Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1053 Budapest, Kossuth Lajos u. 19-21., Hungary

#91 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1784 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.8
    Our stay at the historical Astoria Hotel was memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We cannot think of anything we didn't like.

    Each staff member we came in contact with was very accommodating and knowledgeable. They made the stay even more enjoyable which is the reason we will choose to stay at the Astoria on our next visit to Budapest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    The location is so convenient, the ambience is relaxing, the...
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea nor coffee in the room

    The location is so convenient, the ambience is relaxing, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was superb. Definitely wanna come back there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The out of work of air conditioner in the night and increased noise I cannot sleep, and I request to change the room but the hotel tell me cannot do anything due to no technician now. The technician comes in the morning,so I have no good impression.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    Great location for walking around the sights in both Buda and Pest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Aircon was a little noisy but that didn't ruin our stay

    Extremely good location - 50 meters from metro line that connects to the international train station within 15 minutes. easy walk to bridges, castle and smart restaurants and bars

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    We had a great stay due to the staff and location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No option for coffy in the room. Television very small, generally I wouldn't mind that but, we're in Mondial season and it was kind of an issue.

    The staff, the breakfast, the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At first we received a room in the second floor that was far away from the elevator. Maybe 3 minutes walk + few stairs. We ask to move to a closer room and the stuff who were really nice and helpful gave us different room. One day later we notice some bugs bite on our body. We asked to move again and got another room. The cleaning needs some improvement, the furniture is old. Some of the rooms have a mold problem.

    The location is great. The stuff was very helpful. We had a problem with the room twice and they willingly help and replaced our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.7
    Great location , lovely breakfast. Just wanted to feel a bit more welcome .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, breakfast and some staff

    Great location, reception at times were not very welcoming. Evening reception staff . Not helpful when we asked questions. Some staff were nice. A bit disappointed as we are not fussy customers and we just want to feel welcome as the price for one night is not cheap .lovely hotel . Just needs to be a bit friendlier. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.5
    The Danubius Astoria is a good hotel in a very good location. It is in need of modernisation though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom needed modernization. Electric sockets were at floor level so mobile phones, tooth brush chargers etc had to be recharged on the floor. The en-suite bathroom also looked 50 years old.

    Only used the restaurant for the inclusive breakfasts. This was ok, there was plenty of choice but l have had better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, good breakfast, front rooms better in cold weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms with windows or balconys to the main street are very NOISY. With 28º degrees in Budapest it's impossible to sleep with open windows because it's really noise. Air conditioning not very good. And LINEN it's not 100% cotton what makes more hot during the night and it's not confortable

    Excellent location, the front-desk staff is very nice, the ambience from the breakfast room exquisite, full of charme. And the breakfast it's also very good. The furniture is full of style and authentic. Large bedroom, good mattress

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.3
    Budapest a beautiful city worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the restaurant it took a while for things to be replenished such as cups, spoons and food sometimes.

    The staff on reception / concierge were very helpful and pleasant as were the staff in the bar. Room was on a quiet street on level 2 so no real view. Room was clean but a little dated in places. Towels were white and fluffy, toiletries provided were nice. Air conditioner could have been better but we managed. The breakfast was typically continental and set us up for a day sight seeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    The decor was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was beautiful. Our room was very clean and very spacious. The staff in the entire building were so polite and friendly and helpful. I didn’t use my Hungarian words very often because everyone spoke English! The location of the hotel is right next to the metro, a 15 min walk down to the river with beautiful cafes, bars and restaurants on the way. We will definitely return to Budapest and to the same hotel. The breakfast was beautifully laid out and again staff very helpful and polite. We had dinner in hotel on our last night absolutely delicious. Make sure you visit Gellert baths and the New York Cafe stunning architecture. Just a note that at all the baths and spas they only take cards in restaurant! A very kind man offered to pay for our lunch on his card and we gave him the cash - life saver!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    A great stay, I will recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One day cleaning staff forgot to provide towels but was quickly fixed with a call to reception.

    The hotel is excellent, the location is so convenient particularly because I was travelling with my elderly mother and needed to be in a central location. Very close to all the tourist attractions like Vaci utca, the Great Synagogue and access to the hop on hop off bus across the road. Breakfast was great, the atmosphere was amazing, a grand hotel like in older times, great experience. The staff were very helpful at all times. Quick room service, impeccable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, great location for main sights of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is on the corner of a busy road junction, so there was quite a lot of traffic noise. Additionally the aircon was noisy but did not do much to pull the temperature of the room down. Probably a fault in that particular room. Overall a good experience

    Room was clean, hotel location was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    great time at budapest, thank to you danubius hotel astoria!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a great time in Danubius Hotel Astoria. The crew was very kind and helping, and welcomed us very nicely each and every time. the room is always clean and tidy at the time. the breakfast is reach and tasty, the place is very clean and comfortable. we thank you a lot for the hospitility,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff, always smiling and ready to help.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice staff, always smiling and ready to help. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The breakfast offered many choices and options. I traveled with my dog, everyone at the hotel was welcoming. We both enjoyed our stay. I definitely recommend the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful classic hotel in the heart of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows could have been a bit better. It would be really convenient if you could adjust the heating in the room.

    Exceptional breakfast with a big variety of everything, cereal, cured meats eggs jams you name it! Excellent WiFi reception throughout the hotel at all times. The staff was very friendly and helped us with everything we wanted. The location of the hotel is very good, since just outside of the hotel you can find the Astoria metro station which was extremely convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable and clean hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent location and a great base to explore the city. The Ruin bars are all in safe walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    7.9
    Clean pleasant hotel which needs attention to decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor tired . Bathroom poor standard with flaking paint missing and loose fittings and toilet pan directly beside door which would hit occupants legs if opened .A porter was very pushy for a substantial tip when we left our bags for a few hours.

    Breakfast good. Room service good with a huge burger reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating was difficult to control. The hotel was generally too hot.

    Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Great location next to Metro, ideal for exploring the city. Decor in public rooms is lovely and old-fashioned. Staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel with character right in the heart of Budapest
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think you pay for the location really, but for the price I would expect the rooms to be a little grander perhaps. I know it'd an old hotel but feel it could do with a little update without losing the character. Hard to do I guess! Also sound proofing was a clincher for us as I had some early morning shoots so wanted to go to bed quite early some nights to get some good rest, so when we read it in the description we were really pleased, but I could still hear the next door neighbours still, and some road noise (but mostly sirens!) The shutters down did really help, but maybe the neighbours were exceptionally loud perhaps!? Breakfast - Most days they only had Earl Grey on offer and English Breakfast tea would of been nice but that is a small first world problem niggle! Sometimes ran out of cutlery and tables were empty for a while until you could grab a waiter to ask for cutlery and napkins. Hairdryer in room could be improved. Sold as a double bed but had single sheets. Bed a little hard but wasn't a huge issue. Would be nice to have bubble bath in the bathroom, otherwise you end up using the shower gel instead.

    A really beautiful hotel inside the reception and restaurant area. The breakfast was great and offered a lot of choice. The hot food was hot and tasty and there was a lot of fruit on offer. The location was fantastic, right next to bus stops which we used alot, and the metro. Easy to find lots of places. Enjoyed the view of the pink Grand Budapest Esque style building opposite! The staff were lovely and friendly. Checking in and out was really easy, and could leave our luggage in a locked room near reception all day on the last day. Had a few noise issues with next door neighbours but one call to reception and the problem was sorted out, so they were very efficient. Loved the dressing table and mirror and our balcony. Having a bath is always a bonus too! Really happy, no major issues! I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful stay in an old style hotel. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee/tea cattle in the room would have make it even better...-:)

    Location can't be better. Everything within walking distance ,and if not- metro station is on the hotels' front door.Reception team were very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable.Perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.6
    thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Budapest is a very interesting city, and would certaily recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the menu was very restricted, especially for vegetarians, and unfortunately it did not vary from day to day, therefore we only used the restaurant once.

    the location was excellent. The hotel reminded me of a period drama with chandeliers etc. it was lovely. Reception were very helpful. we requested tea making facilities in the room, and this request was granted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.8
    Could come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was good and service too. Breakfast for me as a celiac was not so..I was not hyngry and staff did they best, but with coffee or something small at the evening,nothing so that´s why we ate somewhere else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.2
    wknd with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some details in the breakfast: better coffee and bread would be good (esp. the latter it is really pity considering the excellent bakery products you get at any baker or supermarket in Hungary)

    Excellent hotel with a century old tradition and patina visible in every aspect: from the building and the furniture to the presonnel and the service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.9
    A very nice above average hotel but nothing extraordinary. Location is great.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit noisy due to traffic. I recommend earplugs.

    The bed was very comfortable in my opinion. Staff friendly and left you be unless you wanted their attention. Room clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, will definitely be my first choice when I come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no usb speaker (this is a very minor gripe).

    Hotel decor, location, friendliness of staff were all outstanding. Front of house reception team and door staff were very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable with a nicely stocked minibar at good prices. 11am checkout was a pleasant bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    4.6
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The man on front desk very rude. Obviously been in his position to long. Not interested in the welfare of the guest. He should read the definition of the word hopspitality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    7.9
    Next to metro/bus/tram station, many restaurants,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    equipment are a little aged, some traffic noises could listen from outside and inside passage.

    Next to metro/bus/tram station, many restaurants, shops, supermarkets, clean room, with bath tub, mini bar, friendly staffs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    5.8
    Old and upseting, not worth of 4 stars
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception guy is all the time on his own - trying to help but simply cannot do that and other people line up behind the customer served. Restaurant My card for the room stopped to work after couple dqays and I had to stand in line at the reception to renew it while the desk officer was dealing with 6 people at the same time. looks nice but everything is oudaated there - starting with the tables and finishing with food. Would be good for 90's though. Staff was almost never present in the restaurant and you had to hunt them if you want coffee or omlette (the later was good though). Rooms are small, outdated, no slippers, AC was working not properly (hard to switch off, noisy).

    Bed was comfortable, young guy in the restaurant was hospitable and brought the food quick enough. Guy at the reception was helpful (but trying to help other people could not help others as was on his own). The price was good (around 80 EUR for single room).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, beautiful hotel, fascinated history. Shame that it's a little run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need a little facelift. Bad service on breakfast. One day we had to wait 10 min for eggs and staff getting very angry if you ask for anything. One day we decided to order an omelet, but I had to run after waiter to do so. Tables full of dirty plates, chipped glasses.

    Location can't be better. Everything within walking distance and Hop On Hop Off bus stop outside the hotel. Beautiful inside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.9
    3 nights in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar and restaurant staff miserable, did very little to help us when asking questions about food etc. Led us to believe 20% off food bill. They argued it was only 10% and then only if you charged it to your room.

    Good location. Handy for all transport. Good choice for breakfast. Desk staff excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    A good value for money hotel with plenty of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite basic. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

    A good location on the Pest side. Hotel had a lot of character. The bar/restaurant room was the best feature of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great city break stay in winter, would definitely recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very hot the first night and had to turn off all the heaters when we woke in middle of night. Concierge staff were a bit cranky. Hotel bar closed early (10:30'ish), we were used to getting drinks as late as you want in similar Irish hotels. Budapest in general is not as cheap as I imagined for eating out etc.

    Big beds and you got your own blanket in the double bed which seems like a downside but it was actually nice! Lots of selection at breakfast. Very professional and courteous staff. Windows blocked noise from busy streets below. Elevators are very fast. Great old decor style.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.6
    Very eastern European art deco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very eastern European art deco. Nice and ever so slightly worn just so it doesn’t look too Las Vegas. Perfect location for exploring both Buda and Pest. Breakfast was amazing. Staff had that lovely eastern european style. Perfect stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable, breakfast very good and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing except for the weather.

    Stayed at a few Danubis Hotels, they are very good. Older style Hotel,but we like that, had atmosphere. Staff as usual were excellent in all areas ,very polite and efficient. Wifi good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.6
    central pleasant hotel that I'll return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can always have a comfier bed.

    The hotel has a very impressive art deco decor. The location is incredibly convenient for most tourist and night life activities. The hotel staff were particularly helpful in sourcing legitimate taxis be sure to ask them for help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    10
    This was a birthday treat, and would definitely use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As we chose this hotel for it's style, it was exactly as we expected, and I wouldn't change a thing.

    This is a beautiful hotel, kept as closely as possible to it's original style. Makes a change from corporate hotels which are all the same. Excellent location too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    8.8
    Great inner-city hotel for a weekend escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff, location, interior Design, price-value...we had a clean, quiet and beautiful yet rather small standard room on the third floor. The staff, from reception to waiters, has been very welcoming and attentive. The location as well as the available public transportation is superb and the price-value is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    5.8
    The looking of the hotel from outside .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed it was very very old . Not for sleeping for nobody. Even made a noise when I was turning . Some 3 Star Hotel are much much better then this one . Corridor end steps to a other corridor. For sure it’s need badly a remodeling at inside . I don’t think I can recommend this hotel to nobody. I do know much better and less expensive hotel in the beautiful Budapest.

    The looking of the hotel from outside . It’s a beautiful building. But only from outside

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    9.6
    Had a really enjoyable stay - would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower door was a bit leaky at the bottom so the bathroom floor-mat got very wet. Info about room service not very clearly displayed

    Room was very comfortable Breakfast buffet a good selection- especially nice that we could have eggs and coffee made on request. Loved the amazing decor and lots of interesting little details.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is in the great location but it looks like it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nicer rooms

    The hotel is in the great location but it looks like it was never renovated from the inside since it was opened. Rooms are very old. Hotel staff was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    8.8
    It was not the first time & it was good and we love Budapest for many reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be cheaper and could be included into overall payment. We don't eat that much in the morning.

    It was quiet and comfy enough. And I used extra pillow.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely and clean and quiet just what we came for nice and relaxing, very central to all site seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff could have smiled a bit more but the reception staff were extremely helpful

    Lovely and clean and quiet just what we came for nice and relaxing, very central to all site seeing trips

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could think of nothing I would add.

    Could not have found a better location.....comfortable room.....delicious included breakfast buffet....friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    5.8
    Retro
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is very hard to understand why the hotel was so highly rated.  It is very worn, and semi-clean.  The food is ok. The service was lousy.  Even though old, it was not very clean. There was LOUD music from a bar across the street, and it was hard to sleep on Saturday night.  I would have checked out early if it was not our last night.

    Convenient to train and part of me liked the retro experience and old hotel of days gone by feel. 

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.1
    Overall a good hotel and adequate for a short stay if you don’t spend a lot of time in your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the staff helpful if not surly. The cleanliness wasn’t brilliant. The room was (cleaned) each day however you could tell it wasn’t a proper clean. Beds were made etc ie the basics but small things made me aware that cleaning wasn’t thorough. Not the end of the world really but something I noted.

    The location of the hotel in my opinion was good. Overall the hotel met my needs. Breakfast was adequate. I am not an early morning person however I would usually go for breakfast around 830am-9am. On a couple of occasions I had to hunt down sufficient cutlery. It was obvious that it was the slow down of breakfast time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    6.7
    The location is amazing, just outside Astoria Metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you book a "standard" room at a 4-star hotel, you expect that room to be a "standard" 4-star. Well, at this hotel the "Standard" rooms are located in an older part of the hotel, with very old furniture and uncomfortable beds. From the reception we were told that that's the "standard" room area, and we should've got a Deluxe room instead. It wasn't by far a 4-star stay, and the entire experience wasn't even close to our expectations.

    The location is amazing, just outside Astoria Metro station. It is also very good connected with public transport services (day and night).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    8.8
    Good stay for business, I'd probably choose it also for leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inside the room it was too warm. Solved by turning off the heater and opening the window once for 15 minutes.

    Nice location, well reachable with public transport, still 10 minute walking distance from the center. Spacious room with large safebox, suitable to store a laptop. Personnel is efficient and kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    5.8
    Great location, average everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at reception were not the friendliest. The room was also not the cleanest or well maintained. There was a couple of stains on the walls, ripped bed linen and the back of the bathroom door needed to be repaired. In the room itself the wallpaper was starting to come off the wall.

    Room was quiet and nice and dark at night which made sleeping easy. Location was great with easy access to everything. Wifi was also very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    10
    I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, it's absolutely worth coming to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent room with a balcony, comfortable bed, rich breakfast, helpful staff, location (Danube is about 15 minutes walk from here, a supermarket Tesco - in 3 minutes)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.6
    A great Hotel in the center with value for money,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A teaput would be nice, Make the windows more isolated to the noise in the street. Fresh vegetables in breakfest would be great.

    The hotel services were good and pleasant, the Hotel is located on the Astoria station which is both good and bad. Good because the metro line 2 is very close and there are quite a lot BUs abd trams lines. it's also 5 min walk from metro line 3 which make it very useful and helpful. Bad, because it is located on the main street and the rooms are a bit noisy. Breakfast is standard European, for me there were missing fresh vegetables. The rooms are clean and welcoming with a comfortable bed. There are coffee shops and restaurants in a walking distance, the Parliament and other key attractions are also in walking distance. All and all, it’s a nice hotel in a good price and is value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    10
    This was my second visit to this hotel, in five years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was my second visit to this hotel, in five years. I stayed separately from my friends (from USA) because I liked the decor and the service as well as the situation within the city. My expectations were not disappointed; and I received lots of helpful advice at the hotel. They also upgraded me to a room which was pleasantly quiet, within the busy city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    8.8
    Reasonably good hotel, just outside a Metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit of an average hotel within its price class.

    The hotel is just outside a Metro station, so always easy to find your way back if you use the excellent Budapest metro. But also a good central location within Pest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar prices could have been a little cheaper to match local prices.

    Beautiful decor and very good breakfast. Very attentive staff and centrally located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    6.3
    Hotel in excellent position but standard of bedrooms allocated was very poor considering it was a 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Standard of rooms allocated were VERY tired.Bathroom was particularly poor in urgent need of improving, smell of sewage became very strong and had to be moved. No tea/ coffee facilities in room

    Position of hotel, entrance and restaurant. Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea and coffee facilities in room

    Atmosphere, style, breakfast and restaurant dinner. Staff on reception very helpful. You can now get bus direct from Airport to 300m from hotel and back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel, as it is in good condition ... modern plumbing, ect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We,personally do not like hotels that fill up the refrigerator with items they then charge for. If it is not included, it should not be in the room and you should not have to take the items out of the refrigerator and set them on the desk so you can use the appliance. I find this completely cheapens their service.

    It was pretty much a typical buffet, although with more choices than "normal".

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    We'll stay again on our next trip to Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was a fire alarm that went off around midnight. It turned out to be a false alarm, however, we were in room 347 and after trying all ways to exit we found that we were locked in no matter what exit we tried escaping from. Had this been an actual fire we would have had a possible life threatened situation.

    Location, staff, the room itself, the restaurant, and all the appointments of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    7.5
    Very good located, friendly concierge speaking several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old and simple furnished. The room was not a place to stay more time than the night.

    Very good located, friendly concierge speaking several languages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    4.6
    the property needs massive renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the property needs massive renovation. Standard twin room is so small that you can't place the beds separately. The hotel used to be gorgeous, but ages ago.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.5
    Good location , Very helpful Concierge & Bell Boy ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Good location , Very helpful Concierge & Bell Boy , Clean and tidy , safe area , central to all locations , restaurant inside which was good and reasonable prices

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.6
    Budapest has beautiful buildings and sights but it was a frantic city with the constant noise of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The day tours. We took 3 tours and were not impressed with the tour company. We were never picked up on time and had to find our own way back after the tour. They did not drop off.

    The room was very comfortable and the reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    7.9
    A nice mid week break, but wish hotel had been in a different position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For us the location, although convenient for transport links, was far too busy and noisy, with just crossing the roads a fete in itself. Although you could get through the underpass, with flights of stairs. Not easy with a suitcase and if you are elderly! We had expected beautiful buildings to surround us, not traffic moving at alarming speeds.

    staff on reception very helpful,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    9.6
    Loved Budapest. Would recommend as a destination. Hotel Astoria in a great central city location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit loud from guest in the hall as in a lot of hotels.

    The staff was excellent. Super friendly and helpful. Balcony and ability to open windows was great. The location is walking distance from all major attraction. We walked everywhere from the hotel to the Buda Castle and Parliment. We took the 100E bus from the airport as it drops you off across the street of the hotel. On your trip back, you need to catch the bus about 3 blocks away. Very easy. Starbucks across the street if you miss home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First impression was bad.....it seems a little outdated. But for those who like antiques and old classic hotels, it would be fine. If I return to Budapest, I would stay in another hotel.

    Location was quite central especially who like to use buses or hop on hop off, as all stops are near. Breakfast was very good. Astoria cafe very welcoming. Staff ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    3.8
    Super friendly staff in what was surely a wonderful place in the 1930s.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms dirty. Have not been renovated since the cold war. And what was that smell coming from the bathroom. I go to Budapest often. This place was disgusting in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.5
    Location is Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no iron box inside the room and they do not provide you to your room. You have to go to some room on 5th floor to iron it. Iron board was very dirty. We also felt that staff was not friendly and polite.

    Me and my husband stayed in the hotel for one day. Hotel is on wonderful location. It is next to Astoria Metro station. You can walk/climb to all beautiful places like Gellért Hill from here. Room was great. Breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    9.2
    Faded grandeur but comfortable and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel looks like a slightly faded Grand Hotel - you can imagine what it would have been like before the war. Don't let that description put you off the rooms are very comfortable and the staff very helpful. It is in an excellent location right next to the metro and a short walk from the Elizabeth bridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant location and for the money a clean, quiet and great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needed in some areas smartening up, the bathrooms although cleaned everyday needed updating.

    The hotel was located near to several of the popular sights, shops and restaurants were nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and facilities good for our stay of five days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    PERFECT LOCATION .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE ROOM IS SMALL BUT COMFORTABLE

    PERFECT LOCATION .SIMPLE HOTEL BUT CLEAN. THE STAFF IS PERFECT .THEY DID EVERITHYNG TO MAKE OUR SEJOUR PERFECT . LOVE IT I WILL COME BACK

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    10
    Astoria is the perfect hotel for our Budapest visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot weather which was not Astoria's fault. Many homeless people and drug addicts in and around the metro station (neither was this the hotel's fault.

    Astoria has a very friendly atmosphere. Fantastic air condition which was really needed on these extremely hot summer days and nights. Great breakfast and we did not hear anything from our neighbours and hardly anything from the hard traffic in the streets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    10
    Lovely elegant hotel, very comfortable, recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 1 thing, only 2 pillows on the bed. Would be nice to have more available in the room.

    Good breakfasts, comfortable room, very clean, well sound proofed, good location near shops and restaurants. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    9.2
    Great and friendly!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked more 4-star-like amenities!

    Our reception guy Tamar was a highlight and added so much to our trip! He is the friendliest hospitality person we met!!! Thanks tamar! Great great location and very friendly hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    7.9
    Historic Hotel with great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows are a little to big, but oh well.. we managed.

    Location was just great, very central. Room wasn't that luxurious but it was just what you need. Internet connection was awesome!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff who checked us in only gave us a map without offering further information around town, which was not really a problem, but other staff were giving more recommendations to the visitors, marking on the maps where they should go and visit etc. Some rooms are in between floors so one has to take the lift to a certain floor then walk up / down a few stairs, not fully accessible for people with special needs or just a heavy suitcase.

    Nice classic hotel with standard rooms (which may look a bit old) and beautiful decor in the lobby. Was able to exchange local currency conveniently at the lobby. Location was fantastic with metro, restaurants, supermarkets etc and close to main attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: