have been a bit better. It would be really convenient if you could adjust the heating in the room.

    Exceptional breakfast with a big variety of everything, cereal, cured meats eggs jams you name it! Excellent WiFi reception throughout the hotel at all times. The staff was very friendly and helped us with everything we wanted. The location of the hotel is very good, since just outside of the hotel you can find the Astoria metro station which was extremely convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable and clean hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent location and a great base to explore the city. The Ruin bars are all in safe walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Clean pleasant hotel which needs attention to decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor tired . Bathroom poor standard with flaking paint missing and loose fittings and toilet pan directly beside door which would hit occupants legs if opened .A porter was very pushy for a substantial tip when we left our bags for a few hours.

    Breakfast good. Room service good with a huge burger reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was difficult to control. The hotel was generally too hot.

    Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Great location next to Metro, ideal for exploring the city. Decor in public rooms is lovely and old-fashioned. Staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel with character right in the heart of Budapest
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think you pay for the location really, but for the price I would expect the rooms to be a little grander perhaps. I know it'd an old hotel but feel it could do with a little update without losing the character. Hard to do I guess! Also sound proofing was a clincher for us as I had some early morning shoots so wanted to go to bed quite early some nights to get some good rest, so when we read it in the description we were really pleased, but I could still hear the next door neighbours still, and some road noise (but mostly sirens!) The shutters down did really help, but maybe the neighbours were exceptionally loud perhaps!? Breakfast - Most days they only had Earl Grey on offer and English Breakfast tea would of been nice but that is a small first world problem niggle! Sometimes ran out of cutlery and tables were empty for a while until you could grab a waiter to ask for cutlery and napkins. Hairdryer in room could be improved. Sold as a double bed but had single sheets. Bed a little hard but wasn't a huge issue. Would be nice to have bubble bath in the bathroom, otherwise you end up using the shower gel instead.

    A really beautiful hotel inside the reception and restaurant area. The breakfast was great and offered a lot of choice. The hot food was hot and tasty and there was a lot of fruit on offer. The location was fantastic, right next to bus stops which we used alot, and the metro. Easy to find lots of places. Enjoyed the view of the pink Grand Budapest Esque style building opposite! The staff were lovely and friendly. Checking in and out was really easy, and could leave our luggage in a locked room near reception all day on the last day. Had a few noise issues with next door neighbours but one call to reception and the problem was sorted out, so they were very efficient. Loved the dressing table and mirror and our balcony. Having a bath is always a bonus too! Really happy, no major issues! I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful stay in an old style hotel. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee/tea cattle in the room would have make it even better...-:)

    Location can't be better. Everything within walking distance ,and if not- metro station is on the hotels' front door.Reception team were very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable.Perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Budapest is a very interesting city, and would certaily recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the menu was very restricted, especially for vegetarians, and unfortunately it did not vary from day to day, therefore we only used the restaurant once.

    the location was excellent. The hotel reminded me of a period drama with chandeliers etc. it was lovely. Reception were very helpful. we requested tea making facilities in the room, and this request was granted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Could come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was good and service too. Breakfast for me as a celiac was not so..I was not hyngry and staff did they best, but with coffee or something small at the evening,nothing so that´s why we ate somewhere else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    wknd with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some details in the breakfast: better coffee and bread would be good (esp. the latter it is really pity considering the excellent bakery products you get at any baker or supermarket in Hungary)

    Excellent hotel with a century old tradition and patina visible in every aspect: from the building and the furniture to the presonnel and the service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    A very nice above average hotel but nothing extraordinary. Location is great.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit noisy due to traffic. I recommend earplugs.

    The bed was very comfortable in my opinion. Staff friendly and left you be unless you wanted their attention. Room clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, will definitely be my first choice when I come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no usb speaker (this is a very minor gripe).

    Hotel decor, location, friendliness of staff were all outstanding. Front of house reception team and door staff were very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable with a nicely stocked minibar at good prices. 11am checkout was a pleasant bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on front desk very rude. Obviously been in his position to long. Not interested in the welfare of the guest. He should read the definition of the word hopspitality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Next to metro/bus/tram station, many restaurants,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    equipment are a little aged, some traffic noises could listen from outside and inside passage.

    Next to metro/bus/tram station, many restaurants, shops, supermarkets, clean room, with bath tub, mini bar, friendly staffs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Old and upseting, not worth of 4 stars
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception guy is all the time on his own - trying to help but simply cannot do that and other people line up behind the customer served. Restaurant My card for the room stopped to work after couple dqays and I had to stand in line at the reception to renew it while the desk officer was dealing with 6 people at the same time. looks nice but everything is oudaated there - starting with the tables and finishing with food. Would be good for 90's though. Staff was almost never present in the restaurant and you had to hunt them if you want coffee or omlette (the later was good though). Rooms are small, outdated, no slippers, AC was working not properly (hard to switch off, noisy).

    Bed was comfortable, young guy in the restaurant was hospitable and brought the food quick enough. Guy at the reception was helpful (but trying to help other people could not help others as was on his own). The price was good (around 80 EUR for single room).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location, beautiful hotel, fascinated history. Shame that it's a little run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need a little facelift. Bad service on breakfast. One day we had to wait 10 min for eggs and staff getting very angry if you ask for anything. One day we decided to order an omelet, but I had to run after waiter to do so. Tables full of dirty plates, chipped glasses.

    Location can't be better. Everything within walking distance and Hop On Hop Off bus stop outside the hotel. Beautiful inside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    3 nights in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant staff miserable, did very little to help us when asking questions about food etc. Led us to believe 20% off food bill. They argued it was only 10% and then only if you charged it to your room.

    Good location. Handy for all transport. Good choice for breakfast. Desk staff excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    A good value for money hotel with plenty of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite basic. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

    A good location on the Pest side. Hotel had a lot of character. The bar/restaurant room was the best feature of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Great city break stay in winter, would definitely recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very hot the first night and had to turn off all the heaters when we woke in middle of night. Concierge staff were a bit cranky. Hotel bar closed early (10:30'ish), we were used to getting drinks as late as you want in similar Irish hotels. Budapest in general is not as cheap as I imagined for eating out etc.

    Big beds and you got your own blanket in the double bed which seems like a downside but it was actually nice! Lots of selection at breakfast. Very professional and courteous staff. Windows blocked noise from busy streets below. Elevators are very fast. Great old decor style.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Very eastern European art deco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very eastern European art deco. Nice and ever so slightly worn just so it doesn’t look too Las Vegas. Perfect location for exploring both Buda and Pest. Breakfast was amazing. Staff had that lovely eastern european style. Perfect stay

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: